Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Ups » General Purpose Ups » BK500BLK » 20 Reviews

Apc Bk500blk 500va - 3 X Nema 5-15r Ups Back Up Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 20 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

BK500BLK

By john b from vermont on 02/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We buy APC products for their reliability. However they have changed from using right angle plug to straight plugs. Now I have more trouble with bad connections at the outlet than power failures because it is too easy to accidentally knock the plug out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

UPS

By john b from Vermont on 09/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC UPS units are very reliable, work 100% of the time for us. I prefer to buy the units with the outlets on the back. The UPS's that have the plugs on top have had debris including spent staples fall into the outlets. My only gripe is that APC no longer uses right angle plugs on the power cord. In a busy environment like ours it is common to find the plugs on the UPS hanging half out of the wall outlet resulting in a poor connection. The older style right angle plugs never came loose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Once Again!

By BWD from Soldotna, Alaska on 07/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once again, this product is just what I need! Replacing the old one was simple, and the fact that I could recycle the old one so easily was wonderful! Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent workhorse

By lobster traps from Mid-Coast Maine on 01/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have 14 of these backups, one on each workstation at our business. We've tried other backups over the years, but these are the ones that last the longest. And it's relatively easy to replace the batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent UPS

By Bernie from Nebraska on 10/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice compact unit. I like having the outlets on the back of the unit. One of my UPS units has the outlets on the top and they get dusty. I will replace it with one of these when the battery fails.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good fat purchase

By Robby from Los Angeles on 06/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The backup power and surge protector came quickly and appears to work well. Only problem is that the plug receptacles on the back are a bit too close together so that plugs with transformers attached to the plug don't fit well and required some moving of plugs around in order to be able to plug the bulkier plugs into the surge protector.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great purchase

By ralph from new jersey on 09/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Found this product to be easy to install, works well, especially with a generator backup. Old UPS system cancelled my computer while the generator took 12 seconds to come on line when power failed. This UPS System 's batteries take right over with no computer interruption. Good buy, also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another great product from APC

By henry from CT on 06/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ordered UPS from APC website and it arrived in one business day with their standard shipping. As with my other APC UPS's, it works great. I highly recommend their products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-ups cs500

By Harry from Undisclosed on 05/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit works great; however the Power Chute software that came with it dioes not work very well. This may be a conflict with Windows Vista Service Pack 2. When I try to run a self test, after a minute or so I get this message:"unable to run self teat at this time". Also, when I click on "status" I get wild readings on AC input voltage (8,100,000 or -11,400,000 for example. I just uninstalled the Power Chute software program. The unit operates OK without it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trust No Other

By Graham Toys from Silicon Valley, CA on 01/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC Back-UPS for over 10 years with various home computers. The batteries do need to be changed at some point around 3-4 years. APC is up front about this. My current Back-UPS CS 500 sits next to my Dell Inspiron quad PC, filters line problems, self-tests, powers after commercial power is removed, and even shuts down my PC gracefully via supplied USP cable according to the params that I set. A PC application lets you initiate a test, review the test log, review power levels and more. It's well worth the price to protect an expensive PC like the one I use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC backs up their back ups!

By FuzzyBird from Florida on 01/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had and issue with run time with the first unit I recieved. Called APC service and within 10 min I had a tracking # and p/u tag for the old one. Received the replacement in 4 days. What can I say...APC backs up their back ups! I have found that this product does what it specs out to do! Only issue I have is that the cooling fan is a bit noisy, but the good thing it doesn't stay on for long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Latest in a long line

By BMWPaul from Atlanta, GA on 01/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 5th APC UPS. The last one stopped working after 10 years of dependable service. Nothing to do but replace it with something I know I can depend on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great purchase

By mickey from Sarasota, FL on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install, works without a problem. I always order from APC because I can depend on the quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good

By glasscat from OH on 05/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC backup batteries have worked out very well for me. The electric hasn't gone out that much lately, and we also have a whole house generator, so the battery hasn't really been put to the test, but the one time the electric blipped out for a few seconds, the battery kicked in and all was well. It gives you peace of mind knowing the computer will be protected in case of an outage, and any work you might be doing will not be lost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely reliable, great product

By vaazul from Dallas, TX on 03/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been working with this Back-up for a little while now, and my experience has been consistently excellent. As with other APC products I have owned, the craftsmanship is very high-quality and it gives me a high degree of confidence in the product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best equipment.

By Stew from West Middlesex, PA on 02/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC products for 16 years. They have never let me down and even when they are outdated. Easy to in stall and manage. I wish more products where built with the same time, concern, and quality as APC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product would be ...

By tjft from Undisclosed on 01/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product would be better if it had more outlets and if they were spaced farther apart to accomidate the larger plug-ins some devices have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CS Back ups

By Pappy from South Carolina on 06/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have upgraded to the CS 500 four or, five years ago, since then it has been replaced through a recall and have just replaced the battery and not sorry about it. As a compact unit it packs plenty of power, easy to service, and speaking of service, communications with reps or making orders has been outstanding. As for the business end of the unit, the power recepticals are well identified and there is enough to go around. Over the years I have had the experience not only in using APC equipment, but installing and recommending this product. A very wise and in the long run a money saver


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't Go Wrong

By Jet from Carrollton, GA. on 05/07/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you purchase the C 500 you will not be sorry. It is slim, however, don't let that fool you. You will get more than your money's worth. The amount of plug-ins is surprising for the sleekness of the product. I also appreciated the extras--the strap, the convenient and fabulous services that I got when I ordered. Oh, and don't forget to trade in an old backup if you have one. This is a great idea!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best

By bert from Saint Louis, MO on 02/17/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

sdkdkjakfjkajkfjajkakjfaj;lajjaskjsadkksdfjsakjfkjka


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved