Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Ups » General Purpose Ups » BR1500G » 105 Reviews

Apc Back-ups Br1500g Line-interactive Ups - 1.50 Kva/865 Wtower 0.05 Hour Full Load - 5, 5 X Nema 5-15r, Nema 5-15r - Battery Backup System, Surge-protected Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 105 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Keeps getting better

By Hank from Montreal, Canada on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using APC for my UPS needs for over 10 years. Each time I purchase a unit, it gets added features, while still retaining the trusted value. The service reps are also top notch, giving me solid advice. As we rely more on electronic devices, we require great UPC units.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

400 UPS

By LittleBits from Springfield, VA on 08/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Traded UP to purchase this product to replace an earlier APC model. The previous product finally failed after many years of service. I know I will get many more years of protection from this product. Easy to install, APC makes recycling old batteries/units a breeze. Love the digital display.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product and service

By GTnH from Florida on 07/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced an older smaller unit with this one. Arrived very quickly. Return of old unit was easy. I've used APC for years and have been very happy with their products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OS Bias...

By psyclist from Upstate NY on 05/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product to replace my aging Tripp-Lite UPS and am disappointed that the Powerchute Personal Edition managing software is NOT available for the MAC platform. Please rectify this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement UPS system

By Lanka from Tallahassee, FL on 05/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace an earlier APC unit I had used for a number of years. It is an excellent product so far. My only complaint is when I have to put in a larger size transformer block plug, the outlets are a little close together to be able to use all of them effectively. Some plugs that need to be protected are larger than others. The outlets could be spaced a little further apart. Otherwise the unit is an excellent product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top Notch Product

By Big Bear from West Hurley, NY on 05/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this product to replace an earlier APC model. The battery of the previous product finally failed after many years of service. Rather than replace the battery decided to upgrade to the features of the Pro 1500. Looking forward to many more years of excellent product performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another UPS system

By cwb from Florida on 03/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 1500G that I have just purchased is the second type 1500 that I own. This new one will protest my computer system. The other unit protects my HD television. While I have never had any major electric problems. These UPS's have switched to battery when electric brownouts occur and have done an excellent job protecting my hardware from the frequent voltage fluctuations that occur in my area.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Upgrade Unit

By bookkeeper from rural coastal North Carolina on 09/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit replaced a APC BR1000G unit that died but saved our local network and office computers from a CLOSE lightning strike. The unit was shipped promptly, installed easily, and the Trade Up program was a blessing. We have used APC units for several years because they are well-built and reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro 1500

By gixxer from Columbus, OH on 08/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It certainly works as a ups, but the outlet configuration and quantity are way below average for something this expensive. Big capacity and only 5 battery outlets, less if you have a transformer block to plug-in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased with product

By Larry from Corvallis, Oregon on 06/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with your product. Arrived in a timely manner; It has even more features than I expected, and based on previous experience and its features, I am looking forward to many years of faithful service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement for older model

By BudNascar48 from Undisclosed on 03/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced an older 8 year old model that worked just fine. Needed more power and control. A usual, APC is the best there is. I got a very reasonable trade-in and price on the new model. You will be completely satisfied with this Backs-Up Pro for small office or home use. I TRUST APC! I have never lost a device due to power strikes etc...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

UPS

By Sgt Darkness from Tennesseee on 03/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently purchased the 1500 and had no problems getting all my hardware hooked up and running. As long as it keeps another computer from being fried by our pitiful AEP electric company I will be super happy. Haven't had it but only a week so I can't give a reliability type review but seems to be spot on. The only thing I am concerned with are the reviews concerning the longevity of the battery........... hope mine lasts for more than 6 months..........not sure if the battery falls under the one year warranty, probably not.........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellant Purchase

By Home User from Trumbull, CT on 02/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC back up for over 20 years have never had a problem with their products. The new Back-UPS Pro 1500 Model BR1500G I purchased has 10 outlets available and I use every one. This is a very easy product to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Confidence

By Photophanatic from Atlanta on 01/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Little to no need to worry about power issues when this little guy is on the job. I've had APC UPSs for years of comforting service. The only thing is they have to have 110volts in-put and the battery has to be replaced periodically. [Maybe too soon with today's technologies' alternatives.]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable, so this time I upgraded

By ccwriter from Cincinnati, OH on 12/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You never know when you need surge protection and really need backup power. In those moments, APC UPS and surge protection have performed for me as needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lasted Less Than Four Months

By Soaring One from Anchorage, Kentucky on 11/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Used the Trade UPS program to replace an old APC UPS. Received the new unit in early September. It's now late November and the unit failed an automatic self-test on bootup. I did a manual self-test and, sure enough, it failed. Power Chute displays "Battery in unit needs to be replaced." Invoked "Contact APC" from within Power Chute and have not yet received a response. I might try contacting them directly via the Web site. Very disappointing all around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Bert from Murphy, NC on 11/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I owned two Back-UPS Pro 1500s and I just purchased two more. They work as advertised and the upgrade program (Trade-UPS) is fast and painless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Linux Users Alert

By BobCat from Northern California on 10/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC always, in my own office and my clients. Biggest gripe: no apparent contribution to the OpenSource community. PowerChute for Linux, please? I have no affiliation with http://www.apcupsd.com/, but they could use some help. There are many smaller organizations using GNU based servers, please, share some code so that all OS users can benefit from your solid power management tools.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performer

By TXHomeOffice from Plano, TX on 07/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this to replace a previous APC UPS unit. It was able to reuse the external battery pack I had used with the old unit, which was a big selling point for me. The new unit was simple to install and works extremely well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lifesaver During Hurricane Sandy

By Jayvin from Central New Jersey on 07/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this UPS product as a present back in 2010. It did its job powering my iMac, PS3, router, and modem during random brown outs / circuit breaks due to too many appliances being on at the same time (Microwave, Washer, Dryer, etc.). The house was built in 1929 and although renovations were being done over the years, the electrical system wasnt the greatest but has been recently upgraded last month. The UPS came to light during late October 2012 when Hurricane Sandy came ashore in New Jersey. I was performing an online NBA fantasy draft between colleagues when the Hurricane knocked out the power in the neighborhood during the last rounds of the draft (Who schedules a fantasy draft during a hurricane?? We still blame the commissioner about that up to this day but to his defense, the date was scheduled a month prior even before the storm was predicted to hit the NJ area). As soon as the power went out, my iMac was running on the UPSs backup battery during the last 2 rounds of the draft. I could tell my rivals lost connection as it gave me an advantage picking the right sleepers. I was able to power down my iMac, router, and modem safely after the draft successfully. The power was knocked out for a whole week as we were able to use the UPSs backup battery to power a portable electric stove to cook canned goods and soups / non perishable food as well as charging our cell phones and electric toothbrushes for 4 days. I was shocked how long the UPSs battery power lasted! By the 5th day, I gave the UPS to my father to fully charge the battery at his workplace where the power was restored. The UPS continued to power the portable electric stove and charge cell phones until the one week mark when we finally received power at the house as the UPS then charged up from where it was at the halfway mark. The UPS continues to provide power to my iMac, PS3, router, and modem especially when the TV and cable box in the living room randomly shuts off due to a random brown out or low voltage. My man cave center still continues to run during these times thanks to this UPS! At the time of this review, I also ordered the APC AV J35 to safely provide the right voltage and battery backup to the TV and cable box in the living room during these random brown outs. Ill continue to use APC to safely provide the right voltage and battery backup power to all my productivity and entertainment electronics!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nothing But APC

By Rob from Central Florida on 07/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live in the lightning capitol of the US and have an APC product of everything that has any electronics in it. I have used several brands in the past but now I will only use APC. They have not only the best product on the market but the best customer service and stand behind their warranty. That is almost unheard of in today's market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Most Important Piece of Gear

By glenesis from NY on 06/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I won't ever plug a computer system directly into anything less than one of these units. Reliability and warranty and performance vs. cost make this unit a no-brainer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Worth the Money

By Captain Hindsight from Undisclosed on 05/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would have given the product five stars if the price was cheaper. I cannot comment on all of the features because I do not use all of them. However, I will say that I am definitely satisfied with the unit. One of my favorite features is the power saving outlets. I have a Playstation 3 plugged into the master outlet and a TV plugged into the outlet below it. So when I turn on my PS3 the TV turns on. When I turn off my PS3 the TV turns off. Pretty cool if you ask me. The battery run time is also satisfactory. I recently watched Netflix through my PS3 for roughly 47 minutes on battery power before having to plug the unit back into the wall outlet. All in all I feel that this purchase was money well spent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dumb series

By kotaztrafee from Undisclosed on 04/24/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit is unable to keep my computer running in the case of of a power interruption. Tech support explained that this unit can not react fast enough to keep the computer running. I was advised to upgrade to the smart series which is supposed to react faster. I figured a Pro series product would handle pro grade use. Therefore, I call it dumb if it's not pro and it's not smart it must be dumb and useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Heir & a Spare

By Power Hungry from Undisclosed on 04/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought two, we had a major regional power outage last year. With one unit I made it through 6.5 hours of operation - with an heir and a spare architecture I can take that to 11 hours. Very cool


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Info on the fan

By John from Montreal from Montreal on 04/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the BR1500G with a BR24BPG or its equivalent for many years. A few weeks ago, I had to change the old one for the new model. When I received it, I was a little worried, because the fan never stopped. However, it is important to know that after a few days, it stops and full quietness comes back to normal. I am extremely happy with the new model, as I was with the old one. In addition, I like the new screen which tells how much watts is consumed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Always the Best

By Satisfied User from Canton, MS on 03/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC products since they first came out on the market. I used to use the battery replacement but now I use the trade up. I have three workstations, a server and a laptop and all have ABC Power Saving BackUp UPS, the server has the big unit and all of the others have the 1500. I feel confident and never have to worry. I would recommend them to everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great UPS

By Halfsquatch from New York, NY on 03/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I nice improvement over the previous model. I especially like that ports are powered off when the primary device is turned off. The only thing it lacks is true sine wave output when on battery. I highly recommend this for UPS for home users.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A tip for people who hate noise

By John from Undisclosed on 03/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had 2 sets of BR1500 and BR24BPG that I purchased many years ago (2005 I think). One set died a few weeks ago. I shopped a little and ordered direct from APC. I received the boxes a few days later in excellent shape. At first I was worried, because the fan never stopped. I contacted customer support who told me to wait 24 hours. Now, everything is back to normal. I have an excellent product and a quiet one too. The fan only starts when there is a problem with the power line (which almost never happens).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS Pro 1500

By Vertigo from Undisclosed on 03/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

That unit helps conserve energy. It can be configured to, recognize a 'master' device and controlled 'peripherals', that power on and off, as a group. The strength of the signal, from the master to the peripherals, can be varied, for those difficult to control peripherals. The units sensitivity to inpuit voltage fluctuations, triggering a switch to backup battery power, can be adjusted, to allow for delicate peripherals. The front-panel User display can even be set to, darken after a period of, inactivity, conserving further power. Very helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality

By Gus from Chicago, IL on 03/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous 1500 had died after 5 years of quality use, so I opted for the exchange program to recycle my old unit (and get a little discount off the new model). New model is smaller than my old unit and offers more connections and plugs than the previous 1500... Well done APC!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sleek * Clean

By Dltstoose from Wichita, KS on 02/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This model is so much slimmer and sleek, you do not have to try and hide it. Very Classy. I like the idea that it preforms self tests with out me having to do anything.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500

By Moondoggie9 from Daytona Beach, Fl on 02/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product worked like a charm!!We had a power outage that lasted about an hour and it keept our Fosse system running and we lost no data!The Sales Rep was kind and knowledgable and the order was placed fast when we needed it!Great Product!Great Service!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quiet, yet powerfull.

By Bobby from Westchester, NY on 02/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC Battery Backup UPS Pro 1500 is quiet, relatively slim yet powerfull. I am using it to prevent timer losses during blackouts on my cable box, 60 inch plasma TV and Bluray player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Replacement

By JM4438 from FL on 01/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a 1500LCD that I received as a warranty replacement of another 1500. The 1500LCD went bad out of waranty, this was recommended on a Trade-UPS. It is more similar to the earluier one I had and in fact takes the same add-on battery pack I had with the first model, It is just a different color. So far I am pleased, and was especially pleased when APC accepted return of the battery i ordered when I thought the problem with the LCD was battery. I did learn to CALL tech support before assuming a battery is bad when a unit fails very quickly after power failure,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great unit

By Dave M from Belfair, WA on 01/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great! Good run time. Setup of the unit and the software was a breeze.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, not excellent.

By Powermaster74 from Toronto on 01/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First, those who mention this is not 'Mac' friendly. This simply is not the case. I have been using this with my iMac and it works fine. "Powerchute" is not needed. You plug included USB cable from the Backup to the computer. You go to Power Management settings on your Mac. UPS will be in the options and you can make all the sleep/standby/shut down after such and such a time from there. I've tested it, it works fine. Mac's own included software is used instead of Powerchute, that's all. The battery fan is an anomaly, for sure. These are the first UPS units from APC that I've owned that do this. I've owned several. I have two Pro 1500 models. One has the extra battery pack. If the power flickers on that one, even for a second, the fan turns on and stays on for at least 2 hours. This is bizarre, and certainly not 'Green.' On the other unit, the fan does not stay on for a long period of time. It will quickly charge and shut off, or if the power fails for a second or two, no fan turns on at all. It seems to me that the extended battery shouldn't cause the unit's fan to stay on for such a long time. All that said, the units 'work' and back up my power to my computer, modem, phone, ATA, and so on. I just wish the fan wouldn't stay on for so long. (It's running now as the power just flicked off for a second. It's been running for 1 hour now.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good product

By Poweruser from Aroostook, Maine on 12/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC Ups's for about ten years, and I have been very satisfied. I have never had a problem with their product. Very good product and Company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The ultimate UPS

By Tom from Maine on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Don't bother with the rest. This is the best UPS on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for Macintosh Users

By RoBear from Reno, NV on 11/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have relied on APC products for more than a decade. I like them, I trust them, they make good reliable equipment. I recently upgraded my old UPS Smart Backup Pro 1000 to a much newer model. It works just fine. No complaints and I like their recycling policy where I send back my old unit to be recycled for free. Thank you. So WHY do I say I would NOT recommend my APC UPS to a Macintosh owner? One simple answer - after a decade, and more than 100 million Macs sold - APC still acts like we don't exist and it ONLY includes Powershute Software for Windows PC's. NOTHING helpful or useful for Macs. And they need to know we DO care about this and we DO want this and I won't buy another APC unit IF it doesn't support Macs in the future. Simple - straight - honest review. Hope it helps you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3rd APC product

By User from Undisclosed on 11/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this unit came as described and works great. This is my 3rd one, at this rating and all have lasted very long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Equipment

By BigRed02 from Richmond, KY on 11/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third UPS from APC. It performs very well when there is a power failure. Fortunately there are few. I like the front display on the new moedl. The purchase with trade-in was handled professionally.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good

By Jean from Undisclosed on 11/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hi, It's my second APC unit for my computer and I'm very satisfied of them. The installation and operation of the Pro 1500G is easy and smooth. The fan is running while the unit in on batteries, but the sound is not annoying. Software is complete and it runs flawless on Windows 7. U can disable alarm sound at you're convenience, which I find very practical. Delivery was on time and at my door (UPS should call before delivery). The return program of used unit is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR 1500G

By Ed S from Central Pennsylvania on 10/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Outstanding customer service help. Super equipment. No question I want to continue working with APC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

-UPS Pro 1500

By Bill from Greensburg Indiana on 10/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was impressed with the ease of installation. The exchange program is very good. I use the unit in a home environment with two computers, two printers, and two scanners. I have more than enough battery backup. I appreciate the power saving controlled outlets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product & Customer Service

By Cyndi W from Kentucky on 09/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My old APC Back-UPS battery needed replacing, so I called APC Customer Service to ask about the price. The price was reasonable, but after talking with the Customer Service representative I decided to buy a new unit, the Back-UPS Pro 1500. What really impressed me was how quickly the new unit was shipped and arrived at my door. If this new unit is as reliable as the old one, it should last well beyond the warranty period.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By KB from Undisclosed on 09/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second 1500 I've purchased. The first one lasted 8 years!!! (I also buy the External Battery Pack to go with it.) I work from my home, and I am NOT technically savvy. This product is so easy to set up and use. I highly recommend this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC PRO 1500

By ARNIE from DONIPHAN, MO on 09/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS IS THE SECOND PRO 1500 THAT I HAVE PURCHASED. I PROBABLY BUY A THIRD. THEY ARE GOOD LITTLE WORKHORSES.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Unit!

By roberts s from Mineral, Va on 08/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up, and simple to use if you own a Windows PC type cornputer .. I happen to run a MAC, and it runs right through the power control in System Preferences. Could not be easier. It might have helped if the documentation said that to run it on a MAC, just use the onboard system in your OS, but other than that, it is a piece of cake. Well made, easy controls and looks great. I just ordered the BR34BPG external battery pack for it, so it can run anything I throw at it. I really like APC equipment, and have for many years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worry-free Protection

By soundman from Greenville, NC on 08/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit to replace another branded backup unit. I like the LCD reading on the front. The energy saving plugins are nice for devices that do not need power 24/7. I love APC back up units, they have not let me down. I will not purchase another brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Product

By Woody from Chicagoland on 07/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

1. It's APC 2. It works great! 3. It's APC 4. Design, function and Quality = Dependability


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best APC UPS for the Home Office

By TheRoots from Holland, MI on 07/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The APC Back-ups Pro 1500G provides that best protection and features in a UPS that most home office's need. The green power saving feature saves energy usage and eleminates the need to turn external devices off manually.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never A Problem

By VisitLongviewTexas from Longview, Texas on 05/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have used APC exclusively for more than 10 years. With units on three critical stations we have never had a problem or loss. Our most recent purchase of the UPS Pro 1500 was the easiest to install and put into operation. We have frequent dips and brownouts in our area due to weather conditions and our computer has always been protected. After trying to replace the batteries in the old 1500 double pack we upgraded instead. Next time we will upgrade first and not replace batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product Worked As Expected

By greenbean from Central California on 05/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great UPS. Easy to set up and use. Powerful, easy to use operator interface. The only problem I have is that the display is unreadable once one is looking at it from much of an angle. My UPS is mounted 6' off of the floor and the display is totally unreadable when looking up at it. And this is disappointing since I would like to easily view the operating parameters the unit so nicely displays.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i am happer as a blind hog that just found a acorn

By ranger bob from ocala nation forest on 05/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have power outage often here in the woods and have a 52 in.t.v.with its back up batt. it will run for 1hr and 40 minutes and no waiting for all the stations to reload


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Purchase

By PowerUser from Chicago, IL on 05/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this new APC unit (via the upgrade program), after the battery in my old unit expired (after 5 years of service). I could have simply replaced the battery, but I opted to take advantage of the upgrade program, since the newer APC models have a 'green mode'. The upgrade was a stunning success. Not only do I have a new APC UPS solution, but upgrading from my old UPS unit seems to have made my monthly power bill drop like a rock. I have nothing but positive opinions about both the new UPS unit and APC's upgrade program.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Protect your valuable electronics

By LavenderRose from Kearney, NE on 04/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are plenty of protected, and backed up and protected, outlets, more than enough to cover my home HD cable, cable phone, HD TV, DVD/CD/VHS play and record machine, and more if I want it. That not only is the electric filtered and monitored, but the cable as well, with no impact on the signal. Well worth it given the high-voltage environment we live in - the open plains, prairie t-storms, tornadoes, wind-storms, etc. Don't set up without one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Power Saving Back UPS Pro 1500

By Lanternerouge from Leavenworth, Kansas on 03/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great item, replaced my old one as the battery went out after 4.6 years of service. Like the LCD screen, smaller size, more outlets, and more power. Great item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Unit

By ScottB6 from Colorado on 02/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC delivered the unit overnight (reasonable extra charge) to replace a previous APC - several years old - that was due for replacement. Installed the battery, it came charged, and had only one minor glitch with the LCD readout. Called Customer Service, they answered within one minute. The agent was extremely helpful and within another minute had the issue resolved. Since installing had three minor outages and one 3-hour outage. The APC worked seamlessly including a readout of how many minutes of backup power were left. The fan, which is quiet, only went on when the unit was backing up power. Other than that it is silent. I am extremely happy with this purchase and highly recommend it. I also took advantage of the APC recycle service for my old APC. A valuable service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with Purchase!

By RLBJR from Connecticut on 02/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased a new BR1500G APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500 in replacement of a past APC Back-UPS that had been purchased in 2003. It was time to replace the older model's battery but we wanted to take advantage of newer technology along with the power saving abilities of a modern APC Back-UPS. This model was selected to do exactly that and to take us into the future for several years. It has not disappointed us at all. We were able to use the Trade-UPS program which gave us a discount on our new BR1500G APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500 by purchasing directly from APC. We ran a price check on several internet price comparison sites and found the Trade-UPS price was the best. Importantly, it also gave us the ability of sending the old model and battery back to APC (on their dime as they paid for the return postage). This is a fantastic "green" alternative so that we were removed from battery disposal issues! We had our new BR1500G APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500 in two business days and have been happy with it since the arrival. This is the fourth APC unit purchased in over 20 years. Thank you APC for your great reliable products and buying experience!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Unit

By Steve from Wallace, NC on 02/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This new unit will allow me to protect my Plasma TV's from power sages and momentary power dropouts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine!

By preacher from Jourdanton,Texas on 02/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the BR 1500 for our projector. Since projectors need a cool down time before shutting down, a power outtage would wreck havoc on the bulbs. And they are not cheap! Having good clean power to the machines and back up power, is one thing I do not have to worry about. Thanks APC!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1500G has good options

By Greg from Hurricane, WV on 01/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC has always had good products. This UPS offers good protection for today's high wattage electronics and has plenty of battery backup outlets, surge-only outlets and a green option for powering all devices down based on one device. While I personally will probably not use this option, I'm sure some would find it a nice extra. The price is still a little on the high side but as long as APC keeps the quality high, a "little" more is worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Products are Great

By Sean from Riverton, WY on 12/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All products from APC that I have owned are terrific. They have saved me from many losses due to power failures. I have owned APC products for many years and have always been 100% satisfied. My most recent purchase, Back-Up Pro 1500, has already saved me in the first weeks I have owned it. I highly recommend this model for home computers, it not being to large or too small for the job. I would gladly recommend any APC product heartly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ack-UPS BR1500G FW:865.L2 .D USB FW:L2

By FG56 from Decatur ,Alabama on 12/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Product never have had a problem personally with a APC branded product! I have surges and short line problems in my area at times amd this thing has not hit a problem the first time !! Thanks APC Great Product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Back-UPS Pro 1500

By Termite from Federal Heights, CO on 12/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500 is a great power backup. Had no problems what so ever. I really like the way it shuts of everything (if plugged into the right place) when you just shut off your computer and the all you have to do is turn your computer back on and everything comes back on also. Nice idea! I have two Backups and they both work excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Unit

By ejr1953 from Mount Airy, MD on 11/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used APC ups's for years, they always come out of the box in perfect condition and are easy to setup, this unit was no exception. I bought this unit to replace an old APC unit at the end of its battery life, using the trade up program, where APC recycles the old battery, a great way to upgrade this equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Sierra Dawn from Greenfield, TN on 11/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My new computer was tremendously upgraded when I ordered it, so it was very expensive. I have always used APC's products, and found them extremely reliable. I have my computer, printer, 3 external drives, etc. hooked into my new Back-UPS Pro 1500, and still have room and power to hook more things into it. It has many outlets in the back which has been wonderful for my purposes and what I plug into it. I've been using it for several months now, and it has done it's job several times with the storms and electrical outages we have here, not to mention the horrible surges also. It has many qualities that are wonderful and so simple to set up and use. I always was so thrilled that I was able to receive a discount from APC's trade-in program. Now that is a great idea for a company. You can't go wrong if you choose this unit, or for that matter any of the units APC sells, as they are dynamite and work great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid product

By Satisfied from Lawrence, KS on 11/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Delivered quickly. Easy to setup. Hooked up to a 8-core Dell T7500 and battery kicked in as expected when main power went down. Performed as advertised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Got APC UPS

By OldSoldier38 from San Diego, CA on 10/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using UPS since 1992. In 1994, my non-APC UPS failed and the company gave me no recourse. I then discovered APC. Since then, I have only used APC products. As my systems grew, I increased my UPS capacities. APC's "Trade UPS" program made this easy and less costly. I am on Oxygen Therapy 24/7 and use an APC BR1500G UPS on my oxygen concentrator. I also have Sleep Apnea and use a CPAP to control my breathing while I sleep at night and a second BR1500G keeps it going for me. If me have a power outage, I know that I will have sufficient time to switch over to bottled oxygen. Many times at night, I even sleep through blackouts and never know hay happened! I also have BR1500Gs on all our HDTV sets and their peripheral equipment (home theater, DVR, etc.). We have landline telephone service so we do not worry about losing phone service during blackouts such as we had on 09/08/2011. But we do have wireless handsets and we protect the base station with a smaller APC UPS. We also have solar panels (3.1 KW) on our roof. I cannot think of a better partner for my APC UPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Unit

By Maint Supervisor from Cleveland Ohio on 10/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 5 of these units at our Factory. Uses range from HMI Computers and Allen-Bradley PLC's. I have several other APC UPS units and as they need replaced I go with this unit BR1500. I always use the "Trade in" option rather than replacing the batteries. I have had good results from the BR1500.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Powersaver from Wisconsin on 10/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Extremely happy with my upgrade to the BR1500G. Handles all my power supply needs and looks great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replaced smaller UPS

By TVstar from Beverly, WV on 09/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used the BR1500G a short period, however, I feel that I made a wise decision to increase the size to 865 watts from where I was with the BR900. This unit has various new features and I have never been disapointed with APC products. Would highly recommend this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC1500

By fsmechanic from Dayton, OH on 09/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased to protect infrastructure servers on a bad power circuit. Operated well, absolutely no complaints whatsoever. This unit delivers well and looks good too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Dead a Year Later

By tinsnip from Central Maine on 08/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unless you keep this in a closet you won't like it. The fans run for a couple of hours after any kind of power blip, no matter how short in duration. Annoying! Loud! And, within days of my one year purchase anniversary, it's dead. A fused relay or something according to the error code. But you know what? I'm glad it's dead. I hated it and even though I have to shell out more money again so soon after buying this lump of junk, I'll welcome the opportunity to get it out of my office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

info packed

By boghav from warwick, ri on 07/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this units control panel gives you the input and output voltages as well as the percent of capacity/load factor of the units plugged into the UPS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great UPS!

By Charles from Richmond, VA on 07/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sleek design, ten outlets, good battery run time, and great price make this a winner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Unit

By WL from Midwest on 07/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As described, performs as presented, outstanding unit so far. Been in service for about four weeks now with no issues. Have had two main power interruptions and unit provided more running time than indicated. Will be obtaining at least two more units soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Performance

By Tom from St. George, UT on 07/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I obtained this UPS under APC's trade-up program, trading in an APC unit that had given me good service for several years. The new features, especially the display that provides much useful information are a great improvement. The unit just sits there quietly waiting to do its job when the local power company fails to do its.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful product.

By Andy from Waukesha, WI on 07/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently had a power outage and this product worked as well as I would expect. It allowed me to shut down in an orderly fashion with no difficulties, and I am very thankful that I had this product installed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC 1500

By Fred from Twin Cities, MN on 06/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a very good product which I would easily recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have used the APC ...

By vadan from Virginia on 05/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the APC products for yerrs and never had problems untill this one. Out of the box it has never worked right. Tells you often the batts are low when the system check shows there fully charged and shows no operational problems. The auto timed shut down does not work as programed and instantly shuts down at the first lighting strike. I'm getting the runaround from Staples trying to get it swapped out even through I did buy there "replacement plan" So untill things are hopefully resolved I'm not a happy camper. Would I buy again yes, as they have preformed for me well with all the others I've used. We all get a lemon at some point in time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does it's job

By Felicitator from Shenandoah Valley on 05/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC products for a long time. The "Trade-UPS" program helped with my upgrade. The unit was delivered quickly and was easy to install. So far, it has done everything "they" said it would! I love the display on the unit for easy monitoring.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Upgrade

By KYGAL from Louisville, Kentucky on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having expanded to include the ability to work from home, this battery backup is excellent. It allows me to keep have all of my home computer equipment attached to one device which has cleared up some cable clutter. The alarm is loud enough to be heard throughout the house without being overbearing. Easy to setup and the display is the best I have seen yet, clear and easy to read.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By PC from Rochester, NY on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked out of the box, very easy to setup and just go just as expected with APC and they never dissappoint.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By TexArdvark from San Antonio, TX on 04/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the third consecutive APC Power Back-up 1500 I have purchased and have been pleased with them all. The current Backup-UPS Pro 1500, with its digital display makes it easy to monitor voltage and usage. Installation was a snap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1500G APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500

By JoeVA63 from South Holland, IL on 04/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my new APC. It provides me enough power for all my devices. With the PowerChute software, I am able to manage my power use. The best feature I like the most is the ability to set a master device (in this case my CPU), and when ii goes into sleep mode, my APC shuts off the power to my other devices, saving me money. In addition, when I power off my CPU, all other devices connected to my APC also turn off, eliminating the need to manually shut down all my devices individually. So i never wonder if I forgot to shut something off!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS Pro 1500

By drumhedz from Tucson, AZ on 03/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using APC back up power supplies at home and work for the past 17 years and have come to rely on their performance and reliability. After my home UPS battery croaked (a unit bought back in 1994) I decided to upgrade it for something a bit more modern with the power capacity to run my Mac G5 workstation. So far it has run like a champ, quiet, reliable and ready to kick in. No regrets, I highly recommend the Pro 1500.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Jim from Albuquerque, NM on 03/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very pleased. I purchased this model under the exchange program because my old model's battery was shot. Setup of the new model was very easy. Return of the old model was also quite easy. Entirely pleased with this transaction!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smooth transaction - easy setup

By Yuz from Chatsworth, GA on 03/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything went as planned with easy setup, excellent sale price made this unit a good deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1500G

By bd from East Meadow, NY on 02/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been an APC User for over 15 yrs now. The BR1500 With Personal Powerchute v3 gives me reported energy Consuumption and aides in controlling devices attached to the Tower. With Window 7 , if the Tovwer goes to sleep, so will the Monitor and any other NON-USB Driven Device. If the Device is USB Driven, it is an infinite Circle. When the device powers off, it wakes up the CPU to tell it it disconnected, and the CPU and the Other Controlled Devices all wake up again. But once figured out, changing the USB device to a NON Controlled Outklet gives you great power savings if you are an intermittent user or need to leave the unit on for overnight update jobs. Great features, great expansion capacity and a real saver in the NE with the Winter and Power Outages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Works

By OspreyVic from Sarasota, FL on 01/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been using APC products since the 1980's both at work and at home. Moved up to this unit when old one died and we moved to a new PC. Customer Service has always been GREAT. We would not purchase without getting the extended warranty, which will pay for a new battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1st upgrade

By Royaloak from Royalton, MN on 01/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first time that I have done the online upgrade with APC. It went flawless. The new BR1500G went in without much of a hitch and has performed top notch. Not sure what the fan noise issue that I have seen on other comments as I can barley hear anything under normal operating conditions. I would not hesitate to purchase my next unit from APC. My only complaint was the software was not included with the unit as a new version has been produced by not available on hard copy. I wish they would have issued a postcard that one could send in to obtain this when available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good unit

By Vodoo from Cleveland Oh on 01/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a goood reliable unit. I use this in a factory(Industrial) environment for our process PC'S and our PLC controlled machines. As our older outdated ups fail, I replace them with this unit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Satisfied Customer from Undisclosed on 01/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this UPS and the protection it provides. The master outlets are amazing! I love being able to have it shutdown my peripheral devices when my PC sleeps. Great feature!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sound is horrible

By SRakaSSS from Glendale, CA on 01/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this UPS for about four months now and after owning APC products over the years I expected nothing less from APC; only until I received this unit. This unit was traded using APC awesome Trade-Ups program, would have I known how obsurdly LOUD this unit was/is I would have never bought it. What a shame! I love the Master/Slave outlets, its saved me quite a bit of money but the noise is unbearable for the trade off. I wouldn't even put this unit in my garage, it's louder than my truck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Battery

By LDNLAW from Sterling VA on 01/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Battery did not come with USB cable or Manual. Fan runs all the time but is not too loud. I had to call to confirm stipulated clearance around it when placing it because of the fan; was told 2 inches will be OK. The battery is fine. It is a good for the value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Cedar City Motel from Cedar City, UT on 11/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought a Back UPS RS 1500 and have been using it from over a year now. Great product. After I installed this I did not have a blow out on my TV, CCTV, security cameras etc insoite of having power cuts/surges here. I have several more UPS's all of APC and they have all served me well. I have several surge protectors for all laptops at home. Have been using APC products for over 15 years and have used it in Africa, India and now in the US.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BR1500G

By ex4wd from Connecticut on 11/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own five units, two PRO 1500's w/ BR24BPG external packs and three XS 1500's. The fan noise is not an issue at all, it runs for about four hours after initial startup and then kicks on periodically as needed to recharge the unit. The extra battery pack is definitely worth it as the runtime is extended by 3X. All in All a solid UPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOISE, NOISE

By User1 from Undisclosed on 11/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had over 10 of the old RS plus rs/rx battery packs, great QUIET, no fan unless on battery. This new model stinks, fan on all the time, way too noisy for work or home. Wish the old ones were still available...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of 7 APCs I've owned since 1994

By Ryan from Gainesville, FL on 09/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used APC for Apple computer and audio system backups since 1994. They are reliable and work as advertised. Two have been replaced on the TradeUps program. This one is used at this time to provide backup to a Mirage Sub-Woofer. While one reviewer found the fan noise objectionable, my unit sits beside my recliner and even when the fan is on (on cold start for about 10 minutes) I can barely hear it. His might have been defective. My only "gripe" is on the Quick Reference section for the function buttons. It is a little too briefly written for me. I would like to see certain areas that deal with the Master/Controlled outlet Enable/Disable, and right under it, the Master/Enable Threshold Calibration written in more detail. I like this unit. By way of note, my others did provide a pure sine wave instead of a stepped sine wave. I notice no difference with this new equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product for the money

By smart buyer from Florida on 09/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this about 3 months ago. I run a dell top of the line XPS system. The product will keep my internet server up and running when we lose power. It will not keep my system up but does keep my shutdown safe so when power comes back on I did not lose all my information. I thought it would at least keep me up and running long enough to save and shut down. Guess I will have to think about a bigger one next time. I know people have complained about the size and fan noise. Do not see a issues with it in my opinion. Fans are no louder than my system fans. All in all very happy just hate it keep telling me the battery needs replaced and the screen shows full charge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for Home or Home office applications

By LJinFLA from Orlando, Florida on 09/06/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned many APC power supplies for home and home/small office applications over the years. This unit sounded like a good upgrade to one old unit which had finally developed a fault. The power saving features and master control function seemed quite attractive for my application of a computer system integrated into my home theater room. The downside to this new unit did not become apparent until I plugged it in. The fan on this unit is SO LOUD that it is simply not appropriate for home office or home theater computer applications. The sound is so loud it would only be at home in a data center room dedicated to such purpose where all such loud fan equipment would be located. I even had it placed inside the cabinet which housed all the home theater equipment and it could easily be heard over the movies through the cabinet doors and ventilation system. This is just not practical in most homes. I returned this unit in exchange for the older rs1500LCD which only has a fan running when actually on battery power. I am sure that the fan on the RS1500G will make the components last longer, but you will not enjoy being in the same room with it in you home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fits my needs

By Power Mac Girl from Milford, PA on 08/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the BR1500G backup to replace an old APC that I had been using for over 20 years. The old one finally stopped charging. So far, after numerous power outages, some short and some long, my equipment stays on and protected. It does what it is supposed to do. Works fine with MAC equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back-UPS RS1500

By Mikey from Los Angeles on 08/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While always a good product, APC has made real improvements in the 1500 VA line of backup power units. The trade-up option is a great way to update when battery replacement time comes due for an older unit. Spending only a little more than a fresh battery to get a new modernized unit is good for the customer and the planet. The reduced weight and form factor as well as the enhanced diagnostics are tangible upgrades to a comparable-load product. Nicely done!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved