Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Ups » General Purpose Ups » BR1300G » 58 Reviews

Apc Back-ups Br1300g Standby Ups - 1.30 Kva/780 Wtower 0.07 Hour Full Load - 5, 5 X Nema 5-15r, Nema 5-15r - Battery Backup System, Surge-protected Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 58 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Reliable as always

By sirlampsalot from Undisclosed on 09/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous APC UPS died in the line of duty - protecting a couple of high-end pc's. It was still good for a trade-in. This one works just as reliably as always.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The ultimate backup!

By Sue from NH Lakes Region on 09/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Backup Pro 1300 is the ultimate unit for home use. Power smoothing, battery backup, lightening protection. It doesn't get any better than this!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1300G is best UPS ever!

By RAYHIGHERS3 from Cookeville, TN on 09/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this a few years ago. Recently, it started chirping letting me know that the battery needed to be replaced. Went on the web site, ordered the correct battery and installed it today (09/04/2015). Outstanding UPS for home office use with it being small, LCD display, and outstanding catching the voltage or frequency change to start the battery back-up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Excellent APC UPS

By HappyAPCuser from Arizona on 10/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this via the TRADE-UPS program to replace an older APC model. As excepted it works great providing backup to equipment in our TV room. This is especially important for the DVR as we have frequent power failures (our electric company is run by the US Federal Government).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Saved Data Many Times!

By Very Pleased Customer from Canada on 09/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased UPS as update through trade-in program. Very easy to use and like the display on front. So far has saved my data/session at least 4 or 5 times from blown fuses, and power outages. Works when you need it the most! Very happy with purchase and would recommend to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent purchase

By wolf from Golden, CO on 06/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product is excellent, and the customer service is outstanding. I am very satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nicely upgraded product

By APL from Canada on 02/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed this in the server room today. It replaced an old RS1200 that ran for about 4 years without any issues. This new 1300 UPS has many upgraded features including a user friendly display showing the load and other functions. The trade UPS program is great -- it's main reason why I registered and jumped through all the hoops to write this review. One suggestion -- can you consider putting some lifting handles on the case? The unit is quite hefty and it would be useful to have something for your fingers to hold on to. Otherwise, this is a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS Pro BR1300G

By wildbare from Duck River on 12/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fourth APC unit purchased, and the former three are all still functioning on a daily basis. Replaced batteries on the earlier units, multiple times for one Back-UPS, and the electronics keep cooking right along. APC's Trade-UPS program provided a significant discount on the new unit, and I did not even have to surrender one of my functional battery backups; the nice folks at APC were happy with an old dud, not even their brand. New unit arrived fully charged, software install was a breeze, and all is right with the universe.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Effortless Power Security

By novatiger from Villanova PA on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used APC products for over 10 years. The Trade-in program is a breeze and saves the earth with its terrific recycle feature. Replace the old unit and send back the old one. The new 1300 is an improvement. We have frequent power blips. All computers simply have power to orderly shut down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unit arrived in a few ...

By F22RPTR from Sioux Falls, SD on 08/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unit arrived in a few days and was put to use right a way. Had a short power outage a couple of days of putting this in-service and it worked like a champ. Had to power cycle the unit to clear up noise lines through the picture on the tv. Not sure if this is normal or not, but other wise works fine


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable Power Protection

By ljg from Val-des-Monts QC on 08/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit through the Trade-UPS program to replace an older model used to protect computers and networking equipment in a home office environment. We live in a rural area and are subject to frequent power fluctuations and outages and so this equipment is essential. I really like the display that allows me to monitor power conditions and battery status. On the downside, this unit makes a fair bit of fan noise when operating on battery power. The Trade-UPS program is a breeze - the new product arrives promptly and returning the old unit for recycling is the right thing to do. I have used APC for years and love the brand, products, and service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1300G

By izuvblew from Warr Acres, OK on 08/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Previous model with similar features had outlived its usefulness; so, when calling technical support and after having them step me through the process of testing the internal battery the decision to purchase a replacement was made. The ordering process, the replacement discount program, the delivery of the new unit and the return process for the old unit all went perfectly. The new unit is working impeccably and the upgrades made over the years since my original purchase have definitely improved the functionality as well as the aesthetics of the equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well

By Bengi from Central Massachusetts on 05/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used the to replace an under capacity UPS for a HT system centered around a 58" Panasonic Plasma and Onkyo HT receiver. During a recent thunder storm it worked perfectly, switching over to battery a few times during the power glitches, while the HT system didn't miss a frame or beat. It was comforting to know my HT system was protected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One Great UPS

By SteveMak from Oakville, Ontario, Canada on 02/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This UPS does what you'd expect: It supplies battery-backup power to your computer and peripherals in the event of a power failure. It also has a number of features that separate it from the competition. - Filters noise from the power source - Regulates the voltage (spikes and sags) without switching to battery power - Silent when charged, and respectably quiet when charging (contrary to earlier reviews) - Has switched sockets, both for battery backup and filtered only. This means when you power on your computer, your switched peripherals will automatically turn on. Similarly, when you turn your computer off, your switched peripherals will also automatically turn off. (You can program the delay for switching on and off). This is great for external hard disks, monitors, etc. - LED display with lots of functions, including backup time available (based on load), percentage of capacity used, etc. You can change most of the settings from the front panel. Even more flexibility is offered using the included software. - Very configurable, with useful default settings. Set how sensitive the UPS is to power fluctuations, event reporting, alarm on/off, etc. - Attractive designer styling that looks better than many computers, and would be welcome as part of a home media system. This unit is a winner all around. It comes across as a premium product, but without a premium price tag. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works As Advertised

By fotieks from Eudora, KS on 01/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this unit for about a month. It has connected to it a Dell Desktop, HP Elitebook laptop, 6.1 Dell sound system, wireless router and several small peripherals. Only hardware I am unable to connect to it is the Brother MFC (MFC-9840cdw). When I connect that printer I get a error message as I think it pulls a lot of voltage on start up. Other than that, the system seems to work well and does what it was advertised to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Functional, Beautiful, and Some Great Features

By SteveMak from Oakville, Ontario, Canada on 01/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This UPS is winner. It arrived with a fully charged battery, and runs silently (when power is available). And of course, it provided uninterrupted power from batteries when the power fails. Very welcome extra features include (a) AVR (Automatic Voltage Regulation), which outputs steady power even when your mains sag or spike, without having to switch to battery, (b) an "Eco" mode that automatically switched auxiliary devices, such as your monitor, printer, and external storage on or off as you turn your computer on or off, and (c) a multifunction display that tells you everything from how much time you have left to run on battery power, to how much of your UPS's maximum load you are using. Round it out with beautiful styling and you have an all around winner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS Pro 1300

By Happy in Canada from Southern Ontario on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Another excellent product by APC. I like all the improvements over previous products: the LCD display, added outlets, attractive black styling. MOST IMPORTANT to me is the *exchange service* that gets these babies out of the landfills and recycles at least some of their parts reducing the carbon print of mining and making new components. That is a costly but responsible service on the part of APC. Having said this, I did not see an exchange opportunity on my latest buy. APC are you listening? Don't stop advocating for a better environment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Step Forward

By Vidman from Fort Myers Florida on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a long time user of APC products and a firm believer in back up power. We spend a great deal of time in Florida, Lightning Capital of the World. Enough SAID. Any APC product will do but these new models are outstanding in many ways. Do not neglect the little things that protect the bigger investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By SysDeveloper from Carlsbad, CA. on 11/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the BR1300G to replace the BX1200 I used in my office for almost 5 years. The unit handles my computer, dual monitors, peripherals, and my development platform (about a 600W load) without any issues. It is quiet, cool, and nice looking (LCD readout on front panel is a plus). I used the trade-up program and it took a couple of days to arrive. Overall, I have been very happy with my APC products, and would recommend this unit to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quiet and reliable

By Dell_user from Nova Scotia, Canada on 11/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the APC Back-UPS Pro 1300 to replace an 800 VA unit for a home office. The unit can easily handle my computer, dual monitors, phone and peripherals. It is quiet, reliable and hassle free. No noise or heat issues whatsoever. I used the trade-up program and there were no issues; the UPS unit arrived quickly by courier. Love that you can silence the alarms, and the digital read out on the front panel is very helpful. Compatible with the same version of the PowerChute software I already had installed for the older unit, which was a time-saving bonus. Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed

By honestabe from Cobleskill, NY on 08/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The pro 1300 was a replacement for two old BE550R BACKUPS units. The 1300 has sufficient plugs and ports to handle all my PC components, including cable hookup and TV. Provides good computer interface to see everything you might ever want to know about use, historical data etc. I'm very pleased with this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

reliable

By BJ from Laramie, Wyoming on 07/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Though I haven't had to rely on the battery backup yet, I expect the APC 1300 to perform just as well or better than the previous APC we have had. It was easy to install and I look forward to learning about it's smart features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job

By jajr from NJ on 02/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LIke earlier models from APC, this unit just sits there and does the job nicely. I like the options in the Powerchute software, and the number of available outlets on the back. Frankly, the logic in using the power saving feature that shuts down some devices based on their "master" not being in use, can be tricky to determine, especially when several CPUs are run off the unit with a KVM. Another comment, APC has so many units available, it's hard for a layman to figure out what's the most appropriate one, although their wizard helps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing unit

By luv2hike from Undisclosed on 02/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This may be the best UPS I've ever owned. I love the LCD display and the form factor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS Pro 1300

By Friar from Minnesota on 01/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This an outstanding UPS product. It has enough plugins to battery run all of your important machines and more power surge protection for the peripheral things you have to keep those safe also. It is a little spendy, but for the protection and security that you get it is well worth the purchase price. Just consider the cost to replace your products that this can protect. And an added plus, it looks great also. I have used APC back up systems for many years and would not consider going to another brand. They are just the best. By the way, I use this one at home protecting my new computer setup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

UPS

By Steve from Undisclosed on 01/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Easy to order on-line. Easy to install. Great diagnostics. Easy battery return procedure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One small Problem

By The Man From Texas from Katy, Texas on 12/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit as a hold works perfect but the problem is the button to turn the unit on & off, its small & its timed, I have to push it & hold it in before it activates what I want, the button & its port is small & a little hard to deal with.....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Value & Performance

By DB from Undisclosed on 11/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set up is easy and really like the improved battery installation method.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good UPS bad website

By techie_31416 from Bay Area, California on 11/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The UPS just works, that's the good part. I replaced an old UPS with this unit because I wanted a more powerful unit. I did like the newer way of installing the battery, that's a definite improvement. But the website was VERY hard to use. I wanted to compare side by side, various models that had different waveform generation characteristics after reading some discussion on the internet. I found that hard to do since the website assumes you first choose the product line and then the size and I wanted to do the opposite. After I bought the unit, I found that I had apparently not seen other models of the same capacity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC UPS Devices

By Saved_and_happy from KY on 09/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC UPS devices for over 25 years and have not found any device that can match their reliability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC is the Way to Go

By TAS from Cadiz, KY on 08/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit is lighter and thinner than our previous unit. We are so happy with our unit that we bought two more to protect or TVs/DVRs setups. These units take the flucuations in our local power supply and provide a steady operating supply for all our electronic equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Product

By Fergy from Undisclosed on 07/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I put off buying a apc product for years and finally upgraded to a new computer and purchased it the along with the new computer. I invested a lot of money again in a new computer and wanted it protected with more than just a surge protector. I work on videos and don't want to have the computer crash or have a power loss during a rendering. Also this was the first solid state hard drive I have ever had and wanted to protect it as best as i could. During our summer storms and outages it has never failed in any way and with the audible warning it tells me any time there are problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS Pro-1300

By mpb1911 from Gainesville, FL on 07/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unit works well. There was no software installation CD in the box-- had to call APC factory. APC mailed a hand-labeled copy of the software burned on a desktop computer. Software installed the copy of software but this is not very professional... My only real nit-picks are that the battery charging fan is too loud and the piezo alarm is too high-pitched to hear if any background noise is present. I especially like the status display.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Design

By SnowDog from Undisclosed on 07/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using UPS's for a long time at home and at work. I purchased two of these units for home through the APC trade-up program and I am pleased with the results. The new units look good and provide useful information through their display (voltage power in, watts being used, battery runtime, etc...). I was particularly interested in the AVR technology as I won't buy a UPS that doesn't have it or its equivalent as it is easy for electrical harmonic distortion to cause problems with computers (Especially desktops). The Personal Powerchute software seems to work very well although when I upgraded from ver2.2 to ver 3.0 the new version crashed a few times (Windows 7 64bit) when changing settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product: BR1300G

By JR from Undisclosed on 07/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 2nd APC battery back-up. It's a lifesaver. This unit is sleeker and lighter than my first. It's super!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By BPB from Birmingham, AL on 07/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this product and hooked up one re-purposed desktop PC (now a Linux server), an External Fantom HDD, monitor, OfficeJet MFC, UVerse cable modem, and a few other miscellaneous items. I am pleased with the display - it shows all I would need to know. The unit itself runs cool and I have noticed that it instantly kicks on, as advertised, when the power flickers or goes out. According to the display, I have 53 minutes of runtime on battery for my home server and UVerse internet connection. My needs for this device are simple, but it meets them all perfectly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

does the job

By bubby from Undisclosed on 07/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great, helpful company to deal with .Product does exactly what they claim it does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replaced 1KW unit

By Wandering from Minneapolis, MN on 06/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We normally experience one or two short power outages, around a few seconds each month. This unit carries through those without difficulty, though nearly any unit would. We have had a two hour, and then a three day outage due to a tornado, and that brought out the need to replace the BR1000 battery. At the same time the hardware had been upgraded, so I chose the BR1300G. I could have bought a competitive unit locally for the same price as the net trade in price, but I was pleased with the previous service level from APC, and bought direct. The new features, especially the Master circuitry caused me to rethink how I used the device. Formerly I would simple use it as a master power switch. Now the PC itself serves that purpose, and like others, I never turn the UPS off. I would like to see some power consumption figures in that mode. It switches two additional accessories, a high-end sound system, and the 28" monitor. Both use about a watt in standby. The display panel is really handy to monitor power consumption as the system is tweaked to various modes. The power supply of the computer is 750 Watts, and the Sound system is 232 Watts max, while the Monitor is 100 Watts Max. Most of the time in use the system draws about 300 Watts combined. I've only run this unit for about a month, but I had two others for about four years each, and this seems to be every bit the quality. Like others noted, the CD was not included, but I had downloaded the latest PowerChute version from the web for the prior system, and it just ran fine with the new unit. I do recommend APC to all my friends and associates.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement UPS

By WSteve from Florida on 06/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced an APC Backups 1250 with this unit. So far, it has been working fine. It has not yet switched to battery, which is a surprise as the 1250 unit switched about 4-5 times a week (the 1300 has been running for about a month). I've had no problems with fan noise and I like the "window" on the front telling me the voltage as well as showing the status of the charge in the battery. There's only issues I have, and I haven't talked to APC about them yet: 1: Having to respond the "request" to allow Power Chute to run in priviledged mode every time the system is booted; 2: It's time to change the documentation to state that you have to download Power Chute from the web site as there's no CD in the packet. In case you're interested, I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium on an HP Pavilion Elite with an AMD Phenom II (4 core) processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD, and some other stuff. I also protect my Verizon FIOS network and two printers with the unit. I would recommend this unit to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All OK after 1 month

By notmyrealname from CA on 06/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Trade-UPS encouraged me to buy this instead of a new battery for my old unit. Many nice new features. The CD was missing, but I already had PowerChute installed. Spider, RTFM. You CAN configure the display backlight to turn off after 60 seconds after any button is pushed. My fan is not running now and I would not expect it to run during normal operation (battery charged and utility power available). Maybe some units got out with a bad temperature sensor or a firmware bug. I don't care if the fan is a bit loud during a power outage or while recharging. BTW, I don't think the unit is meant to be turned on off & on in day-to-day use. Turning it on initiates a selftest, which probably also turns on the fan. I only turn it off if a power failure occurs and I don't need power to any of the UPS-supplied outlets or if I leave the house for a few weeks. Actually, I'd like to see a feature whereby the UPS would turn itself off completely if power goes out while the Master PC is off (e.g. while I'm asleep). I'd want to be able to turn it back on though, to supply wifi to my laptop during the outage. The stepped-approx. waveform has a 'nominal total voltage harmonic distortion of 50%, with the nominal value of the largest single voltage harmonic of 30%. At 25% of rated load' according to the inconveniently-located label on the bottom. This is documented nowhere else. I don't know if that's good enough for a linear power adapter or simple line-freq. transformer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great unit

By DanB from Florida on 05/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a rugged and well thought out unit. Within a couple of days of installation, we lost power and it picked up and kept everything running during a 15 minute outage. Our previous UPS was unable to do that with one of our computers. The readouts for voltage, usage, and frequency nicely arranged and helpful. Strongly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too loud to use.

By One man LAN from Covington, WA on 03/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Fan was quiet for first 2 weeks but now stays on constantly, even with no load and 100% battery charge. Returning it for BG1000, as the reviews are better for than model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trade-in & Purchase

By dkm from St. Louis, MO on 03/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased a replacement UPS for a unit that was several years old. I had mistakenly thought that it was cheaper to just continue buying batteries for the old one, rather than get a new unit; I was wrong. After the price was calculated with the return of my old unit, I purchased a new UPS for a few dollars more than the batteries alone (with shipping) would have been. If you need a UPS and have an older model from APC, the return and upgrade plan is a really GOOD deal. dkm


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS BR1300G

By Spider from Floral City, FL on 03/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What I like: 1. the compact size compared to the model it replaced. 2. It works as advertised. What I don't like: 1. The window that tells voltage, run time available, etc. never turns off. (Like a "sleep mode" on a computer.) It's always on. Regarding the APC PowerChute Personal Edition 3.0 software, in the Energy Usage panel, when I click on the "Change Energy Cost" tab, which evidently has a default reading of $0.10, I can not change that to any reading with more digits than two. My energy cost is $0.10436, but I can not enter that. You need to enable a user to enter more digits than just 10 cents. Otherwise, the "costing you" figure is inaccurate. Also, when I click on "Technical Data," the program cause a continual accessing of my hard drive making a lot of noise. I have already written a problem report about this and have been advised it will be corrected in some future edition. The hard drive accessing will not stop until I shut down Personal Edition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Seamless integration

By OlyXray from Olympia, WA on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Love the upgrade discounts we keep getting from APC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mostly All Good

By guenthpw from Houston, TX on 01/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It seems to work as advertised. Minor issues: 1.) I don't need the Power Chute splash screen to show up on startup of the PC. 2.) The purpose of the white background around the AC outlets in the back of the unit is not self obvious.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crazy Fan

By Keichner from West Vally, NY on 01/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the unit for a few hours and the previous reveiwers are correct - the fan is really noisy - much noisier than my PC. I can hear it from other rooms near the home office. I hope it turns off later as at least one reviewer mentions. Also, there was no software in the box - not a big deal since I downloaded it from the website. Apart from that, so far, everything is running as it should.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as good as advertised.

By Ray T from Scottsboro AL on 01/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought two BR1300G to protect our Four Desktops that we use for tax preparation at a Senior Center that occasionally losses power due to weather. Although package and install instructions mention software CD, none was packaged with equipment. Was available from APC Internet site. Power on button works well, but to power unit off, pencil eraser is required to actually push the button far enough to react and shut down. Wish that equipment(APC) would power off when you shutdown computer, but alas does not unless I have it setup wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loud fan noise

By Home office executive from Oregon on 01/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I was researching UPS's, I saw the comments about loud fan noise for these units, but decided to get one anyway. When I first turned unit on the fan ran at high speed for 5 hours, and shut off. I moved the unit under desk to connect equipment, and when I turned it on fan runs at high again. Battery is charged fully, so why the noise? If the design engineers had one of these under their desk, would they change the program? I do like all other features, so gets 4 star score.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good backup, constant running fan makes no sense

By Wealthadvisor from Undisclosed on 01/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit replaced an APC 1200. The LCD screen is a big imporvement as you can check the status of the unt at any time. I am, however, confused about the fan. About 20 to 30 seconds after startup the fan comes on and will run for about 5 hours. Then the fan shuts off and does not come on again until I shut the unit of and then turn in back on. It makes the kind of fan noise the old PC's used to make. The fan is not that loud, but you are aware that it is running. Otherwise the unit is working as promised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC UPS Units

By Why Not Use My Real Name? from Williamston, Michigan on 01/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our corporate offices are located in an area where Detroit Edison (DTE) is extremely undependable for our electrical power. Because of this, our corporation has been using APC Uninterruptable Power Sources for years and years as a power backup system to our computers and other electronic equipment. APC provides us with uninterrupted power and the units are dependable. When the battery has reached the end of its life, APC offers several options to maintain uninterrupted power to our computers. We are confident with APC products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1300G fan noise issue

By Jeff from Atlanta on 12/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been a very long time user of APC products, but users of this particular series need to be aware that APC has made a design change so that the fan continuously runs. This results in a fan noise that is more than a typical pc and impacts where this can be placed in relationship to office staff.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Power Supply and Line Conditioner

By Quality1 from Orchard Park, NY on 11/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaced my 1100PRO series unit that the battery had died. Overall it appears to be a good unit. The fan is noisy but after it runs and shuts off, the unit is very quiet. The trick is to leave on and turn the computer on/off and not the power supply. This way the noisy fan is at rest. GOOD Unit so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By REP from Tacoma, WA on 11/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The company have been using this product for 2 month and works great no noises or failures for now and I hope it will stay that way. It shuts down the server when the battery running low when the power is off, but I never used it cause we never had power outage. It an excellent product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as good as the one it replaced.

By Lance from Tallahassee, FL on 11/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This UPS replaced a 1000 watt unit, but it can't keep the server running during a power outage. With only the server on it, drawing 140 watts, it can keep supply enough power during a self-test or actual power failure. The fan on the unit is loud too. I wish I had purchase a UPS locally, now I've got to call APC, hopefully ship the unit back and go through all the other return hassles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad fans

By JJB from Newark DE on 11/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I ordered 4 units for our small office and had two sustain F08 failures within a couple of hours. While the model has a clever & safe battery design, I'd trade the sleek exterior for squat yet reliable any day. Also the model isn't listed online for software support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loud internal fan

By NotHappy from Undisclosed on 10/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Loud internal fan that does not shut off! The fan remain on when the battery is at 100% charged and when there is 0 Watt load (computer off). Definitely returning this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good product but loud when charging

By Tim8868 from Undisclosed on 09/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the master power plug options so I can have both my monitors turn off when I turn off my computer. I don't like how loud it is when it switches from battery power back to AC power. I don't like how loud it is when it's charging. Most of the time it doesn't make any noise but when the 2 above situations occur it's twice as loud as my mid tower computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved