Home » G48TD » 24 Reviews

Black & Decker G48TD B&d Waffle Bake/ Grill/ Grid Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 24 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

What a great kitchen device !

By Dana from Keller, TX, United States on 05/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had one of these for almost 40 years. We use it extensively and could not live without one. Our last one quit on me suddenly, so I was relieved to still be able to buy this one. I should have bought a couple to ensure I would have one for life !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poorly made

By rhubarb2bake from West Branch, MI 48661, USA on 01/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Love my Mom's old Broil King that was this style so I ordered one. Before I ever used it I noticed that the plates fall out every couple times I opened it, the plates fall out. They don't seem to fit very well either. Returned without ever using. Too bad, in theory it's a great idea.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the worst waffle maker ever

By TC101 from Oklahoma, USA on 01/03/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's made out of cheapest materials you can buy! The retaining clip is barely strong enough to hold the griddle Plates in place. The hinge is too weak, doesn't close properly And worst of all it cooks unevenly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheaply made. Doesn't close correctly. Has dents.

By hopedforbetter from Undisclosed on 12/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Waffles do bake but don't stay hot. Folding back the top to flat position can catch the spring cord between the plates. Plates don't clip in securely and evenly. They are nonstick coated so food removes easily. Not like my old one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellant product! Can't ...

By Lucy from Sarasota, FL, USA on 11/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellant product! Can't find any more looking for two for Christmas presents. Listed as out of stock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent appliance....highly recommend.

By Sunshine from Florida on 10/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I owned one for years, and gave it to a relative as we were moving and had no place for it. Regretted it so much, that purchased a brand new one as I could not live without it!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice n Easy

By Richie from Cleveland, OH, USA on 08/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took this to a resort to save some money on food. Boy, did we ever. This machine made perfect waffles on the very first time (using instant pancake mix, even!). Then we used it to make pizza pockets (some bread, squirt pizza sauce, bag of pepperoni, and cheese). Finally, we flipped the cooking plates to make some pressed panini-style sandwiches and grilled cheeses. The removable plates make clean-up a cinch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doing it's job

By Bruce from Antioch, Nashville, TN 37013, USA on 08/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit works so much better than its twin that we replaced with this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

waffle iron/grill

By alff from Sandy, UT, USA on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this is the poorest piece of cooking equipment I have ever seen. From the beginning, after following the instructions, it stuck and the waffle plates fell off. I would never buy another black & decker product or take it if it was given to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This particular grill has ...

By Kenneth1 from Dallas, TX on 06/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This particular grill has been aroud a long time. It is still the best not only for waffles BUT have yet to find another grill that has heat on both sides and the top is weighted enough to press and grill sandwiches correctly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great waffle iron

By Hack from Merced, CA, USA on 06/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is at least our third B & D waffle iron like this one - because I love it and use the heck out of it. It makes great square waffles that aren't thick - like many of the Belgian waffle irons. I make waffles every Saturday morning and my family loves them too. I've tried others but they don't measure up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

we have enjoyed this waffle maker

By JAne from Idaho on 04/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we really like that this makes crisp waffels on the outside and moist on the inside. We have used it for our gluten free bread substitute so we use it a lot. We have had it for three years and the pans aren't holding its finish very well so our waffles are sticking to the pans. I want to buy new pans but havn't been able to purchase just the pans. Every site I have gone to says I have to buy the whole thing. I am frusterated because part of the reason we bought this in the first place was so that if one part broke we could buy replacements but it wasn't so.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally crispy waffles!

By Nez from Oregon, USA on 08/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small grid waffles like the ones from my childhood. This appliance makes crispy on the outside - soft inside waffles. The way breakfast waffles are supposed to be made. Everyone jumped on the trendy Belgian style - and these original style makers are hard to find. Waffles come in three basic types; Ice Cream cone - all crispy. Original style (like this great little machine) - crispy outer, soft middle. Belgian - big grid fluffy, soft, thick. Sure Belgian are nice for deserts - covered in fruit and stuff. But for breakfast - it's the fresh, crispy waffle that's been absent for years. B&D - need to market this machine - it's awesome! The outside gets very hot - so be warned, but that's what makes a good crispy waffle. And the grids flip to make sandwiches. Good job B&D. Get this out in the stores. Grandma would be proud.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Family Tradition

By FarmGirl from Undisclosed on 08/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My family has always had one of these convertible grills. Our old one finally broke down and this is the only option I could find. It arrived today and it looks amazing. It works as advertised, it is very easy to use, and if our old one is anything to go by, it will last a lifetime. Thank you, Black & Decker!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After 12 Years, Still A Great Multi-tasker

By romagitana from Southern CA on 07/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this 3-in-1 Grill, Griddle, & Waffle Iron in 2000. I use it constantly for a wide array of kitchen needs. Besides using as grill, griddle, and waffle iron, I fry bacon in the waffle plate/heat setting, which prevents splatter and mess. The metal plates' drain spouts make cleanup simple, too. When unit's not plugged in, I take out the grill plates to use in flattening homemade tortilla dough to make perfect rounds before finishing with a rolling pin and cooking on my comal. It would be great if more plates were available in other shapes to make other items with this unit, such as Belgian waffles, waffle cones, and pizzelle. I have also have the "famous name" grill which is okay for some things, but I like Black & Decker's smaller size, small enough to keep on my counter, so tend to use it more. I live in a studio, so counter space is at a premium and I love multi-tasking appliances like this!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Grill $ Wafflebaker ...

By Dad from Leesburg, Fl 34748 on 06/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Grill $ Wafflebaker is the most used appliance in my house. It is very reliable and easy to use. I hope you never stop making this grill.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

gotta have it helper for breakfast lunch or dinner

By hercooksalot from West Virginia on 03/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was so excited to find this product online and immediately placed the order! My family has enjoyed a long term appreciation for this specific waffle griddle grill product having had 2 others over the past 15 years or longer. Its versatility of use in one product plus easy clean-up and storage makes it an ultimate must have for any cook and even the smallest of kitchen including a dorm room or RV. Great gift for anyone, especially yourself!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Keep Looking

By ingrid98684 from Vancouver, WA on 02/13/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Product does not work for us...would return if possible. Waffles stick and will not come out, despite "seasoning" per the guidelines. Have to use a knife to pry it open, which results in waffles ripping.....see photo. Griddle side gets so hot, the oil we use to "season" it burns on and will not come off, leaving the surface tacky to the touch and gross. Multiple trips through the dishwasher cannot remove this residue. Would not recommend this product and ours is headed for the Goodwill. Keep looking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best ever

By Dave from Northern Minnesota on 01/18/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use.cleanup is a snap.will buy a second one for the camper


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is easy to use , easy to clean & compact.

By mommyout from nc on 12/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this every week. My husband make waffles and it is so easy to wipe clean.The griddle makes grill cheese well also. It was a yardsale find but worth this price. Other cheaper brands are a waste. You try them and they makes a mess. The light on this one lets you know when it is ready to cook and the waffle is done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it - but...

By Gypsy Jane from Undisclosed on 09/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the griddle. It's not the first one I've had. This one I've had for 10 years. However - after 10 years the non-stick coating started flaking on one of the plates. I tried to find a replacement plate and online parts doesn't have it. I called and they did, but it would cost 2/3 the cost of a new griddle. I will use the flaky plate, but I am disappointed. The product itself, though - that's wonderful, versatile, compact, and one of my favorite appliances.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impressive results for the money

By Bob from Upstate, NY on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The appearance, construction and overall performance of this product is quite impressive for its most reasonable price tag. My original intent was to shop for a replacement waffle maker and I spotted this combo in a restaurant supply store. Its compactness, convenient control panel location, removable/reversible cooking surfaces and the 2-year warranty were features that immediately prompted me to give it a try. After 1 month of Sunday waffles, I'm quite pleased with this product's consistent results. The timer light is quite accurate for basic waffle recipes, but cooking times are slightly a bit longer if egg whites are used in the recipe. After trying both recipe versions, results were a nice even baked crispy outside and a tender inside, with no messy batter overflow. Also, this is the first waffle iron I've ever used that has "true" non-stick grids. I was equally impressed with the results in making grilled cheese and Reuben sandwiches. The pressure from the lid allows an even melting of the cheeses and a nice golden toasting on the bread. Best of all, cleanup was a cinch with the removable cooking surfaces. The only "cons" I have about the 3-in-1 is that there is no cord wrap or any place to attach it for storage. Also, there is no grease cup furnished for use at the end of the reservoir. You just have to be careful that the container you use is not plastic, that will melt from the hot grease -- Universally, I still give this B & D product a 5 star for all of its other nice features!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poorly made.

By Rippedoff from Oak Park, IL on 01/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The first grill/griddle/wafflemaker I got did not heat properly and left waffles and pancakes raw inside after 15 minutes of cooking. Cooking plates did not seat properly in grid clips and notches, causing one of them to pop out. The non-stick coating was scratched. I got a replacement. The replacement has the same problem with the cooking plates, in addition to which the back hinge is loose, causing the top to slide all over the bottom and causing the top to overhang the bottom by 3/8 to 1/4". The top also does not sit level on the bottom, so one corner is raised higher than the rest. This second unit also fails to cook waffles properly; they come out half burnt and half raw after 15 minuites' cooking time. But the instruction manual says "cooking time is 3 to 5 minutes"!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The waffle Iron worked great.

By Silver fox Verified Purchaser from Austin Tx on 01/28/2009


Describe Yourself:

Casual Cook

Pros:

Consistent Results, Fast, Adjustable, Non-stick

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it for Saturday morning breakfasts It was easy to use Cleaned up great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved