Home » Appliances » Personal Appliances » Health Equipment » Ergonomic Supports » 29591 » Reviews

Allsop Cool Channel Platform Lap Rest - Anti-static - 14.25" X 9.75" X 2" - Black, Dark Gray (29591) Reviews
Allsop Cool Channel Platform Lap Rest - Anti-static - 14.25" X 9.75" X 2" - Black, Dark Gray (29591)

Allsop Cool Channel Platform Lap Rest - Anti-static - 14.25" X 9.75" X 2" - Black, Dark Gray (29591)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Uses passive air circulation to protect your lap from heat. Ergonomically designed and cushioned for comfort. Non-slip woven surface adds protection when transporting. Slim design allows it to fit inside most notebook bags and backpacks. Stand Type: Notebook; Width: 13; Depth: 12; Maximum Height: 2 ... <more> 

Allsop Model: 29591

$28.02

7 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 1 review)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Durable (13), Lightweight (17), Easy To Configure (7), Versatile (8)

Describe Yourself:

Technically Challenged (3), Multimedia Professional (3), Tech Savvy (7)

Best Uses:

Travel (10)

Primary use:

Personal (14), Business (3)

Cons:

None (3), Incompatible (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

works well for Macbook

By peskypesky Verified Reviewer from NYC on 07/09/2008


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Easy To Configure, Versatile

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Multimedia Professional

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Bed, Travel, Couch

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got this yesterday for my Macbook 13". It fits perfectly and is held in place by the lip. I often lie in bed using my laptop, and I was always using a pillow as insulation...but this is actually cooler, since the hot air dissipates rather than just travelling down through the pillow. This is also more secure than a pillow. Its also great for when I'm on the couch. If you have a smaller laptop, this should do well for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Serves the purpose

By Lo from Naples, FL on 07/06/2008


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Describe Yourself:

Technically Challenged

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Great For Work Or Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Use it primarily when relaxing at home


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

KISS (keep is simple stupid) Excellent

By JOJO from Albuquerque, New Mexico on 07/03/2008


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Configure, Lightweight

Describe Yourself:

Technically Challenged

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just a great product, great price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!! Perfect for my Macbook 13"

By Mr O Verified Reviewer from Brooklyn,NY on 06/06/2008


Pros:

Durable, Versatile, Easy To Configure, Lightweight

Cons:

No Cons

Describe Yourself:

Multimedia Professional

Best Uses:

Travel

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product for Macbook 13". A perfect fit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Lap of Luxury

By Denise Moynahan, author/illustrator from Oakland, MD on 06/04/2008


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Describe Yourself:

One Step Above Challenged

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Travel, Around The House

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works for me! I use it on my lap in my easy chair in front of the fireplace to write my children's stories.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice in a laptop platform.

By Navy Programmer Verified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 05/29/2008


Pros:

Comfortable, Durable, Holds Laptop Steady

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very comfortable laptop platform and keeps your laptop running cool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for 13 inch Macbook

By EC from New Brunswick, NJ on 05/14/2008


Pros:

Lightweight, Comfortable

Cons:

May Be Too Small For Some

Describe Yourself:

Recreational User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

In Bed, On The Couch, At Home, Travel

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It seems this product was made for the smaller laptops, the ones that are truly portable, 13 inches wide or less. It is perfect for my Macbook, but I can imagine 15" laptops may be too big for this particular lap stand. If yours is 13" inches or less, forget the iLap, as it is insanely expensive, and get this one. Overall very comfortable and keeps heat off your lap while not adding any heat to the laptop itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for my 17" screen lap top

By Russ from Ipswich U.K. on 04/26/2008


Pros:

Versatile, Easy To Configure, Lightweight

Cons:

Incompatible

Primary use:

Personal

The current 2"x14.25"x9.75"product is OK but only suitable for 15.5" lap tops, which should be stipulated on the cardboard package. If however the 9.75" is increased to 12.5", then it should be suitable for a 17" lap top, and stated accordingly on the packaging. I note OK SKIPPER on April 16, 2008 had the same problem!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for my computer

By OKSKIPPER Verified Reviewer from Anacortes, WA on 04/16/2008


Cons:

Incompatible

I bought it to try and use it with my HP Pavilion dv9000 laptop. The computer is too large and the stand wants to flip over backward with the hp on it. Probably a good stand for a small laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok, but you can have the same for less

By Rod Verified Reviewer from Melbourne, Australia on 03/17/2008


Pros:

Not As Bulky As Some, No Fans

Cons:

Cost

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Notebook Traveller

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Much better than some of the monstrosities sold as notebook coolers that consume power for fans and take up half a suitcase.Pretty much the same cooling effect, though, can be obtained using a [$] plastic chopping board from your local bargain store under your notebook.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for a Macbook

By MrG from TN on 03/15/2008


Pros:

Versatile, Durable, Lightweight

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Best Uses:

Travel

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop desk is perfect for a Macbook. It's the very same width and length as the Macbook, and puts the keyboard at a perfect angle. An added benefit is the bottom "lip," which comes up just high enough to help with the sharp edge along the bottom of the Macbook.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I was looking for!

By Zuperputer from Prince Albert, SK. Canada on 03/13/2008


Pros:

Appears Durable, Thoughtfull Engineering, Lightweight, Easy To Configure, Versatile

Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Best Uses:

New For Me

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just what I need to keep that hot laptop bottom off my legs and at the same time adding a better viewing angle to the screen. A must for the couch potato who uses a computer rather than a T.V.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad

By Canuck from Vancouver, BC on 01/23/2008


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Beginner

Best Uses:

Great To Use While On Bed

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought it. Not bad. My lap doesn't get hot and my fan doesn't always make noises as before. But does it really cool the laptop? I touch the bottom of the computer, it is hot. Is it suppose to be this way? Anybody knows?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most Versatile Fixed Position Platform

By Andrew from Midwest Verified Reviewer from Fayetteville, AR on 11/19/2007


Pros:

Cost Competitive, Lightweight, Versatile, Easy To Configure, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Technically Aware

Primary use:

Business

Best Uses:

Office Desk Location, Travel, Home Location

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The cool channel platform was purchased as a gift for my father, who spends several hours each day using a notebook computer for work related purposes. This work takes place both in his office, as well as in the home. This platform offers the perfect ergonomic height and angle while used on a desk top or simply using on lap when no desk is available. This fixed position platform stand offers an excellent viewing screen height, as well as a more natural angle for the notebook keyboard. Does not require the use of an accessory keyboard, as many other brands with an aggressive ramp angle do. Aside from the ergonomic benefits, this platform also adds a great cooling benefit which is definitely noticed. The canvas type fabric covering the framework of the stand allows for a non slip traction where it contacts the desk surface, and also the computer stays in place while on the platform. The cool channel platform is designed to fit around the notebook computer when it is closed and placed in a carrying bag. Every aspect of this product functions as advertised and to a very high level. My father is extremely pleased in every way, it may just be the most well used gift I have ever given, as it is used every day of the week. Absolutely, the best product of its type on the market. I will probably purchase an additional cool channel platform in the near future for my own personal use, as the benefits are many . . . Allsop offers an excellent product ! ! !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By MMH from Vancouver on 11/16/2007


Pros:

Versatile, Lightweight, Durable, Easy To Configure

Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Traveller

Best Uses:

Travel

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This works well for my new notebook computer. The computer slips into the channel and so it provides extra protection for the computer when traveling without taking up extra space. On a desk/table it holds the computer at a good angle and on my lap it makes life more comfortable and provides a stable base.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's cool all right

By ThePhoenix Verified Reviewer from Vancouver on 10/29/2007


Pros:

Cools, Durable, Lightweight

Describe Yourself:

Multimedia Professional, Tech Savvy

Best Uses:

Lap, Travel

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't know how it works, but it really keeps my lap cool when travelling. I have used it for hours on end in my bed. Forget any other product. You don't have to plug it in to cool either! I like the fabric--it never slips when on my lap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just to small but nice

By BOB WAREHAM from ENGLAND on 10/27/2007


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Incompatible

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Primary use:

Business

Best Uses:

Travel

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just liked this product when seen and thought it would be good for my sony vaio but its to small you need to add more for the width and depth as the feet on my vaio dont site on the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laptop slides off

By Chappie from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 10/27/2007


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Basically A Great Idea

Cons:

Incompatible, Doesn't Work With Vaio

Describe Yourself:

Businessman

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Front lip of Allsop platform is too low. Sony VAIO slips off. Sony laptop has tapered bottom front edge and it overshoots the platform edge and slides off. It may work fine with other brands. I have to return the product as a result.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Portable Accessory

By Retired Bees Verified Reviewer from Washington and Arizona on 10/19/2007


Pros:

Lightweight, Does What It Says

Describe Yourself:

Technically Challenged, New To Computers, Retired

Best Uses:

Travel

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is nice to use at mutilpy locations and during travel between. It does keep our laptop running cooler. It is excellent choice for snowbirds like myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple but efficient

By AJ Verified Reviewer from Tulsa, OK on 09/03/2007


Pros:

Laptop Runs Cooler, No Power Required, Lightweight, Versatile, Encases Laptop For Travel

Cons:

1" Shorter Than My 15", Expensive

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Keeps Lap Cool

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've found various chill mat designs with most about 12" wide--too narrow for my 15.4" screen. Many have fans that drain the battery; most are made of plastic or aluminum--the metal ones would probably feel cold if placed on your lap. The Allsop model has no fans and has a comfortable canvas surface. Also, I can slip my laptop into the channel of the platform and slip both into my travel bag. A little expensive but it works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved