Home » Accessories » Kitchen Utensils Accessories » Vent Hoods » E6442SS » 31 Reviews

Broan E6442SS 2-way 600 Cfm Hood Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

love the look and functionality

By Lori from Tiffin, OH 44883, USA on 09/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

definately pleased with this purchase...it looks great! Lighting is good and simple fan switch is great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylish Looks & Very Functional

By porschethrills from NJ on 09/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed this range hood in my kitchen almost 2 years ago after examining and installing many other makes in clients homes. As a project manager renovating many kitchens, I found this unit very well built with a powerful exhaust blower and great lighting for the cooktop below. I am familiar with many others, but I chose this one. It is easily cleaned and has a sturdy, classical and professional design. Installation was simple with one person helping.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It was the best we could find for the price.

By Ghmac from Sweet, idaho on 09/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It looks great, and works. Improvements would be to send the suction cup needed to install the lights with the box. If I hadn't read the comments before purchase I would not have known to call Broan after installation to have them send said tool. Also the fan noise is a bit loud on high, but we only need the lowest setting so it works. We kept the suction cup, because we have other lights it works with, great benefit,;-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best

By Phil from Nokesvillew VA on 09/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second one that I bought. Loved the first one which is now in my rental property. The second in my new home. Installed it when I moved in. Have recommended this product to all my friends and neighbors. Very easy to keep clean. If you are tired of looking at that grease spot on your ceiling, this is what you want.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is very reliable.

By Coco from Montreal, QC, Canada on 09/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is very reliable. Easy to use and easy to clean. The lightbulbs are a cinch to replace. It's been three years since we've had it and it's like new.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

odor free home

By grandmashouse from Cayucos, CA, USA on 09/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fan has fantastic amount of power - no odors escape this one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent features and appearance.

By Delta64 from Bonney Lake, WA, USA on 03/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We are really happy with the appearance and features of the this hood. It gets the job done and is not noisy. It also lights up the cooking surface very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really makes the cooking area much more attractive & removes odors quickly.

By CB60 from Asheville, NC, USA on 03/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed this vent hood myself to replace the installation of over-to-stove microwave unit in order to create more cooking space & have much better venting capacity in the kitchen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best product that I ever bought

By Defray from Nokesville, VA, USA on 03/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought a new home. Took out the over the range microwave with range fan and replace it with the Broan range hood. This is the second home that I put one of these into. Will do it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product does the job efficiently!

By yogamom from New Haven, CT, USA on 03/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very satisfied with this ventilation range hood. It effectively removes the smoke and vapors produced during cooking. My friends can no longer tell when I've fried chicken the night before. I like the variable fan speed setting, which allow a quieter fan when less power is needed. The lights are also excellent. It Is Very Easy To Clean! The baffles are simple to remove and a good spray with a cleanser like formula 409 will remove all the accumulated grease.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a solid, durable, and aesthetically great looking product

By JAI444 from San Francisco, CA, USA on 03/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been our most satisfying purchase for the kitchen. A great finish makes it look elegant; it cleans the air out with minimal noise, and most fun of all, is the ease of cleaning this equipment. Have it for three years now, and still as good as new.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By DJDJ from Middletown, CT, USA on 03/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In planning remodel project for our new kitchen , we were looking for an exhaust fan unit that not only complimented our other new appliances but also was very functional. The operating superiority of this fans is unmatched. The unit also has excellent lighting , is quiet, and easily operated. Maintenance is as simple as we have ever experienced ,with easily removable comments.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It was exactly what I wanted for the kitchen.

By Tina from New York, NY, USA on 03/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This look was exactly what I wanted over the stove. I live in an coop in the city so I needed a ventless hood. The filters remove easily for cleaning and you can put them in the dishwasher! The extra lighting over the stove is gret. The only negative is that it is noisy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Recommended with reservations

By lynn from Undisclosed on 08/22/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The unit is noisy, but seems to remove smoke & odor to some extent. The hardest part is keeping the unit clean. Removing the stainless steel is easy, but putting them back is a very difficult chore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great exhaust hood, especially when installed as an outside venting system.

By BobC1 from Pawling, NY 12564, USA on 08/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Removes exhaust and cooking odors without effort, especially when used with the variable speed exhaust fan system. The variable lighting system is perfect and overall, this hood makes cooking a real pleasure! Even when the exhaust fan is set for high, the hood is quiet but very powerful. We are very happy with the Broan stove hood and would recommend it to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great piece of equipment!

By rwcphoto from Huntsville, AL, USA on 08/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the simple yet effective design. I only wish there were a larger drip catcher on one side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not recommended

By Dissapointed52 from Avon CT on 08/10/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Halogen lights in this hood are very difficult to remove and install. Without lights, the hood is useless. People should be warned of such details.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great look and reduces food odors in kitchen

By David09 from Oregon, USA on 04/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a really effective Blower hood. Having the detachable screen makes it easy to clean. And the variation of the fan using the knob is personally preffered versus having only 3 settings. The only downside to this is that the light and fan knobs are located somewhat inside the hood. While this makes the look of the hood appear very professional, it is annoying to reach up and under to turn on the light and or fan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works fair, noisier than expected

By ConnieW from Dublin CA on 03/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looks great. Functions well over the cook top, but expected that odors would be removed from the whole kitchen area. Advertised as one of the more quiet units, but still a bit noisier than I expected,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent hood for remodels or new installs

By DrBob from San Carlos, CA, USA on 02/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After doing a lot of online research I found this hood. It has all of the features I wanted in a hood small enough to fit over a 30" stove. It was intended to replace an older hood, so the dimensions needed to be right. Also, I was looking for a reasonably high-performance hood, which was not easy to do with a 30-incher. It has a continuously variable fan speed control for low noise in situations that don't require a lot of vapor removal and high speed where a lot of smoke needs to be removed. The front end is very attractive, with the controls tucked away underneath (but they can be hard to find by feel). The filter elements are easy to remove and can be run through the dishwasher, a real plus. I installed the unit myself (I am not a professional) without much difficulty. I would have rated the ease of installation excellent if the instructions had been clearer regarding the need for a special part to connect the square fan outlet to a round duct (a standard shoe will not work as it interferes with the internal damper). The unit is a little higher priced than some other brands, but the quality of construction is definitely worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sleek and powerful

By Ronnie from St. Marys, GA, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great addition to our new gas range. Love the light switch that gives me a choice of med to high light level. This baby can suck air! Frying! No problem. My kitchen stays clear of smoke and cooking odors. It is a bit loud at highest level, but I rarely need it turned to highest setting. Love it and would recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value for the Price

By fageuri from Portland, OR, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It looks good and works great. The price was more then reasonable for the features. But what I like the best is the ease of cleaning the filters. I'm a senior lady with severe arthritis and I live alone. The filters are easy to remove, can be washed in the dishwasher and placed back in the unit. Just great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I was impressed with the quality of this hood.

By Anex from Bellingham, WA, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have installed many hood fans before. This one was for my home. Installing it was as easy as can be with hood fans. I was impressed with the quality of the grills that are easy to remove. The controls for the fan speed and the lights are the same type of knob and next to each other so it is sometimes confusing which one is what. I like the ability to control the speed on the fan. Most of the time I use it on low and that is sufficient. It is a bit noisy but that is typical of an "in unit "motor. The lights are halogen with two levels brightness that is nice. They are the push and twist type so when you change the bulbs the housing moves so it is a bit difficult if you don't have the suction cup bulb replacement tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased with this product.

By Grandma1 from Centerview, Mo on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We remodeled our kitchen last summer and looked at several types of hoods for our stove. We kept coming back to this one, not only for the looks, but the features as well. We have not been disappointed in the performance of this product and it looks great over my stove. Have already recommended it to friends and family. Thanks so much. pcatron


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has been great. Works very well and looks good.

By Adrienne from Sierra Madre, CA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When we first bought this product, we were concerned that it would not look "modern" enough for our kitchen and that it would not work well with our range. I have been beyond pleased with how lovely it looks in our kitchen and how well it functions. My husband loves it because it really works well!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality product.

By Chris17 from Undisclosed on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had to replace the motor twice in less than one year. There is clearly a problem with the motor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works like a champ!

By PAMMAW from Mabelvale, Little Rock, AR, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

allows you to cook anything and not smell up your house! looks sleek and so easy to clean. MADE IN USA...NEED I SAY ANYMORE?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This range hood performs very well.

By rnlibre from Roseburg, OR, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I cooked a dish that required the fan to be on "high". Had it not been this hood, my home wood have been filled with smoke! Also, it keeps the house cooler while the oven is in use. rnlibre


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I will recommend this any time

By Cheftk from Chicago, IL, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We spend lot of time in Our kitchen Cooking. We always wanted a good range hood for venting. Fried fish and the sauces we make can permeate the whole house. When this hood is on there is no smell at all even if we are frying fish.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed

By RMCK176 from Aptos, CA, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Perfect for my 5-burner gas range with great lighting and effective fans. Fan screens are cleaned in the dishwasher, and I'm glad i made the investment in this vent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like all features of this product except for noise level at highest speed.

By Angie from Montreal, QC, Canada on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the look and the product's simple and easy to use features. I especially like how the filtres are easy to remove and to clean. The only negative aspect is the loud noise when fan operates at the highest speed. I always have it on the second highest speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved