Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Grills » GR100 » 35 Reviews

Black & Decker Gr100/griddle/electric/2 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

8% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Uneven heating

By BikerRay from Undisclosed on 04/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a lightweight griddle that has very uneven heating - too hot around the edges, cooler in the middle. I measured the temperature with an infrared thermometer - when the control was set to 310 degrees, the center was at 350 and the area over the elements was at 430. The base is way too thin to distribute the heat evenly; you have to do all your cooking in the middle strip. If I hadn't lost the receipt, it would be going back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst griddle I have ever used

By Sue from Millsboro DE on 09/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this griddle for my husband to cook bacon. It says it is a non stick surface but the bacon even sticks while cooking . I am also having a problem with the temperature control keeping the temperature on the surface of the grill. While cooking the bacon you can see the bacon fat starting to glaze over on the surface as it would when it starts to cool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

doesn't get hot enough

By JRae from Minneapolis, MN on 06/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this griddle about a year ago. Worked fine in the beginning BUT now it doesn't get hot enough to brown pancakes anymore--even at the highest temperature. Very frustrating as the appliance still looks brand new.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great griddle.

By Newbergfarmer from Newberg, Oregon on 04/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had our griddle for over 15 years. It went gunnybanks this morning. the part where the plug plugs in came loose. We will get another one ASAP. It has even, consistent heating. Pancakes and french toast are evenly cooked. The coating never came up. There has never been a taste of the coating. It was a great buy. We can't wait to get a new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I bought this giddle ...

By pdoff from Ontario, Canada on 02/21/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this giddle because of it's size, but since then I have had nothing but problems with it. After the first use I noticed that food was starting to stick to the non stick surface. I returned it and got a replacement but this new one is doing the same thing. The more i use it the worse it is getting. I do not reccomend this product to anyone. This is the only non stick surface that I have ever had problems with but then again it is the first Black & Decker as well. I will never purchase any product from B&D again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

non stick coating is poor

By highhopes from Canada on 01/07/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After using this product only a few times (mostly for pancakes), the non-stick coating was already wearing off & it became extremely hard to clean. This was using only plastic flippers with it & handwashing with mild soap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grill GR100

By Frank from Miami, Fl on 11/26/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

food sticks to the grill, no matter how much oil or butter on use. It is all items from eggs, french toast, pancakes, bacon, etc, etc. It seems that it does not have a telfon surface.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible product

By DonS from Undisclosed on 11/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a terrible product - it heats unevenly - It varies as much as 200 degrees in temperature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is terrible

By leCook from Undisclosed on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought one of these last year and have used it a few times. Each time I bring it out, I swear I am never using it again, but a few months later I am tempted by the thought of being able to cook batches of pancakes all at once. This time, I am done with it. It doesn't heat evenly, and never has. As a matter of fact, it hardly heats at all - I had it set at 350 for over an hour and could still touch it without burning myself. A shameful representative of B&D's products. Don't bother buying it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice griddle, when the heat is on.

By Mel, the best pancake grandma ever! from Olathe, KS on 10/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a nice sized griddle for cooking multiple items at the same time. However, all of a sudden you notice nothing is sizzling anymore. Not the bacon, not the pancakes and not the eggs. But wait, the light is "on" on the control knob! Very annoying, easy to fix. Usually just takes pulling the heating element out and re-inserting it again. But really, who wants to stand and monitor the cooking of all things at all times? Not me. Give it a big thumbs down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome!

By Luv2cook from Mansfield Tx on 09/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used my griddle for the first time last night fixing my son breakfast for dinner.(YUM) It was awsome I was able to cook the pancakes, sausage & eggs all at the same time! It was fast and no mess. After I was finished all I had was one thing to clean up and it was so simple I cant wait to use it the next time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Dissappointed

By billdburns from Odon, IN on 09/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The worse Black & Decker product I ever bought. The thermostat does not regulate heat, you will be cooking and then all of a sudden your food is just setting there without heat. I have owned mine for three weeks and the non-stick cooking surface is sticking even after using non-stick cooking spray. I am a big fan of B&D products, hand tools, small appliances, coffee makers and bought the griddle because of my experience with their products. This one is going into the trash today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would not recommend this product

By Sammy from Atlanta on 08/21/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this griddle on 8/7/11, and its being returned today. Its been used 3 times. Everything sticks and you cant get it clean. This is the worse griddle I have ever owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst griddle I have ever purchased.

By Matt B from Middletown, NY on 07/30/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The first morning I attempted to cook breakfast, The eggs toward the back stuck and then burned, the ham in the front hardly cooked, and at about 350 degrees, it began to warp so badly that two of the legs lifted off the counter and it started to make popping sounds. Worried that it would shatter, I turned it off and re-cooked breakfast on the stove. Overall, the heating is uneven, the non stick surface sticks to everything, and it warps when heated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BAD SURFACE

By CALIGIRL from Undisclosed on 07/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

THE TEFLON SURFACE IS SO THIN THE FIRST TIME YOU CLEAN IT, THE SURFACE COMES OFF.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awful

By cookinnurse from New Orleans, LA on 07/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It didn't cook evenly at all and the top doesn't remove so cleaning it is a nightmare especially since its supposed to be made where the grease can run to the drip tray but you cant clean where the grease ran


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not cook evenly

By pancakelover from Undisclosed on 06/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product shows a line right down the middle of the pancake. It does not clean well, and it does not demonstrate the nonstick properties that it boasts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Product

By railmanstm from Central Pennsylvania on 06/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased this griddle mainly because of the warming tray. We had it for only 6 months before tossing it into the trash. The product would not maintain a constant temperature, with the heat actually shutting off in the middle of cooking, making it almost impossible to completely cook an egg or pancake. I use other Black and Decker appliances and tools, which work great, but this griddle is very much the exception.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

would not buy again

By Mflitzie from Inver Grove Heights Minnesota on 05/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had a black and decker griddle for ten years.Bought this new one and it is junk, teflon is scuffed using plastic spatula.Everything sticks to it .And plug does not stay hooked to griddle.Worst purchase ever.Do not recommend.Have used it only four or five times since purchase at christmas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not cook the food in ...

By K from Phoenix AZ on 05/21/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Does not cook the food in the middle of the griddle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

temp goes down

By cj from seattle, wa on 04/23/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I would not reccomend this grill to my friends because after the initial start the grill gets hot like its suppose to but once it gets to say 375 degrees the light goes out like it is suppose to but it does not keep a constant temperature. After cooking bacon, I was barely able to cook the eggs. Took a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible

By baconandeggs from Undisclosed on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1 - the drip tray will not stay on the tracks. 2 - does not cook evenly 3 - lately it's been losing heat after several minutes of use Wish i didn't throw the box away so i could return it to the store.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Discouraged with purchase

By discouraged from Grulla, Texas on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product has a pull away cord that lights up once up plug in cord without being plugged into unit. Light remains lit even though it slowly looses its connection to the griddle, in effect leaving you with food that is either under cooked or not even cooked. I am very unhappy with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality

By 1inked1 from Manning, SC on 03/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This replacement griddle is far from the original I purchased many years ago. The temperature is not consistant, nor even and the non-stick surface sticks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The griddle that doesn't get hot

By OLshopper from Harrisburg, PA on 03/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There is something totally wrong in the design of this griddle. The temperature light goes off indicating it has reached the desired temperature but the griddle is NOT hot. You put bacon on it and it just sits there. I ended up putting the temperature to the max of 400 degrees in order to cook the bacon and it still took a while. What heat does show up on the griddle is very uneven. I had to move the bacon around in order to cook it. We are throwing this griddle away and buying a new one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

heat varies, constantly ...

By BreakfastNightmare from Undisclosed on 03/05/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

heat varies, constantly needs heat adjusted. Food sticks to Teflon, does not clean easily. Had for six months, will replace as soon as possible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of money

By BB from KY on 03/05/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this product for just over a month and I am very disappointed. It does not heat evenly and does not maintain a consistent temperature. It takes almost an hour to cook a pound of bacon and then the ends are way to done and the center is chewy. If I could return it I would.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

product warped on higher temperature

By dee from des moines,ia on 03/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When cooking pancakes at 350 the griddle was fine. when I turned the temp up to cook meat at 400, the whole griddle warped so bad that one end would not sit flat. It did return to a stable and flat griddle after I turned the heat off. I have never had this happen with any griddle before.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a great grill

By grumpy from Undisclosed on 02/07/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Received this for xmas from my wife.I have been cooking for 50+ yrs and i know what a grill is supposed to do. I Have have used this twice since received and a large overheat line has shown up on one side of grill and goes the complete length of grill.I am not a rocket scientist but it sure looks like the left side heating element is getting a lot hotter than the right and burning the finish on grill. I am glad i saved the old grill and will use that in place of the new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does Not Stay Hot

By GrumpyCares from Sacramento, Ca on 02/01/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product does not continuely conduct heat to cook food properly. To make something as simple as grilled cheese the heat must be on full (400 degrees) and after cooking one side to a light golden brown it then shuts down to touch safe heat. If the sandwich is flipped the other side will not grill. It takes about 30 minutes to make 2 sandwiches. I have had similar problems making bacon and hashbrowns. Bacon does not cook beyond defrost stage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not purchase this griddle!

By karen from charleston sc on 01/22/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recieved this for Christmas. My husband I both agree that is not a good griddle. It takes a long time to heat up and frequently turns off during cooking. It is very hard to clean! Don't waste your money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Sis from California on 01/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not only was I disappointed, I threw my griddle in the trash! No matter how much non-stick spray you use everything sticks. If you want to cook more than 1 thing its almost impossible to scrape off the griddle enough to cook something else on it. It takes forever to clean it and get all the grease out. It takes longer to cook everything than just using a regular frying pan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is AWESOME, but

By vicstarguard from Romeoville,IL on 01/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This griddle is awesome, but the only thing is, its very messy. They should make or provide a splatter guard. Cooks great and evenly. Hash browns, bacon, pancakes cook in a flash. I highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not worth the money

By dan from kentucky on 12/30/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

everything I cook on this grill sticks, I've tryed everything, low heat high heat, and it doesn't mater it still sticks, I even tryed non stick spray, still sticks to cooking surface......I'll call and see what can be done about this. It's no good to me the way it is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Black and Decker Griddle

By Theresa the Would-be Chef from Phoenix on 08/27/2008


Cons:

Not Functional, Difficult To Use

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Replacement

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This griddle does not seem to work right. It has a temperature setting, it has to preheat-like an oven before it will start cooking. Then when it is finally cooking, has reached the correct temperature, it will go off. The owner's manual states that it will cycle off and on to maintain even cooking temperature but the one I have will actually stop cooking when it cycles off, then it has to heat back up when it cycles on. Something as simple as a hamburger patty takes forever to cook.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved