Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Waffle Makers » WMB500 » 71 Reviews

Black & Decker Wmb500 Belgian Waffle Baker Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 71 reviews)

8% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very Poor Waffle Maker

By refusmojo from Indianapolis, IN, United States on 06/28/2015

I bought this waffle maker and the hinges broke on the first attempt to make waffles. I wrote Black and Decker and they sent me replacement plastic hinges which broke upon first use. I fashions my own hinges from 1/2 inch dowel rods which worked well then I find that it doesn't cook evenly, that is, one half cooked while the other half barely cooked and even after five minutes of cooking still not done. This is a terrible product and I wish I never purchased it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

doesnt hold up

By doyget from Undisclosed on 05/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this waffle iron the first time I used it one side hinge melted and broke. the second time the other side hinge broke. I returned to kohls and they gave me a new one and the same thing happend to the second one. Do not waste your money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge broke after only a few uses

By raebeth from Undisclosed on 09/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As far as cooking goes, this waffle iron did well. Unfortunately, after a few uses the plastic at the end of the hinge, which kept the two sides firmly together without wobbling, broke.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little waffle maker

By tige45 from miami, fl on 07/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This makes me want to have breakfast 3 times a day. I love this waffle maker and it's ease of use and cleaning. Very sturdy and practical.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trouble

By The House Cook from Davenport, FL on 07/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this item for about a year and have used it about 10 times. I took it out today and a piece fell off. When I checked it both plastic tabs that hold the 2 halves together fell apart. I am disappointed at the cheapness of construction of a crucial point in the product. Now to see if it is worth fixing or if I should just buy a new one from a different brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not worth taking out of the store

By Suzy from Daytona Beach, FL on 06/11/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product and have used it three times. The sides that hold the hinges have broken off both sides. Do not waste your money on this item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

POORLY BUILT

By REDDEVILMEL from MUSKOGEE OK on 04/28/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

AFTER ONLY 5 USES THE TOP SECTION BROKE OFF, THE CONNECTING PINS ARE MADE OF HARD PLASTIC AND BOTH SIDES BROKE APART. IT DID A GOOD JOB WHILE IT LASTED BUT DID NOT LAST LONG, WE HAVE NO KIDS ONLY TWO ADULTS IN THEIR 50S.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I bought this waffle iron ...

By 5catmama from Undisclosed on 04/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this waffle iron a few weeks ago. the first time we used it one side hinge broke. the second time the other side hinge broke.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product inferior

By annb from Undisclosed on 04/17/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have purchased two of these waffle makes months apart at two separate stores and each time the hinge has broken the very first time we used them. We thought the first time was just an isolated incident, and were annoyed to have the second one do the same thing! Checked on Google and there are numerous reports from others about the very same thing. Product needs to be recalled and problem solved before placing them on the market again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge clips broken

By Double Dizzle from Undisclosed on 04/14/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Used only for the third time and both snap-in plastic hinge clips broke. Now the upper half is only held together by the upper heating element wires. More to come on how B&D supports this hungry customer : (


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of junk

By Steve from Maine on 04/07/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've used this twice and already both hinge pins have broken. The handles also seem a bit weak although the are still in tact. It cooks a good waffle if it would only stay together.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinges and Hinge Caps break too easily

By DallasCajun from Dallas, TX on 03/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this product to start making homemade waffles, and after our first use, we were pleased. But I also noticed (AFTER ONE USE) that both hinge caps had fallen out as they were sitting next to the appliance on the shelf. Then after the second use, the top piece was completely disconnected from the bottom unit. Hinges had either broken or also fallen out. Now it's not like this is an appliance that gets banged around. It got used, wiped/cleaned, and put back on the shelf. If you go to the Customer Care-> Parts section for it, the ONLY parts available are the Hinges and Hinge Caps. Coincidence? Probably Not. And the fact that those parts costs MORE than the unit did is a joke. B&D needs to replace those free of charge. The unit works as advertised, but very low quality on the secondary parts. I would not buy the hinges or a replacement unit...I'll buy another brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disapointed

By mom from Undisclosed on 03/22/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have only had this producted for 3 months and the hinges that hold the top and bottom together has already broken.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge Problem

By AJEvyDar from Columbia, SC on 03/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The unit makes great waffles. However, one of the plastic hinges broke after just a couple of uses. I continued to use the product, being careful to gently open/close the lid, lining it up straight. Now the other half of the hinge has fallen out - appears to be a plastic plug. I am very disappointed. I really like the size of the waffle maker and the ease of cleanup. The plastic hinge is a weak point and I hope to get it repaired/replaced under warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This waffle makes great waffles...once!

By Disappointed waffle maker from FL on 03/05/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this to make my kids some waffles. It worked great the first time, but when I went to clean it up, the hinge pins melted/broke out of the hinge. It still works, but the wires are holding the top on...not a great design. If you want a GOOD waffle maker...pass this one up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge Broke 2nd Time Used

By jasonh from Undisclosed on 02/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was given this this waffle Iron as a Christmas Gift. We used it right away and the second time I got it out to use it the Cap that held the hinge together was broke. This was a plastic part that had broke and the clips that held it in there had broke.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wmb500 Waffle Iron

By Carolyn from Alamosa, Colo. on 02/22/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Product makes great waffles but I can't say much about the craftsmanship of the product. If everyone who buys one of these waffle irons uses it once or twice and the hinge caps break, then B&D is going to start to ge a bad name. There should be an upgrade for everyone who bought on of these. The hinge caps should be made of cast aluminum or they should be solid up to the lock. Like I said, makes good waffles but poorly built.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor quality hinge

By NoWafflesInHamburg from Undisclosed on 02/20/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the waffle maker around the Christmas holidays 2011. After the first use, the left cap/hinge broke! Shortly after that, the right cap/hinge broke. I was very disappointed and will never purchase another Black & Decker kitchen appliance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

hinge broke durning second use

By bad waffle maker from Monroe NC on 02/05/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

seems the hing has problems. check this product out before you buy. i cannot recomend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke after one month use

By Sadlydissappointed from Louisiana on 01/31/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this product as a gift. The waffles tasted great, but the hinges to the lid broke after three uses. As far as quality goes I would say this is a poorly manufactured product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toilet Seat Bolts Fix Design Flawed Waffle Maker

By whatsthat4 from Chicago, IL on 01/31/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this waffle maker for Christmas. I followed the instructions carefully. Cleaned and oiled for first use, even threw away first waffle as per instructions. I used it on four occassions making 4 waffles each time. Using same technique each time, the waffles don't always turn out the same. Some are more done than others, so don't look for perfect waffle every time here. There is a crevice between the handle and the hot plate, the batter always finds its way in there and there is no easy way to clean that. My biggest complaint with this waffle maker is the plastic hinges broke off on both sides. If I weren't a mechanical engineer I would have thrown the thing away, but I used some unsused bolts from a toilet seat hinge and I'm still making waffles. BTW I'm not sure if the handles come off, they used what appears to be some kind of H shaped head screw or fastener. If it stops making waffles I will investigate further.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor quality

By Colleen E from Park Rapids MN on 01/22/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this waffle maker for Christmas. After the 3rd time I used it, the hinge that holds it together, so you can lift the top up, melted and fell apart. I had really like the way it cooked and was so satisfied till this happened. Why they would make this part out of plastic when it get so hot there when it cooks, I'll never understand. I'll never buy another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Makes great waffles

By WaffleIron Gift from San Diego, CA on 01/22/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Although, this waffle maker makes beautiful waffles the craftmanship is very, very poor. I was given one and upon opening up the waffle maker the PLASTIC screw for the hinge broke. I thought hey no problem, exchange it for a new one. Got the new one in and used it 2x...the PLASTIC screw on the waffle maker broke off the hinge again. Hmmm, could it be because the waffle iron gets so hot that it affects the PLASTIC screw. NOT a smart design! Sad to say that this product is not worth the money. Save your money to buy a better well designed waffle maker. Dissappointed as Black & Decker is a brand that I always recall as a great quality company. Not for this product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has problems with the top portion.

By Grubby Taco from Scottsdale, Az. on 01/16/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was given this waffle girddle for Christmas and used it for the first time yesterday. When the second waffle was done, I opened the lid and the pin on one side that holds it on fell out in two pieces. (PLastic). I managed to get the lid straight and started on the third waffle. When it was done and I raised the lid, the pin on the other side fell out....broken in to three pieces! Now, I can't get the lid to fit at all and the product is worthless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke on first use.

By mrkbrny from Baton Rouge, LA on 01/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Took it out of the box, pre-treated it as suggested, used it to make a batch of waffles, cleaned it and as I was closing it back up the hinge broke off on one side. Besides that it did make perfect wallfes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy! It's junk!

By hawkeyeia from Wisconsin on 01/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After only using the waffle iron 3 times, the hinge broke. It's now a worthless piece of junk that I can't use anymore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Product

By Unnsatified from Crestview, Fl on 01/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought Wafle iron as Christmas gift. After Fisrt use, went to wash and the two plastic connecting ping broke as if the pieces were brittle. Had stopped using Black and Decker tools for poor parts in construction. Guess the Kitchen appliances are no better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would never recommend this product

By unhappy buyer from PA on 01/08/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The small knobs holding the lid on fell out during my first attempt to use the waffle iron. Therefore, I could not continue to use the unit. I returned the unit and got another new unit as a replacement. The small knobs also fell off the second unit. I'm not sure why this unit has such a defect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad parts

By citygirl from Undisclosed on 01/06/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was so excited to get this waffle maker for Christmas. Unfortunately, the 2nd time I used it, the hinge broke. Trying to check out that one, the other hinge broke. From what I have seen on other sites, this is a VERY common problem in the 1st or 2nd use. Black and Decker, I would recommend fixing the hinges before selling more of these.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not worth the money!

By mommzz from Goose Creek, SC on 01/02/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have purchased 2 of these in less than a month using each one only once and they both fell apart after only one use. the first i thought maybe it was defective ,but when the second did exactly the same thing i realized it has to be the product itself. don't really think i want another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After using just three ...

By Tim from Undisclosed on 12/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After using just three times the plastic hinges break off and you cannot use it anymore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very dissappionted

By MrsBird from Newell WV on 12/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After using this product ONE TIME the knobs that hold the top to the bottom broke!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor design

By oregon consumer from astoria oregon on 12/26/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

we love the waffles this product puts out but.... After using it one time the plastic pins that hold the top to the bottom broke before we could even clean it for the first time now this might be considered a fluke but this is our second one of these waffle makers the first one lasted about 2 months and we though ok fluke so we got another but after this time i decided its a very poor design its really a shame we like the product and will try the warranty but this one was a gift and the box is gone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poorly built

By todd from Undisclosed on 12/22/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used this pile of junk twice and the pins fell out of back.Do not buy this.todd


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge breaks easily

By WaffleMan from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/20/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The knobs that secure the hinge break apart very easily. I only was able to use it one time and then the thing starts to fall apart. On the upside, it does make pretty good waffles. Really wish the plates were removeable though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it fell apart

By tuppence from Oregon on 12/17/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First waffles were great. Then we cooled it, cleaned it, folded it up, and put it away on a shelf. When I went to get it out this evening, the hinge broke immediately, coming apart in pieces on the counter. We made the waffles anyway, and they still cook up nicely, but a working hinge would be far preferable. Suggest getting a better-made appliance. We will send the pieces to B & D and see what they say about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY PIECE OF JUNK

By linnie from Grand Rapids MI on 11/30/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First time I used this it fell apart. The hinges on the side fell out. I read other reviews that said this but I took a chance because of the quality I am use to with Black and Decker. This product is not worthy of their name. Disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The hinges break right away

By love2cook from Colorado Springs, CO on 11/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I liked the looks of this waffle maker, the way it fits in the cupboard, and it does a good job of making waffles. However, the hinges are made from cheap plastic and one popped out during the first use and doesn't stay screwed in, and the other one broke. Also, if you wait until the ready light indicates the waffles are done, they are already too dark.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor construction and function

By No waffles for me from Chicago, Illinois on 11/12/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We had hoped for a quality product. We were disappointed. The hinges snapped almost immediately. The replacement hinges also snapped on their first use. Following the first use, the maker would never heat completely through again and the surfaces stuck to every mix. We'll be looking elsewhere for our next waffle maker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Seems cheaply made

By Unsatisfied from Needham, MA on 11/07/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Won this in a raffle. Took it home, read directions, kids were thrilled to have waffles for dinner. Tops were undercooked compared to the bottoms of the waffles. Kids enjoyed and I cleaned up after it cooled. While washing it with a damp sponge, as per the directions, I noticed the plastic pins holding the hinge together were loose. I took one out and it was broken. The other was intact but came out anyways. I love the thought of the waffle maker but not sure of the quality of the product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just Great...makes Sunday breakfast wonderful

By Denise from Clermont, FL on 10/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to use and love making waffles at home and saving money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Taking another one back!

By Toby from Akeon, Ohio on 10/12/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This made wonderful, crispy waffles but, the plastic screws (Tamper proof) that connect the top and bottom lids break after making waffles about 4 times. This is the second waffle iron with the same problem. Put metal screws in there to hold the top and bottom together. We bought a second one to take to FL, but with the problem we've had twice, we're taking both back today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would not recommend

By S Fohs from East Wenatchee, WA on 10/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product is small, easy to store, but that's it. Made waffles one time,it producted 8 very nice waffles. Then the plastic hinges broke. Thought the hingles were just covered with plastic. Very dissappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy It

By MadDad from Dayton, OH on 09/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The waffle maker is a great size and works great until the little plastic hinges break. On our first one it was after 25-30 uses so we assumed it was just a fluke. On our second one it was after our third use. It is just a cheap little piece of plastic that has to hold the top up while you load batter. I wish they would make it just a little bit better and it would be the perfect waffle maker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Quality

By LuvmyKitchen from Undisclosed on 09/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After only a few uses, the little black buttons that cover the hinges broken. My son had the same model and his did the same thing....I WON'T be buying another!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cheap plastic hinge

By Littlebobbie from Virginia on 08/30/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I loved this after I first got it...but now with both hinges having broken and the new too expensive replacement doing the same after the first use, I would not recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Used once and it broke....our second try

By Kat4 from Albany, OR on 08/26/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the second Black and Decker Belgian Waffle Maker that we have purchased. Our first one lasted two months and the plastic hinge bolt cracked and fell out. Our second try with another new waffle maker and the same problem with the plastic hinge pins, except these broke on the very first use. Very disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hing pins break almost immediately.

By Ric from Los Angeles, CA on 08/22/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The second time I used it the plastic snap-in hinge pin end broke on the left side, on the forth usage the right side fell out. the non stick surface is not that greas either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheap plastic hinges broke within three weeks.

By unklsam from Rochester, NY on 07/17/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Loved the waffels but the plastic hinges broke after about 12 waffels. There is no parts list.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge Clips Broke During Second Use

By WHPC from Undisclosed on 06/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great waffle maker, except for the fact that the snap in hinge pins broke while in use. Sad part is that it was only the second time I got to use the waffle maker. In the process of finding out how difficult it will be to get new pins.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD, BUT...

By SERIOUS CELIAC from LEXINGTON, SC on 05/23/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

HAD THE WAFFLE MAKER 3 MONTHS AND THE LEFT SIDE HINGE BROKE. 2 MONTHS LATER THE RIGHT SIDE HINGE BROKE. GOOD PRODUCT OTHERWISE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke after a week

By Americasweets from San Diego on 05/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had it for about a week and it has broken on me. The hinge is made of plastic and now I have two broken plastic pieces and a waffle maker down the drain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great (except)

By easyone from cottonwood,az. on 05/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The wafflle maker it self works great,the problem is the pins that holds the the top to the bottom are cheaply made and they break. We have gone thru three of them now and had the same results on all of them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheaply Made

By GSO Customer from Greensboro, NC on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Waffle Iron broke on first use. Plastic Pegs holding upper and lower irons failed/broke from units own heat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got it for Xmas and the top came off

By ginger from Undisclosed on 03/24/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this as a gift I only used it about 5 times and the plastic caps on the ends broke and fell out. Now the lid will not stay on and I cannot return it. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plastic hinge pins broke first time I used it

By peanut from Fitzgerald Ga. on 03/10/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Got one for Christmas the hinge pins broke first time I used it. My wife went and got another one the same hinge pins broke only they lasted to the second time, the store won't take either one back so I'm stuck with two defective waffle irons.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad product as hinge pins break when using WMB-500

By LITLBILL from WEIRTON, WV on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use this product about once a month. Each time I use it, the hinge pins are broken. I have replaced the plastic hinge pins about 4 times. The plastic pins do not hold up under heat and brake into two pieces. The pins need to be made up from a material that will last under heat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One hinge pin broke during the first use

By rainydave from Seattle, WA on 02/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The first time I used this waffle maker the hinge pin on the left side broke. I could still cook with it, so I kept it. The second time using the waffle maker was uneventful. The third time I used the waffle maker the hinge pin on the right side broke. The unit will still cook waffles, but I am not very confident on using it. If the hinge was made that cheaply, what are the electronics like? I guess you get what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The waffle iron does a ...

By Lightboy1 from Nottingham, Md. on 02/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The waffle iron does a great job cooking waffles. The indicator light is a good judge for when the waffles are ready. I prefer an extra crisp waffle so I leave it in the iron for another minute or so. The only problem I have encountered is the right side hinge pin has broke. I am currently trying to locate a replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Total Disappointment

By tim49 from Westchester, Ohio on 02/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After only using our Waffle maker one time both top hinge pieces fell apart. Removed from the cabinet open top and the PLASTIC hinges broke. Still able to use, but very disappointed. At this point I would not recommend this product to friends or family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Christmas Gift

By granma1 from Ohio on 02/01/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I only used it 2 times and one of the hinge clips broke. They are made of some cheap plastic and can not handle just common use. Very disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the little hinge ...

By OB from TN on 01/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

One of the little hinge pins broke within 2 weeks of when I bought this product. I can't find out where to get another pin.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Plastic Clips Break!

By HatemyWafflemaker from Gainesville, GA on 01/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Cooks great waffles... If you replace the plastic clips everytime! I have gone thru 3 sets of replacement clips. Cook one round of waffles... and the plastic hinge clips break! Don't buy this one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Falls apart

By NoWaffles4Me from Spokane, WA on 01/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had to get two of these in last month since purchasing for my wife for X-mas. the hinge pins keep shattering after cooling and the machine falls apart.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not very durable

By reddaisy78 from Duncan, OK on 01/23/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've used this product twice and while putting it up both side plastic bolts that promote the open and close movement fell off on the floor and broke into two pieces each. I guess its still useable, but the movement will not be as easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Flawed Design

By Waffle lover from Atlanta GA on 01/10/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The pins that act as a hinge will break. Ours came broken. We asked for and received new pins under warranty. The pins went in fine, but the 1st time we used it they both broke again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

would not recommend this product

By wafflelover from California on 01/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased the B & D belgian waffle maker. The plastic pins that hold the top to the bottom broke out the first use. I called cust. service and they sent me two new ones. Those broke within a week after replacing them. Either this particular appliance was defective or it is very poorly made. Would not recommend it. I will contact customer service to see if I can get my money back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Made good waffles, but broke on first use.

By WaffleFan from Juneau, AK on 01/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

One of the plastic plugs that serve as hinges broke on our first use. It's cheap, but you get what you pay for. The few waffles we made came out fine. Odd that the cord comes out beneath the hot lower plate - - don't know how that would hold up over time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hinge not adaquate for product

By sq2bohntr from Warren, OH on 01/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received item as x-mas present. Used twice, waffles turned out excellent; however, while wiping the unit down after use, noticed that the hinge on the left side had fallen out. Upon close inspection, noticed that there was a defect in the molding process which may of caused an air bubble or fissure to presist, which would cause a complete break, upon instulation into the unit. Upon further research, found that this is a common defect in other units. Am currently, going to contact service department via phone, for replacement and verification. Will keep the product...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Connecting Pins break; Easily

By mommygail from Scottsville/Rochester NY on 01/01/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Despite the fact that this makes great waffles, the pins that connect the top and bottom break quite easily. My husband bought this for me for Christmas 2010. Used it the day after. Pins broke. Called company and got replacement set. Those broke after next use. They need to use metal pins instead. The area that connects the top and bottom obviously gets too hot and plastic pins cannot withstand the temperature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Soggy Waffles

By Trixiegirl from California on 12/26/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product doesn't get hot enough to produce a traditional belgian waffle. I tried cooking the waffle two minutes past the indicator light and they still came out limp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved