Home » Audio » Microphones » ATR3350 » 26 Reviews

Audio Technica Atr-3350 Omnidirectional Lavalier Condenser Microphone (atr3350) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert (6), Novice (7), Intermediate (11)

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month (15), Up To A Year (4), Over A Year (4)

Pros:

Presentations (8), Studio Broadcast (5), Film/video Production (13), Other (5)

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer (11), Studio (3), Computer (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Tie Clip and Noise Issues

By ABLE Digital Group from Toronto on 08/28/2015


Cons:

Unreliable, Breaks Easily, Poor Sound Quality

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Other

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Easy To Turn On And Plug

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Expert

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased in Toronto from great vendor who automatically included alternate tie clip as AT supplied reportedly break when connecting to mic. Sure enough it does right out of the box. Using with Samsung Note 5 for Periscope. So many audio test Private Periscopes to determine working. After several dozen and numerous battery replacements, finally working. Audio quality is okay, not great. But getting to this point took several days of frustration. Better to pay for more expensive but user promoted mic like Rode Lav...We have the USB NTSB and its Great so went with lav thinking reviews must be incorrect?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why so much noise?

By guzforster from So Paulo - State of So Paulo, Brazil on 06/26/2015


Pros:

Film/video Production, Presentations

Cons:

Too Much Noise

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Other

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

I don't know if this is common but in my opinion the sound captured by the ATR3350 should be crystal clear. Every time I recordo someone talking, in a complete quiet room, there's this noise with the voice. Why is this? Is the microphone bad or am I doing something wrong? I'm recording it using a Canon 60D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for single DSLR use but lack of technical info for mixi

By jrxnet from Miami, FL, USA on 04/10/2015


Cons:

Lack Of Info To Set An Array Of Mics On A Mixer

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Presentations, Film/video Production, Excelent With My Nikon D3200

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

Hi, Considering a debate/tv-set ...I am planning to connect 8 x Audio-Technica ATR-3350 mics to a "Behringer Q1202USB 12-Channel Mixer" in order to mix, equalize and use the mixer's RCA output to digital recording this sound in a computer. Is this possible with this equipments or you have any suggestion?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery is impossible to change

By John220 from San Francisco, CA on 01/28/2015


Cons:

Lack Of On-off Light, Impossible To Replace Battery

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Film/video Production

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

I have had some up and down experiences. Because there is no on-off light I have had the embarrassing experience of conducting an interview and then discovering I had not turned on the mike. Also because of the lack of a light I have left the mike on after the project and run down the battery. I can certainly take the blame for these two operator errors. BUT when I try to replace the battery I find the space so small that I cannot hold the spring down and insert the battery at the same time. Terrible design flaw as far as I am concerned. If there is an easy way to replace the battery please let me know.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely Dis-functional and Dead

By bdrob from West Kelowna, BC, Canada on 12/18/2014


Cons:

Can't Get Working

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

This mic hasn't worked since the day I open the packaging. I have bought new batteries, used it on a Windows 8 laptop, Macbook, and an iPhone. So the only explination that I can think of is that I received a brand new mic that cannot function. I am extremely displeased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sensitivity is 1/10th of stated value

By BigNorm from San Diego on 04/25/2014


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Musician

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

This microphone's sensitivity is listed at -54 dB basd on 2 units. It's sensitivity is ABOUT -70 dB, typical of a hand-held microphone. Lapel microphones need to be about 10 times (20 dB) as sensitive as a hand-held microphones. They are farther away from the sound source and they need to be omnidirectional vs. directional for hand-held mic. My background: Electronic Engr -- calibrated hydrophones and sound measuring equipment for USN.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By photo67 from Undisclosed on 01/31/2014


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Film/video Production, Presentations, Studio Broadcast

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

Very smart... Dual-mono 1/8" output plug connects to a video camera, DSLR, or handheld audio recorder's stereo 1/8" input, to record audio on both left and right channels


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Here's some proof

By Alyons from Toronto, ON, Canada on 12/15/2013


Cons:

It Is Wired

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Presentations, Film/video Production, Studio Broadcast, House Of Worship

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Studio

So there were a few people on here that put this mic down. Let me just say that if you are stuck with a very strict budget but need to add production value to a shoot, this mic is a no brainer! Here's a video I recently shot using the mic with a 3.5>XLR adapter into a Tascam DR40. There is only one downside to using this MIC and that is is that it's wired. My subject ran off to grab something and yanked my Tascam recorder off the table popping the batteries out. There is a section that the DR40 failed because the batteries popped out while in pause mode. You can hear the difference between raw camera audio compared to audio with the MIC and the DR40. I did tests with the MIC directly into my D7100 and the results were night and day compared to the internal MIC. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8RUFglSQss


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This Mic Works Great

By robgb from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 11/12/2013


Pros:

Film/video Production, Ease Of Use, Presentations

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Don't listen to the naysayers. This mic works great if you use it for the task it's intended for. I simply plug it into my video camera (using a mono adapter), clip it to my shirt and the sound is crystal clear. And considering the low price, the thing is a Godsend, making good video sound a breeze. And no, I don't work for Audio-Technica. This is the first of their products I've ever bought and usedand it won't be the last.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No decent information to get it worked.

By John56 from Romania on 10/30/2013


Pros:

Other

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

Cons:

Hard To Get It Working

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I have tried to put it on a mixer with good amps where normaly every mic works on, but this mic doesnt give me more then -20 dB, even when i have put all gains open. Even many people have trouble to get this mic working the company doesnt give at least the requerd information how to get it working, how to connect it and if it need phantom power, if it is balanced or not. To my old MD9000 camera it works good, but to a Nikon D5100 it does nothing, with modern mixers it does nothing eather. Why it works to some amps and others not, i dont know. It is a true miracle to me and it cost me to much time to find out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Total junk

By JayWind from Arlington, VA, USA on 10/18/2013


Cons:

Doesn't Work At All!

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Presentations

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Live Sound

Doesn't work at all. I inserted the battery, plugged it into to two different amps both know to work fine, then nothing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great mic for price

By LS44 from Keller, TX, USA on 09/24/2013


Cons:

Wired

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Easy To Use, Great Price, Film/video Production

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

This mic has great sound using the recommended connector from KV connection. I'm using an iphone 4s. Super easy to use, great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work with Iphone

By orli from Laredo, TX, USA on 08/29/2013


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Live Sound

Cons:

Doesn't Work

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

I bought the ATR3350 and the Dual Microphone adapter cable. It does not work. Bought new batteries and it still does not work. The plan was to record video interviews with better quality audio. I use an Iphone 4s


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Use in video production

By micfive from Florida on 08/19/2013


Pros:

Film/video Production

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

I have 5 of these microphones that I use with field recorders in the video production business. They work extremely well and have solved many of our audio problems. I don't know about compatibility problems with some equipment, but for me, this is a great product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

waste of money!!!

By roks7 from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 08/12/2013


Cons:

It Does Not Work

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Computer

I've tried over and over...to get this mic to work on my MacBook Air... pumped up to the max Input Sound levels..and the Mic is completely NOT communicating with my laptop (made sure that I plugged it in all the way, bought new battery) It's an awful waste of money, does not work on my MacBook Air and it does not work with IPhone 5. Really frustrating...and they want us to buy an adapter from KVconnection for additional $30...that would make it almost a $60 waste of money. Stay away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesnt work

By jswenk from Undisclosed on 08/05/2013


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

I have the adapter and it still doesnt work. Come with no instructions. Avoid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Good on my computer but not phone

By jackyer593oiu from Voorhees Township, NJ, USA on 07/20/2013


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Film/video Production

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Other

I tried to use it with my iPhone 4S a with a microphone app I have. For some reason it didnt work. It still recored the sound from the phones microphone and not the lavalier. When I plugged it into my computer it worked fine after a few tries. Why won't it record using my iPhone 4S?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Couldn't get it to work

By kooler221 from North Las Vegas, NV on 01/18/2013


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Computer

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Considering the low price of the 3350, I thought I'd give it a try. I received it and after about 30 minutes of trying to figure out how to install the battery, I soon learned that it won't work on my computer, tried everything with no results. I'm not sure if I'm missing something or what, help would be appreciated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little mic that sounds good without breaking the bank

By Baywood from Califormia on 01/04/2013


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Sturdy, Studio Broadcast, Good Sound, Film/video Production, Presentations, Great Price

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

I bought a bunch of these to use during video shoots when we need to capture dialog from multiple individuals in a shot where wireless isn't usable. We place these on the individuals and run them into a portable recording device strapped to their body's and let em go from there. They sound great and I am not reluctant to use them in adverse conditions due to low replacement cost. I've never had one go bad. I'm not experiencing the low volume thing that others have mentioned. The ones we're using have decent output. The gain needed on the field recorders inputs seems normal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low output worthless

By VideoNut from Southern California on 09/14/2012


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I tried this with my video camera with the idea of improving the sound and having some ability to for better placement. The output was so low it is unusable. Unless you have tried it before hand look elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine for the price

By macikosan from Sydney NSW, Australia on 07/30/2012


Cons:

Susceptible To Electrical Noise Interference.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

Pros:

Film/video Production, Presentations

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Computer

Bought two of these, because they were inexpensive. The most exiting thing about these microphones is that they actually sound OK for the price. They are an omnidirectional microphone so they will pick up the noise in the room quite well. This is actually a good test of how well they pick up. Naturally their placement on the body is very critical. I found they sounded very neutral when clipped at the second button on my polo shirt, which is about 20cm below by last chin. :P For people who have not used lavalier microphones before, please experiment with their location on your body. So over all for the good part, they work well when you know what you are doing. And their price. Now for the bad bits. The mic did need a fair bit of drive in the pre-amp stage of my audio interface (Prism Orpheus), so it did bring up a bit of noise with it. The biggest disappoint thing about these is that they do like to pick-up electrical interference. So I do not recommend using these near a desktop PC. If you do you might have to EQ out the problem. I tested these against a basic condenser microphone and I found that the microphone was picking up high frequency noise which I believe was generated by my computer. The comparison microphone was used as a bench mark for noise and frequency response levels. Essentially the noise had something to do with the communication of my USB devices. Since it was amplified whenever I moved my mouse. This is a typical computer RF interference. It must be noted that standard condenser microphone was not picking the noise up at the same signal level as the ATR3350. The fundamental frequency of the noise was about 8k, but it did cascade either side of the frequency. Applying a notch filter at 4k 5 k 6k 7 k 8 k 9 k 10k 11k and 16K got rid of most of the issues, without detrimental effects on the microphones performance. In summary, good price, good sound, poor electrical noise rejection. I will be keeping these little microphones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Noisy, close to unusable

By pdh274 from UK on 07/24/2012


Cons:

Noisy, Poor Signal

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Studio

I bought this microphone to use with webcasts in place of a Sure SM58 which was too obtrusive. Using a TASCAM US125M interface, or a Presonus Lightpipe the signal is weak to the point of being unusable. Using the 'Headset' interface on the Tascam creates high levels of Noise when the gain is high enough to hear the signal. I have a wide variety of microphones, this one is going in the bin. Don't waste your money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By BC02 from Grand Rapids, MI, USA on 04/13/2012


What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Studio

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

My experience so far has been a total disappointment. I can not get any volume at all using the 3350 with a Kodak Playtouch camera. The recording gain is set to max and the playback volume is maxed. Yet shouting in the mic yeilds barely a faint whisper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PWNAGE!!!

By lol1 from New York, NY, USA on 10/20/2011


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Studio Broadcast, Film/video Production, Other

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

the best microphone i've ever used!! great' pwnage


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well Worth it

By HammyD from North Potomac, MD, USA on 10/20/2011


Cons:

No Battery Indicator, Mono Sound

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Up To A Year

Pros:

Studio Broadcast, Film/video Production

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Videographer

This is a great product for a beginner videographer like myself. It is a much better shot to have the talent wear a lav mic, rather than have bad sound quality from the on camera microphone or hold a bulky mic. However, it is mono, so you will either need to purchase a mono to stereo adapter, or duplicate the sound track for the right and left speaker in a non linear editing system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Audio Technica ATR3350

By old school john Verified Reviewer from Hackettstown, nj on 10/16/2009


Pros:

Included Accessories, Price, Sound Quality

Cons:

Very Loud 60 Cycle Hum

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good quality inexpensive lapel microphone. However, when used with a Canon Vixia HV40, it picked up a very loud 60 cycle hum when camera was plugged into the AC power pack. I had to replace it with another mic as the hum was unacceptable for recording. It was fine when running on battery. This might be a problem with the camcorder however the hum went away when I used a different mic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved