Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Ups » General Purpose Ups » BE550G » 139 Reviews

Apc Be550g 550va Back-ups Es 120v 8 Out. Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 139 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Glad I upgraded

By charlie from Alexandria, Louisiana on 09/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I finally broke down and upgraded my UPS. I had a very good UPS from APC, but since I now use Mac OS 10.8.5, I could not make use of the old UPS. The old UPS did not have a usb port. Well, I did buy it new in 2003 and it worked fine with the older Mac OS 9.x. The new one has a usb port and works great so far. All I had to do was unpack it, open the battery cover, plug in the red connector, replace the cover and plug in the power cord and usb connection to my trusty old iMac. Other than possibly needing to replace the battery at some distant time, I am certain I will get a long life from this UPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Backups

By slowman from Wyoming on 09/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use these units throughout our company and they work well. This was a replacement/upgrade for one with a battery that was going bad. We seem to get about 6 years + out of a unit before the batteries start to show signs of needing to be replaced. In our areas they are a necessity as we get power outages and spikes enough that without them there could be some serious damage or loss.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Products

By Strumpett from Bullhead City, AZ on 08/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with APC products, they do protect everything plugged into them. I use them for my TVs, Computers even my modem/router. I hate brownouts ! Now I am using one on my home automation system


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BE550G network compatibility

By APCuser from Undisclosed on 06/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use APC to protect my computer and TVs here in Florida and never had problems. I do have a question on the BE550G data protection. The documentation says RJ45 10/100 Base-T Ethernet protection, does this include CAT6 gigabit? Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC 550 great product!

By kurby from Undisclosed on 05/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our small business has 8 of these for our PC workstations and they work great when the power goes out. It gives us plenty of time to save our work before shutting down if the power stays out for an extended period. I also like the fact that APC gives you a return shipping label so you can ship an old unit that you're replacing back to them for free, and they gave us a discount for the new unit. The units are guaranteed for 3 years. Very happy with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a replacement for ...

By H from Amagansett, NY on 03/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a replacement for an earlier produsct. Very satisfied with both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Doing Business with APC

By SmallBusinessITGuy from Brookfield, WI on 01/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As soon as we identified what products we like to use, APC's website gives us great flexibility with ordering. Every transaction is quick and completed with great quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By midwest from Ohio on 01/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The price was good and directions were clear on setting it up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty good

By Ugh from Undisclosed on 01/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just used down in the basement to keep the router, switch, and DirecTV power inserter connected during outages. It seems to be doing that okay.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

at least the sixth one I've purchased

By Ltbmobu from Undisclosed on 01/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this battery back up. Almost every computer in our office has this model, plus I use it at home too. Great to have a chance to turn everything off properly when there is a power surge/wane/outage before losing vital information. Can't beat the warranty either. I really like APC's green return policy too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BE550G

By chuck from Montreal on 12/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

At only 17 months old this UPS worked very well until recently, when it could only give 15-20 seconds of backup during a recent power outage. Normally it gives about 10 minutes, enough time to shut down the computer properly. It seems the battery is no more good and it or the entire unit needs replacing. A previous APC UPS I owned worked for about 3-4 years before quitting. At this time I cannot recommend this model to anyone based on my experience. Maybe APC will step up and replace it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product and service

By ssp from Everett, WA on 11/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous unit was 5 or 6 years old when the battery failed. I researched replacing the battery, but I wanted an APC replacement, not some after market product. Upon contacting APC, I was advised of their replacement program. I purchased an entirely new unit for a VERY reasonable cost, and they shipped it, plus provided a free shipping label for me to return the outdated model to them. Excellent program and great customer service! The phone representative who assisted me was also extremely helpful, and very friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great

By singer from Wellington, Fl on 08/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this battery for my 82" TV. We have lots of power interruptions in Florida and this battery keeps the TV running.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as promised

By pdavids from Houston, Texas on 08/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is not a glamorous product - it just sits there under my desk doing its job. But it does its job. I live in an area with lots of lightning storms, sometimes with short power outages, and that is what this product is for. I have not had damage to any equipment that was plugged into this product, and in terms of battery backup, I often realize that there was a very short power outage due to the beep from the UPS rather than from lights blinking or the like - in other words, it response very quickly. Of course it is a "550" with limits on its UPS capabilities, but I got what I paid for and more. It is what I needed. I am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable and Affordable

By Lofty from Florida on 08/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using APC products for many years. Since I traded in the prior unit for the current model, there haven't been any blackouts or monster power surges but I expect it will eventually save my bacon as its predecessors have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great low cost option

By betsy50 from Syracuse, NY on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have five of these installed. Perfect compromise between high end coverage (often over-kill) and cheap surge suppressors. Trust APC, love their trade-in process. Keep up the good work!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy

By Madhav from Woodbridge, NJ on 03/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am using APC products for the last (8) yrs and I am very with their products., particularly with Back-UPS 550.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Always top notch

By Grizz from Wisconnsin on 02/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This the fourth APC Back-UPS that I have purchased. They have always performed flawlessly through storms and power outages. For some reason we have short intermittent power outages at various times of the year so instead of having to fire up the computer again or lose the page or site you were working on when their is a power blip it just switches over to the battery. Also protects against power surges to protect against any fried computer components.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HW good - SW not so good

By Mio, MI from Mio, MI on 02/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The UPS works as advertised. Only problems experienced are with the software, Power Chute Personal for Win 7. Am using ver. 3.0.2. The SW has always indicated 100% charged. The software initially said I had 450 min's. of power avail. After 1 week it said I had 130 Min. After 1 mo. it says I have 9 min's. No changes to setup or to plug-ins. I wonder how long before it runs down completely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy setup and works ...

By Hermit from Undisclosed on 01/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy setup and works great. No problems. I have bought quite a few APC products over the years, and they have been very dependable. After a few years, you may have to replace the battery, but that is expected and normal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS

By DC3 from Clinton, NJ on 12/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased five 750's and two 550's. All units were easy to assemble and work as advertised. I love the software that comes with for proper shut down if power should drop. I have to compliment working with the online team from Rhode Island. Purchasing was easy, Trade Ups worked well. Very Smooth. Highly recommend working with the Schneider Team.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As usual it performs well

By neil from Undisclosed on 12/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only complaint I have is that APC did not provide a way to return the old unit at no cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for its purpose

By Rich of Ned from Nederland, CO on 12/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit replaced an almost identical unit that had functioned well for several years but finally would no longer hold a charge. Battery replacement was an option, but I was offered a "trade-in" that was fair and reasonable. Set up is simple and power seems adequate for a home office computer. We live in a mountain area with frequent power outages, often very brief ones, so this unit keeps things going without interruption.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great UPS

By MensaMan64 from Toone, TN on 09/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this UPS when the one I was previously using needed a new battery. This unit was a higher power rating and was only $10.00 more than just a battery. When I received the unit I discovered that the software that comes with it was much better than the software with the older unit. It allows me to schedule when alarms will sound, meaning that it won't beep in the middle of the night and wake my wife. For this alone, she gives it an A++! It was easy to setup and I've had no problems with it. I would recommend it highly, myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Problems - Works Great

By Longtimer from Houston Texas Area on 08/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the Trade-UPS program for several years. This transaction was smooth, just like the others. Product arrived a day earlier then projected and worked as expected right out of the box. The return label worked well. I got what I wanted with no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Power back up supply

By myrongene from Andrews, Indiana on 08/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 3 of these and since I am at the end of the our utility power line which is 15 miles away we are always having an outage during a storm. These units keep my equipment protected and I don't loose memory on my pc's I also have a generator that if we are out of power for any length of time that I can run.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works fine

By DB from Portland, OR on 07/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This works as expected, and the battery recycle option to have it ship out was very helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Backups 550

By wire1ready from Leesburg, FL on 07/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had previous APC Backups (APC-350) and the quality and service received was excellent. Now this new unit will assure my equipment a longer life, thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine product

By Razorback from Houston, TX on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this new unit, it is smaller than my last backup and it seems to recover quicker also


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Data Saver

By Duke from Tucson, AZ on 05/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am plagued with power outages indiscriminately and the APC-UPS keeps my computer on and all my data secure and safe when the power goes out so it can reconnect to AC within 5 minutes or gracefully shut down the machine. I own two units and have two computers on them at all times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Two drawbacks

By bobscr from Odessa, TX on 04/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As other reviews have stated, the plugs are grouped too close together. APC's batteries do not seem to last as long as they used to. I have used APC backups for 20+ years, but this may be my last. I will be doing more research before the next purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BE550 has only 1 wide plug for battery

By Coalman from florida on 03/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The BE550 has only 1 wide plug for surg and battery. Design problem because routers, DSL modem and others all have wide plug adapters. Product does not address current network equipment design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Peace of mind

By sak from San Antonio, TX on 02/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this product to protect our computers and my wife's medical equipment. It has not failed us and allows us to take appropriate measures when a power failure comes. It is most reassuring to have this in place, and we cannot imagine being without it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed.

By CSRWonk from Orlando, FL on 02/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a reliable UPS that would protect my computer, server and telephone system at a reasonable price. The Back-UPS 550 filled the bill perfectly. I gave it a few tests to make certain and I can say that it outperforms other UPS systems to the nth degree.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Re-Cycling a Plus

By samisami7 from littleton, CO on 02/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A better product which replaced my '500 UPS-Pro' and has a much better design ( access to outlets much easier). And as APC picked up the Tab for sending the Old unit in for disposal, is taking much less space!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Backup

By Middleman from Denver, CO on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My current UPS battery needed replaced, when checking online there was a sale, so I replaced the old APC UPS unit with this newer one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thanks goodness

By TravlnDwag from Seattle Area on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had 3 APC Back-UPS and slowly have upgraded to more and more wattage. This particular unit is on my wife's PC. We had a power supply failure and replaced the power supply. In fact, the problem was a failing mother board. Fortunately, the APC Back-UPS 550 was in place because the mother board shorted, killing the new power supply. The Back-UPS protected the network and the remainder of the system so that we could recover the hard drive to re-install all her programs on a new computer. Protection in two ways - incoming and from the computer - make these back-up power supplies absolutely essential. Thanks APC


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Multiple Application User

By Joe from Milwaukee, WI on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have (5) units that cover not only computer application but aquarium pumps, satellite receivers and security camers. All work as designed and usually meet or exceed the warranty timeline as far as battery replacement. The exchange program will address\ to assure the latest product upgrades when this occurs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By radblue from nevada on 11/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was our 5 Back - UPS purchased from APC. As we add servers and computers, our needs have grown. The APC units work well and we like the ability to replace the batteries rather than the entire unit. We also appreciate the recycling program.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great, kill the re-charge alarm

By CT User from SE Connecticut on 10/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Functionally perfect. Gets me through the power loses that seem to have become more frequent. Wish I could get rid of the annoying alarm that sounds once power is back on & I turn my computer back on before the unit is fully recharged.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Surprise

By NJ User from Montclair, NJ on 10/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As always, works as intended plus excellent staff.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY Good

By bud from Undisclosed on 09/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC back-ups 550 for years. I now have 3 used to back up 3 different computers. I have never had a problem with any of them except after 5 years I had to replace a battery in 1 of them (the oldest). Been through many black outs and they never failed me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Continuing Customer

By TwiceRetired from Atlanta, GA on 09/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC battery backup and surge suppressor units for many years, and found them to be entirely satisfactory. I recycle old units with APC even though it is more expensive than buying a new APC unit at retail. (I often find units on sale locally for about 2/3rd the price at APC but then face the issue of how to recycle the old unit.) I recommend these units to my friends since in the summer in the South we often have powerful storms with lightning and power disruptions. I highly recommend units such as the Back-UPS 550.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I did

By Soup from Florida on 06/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As you may know, Florida has recently been hit with tropical storm Debby. Fearing damage for my computer and security equitment I purchased this battery backup. Throughout the storm the battery backup kicked in several times from sags, and short interuptions. I still made off well, not having a flood or a long power outage!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

550 Back-UPS

By Ron from Aurora, Colorado on 04/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I thing is as good as the two 500U's that I replaced with the 550's. All of the various Back-UPS's that I have I only have trouble withn the batteries going bad. They do the job that they are made for and that is all that I can ask for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy

By dut from Colorado on 03/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was pleased with the customer service, the price, the return of the old battery... saved me a lot of money and seems to be doing it's job so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Size & Shape

By Charlie from Undisclosed on 03/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have four APC units of various sizes; this is the perfect size to remain out of sight and still provide the protection needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good UPS but not perfect

By luv2hike from Undisclosed on 02/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good value for the cost. The only thing I would change is make the outlet holes not be so tight. It takes a good amount of force to plug or unplug devices into it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice product - designer needs clue

By overly critical from Durham, NC on 11/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I like the ups I just today bought. easy setup (just plug it in), software installation was easy too. My critique is that the cord from the ups to the wall outlet is right beside the warning indicator light. well if you have the side with the cord facing the wall you can't see the light. Turn it to the side with the light facing you (I am facing the ups with the cord coming out to my left) you can't see the light because of the cord. If you put it on the floor next to the wall under your desk, you will never see the light, though I can see the cord un-obstructed. anyways, if you don't care about the light at all, I basically agree with the most recent reviewers which I read.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Essential equipment

By OZMOM from York PA on 11/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For peace of mind, this is great. Recent power outages remind us of how important power surge protection and backup are. Only drawback is the narrow spacing between outlets. Can't use all outlets if cords have adapter plugs; not enough space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent as usual

By fman from Danville, CA on 11/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased as replacement for unit > 3 years old. As usual, I am extremely happy with APC. All the units I have ever purchased for home and business have worked perfectly - in contrast to a Tripp-Lite that never provided backup power.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product.

By Len from Cabot, Arkansas on 10/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have another APC Back-UPS 550va and it has given excellent service. That is the primary reason I bought a second unit. L. Bjerken


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ES 550 UPS from APC

By itswks4me from Schenectady, NY on 10/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just a nice product...As an MCSE for 11 Years I have utilized APC UPS devices for my 9 node network with great results... A reliable piece of Hardware no one will be without..especialy in areas where power changes exist..I recommend highly the ES 550 units for Home Use...Nice Unit...I remain; W K Suttie RPh MCP MCP + I MCSE # 2032601, 12 Oct 2011


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where's the wall mount?

By JoePen from Michigan on 10/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looked at your web site documentation before ordering this model quantity (6) specifically with wall mount slots. Now this has changed again. Do you have free wall mount brackets? Our corporation has standardized on APC for UPS units and a large quantity of models from the BE through the Smart-UPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Workstation UPS

By Geistvolf from Catskill, NY on 10/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The UPS is perfect for workstations and other assorted equipment that require the ability to "ride through" a brief power outage. I use the exchange program and find the pricing along with the ability to easily recycle and receive credit for the older units to be an excellent solution for all consumers, both personal and business. I highly recommend these UPS units over any of the other brands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job

By CatLady from Lehigh Valley, PA on 09/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does what we need it to do for a reasonable cost. Easy to install; dependable. Especially like APC's return program of old units whether their own brand or another's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Back-UPS ES 8 Outlet 550VA 120V

By Bill from OHIO on 09/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always depended on APC products and this updated version is no exception. Having a stable voltage has extended the life of my PC - it's 7 years old now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sad Very Sad

By HimAgain from SW Florida on 09/24/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'll make it short because if I try to explain everything as it happened it cuts me off and I have to start all over. SO the box says it is compatiable with Windows 7. According to Apc Tech Support, Geek Squad, Microsoft it is NOT compatiable with Windows 7. Had to return it and buy another brand that is compatiable.Florida


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Football

By DaveB from Undisclosed on 08/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wouldn't play football without a helmet. I wouldn't compute without a UPS. This unit is my "helmet". It is as good as it gets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!

By ChrisJ from Glendale, CA on 07/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been purchasing APC products for the last 4 years for my office. The particular workstation model BE550G is excellent and has been very reliable. Never had any problems with any of my 24 APCs we own and are in use 24/7. The last time I had to swap an APC was an APC purchased some 8 years ago that had been through 3 office expansion moves. Thanks for the great products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Austin from Butler, PA on 07/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our business is in a rural area and we loose utility power so frequently that we have a large deisel powered generator. We often have surges and power drops that have cost us several computer deaths. After getting this UPS unit is has functioned perfectly, everytime, and has no doubt saved us from anymore untimely computer fatalities or loss of data. No matter where you are located, this unit should be on every computer you own. Buy this UPS with confidence as this is a quality product that performs as advertised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding product--Back-UPS ES-8

By AzGaye from rural Arizona, New Mexico and COlorado on 07/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got my third similar unit. I have used them for about 15 years now. I have never had any equipment damaged by spike/surge situations while using these surge supressors. And I live in high-lightening areas. As a freelance novelist and ficiton writer, I maintain valuable data on my system often irreplaceable at any given time. I can ill-afford a crash or loss when facing a deadline. APC products keep me safe and secure both by conditioning power and providing time to shut my system down properly in black or brownouts. . If the quality remains I will be a customer for life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great

By LinuxGuy from Space Coast, Florida on 07/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit as a replacement for an older unit with a weak battery. Not only did I get a new UPS in the process, but I was able to send my old unit back for recycling free of charge. I also got a discount on my new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By ST from Charlotte,NC on 06/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You absolutely can't beat this product. My only request is that I wish this product line had an alarm defeat switch like the Back-UPS Pro. Next time around I will definitely spend the extra money to get one with the alarm defeat switch. Otherwise awesome product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I can always count on APC.

By GChaz from Sanilac County, MI on 06/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live in a rural area in Michigan which does not have the most reliable power utility service. I receive power from a cooperative, and am the next-to-the-last person on the line... seriously! So, when something happens, I always lose power or get surges and brown outs. But, APC fixes all that! I can sit back and relax because I have three UPS units and Power Chute software to protect all my sensitive electronic equipment. Years ago I had to replace equipment damaged by storms and file insurance claims, but for the past ten years, I haven't. APC has saved me from all those deductibles and replacement costs. These UPSs paid for themselves after the very first thunderstorm. Thank you APC! -- GC


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Work's Great!

By Sid from Forest Hills, NY on 05/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This UPS came in handy during the electrical upgrade of my house wiring. My PC never went down when power was temporarily shut off and it even warned me when neutral and hot were reversed. Best yet, the unit runs cool. It's just well designed and I have five around the house and another six in my office protecting everything from switches, PCs, secuity and telephone systems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product, as usual!

By Rand in Colorado from Colorado on 05/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This BE550G is my third APC UPS unit. The other two have been in service about 10 years and were trouble-free, reliable, and have protected me against local power failures AND one near-miss lightning strike. I rely on these units a LOT! Unfortunately, a recent power surge and failure caused the older of my UPS (BE500U) to blow its battery. I immediately replaced it with this unit. My only criticism of the BE550G is the difficulty of setting it up. While the battery cover came off easily, the battery wouldn't come out of the case far enough to connect it. I finally wrestled the battery out, connected it and got it back in its case. When it came time to connect the components, it took an inordinate effort to push the plugs into the female sockets... I have no doubt they will never work themselves loose, but I do wonder if I'll ever be able to remove them, lol. I love your power management products and won't set my home network up without them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product; Tough on User

By Illinoisian from Illinois on 05/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As always, the Back Ups 550 is a sturdy product which will probably last a long time, just as my BackUPS PRO did. However, I had a terrible time installing it. Every step required excessive force, including even inserting the plugs into the outlets! For starters, the battery cover would not just depress and release - I had to use a tool in order to exert sufficient pressure. Then the battery, which supposedly easily slides out if you merely turn the unit right side up after removing the battery door, took about 10 minutes and a lot of shaking to dislodge. Connecting the battery wires also required an excessive amount of force. And again, plugging in computer and peripherals was very difficult because the outlets were so tight that once again, a LOT of sheer force was required. I don't think an item such as this should require the strength of a bodybuilder to set up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By BronxBoy from Rocklin, CA on 05/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous Back UPS lasted 8 years; survived a power failure in New Jersey and one in California. Present replacement is fine. It would be helpful to mention that laser printers should not be used with this UPS, as they are very power-hungry on start-up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Perfect Fit

By nyppsi from Rockville, MD on 04/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The ES 550G was a perfect fit for the wattage/VA rating, the size (for the space I had to put it in) & the number of outlets. I do wish the cord were a bit longer and that a statement was made on the box & in the literature that the unit could be used in any position (horizontally, sideways/ vertically and/or hung on the wall) if that is the case. I also wish you would give joules ratings for your UPS products (the surge suppression portion). Finally, I wish ALL of the surge & surge + battery backup outlets were sufficiently far apart to allow transformers to be plugged in side-by-side. That would make the unit even more functional & really wouldn't require much additional separation. Overall, I rate it at 4.5 stars (but you didn't give me that option in the star ratings above, so I had to give it a 5).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works...

By Dustoff from N Central AZ on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

as expected. I would expect nothing less. This unit replaced an older unit that was probably 5-6+ years old. I purchased this unit based on the reliability and cost of the older one and so far all is good. I would hope to get at least the same service from the new one as the old. All-in-all, a good product at a reasonable price. I would buy another (and probably will when this one bites the dust).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this product

By Kim from Cleveland Ohio on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is so simple to install if you need more than 4 back up/ surge protectorate outlet I just plugged a surge protectorate extension cord into it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ES8 Review

By tomac from East Greenwich, RI on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got a good deal from APC online for this device. I traded in a previous generation back up for this at a discount. APC took back the old unit for recycle at their expense. The ES-8 was plug and play with my new Windows 7 system. Like it's predecessor it has performed flawlessly since installed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good unit

By Garebear from Utica, Mi on 03/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've used this unit for a while and there has been absolutely no problem with it. Its software is fully functional and I have not experienced any bugs or glitches.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for keeping VOIP phone system going

By CapitalRegionBiz from Undisclosed on 03/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For over a year this little battery backup has kept our VOIP business phones available through blackouts and brownouts without a single problem. You sort of forget its there until the phone rings in the dark.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent UPS

By c0ncept from Long Island, NY on 03/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just purchased this to replace an older unit. It protects my Xbox 360 video game console and HD-TV. Wouldn't want to be without it on these high end video game systems and TV. Really offers peace of mind in case the unexpected happens during a gaming session :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works wel

By Old Bob from Atlana, GA on 03/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

"My APC BE550G is doing everything as expected. It replaced my returned three year old unit. I love the ability to return the old unit "free of charge';good for me and good for APC! Thank you, for a great product."


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smartest buy

By jergis from Portsmouth, VA on 02/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second battery backup and I am extremely happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My APC BE550G is doing ...

By Bob from Missouri on 01/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My APC BE550G is doing everything as expected. It replaced my returned three year old unit. Thank you, for a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Back-UPS

By teddy from Undisclosed on 01/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second purchase. The first one lasted longer than expected and was great. We have many power failures and when least expected. I woudn't be without a UPS. I only wish that the back up didn't restore everytime I print something.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid!

By wyllis from Undisclosed on 12/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have owned this product for about a year now and it has been rock solid. Been through two power outages with it and it has supplied more than enough back up power and kept my devices from any power related issues. Top notch!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fingernail-breaker

By FlyerTom from Undisclosed on 12/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The battery in this unit does NOT come out easily. From the get-go, one must attach the ground cable to the battery before use, and it's a royal pain trying to pry this heavy brick out of its cave. A couple of cloth or plastic handles attached to the battery would go a long way in removing this battery and keeping the invectives down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2nd time around

By grandma from Mississippi on 12/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second APC I have had and I am totally satisfied. Rather than get a new battery for my old one, I was able to upgrade and get a small credit. I have never had a problem with either of my APC backups and I like, very much, the fact that I could return my old battery back-up in the box I received my new one in. Saved trying to find a recycling place!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By ofc from Loomis, CA on 11/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the UPS as a replacement for my wife's computer. I plugged it in and it just works. I have had no problems with it and it has saved the computer over several power outages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

There is no Other

By BigRed from EULESS, TX on 11/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been purchasing UPS UNITS from APC since 1990. I have introduced all my friends to these units, and today they are still "DIE-HARD" users. For the price, the workmanship, the protection, and the reliability these UPS provides - THERE IS NO OTHER!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for Home

By Power Man from Northeastern Vermont on 11/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a perfect solution for a home computer. Big enough to handle the job yet priced to fit the budget. APC has always been the backup solution for all my computers. The trade up feature is perfect. Just put the old one in the box and drop it off for return. The easiest way to recycle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I had used a 500 unit for ...

By lefty from knoxville tn on 10/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had used a 500 unit for several years and was pleased with quility. When the battery finally went out, I immediately ordered another unit upgrading to 550VA 120V.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great confidence

By superstup from Denver, CO on 09/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live in a nrighbothood where we get power surges about the same time every morning, and my AP C is right there every time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great unit and price

By dk from Undisclosed on 08/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit has an great number of backup outlets for the price. works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I really like this one

By MacSmacker from Bakersfield, CA on 08/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smaller size and better runtime than my older 350. Easy hookup, mostly. The only thing that confused me was the RJ45 jack for the USB. I kept looking for the USB port until I really looked at the cable. Set up with my iMac was easy, configuration was even easier. Eight power ports is great. I still have a surge open.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

purchased multiple for all family members-awesome!

By tervlover from woodbridge, va on 08/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we love apc producfts ... sold them for years ... finally bought them for every family member ... don't have to worry now! brother just blew up one pc with lots of lightning, etc. he got new pc, and i purchased his ups ... just installed it! awesome!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You have designed a ...

By RuralDude from West Virginia on 08/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You have designed a wonderful product. I bought my first BE550, for my computer tower, router, monitor + light. I was so impressed when we had a few long power outages. And my computer was safe, because I was using this product. I bought another BE550, for my entertainment center. My tv, dvd player, satilite dish + stereo. They will hold power for my computer + tv center, for atleast 20 minutes each BE550. I do not do this out of habit but had to try to see how long I felt safe before I shut everything done without loss of any information, stuck dvd or video tape in player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding!

By Grumpy from Rock Hill, SC on 08/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great concept (TradeUps) and great execution. Easy to order. Easy to set up. Easy to package the old unit for return, Environmentally friendly and easy on the pocketbook. And, best of all, the product itself is first-class. You just set it up and forget about it with 100% confidence that it will provide all the protection they promise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Totally Satisfied

By Geezer from San Jose, CA on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaced a very old unit which was failing. the installation was straightforward and easy to accomplish. Have not had any subsequent problems. There have been four sort power failures since installation: one was for 18 seconds and the other three less than two seconds. No problems


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Fine APC Product

By arstearns from Pisgah Forest, NC on 07/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC battery backups for many years now and continue to use them. I have never lost a PC or modem (DSL or dial-up) to a power event because of this. Keep up the good work and products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One drawback

By db from SC on 07/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Three year warranty is a plus! The unit does provide good surge and battery backup protection, but there is one drawback. All 8 outlets are not fully accessible because they are spaced so closely together! Three of the four in each row are close and not usable if your peripherals have the larger 3-prong plugs. Of course many of my printers and add-ons have the big transformer plugs and I didn't think they would fit. But it seems that APC would want to space these outlets further apart to make them all accessible. I am disappointed in this feature from APC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Repeat Purchase

By Don from Belford, New Jersey on 06/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Back-UPS ES 550G as a replacement for a Back-UPS ES 500. I was very satisfied with the performance of APC products (both at home and at work). It always protected our equipment and was very easy to install. I would like to see replacement batteries at retail outlets for convenience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By pompajean from South Florida on 06/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have power outages frequently and my UPS is a life-saver for my computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No good for breaker overloads

By AEE from New York, NY on 06/08/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit because my apartment has too much on too few circuits, and the breakers flip a couple times a week. When that happens, however, this unit overloads or something and actually doesn't keep my computer running -- so it is effectively useless for its intended purpose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works fine, lasts long tme

By Tony from Michigan on 05/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought BE550G for home theater PC; have 5 now. Easy to install. If you have Windows 7 make sure you use Powerchute version 2.2 It is not on CD, and currently doesn't show up in software for BE550G. You have to go to software update list for Powerchute Personal Edition. Before BE550G, had BE550R on other PC's and they worked great for both power glitches and several full power outages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC ES

By Richard from Wappingers Falls, NY on 05/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product was easy to setup and was up and running in a few minutes. I am using it with my NAS which monitors the backup unit. Even with a PC and monitor connected, as well as the NAS, it has over 34 minutes of battery life. This is my 4th APC unit and all are still being used, the oldest one, over 5 years old, is being used for my audio equipment. Great products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By teknoboy174 from Tucson, az on 05/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's saved me on 3 occasions already 2 minor fluctuations and 1 blackout. on the 2 minor ones it switched and switched right back without taking any of the bettery power and on the blackout i wasn't here, but it shut down my system for me after 2 minutes which is what i have it set for. according to my neighbors it lasted 4 hours and my lamp stayed on the whole time which throughly confused them because of the whole rest of the 1 suare mile being dark.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Trade-in Replacememt

By Lee from Longview, TX on 05/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The new unit was dleivered as promised by APC. It provides one more connection for both back-up and surge protection than my four year old unit. It was a good upgrade for a very good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

install CD no good

By old pro from Undisclosed on 04/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The installation CD did not work, looked like it was in a loop, not responding, task manager could not "end program". Finally downloaded software, hope it works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

feeling secure

By flowerpower from Oregon on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have used APC UPS units on all of our office computer systems for as long as we have been in business - 10 years. The units have always performed flawlessly, giving us a great sense of security. The information options they offer are very useful and the overall installation is very clear & straightforward. The product information and ordering online is easy to find, understand & use; shipping is prompt & the prices are reasonable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT Product - Last one went 5 Yrs!

By Sactomags from Undisclosed on 04/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lasted through the hurricanes in '04, to save our computer so we were almost always in touch. Sporadic power outages through the years and this thing just kept on. Great product, and am a repeat customer! Easy to install, and then just forget about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement APC

By asleuth from Houston, Texas on 04/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third APC and it works as well if not better than the original one. I replaced the first one because it was not large enough, and replaced the second one because it wore out from old age. Once the second one stopped working properly after years of dependable use the only logical thing to do was replace it with a newer version.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, Great Service

By ballerina from Auburn Hills, Michign on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The entire church office uses these to protect our computers, so when it was time to replace mine I didn't question the fact. After speaking with a customer service representative, I was convinced that not only do they have a good product, but the customer service is outstanding. They told me the most economical way to purchase a new unt, and made return of the old unit easy. I would definitely recommend this product to business associates and friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied customer

By APC Consultant from Orange County, CAlifornia on 03/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using and recommending APC products for more than 20 years. In that time my clients and I have (to the best of my knowledge) had only one product failure other than expected battery replacemnts. I shall continue to use and recommend APC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great upgrade!

By nmcd from Spencer WV on 03/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this as a upgrade i went from a es 350 to es550. it is a nice back up and at a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Eveeryone Needs Two

By Mr Satisfied from Cape Coral, Florida on 03/20/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would not be without the Back-UPS ES 8. I have one to support my laptop and desktop, with the other one monitoring my network, printer, and charging station. I am not a sophisticated user, but I know what works for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-Up ES 8

By mrsaldino from Florida on 03/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just upgraded my UPS. Loved the old one. LOVE this one. So easy even a computer disaster like me can feel comfortable setting it up. No problems with unit. APC products are all I use at home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Saved my hard drive

By Walt from Florida on 02/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my first APC after lightening destroyed my hard drive - that unit saved it several times later and lasted six years. My new unit has a ground detection light which told me that the outlet I was using was not properly grounded. I fixed that and now feel fully protected. The only fault I find is that the power cord is shorter than the earlier unit causing me to use an extension cord to reach the closest outlet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Product

By noodles777 from Arizona on 02/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product, wonderful sale rep, answered all question accurately and received quickly after ordering.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ES550

By JohnW2 from Yellville,AR on 02/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to replace my old Back-up (An older APC) ,it was over 7 years old,so with that kind of service, it was a no-brainer that I repeat with a new one from the same company that gave us such great service for such a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Back-UPS 550VA

By Walda from New Port Richey, FL on 02/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC back-ups for a long time. This one is easy to set up, has a small footprint, and is energy saving, all a big plus for me. There is a lot of lightning where I live, APC give me the protection I need for my computer and other peripherals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value nice size

By Rjwood22 from Austin, TX on 02/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the perfect UPS for a small office/home office. The backup time is sufficient to safely shut down plus there is software to do this for you included. The small footprint is wonderful for offices where space is a concern. Installation is simple and straightforward. It went from box to use in less than 5 minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've used APC units for ...

By old man benny from Undisclosed on 02/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used APC units for years --- always reliable. For some reason I have had difficulty with the CD which will not run in my computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a good experience

By Bil from Providence, RI on 01/30/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I installed the product on my computer and it caused my system to hang. when I tried to reboot, the system drive was corrupted. I am just now finishing the recovery of my data. The unit is sitting on my desktop because I'm not sure what to do with it. I don't want to try to hook it up again and have it cause another problem .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By Patrick from McDonough, GA on 01/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second APC Back-UPS. Have been very pleased with ease of installation and service from the product. Would definitely recommend this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Wise Purchase

By Gray Tabby from Undisclosed on 01/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 3rd APC Back-UPS I've owned and the previous 2 outlasted their warranties. I am pleased with the enormous help the tech gave me and helped facilitate the swap purchase. Also, The Power Chute feature helped make the sale since most of our power outages occur during the night when my computer may be on standby.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Back-UPS ES 8

By mamalaina from New Port Richey, FL on 01/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just received my new APC back up, plugged it in and it works just as expected. Have had prior APC units, that's why I bought this one, I like the reliability. I live in the lightning capital of the world, and definitely need the reliability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it was really once

By idonthaveone from makes no difference now on 01/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i had it all typed, great story, something timed out, lost it all, not going to do it again. Happy new year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Backups

By bbrado5 from Oregon on 12/21/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

apc just works, and thats the reason I bought ,this new system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

solid product

By computerwizg from Southern Calif on 12/21/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

as usual APC delivers with a solid dependable product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THe normal install

By JRWWA from Edmonds, WA on 12/17/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is just like the other three APC UPS products that I have. Open the box, pull out the shipping protector, plug in the battery plug the UPS into the wall and computer, then insert the CD. The software requires only following the prompts and you are finished. THis one installed on an old computer that I setup for grandchildrens games.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Unit

By Office Chickie from Wisconsin on 12/14/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used APC products for many years. This is my second time upgrading/trading in 6 units without issue. Work in an area that has often power "dips" and the units never fail to keep me up and running, or keeping me up until I can properly shut down for longer outtages. Recommend them to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

most excellent upgrade

By hjholmes from Undisclosed on 12/07/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this back-up is an excellent upgrade. the battery time is very long, and the protection is incomparable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine except for the beeping

By MacQ from Undisclosed on 11/29/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Everything is fine except for one thing. When power is out and the unit is running on battery, it beeps several times every 30 seconds. This is very annoying. Supposedly there is a setting in the software that disables it. But, I installed the software, made the supposed change, and then I unplugged the UPS from my PC to use it in a closet for a wireless router. The UPS did not retain the setting after being unplugged (or maybe even didn't accept the setting in the first place - I'm not sure). In any event, I"m left with a UPS that beeps every 30 seconds when on battery. I'm well aware of when power goes out - I don't need the beeping. Also, I have ample UPS power on many devices to work comfortably for 20-30 minutes. Having something beeping every 30 seconds is distracting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trouble with equipment after purchase

By JGeerWM from Kansas City on 11/28/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like that the new unit consumes less energy and I also like that APC traded up my old unit, however, I started to get an annoying squeal out of my speakers after plugging my computer equipment into the new UPS. Online support suggested that I get a ferrite bead for my equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By VAL from Chehalis, WA on 11/19/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC products for many years and have had a good experience with them, including this latest purchase. Only downside is it was a bit difficult to get the cords/hookups to stay in place when closing up the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By alicat from Undisclosed on 11/12/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy install. Trust this brand, have used frequently in past. No problems with directions or equipment. Even in thunder/lightning storms and power surges/spikes - no damage or lost data/power.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent UPS for the price

By Draxxus from Denver, CO on 11/04/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got tired of the frequent power spikes in my area and needed an affordable UPS. The Back-UPS ES 550VA lives up to APC's name. I've used several of APC's products in datacenters and would recommend this unit. I had no issues with the battery installation. I did, however, have an issue when moving the unit to different locations in the house. A couple of OFF/ON cycles and it came back online.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

right out of the box

By mochi from Oregon on 08/20/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Right out of the box, plugged in, and protecting. In an area of frequent power interruptions and spikes we depend on the APC battery backup to protect our electronics. It has proven itself very reliable and we are confident it will safeguard even when we cannot be there. Lightning storms don't even cause problems now. Excellent product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable

By larry.k from Colorado on 08/19/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really depend on this model UPS. I have two protecting computer systems. I also have a 750 protecting another system. I really appreciate APC equipment. I wouldn't have any other brand!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

D.O.A.

By oldrask from Mount Vernon, NY on 08/08/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Right out of the box; I hooked-up the battery terminal as directed, plugged it in, turned it on, and got the "Replace Battery" indications.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New Unit

By G from Bremerton, WA on 07/03/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The instructions for connecting battery seem to apply to a slightly different model. In step 2 of Connect Battery, I was unable to remove the battery from the unit. With some difficulty, I slid the battery wire onto the battery terminal. Since this is a new unit I have been unable to rate it's performance other than telephone pass through is ok and and other circuits provide power.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Please add mounting holes

By Battery from Fredericksburg, VA on 05/05/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great device. Please add mounting holes on the back so the UPS can be hung on the wall. The previous model had these mounting holes. We miss them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broken

By Rambo from Bangor on 01/27/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product broke when I picked it up. It looked used and parts were missing. I don't like this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved