Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Ups » General Purpose Ups » SMT1500 » 22 Reviews

Apc Smart-ups 1500va Tower Ups 1.33 Kva/980 W - 0.11 Hour Full Load - 8 X Nema 5-15r (smt1500) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Works great with HP ML350 Gen 9

By APC in BR from Baton Rouge, LA on 09/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am using this with a HP ML350 Gen 9 without any issues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome - Does the job!

By WhiteSpider from Edinburg, VA on 06/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this unit for my home business. I am a graphic artist and photographer, so I have a lot of equipment that is connected including a mid 2010 iMac 21.5"/Intel 3.6gzh Core i5, second Apple 20" display, Epson Scanner, Drobo 4 Bay, Seagate 2TB External HD, plus my internet modem and Wi-Fi Router. Have had quite a few power outages since adding this unit, some that lasted a few minutes and some that lasted for a couple hours, each time everything has stayed on and allowed me to shut down properly, so it does the job. I especially like the load readout and available battery percentage readout, great for those outages so you know how much you have left and when to shut down when it's getting low. All in all very pleased, great product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best on yet

By Kate from Springfield, Va on 02/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great instructions, easy to install and I love the display


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC Smart-UPS 1500VA

By JP from Saint Louis, MO on 09/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my Smart-UPS SUA-1500's battery expired after five (5) years, I replaced it with an SMT-1500 via APC's Trade-UPS program rather than just replace the SUA-1500's battery. I've installed the SMT-1500 to manage power to my workstation, NAS device, and router. I've interfaced the SMT-1500 to my workstation via the USB port. My new SMT-1500 is functioning flawlessly, just like its predecessor, but with a far more advanced LCD display and control panel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

APC SMT1500

By skimouse from reading. pa on 08/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit gives you the ability to control how other devices behavior in the way that is flowing of the power to the other devices. Yes I would recommend this unit any person that is just getting one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Customer Service

By Alfen from Los Angeles on 12/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product is great, but the customer service is even better. I decided to change my order before it shipped. No problem for APC ! The change took place without a hitch and the APC sales people were very polite and helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By RB from Colorado on 11/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the SMT1500 because of experiences with power outages and voltage fluctuations. This unit has enough capacity to allow me to shut down without losing data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great UPS

By CJ from New York, NY on 07/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous APC model hit its shelf life, thus I took advantage of APC's trade-in/up program. I purchased the Smart-UPS 1500 for my 12-Core Mac Pro workstation as I needed a Pure Sine-Wave UPS. At first there was a noticeable hum from the system, however this diminishes quickly after initial usage. My only complaint is a lack of OS X/UNIX software, however OS X has a decent built in UPS/Energy management system. Otherwise, for heavy hitting I recommend this product. Additionally, customer service is stellar. I had initially purchased the incorrect UPS; as it was already sent customer services rep's worked with me in making certain the correct unit was sent and a return was accepted. I couldn't be more satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poorly placed outlets

By Dreaming of well placed outlets from Charlottesville on 05/01/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased the APC Smart-UPS 1500VA LCD 120V for use with our servers and network switches. Upon installation I was disappointed to find that I could only use 4 of the 8 outlets due to the poorly designed layout of the outlets (especially since it is more expensive for more outlets). I am happy with everything else about the product but feel this design flaw is a huge oversight (and I am really frustrated about it). I would not recommend this product if you need over 4 outlets unless you have only have typical 3-pronged plugs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Noisy

By manuel from Michigan on 02/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a Dell Studio XPS 9000 which will not run on a normal power back up. My Dell requires "sine wave" power which the 1500 delivers. The 1500 kicks in as expected during a power outage or brownout however this unit is extremely noisy. The fan runs practically non-stop 24 hours a day. My unit's fan may shut off for a second or two then continue to run several minutes. This product is best used in a warehouse away from office cubicals due to the noise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best of The Best UPS for Small Environemnts

By Eni1 from Bremerton, WA on 08/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased a new Smart-UPS 1500VA LCD 120 to replace an older Smart UPS and I consider this device to be one of the items needed to ensure a proper IT environment and to safeguard the investment in IT hardware. With two NAS, Three External USB Drives, Switch, Router, one small server and a larger Hyper-V Server, ans this UPS is under 40% utilization. The peace of mind in knowing that the devices are safe from a power spike and power properly conditioned, is worth the money invested in this UPS. Oh and by the way takes 2 minutes to set this up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samrt-Ups 1500va LCD

By Sly from Titusille, FL on 07/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with the smsrt ups 1500 va lcd 120. It replace my smart ups 750XL. The unit arrived with no damage and was very easy to set up. It is working very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Industry gold standard

By LW from Pittsburgh, PA on 06/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this product in all it's incarnations over the years. No matter how they make the chassis look, the APC Smart UPS 1500 is a rock solid reliable UPS. For many years I was a tech at a small PC repair company, I would do hundreds of service calls a month to different businesses around the Pittsburgh area. I've installed this product in so many environments, it's difficult to count. 1-2 servers and a small rack and this thing is perfect. Now, being in an IT Management position, I'm using this product in my own offices and as always, it works great. With over 14 years in IT, APC is the only brand that has been in my A+ list the entire time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement UPS

By RandyJ from Southern CA on 12/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a long time APC customer and needed a replacement UPS for a 6 year old box. The new features are nice and the new box is operating as advertised. One problem that I did have was a disconnected cable that prevented the LCD display from working. Called tech support and had the problem fixed in a few minutes. As of now no complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't turn off or dim LCD display!

By jon from Sacramento, CA on 09/20/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was disappointed to find that the LCD display cannot be dimed or turned off. The display mode settings are contrary to the product documentation. APC support was very quick and helpful in responding to my issue but, "This feature is not included in the new SMT/SMX series. This may change in the future but at this time it cannot be turned off like that." Still good reliable product just lights up my room at night.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well, they fixed the ...

By ragamfn from Seattle on 07/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well, they fixed the noisy fan problem by replacing it with a newly designed machine. Now the unit performs as I expected it to in the first place. The unit I received originally from the APC online store had the noisy fan problem, which was not acceptable for the intended use of the machine. I would recommend the newly designed machine for people needing a quiet and reliable power UPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Noisy

By APC112 from Rhode Island on 07/11/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As far as what this box is designed to do, it's great. Plenty of power for my Mac Pro workstation, two monitors, and a few external HDs. In fact, when I push the system and render using all 16 processor cores and simultaneously write to every connected drive, it only puts a 47% load on the UPS. HOWEVER, this system is set up in my home office across the hall from my bedroom, and the fan on the unit is just to loud for this type of environment. I can hear it over the central air conditioning. The fan has 2 speeds, but for some reason it tends to run at high speed for about 5.5 minutes, and then 8 seconds at low speed, cycling back and forth. It even does this when nothing is connected to it or powered on. Had I known this before I bought it, I would've gotten a smaller fanless unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One dissapointment

By cbreton49 from California on 06/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my SMT1500 APC Smart-UPS 1500VA LCD 120V now for a couple months and it has done great!! My only drawback with it is that it is noisy, it's big so maybe that's why but it seems louder than it should be. I do have a lot plugged into it and it hasn't failed me yet, but the noise seems to bother me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid unit but too much fan noise

By Greg from Mountain Home, Idaho on 05/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit is solid and works exactly as advertized. It has already protected me on 5 occasion in 2 months. The fan runs constantly and is anoying in a quiet computing environment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't like the new design

By PC from Ashland Ky on 05/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This ups is very solid ups I have been using smart ups 1500's for years now. This new model how ever has a change on the front panel. The old UPS had a LED scale for both battery level and load level so you can quickly see the status. Now with the new LCD panel all you get is warrning lights. If you really need to know the status you have to scroll through on the LCD panel. This is fine if you have one UPS I have about 8 of them in a server room I like being able to see the status of all 8 with one quick glance. If it wasn't for the new design I would have given it a 5 star ratting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid equipment

By Buddy from Columbus, OH on 04/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought one of these to protect a standalone physical print server that is critical to our daily operation. This UPS works great. Great runtime, great software features, easy setup, intuitive display. For the price it's a solid performer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid... but a tiny bit noisey

By Dario NYC from New York, NY on 01/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned the SUA 1000 for 7 years, I replaced the battery once and then it finally burned out on me. The SMT 1500 was a natural progression/upgrade. I've only had it for a few months and I don't expect to think much about it until the battery needs to be replaced... and it will tell me when to do that. I have a full Editing Suite running through it. I feel safe that it's protected from surges, brown outs and in the worst scenario buy me time to backup my client's work. The fan noise is a bit more than what I remember the 1000 having but I wouldn't change my purchase. Most reliable bang for the buck. And I see similar models in all the Post Houses that I freelance for. If you can afford it buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved