Home » Audio » Headphones/earphones » ATHANC27 » 15 Reviews

Audio Technica Ath-anc27 85% Over-ear Noise Cancelling Headphones Come With Hard Pouch (athanc27) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year (4), Up To A Year (5), Less Than A Month (5)

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate (7), Casual Listener (4)

Pros:

Office (4), Block Noise (7), Casual Listening (7), Travel (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Exceptional Sound AND Noise Cancellation

By MusicSensei from Middle Atlantic on 11/21/2014


Pros:

Durable, Detachable Replaceable Cable, Excellent Noise Reduction, Superior Music Reproduction

Cons:

Thin Cable

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I purchased a pair of ATNC27s approximately 20 months ago and they are still going strong! I have not had any issues with the cord( as you may read in other reviews ) but as it is very thin I take extreme care not yank or snag when in use. I keep it wound around the phones when not in use. Music/Sound: These headphones sound very good with any genre of music. I have listened to Choral-Polyphonic Classical to Hardcore Electronic Dance music, Acoustic( Flamenco Guitar for example), Pop-Rock, Metal, Big Band, Swing, Cinema Soundtrack, Piano( Baroque to American AM Radio Standards) and etc. The point being these headphones are suitable for all Music Tastes. In my opinion there is a SLIGHT Bass Boost but I must stress it does not adversely affect the Middle Range and Treble(High) parts of the Music. Note: If Active Noise Cancellation is engaged when listening to music--it serves to slightly amplify the sound. This said, I usually listen with it off unless blocking unwanted noise. Either way the headphones sound very good. Noise Cancellation: Excellent to Superior. My litmus test is not air plane engines but listening in a laundromat with 10 or MORE SpeedQueen Washers and Dryers running simultaneously in Spin Cycle. When this occurs the floor literally shakes. I am serious! The Noise Cancellation reduces that level of noise to a barely audible and very remote sounding whisper esp when used with music yet I can feel the floor vibrating. Sometimes, I take them off to sample the ambient noise level and after nearly 2 years I an still astounded at the amount of noise/sound reduction. Wear and Tear: I take care of my headphones. I do not throw them around , sit on them or handle them roughly. This said they have fallen on a hard wood floor on a couple of occasions and suffered no damage. I sometimes carry them in my backpack and are jostled and bumped. No harm has been done. The ear pads look as they did when the set was brand new. Point being, take of the headphones and they will last and perform well. Summary: Simply Very Good Headphones. Good Sound. Good Noise reduction. I am satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great set, better Noise Cancelation than SOUL!

By Stacsimon from Brentwood, CA, USA on 07/15/2014


Pros:

One Aaa Battery, Noise Cancelation 5 Star

Cons:

Poor Cord Quality

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I love these! My big issue is the cord, it's rather stiff & not a universal size. The ends are different sizes. The cord broke after 6 months of constant use the cord broke inside somewhere. I started using my husband's SOUL noise Cancelation Headphones & they don't work at all compared to this set! I need to purchase the cord again, I just hope it's a better quality one. Great on blocking noise once turned on! The ear piece could be bigger but over all worth the $$


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cord & sound problems

By KarenC from Bosque Farms, NM, USA on 01/09/2014


Cons:

Cord, Faulty Connection

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Professional Audio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I'm on my second pair of the ATH-ANC27 headphones. I really liked them at first, but found the pair I initially bought crackled and made horrible buzzing noises every time I flew. Plus, the cord was starting to fray after just a couple of weeks in the field. I returned that pair through Amazon and ordered a replacement set (since I really did like the fit and sound when the headphones worked). After a few weeks with the second set, I started having cord connection problems. I'd have to jiggle it to get sound out of the right side. The problem has grown worse to the extent that I can't get any sound out of the right side now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not the best choice for the money

By LSOHIO from Ohio, USA on 12/25/2013


Cons:

Need Batteries To Work Decent, Only One Side Works

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

The headphones are awkward at best. My teenage daughter received them as a gift for Christmas, and has complained since. Putting in batteries, and plugging and locking the cord and then having to turn them on is a hassle. She just wanted a nice pair of headphones that should could plug in and wear. Her brother got a great pair last year by a better manufacturer for the same price and they are a much higher quality headphones. These are bulky and she hears static and buzzing through one ear most of the time. Just a hassle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cable broken

By cabuehler01 from Houston, TX, USA on 12/11/2013


Cons:

Cable Broken

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Computer

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Block Noise

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Casual Listener

The cable is not attached to the headphones. You have to plug it into the headphones and lock it in place. After several months of use the cable is not functioning properly. Now I have to purchase a replacement cable. Not the quality product I had expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Mabes from St. Louis, MO, USA on 08/26/2013


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I received a 10 year employment service award and chose these headphones as my present to myself. Unfortunately, I hear static in some songs and absolutely no vocals in others. I also really question the 85 percent noise-canceling feature. The worst part is...I can't return them as they were a gift.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!!

By bob12 from concord, NC on 08/21/2013


Cons:

None

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Work Around House

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Cost, Block Noise, Travel, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Casual Listener

Had this for two years (April 2011) and use it for listing to my IPod when driving my lawn mower, working outside and when I fly. Broke the cable last week and e-mailed support to purchase one and they said, "We will send you one at no cost". Talk about customer service!!. I highly recommend this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT NOISE-CANCELLING CANS FOR THE PRICE!

By Vinny from Seattle, WA, USA on 01/11/2013


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Travel

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Dj, Block Noise, Office, Gaming, Studio, Sports/exercise, Travel, Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I've been using these for 3 weeks and am loving them thus far. The noise-cancelling is very good; the audio quality is very good; the build quality is reliable thus far. Overall, I'd say these are excellent noise-cancelling headphones for the price. They can't compare to other noise-cancelling cans that are many times the price, but for 100 bucks, these are very good. Looking forward to using them on an airplane next month.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Muddy Sound

By Aych from Virginia on 09/23/2012


Cons:

Bulky Case, Poor Sound Quality

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Audiophile

Noise cancelling headphones are often used by people in airplanes. Thus it should be compact, easy to use and of course, sound good. Case is too bulky, headphones need to fold flat or be collapsible, but worst of all, the sound is muddy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of money, except for noise cancelling feature

By Justaboomer from Maple Valley, Wa on 03/05/2012


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Office

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Block Noise

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Casual Listener

Poorly engineered product; Starting with the difficult zippering of the hard case, large size for traveling, short flimsy 1 meter cord (It is easily replaceable, a plus), sound quality is way below the Sony it was meant to replace. The on/off switch is difficult to snap. The noise cancelling feature works great though. Not worth sending back(for me) I will avoid audio technica products except for a brick & mortar store. Sorry I bought it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good headphones at a great price

By Nat98 from South Kingstown, RI on 12/10/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Other

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Block Noise

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Casual Listener

I purchased these headphones for my son in college. He finds that the noise cancelling feature allows him to study undisturbed by the noise associated with dorm life. In addition, they are very comfortable and great sounding when listening to music.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for usage on a plane

By mjdamron from DC on 10/19/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Travel

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Office, Block Noise, Casual Listening, Travel

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

I bought the QuitePoint headphones for my parents who travel a lot more. The headphones work great on a plane: cutting out engine noise, screaming babies, etc. The best part is my parents are not damaging their ears by blasting the volume up loud enough to hear a movie or what not. Makes long flights more tolerable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great deal!

By westwheels from Texas on 10/19/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Travel

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Travel, Casual Listening, Block Noise, Office

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

Use them a lot. Noise canceling works, not 100% on an airplane but they are not $400 headphones. For the price they are great & I love the case. Use them at work & when I travel. Drown out background noise & help me concentrate writing reports. Comfortable and great sound quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love Them

By Andre50 from Chicago, IL, USA on 10/06/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Professional Audio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Dj

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Intermediate

The sound is Excellent, and I love the case that come with them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value and quality!

By jb1901 Verified Reviewer from Placerville, CA on 04/21/2010


Pros:

Low Price, Sound Quality Excellent, Nice Case, Very Comfortable, Great Noise Cancelling, Excellent Value

Cons:

Bulky For Transport

Best Uses:

Versatile, Great Sound Everyday Use, Travelling, Great For Noisy Office

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shopped thoroughly for noise cancelling headphones and tried many types. I was about to pay 3 times more for another brand when I discovered these. After trying them all the Ath-anc27's were equal to the more expensive ones in terms of sound quality, and comparable in noise cancelling as well. I use the product frequently as I travel often, and also work in a noisy office, where I can now listen to music quietly and all the other commotion disappears, so I can focus on my work. I can wear these for hours at a time with no discomfort. I listen to a variety of music, and this headset sounds very natural, which was my most important criteria. When I tried them I made sure to listen to some classical music, and some accoustic jazz. I feel that the sound is close in quality to live music. Of course, they sound great with rock, R&B, and everything else too. The sound is a par with the brand that costs triple what these do. Another nice feature is that they work without being turned on, of course there is no sound cancelling then, and the sound quality of the music seems to diminish somewhat. Most of the other brands, including the much more expensive ones, do nothing while turned off. It's convenient that the Ath-anc27's will continue to work if the battery goes dead, so I don't miss a radio progam I enjoy, or get interrupted in the middle of a favorite set of music. The only drawback is the bulk, they come in a very nice case as far as offering protection to the headphones, but while in the case, the headset does take up a significant amount of space in a travel bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved