Home » ATR97 » 9 Reviews

Audio Technica Atr-97 Omni-directional Boundary Microphone Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good performer at reasonable price, esp. for voice

By Tweedle Dee from Las Vegas, NV on 10/07/2015


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Clear Sound

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I connect this to my computer microphone to record myself speaking and playing a simple musical instrument (bagpipe practice chanter, claves). It produces good quality audio. Under those conditions, I can barely tell the difference between this product and my more expensive Audix Fusion f15 instrument mike. I am not an audio or recording expert, but I'm very satisfied. Works fine with the sound card built into my Windows 7 Pro PC, and with WavePad audio editing software. With regard to another reviewer's comments: be prepared to spend a bit of time learning how to adjust mike gain on your computer and how to connect the mike to any recording software you may be using. It's easy once you figure it out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Must for Note Taking Programs

By ZachK from Undisclosed on 09/05/2014

I purchased this microphone the other day for college. With the College Equivalent of an IEP (Accommodations), I am able to do things such as record my lectures and review them. Finding a stand alone microphone was hard. I did NOT want to bring a webcam to class if i was just going to use a Mic. For the price I was blown away. I was turned off by the fact it wasn't USB. Then I found out it was battery powered. The small size of this makes it not as noticeable in class. My professor, who I sit right next to (U Shaped table,) didn't even notice it. The quality of sound is excellent at a close range. A drawback to this is the boundary range of the microphone. I wasn't able to understand people that were about 4-6 feet away. Normal Speech on Max Boost and Max Volume only gives one bar of volume in Windows Volume Control. I do not believe the minimum hertz level is even recognized by Windows. ALSO: Protip, change quality to Studio for best results. Overall It has saved my life in terms of my grade and everything. 910


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Must for Note Taking Programs

By ZachK from Undisclosed on 09/05/2014


What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Intermediate

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

I purchased this microphone the other day for college. With the College Equivalent of an IEP (Accommodations), I am able to do things such as record my lectures and review them. Finding a stand alone microphone was hard. I did NOT want to bring a webcam to class if i was just going to use a Mic. For the price I was blown away. I was turned off by the fact it wasn't USB. Then I found out it was battery powered. The small size of this makes it not as noticeable in class. My professor, who I sit right next to (U Shaped table,) didn't even notice it. The quality of sound is excellent at a close range. A drawback to this is the boundary range of the microphone. I wasn't able to understand people that were about 4-6 feet away. Normal Speech on Max Boost and Max Volume only gives one bar of volume in Windows Volume Control. I do not believe the minimum hertz level is even recognized by Windows. ALSO: Protip, change quality to Studio for best results. Overall It has saved my life in terms of my grade and everything. 910


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent microphone if used correctly

By Craig from New England on 11/15/2013


Pros:

Conference Rooms, Field Recording

Cons:

Cable On Newer Versions Is Not Very Pliable, Future Versions Should Have Device-powered Option

I have used a number of these microphones since the model was introduced. They have always provided reliable and very intelligible audio for recording meetings on both consumer camcorders and business audio recorders. I have also used this mic connected to wireless beltpack transmitters. I have used these mics on tables and taped to walls and ceilings with very good results. This is an excellent and inexpensive way to greatly improve audio quality over most business recorder built-in microphones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent microphone if used correctly

By Craig from New England on 11/15/2013


Cons:

Future Versions Should Have Device-powered Option, Cable On Newer Versions Is Not Very Pliable

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Expert

How long have you used this product?:

Over A Year

Pros:

Field Recording, Conference Rooms

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Corporate/government/school

I have used a number of these microphones since the model was introduced. They have always provided reliable and very intelligible audio for recording meetings on both consumer camcorders and business audio recorders. I have also used this mic connected to wireless beltpack transmitters. I have used these mics on tables and taped to walls and ceilings with very good results. This is an excellent and inexpensive way to greatly improve audio quality over most business recorder built-in microphones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Didn't Really Want To Record Anything, Did You?

By Vicki2011 from United States on 08/07/2011


Pros:

Maybe It Would Work As A Lapel Mic.

Cons:

Just Simply Doesn't Work.

There is no volume control on the microphone, so I turned the input volume on my computer all the way up, and maxed the input sensitivity on my software. All I recorded was a mumbling whisper when I was speaking at normal volume 18 inches away from the microphone (which had a fresh battery). This product is useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Didn't Really Want To Record Anything, Did You?

By Vicki2011 from United States on 08/07/2011


Pros:

Maybe It Would Work As A Lapel Mic.

What best describes your level of audio knowledge?:

Computer

Cons:

Just Simply Doesn't Work.

What best describes the environment the product was used in?:

Novice

How long have you used this product?:

Less Than A Month

There is no volume control on the microphone, so I turned the input volume on my computer all the way up, and maxed the input sensitivity on my software. All I recorded was a mumbling whisper when I was speaking at normal volume 18 inches away from the microphone (which had a fresh battery). This product is useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheap and basic

By MM of the spoken word Verified Purchaser from New York, NY on 02/24/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Tiny, Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Sound Quality

Describe Yourself:

Novice

Best Uses:

Amateur Recording, Skyping

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this omni mic for amateur voiceover demos. I didn't expect it to be great quality but I wasn't prepared for the very low output volume. I'm not a sound person, it was truly easy to use, but I found I had to come very close to this desktop item for it to pick up my (professional, projected) voice, which contortion really messed up the recording quality. I guess it's best used for skyping or talking to people in a video game. I would have done better with a headset. On the positive side, it's really tiny and easy to put into a drawer, so it's not cluttering up my house.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This works well with my ...

By William S Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/24/2005

This works well with my laptop and MS OneNote software to record notes or meetings. Has sufficient sensitivity and gain for this purpose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved