Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Household Cleaning » Vacuum Cleaners » 7700B » 31 Reviews

Bissell Big Green Complete 7700 Canister Vacuum Cleaner - 1.30 gal - Bagless - Green Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Bring back the Model 1640-6

By Chris from Wyoming on 09/18/2015

I've had this model since Christmas 1990 and still use it today. I'm sure it has many hundreds of hours of operation on it, and have to make occasional repairs to hose connections, but we're talking 25 years here. This is the canister with wand that has the water hose from wand run directly to your faucet. Canister then holds approx. 3 gallons of dirty water with the motor in the canister top. Canister is on wheels and easily rolls behind you. End result is a machine with endless water supply and a large dirty water reserve tank. Best design you've had. Mine isn't pretty, it's got duct tape on the wand with hose clamps here and there, and I've made two repairs to the faucet connection with hose clamps, silicone, and zip ties...and as I write this, I'm cleaning the carpet with this 25 year old model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A bit cumbersome

By Wanted.A.Wand from GA on 09/24/2014

The Big Green Complete is heavy and a bit cumbersome as one wouldn't want to pull it around by the hose, and it is heavy when loaded with water, especially for shampooing. The water filtration was an eye opener for me - I thought it would be more of a vacuum/shampoo as you go product, but it appears to just be a vacuum that deposits the debris into water, as opposed to vacuums that collect the debris in a dry chamber for disposal that causes a cloud of dust...with this machine, one has to decide if one will dispose of the collected water/debris in a toilet (not recommended if on a septic system), or if will be hauling out of doors, or some other means of emptying the sludge. As for individual vacuuming, other less expensive machines are better at suction, collection, and maneuverability; as for shampooing, the wand (my favorite part) is quite handy for reaching further than an upright is able to, but it will not vacuum very well, so be sure to vacuum first. The shampoo did not seem to be strong enough to extract dirt, so had to do some pre-treat, after-treat, and scrubbing with a broom/brush in between using the Bissell wand to extract the water from the carpet. The wand leaks down by the floor where the spray nozzle is located. Overall, I am disappointed for the money spent (I had a Big Green years ago that was better, although very noisy), but as I have not been able to find a canister shampooer with a wand, this was my only option, so in that regard, at least I have that now. The user guide did not answer all of my questions, for example, about the float, it says there is only one way for it to go, but it doesn't say what that way is, and there is no illustration, so do I turn it up, or down, or front, or back? Also, there is a tool called drain cleaner, but there isn't any info on how one uses this tool. The floor attachments are plentiful, but where will I store all of them? It is a bit of a storage hassle; guess I'll get a plastic bin and put them in a closet or under a bed. To sum up, I don't think I would recommend friends to buy this particular shampooer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Green Machine is great.

By jimmylin from FL on 08/24/2014

I love my Big Green Machine but the only thing I dislike about it is when I am on the carpet. it is too hard to push or roll the machine. I always have to pick it up to move to different area even though its too heavy to lift. I wish that they make some changes on the wheels and make it easy to push or move otherwise I love Bissell products. This is the only brand o0f shampooer or vacuum I love to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Green 7700 - Cut cleaning time in half

By carolyn29 from Sault Ste. Marie, MI, USA on 08/14/2014

I have a routine for sweeping, moving furniture and mopping that gets the dirt, dust and cat hair out of my house in about 4hours for 1400 square feet. Out of the box, my cleaning time was cut in half. Done in two hours. Vacuum worked well on my laminate floors and three small throw rugs. I love seeing cat hair in water. Fur balls were always defeating my bagless vacuums. Only had to dump and clean the canister once at the end of the job, not three times. Hard floor cleaner was amazing. Floor was drying as I went. The scent of the cleaner is fresh and subtle. Coffee dribbles and other hubby spots came off easily. Easier to swing than a mop and no double mopping to pick up extra water and no rinsing because of extra soap. and now, extra knitting time. May have to borrow a friend's carpet to see how that works. And deep clean the upholsery in the car. With my Bissell, I am cleaning happy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very disappointed

By Bonan from Michigan, USA on 06/07/2014

This may be the most disappointed I have ever been in a purchase. I unpacked and assembled the machine following the instructions. Turn it on to start vacuuming and the suction was so poor it would not pick up a single thing. Shut it down and went through all the trouble shooting tips to no avail. While going through the trouble shooting multiple times I have to say I am not impressed with the design and can see why the suction is nonexistent. I am not sure where the air powered floor turbo brush derives its name but the brush would not even turn. Unfortunately I now have a 100 percent useless piece of equipment taking up space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The hose??

By Mazzie02 from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 03/28/2014

I love the machine, except that I can't use it for just a quick clean up (I'll get a dustbuster for that). But the hose, it smells, like really bad. I clean it after each use and have even gone so far as to soak it in bleach, soap, and laundry detergent. Why does it still smell after being thoroughly dried after each use?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This machine does it all!

By Angiemarie111 from Pittsburgh, PA, USA on 03/10/2014

I recently moved into a new home that has ceramic tile and WHITE carpeting. With two toddlers and two cats, it goes without saying that I was concerned about how I would manage to keep it all clean! I bought this machine immediately after moving in, while I was recovering from cancer surgery. Not only does it vacuum, mop, and clean my carpets and upholstery...it does all of this through a water filtration system. This means no more dust in the air - even when emptying the tank! This is HUGE for all of the allergy sufferers in the house. Plus, it is a canister based system, which is WAY easier on my back than those big machines. Now I'm just saving up for the Symphony for little every day messes!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as great as I expected

By Ranny708 from Tampa, FL, USA on 11/23/2013

This machine is great.. except I have 4,500+ sq ft of carpeted house to clean... I was tired after I was finished, and the result was not as great as I hoped. This is my 4th Bissell product. I have darker carpet upstairs in my house but downstairs the carpet is white. So if I did not pretreat the white carpet I was wasting my time with only the carpet cleaner and even that the stains were not coming out as I expected. I have two small dogs who piddle when and where they please and this did not get the stains out! I focused mainly on the stained areas, giving them an extra scrub. I should have bought the other Big Green Clean Upright Machine but we do not plan to keep the carpets as long as I would like to keep the machine, so I thought by purchasing the multi-use I could use on my new floors after they are installed in a year. Sadly, I am disappointed and hope that the hard floor cleaning option makes up for the carpet cleaning not being so great. I also used the Pet Urine Eliminator and the Urine Pretreat spray directly on the stains. I still am giving it 4 stars because the darker carpeting upstairs and the carpeting that was not stained looks great. The hard floor cleaner worked well on tile floors, but those are easy to keep clean.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

big green complete deep cleaner/vacuum 7700

By Mary from Tonawanda, ny on 10/26/2013

This is my third Bissell steam cleaner. I love it. It is more like the first one I owned with the two tanks but smaller. I steam cleaned area rugs and was amazed how much dirt came out. I haven't tried the other features yet, but it served me well to clean the rugs. The handle is more comfortable than the older models. The only disappointment that I have is the carrying case does not have enough spaces for all the parts and it doesn't have a cover. When it's not on the machine, storing the parts is a little cumbersome. Will need to purchase storage containers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Heavy

By sassystanley from burlington, VT on 10/26/2013

You need muscles to navaigate with the Big Green and a sense of adventure to figure out the instructions, but it does a good job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

too loud

By helping hubby from dammam. KSA on 10/19/2013

I had recently got the all rounder. Functions are good but it was too loud. Is it like this or the one I got was dameged?! Am really thinking to return it because of the noise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The vacuum head, not as good as regular vacuum.

By Bekabek from Texas, US on 10/06/2013

Let me start by saying, I looooooove Bissell. I have had several in the last 15 years, my children and my husband use them too, which is why I have had more than one. They are kinda rough on them. I broke our last one using it on my car, though. I decided to splurge and get this model, even though I have a bissell carpet cleaner I adore. Being able to use it wet or dry on more than one surface was a big plus as I have a lot of tile, carpet, and lots of kids; and that equals messy floors. The only feature I have tried is the most important to me, the vacuum. The problem is the vacuum head, the bristles don't reach down far enough to move the carpet fibers, so it doesn't remove as much dirt from my carpet. Also the suction for the vacuum isn't as good as my previous bissell models. I read all the reviews on making sure the water level was just right, and I followed the instructions. I am sure the other features are great, but since the vacuum feature does not preform as I need it, I can't justify keeping it. :( I will have to return it after 3 days and buy a regular bissell vacuum. I got a cheaper stick vacuum for the kids and hubby to use, this next bissell is allll mine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top Notch Carpet Cleaner

By Jerry from Washington State on 09/02/2013

This is the third Bissell carpet cleaner I have purchased. Long ago I owned one where the water hose was connected directly to a faucet. Then approximately 17 years ago I purchased the Green Machine which has worked quite well and is still in excellent working order, though I have had to epoxy the many cracks and separations in the plastic head. Then in December, 2012 I purchased the Big Green Complete 7700 as a replacement for my Green Machine. I use the 7700 for carpet cleaning and occasional hard floor cleaning. I have found the 7700 to do an excellent job of cleaning carpets, though I will freely admit that because it is a multipurpose appliance, there are some aspects of the old Green Machine that are more convenient. First, the 7700 is bulkier and not as easy to maneuver around the house and the wheels need an upgrade to make it roll more conveniently. I am also a bit concerned with how the hose connects with the main body. I feel that this is a weak connection and subject to problems in the future. This connection needs a design upgrade. Having the water hose contained within the down tube is a big upgrade though as well as the water heater. The hand grip & water trigger is much more comfortable on the 7700 than the old Green Machine too. The 7700 is also significantly quieter than the old Green Machine. I find canister carpet cleaners far more convenient than upright cleaners for it is much easier to get into hard to reach areas and cleaning stairs. The 7700 is one of the very few canister carpet cleaners available at a reasonable price. I would highly recommend the 7700 just for the carpet and upholstery cleaning feature alone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A vacuum to love!!

By Ehab from Las Vegas, NV, USA on 08/13/2013

So far I have 2 of the Big Green Complete 7700 vacuum, can't live without them. When I was in the Middle East, I purchased my first one which was 220v, and was not observant enough to put water in for filtration. Later on, I figured that suction is meant to be more superior, and the water filtration will optimize that. I purchased another one here in the States, and it is as superior and great as what I am used to. I recommend this complete deep cleaner/vacuum to anyone who wants to get the job done in a professional way. Even though you will find it a little bit cumbersome at the beginning, but you will quickly get used to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON'T BUY!!!!!!!!

By Alice from New York, NY, USA on 08/09/2013

First, it's to heavy to use, especially when you fill it with the water. Second, water stays in the hose. After some time it started to smell really bad every time I used this vacuum. Dust sticks to the wet hose. Thus, it started to rot inside the hose and smell bad. Finally, small flies appeared in the hose. I, guess, it happened because of the wet hose. I wish I didn't buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why wasn't this machine around years ago?

By Darling El from Fort Mill, SC, USA on 07/13/2013

I have used several types of carpet cleaners over the years. This machine is the best. Love that I am able to do all my floor care with one machine. I have recently purchased this machine. I had already cleaned carpets with my other machine. Since it was new, wanted to check it out. I could not believe the amount of dirt I got out of the carpet that I had already cleaned. With a little extra work, I was able to clean an area where the kids spilled something and left it. The area was black, but it is almost back to the carpet color. Finally, have gotten the dirt out of the carpet at the front door, would always dry looking brown. It was easy to use. I love that there was no dirty water drips left in the carpet--as has been a problem with other upright machines. It also vacuums well. Love the floor cleaner. It got up spills on the kitchen floor that usually require some scraping to loosen, also removed shoe scuffs with no extra effort. If this machine had been around years ago, my work sure would have been easier. Now have to make time to redo my carpets so that they can also look like new--by the way they are at least 10 years old. The machine is easy to disassemble for cleaning and reassemble for using.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Deep Cleans

By Bruce1955 from Portsmouth, VA, USA on 06/18/2013

Have only used this a few times. Great cleaning machine!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic machine

By Watchman from Alabama, USA on 04/04/2013

As a former professional carpet cleaner I always called these types of machines, "soak and suck." I have rented this machine from Lowe's twice now and and am more than pleased with it's performance. Having used the Big Green Cleaning machine I can no longer classify IT as a "soak and suck." Fantastic Machine. 5 star PLUS!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This produce is great for pet owners

By Patti from Albuquerque, NM on 03/31/2013

I have never run across a machine that is so well made and a machine that can do it all when it comes to vacuum, rug, and hard floor cleaning. I'm grateful that all I need to do is switch one tool and continue cleaning in a different mode. It is just so easy to use and what a time saver when cleaning up after two dogs and a cat. This machine has great suction and I really like the wand on this machine. Thank you Bissell one machine does it all beautifully.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Green Complete

By Edward from New York, NY, USA on 03/19/2013

Great product it did everything I wanted and then some. My wife was very happy. And a happy wife is half the battle.. LOL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my Big Green Complete!

By Megan from Manistee, MI, USA on 01/22/2013

After vacuuming and deep cleaning our carpets, my husband said they looked like new. I agree & am especially happy with the way the heavy traffic areas turned out. (We have a dog, 2 cats & live in the woods w/ sandy soil.) The house has never felt more clean. It is helpful that all the pieces come apart & are easy to clean/rinse (if you have a utility sink). A huge plus is that the Bissell cleaning products are biodegradable so I don't have to sacrifice the environment for having a clean home. Totally satisfied!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Heavy to use

By DigiRep from TN on 01/02/2013

Good idea in a multi-use product but too heavy for me to use (women) and wish I did not purchase it. Also hard to fill; move and empty water. Essentially hard to use. Wasted my $$ in the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO FAR LOOKS GOOD.

By DEE IN WOODLYN from WOODLYN,PA. on 01/01/2013

I did get this in the mail, last week. looks pretty tough. Haven;t used it yet, but it looks great. So many attachments to use. Also I have 3 dogs, so this will do the trick. Very sturdy, and big to. A little more heavier then what I thought in the picture when I ordered it. Ask me again in 1 to 2 months, how it is. Cause I just had professionals come in and do the rugs for Christmas. Dee


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love love love this machine...

By Q from IL on 11/10/2012

It exceeded the rented machine any day. It cleaned the carpet to new again. I have yet to use the bare floor part, but next week I will use that. I can say it is rather buldy machine, but I do not have to take it far out the door for my car. Worked great on my car..Electric cord was long enough for me and the attachment worked great. Thanks Bissel. Also I used your soap, loved it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this machine!

By Amos Moses from Baton Rouge, LA, USA on 09/28/2012

I purchased my Big Green Complete about 6-8 months ago, and I absolutely LOVE it. I never realized that my floors weren't truly grit free until I started using this vacuum. It cleans like no other vacuum I've ever used before. My floors are all tile and stained concrete, with large area rugs. I used to sweep and mop with a broom and mop until I developed back problems. Now it's too painful to use those tools, or to push a heavy vacuum around. The wand on my BGC is very light and easy to push, and the canister glides behind me without a problem. I'm able to clean from ceiling to floor with ease. We have a new construction home and the dust has always been a battle, but not anymore. Since I started using my BGC I'm constantly getting compliments on how clean my home is, and I always say it all due to my new vacuum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great machine.

By Railyn Dean from Asheville, NC, USA on 09/17/2012

It is the second one that I have owned. Purchased a Grandfather of this one about 22 years ago. It worked great but this is even better. I have managed to use ALL features of this machine and it does a great job. I like the way it can be "taken down" for cleaning. When I am done I always make sure that I rinse all of the parts in the tank and clean the hoses, wands and attachments that I use. I have cleaned three (3) rooms of carpet and they look great. I really like the way that the cleaning solution system is integrated into the hose and wands. Beats the old machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty decent design

By Gordon from Jacksonville, FL, USA on 09/11/2012

I purchased this unit for wet cleaning only, so I can only evaluate the machine for that purpose. The Big Green Complete seems to be fairly well designed, with heavy wands and integral solution piping (as opposed to a separate hose). The wand adapter in combination with the carpet deep cleaning tool did not work for me, and I found this frustrating, but not a major drawback. The user manual is sparse, incomplete and erroneous. The manual specifies two measuring caps of detergent, but the instructions on the tank state only one. The sample bottle specifies 2.5oz/gal, which with a 1.3gal solution tank calculates to 3.25oz - exactly one full measuring cup to the lip (Bissell has confirmed that I am correct). Do not use the measuring cup for detergent addition however as one cannot do so without making a mess. I fill the tank about half way with hot water, measure in 3.25oz with a 5oz well graduated measuring glass, rinse the glass into the tank and then fill the remainder of the tank. There is a sliding panel on the power switch pedestal. Slide the panel to the left to wrap the cord for storage, and to the right to easily remove the cord bundle. This is not explained in the user manual. Also, I have yet to find out what the "drain cleaner" part is for (UPDATE from Bissell: "The Drain Cleaner is designed to assist in unclogging a drain or sink. The Drain Cleaner attaches to the end of the wand, then hold it over the drain (make sure to get a good seal), turn the machine on to suction out clog. Please note: Do not use this if a chemical has been used to clean the drain.") The upholstery tool bristle component kept popping out of the tool. I solved this problem by installing two small sheet metal screws (#6-1/4") through the back of the brush. When drilling the 1/16" pilot holes for the screws, be sure to position them between the bristle containing cylinders. When using the machine in the wet cleaning mode, the HEPA filter can be removed and no water is required in the collection tank. Removing the HEPA filter results in greater air flow with a drier result, and a waterless collection tank means less weight to lift, carry, drag around and empty. I would guess that the 1.3gal solution tank coverage is about a 9' x 12' rug of average filth which equates to about 15 of this size rug/bottle of "2X". The process is not effortless and requires patience. The advantage of owning a machine as that you can tackle a room at a time at your leisure without the time constraints of a rental unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Effective, but bulky.

By Beachgirl247 from Westhampton Beach, NY, USA on 07/28/2012

As a vacuum, this model is very efficient. As a carpet cleaner, it doesn't work so well on berber. It is larger than I expected and I have a hard time pulling the main unit behind me as I vacuum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for multiple mess-maker household

By KK from South FL on 06/04/2012

I purchased this machine because we have a multiple pet, small child, mess-prone hubby household. I have had the machine about 2 weeks and so far I have wet cleaned the bedroom carpets and our hard tile floors (in South FL, everyone has tile). I have also used the upholstery attachments to deep clean the microfiber upholstered kitchen chairs and sectional, and to spot clean new messes on the carpet. The cat streaked on the couch and nothing would get the smell out until this machine came along. Now we just enjoy the fresh lavender scent from the bissell solution. Even my DH who wasn't too keen on the price tag now admits the machine was worth it. So far I am very happy with the machine and have seen outstanding deep cleaning results on all surfaces. I have not tried the vacuum setting so my review only covers wet cleaning. My only note would be that the machine can get a bit heavy with the water BUT the larger tank means less trips to empty/refill. You can easily do a large room and more with just one tank.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love new machine

By Joker from Illinois on 02/04/2012

I had a Big Green machine for about 15 years and used it hard. Motor finally gave out. So, I just bought this Big Green complete. Used it for the first time today. It did a great job, easier to fill and empty, and much more quiet than the old one. Tried the vacuum and it worked but limited by the vacuum driven beater brush.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Third Bissell Carpet Shampoo Machine for Me

By Bette05 from Rochester, NY, USA on 02/01/2012

I have gone from the first (?) model where the water supply was attached from the faucet to the machine, to the Big Green Machine whose water supply was right in the machine, to this newest model. I had the opportunity to purchase the 7700 and gave my daughter the Big Green Machine; she had it most of the time anyway. I received it right before Christmas and finally got to open the box, check the contents out (lots of accessories), and clean some carpet. I love the canister design (my uprights - vacuum cleaners - always fell over as I tried to clean stairs and upholstery). The machine did a fabulous job of cleaning! I have not tried the vacuum feature, but have read a couple reviews and found people have NOT read the directions - please call Bissell for help. I can shampoo my carpets anytime I want, have a back-up vacuum cleaner, and know this machine will pay for itself quickly and do a great job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved