Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Kettles » JKC650 » 27 Reviews

Black & Decker Jkc650 B&d Jkc650/ss Cordless Kettle/360 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 27 reviews)

22% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Rusting kettle

By Vic1959 from Moncton, NB, Canada on 02/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's supposed to be a stainless steel kettle? How would B&D explain the rust forming inside my kettle? Not good. What I should do is place this on my "What not to buy" YouTube showcase. I would have given this a lower than 1 star, but I don't see the stars with a minus in front of them, so 1 it is. I'll attach a photo soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT Great

By JenniferH from Carbonear Newfoundland on 09/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This kettle is very loud compared to the kettle I replaced it with, also the little plastic and mesh screen that comes with it does not fit properly, there is no way to get it to hook into the stainless steel sheet metal like it's intended to. It is too small for the hole.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This kettle leaks just above the on/off button

By Shelley from Lindsay, Ontario on 05/31/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the second black and decker kettle i have purchased and it will be the last product I purchased from black and decker Both these kettle leak water everywhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By User from mexico from Mexico city on 02/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this kettle for two years now and I'm very satisfied, totally easy to use and I love the auto shut off, no more worries about leaving the kettle on the stove and subsequent problems that action involved. Also, for me it's way cheaper than using gas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The product looks stylish

By Disappointed from Maricopa, AZ on 02/18/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought 1 in late November. By January it was all rusted out. Returned it and our daughter came to visit in February. She thought she was doing us a favour and bought the same 1. Within 3 weeks it was rusting out again. I'm very disappointed in it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cover Latch

By Jossie from New Brunswick, Canada on 01/08/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the second kettle I have had like this. The latch on my first one stopped holding the cover down (will not shut off if cover is lifted) and I had to replace it for a new kettle. My new kettle is only about 6 mos. old & I noticed the same thing happened. I put a piece of tape on my first one for awhile until I purchased another. Now I am having the same thing happen. After looking at it, I don't think I can replace the cover or repair the latch closure?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product had a short life

By TheBuckStopsHere from Markham Ontario on 11/01/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After using the kettle for seven months it started to leak at the base.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lid no longer closes tightly - water evaporates!

By VCS from New London, CT on 10/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I loved this product... purchased one for my home... purchased one for my son's home... purchased one as a Christmas gift for a friend after she admired mine! The pot performed beautifully and safely for a year or so. Then, the lid no longer closed tightly. This faulty lid allowed steam to come out of the top and causing the water to evaporate. My question: Have there been complaints of this type before? Or is my pot faulty? And, finally, is there a way to fix the pot? Or is this planned obsolesence? Your question: would I recommend this product to someone? I have in the past - but now I would have to add the problem of the lid with my pot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love the kettle ...

By Debbie from Ontario on 10/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love the kettle unfortunately I have now had 2 of them within the last 2 years and they seem to leak at the bottom of the kettle after a short while. It is a little scary as the electrical connection is located there as well. So I won't be buying another one thats for sure. I thought perhaps the first one was a "one of", but apparantly not!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leaking Kettle

By Em from Riverside, CA on 08/23/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product is great except after three months the bottom starts leaking, I returned the first one, now the second one is leaking. I just want to know why after three months the kettle starts leaking at the bottom? What can I do about it?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fragile

By Boltono from Montreal, Quebec on 05/10/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just put this kettle to the garbage after barely 2 years of very moderate use (5-6 times a week on average) First, it leaked, then the flimsy on/off switch broke. It is still made the very same way. Avoid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this product leaks from the handle onto the base

By white angel from kitchener ontario on 04/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

my B & D stainless steel kettle leaks water from the bottom of the hanadle onto the base of the unit which causes me concern. I usually buy B & D products but will have second thoughts now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Water Leaks from the Water Window

By Roadrunner from Vancouver, BC on 04/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this kettle because it's stainless steel and cordless. But in less than a year, water started to leak from the sides of the Water Window and it got worse. The store exchanged another one for me with the same model. Again in 10 months time, it started to leak again from the same area. This product only has a life time of 10 months. Don't buy this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

on & off switch has issues

By unhappy from Noth East, Maryland on 04/12/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have just tossed the 2nd one of these in 3 years. Seems like just past 1 year the on & off switch breaks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broken two times. Not a good buy.

By Disappointed from Philadelphia, PA on 04/12/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought for 80-something mother. This is the 2nd time it broke. The lid pops open while boiling!! Not a good situation. The first one broke and was replaced. I do not know if they will replace it again...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

starting leaking in less than a year

By zeusdoggie from Canada on 04/08/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased my first kettle and within the first year, it started to leak right at the bottom of the kettle (where the plastic meets the steel). So I replaced it with the identical kettle. The same thing happened. I can't believe it. I'm going to find a different manufacturer and model this time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cord way tooooooo short!

By kettle from Kitchener, ON on 03/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband and I were deliighted to finally find the cordless kettle we were looking for. We even bought one for our son. Got it all set up, and although the short cord is a great feature, it barely reached the bottom of the receptacle, and besides that we could not move it out from under the cupboarod. Consequently our cupboards were all steamed up!!! It didn't matter where we tried to plug it in, the same problem. My son couldn't believe that the cord was not longer. As he mentioned who doesn't have a receptacle under your cupboard!!! Unfortunately we have had to take both of them back and start over!! Any suggestions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MY Tea Pot

By ohiogal from Ohio on 03/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sits right next to the coffee pot in our home. Heats water fast. Looks good. Sturdy and durable. I have had it for over a year and it looks brand new. Nice screen to filter water in spout. Nothing else. Not fancy but works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Parts in the lid broke on ...

By Bob from Undisclosed on 02/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Parts in the lid broke on the first day we used it. No way I can find parts


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great until the spring in the lid broke

By poppyblu from Undisclosed on 02/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked great, very fast to boil until the spring in the catch to the lid broke. So now the lid stays permenantly open. Time to return to store : ) Although we have had the product for around a year & do not use it very often it was a great product until then.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product was very disappointing

By terrierfan from Manitoba Canada on 01/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this kettle just before Christmas and inadvertinly threw out the receipt. Now the kettle is leaking from the water level guage. I have used it for six weeks and through my own carelessness I cannot get warranty. I am very disappointed with this product as I shopped for a long time to purchase the best product for my money (senior citizen on fixed income). I want to make others aware that this kettle obviously has a fault.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product. Great ...

By MeekaThomas from Undisclosed on 01/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Great Quality. Does the job perfectly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this cordless kettle makes the water taste awful..

By Leo from Collingwood, Ontario on 12/30/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this kettle for over a week now and have boiled it many times a day. I can't get the smell and taste of plastic out of it, the water tastes awful and makes whatever I am making taste awful. I even boiled vinegar and water in it to take it away and it did nothing. L


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannot reheat same water

By Zeta from bc canada on 12/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While this kettle heated the water just fine, it has a feature that was its downfall. You cannot reheat the water unless the element cooled down enough, we even tried to fill with cold water to help speed up the cooling down but that didn't work. My husband finally broke it when he put a weight on the switch to force it to stay on (which the manual said not to do). We bought a Oster and can reheat repeatably without a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

questionable quality

By km888 from Brampton, Ontario on 12/13/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this product for about one year and it starts leaking. I think the Calcium corrosion causes it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product leaks!

By Max from Southeast US on 11/06/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this kettle in late July and it now leaks water. My last B&D Kettle lasted 5 years before it died.... I would not recommend this product....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad taste of plastic

By mistyo from Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada on 11/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I boil water to make a cup of tea there is a distinct taste of plastic on the tea. We use our own well water which has no taste on it and has been tested.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved