Home » 648BI » 12 Reviews

Boss Audio 648bi Bluetooth-enabled In-dash Mp3/cd Receiver With Usb Port Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Commuter (5), Practical (5), Gearhead (5)

Pros:

Nice Features (12), Easy Controls (5), Durable (5), Attractive Design (9), Easy To Install (10)

Cons:

Difficult Controls (6)

Best Uses:

Small Cars (4), Luxury Cars (4), Sports Cars (3), Larger Cars (5), Cd (4), Mp3 (4), Radio (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Awsome Unit

By Airman Verified Purchaser from Erie, PA on 04/13/2009


Pros:

Easy To Install, Nice Features, Attractive Design, Sd Chip Slot

Cons:

Usb Requires Adapter, Complex Controls

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Practical

Best Uses:

Cd, Radio, Play From Sd Chip, Mp3

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit is wonderfully powerful with an awsome array of features. Especially love the integrated Bluetooth. Phone calls work very well with no need to turn down the radio while answering the call. One of the main reasons for the upgrade was to get something that would play more than just CDs. I did not like changing disks constantly. I did not realize until we received the unit that it could play SD chips. I had a couple of 2 gig SD chips so now we do not use the disk player at all (have not repeated a song yet). The unit is very attractive, highly capable, has given no trouble and sounds awsome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOTTSA BANG FOR THE BUCK

By RAM3JUDGE Verified Purchaser from MADISON ,WISCONSIN on 02/24/2009


Pros:

Nice Features, Attractive Design, Easy Controls, Easy To Install, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Best Uses:

Radio, Cd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ONLY DOWNFALL IS THE MINI USB PORT,I WOULD MUCH RATHER HAVE THE FULL SIZE PORT INSTEAD OF A CABLE AND A FLASH FRIVE HANGING AROUND,PS THIS WAS INSTALLED ON A HARLEY SOFTAIL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Surprise Surprise Surprise

By TJ Verified Purchaser from Petaluma on 12/10/2008


Describe Yourself:

Commuter, Practical

Pros:

Usb And Bluetooth, Easy Controls, Plenty Of Features, Easy To Install, Multiple Output Options, Nice Features, Ipod Interface, Attractive Design

Best Uses:

Mp3, Cd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit is mounted in an external bay on an RV. The bay is dedicated to TV and audio. The unit drives 4 Polk Audio speakers and powers a dedicated bass amplifier driving dual 12" Kickers. The sound is clear, crisp and deep. From Tailgating (sports casting) to listening to music with friends this setup gets alot of attention and plenty of compliments. The Boss Audio 648bi has proven to be the solid foundation I was looking for to attain and enjoy great audio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small Price For So Many Features

By theMathProf Verified Purchaser from Staten Island, NY on 09/17/2008


Cons:

Too Many Extra Wires

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Easy Controls, Attractive Design, Easy To Install, Bluetooth, Nice Features, Customer Support, Sd Memory Card, Durable

Best Uses:

Mp3, Sd Card, Radio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very satisfied with my Boss Audio 648bi. I called customer support several times and received quick direct answers. Is is probably difficult to find a radio with all those features especially at the current low price. Some caveats, however. The case might be a bit longer than other radios. This can be crucial in some cars because there are extra wires in the back of the unit to attach auxiliary devices and an ipod. Of course if you plan to do so, these are, of course, needed. I did not need them, and I'm following Customer Support's advice to just ignore them and not cut them off. It would have been better to have them 'snap in' and 'snap out' if not needed. It's really cool to have the Bluetooth feature which works really well. The manual is a bit skimpy in places and could be improved. For example, certain buttons are mentioned but not seen on the radio nor in the diagram in the manual. Customer support helped 'find' them, however. The display if the brightest and easiest to read of all radios I've had or seen. I'm happy that I can use an SD card which I can insert behind the faceplate and forget about. A USB Flash needs a cable (it's included), hangs down from the unit, and as such is always 'in your face'.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW! Great stereo, I was surprised

By axeman Verified Reviewer from Springfield, Illinois on 08/25/2008


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Pros:

Attractive Design, Nice Features, Easy To Install

Best Uses:

Cd, Mp3

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing sounds almost as good as my $500 Nakamichi. It's like sitting at a live concert, I can even hear the wires on the bottoms of the snares. I bought it for the Bluetooth, which works okay, but I didn't expect it to sound so good. I knew that stereo that came with my Nissan was average, but I didn't realize how bad it was or how muddy my songs sounded until I put this in. And it even has a place for an SD memory card so you can record stuff from the radio or CDs. The Bluetooth radio is okay, when someone calls the music cuts off, the phone rings and I answer it. My wife says she can tell when I am using the radio, it sounds distant, but it works pretty well. Syncs up nice and easy, three button clicks from the radio and I am connected. There are more controls on the front that I like, and you have to crack open the user manual to master this unit. But more controls mean a lot of flexibility, and you can tune it to sound just the way you want it. It took an hour or so to get familiar with the controls, and I still bitch about them when I use them. A small price to pay. I only wish I would have bought new speakers now. I stayed with the stock Nissan speakers, and I am afraid I might blow them soon. I am going to start looking for some low-profile speakers that sound good. I should mention that I am a musician and don't like the booming bass that seems so popular. I want my music to sound clear, and I like to hear the individual instruments as they play. You can crank the bass and make it sound heavy on the bottom and muddy on the top, but real music just doesn't sound that way. All in all, a great stereo for a decent price. I will be picking up another one for my sedan next (I am keeping the Nak in the truck though, it still rocks).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE ESP REALLY WORKS IN MY BOAT

By HotBoater Verified Reviewer from Roseville, CA on 06/24/2008


Pros:

Attractive Design, Easy Controls, Easy To Install, Esp Works, Nice Features

Best Uses:

Boats

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed this deck in my high performance boat. I had a Sony and Kenwood in there before and in even minimal chop a CD skipped all over the place on both decks. The BOSS is fantastic and the ESP really works. I've been in constant wind chop and flown over 2 foot wakes and not a single note was missed. I am thrilled with this units performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great receiver, however.....

By Dracosapien Verified Purchaser from Norristown, Pennsylvania on 04/12/2008


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Practical

Pros:

Nice Features

Best Uses:

Larger Cars

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a great multifunctional receiver. I purchased it as an upgrade to my existing system and I am very impressed with both its sound quality and functionality. It allows for connection of a number of music sources from iPod to USB and as for sound, it seems to have boosted the performance of my amplifiers. The various controls take a bit of getting use to and are not particularly intuitive but they have packed quite a lot into one package. The Bluetooth sound quality is very good (at least no one has complained so far) and it allows me to turn up the volume without feedback. I have found the auto answer feature to be extremely useful. [...] Unfortunately, there is one significant drawback. Boss Audios support is extremely poor. This is the second unit Ive purchased and I experienced problems with the first. It took five phone calls before they told me it was broken (I had already figured that out for myself.) They instructed me to send it back to the seller rather than fix it. When I pressed them, they finally did issue an RMA but then informed me they charge [$] for shipping and handling. This coupled with the return postage and insurance means there is a [$]+ hidden cost. This seems unreasonable to me since it was a defective unit and should be their responsibility to retrieve, repair and return. Oh and by the way, dont expect to see the unit again for over a month. I like the unit itself very much but I dont appreciate Boss Audios customer service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It meets my needs

By Ice Man Verified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 02/23/2008


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Pros:

Easy To Install, Nice Features

Best Uses:

Luxury Cars, Larger Cars, Small Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The bluetooth functionality works well in my vintage 96 Olds Cutlass 2-dr and the microphone is quite sensitive, working best if the front speakers are turned down while talking to avoid feedback. You don't have to shout at all to be heard on the other end. The first unit I received was defective in that the FM tuning was very poor. The 2nd unit I exchanged for after discussing with Boss Audio Techies gave good reception. The CD player works fine (I have not used the USB / MP3 functionality yet). The typeface on the buttons are difficult to read but the unit is intuitive enough to operate with little effort. The digital clock readout is small and hard to read at a glance; I wish the front display toggled the time with band / freq readout. I am happy with the performance for the money I paid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features for the price.

By Jim the techgeek Verified Purchaser from Memphis, TN on 10/10/2007


Describe Yourself:

Commuter, Practical

Pros:

Nice Features, Easy Controls

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This receiver is excellent for someone who enjoys getting fuller sound out of their music during travel. I no longer have to worry about missing a call because I can't hear the phone ringing. The pairing feature is quite easy to use and the receiver automatically reconnects to the phone when I get within range of the unit. The sound quality is also excellent from cd's, sd cards, and usb devices connected. The unit autodetects new devices that are connected to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Drew1326 Verified Purchaser from Vilonia, AR on 09/08/2007


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Pros:

Nice Features, Attractive Design, Features, Durable, Easy To Install

Best Uses:

Sports Cars, Small Cars, Larger Cars, Luxury Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The most features for the best price....by far


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Unit, Great Features, Great Sound.

By Allan Khouri [@] Verified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 07/10/2007


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Tuner, Auto Professional, Gearhead

Pros:

Easy To Install, Durable, Attractive Design, Nice Features

Best Uses:

Larger Cars, Luxury Cars, Sports Cars, Small Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Second unit purchased and installed for a friend. Everything works flawlessly, Sond quality is excellent. Some of the controls for bluetooth are a little confusing but not a deal breaker. RDS service DOES work for this unit, You must hold down eject buttton for 4 seconds. It says european mode but it works in america too. AM will appear as "mw" and it tunes diffrently so you may loose some of your am stations. In US mode it works fine in AM but you wont have RDS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features and sound for low price

By Allan Khouri[...] Verified Purchaser from San Diiego, CA on 04/04/2007


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Auto Professional, Gearhead, Tuner

Pros:

Durable, Attractive Design, Easy To Install, Nice Features

Best Uses:

Small Cars, Luxury Cars, Sports Cars, Larger Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great sound, IPOD works well, Bluetooth works well. Navigating thru the settings are confusing at first. A larger display with three lines, number 0-9 buttons, IPOD cable invlusion and HD radio would have made this a perfect unit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved