Home » K701 » 12 Reviews

Akg K701 Open-back Studio Headphones With Flat-wire Voice Coil Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Audiophile (5), Gear Head (4)

Pros:

Rich Sound (8), Highly Compatible (5), Comfortable (9), Lightweight (9), Durable (4)

Best Uses:

Home Audio (9), Music (8), With My Computer (4)

Primary use:

Personal (17)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worth the money

By KCM the audiophile Verified Purchaser from Galloway, NJ on 05/12/2009


Pros:

Lightweight, Rich Sound, Comfortable

Cons:

None I Have Found

Describe Yourself:

Gear Head

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Music, With My Computer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comfortable for even extended listening sessions. Clean and articulate sound quality. A noticeable improvement over my excellent grado headphones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No need to look anywhere else!

By Pvlgr Verified Purchaser from Atlanta, Georgia on 01/26/2008


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Audiophile

Pros:

Rich Sound, Highly Compatible, Comfortable, Lightweight, Durable

Best Uses:

Home Audio

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I reviewed these headphones along with a fellow audiophile and we both agree these are the best headphones around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great headphones, but now I need an amp

By AudioMatt Verified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 11/17/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Average Joe

Pros:

Comfortable, Rich Sound, Lightweight, Durable, Highly Compatible

Best Uses:

Music, Home Audio

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great headphones. I do not have any other high end headphones to compare, but I am not disappointed in these at all and I'm glad I got them. I've a feeling that am not driving these to their potential yet without a decent headphone amp though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i would buy this product again

By hifi stereo Verified Purchaser from homewood, il. on 11/15/2007


Cons:

Very Large

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Gear Head, Audiophile

Pros:

Rich Sound, Lightweight, Highly Compatible, Durable, Comfortable

Best Uses:

Music, Portable Devices, Running, Home Audio

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i use headphone at work and home these are by far the best i have had so far would not hesitate to recomend to anyone looking for an exceptional music experience


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am impressed

By cbair3 Verified Purchaser from Miami B each, FL on 11/14/2007


Cons:

High Power Requirement

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Audiophile On A Budget, Gear Head, Frequent Traveler

Pros:

Attractive, Excellent Construction, Lightweight, Rich Sound, Comfortable

Best Uses:

Home Audio, Music, With My Computer

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These headphones are fantastic for home listening. Despite their size, I find them very light and comfortable. They certainly are not good for portable use, due to their size and the need for some kind of amplification beyond what an iPod or laptop can do on their own. Still, for home listening it does not get much better. I wanted headphones that did not block sound, so I could listen to music and still be aware of what was going on. These are great for that. They really do have a very "open" sound and I can wear and listen to them for hours without a problem. If you plan to just use them in one spot (like me) the stand is a really nice feature as well. They have a very "high end" feel to them - highly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Professional Headphone

By Lawrence Verified Purchaser from Houston on 10/04/2007


Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Primary use of this product:

Business

Describe Yourself:

Audiophile

Pros:

Comfortable

Best Uses:

Music

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

AKG 701 is a professional headphone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent sound

By charles Verified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 08/15/2007


Cons:

Uncomfortable

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Audiophile

Pros:

Rich Sound

Best Uses:

Home Audio, With My Computer

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

excellent sound, but you need to wait one month for aging.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Headphones

By rab Verified Purchaser from balt. on 07/09/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Pros:

Rich Sound, Highly Compatible, Lightweight, Comfortable, Durable

Best Uses:

Music, With My Computer, Home Audio

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was surprised at how lightweight they are for the size. They are very comfortable and I can wear them for hours at a time. The K701s have an open back so you can hear things in the room or disturb others if you have them cranked up. I have used them with a usb phono preamp to monitor LPs, with the stereo to listen to CDs and TV and with the computer while playing Quake II. I really love them.I tried Beyerdynamic DT 770s which have a closed back and Sony MDR V600 which also have a closed back. The DT 770s were comfortable too but the MDR V600s while comfortable at first were hot after a while. All of them had good sound to my untrained ears. The Sonys sounded a little different than the beyer and AKG with more pronounced mids. I did not hear the K701s before I bought them which is foolish but I don't regret it. I would have bought the Beyerdyamics DT 770 or DT 880 instead had [...] not given such a remarkable price [$]on these head phones. The headphone stand that came with them is actually quite useful and may add to their longevity. I 'broke them in' by leaving them plugged in to loud FM stereo overnight and while I was at work for a full week. I had read a comment somewhere that the sound improved with time because of the way they are constructed. I could not tell the difference over a week, but a comparison between new and broken-in might have proved or disproved this detail. My wife likes them so much we may have to get another pair so I can use them. If so, I might yet find out if the break-in makes a difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My new reference

By 10 Kinds of People Verified Purchaser from Boulder, CO on 06/28/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Audiophile

Pros:

Comfortable, Lightweight, Transparent

Best Uses:

Home Audio, Music

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easily the most transparent headphones Ive heard. In particular, they reach right through complex sounds (choral, symphonic, and yes, even wall-of-sound rock). The bass is extended, tight and not at all over-done (unlike many other so-called audiophile headphones). They will play loud when called upon. Very easy to drive. Light weight and very comfortable. Perfect L-R balance, which is important when plugged into pro-gear. The included stand is an odd idea, but surprisingly convenient. Only after spending some time with the K 701s, could I clearly recognize the shortcomings of my previous favorites. Another nice touch: The cord is terminated with a standard 1/4 TRS phone plug. The include adapter goes from 1/4F to 1/8M, instead of the other way around. Finally, be sure to give the K 701s at least 24 hours of break-in before any critical listening.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where's the bass?

By ppppppp Verified Purchaser from Western Hemisphere on 06/28/2007


Cons:

Uncomfortable

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Gear Head

Pros:

Lightweight

Best Uses:

Home Audio

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

They got everything right about the sound above 150Hz, but there's no bass reproduced by these cans. They are a bit uncomfortable as well. Sennheiser HD600 was preferred overall, even though it's more colored, at least it has bottom and is comfy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best sound ever!

By Summerlight Verified Purchaser from Tulsa, OK on 03/12/2007


Pros:

Highly Compatible, Rich Sound, Comfortable, Lightweight

Best Uses:

Home Audio, Music

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These headphones have a broad and revealing soundstage. They have tremendous clarity, definition, and excellent power handling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"These really are ...

By John D Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 12/01/2006

"These really are incredibly great headphones, but a few notes to those who haven't tried them on physically: if you have a really large head, they might not fit perfectly. I have a rather large head and they just barely fit...also, for those who may not know, open-backed means that some sound will escape, so if you want some headphones to use in a quiet setting, try something like the AKG k201's."


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved