Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Labels » AVE2180 » 56 Reviews

Avery Filing Mini-sheet Label - 0.66" Width X 3.43" Length - 300 / Pack - Rectangle - 12/sheet - Laser, Inkjet - Assorted (AVE2180) Reviews
Avery Filing Mini-sheet Label - 0.66" Width X 3.43" Length - 300 / Pack - Rectangle - 12/sheet - Laser, Inkjet - Assorted (AVE2180)

Avery Filing Mini-sheet Label - 0.66" Width X 3.43" Length - 300 / Pack - Rectangle - 12/sheet - Laser, Inkjet - Assorted (AVE2180)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Create a professional and organized look for easy and quick file identification. Archival-safe and acid-free. Labels stick and stay. Compatible with inkjet and laser printers. Labels are sized for 1/3-cut file folders.

Avery Dennison Model: AVE2180

$11.96

440 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 56 reviews)

94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Nice for nighttime street photography

By NevadaJayHawk from Sunrise Manor, NV, USA on 06/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have found this lens to be the perfect companion for nighttime portraits of street people in Las Vegas. I use it with a D7100 and it gives me the perfect reach for finding subjects in the crowds of Fremont Street. This is the perfect FX lens to use on a DX body. It is clean, fast, and sure. If you have a DX it makes perfect sense to add this one to your collection. Now go have fun finding your subjects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not all things to all people

By DucatiDad from Portland, Oregon on 04/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens delivers as advertised in terms of sharpness and light gathering but fails to deliver on some real life attributes. I find this lens slow to focus (compared to 70-200) and occasionally difficult to lock focus (with a D600.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super lens

By Gwar from Cherryville, OR 97055, USA on 04/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got it, and with the f stop breadth It has boosted my creative ability. As a food wine and travel writer this lens will be my go to piece. A great value !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a let down

By StuDawg from Fremont, CA, USA on 03/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been shooting Nikkor 2.8 zooms for the last 15 years with great results. After reading all the glowing reviews for this lens I couldn't wait to get in the studio to see how wonderful this prime is. I use the 24-120 F4 95% of the time for portraits (and everything else) with amazing results. I had to shut this lens down to F11 before it matched the clarity of my zoom. Outside was the similar. The CA at F4 (swapping lenses) is horrible. The only reason I gave 3 stars is because it does look great in the F8 to F13 range. Bokeh is pretty if you get past the CA, I can't. This one goes back for a refund.....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A brilliant, tack-sharp, butter-smooth bokeh, low-light speed demon.

By LoyalNikonEnthusiast4Life from Undisclosed on 03/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought the 35mm 1.8G DX along with my D7100, and it never leaves my bag. The 50mm 1.4G is now my go to choice when I'm chasing my toddlers around my house, running and gunning. The "keeper" rate is off the charts and I'm nailing focus 80% of the time, even with my fast-moving "targets." Sharpness, color and contrast is amazing wide-open, and has really elevated my photography to the next level, if you'll excuse the cliche. I'll probably go "full-frame" in the future, and I'm glad thus little gem will be able to make the move with me. On a side note, remember that only FX-compatible lenses will make the transition with you if you upgrade to a full frame body later. Good glass is key to producing good images, so invest wisely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent image quality!

By Shinobi from Clinton township, MI on 02/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's light, easy to use and gives excellent quality at f/2 to f/5.6. Focus is fast enough for portraits. Cons: - Pictures are soft at f/1.4-f/1.8 - greenish and pinkish color fringing at wide apertures when shooting against a bright background (noticeable during inspection) - lacks a lot of Nikon's top end technology which would have made this one an excellent performer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Spartaco from Federal District, Brazil on 08/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You can focus close to you target, and it has a realy nice bokeh, it`s a great lens for a good price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must have.

By Goldrimmer from Oak Harbor, WA, USA on 07/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price and quality, this is a must have lens for anyone who has a Nikon DSLR. Since the purchase, it has been my indoors go to lens. The images are sharp, auto focus is right on, light, and the manual focus overwrite works great. Perfect portrait lens. If you are considering buying this lens or some other lens, buy this one first! And I believe this lens should have a gold ring on it. just saying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Compact and Sharp

By Hindsight2011 from Canonsburg, PA, USA on 04/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is very clear and very sharp on my D800 firing at 36mp. Focus is fast (fast enough for most of us anyway) even in low light and there is almost no distortion. Dollar for dollar, in the context of fast lenses, this 50mm 1.4G provides a great value to the consumer. This is one to consider for an everyday walk around lens or a compact/light carry in your pocket lens for when evening sets in. It is fast becoming the lens I leave on my D800 most of the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Go-To Lens

By JMM Shutterbug from Colorado, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just received this lens and I am thrilled with it. Great in low light and for portraits. I find it to be fast and the bokeh is nice and smooth. The lens is substantial on my DX Camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very fast prime lens perfect to start your Nikon adventure

By Artborghi from Zurich, Switzerland on 02/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is no situation where this lens cannot win over many others. It is very fast, very sharp, very light and with a good price. Stop it at f/2 if you crop huge pictures to maintain picture perfection. Full open it gives some vignetting and softness at the corners which are just as expected. A lens to always have, mounted or in your pocket.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp, Nice Contrast & Affordable

By Vic from Midwest, USA on 01/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A wonderful lightweight lens rendering sharp, brillant images consistent throughout its aperture range. Careful focus when shooting wide-open will be rewarded by sharp images. The bokeh from this lens I've found to be quite nice. AF is smooth, quiet and fast enough for my needs plus the feel of the focus ring when manually focusing is perfect. This lens has been a great addition to my camera bag. Thanks Nikon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clear & Bright

By Vedauwoo from Cheyenne, WY, USA on 08/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This review is about the 50mm 1.4G, catalog 2180. I decided to buy the lens for low-light situations, such as indoor ceremonies. I was not disappointed; the lens is admirable. Keeping the settings of my D5100 camera the same, I tried other lenses and found that this lens gave consistently brighter, colorful indoor shots. As can be expected, the field of focus gets short when the aperture is opened. A couple of cropped pictures are attached to illustrate the lens: One photo shows a meteor trail from the recent Perseid meteor shower. I used a manual setting at 1.4 and a 1.3 second time exposure. No one beats Nikon for photography in low light. The other shows a bee visiting the blossoms of a Russian Sage. Bees are constantly moving; so I believe they provide a convenient, conclusive field test of the ability of a cameras computer to quickly appraise the situation and order the focus and aperture of the lens. In other words, the camera and the lens worked well together to get a difficult photograph. The D5100 was set on full automatic " point and shoot. The picture illustrates the narrow depth of field and how out-of-focus objects are displayed. The foreground and background bokeh are consistent. Best features: Image brightness and color are superior. Compact size. At 50/75 mm the lens gives a natural perspective. Value for price. Nice match with D5100. Worse features: Careful focus is required, or thoughtful selection of the cameras focus mechanisms. Accessories: A neutral or UV filter to protect the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quiet & Quick

By NewtoNikon from Undisclosed on 07/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very new to the Nikon dslrs, I purchased my camera 1 year ago today(d5100) I just purchased this lense today and absolutly love it! The focal distance is just right and it is awesome for portraits! I would definintly recommend this lense, when using the 1.4 apeture the pictures are stunning. It also takes great stop motion even in the 1.4 apeture. Worth the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing

By Photolover from Undisclosed on 06/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this so much i take it everywhere i go. It is super sharp. I love the auto focus, it works amazingly with my D3100. Its a great beginner lens, i would highly suggest this for people beginning because of how well it works. Honestly great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp, fast

By HVA from Undisclosed on 03/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens about 2 years ago for my D300, it's fast and sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Exceptional Lens

By nikonsigma from England, UK on 01/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for a few months now, and I am still impressed with the quality of the images it produces. Sharp as you like from f/2.8 onwards, and nearly as sharp wide open. Focus is quick and quiet, and more importantly, accurate. The images have plenty of contrast, and despite the lack of Nano Crystal Coat, flare is very well controlled. This lens is perfect as a general use lens on FX, and a short portrait lens on DX. I would highly recommend this lens to any Nikon SLR user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens - opened box two hours ago!!!!

By tsaddik from Riverside, CA on 11/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just received this lens for my birthday (71), and haven't taken that many shots, but it seems terrific! The images are much sharper than I expected them to be, The lens is lightweight, but obviously sturdy. The few images I took at full aperture show me that this will be a perfect lens for portrait photos of my family and friends. This was one wonderful gift!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Awesome Lens

By NikonFan from Tullahoma, TN on 09/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has yet to let me down. I love this lens. I would absolutly recommend this to anyone looking for a dependable 50MM.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for a great price

By Crazy wedding photographer from Chicago on 08/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens a lot on the dance floor with available light. There isn't a better lens out there to capture the action in low light. I also use it for portraits, food and some action.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING

By Madeleine from Undisclosed on 08/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First, let me say I had the 35mm f/1.8 before and the 50mm f/1.8 so I've seen what the competing lenses can do. This lens cannot be compared to. Apart from the vivid depth of field, the pictures it produces are so sharp and full of contrast. It captures all colors perfectly, I don't find myself having to edit the pictures what-so-ever. If you have the money, I would DEFINITELY recommend shelling out for this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Dissapointing

By NikonBump from Franklin, MA on 07/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I ordered this lens as soon as it was released. The first copy I received simply would not focus. It was really soft. I returned it for a second copy. I kept this to have the length, but it is fundamentally dissapointing. The focus takes more than a second to go full range. The focus frequently gets stuck requiring me to press the focus button several times before it inches its way to focused (on a D700). The lens is a bit soft at f/1.4 until f/5. There is substantial chromatic aberration with very contrasty subjects at f/1.4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great depth of field and super fast focusing.

By Dreamcatcher from Maylene,al. on 05/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i was debating on either buying the 50mm 1.8G or the 50mm 1.4G. Either way I wouldn't go wrong. But I really like the 1.4G for low situations. The way the depth of field looks is phenomenal. I love it and I know I made the right decicion


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does what it is supposed to

By Spyglass Hill from San Francisco Bay Area on 05/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lightweight, great depth of field, very sharp .. The perfect lens to just leave on the camera .. My 50mm f/1.4G has found a home on my D300s ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens!

By TPD from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio on 04/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for weddings and senior portraits. It is a great portrait lens! The focus is a bit slow, don't expect to get good results if you are going for an action shot. It works great with very little light and you can get away with not using a flash indoors. I am very pleased with the results I am getting from this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome lens!

By Rotorbug from Durban, South Africa on 04/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned two of these lenses. Both are sharp, has excellent color and contrast, focuses quick, and is small. Don't expect super sharp results at F1.4, but this is to be expected from any lens wide open at F1.4 My second one with the D7000 needed calibration, but think the body to blame and not the lens itself. To get different results, you need lenses that do something different to your kit lens. The 50mm 1.4 won't disappoint with that smooth creamy background.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very sharp...but...

By seesnbnw from carson city, nv on 04/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love this lens in most circumstances. i use manual about 80-90% of the time. super sharp, nice bokeh, fast. but.... i havn't found that the auto focus responds really fast. i don't have any other auto focus nikon lenses to base it off of so i can't say if that is all nikon's or just this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite portrait lens on APS-C

By The McKenzie Kid from Eugene, OR on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If I am going to be taking pictures of people (read grandkids) this is the lens I want on my D90. It could focus a little faster, but this lens gets the results I want, allowing me to control depth of field and shoot in existing light.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fantastic standard lens

By mclarke99 from Dallas, TX on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G is a fantastic little lens. For the price, I consider it one of the "must-buy" focal lengths on full-frame camera bodies. There are other 50mm lenses on the market, but what makes this "G" lens stand out is it's ability to lock focus on the intended target. When paired with the Nikon D3, focus is extremely accurate. This is true even in low light situations. After having used this lens in tricky situations, I have learned to trust its ability to engage and lock. Image quality is also excellent. Although it does get better when stopped down a bit. Nonetheless, this lens is sharp when shot wide open. There is a touch of vignetting in the corners when shot at f/1.4, but it is not at all objectionable. Yet, you will notice the difference on a FX camera when compared to other lenses. I also use this lens quite a bit on DX cameras as well. In this configuration, the darkness of the corners is nearly absent. With most RAW image editing tools, the vignetting and slight distortion is easily corrected in post-processing. (For the vast majority of my images, I usually ADD a vignette in post-production.) This is a sharp lens, with great color and contrast. At f/1.4 it has its own look and I consider the image quality to be excellent. This 50mm is light weight, simple and relatively inexpensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great all-purpose lens

By Starry from Undisclosed on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very, very good lens. I use it for everything; from human portraits, to landscapes, to documentation. It is great for both high and low light, and is very versatile. The lens shouldn't be specifically used for low light, as it isn't best (but it also definitely isn't the worst), and sometimes you have to fiddle with the settings to get a good color. Even though it cannot zoom, I think it is better than most lens, especially considering the price. Overall, I love my 50mm, even more than some pro lens I've tried. I recommend it to anyone who wants a good all-purpose lens, but doesn't care that it doesn't have a zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Lens

By MDCSF from San Francisco on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for everyday use. I actually have this on my new Nikon D3s 90% of the time. The picture attached was taken with my D40x.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior Lens for it's size

By Tommy from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you cannot get the 24-70mm f2.8, then this is your lens. Do not underestimate the size, this 50mm lens give me great portrait pictures. The bokeh is so creamy and buttery. If people look at the picture, they would think I shoot 24-70mm lens wide open. I got many praised by using this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice prime!

By CanadianD7000 from Edmonton, AB on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens is overall a very good, everyday purpose lens. For people with a DX formated camera body this lens is ideal for portraits as it is a 75mm on DX. For FX users, this lens can do it all, portraits, events, landscape and with its fast aperture, there is very nice bokeh and auto-focus is very quick


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great low light and standard lens

By Nikon pete from Saskatoon SK on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great lens! I find I use it more and more for portraits. Makes great photos in available light. Perfect for the times you want to use the available light to set mood or you don't want to haul light stands and strobes. Absolutely saved me when my flash failed and I was shooting for a client.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, Lightweight, Beautiful Photos

By CLPhoto from Philadelphia, PA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First prime lens purchased. Have been shooting with 17-35 f2.8, 24-70 f2.8, 80-200 f2.8. The 50 is so light and the extra two stops make it great for low light. Shooting close and wide open gives a beautiful painterly feel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fantastic

By zatta from Virginia on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is fantastic for weddings and portraits. It makes the subject pop out and bold. I love that it gives a shallow depth of field.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for portraits

By klaabu from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens changed everything. Before I wasnt sure about my hobby. Now I know:)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is absolutly a great lens.

By Bachonysus from Boise, Idaho on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The optics of this lens are fantastic. When used for night photography, stopped down to about f11 and on a tripod the detail it is able to capture is outstanding. The center to edge sharpness is almost identical, even when opened up the edge to center sharpness is still excellent. It is also small so it is easy to carry around either on the camera or in fanny pack. This is a lens I would recommend to anyone who wants the sharpest image they can possibly get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So much better than the kit lenses

By sanday from Dallas, TX on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens mainly on a three year old D300 (have also used it on a full frame DSLR). Have had the lens about 5 months and shot more than 2500 images in that time. Like many of the previous reviewers I found the focus a little slow and sometimes not on at all but that was in very poor circumstances -- very low light indoors with fast moving subjects. I have gotten some very pleasing (although unintentional) blur scenes. The depth of field is extremely restricted at 1.4 although I have not noticed anything other than a very smooth bokeh. At 2.0 and up the focus is clear, crisp, and, if you aren't trying to stop a 4 yrs old in mid-flight, the autofocus is quick. I have had better luck with increasing the responsiveness of the autofocus by using the center focus option when shooting action. It does not seem to confuse the camera as much. The lens appears to be built well. No loose rings. I change lenses regularly and have had no issues with mounting and unmounting. For those that like to manually focus, this is a great lens -- I find the camera often does a slightly better job than I do but that is probably my eyesight. All in all, an excellent lens that is my "go to" lens. It only comes off the camera when I need the zoom or distance capabilities of my other lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Choice Lens with Super Sharp Quality

By One Sixtieth from Chicago, IL on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far my favorite lens. I use it for studio, portraits, environmental and more. The speed of the focus and sharpness is amazing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

50mm f/1.4G = Fantastic

By Viper from Lake Forest, CA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my primary lens that sits on my FX camera body. Excellent in low light situations - indoors, outdoors, night time. Just an amazing lens to shoot with because it's lightweight and doesn't take up a lot of room in your bag. Definitely worth the money spent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

In a word, a Nikkor Classic.

By Dodd from Provo, UT on 03/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the beautiful renderings it gives me in color, crispness, and selected area of focus and creamy bokeh. I own the fabulous Nikkor 24-70 f/2.8G, but consider the 50/1.4G my lens of choice all round.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Glass...not perfect...worth the upgrade?

By Wedding Pro from Michigan on 03/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I upgraded this lens from the 50 1.4D. Its autofocus is more accurate and quiet but slower than the D on my d700 bodies. The 50 1.4 D would often miss shots below 2.8 and thats why i upgraded. Image quality is similar to the old mode. I wish that nikon offered a more substantial 50mm like the 85 1.4g and 24mm 1.4 g that I own and are better performing wide open and I like the fidelity and speed of prime lenses. I do recommend this lens as its an excellent lens in low light compared to the other D model 50mm lenses and I wont sell it unless Nikon offers a better alternative. The Canon L version my brother owns is better but costs an arm and a leg. When you do this for money, you want the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens but is it worth the money?

By Erajat from Undisclosed on 10/13/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wanted the extra f1.4 so I bought this lens. I must admit, allthough the lens have no major issues, I'm not a 100% happy with it either. My issues - 1. Lens has a somewhat busy bokeh that doesn't result in the creamy bokeh's I expect from a prime lens that twice as expensive as the closest 50mm prime out there. 2. The lens is sharp in the center only at f2.8 or further. At 1.4, the lens is not all that sharp. 3. The AFS on the lens is slow and it often hunts before focussing in on the subject. I prefer to focus manually with this lens. In the nutshell, this lens allthough a notch above in terms of build quality doesn't have the optical performance to justify the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Portrait Lens

By zensu from Montgomery, AL on 09/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens for isolating my subject and throwing distracting backgrounds into a very smooth bokeh!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Four and a half stars

By HR from Chicago on 09/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens has very good optics in terms of sharpness, colors, contrast and bokeh. The Auto Focus feature is not accurate to a point that I do all the focusing manually. Despite the f/1.4 aperture it would have been nice to have a VR feature to enhance the lens performance under taxing light conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good if can get inexpensively

By UES from Santa Monica on 08/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Preliminary. Will try again in a month or so. Whilst lens is good, it is no match for the 50mm F/1.4 AF-D. The latest AF-Ds are very good. Always disappointed with Nikkor 50 f/1.4s in one way or another the problem was solved with the ones built from mid 2000s to date. This G Lens does not have the color luminousty, saturation or brillance of the AF-D. But it is reasonably sharp, and sharper than the AF-D at 1.4 and 2.0. Equal at 2.8. From 4 on... well back to the AF-D which is sharper, snappier and possessing that fantastic film like luminous glow for which Nikon is famous. Also this G has noticably more distortion. Handling orignally felt good, utimately to boxy and not as good as AF-D. Which is more nimble and flexible. Also, cannot use it on film or renegade video due to G type design which rules it out for many. Though I don't think this any challenge for the AF-D and at this moment will use sparingly, if at all personally, I would recommend it, even highly if you are going digital only at f/1.4 - f/2.0 where does perform excellently. And of course, it is still better than most zooms. And note. Will test later samples. It is relatively new. And we have noticed that historically Nikkor have gotton better with each batch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the top lenses Nikon makes

By AmericanPhotoPro from Sanibel, FL on 08/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For me there are 3 great lenses that Nikon makes and this 50mm AF-S f/1.4G is among them. My other two favorites are the AF-S 85 f/1.4 and the AF-S, VR 200mm f/2.0. Since this lens costs a fraction of the price of the other two it is the best buy Nikon offers. It has a much softer depth of field than the 50mm1.8 and the focus is spot on. If you own the 85mm or the 200mm mentioned above then you will really be able to appreciate this lens. It can give you the same quality image when you can't get the distance between yourself and the subject to use the 200 or the 85. I should clarify I am speaking from the perspective of a portrait photographer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good General Purpose Lens

By FirstNikon1971 from St. Louis, MO on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good general purpose normal lens that delivers a bright, crisp image viewfinder image. The bokeh wide open is pleasant. Overall, its pictorial qualities are very nice. Those who have a DX sensor will be happier with this lens than those with an FX sensor. I'm taking one star off for disappointing edge sharpness and contrast even at f/5.6 to f/8. Another star off for barrel distortion that I consider extreme for this focal length. This lens performs more like a zoom than a prime and cannot be used for critical work, I'm sorry to say.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wedding Staple

By JMahar from Tacoma, WA on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens gets a lot of bad press in the forums because it is 1) Plastic, and 2) AFS. My primary use for this lens is weddings. I have been using it since April 2009. This has become my primary lens. First, I love how light this is because it's plastic. I have some of the older gen lenses and they are great, but they are heavy. You can shoot with this lens all day without noticing it. The AFS performance on my copy is fantastic. I have had no complaints about this lens ever. Instead of doing extensive testing (which has its place), I have shot roughly 20 weddings with this thing. The Bokeh this thing puts out has become essential for my photographical look. I routinely shoot this at 1.4 or 2, and rarely take it past 2.8. It's wonderfully sharp at 1.4, and is rock solid at 2. This lens has some vignetting at 1.4, which is even more pronounced when you add an ND filter (provided you want to shoot 1.4 on a sunny day). As a wedding photographer, I would be adding vignetting in post anyway, so for me this is absolutely ideal. This lens has become a standard for me, and has changed my photography for the better. If you are thinking about jumping into the Primes camp, or simply want a really really fast standard, this is your lens. If you are shooting DX this functions like the 85mm, but with all the benefits of the AFS (quiet and fast). If you do get this though, be prepared to start pining away for faster glass.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Low Light King!!

By yrsued from Peoria, AZ on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the Low Light King!! I use this lens for very low light Indoor Sporting Events and it's super fast focusing and superb sharpness and resolution!! It's a little bigger than its predecessor, but well worth its price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Standard lens state of the art

By The McKenzie Kid from Eugene, OR on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used on a D90, this is the lens I choose to photograph my grandkids, who are always in motion. The autofocus is not instantaneous, but it is quick enough to keep up with them. I have read other reviewers criticisms, slow focus, plastic construction, but my in experience this lens is a good working lens that consistantly produces great results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT Portrait lens

By Jilly from Orrville, OH on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a portrait photographer, low light weddings, etc, this is an excellent lens. The images are amazing! Was a little hard getting used to me moving instead of zooming in or out, but the results are well worth a little more effort on my part! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this piece of glass!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Razor Sharp!

By NikonShooter from Ranshaw, PA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm using this lens in combination with a Nikon D3, and use it for everything from weddings, family events to a general walk-around lens. I find it razor sharp at all apertures. I do wish the AF was faster and sometimes I find it "searching" in very low-light conditions...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Sethery from Youngstown, OH on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens around December of 2009. Of course, if you're looking at this lens, you already know how well f/1.4 is going to do in low light, and how nice the dof is. I've gotten some amazing shots right out of the camera with this lens. The only thing that was kind of a disappointment was the AF speed. For the price, i feel it should be quicker, but it is accurate. The lens also feels great in my hands. It's not like the all metal manual focus lenses i have, but it seems like it can still take a beating. I would buy it again if it busted


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific lens in museums

By Henry from Washington, DC on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens to use in museums where I could not use a flash. While it works beautifully for images of paintings in ordinary lighting conditions, it will even take good pictures of tapestries in rooms where the light in held to a very low level in order to protect the colors. I have used it in the Victoria and Albert in London and at Chateau Ecouen outside Paris, both in rooms so dark that one could not read a newspaper--but I could take a clear image of their tapestries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved