Home » ATHM50 » 87 Reviews

Audio Technica Ath-m50 Professional Studio Monitoring Headphones Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 87 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Comfortable (10), Durable (4), Good Sound (3), Sound Quality (3), Build Quality (3), Film/video Production (27), Office (23), Other (6), Dj (27), Casual Listening (73), Studio (60), Gaming (27), Sports/exercise (5)

Best Uses:

Travel (26)

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year (29), Less Than A Month (23), Up To A Year (26)

Cons:

None (3)

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Musician (5), Intermediate (41), Expert (14), Novice (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great for studio use and monitoring and some music use etc

By Matuka from Rovaniemi, Finland on 08/15/2015


Cons:

Not Much Bass, Not Best For Entertainmen

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Compact, Balanced Audio, Easy To Use, Clear Sound

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These are great headphones for HiFi and studio, monitoring, mixing, etc music work. Studio use. But these aren't so great for just entertainment and casual normal use, usually. It really depends what you like. These show even the faults in some songs/video audio, because they are accurate, balanced, great for finishing audio and playing it/noticing issues if there are any. But these dont have much bass, I've noticed, not a lot of punchy boomy bass, that's why they are NOT my fave for music use and my electronic music entertainment listening. SO, Keep that in mind. If you just want great HiFi premium audio quality headphones for music, then maybe these are not for you. These are more for DJ's and Studio work :) but also work decent for some casual use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value, but bit poor durability

By ThisBrandDeservesBetter from Milwaukee, WI, USA on 04/03/2015


Pros:

Detailed Sound, Nice Design, Not Pricey, Perfect Just Perfect Value, Mobility

Cons:

Jack Seems Durable But Easily Bendable, Cable Can't Fit Everyday Phones Especially Cases, Weak Holding For Each Speakers

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I love this headphones, one of my best purchases of my life. before I found this brand I tried so many different brands, but they were too pricy, but never met my satisfaction. all too exaggerated. this pair has excellently balanced sound, great quality design, although I think it is less durable, for everyday careful people unlike me, would find this very solid durable product. price is just unbelievably inexpensive, such a well made product. best headphone brand out there. though i had trouble receiving feedbacks and technical support,(could not get mine fixed) mine are still usable and great. Really nice for a long run. really makes you appreciate the sound that has been computerised and unnatural like everyday pop songs and composing, pretty much everything, these brings out all the details even from low quality music that's been put on your devices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These headphones are second to none.

By Justgitrdone from Sebring, FL, USA on 03/27/2015


Pros:

Sound Amazing, Comfortable

Cons:

None

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I love these headphones. The sound coming through these headphones are amazing. They are comfortable, so much so that one can listen to music for long periods. I like the way the ear pieces swivel and easily adjust to ones head. I have the long straight cord version, so I can listen from any location in the living room. These are some serious headphones, very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does what it is supposed to do.

By Stickman from Tulsa, OK, USA on 03/24/2015


How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I use the ATH M50 in my home studio for tracking & some mixing when I need to check things closer than my studio monitors allow. The response of these headphones is pretty neutral which translates well for my mixes. Solid build & comfortable for long periods of use. Great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love These!!!

By jarrodg1993 from Florida on 03/23/2015


Pros:

Great Clarity Good Balance Natural Tone

Cons:

Non-detachable Cable

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I have had these for over a year now and they sound Amazing! I use them for everyday listening and monitors while playing bass on stage. They work great for both. I also did the removable cable mod and I use these all the time. They are so comfortable and I forget they are even on my head. I would recommend these to anyone. Definitely the best in their price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These headphones are spectacular

By Morgan117 from Yukon, OK, USA on 03/22/2015


Pros:

Reliable, Comfort Level, Ease Of Use, Sound Quality

Cons:

Build Quality Could Pose An Issue

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I've had lots of experiences with "studio quality" headphones before, but I have to say that these are probably the absolute best example, and it's now my daily driver as an audio device. The sound quality is spectacular, and I can definitely wear them for hours without getting too much discomfort, though after about six hours of straight wearing, it's hard to ask for it to be perfectly comfortable. The build quality worries me only a slight bit, but that's only because I'm really hard on my stuff, and worried I might one day break it. It seems the product itself lacks a secure structural integrity, but if you're careful with them, it shouldn't be much of an issue. Overall, I'd highly recommend these to anyone looking for a superior sound solution, as these are the best example I can think of, and I've been using them for a little more than a year now. No issues whatsoever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Phenomenal headphones

By hoouussee from Austin, TX, USA on 03/18/2015


Pros:

Sound, Durability, Comfort, Price

Cons:

Portability

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

The ATH-M50's are honestly the best headphones I have ever owned. They are probably one of the best headphones you can find at this price. They have great sound quality which has allowed me hear parts of songs that went unnoticed on other headphones/ speakers. They are extremely durable and the leather has stayed intact after much wear. It is clear Audio-Technica made sure these would last a long time since the materials are strong and flexible. The little features such as the spring at the bottom of the cord to keep it from breaking show that they will surpass common headphone problems. However, it should be noted that these are studio headphones so they accommodate studio-life more than everyday life. The cord is long and it makes them less portable. They are also bigger than most everyday headphones so they are hard to store in a bag. Besides that I have had nothing but good things to say about these amazing headphones. They have made me an Audio-Technica fan for life!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These headphones are hands down, the best for its price poin

By Tyrochus from DeLand, FL, USA on 03/17/2015


Pros:

Everything!

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I have a pair of these in conjunction with my Soundblaster Z, sound card by Creative. These headphones sound absolutely amazing, at all levels, the sealed drivers on this pair makes sure that there is no bass being over done or too little. I absolutely love these! I've had them for a little over one year now, and they're still performing like day one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good sound for the price, easy to drive

By jwolfe22 from Carmichaels, PA on 03/15/2015


Pros:

Good Sound, Folding Portable

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

I think the sound quality on these is good. They're a little bass heavy but that it how I like them. I use them for producing electronic music and listening at home and on the go and they're very good in almost every situation I've used them in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all-around headphones

By keystone23 from Pittsburgh, PA, USA on 03/15/2015


Pros:

Comfortable, Balanced Sound

Cons:

No Replaceable Cable

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I own several pairs of pro-quality headphones, and I have found these to be the most flexible, and best all-around. They are accurate without being clinical, or harsh. They are full without being muddy. Equally equipped for studio use or long listening sessions, there's nothing these cans can't handle. The around-the-ear, closed-back design is comfortable for as long as you want to listen, and blocks enough external noise for use in public. The closed-back also prevents your audio from annoying the person beside you on the bus or plane. I will say that I have headphones with a more open top end, and others with punchier bass, but these have a very solid signature that suits any style of music I've thrown at them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4 Years and never looked back

By Richocaster from United States on 03/14/2015


How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Four years ago I purchased my ATH-M50 in replacement of my Grado headphones that lasted me only about a year and conked out on me. I was like looking on something that looks sturdier and at a very reasonable price. The ATH-M50 seems to be very popular on site reviews so a gave it a shot. I would consider myself an audiophile, since i'm also into listening quality recording. When I listen, I want to hear every minute detail I could hear on record, yes the highs and the lows, those little nuances produced by the musician's instruments. I listen to them and loop into the different parts of the songs specially when I'm trying to learn it because I am a musician myself. I play by ear and that's how i learn from too. thus the desire for the ultimate headphone, four years ago and I never looked back, the ATH M50 provided me what I needed and it never failed. In fact, the ear cups are wearing out but they still work, even better after the phones are now broken into the music, the sound and the different volumes that I listen to. My only regret is that I should have bought a second pair at the same time, as the price really got higher than I paid for originally, four years ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just a great headphone

By cansguy25 from Undisclosed on 03/13/2015


Pros:

Sound Quality, Easy To Power, Build Quality

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I've had my audiosource technica headphones for a long time now the sound is amazing and the building quality is excellent for the price these are a great set of headphones. They will never fail


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Ray4 from Undisclosed on 03/12/2015


How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I am not an audiophile, but I love music. These were my first over ear headphones and am very satisfied with the sound quality especially with the clarity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent headphones

By LawST from New York, NY, USA on 03/12/2015


Pros:

Full Sound, Full Bass

Cons:

Cord May Be Cumbersome For Some Users

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I got this pair as a birthday present 2 years ago and I love them ever since. The over the ears cup ensures that sound quality is not compromised. The sound quality certainly beats all the in ear or on ear earphones and headphones I have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best headphones ever!!

By Kublaiak from Houston, TX, USA on 03/11/2015


Pros:

Affordable

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

These headphones translate exceptionally well. Best bang for your buck, hands down. Will always love these. If you want to train your ear to hear subtleties in the frequency spectrum look no further. Get these headphones!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best headphones for the price

By Amanda16 from Austin, TX, USA on 03/08/2015


Pros:

Durable, Clear Sound, Excellent Quality For Price, Comfortable

Cons:

Cable Can Be Too Long To Carry Around, Low Volume Level

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I've had these headphones for over a year and they are even better than the first day I got them. After you break them in they become more comfortable and fit to your head very well. For the price these are the best headphones you can buy. The audio quality is very clear in the M50s and you will be able to hear sounds in songs you have never heard before. The only downside to these headphones is the volume level doesn't seem to reach as high of levels as other headphones. But when you take into account everything else it is not that big of a deal. I would definitely buy these again. They have made me an Audio-Technica fan and as a result I am looking to buy a turntable from them because their products are so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best headphones in the market!

By Bluesteel77 from Bradenton, FL, USA on 03/06/2015


Pros:

Sounds Amazing, Amazing Style

Cons:

No Cons At All!

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

The headphones are awesome and stylish to fit your style in design I give it a 8.5 and in sound quality I give it a 9.5 truly amazing great buy you would enjoy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sitting at the computer all day never sounded so good

By RD17 from Undisclosed on 09/11/2014


Pros:

Comfort, Build Quality, Sound, Value

Cons:

Not Compact, Price

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Kicking off my job required two things, a nice desk chair and a nice set of headphones. I knew I'd be sitting and working on my computer all day, so I decided to invest. The reality is that while these headphones might cost more than the pair I typically find misplaced on the floor of the gym, I will never regret purchasing them. I am all about build quality and these things have it. I am not easy on them. They travel with me in my bag and barely look like it 1 year in. Two thumbs up for the M50s. I am sure I will buy their newer version when the time comes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Headphone Ever, Just use a good amp!

By Zenon from Winnipeg, MB, Canada on 09/10/2014


Pros:

Really Come Alive With A Good Amp, Best Headphones I Have Ever Used

Cons:

Doesn't Sound Great On Cellphones And Tablets

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

These are absolutely incredible, beating out my Sony MDR-v6 (which are amazing too). My first listen was on my Ipad and I was NOT impressed, the bass was lacking and the audio was quiet. Plugging it into my Sony STR-DH720 receiver they really came alive, with just the right levels of highs, mids, and bass! My friends who have the $500 Beats Pros were incredibly impressed, with all music and video (minus dubstep) sounded MUCH BETTER on the M50s (keep in mind I havn't even broken them in yet).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great audiophile sound

By Stargazer from Undisclosed on 07/24/2014

Great audiophile sound. Circular on-ear cushions put pressure on ear lobes - which can become uncomfortable during prolonged use. Would have preferred over-ear design to fully enclose ear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Performance; Extremely Well-Made

By Chappy52 from Texarkana, AR, USA on 07/20/2014


Pros:

Coiled Cord Is Better, Superb Accurate Sound, Very Comfortable, Very Well-made (tough!)

Cons:

A Cord But It's Fine

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Simply the BEST money I've EVER spent on audio gear was to buy my ATH-M50 headphones 3 years ago. As a classical fan, I love sonic accuracy; these phones deliver a super-wide frequency range and a thrilling transparency. They are the next-best thing to being in a concert hall. They're SO sturdy & well-made! My head is BIG size 8.5; but on full extension, the phones fit me perfectly, so comfy I often fall asleep wearing them, and they've been tossed into my backpack 500 times. But they still look almost like new. Thank you, A-T, for designing an awesome product. Forget the competition; headphone bliss is right here!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliant!

By IanInVan from West Vancouver, BC, Canada on 07/11/2014


Pros:

Very Comfortable (for My Head At Least), Brilliantly Accurate Source Reproduction, High Quality Jack/strain Relief;

Cons:

No Hard Case;, A Lot Of Moving Swivelling Bits And Pieces;, Unfortunate Choice Of Mile-long Cables

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

If you are buying muffs for sound reproduction, these are brilliant. Absolutely brilliant! There is nothing that comes close at twice the price IMHO. However, staying true to the sound is only part of consumer demand ... a 9 foot straight cable is ridiculous ... include a detachable cable with varying length options and mobile phone/MP3 controls. Sorry, not hating ... just saying. The source reproduction is beyond comparison. If sound quality rules for you, cable BS is very minor. If you want to hear your music ... no, if you want to hear the musician's music, exactly as it was intended, there is no other option (short of a second mortgage).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice product - Questionable packaging

By Groovin from Burlington, ON, Canada on 03/28/2014


Cons:

Packaging Quality

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening, Office

Purchased two pair of the MTH-M50 straight cable. Arrived today.Excellent sound and comfort. Unfortunately, upon removal from packaging the cable was a kinked twisted mess. Come on gang, one shouldn't have to spend hours straightening the cable on a new set of quality headphones. Review of cable coiling technique for packaging is warranted. Unfortunately, the condition of the cable has tarnished the enjoyment of this purchase and otherwise fine product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An incredible experience

By TheUltimateListener from Elkhart, IN, USA on 12/23/2013


Pros:

Travel, Studio, Gaming, Dj, Casual Listening, Film/video Production, Office

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Man, wearing these headphones is just complete bliss. The sound, the comfort, the price, and the looks all come together to make an amazing headphone. I can't say enough good things about these headphones, if you are even slightly considering them, BUY THEM! I promise you won't regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dr who?!

By TnTzDad from San Diego, CA on 12/22/2013


Cons:

Too Many Moving Parts

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Studio, Dj, Film/video Production, Casual Listening, Office

After reading review after review, and a number of YouTube selfie reviews, I decided to go with a fantastic Groupon purchase of the ATH-M50S's. Granted, I wasn't overly fond of a 9' cord, but the value was a no-brainer. We're talking almost a $200 savings simply from not having a certain name or endorsement attached to it. Needless to say, when I received them I was quite impressed. They reminded me of my younger days, sitting in front of my parent's 8-track / LP player with those monster headphones on, the kind you could wear for hours because the padding was so luxurious. While they are sturdy and beefy, certainly not something you take on the move or to the gym, I'm leary of too many moving parts. Simply put, the build is plastic with a lot of swiveling going on. I'm not sure what the real need for noise-cancellation is when you are wearing studio headphones, which are for a studio. A recording studio has it's own enclosed mixing room. Why waste hundreds of bucks on a feature that is most likely not necessary. I work construction, but not in my lifetime would I ever bring this to a jobsite. Another reason the NC feature is a waste, these headphones are more than capable of drowning out everything around you, and with perfectly balanced highs, mids and lows. Granted, most portable devices have an output cap, ensuring you don't go deaf within a week. But a good audio device, such as my phone with Beats Audio bumps up the rhythms to a point you block everything out. Go a step further and apply the 1/4" gold-plated adapter for your amplifier and enjoy head-rattling audio like you've never experienced before! One dose of Transformers 2 and, along with the ear-to-ear grin, these headphones rattled my ears so much that it made me wince. What's more, they never crackled or cut out. My roomy has a pair of $300 Dr's. Due to posting requirements, I can't name them. But they are they hype of today's headphone market. Plainly put, they cannot compete with ATH-M50's. While mine are not cordless, nor do they have noise-cancellation, they are by far the best buy for your buck! You cannot go wrong!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best headphones I've tried.

By Dude1 from Quebec, Canada on 12/15/2013


Cons:

Slight Crackling In Some Songs At Times Dubstep

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Studio, Office, Film/video Production, Travel, Gaming, Dj

This is just amazing to have. The audio quality is so good, you'll probably try to destroy your other headphones/earphones. The looks aren't bad. My only complaint is the crackling. This happens generally in dubstep. This doesn't count in the "Audio Quality" rating because I'm not sure wether it's my Ipod, or the headphones 'cuz the sound is so clear! I don't care if I got a falty pair. These, especially at the price, is a steal, especially compared to the Beats Pro's. I would recommend these headphones for anyone. Audio-Technica, your product has made a customer extremely happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Shines at [almost] all levels.

By Tomahawke from Ontario, Canada on 12/15/2013


Cons:

Not Very Portable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Travel, Gaming, Dj

I'm not in any way an expert in the ways of head-gear, just a teen interested in good sound quality. I'd been using earbuds for months when I thought I'd try using headphones for a change. Come Christmas, I asked for the Audio-Technica M50's, as I read many a review online proclaiming them as the best headphones under 200$. Unfortunately, I can't compare these to other quality headphones. However, I can say with confidence that these were a stellar buy as the sound quality is very, very clear, clean, and precise. Bass is rumbly, mids and highs are distinguishable, and there's really nothing else I'd need in a headphone! The reason I marked 'Ease of Use' as 4 in stead of 5 stars is because of the long coiled cable. Of course, the implication of the coiled section is to allow you to move around in a studio whilst producing, however, I use the cans for portable use and bunching the cable up in my pocket is not ideal. For those looking to use these as portable cans, I'd recommend the straight cable variant. Other than this teeny nitpick, I love these headphones, and would definitely spend 200$ to replace them if they broke!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Headphones

By dragonmaster839 from Colorado on 09/17/2013


Pros:

Film/video Production, Dj, Gaming, Casual Listening, Office, Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Bought the ATH-M50 headphones about six months ago. I love everything about them. Clear, precise and loud. Loud enough for me at 10% volume. I can set them on my desk and turn up the volume and they are as loud as my laptop. Excellent bass. I listen to all music genres--rock, reggae, electronic, bluegrass, rap, talk--everything sounds excellent. I wear them for 2-10 hours a day and they are comfortable the entire time. Sometimes my playlist will end but I leave them on, just because they do a good job of cancelling sound. Can't beat them for the price. I like the coiled cord. It's long, but stays out of the way if you are at a desk. I would recommend to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Definitely a recommended buy for all users, new or veteran t

By Vonza from Canada on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Dj, Office, Gaming, Studio, Casual Listening, Travel

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

For months I scoured the internet for the perfect pair of headphones. Finding a pair of decent, yet financially feasible headphones. I came across many positive reviews for this headset, and when the White Version was released, I could not resist. I purchased myself a pair and was definitely not disappointed. These beauties deliver a wide range of sound ranging from deep powerful bass to crisp, clear and punctuated tones. Everything was balanced and there was no emphasis on any range of sound. Despite having a full sound, the closed back headphones barely leaked any sound, which helped reduce the disturbance of others around you in a quiet environment and is great for use on the go. The comfort level was phenomenal; I could wear these for hours on end. Again, for those looking for a decently priced headset with a good price/quality tradeoff, your search ends here. Thank you, Audio Technica. I will forever be a fan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After months of research on finding the right headphones...t

By JANECLIPSE from Ontario, Canada on 08/23/2013


Cons:

When Brand New Constant Creaking Of Frame+hinges, Not The Greatest For Wearing Out In Public

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Superb Sound Quality, Studio, Elegant Design, Travel, Film/video Production, Very Comfortable, Gaming, Other, Office, Casual Listening

I've been using these for about half a year now and let me tell you that because of these, I can never casually listen to music again wearing earbuds. The difference in sound quality is uncanny compared to anything else that I've tried. For example, I've tried the Bose AE2 headphones for a few weeks more for comfort, however I had always felt that sound quality was just lacking in crispness and clearness, and the sound was not FULL, rather dissonant. I mention this because these headphones surpass the sound quality on every level of those. Full sound, non-booming bass, and the perfect balance of frequencies. They are ridiculously comfortable and the around-ear feeling blocks a lot of outside noise out when listening to music, so you could say that they imitate noise-cancelling headphones. The white colour is gorgeous and does not cause the phones to get as dirty as you think they would. The cord is also very strong and durable. I would not like to say that these are meant for wearing outside, for example, walking, running, as they are big and heavy duty, but if you're one of those people who walks around all day with big headphones on, then go for it. These look awesome. The ONLY PROBLEM with these was when I first got them. There is a great deal of squeaking from the hinges when you turn your head even slightly, eat, or walk around with them (every step you take causes a squeak or noise), however, after AVID USE of them, it went away, or at least I think it did, because I do not notice it anymore. So if you happen to get annoyed by your headphones making noise, I would advise that you get a different model of Audio Technica headphones, because it will drive you insane with frustration. But the sound is what really counts, and the comfort, and I must say that these are more than excellent for listening to my classical, rock, and jazz music. I am very impressed with the quality that Audio Technica puts into their products, and after extensive use of these phones, I must say that I am very satisfied with the purchase. One thing that I'd fix is the creaking in the headphones, I'm not sure how. Perhaps it was only the model that I have, because I first tried these in the black version and I never heard any creaking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Company, Great Headphones

By AudioTechnician9 from High Point, NC, USA on 07/05/2013


Cons:

Ear Cup Swivels Can Be Confusing, Plastic Outer Housing, No Detachable Cable (can Be Fixed By Modding)

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Fairly Comfortable Even After Long Periods Of Use, Precise And Resounding Mids And Vocals, Made By One Of The World's Most Famous Audio Techs, Studio, Casual Listening, Firm And Tight Bass, Accurate And Crisp Treble

Audio-Technica is renown for their excellent audio equipment, and these headphones are a perfect representative of this outstanding company. The ATH-M50 Professional Monitor headphones are absolutely impressive in sound and durability. The trebles resound with exceptional accuracy and crispness. Vocals stand out brilliantly and the music feels alive. The middle ranges are a little less emphasized, but they are very precise and clear. To me, bass and distortion from the bass that are included as one of the ingredients of many headphones are hindering the good experience of music as the composer had intended, but this pair's lower is truly astonishing. The lower mids and the upper bass has a powerful impact that is detailed exactly like the treble and the mids; the bass gives me chills on mostly every song I listen to. I believe these headphones are perfect in almost every category, excluding their appearance. However, looks are always a preference and these headphones were designed for studio and stationary use, not portable use. In conclusion, if you are searching for a faithful and authentic sound, you do not have to look any further as you have already found what you were searching for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

superb sound and comfort

By Graham from Ontario, Canada on 06/10/2013


Cons:

They Can Get A Little Hot On The Ears After About

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Really Rich And Balanced Sound, Casual Listening, Travel

I normally don't write reviews but these cans are simply amazing. I have had them for just a couple of weeks and have put around 40 hours on them and the sq just gets better and better. For an all round headphone there is nothing out there in this price range that can compare. I find myself listening to my music over and over cause I here so much more detail than I ever did with my v-moda m80. Way to go A/T keep up the excellent work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST OF THE BEST HEADPHONES

By Eber from Toronto, ON, Canada on 06/09/2013


Pros:

Travel, Dj, Gaming, Studio, Office, Film/video Production, Casual Listening

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

There are my first headphones that I've used. The sound quality is just outstanding..... No words to explain the awesomeness of these headphones


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best thing ever

By KingOfOreos from Redmond on 05/21/2013


Pros:

Gaming, Studio, Film/video Production, Casual Listening, Dj

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

These are easily better then any beats you could buy and at least 100 dollars less! When I am watching videos I feel as if they are right there in front of me. REAL DEAL SURROND SOUND!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These headphones are the ones to get.

By Vectorstorm from Wausau, W on 05/09/2013


Cons:

Cable Detachment Cable Bending Memory

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Dj

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Sound Padding Style

The unboxing scared me, being that the 1/4 in came so flush with the normal jack. DON'T BE SCARED JUST UNSCREW THE ADAPTER. After that it was like Christmas, almost drooling at the sound quality. Everyone who has tried them has only one problem with them, they didn't buy them yet! while owning them for a month there has surfaced, the coiled cable can be a bit in the way, a bit of cable memory and no detachable cable at the can. I do like the padding contrary to others. The biggest problem I have had with these is that my computer sound card and audio file type isn't good enough for them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sounding headphones for value

By thedoc from Undisclosed on 03/21/2013


Cons:

Cable Not Detachable, Cannot Daisy Chain

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Studio, Film/video Production, Dj, Casual Listening

This are really good for the price and hope that remains the same haha! The only improvement I would suggest and crucial one would be detachable cable as I had problems with that I really hope AT engineers/designers would take note of that and include it in their futures models. IT would make it the best if it had 2 jacks enabling daisy chaning! overall great multipurpose headphones from DJing to mixing to leasure!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

they are very durable and sound amaing

By dukecityallstar from Undisclosed on 03/09/2013


Cons:

Non Removable Cable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Dj, Travel, Office, Casual Listening, Gaming, Studio, Film/video Production

THEY ARE AMAZING the sound quality is amazing take this from someone that studies acoutics the bass is deep and on point punchy when needed to be and smoth when the track depends it they sound amaing on all types of music and even better on my jds labs mcoy head phone amplifer it cleans up the audio quality the mids are nice and rounded and the high are very crisp and clean and can be heard with tracks that have a lot of bass like gucci mayne birds and they are the best head phones for under 1500 dollars hand down and they absoluty stomp on dr dre beats they are way more cofortable they look great but most of all the sound repoduction is the best i have ever heard from head phones and they still keep amazing me with spl and clarity


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional sound clarity, but heavy on the head

By madaload from Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland on 02/26/2013


Cons:

Ineffective Padding On The Arch Gives Me Headache

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Casual Listening, Exceptional Clarity Of Sound, Office

I bought the ATH M50S headphones from an online retailer in the UK. They sound much better than any headphones I've ever tried. They are so well balanced you can always use your equalizer to make them sound like any other headphones, even the hyped-up hip-hop overpriced ones. That's because the ATH M50 reproduce such a wide spectrum equally well. Mimicking other headphones is just a question of boosting or muting certain frequencies plus you'll end up with more "kick" to the drums and strings. For me though, there is a serious downside. I don't know if this is by design or if it's an overlooked assembly flaw, but the soft padding on the arch sitting on top of your head is on the OUTSIDE of the arch. The arch design is such, that when stretched, the part that touches your head loses its round shape and concentrates the weight into a small flat area. Every competitor's headphones have the padding on the inside and the better ones remain round even when stretched, displacing the weight to a larger area. The ATH M50's inside padding on the other hand is too thin to cushion the weight of these headphones effectively. I don't think my head is over-sensitive, as I had worn all sorts of helmets and gear strapped to my head without problems, but these headphones give me extreme discomfort resulting in a strong headache after only 5 minutes of use. I have to keep moving the arch back and forth on my head and I usually give up after an hour or less. I am now trying to sell them, which is a shame, because I really love how they sound. I wish I had big fluffy hair. Or while I am wishing, I wish the padding was on the inside of the arch so I could keep these headphones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good indeed

By TavshedFjols from Seattle, WA, USA on 02/26/2013


Cons:

The Coiled Wire On Mine Got Slightly Un Coiled, Leaks A Bit Of Noise At Very High Volumes

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Film/video Production, Gaming, Casual Listening

Reliability: if you treat them correctly they will last forever, as Japanese reliability is the best sort Audio quality: best I've had from any of my headphones. Durability: I am very hard on headphones, my last pair of headphones (sennhieser) lasted about 2 months before I distroyed them by accident, these have lasted for over 5 months! Ease of use: they are incredibly easy to use, you plug them in and turn on your music playing device of choice. The only bad part is they do leak a fair bit at higher volumes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Clarity

By SyrinX from Fremont, MI, USA on 02/07/2013


Cons:

The Coiled Wire Can Get In Way

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Musician

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Dj, Casual Listening, Studio

I got these headphone for music production. As EDM producer it is important to be able every sound and instrument. The ATH-M50's do just that, I can hear everything and produce ever synth so that is crisp and clear. They aren't super pricey either. They are amazing over all and I think you should consider trying them you won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By BullReborn from Oklahoma City, OK, USA on 01/05/2013


Cons:

Wish It Did Have A Detachable Cable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Office, Casual Listening, Studio

I bought these after extensive research on competing headphones. I am a producer and I wanted something that was comfortable and had a great sound. I tried the Beats by Dr. Dre and they were too bass heavy, I also tried the Sennheiser HD 25-SP II and they weren't that comfortable after wearing them for several hours. Ultimately I think the M50's are the best out of these and you can't beat the price. They provide a great sound for all types of music and give just the right amount of bass. They are also very versatile and easy to stow and go. I would definitely recommend these to my friends and colleagues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstand value for money

By Dazzle from Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland on 12/28/2012


Pros:

Dj, Casual Listening, Office, Studio, Gaming, Film/video Production

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

These headphones are absolutely excellent for the price. They are superior in every way to headphones that are twice the price. The audio quality is absolutely superb. The bass is very powerful, yet elegant and precise, so it does not drown out the mids and treble. The headband and earpads are very soft and comfortable. I would definitely recommend these headphones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very, very nice headphones

By Johnm92807 from Texas on 12/08/2012


Cons:

Could Improve The Cable Bend Protection

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Studio, Travel, Casual Listening

Did a lot of research before settling on these ATH-M50s. Purchased one and liked it so much I purchased a second. I highly recommend. Good weight, very comfortable to wear, and stays cool for as long as you wear them. Sound quality meets expectations for this price point. Absolutely love the fact you can get this quality in a collapsible design! Only reason I dinged the durability a bit is because on both pair the spring designed to protect the cable at the plug end came apart so I must be careful with the cable as the planned protection is gone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best headphones I have ever used.

By ChrisW from Minnesota, USA on 12/01/2012


Cons:

Kind Of Uncomfortable After 5+ Hours

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Gaming, Office

Wow. I have never had this great a pair of headphones. I'm really hard on my headphones, and these have no sign of use. They still sound amazing, and are the BEST headphones I have ever had. I'm pretty sure these will be the last pair of headphones I buy. (Unless I decide to buy them in white as well. :p)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy if you love music

By sanctivibe from Calgary, AB, Canada on 11/18/2012


Cons:

They Are Warm On The Ears

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Dj

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Studio, Travel, Casual Listening, Dj

I was looking for a set of high fidelity headphones and originally looked at Beats by Dre, because he is one my favorite producers. I tried them out, they felt nice and looked nice and the quality of sound was there but the price was really high. I looked around for others in that price point and clearly there were other professional series that easily handled Beats. So I looked online for comparatives and many people mentioned these ones including CNET. I completely agree with their review, they offer BETTER sound, excellent depth on the lows and mids, and they are pretty good on the highs. For less than half the price of Beats, the exact same size and bulk the ATH-M50 have no problem beating the Studio editions of Beats by Dre. I listen to alot of hip hop, electronica and heavy low end sound music and they sound amazing. Save yourself the money, and enjoy your music and productions more with the ATH-M50. Clarity is amazing levels are excellent, and the oversize design cancel out a lot of noise without that hallow sound. They are very sturdy, have better weight and more metal than beats by Dre. These do not have a control talk for cell phones, but for me I don't buy headphones for cell phones I buy them for music and music players. Don't bother with Beats, buy these instead and you will enjoy your music and be immersed in it, and you can thank me and Audio Technica later.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Them.

By MattJC from Montana, USA on 11/11/2012


Pros:

Casual Listening, Dj, Studio, Film/video Production, Travel

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Great headphones all around. Super durable. I can put them in my bag and not worry that they will be in two pieces when they come out. Clear and balanced sound, very comfortable. Would recommend them to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ATH-M50 White Professional Review

By audionerd01 from Texas, USA on 10/27/2012


Cons:

Cable Is Not Removable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Travel, Gaming, On-a-budget Audiophile, Office, Dj, Inexpensive/cheap, Casual Listening, Studio, Sports/exercise, Film/video Production

This product ATH-M50 White has really impressed me in many ways. It is very comfortable, meaning you can monitor or listen for hours. Great for Studios/Monitoring. It has great bass, I'll explain the Lows, Mids and Highs below: Highs: Very crisp/natural Mids: Perfectly balanced Lows: Great bass, not too much not too low. Bass is only there is bass is present in the track you're listening to. Below is the genre these headphones are recommended for: Dubstep Rap (Most tracks) Any genre of rock Jazz Blues R&B Pop My personal opinion: These are the best on-a-budget headphones you can get for the amazing low price. Wayyyyyy better than the Beats by Dr. Dre Pro or any other celebrity headphone. They're stylish, a great alternative to the Beats by Dr. Dre if you were considering the Beats by Dr. Dre for looks. They're very comfortable, after using them for 10 minutes, you forget you even put them on. I definitely would recommend this product to anyone. The cable is very durable but the only Con would be it's NOT removable, but they make up for this with a very durable thick cable. GET THE COILED CABLE IT'S MUCH MORE PORTABLE THAN THE STRAIGHT CABLE! They easily fold up and can be put into the carrying pouch that comes with it. One last thing is the ear cups swivel 180 degrees What comes with the ATH-M50 White: 1. White carrying pouch 2. Screw-on 1/8" to 1/4" GOLD-PLATED Studio Plug/Adapter 3. ATH-M50 White headphones (Coiled Cable)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great! fairly cheap studio headphones!

By DrummernamedBo from Austin, TX, USA on 10/15/2012


Pros:

Recording, Film/video Production, Office, Other, Dj, Travel, Casual Listening, Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Musician, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I am in love with my pair. I have used them for recording, writing and creating midi music, as well as just normal listening to songs and watching videos. They are great and super reliable! I have gone through so many ear buds which the wire kept getting the circuit broken so i couldn't use them anymore, but these are very durable and i take them everywhere i go. I have nothing bad to say about these!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely the best for it's price

By LeoG from San Marcos, CA, USA on 10/14/2012


Cons:

Detachable Cable Would Be Nice

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Gaming, Casual Listening, Travel, Everything

I own a pair of these wonderful headphones, and I am extremely satisfied with what they offer... its absolutely right when it says the audio quality is exceptional. I used to think Beats by monster were good headphones, but after I made this purchase I noticed I was completely wrong! one thing I noticed is that the audio quality took a few days to be at its best. the only "problem" I experienced is they don't have a crazy amount of bass... don't get me wrong, they have good deep bass, but its just not exactly a "bass head" type headphone which is more of my type since I listen to mostly Eletronica, Dubstep, D&B, etc. for that I'm looking into the Pro700MK2


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING

By Straightupknives from ny on 09/21/2012


Pros:

Casual Listening

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

Headphones that beat others with twice the price :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Audio-technica ATH M50

By padbaskayk from Ireland on 09/17/2012


Pros:

Travel, Casual Listening

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Musician, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I never review anything I've often considered it but always when it came down to it, I just didn't bother. But man these headphones, they definitely deserve a review. I'm listening to them right now, all songs on shuffle, songs are coming which I would never normally listen to, but I'm hearing them now in a completely new way; Rihanna sounds soo shockingly good. And my old favourite songs also sound completely different. Honestly coming from sennheiser cx-300ii's I could never ever ever go back now. Value for money wise, you could not get any better anywhere, these are the phones you want. Btw when first switched on they were good but a little unclear and bass very muddy, but 10 hours break in now and they sound so smooth and beautiful. Thank you Audio-Technica.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, but not great.

By FiveFingerAudioSmash from Fort Wayne, IN, USA on 08/26/2012


Cons:

Everything But Bass And Mid-highs Are Muddled

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Cool-looking, Good Bass Response

These aren't bad, I'll just say that first. While they aren't overloaded with bass like any of the Beats, the response is a bit more flat, which should be what someone in a studio should use. For the record, even Dre uses Sennheisers in the studio when not on camera. I can guarantee that almost any Sennheiser you use will easily destroy any other brand in terms of flatness, while still having excellent bass response. Again, not bad for the value, but Sennheiser makes these cans better suited for holding soup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing sound quality

By Zaby from Undisclosed on 06/25/2012


Cons:

Need To Be In More Retailers!

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Gaming, Excellent Sound, Everything Is Just Perfect, Sports/exercise, Casual Listening, Film/video Production, Quality Look, Studio, Amazing Bass, Dj

It took me more then 2 weeks to find the right headphones and finally ath-m50 was finalized. Then I spend few days to find the retailer who sells these and I finally found one which was 50km away from my house. After buying it I tried it in my car and I was not satisfied with it because of sound quality. I went home and tried it again and after few mins the sound got better and better and I must say these headphones completed my music. I had beats before but they hurt my ears after using it for awhile. These headphone gave me a comfort and amazing sound quality. One day I 4got I had them on my head. Love this product!! I give you 9/10 because the con is It took me days to find it. :D Just to let you know the reason it didn't sound so good in the start was because my car was turned on and noise outside probably made me think it sound bad!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply the best headphones. No regrets.

By Next from Undisclosed on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Gaming, Office, Studio, Travel, Casual Listening

Cons:

Cable Seems Little Too Long Tho

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

I personally own Beats by dre solo, studio, pro, tour, and Monster's turbine cooper pro, SMS Sync by 50. Before I purchased M50, I was thinking it might be comparable to either solo or studio. However, I was wrong. It was comparable to pro; value, price vs quality, bass, mid, high, structure, etc, everything was much better than pro. It seems like pros have more bass, if you like boom boom pow bass pros could be better, but M50 got much more balanced sounds I believe. For under $200, m50 is simply the best headphones you can get in the universe. I promise and you won't regret.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

:) They sound good yo

By Jackdapantyrip from Oregon, USA on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Studio, Dj, Gaming, Listening To Women's Moans

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

These are the best headphones I've ever heard. I look forward to checking out some of audio-technica's other products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Value is unbeatable, not for all

By Koda from Texas on 05/23/2012


Cons:

Uncomfortable After Long Use (extended Sessions), Mids Are Lacking

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Very Good High & Bass Responses, Wonderful Isolation, Great For Production And Personal Use

The ATH-M50's have been publicized as an amazing headphone and they deliver. For the price, you can't do much better. They do, however, have several things that pick at me. First off, the mid response is lacking. I just can't sense them at all. The highs are nice and crisp, and the bass response is warm and tight. The overall audio response was a bit of a let down as the M50's have been marked up as the best audio quality in a while. I found that the ATH-WS55's had a better mid response, with the clarity of Audio-Technica, and a very warm bass response. Second, the comfort. The notorious head clamp of the Audio-Technica's made extended wear slightly unbearable. The earpads start to harden after about 100 hours of use and that affects them just a bit. Overall, they are an amazing headphone, and I think most other audiophiles would agree.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply Amazing

By aallawala from Sherman, TX on 05/06/2012


Pros:

Travel, Gaming, Office, Casual Listening

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I've had these headphones for over a year now and they continue to amaze me. There are always sounds in a song that I never notice until I use these headphones. While they aren't the strongest bass-producing headphones (go to the Beats line for that), these headphones focus on quality through all the bands of sound. Granted, upon first using them, I didn't like them. I didn't get that "wow" factor that reviews constantly mentioned. I believe the "wow" factor comes in after having the drivers broken in, i.e. they sound better the longer you have them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Headphones

By sportsnut198 from Minnesota, USA on 05/05/2012


Pros:

Travel, Casual Listening, Film/video Production

Cons:

Is There Any Cons? Nope

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

These headphones are really nice, I like the fact that nothing is overpowered like bass or treble, everything is so equal, if you are big on bass, these can reach that demand, if you're not, don't worry, it's not overpowering! Nice pure sound is really why I like them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The M50's are the best headphones for under $200

By Glenn0309 from Chicago, IL, USA on 04/18/2012


Cons:

Wire Tends To Be In The Way

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Crisp High's, Lifelike Sound, Film/video Production, Studio, Casual Listening, Dj

I was debating between a few headphones and the M50's ended up being the best value for the money. For $150 they push out an amazing amount of sound. Not only that, the frequency range on these are amazing for a pair of cans under $200. The bass is what I was worried about because of the type of music I listen to but I was content with the low frequencies produced by the M50's. The mids and highs are exactly where they should be. The highs are crisp and life-like. Pair these with a Fiio E11 headphone amp and you'll have enough bass output for all your needs. One thing I might add is regarding burn-in. I found a dramatic change in sound quality from when I first tried out my M50's. After about 40 hours of burn-in they sound just about right, the highs recess a little bit and the bass comes in a little more. But be careful with burn-in that you don't strain your diaphragms too quickly. Always use an average listening volume+ about 10% that's what I would do, I'd play pink noise because it goes through the whole frequency range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Me Likey

By dacoz from Undisclosed on 04/07/2012


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Listen to The Soft Bulletin by The Flaming Lips on these and you'll be a believer. A believer in this CD and more to the point of this review, the ATH-M50. Thank you Audio-Technica. Thank you for a wonderful set of headphones at a reasonable price. I love them because I know what to listen for, but the other day, my eyes lit up (I think they did, I couldn't see them) when I saw my daughter listening to her music through these headphones. She took them off and told me she absolutely loved the sound and the "new experience". Yeah, I have a cool kid. Oh yea; and a cool set of headphones. MMM Listening to them right now. Yep. I'm happy. By the way, I'm known to ramble... Cheers, Kev


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best <$200 pair of closed headphones

By michaelgc from Brisbane QLD, Australia on 04/01/2012


Cons:

Annoying When You're Eating Crunchy Food (noise)

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Comfortable, Gaming, Film/video Production, Dj, Studio, Office, Casual Listening

Have had these for nearly a week now and I have no regrets whatsoever. The sound quality is nice, the bass is good and they are comfortable. Highly recommended


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Spring broke during first week of use

By fnybny from Canada on 02/28/2012


Cons:

Build Quality

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

General Sound Quality

The sound is ideal; however, during the first week of use, the spring came dislodged and tore a hole in my finger. Unfortunately, the spring was bent beyond repar. It's really a shame tha t such a great product is tarnished by this fatal flaw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of those products that you can absolutely rely on.

By Mihajlo from Serbia on 12/27/2011


Pros:

Casual Listening, Film/video Production, Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

It's very hard to find a pair of headphones that can serve well for almost every listening purpose, from casual listening to critical monitoring and mixing. The ATH-M50 not only does it all perfectly, but they are also built to last for many years. They are for sure one of those products that you can rely on for every purpose, at any time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Headphones Except for the Spring

By Therealwizard from New York, NY, USA on 12/25/2011


Cons:

Protection Spring/jack

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Studio

This is my second pair and the spring by the jack always come's off which later on leads to the wire by the jack to have a shortage or breaks completely


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasurable sounds come from these!

By Laust from Undisclosed on 11/30/2011


Cons:

What Cons Are You Kidding?!!!

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Other, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Dj, Gaming, Casual Listening, Studio

I've used a couple of headphones before - all sounding about the same. The last pair I had were Creative Labs Aurvana DJ which I thought were good until it broke. But THESE headphones...base - powerful, not muddled; mids - just right; highs - crisp. The construction and materials used in these M50s are quality because they haven't snapped like the last pair from a different make, and it produces the sweetest sounds especially when I'm editing/mixing/enjoying music. Nothing but eargasms.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Sound!

By xXThePatriotXx from Undisclosed on 11/29/2011


Cons:

None

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Comfortable, Appearance, Sound Quality

I have to say these are some of the best headphones... EVER! These things are so crystal clear, the bass is punchy but not muddy and sounds great. The mid's and highs are superb not missing a single thing. I'm hearing things in songs I've listened to 100's of times that I've never heard before. These are by far the best headphones I've ever had. They look good, are super comfortable and are also great for watching movies or gaming I love them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best headphones I've ever owned.

By Portuliano from Yokosuka, Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan on 11/12/2011


Cons:

Absolutely Nothing.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Other, Gaming, Dj, Travel, Sports/exercise, Office, Film/video Production, Casual Listening, Studio

Stylish look, supreme "punchy" bass and crystal clear treble at an affordable price for the average consumer-- best headphones I've ever owned!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So good your wallet won't hurt.

By Adeoh from Mexico on 11/07/2011


Cons:

Sensible Plug Wiring

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Travel, Gaming, Casual Listening, Studio

First of all, we have to make things clear, I believe that if you are here it's because you are willing to invest into something you and your ears will enjoy for a pretty long time. It has almost been a year since I lend ears over this pair of marvelous headphones, if there's anything you want to know about this pair of cans, you will find out here. First of all you have to know what you're dealing with, you have ( or will have ) a pair of professional headphones, forget about weird frankeinstein (pun intended) heapdhones on the market, if you want quality, if you want amazing sound waves filling up your ears you would buy this product without guessing no more. I use this headphones mainly for 3 things: a) Gaming b) Music Listening ( Audiophile ) c) Sound Edition Lets start with A, Gaming. There are quite a lot of games that put effort in offering you a sweet real-ish ambient for realism's sake. You won't be dissapointed, call it 5.1, or 7.1, this got it, you won't need expensive, innecesary hardware. Give the M50's a shot, you will love it. Music Listening. This is a point, how would i describe the M50's ? Real. These are the most comfortable, real, pleasing headphones I've ever heard ( And i've heard quite a few ). The bass is booming as you would ever want it to be, the mid ranges are awesome, not too much, not too little, just where you want mid ranges to be, in the middle, the highs are quite impressive, crispy, crystal clear sound you wont even think about the money you spend on these. Sound Edition. This is another point, call it 'cleanin' up my song' or as i like to call it 'Accurately excelling performance' if this is your cannon, put the bullet in. The Physics. I have to say that if there's one thing I'm in love with this headphones besides the sound, that would be the looks. The M50's will steal eyes around you, these pair looks absolutely amazing. The screw in adaptor is flaw proof, won't come out, promise. Easy to set up, easy to listen, easy to love everything about them. For the burn in, you can live it, take them out, put them on, and plug them on your favorite player, in about 3 hours you'll have the full performance in your ears and your heart in the cans. The only weakness I would point out off of this headphones is the cable, is sensible, but you won't feel like going into a mosh pit wearing this ones, or putting them in a shredder. The durability is AWESOME, I've literally twisted the band around and... no damage. I definetely recommend the M50's. Get them now. You won't regret it. Ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible cans, and not just for studio work!

By evilsaint from Chicago, IL on 10/25/2011


Cons:

Coiled Cord Is Annoying - Buy The Straight One.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Casual Listening

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Gaming, Casual Listening, Travel

Well, at first, I was quite concerned that things wouldn't be the same as a lot of those "flavored" headphones like Sennheiser and the like. You see, I play large amounts of games and take in media like most people take in air, so at first I was skeptical of using monitor headphones for my PC-purposes. Man, what I've been missing! Even in all of the 5.1/7.1 applications that I use these for, they're stunningly clear and well-positioned. With the exception of dedicated surround headphones, I would actually recommend these for games where positional audio can make the different between a death and a kill. Even before I got a discreet PCIe soundcard, these things consistently blew me away. I'm constantly looking around while watching video with 5.1 sound, thinking that someone is walking around me. As per sound quality, well, they're just as incredible as advertised; I've listened to $400 MSRP cans from brand-name manufacturers that don't sound this good, and that was out of the box. 6+ months later, now that they're properly burnt in, and they sound even better. MP3s, lossless audio, media, games, it doesn't matter - you hear EVERYTHING that was put into the media. Lastly, in terms of comfort - I have relatively large ears but I can wear these for a solid two hours (even while wearing my glasses!) and the only thing that gets sore is the bottom of my right ear. Past that, they're not even very bad if you're in a hot location - a bit stifling, but not enough to make you sweat. All in all, if you're looking for cans that are sub-$200 but you don't want to skimp on unbiased sound-quality, look no further.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent in every way.

By jwelch from Millersburg, OH 44654, USA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Film/video Production, Casual Listening, Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

I will admit I was skeptical at first. I've used older lower-end AT headphones while tracking in studios in the past and hoped for more from them, but these are completely amazing. No matter what, I feel immersed in what I'm working on or listening to. They almost make everything sound too good! Great tight low end response and a smooth feeling of response in the mid and high end ranges. No harsh or bright feelings, just an overall great response. Very durable and well constructed, I expect these to be around for a very long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Headphones

By scoops from New York on 10/20/2011


Cons:

None So Far

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Studio, Good Low End

Very solid. I've had them almost a year and have had no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These headphones are very comfortable...

By VCJr from Denver, CO, USA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Studio, Live Sound, Film/video Production

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Live Sound

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I've been using ATH - M50 headphones for about 2 years now and my mixes sound great in these headphones. The best thing is that my mixes sound the same on my playback monitors and the house sound system, so they translate well. I've had several sets of headphones from other companies that were more expensive and did not sound as good. Thanks audio-technica!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best!.....Really.

By 5ynoT from Detroit, MI, USA on 10/20/2011


Cons:

Nada!

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

High Quality, Comfortable, Studio, Reliable

These were the first headphones I'd ever bought. I mainly do hip hop production, mind you. Everything I learned since I started to make music more intermediately, I've learned through the M50s; referencing, low ends, mids, highs, you name it. As someone posted, their leather wears but conversely, mines has stayed in tact through two pairs. The only "malfunction" I had with them is the coil at the end, mines never stayed, it slides around. But they're comfortable, reliable, and durable. I have a bias because I've never used any other brand, but I've tested others and have found my comfort zone. So, I'm sold on whatever monitor headphones Audio-Technica has to offer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great headphones

By Deelio from New York, NY, USA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Casual Listening, Travel, Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

I've had these phones for about a year now and they are absolutely great. At first, I found the bass a little too strong but after burning in it remains powerful but much more accurate and not overwhelming. Also, they were very tight (physically), but I just put them around a box overnight to stretch it out; now, it is much more comfortable and I can wear it for hours. Overall these headphones are built really well and the quality is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent sounding headphones; earpads could be more durable

By ranara01 from San Jose, CA, USA on 10/20/2011


Cons:

Hot & Humid Environments

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Casual Listening, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Gaming, Casual Listening, Travel, Office

Considering all the hype these cans receive in the headphone community, I'm glad to see [hear?] that they live up to their reputation. Their sound signature is excellent for a wide range of music. For a closed model, the bass stays tight without bleeding into the music. High's and mid's are clear and engaging. Considering my rather large noggin, they fit quite comfortably. My only issue is with the earpads. They start off quite soft and comfy, but depending on where you use them [hot & humid = sticky & sweaty] and how often, they may start to harden and crack. Replacements can be easily ordered from quite a few resources. Construction and build for the rest of headphone is excellent. They are built like a tank [and some would say looks like one]. No complaints there. Overall, I would highly recommend these to folks. And if you use them in a nice cool, dry location the earpads should hold up quite well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love these headphones!

By TeeBlack from Yonkers, NY, USA on 10/20/2011


Cons:

None

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Gaming, Casual Listening, Dj, Studio, Film/video Production

These headphones are nice and have a flat sound. You can also hear the deep bass in most songs. Very little to none bleed when recording vocals. Great for casual listening also. Very comfortable after long use. Id definitely buy these again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best studio headphones on the market.

By b3groover from Michigan on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Let's face it: Most of us have small home studios and we must be conscious of our families and neighbors. We can't be blasting mixes at all hours of the day. And I know that my mixing situation isn't the best acoustically. So a good set of headphones is not only a priority but a necessity. The ATH-M50 headphones deliver in all the areas a user needs. They are extremely comfortable. Lengthy mixing / recording sessions are not a problem. They are extremely trustworthy sonically. The low end is tight and defined, the midrange is smooth but not fuzzy, and the high end is accurate and crisp without being buzzy and fatiguing. And maybe most importantly they are reliable. I've owned mine for over five years and have never had a single issue. My modest home studio is often infiltrated by my three daughters, all under the age of 7, and they like to grab and mangle all manner of gear. I had another set of headphones by a very reputable European manufacturer break in the hands of my eldest daughter, but my Audio Technica headphones have stood up to repeated abuses. I almost always begin mixing under headphones and then switch to my monitors when I think I have a good mix going, to make sure everything is balanced. Mixes done on the ATH-M50s translate very well to actual speakers. I usually only have to do very minor tweaks once I listen on my monitors. I recommend these headphones to everyone, even non-musicians. Everything sounds better on them and the level of detail they reveal is inspiring.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Headphones!

By Ragingwaters from Undisclosed on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Studio, Casual Listening

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Studio, Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

The ATH-M50 has replaced my long standing go to pair of cans. No comparison. Not even close. Comfortable over time. Great for tracking but also a very viable mix tool. Very accurate. Brought back the fun of just listening through headphones for pleasure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Monitors

By Escofhari from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Travel, Sports/exercise, Office, Casual Listening, Studio, Film/video Production

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Musician, Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

These are very portable and the sound ... x superb!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect monitoring heaphones for studio use!

By Milan from Serbia, UK, US on 10/15/2011


Cons:

Leather Peeling Off :(

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert, Studio

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Casual Listening, Dj, Film/video Production, Studio

I own ATH-M50 than 2 years, and I am very satisfied with sound and ergonomy..These are first headphones ever I can trust completely and mix on..Mixes are translating very good to my studio monitor speakers (Genelecs) and vice versa. Only issue that I have with these is (unfortunately) leather peeling on top part of the frame, probably because of frequent (every day) use. Ear pads are ok for now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW!!!!

By Fatzpro19 from Bronx, NY on 09/11/2011


Pros:

Film/video Production, Gaming, Casual Listening, Travel, Office, Sports/exercise, Studio, Dj, Other

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate, Musician

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

These are the best headphones Ive used that in the 150$ price range u cant go wrong with these headphones, there better the sony mdr v7506, and the beats by dre collection these headphones are crazy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

all around good

By pazapaza from california on 07/31/2011


Cons:

Not Very Portable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Other, Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Gaming, Casual Listening, Studio, Office, Film/video Production, Practically Indestructible Cord

these headphones are very good. The audio quality is top notch. They are pretty huge, but you'll get used to it in no time. They are the perfect for sitting in your house and listening to music or editing audio or whatever you'd do. They aren't noise canceling, and have some sound leakage, but are great in any situation you'd need huge headphones for. The coiled cord and metal spring mechanism at the end of the cord are interesting and cool. great price also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice headphones

By Earl Leighman from Northeasten Pennsylvania on 03/02/2009


Pros:

Powerful, Good Sound

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Practical

Best Uses:

Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These headphones were a welcome change from the AKGs I'd been using to listen to mixes in my home studio. They're quite a bit louder, and the closed design shuts out some exterior noise. A little on the heavy side, but they seem sturdy and reliable. Great sounding, as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Headphones

By C.D Verified Purchaser from New York on 02/17/2009


Describe Yourself:

Practical, Student

Pros:

Durable, Powerful, Comfortable, Good Sound, Good Looking

Best Uses:

Travel, Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great pair of headphones. Put them on the first time, and noticed how comfortable they fit. They do tend to make me ears sweat after about an hour usage, but this is expected for most headphones. They look good, and the cord is definitely long enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Comfortable, rich sound, cancels noise.

By Piano guy from Ohio on 12/27/2008


Describe Yourself:

Student

Pros:

Comfortable, Rich Sound, Good Bass

Best Uses:

Music, Home Audio

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use these headphones for my digital piano. These headphones offer rich sound detail and texture. They are a snug fit against my head, but they're actually comfortable--even for long sessions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice phones

By ryan Verified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 08/16/2008


Describe Yourself:

Studio Owner

Pros:

Comfortable, Durable

Best Uses:

Recording Studio

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These phones are super nice. I had a number of brands here at the studio, but decided to get four pair of like phones and retire a couple of our more beaten sets. These are a huge step up from what we had, and I will probably buy two more pair soon. Probably the best value in a high end headphone available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well worth it

By ChipHead Verified Purchaser from NH on 04/23/2008


Describe Yourself:

Drummer

Pros:

Comfortable, Rich Sound, Durable, Highly Compatible

Best Uses:

Music, Electronic Drums

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use these to monitor my Roland electronic drum kit. Very good response and crisp clear sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved