Home » ATPL120 » 49 Reviews

Audio Technica Atpl120 Professional Direct-drive Turntable Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 49 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Archiving (26), Casual Listening (78), Mobile Dj/broadcast (4), Performance Dj (3)

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month (23), Over A Year (7), Up To A Year (14)

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile (12), Intermediate (31)

Cons:

None (3)

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I Dig It!

By RabbiAlberto from Memphis, TN, USA on 07/18/2015


Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

My wife bought me one of these and i am pleased as punch! The sound quality was better than expected and it enabled me to listen to my favorite albums with no huss and fuss. This is a turntable I would buy again if this one were to die (shudder). Now if they would make a cassette deck to go with it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Listening to vinyl again

By TBL4US from United States on 03/28/2015


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

So happy to have a turntable again...listening to my vinyl....yeah! And a great price to boot! I am very pleased with this product and very happy that audio companies are still making turntables...keep up the good work Audio-Technica!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great turntablefor the price

By ajax1950 from Malone, NY 12953, USA on 03/17/2015


Cons:

Manual Operation

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Just got the table(3/13/15). Spent about 30 min setting up the turntable. Using on Line out. Sound is crisp in the middle-high end and provides sufficient bass on low end(great cartridge). Very sturdy build. Strobe is accurate. Don't care about DJing. If you don't mind the manual operation I would recommend this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great starter turntable ready to plug and play

By cmeister92 from Rogers, AR, USA on 03/14/2015


Cons:

Could Use A Better Pack In Cartridge

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

This was a great first turntable. It has solid build quality and has the classic Japanese direct drive turntable look. It has really clean and resolved sound quality for the price. The built in phono preamp is great for plug and play capability and upgrading cartridges is fairly easy with the detachable headshell. I recommend Audio Technica's own AT440MLa. It brings out the most from this turntable. Another great feature is the option for 78rpm for older records if you also have a 78rpm needle. The speed is dead on being a direct drive Quartz locked table and I have not been disappointed at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's like a time machine!

By MikeinChatsworth from Chatsworth, USA on 02/06/2015


Cons:

Adjustable Feet Don't Level

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Other

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Serious Audiophile Listening To Treasured Lp

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Being somewhat older than dirt, I have over 400 LPs, collected since 1957. Most are of classical music, which means the unit must perform flawlessly and SILENTLY. This unit has given these back to me. I have no wish to dub them over onto CDs, as when I want to hear one, I'll just play it again on this. I have full-range surround speakers with 12" and 15" woofers, and a powerful receiver, so any rumble would shake the walls. The unit has none. The top-line cartridge with elliptical stylus extracts beautiful sound and seems to minimize most surface noise. I had no trouble setting it up, but it's my FIFTH turntable over the years, so I know how to do this. I also had trouble getting the unit to sit level on a custom made rack. It is very heavy toward the left front, and that spring foot completely collapsed and I had to shim it with an old cell phone battery to get the unit to sit level. Once I did this, it performed flawlessly. Bottom line is: It performs flawlessly and does exactly what I want it to do, which is play my treasured LPs with the best possible sound and no noise or problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It!

By riverratmike from Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA on 02/01/2015


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I'm in love with this turntable. It is very well manufactured and looks and sounds fantastic!. I'll have it for many many years. So far I use it everyday and enjoy watching the music being produced. Great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!

By UpstateKeith from Adirondacks, New York on 01/27/2015


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I have owned this unit for a few years with on and off use. I first had it connected to an all-in-one stereo in a box unit by using the provided preamp feature. It sounded satisfactory using that limited system. I now have it connected to a late 1960's RCA Victor tube amplified HiFi and it sounds really great. I still think it is limited only by the amplification of the HiFi which is a great compliment to the turntable. I listen to the same records on my family member's much more expensive NAD system and we both agree this Audio Technica sounds about as clear. I accidentally damaged the stylus but replacements are reasonably priced and easily available. The top scratches very easily but a turntable should be handled with care anyway, so this is not of much concern. I wish there was some type of vibration isolation built in, but for the price I really can't complain. I just don't stomp my feet when I walk past it. Overall this is a great unit and I recommend it to anyone looking to either get into the hobby for the first time, or get back into it after a hiatus. Stop shopping around and get this, you won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Record Player for Old and New Records

By JDexter from Ontario on 12/02/2014


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Heavy Listening, Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

I bought this as my first record player. I have a fairly large collection with old scratched up records from Vera Lynn and Nat King Cole, through the 60's through to 2014! Everything from singles and cheaply made records to 180gram records all work and sound great! My recent favorites inlcuding Daft Punk sound absolutely incredible. This record player is easy to use, extremely reliable and sounds excellent. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Turntable For My Use

By gdwmson080348 from Madison Heights, VA, USA on 09/09/2014


Cons:

Weak Anti-skate, Tone Arm Height, No Gain Control

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Easy To Set-up And Use, Excellant Product Support, Very Reliable, Qualty Materials And Construction, Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

This was purchased for me to put my vinyl into MP3 format on my computer, not for DJ use. Had to get a TC-780 line level booster right at first since the gain was not high enough on some of my records and the LP120 had no adjustable gain control. The anti-skate is too weak, had to modify to help but even turned all way to max is still not enough but appears to not hurt sound quality. Tone arm does not lower enough to get the correct Vertical Tracking Angle on stylus. Had to go with an Ortofon Concorde Gold cartridge and add height to the platter with two mats. Spindle is too short to add more platter height so going a more expensive route with another cartridge was only option for me. Got it now where I want and would not change anything now. All in all this is best turntable I've ever used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality & Reliability Without Breaking The Bank

By joemar4 from Long Island, New York, USA on 08/12/2014


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Haven't had a turntable in many years, but wanted to get one so I could rekindle my love of vinyl. I did a lot of research online and this turntable kept popping up and always with good reviews. Being that I own other Audio-technica products that I have been very happy with, this became a no brainer. Well, once again they did not disappoint. The turntable is above and beyond what I was hoping to get out of a turntable at this price. It's ease of use and solid performance is fantastic. Like another reviewer stated, it would have been nice to have a tone arm lock, but that's definitely not a deal breaker. I hooked this turntable up to a pair of Audioengine A2+ powered speakers and it sounds great! So if your looking for an inexpensive, yet a great sounding, reliable turntable, look no further. I am very happy with this product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Turntable!

By BeeCeeinBC from Undisclosed on 05/31/2014


Cons:

No Cons.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I set out to get a turntable specifically to just play my records which had been in boxes for years. It was time to bring them out...just because! I have all my music on CD and other digital media but that is not the point. This turntable was reasonably priced as I did not want to spend $400.00 on a turntable! so I went into my local Audio store and saw this and thought to myself "Hey!". So I bought it, took it home and had it set up and playing...an original Beatle record in no time. Having the option to put my vinyl to digital is a bonus. As for sound quality...good as any! Besides, living in a condo doesn't give much opportunity to crank it to 11! Good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By bentley878 from Glastonbury, CT, USA on 05/14/2014


Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I chose this model in part for the 78rpm speed (most don't have) I have several old blues 78's and this player does very well with them. I was pleasantly surprised at all the features, ease of use and set up. There is no comparison to the table I am replacing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is great!

By Jader58 from Oliinda, Brasil on 05/13/2014


Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Cons:

The Rca Cable Shoud Be Removable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Im Brazilian, bought these turntable in the US and the original package support the flight home. The setup is very easy. No warp plate, no hum (Im using the line output with an extra 3mt RCA cable). Im very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AT-LP60 above average for entry level turntable

By radioman from Allen, TX, USA on 03/07/2014


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Casual Listener

the AT-LP60 is a very good entry level turntable and very well thought out with ease of use. if taken care of properly it should serve you well for many years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New to Vinyls

By Jakob from Undisclosed on 03/07/2014


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Only just got this turntable but am already amazed. I had it set up to my speakers and playing my first vinyl within 5 minutes of receiving the parcel. At first looking at the pictures of the cables I was wondering how it would fit into my speaker but they don't show a picture of the cable attached to the back which fits perfectly. The quality of sound for the price is also exceptional. In conclusion this turntable is perfect if you are looking to start a vinyl collection without too much money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome turn table!

By MikeInFla from Panama City, FL, USA on 02/13/2014


Cons:

None

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I have owned this since June of 2013 and it is used almost every day by either me or my wife. We have enjoyed hearing vinyl again and have expanded our collection with classic albums and new 180 gram reissues. This is excellent for recording via USB to digital files, I have tons of albums on my iPod. The USB that came with it was a little short to my liking but I bought a longer one for about 7 bucks on Amazon. The tonearm took some time to set up just right but I watched the many helpful videos on YouTube by Audio Technica and some more by fans of this TT. This model comes with the AT95E stylus which tracks at 2 grams. The previous stylus no longer comes with the LP120. Trust me, this one is better (it is the GREEN cartridge). The direct drive can stop on a dime! Pitch control is something I would never use but it has a nice feel to its "slide" and clicks into place in the middle. Hit "quartz" and it instantly tracks at the normal speed. The unit weighs around 25 pounds and that's a good thing. I've noticed that the Popup Stylus Target Light gets a little warm after it's been on for a while so I use it when I need it but mostly leave it turned off. I almost bought the USB LP60 and I am glad I got this one instead. The direct drive and adjustable tone arm and anti-skate sold me on this model. It has been nice to hear Hendrix, Styx, Zeppelin and The Beatles again and the Beatles remasters sound awesome. Thanks AT for making such a nice TT! For those wondering this does not have an auto return but most good turn tables do not have this, I don't mind a bit. Best advice is to stay AWAY from those all-in-one units you see in the big box stores that also have cassette and CD. Those things will eat your records for breakfast!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for Performance DJ's

By DJDiamondLee from Ohio on 02/05/2014


Cons:

You Must Upgrade The Neddle For Djing, Not For Performance Dj's

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Dj

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Mobile Dj/broadcast, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I bought these turntables to use for my mobile dj rig. The audio is good. I bought the Shure M44-7 needles. I use Serato dj Sl2 box. I have some dicers and a lpd8 to control the samples and the effects. BUT.... the turntables do have the motor power to do anything but a basic scratching. juggling is out of the question. No advance scratching. I could actually do more scratches with my Numark V7's. I think I will keep them this year to just learn on them and next year I will upgrade to the 1240's because I know they are more for mobile DJ. Its more my fault for not being able to afford the better tables. I do recommend these decks to beginner Dj's. But just understand its more of a start and stop unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You get more than what you paid for

By AlecD from Englewood, CO, USA on 12/10/2013


Cons:

Cheap Belt, Easily Scratchable Dust Cover

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Precise Rotation, High Quality Sound, Metal Stylus (unlike Others Of The Same Price), Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

The Audio Technica AT-LP60 plays records with a precision and care that no other turntable at this price has to offer. The sound quality is stellar for home listening. The stylus that comes with the turntable picks up a great range of frequencies. This is a purchase that I am more than satisfied with. My only complaint is that the belt does not seem durable. Surprisingly though, this cheap belt rotates the platter with precision. I compliment the precision because the precision on a Jensen wooden turntable that I purchased was sub-par and it had a similar belt. This turntable was definitely an incredible upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Fine Record Player

By bosman752 from Madison, Nashville, TN, USA on 09/20/2013


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Stability, Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I recently received my AT-LP120 a week ago and I have to say, I am impressed.This is my first "real" record player I've ever bought.There was some assembly, but no problem-setup is easy as long as you take your time and follow the instructions.I took my time setting up the tone arm, using the YouTube video regarding the subject.I have it set around 3.5 g counterweight/3.5 g anti-skate and have had no adverse effect.The sound quality is great, but the cartridge/stylus could be better.I'm planning on replacing it, but research first! I wasn't expecting it to be so heavy (around 24 lbs.), but this is good, as it provides a rock solid, level surface.The setup also comes with a variety of cables to suit your needs.I currently have it hooked to the Line-In on my Audigy 2 ZS Platinum sound card on my computer, as to record and archive the albums.I am still trying to figure out the Audacity software package that's included, but that's just the user.I definitely would recommend this turntable.I look forward to enjoying many years of enjoying my vinyl on the AT-LP120.Thanks to Audio Technica for producing a fine product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

common problem with right channel

By mama2002 from maple grove mn on 08/21/2013


Cons:

Right Channel Problems

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Common problem with right channel. No sound from right channel. There is a design issue that needs to be fixed. Too many people have this problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By MikeV from Glendale, AZ on 08/16/2013


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Not being able to find a direct drive turntable in a brick and mortar in the Phoenix area, I was happy to find this on Amazon for a great price. Opening the box, it was packaged very well. This is comparable to the 30+ year old Technics SL 1310 Mark 2 I was replacing. The Technics had a couple problems including the infamous broken lift arm assembly. It had been repaired twice over the last few decades and now the digital speed control was acting wonky. Recording onto computer was tricky at first due to the lack of instructions for Audacity, but a few trials and errors later, I got the hang of it. I was pleased to find out my old headshell fit the connector and I could use my Pickering XSV 3000 cartridge. The Audio Technica cartridge sounds just as good to my ears, so it's great to have a spare. Just don't make the mistake I made by adjusting the weight while the spare cartridge is in the spare hole in the back. You can damage the spare's needle while making the adjustment. There should be a warning about this in the literature. If it's in there, I didn't see it. My old vinyl never sounded so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Did not work out of the box

By Duck1378 from Boston, MA, USA on 05/06/2013


Cons:

Defective Out Of The Box - Only One Channel Worked

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I am so very disappointed. The design and features and look of this turntable are great. But after setting it up we found that only the Left channel was working and the right channel is dead, whether on Line Out or Phono Out. We checked the stylus, the wiring of the stylus, fiddled with the arm height, weight, skate force, tried different records. We soo wanted this to be fixable. But sadly no. Defective product out of the box so back it goes. I so wanted to believe that the reviews that were negative here were one off lemon examples. But now I think I'll buy a different product and buy it locally not over the web. Disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent!

By DerekH from Chicago, IL, USA on 05/02/2013


Cons:

None

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Value, Audio Quality, Casual Listening, Sturdy Build

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

As a 21-year old college student, I had no prior knowledge of or experience with turntables or vinyl. I have no nostalgic ties to this platform or medium like many who grew up with it, but that didn't stop me from discovering the superiority of analog over digital. After researching online and receiving input from friends and family who have experience with vinyl, I chose the AT-LP120 as my first turntable. I love everything about it and I use it all the time. The audio quality is superb and the turntable itself is incredibly sturdy. I was very impressed by its heavy build, as there simply are not many products these days built with this level of quality. All of the extra features are nice too. I haven't yet used the vinyl-to-digital conversion via USB feature yet, but I plan to soon. I can't say enough about the audio quality though. I compared a song played on my turntable with the same song saved on my computer's hard drive and the difference was noticeable and immediate. I couldn't be happier with it. Don't just take it from me, either. A few of my friends, who I suppose could be considered "audiophiles", also praised the audio quality and said I got a bargain when considering the quality and price. I've turned some of my friends onto vinyl and the AT-LP120 is what I've recommended. I don't have a huge library of LPs (only about 25-30), but I plan on expanding that and I love the fact that most of the bands I listen to release new material on vinyl. I could go on and on about how much I love the AT-LP120, but I'll stop here. I've had it about 8 months and I'd be surprised if it didn't last at least 10+ years. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a quality turntable built to last that won't break the bank.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just started using it, so far it's great

By u002daw from PA on 03/19/2013


Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I've transfered 6 albums so far and am very pleased with it. It's easy to use and the quality is really good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Turntable

By RubiksCubed from Undisclosed on 03/12/2013


Cons:

Does Not Play 78s

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Sound Quality, Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Casual Listener

I LOVE my AT-LP60 USB. I have had no technical issues with it, but if I were to have them, AT support is great (they helped me with my previous turntable of theirs). The sound quality is great and very easy to use, just push the button and it starts!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By KenU from Cleveland, Ohio on 11/15/2012


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

In November 2011, my 30 year old belt drive turntable died. A couple weeks later, by chance, I stumbled upon the annual AT warehouse sale in Stow Ohio. At the sale, I picked up the LP-120. I absolutely love it! For 30+ years, I dreamed of owning a nice Direct Drive Turntable. Now I have one and I use it all the time. I almost forgot how nice vinyl sounds. I'm also happy that more and more music is being released on vinyl again. I haven't used the USB feature yet. But, I'm sure I'll get around to it eventually. So far, my LP-120 has performed flawlessly! As an added bonus.... I emailed a stylus question to customer service. They actually *called me* with an answer to my question! Who does that anymore? Nice touch. Keep up the good work!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work in Australia

By jman69er from Sydney NSW, Australia on 11/12/2012


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I bought this on Amazon and expected a major international company would understand that someone buying the product in Australia would need an Australian plug. doesn't work with adapter or transformer. Waste of money, couldn't return


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent value, comparable to more costly units.

By Pygmalion from New Jersey, USA on 10/15/2012


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening, Excellent Value.

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Although the dust cover is a trifle thin, it is easily removeable. I think the rest of the AT-LP60 turntable is super! I did some web and in-person research before selecting the Audio-Technica and was impressed that the configuration of the controls and functions are the same as some units costing $40-$60 more. I was not sure what to expect at this price point. I have conected this turntable to an older Sony stereo receiver. Set up was quite easy, instructions concise, and I was immediatley impressed with the quality of the sould output. Overall, I would say that this is an excellent value and I am very pleased with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic player

By Mitch from Undisclosed on 05/23/2012


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Simply put, I think you should give serious consideration to purchasing this player. For an in depth analysis, I have made a video review. If you would like more information, I have included the link to a youtube video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid basic performer.

By Echoofformless from Undisclosed on 03/28/2012


Cons:

No Tonearm Lock.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

For a second or third turntable, or a primary unit for the non-audiophile, this is probably the best choice out there for the money. Being fully automatic, you don't have to worry about getting to personal with the discs (which can lead to damage in the wrong hands.) The sound quality is much better than one might expect from a budget unit. It has a decent built-in preamp so you can connect it to any type of amplification. This is also convenient for those wishing to use this table to record their records onto digital formats. The small, lightweight nature of the unit also lends itself to that use, as you can easily sit in on the desk next to your computer and spend some happy time recording your discs. There is one major flaw with the design that I must complain about however, and that is the lack of a tonearm lock. Shame on Audio Technica for this. They couldn't include a ten cent piece of plastic to lock the tonearm down when not in use? It was really chintzy of them to do that...and the included twist tie that kept the tonearm in place during shipping. Yeah...tacky.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Proves analog is at least as good as digital

By JohnnyMalaria from NC on 03/06/2012


Cons:

Audio Needs Eq Adjustment To Hear The Full Quality

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

No Need To Replace My Vinyls With Cds, Price, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

I never thought I'd say it but many of my vinyls sound better than my CDs of the same albums. I bought this for my wife for Christmas 2011 since she is business manager for a number of indie bands and they send her copies of their albums on vinyl. To test it and come up with a simple workflow to get them onto her laptop/iPod, I tried it with my old LPs that had sat for nearly 20 years! Here's how: I connected the line output to a Presonus FireStudio audio interface and recorded the audio with Presonus Studio 1 Pro. Listening through my near-field monitors, keyboard amps and a variety of headphones, I was a tad disappointed when comparing against the CD recording of the same material. In particular, it sounded a bit nasally. BUT - the audio software lets me adjust the EQ. All it needed was a reduction in the mid range (1 to 2kHz) and a slight boost in the high range. The result? Remarkable. The results sound much better than the CD. The bass is much warmer and really drives the rhythm of the classic rock material. The 4 rating for audio quality is just because the out-of-box sound does this product something of a disservice. Of course, the downside of LPs is the pops and clicks. I tried #then bought) a program called ClickRepair that is astonishing. Once "declicked", I convert tracks to high quality MP3s, add cover art and that's it. Best thing - I don't have to buy CDs of my old LPs. Given the terrible "fad" of digitally remastering CDs, it's great news. For LPs I no longer have but recorded to cassette, I will buy used LPs to get the artwork and sound quality. Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

problem solved

By jjplaysguitar from Undisclosed on 02/17/2012


Cons:

No Ground Wire

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Since my first review I've been able to reach support and they were able to fix the problems. Still a ground wire would be nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent product!

By Rick150 from Asheville, NC, USA on 02/01/2012


Cons:

None

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Excellent Quality, Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I bought this turntable to replace a Realistic LAB-330 I bought about 25 years ago. I could not be happier! This turntable is fully automatic and the sound reproduction is nothing less than great. I don't see why anyone would spend $100's of dollars on more expensive units when the AT-LP60 does it all for much,much less. A real winner as far as I am concerned>


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for the cost

By Adam from UT on 01/23/2012


Cons:

Feet Aren't Adjustable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening, Performance Dj, Mobile Dj/broadcast

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

This TT is built to last. The quality in the construction is immediately apparent--the whole table is smooth, sleek, and solid as a rock. It weighs quite a lot, which is one of the reasons I decided to buy it. Everything is fantastic and reliable. The cartridge could be slightly better, but you can buy a decent one on Amazon for cheap. Everything else is superb. I love the direct drive and the electronic braking features, as well as the pitch control and reverse play, even though I'm not a DJ (I just like to fiddle about!). Wonderful turntable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value for the DJ Hobbyist who want the real feel of vi

By jaketheman from New Jersey, USA on 01/01/2012


Cons:

No Color Choices, No Definitive Specs Provided On The Drive Motor

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Respond Great To Vinyl Timecoding, Performance Dj, Mobile Dj/broadcast

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Started back DJing after several long years away from the craft. Decided to go with a controller instead of a pair of turntables; paying 500+ for a pair of 1200's is out the question. And I have a limited record collection. I read about the AT LP120 was impressed by it's appearance and the reviews. I had to see for myself, I already had a Technics SL-D2. Order one Audio Technica LP120. Un-boxed it and was very impressed. It's heavy which gave me confidence that it's sturdy. I am using a the VMS4 with VDJ 7 Pro, I setup and configured timecoding. And bingo, I have the option to use the tracks on my PC and my vinyl collection. I definitely going to a second AT LP120 in a few weeks. Thanks Audio Technica. I do have one suggest, make some in a dark blue or black.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Turntable.

By Paulie from Omaha, NE, USA on 12/26/2011


Cons:

Non Adjustable Tonearm

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Ease Of Use, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

After sorting through my parents old vinyl collection I decided to purchase a turntable to listen to all their classic albums. After shopping around I discovered the AT-LP60. This unit offered everything I was looking for at an affordable price. The unit is very easy to operate, simply select the record size and speed, press the play button, and listen to the record come to life. The built in phono amp and included adapters make connecting it to your computer or speakers a snap. The arm lift button is useful for manually selecting a track. The only cons are very minor. The unit is all plastic, the dust cover scratches easy, and the tone arm is not adjustable. All in all the AT-LP60 is a great turntable for someone looking to get back into vinyl listening.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sounds very good

By Dazz from omaha, ne on 11/15/2011


Cons:

Sounds Flat Imo

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

This unit sounds very very good. I do not seem to hear any popping or other abstract noise using the RCA connections to my Audiophile stereo. I am not sure if there is some software or firmware that if filtering the sound but it seems to be. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a simple easy to use turntable. Only thing I would add is that it seems a little flat IMO.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thank you audio-techica!!

By golfdork from Florida on 10/28/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I purchased the AT-LP120 about 15 months ago and it has given life to my stash of over 1000 vinyl recordings. The turntable/cartridge have performed flawlessly reminding me that digital sound sources only approximate the reproduction quality of a vinyl master recording. The turntable has also opened the eyes/ears of my kids who have discovered the joy of records and now leave empty record jackets laying around daily - Thanks again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic direct drive USB turntable

By PJDooWop from Piscataway, NJ, USA on 10/26/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Professional Audio

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Archiving, Performance Dj, Casual Listening, Mobile Dj/broadcast

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

This is a fantastic, fantastic turntable. Did I mention that it's fantastic? The turntable comes packaged with an ATP-2XN catridge, so it literally is a plug-and-play product. The usb and rca outputs are both amplified to line level so you can plug this turntable directly into your computer, a line in, a "tape in," "cd in" or an "aux in" without needing a phono preamp. The motor is high torque and hits 100% speed in about 1/3 of a revolution. This is extremely important if you're using the turntable for DJ applications. What I like most about this turntable is very well engineered, perfectly dimensional S-Curve tonearm. As long as you consider compliance and the weight of your headshell, this turntable has given me surprisingly great results with a few low output moving coil cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is a very nice turntable.

By bfbfbf from california on 10/21/2011


Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

this turntable has some very nice features. i have had it for over a year and it has worked perfect. i am transfering some old records to my computer and this turntable makes it easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overpriced but adequate

By hocky from Boynton Beach, Fl on 10/20/2011


Cons:

Needs A Stackable Feature

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

After continued use for the past 6 months, the turntable while definitely adequate , is overpriced for what you get. If you don't mind having to get up every couple of minutes to change a record, then you will be happy. I would have been happier if they would have offered a stackable feature to be able to listen in comfort to concentrate and be enveloped in the musical experience. That is not the fault of the equipment, just a lack of a feature. So, all in all, it is nothing more than adequate compared to other equipment in this price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ease of Use, Great amenities

By Bobbylee from Maple Falls, WA, USA on 10/20/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

My Vinyls Are Safe, Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Initially I purchased a sony PS-LX300usb. It functioned sufficiently. But when I bought a used TechnicsLP1300 I was impressed by a direct drive TT. The unit required adjustments, but can't find parts for it. I went online and saw the ATL120 and was greatly impressed by the price and what it can do. I was not disappointed. I was a little surprised that it was not an automatic, but I dismissed the thought,manual is where it's at. I experimented with replacing the cartridge w/ Shure V-15, but found that the cartridge that came with it is lot better.(as an audiophile).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By WellPleased from Georgia on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Cons:

Have Not Found Any

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Born in the 1940's, growing up in the 1950's and being a true "child of the '60's", music and records were always a part of my life. To play them, there was always a record player in the house from the huge cabinet combo radio/record player on which my parents listened to the "War News" and "Big Band" sounds of the '40's to my own, increasingly high tech systems through the birth of "Rock & Roll" and continuing into adulthood. With the advent of new technologies and the birth of the "CD", it seemed that the death of the vinyl record and the machines on which to play them had finally arrived. Not so. Unwilling to give up the pleasure of listening to my old records, including the old 78's inherited from my folks; I embarked on a search for a top quality turntable. High end, low end and everything in between I found that there was only one turntable that met my needs. That turntable is the Audio-Technia AT-LP120-USB. What more could you want? It plays everything and allows me to connect to my component system or via USB directly to my computer for archiving. Interchangeable cartridges allow playing the old 78's or the 45's and 331/3's with equal ease. This product has exceeded all of my expectations. Great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best turntable I have ever bought!!

By hotheosagpey from Undisclosed on 10/20/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Archiving

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I have had two other turntables the first was an all in one unit that was relatively good but I wanted to be able to have more control over the records and I also wanted a unit I could use as a stereo component. The second one I bought was a nice unit until it broke the day the warranty expired. When I found the Audio-Technica AT-LP120-USB I fell in love with it. When I received it I new I had made a good choice. I have had no problems with it and the sound is great!! I defiantly will buy products from Audio-Technica again. They have wonderful costumer service and have answered all of my questions promptly and accurately. The only problem I had was when I had set up the turntable for the first time and had some dificulty balancing the tone arm but once I figured it out I have had no problems AT ALL. I love this turntable!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to setup and start playing records

By Rocket from West Henrietta, NY on 10/20/2011


Cons:

No 78 Rpm Setting

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Archiving, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

It's really easy to take this baby out of the box and get it set up. I followed this YouTube video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Zi7d6j8aQ0), and had it set up by the time the video ended. Within minutes I was listening to records. It's super easy to use this on your PC/Mac (even Linux :-D). Plugs in via USB, appears in Audacity, and BAM, mp3 (or wav or FLAC or w/e) of your vinyl. The only problem was that the mp3 file was a little quiet, but that was probably my Audacity settings. Though with MP3Gain, I was able to fix the mp3. I'll need to experiment with the settings to get the right ones. Connected to my receiver (that has a phono input), it sounds amazing! I highly recommend this record player. It's inexpensive, works, sounds great, and looks great! Note: This can only play 33's and 45's, not 78's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

kick for the bucks

By will from pa. on 09/07/2011


Cons:

Better Stylusif Wanted

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Archiving, Has What You Need

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

having just purchased this,i found it rather easy for some one with a stereo, to set it up.it has a lot of features for the cash.it has nice eye appeal.i bought a sure cartridge-M97xE.it has a lower tracking force,if you buy this cartridge,screw on,with the screw heads facing down toward turntable,so they will fit!!!.i am tracking at 1.75 the auto down arm lever is nice.has strobe pitch control,stylus light,two pith control adjustments.nice dust cover.only woul like it if the pathcords would have been longer,to keep away from speakers.this turn table and the sure or tech cartridge,should take fine care of all you vinayl record needs.good price,dont need more in quality or expensive,recommended to stereo owners,will.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"We really enjoy the new ...

By Christine L Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/13/2006

We really enjoy the new turntable. We have a very extensive collection of old vinyl records. However, many were a little warped or had some small scratches. We were going to need to sort out the ones that were not playing well but the features of the new turntable have made it so we haven't found one album with a scratch or warp bad enough that it doesn't sound really good. If we had known it would make that much difference, we would have replaced the 1975 version a lot sooner...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I purchased the AT-PL120 ...

By WG Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 04/07/2006

I purchased the AT-PL120 as a replacement to a direct drive/linear tracking turntable destroyed in Hurricane Ivan. I examined the few locally available units and found them to be low quality and cheaply built. After researching several turntables on the internet, I settled on the AT-PL120 because of the features, outstanding reviews, and reasonable price. The AT-PL120 is an impressive looking and solidly built (for example, the 45-RPM adapter is machined out of a solid 5/16" aluminum billet) turntable that has all the features I need. A key feature is its internal stereo phono pre-amp which allows it to be connected directly to a PC. The AT-PL120 was easy to assemble and has performed flawlessly. This is by far the best turntable I've ever owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far everything seems ...

By Josef P Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 01/09/2005

So far everything seems to work just fine. I would definetly recomend this turntable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved