Home » Audio » Headphones/earphones » ATHM30 » 13 Reviews

Audio Technica Ath-m30 Closed-back Dynamic Monitor Headphones With Enhanced Bass Response (athm30) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year (6), Over A Year (5)

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert (3), Intermediate (6)

Pros:

Studio (12), Office (4), Casual Listening (7), Film/video Production (5), Dj (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Perfect for Monitoring!

By imfofficial from Undisclosed on 03/12/2015


How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Had this pair for over a year and still holding strong on audio quality!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wired headphones to augment wireless

By KenJ from Chicago, IL, USA on 05/09/2014


Pros:

Long Cord, Linear Sound Response, Price, Sound Quality

Cons:

You Could Get Tangled In The Cord

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

I am very satisfied with the ATH-M30 phones. They work well and sound good plugged into the amplifier or into the computer. Even MP3's sound good. The price is so advantageous compared to the phones the "doctor" ordered! The sound is much better, too. A crisp, linear response lets you adjust the sound to your taste (and ears)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We Will See...

By kyle22 from St. Petersburg, FL, USA on 05/09/2014


Pros:

Partially Cancel Out Unwanted Noise, Comfortable

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Just got them recently so I can't comment on the durability, but they produce great sound for the money. They are comfortable and would recommend at this time. We will see how long they last with daily use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What's not to like?

By griz326 from Montana on 02/24/2014


Pros:

Film/video Production, Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

These are great headphones. Having worn headphones as part of my daily job since 1967, this babies are light, sound good, and work a long time...even the cord has survived. The earphone pads have finally disintegrated, but they have a lot of miles on them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent budget performers!

By pro1137 from Sanborn, Cambria, NY 14132, USA on 03/03/2013


Pros:

Casual Listening, Studio, Gaming, Office, Dj

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

These headphones are the headphones I mainly use for producing and mixing. Flat and accurate frequency response lets me hear everything I need to hear, the way it is supposed to be heard. I also tend to use these for casual and critical listening on the go. Good isolation and little sound leak allows me to know only I'm hearing the music, and not bothering anyone around me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low-cost precision.

By HouseFox from Biloxi, MS, USA on 12/29/2012


Cons:

Uncomfortable W/ Glasses, Non-removable Cable, Not Portable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Studio, Office, Casual Listening, Flat, Precise

Let me first begin by saying that I use the product through my Xenyx 502 mixer's phono output with only the input from my PC's Aux out looped into the jack via the Aux to Phones button. That being said, these headphones sound very good for their price range. Looks: Black-on-black usual studio-esque looks; this is not a complaint, because I rarely if ever take these into public. This is mainly because of the high driving requirements of these headphones (65 ohm, man!). Portability: None whatsoever, due mostly to the 11.5 foot non-removable cable. Sound: True to the product description, these headphones are flat and unforgiving to the mix; I would not recommend these to any bass-head. That being said I'll also mention that they are very precise for closed-back headphones, and bordering on analytical. They don't leak noise at regular listening volumes, either. Comfort: These would be fine in this department if I didn't wear glasses. They do press down on the back of the frame and the backside of my ear a little much, which makes listening to them for too many hours at a time a little uncomfortable. Other than that they are very well padded. Manual adjustment of the frame may be required if you have a larger head. Durability: These are some of the most durable headphones I've ever used, having used Beats, Sonys, Sennheisers, Bheringers, Philips, etc. The end connector is VERY tough, with a solid metal casing that could probably survive artillery shelling. On that note it would require tin shears to slice the cable. All in all, this is a very good product if you're looking for an affordable solution for a home studio or any home listening experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

POOF!

By fbarr from Akron, Ohio on 12/16/2012


Cons:

Dependability

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Videography

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Video

I have never had a pair of headphones to go completely out. I have had shortages in wires but never completely out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for transcription

By mperry48 from New Bedford, MA on 12/03/2012


Pros:

Durable, Office

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Other

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

I bought these headphones after reading all the good reviews about the "true to life" sound quality they deliver. I am a medical transcriber and have to accurately hear what the doctors say in order to produce error-free transcripts. After using my ATH-M30 headphones for a week, my editor let me know how my transcripts had improved, with fewer errors and no "mis-hears". The audio quality is excellent, with none of the static and background hum that my noise-cancelling headphones produced. I wish I had bought them years ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome First "Professional" Headphones

By Rid4Smart from Toronto, ON, Canada on 08/25/2012


Cons:

Not Comfortable After Prolonged Use

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening, Studio, Film/video Production

The M30's deliver a relatively flat response, so your music would sound close to what musicians intended their recordings to sound like. Also, it responds exceptionally well when equalizer settings have been applied to it. For audio quality, it is definitely top notch for this price range. This is my first headphones that are aimed at accurate sound reproduction for studio work, and it really does blow away any of the headsets/headphones that are marketed towards gaming. Even some might even being more expensive than the M30, those gaming products are toys compared to this. On the negative side, the clamping force is a bit tight so it causes discomfort after an hour of use. You may loosen it by bending the head band backwards with care, so that when it springs back the clamping force is less, but the force may be required for good isolation and hence good bass.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!

By Matt from Texas, USA on 12/12/2011


Cons:

Non

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Musician, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Studio, Dj, Casual Listening, Film/video Production

I got these headphones like 6 years ago, and i have been using them for electronic drums, even after all these years they still sound amazing. When i want to listen to music causally with great sound quality i use these, or when i make movies or music on my computer i use these. Highly recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good sound!

By marcwhitmore18 from Cleveland, OH, USA on 10/27/2011


Cons:

None!

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Film/video Production, Gaming, Tracking, Studio, Mastering, Mixing, Dj

I am very impressed with the flat sound of these headphones. They are perfect for recording and mixing. I was required to get them for my school, (I'm a recording major,) and they are amazing for how cheap they are. The long cable is very convenient in recording situations. They are very comfortable too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great headphones!

By daystar90 from Undisclosed on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Travel, Casual Listening, Film/video Production, Office

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I bought these headphones a year and a half ago, and they're still working great! I've been very pleased with the quality and with how comfortable they are. I've brought the headphones on many trips, and I use them almost every day on my computer, and they're still working great! I would recommend these to anyone who needed a good pair of headphones at a good price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great phones

By gman221 from Columbus Georgia on 09/06/2011


Pros:

Studio, Long Cord Tension Spring At Plug And A Handy Spo

Cons:

Leather On Ear Pads Gets Worn After Extensive Use.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I've had these a couple of years and they are still going strong. I'm in the process of finding some replacement ear pad covers. These are getting a little worn, but i use them daily so it's probably inevitable. As for the sound these are very good, especially for vocals, (which is the main thing I use them for when doing first mixes ).Know that they are vocal friendly. I don't use them for mixdown, but for everything else they're great. Got mine in a bundle with the AT 20/20 microphone which is a very nice mic. Look for the bundle @ $99.00, a steal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved