Home » Accessories » Kitchen Utensils Accessories » Vent Hoods » QP336SS » 25 Reviews

Broan QP336SS 36" Hood 4 Speed Aluminum Premium Mesh Filter 4 Lamps Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great fit and features

By gilpin from Gilpin County, CO, USA on 07/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This performs as I had hoped. Nice design, great fan, light and accepts carbon filters. The remote has such limited range that I choose not to use it. Solid unit that fits my new kitchen design and wanted a unit that had a reputation of reliability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not effective... poor design.

By meew from Undisclosed on 07/16/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The blower is located off-center to the left, so anything that is cooked on the right side of your range is not captured. Even on the highest speed, cooking odors escaped into the house and not through the exhaust. Despite having to forfeit the installation costs, we ended up returning the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great size, appearance, effective, but impossible for me to set clock and timed functions..

By Gale from New Jersey on 05/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love everything about this range hood except the programming/control buttons. By trial and error I have learned to adjust light level and fan level. In over a year I have not been able to set or use the clock. The problem is that the buttons are black on a black background. Labels are useless for the same reason, and not adequate. User documentation is woefully inadequate and needs to be written for someone totally new to the product. The range hood is over my head (good), provides light down on the cooking surface where I need it (good), but even with a step stool and flashlight I cannot figure out how to set the clock!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value, feature loaded!

By CasaSotres from North Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA on 02/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Clean lines, looks beautiful. Feature loaded! This range hood looks stunning in my mid century modern kitchen. It is white and clean and I love how smart it is. From the amazing light given by the 4 50W halogen lights, to the lovely green light glowing the time. I love the features on this unit. Very smart. Love the quietness of the fan speeds. Quiet and effective! If you are cooking and the fan is on, it will adjust itself if needed to give your more fan exhaust and then will return to your original fan setting. How cool is that? Or the way you can set a timer once you are finished cooking and it will turn off the fans all by itself. It truly is beautiful to look at and I like that I can put both filters in my dishwasher to clean. I hired a contractor to install it and the installation was easy to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Range Hood!!!!!!!

By BRUMO from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082, USA on 02/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We were looking for a high-quality, stainless steel, non-vented, replacment range hood for the kitchen of our (recently purchased) home. We found it in the QP336SS. It looks and works great. We particularly like the dusk until dawn light on-off feature for the lights. Awesome product. RECOMMENDED


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product - but - I would like an override for the automatic fan on feature.

By Kate from Westchester County, NY, USA on 02/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Broan range hood, the old was replaced only because the kitchen was remodeled. Love the quiet. The only feature I do not like is the automatic fan on feature. I did have the same with my old one but it was not as intense. The older model was also smaller. When I have a few pots on the stove, 2 or 3, with the burners on high (boiling water, searing meat) the fan will come on automatically and on the highest speed. I can understand the fan coming on to remove the heat, but in the dead of winter when it is about ten degrees out, I don't want the fan on pulling the heat out of the house. My first Broan was over 20 years old and still worked fine when it was removed. Never a service problem and very quiet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Digital controls too complex.

By JayS from Wisconsin, USA on 02/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Setting the clock . . . getting the silly night light function to stay off . . . and getting the fan to ultra high speed . . . are needlessly complicated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Produt was a good fit in the space above new countertop range.

By Fritz from San Diego, CA on 02/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit was installed by a contractor who also installed new countertop, stove and microwave. Unit seems to work well, except for the integrated clock. That never keeps exact time and runs fast by several minutes each day. Not very usable! Also, instructions to set clock and other settings not very user friendly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product, Poor design.

By garylee from Undisclosed on 03/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Due to the placement of the suction fan on one side of the unit, smoke and steam are picked up well on the left side of the unit but not as well on the right side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sleek appearance. Doesn't jump out like a typical range hood.

By Jaka from Spencer, OH 44275, USA on 03/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit comes with 4 halogen lamps with 3 levels of light. Plenty bright. had 2 lamps burn out within 30 days but no other issues. Good control panel. Easy to clean. Quiet running fan. The only downside if you will is that the night light feature can't be turned off. A sensor turns on a low level light when the kitchen is dark.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very poor performance

By bob1 from Madrid, NY 13660, USA on 03/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product has had a displayed replaced once and has never performed as claimed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect except we have not figured out the relationship between the clock ann the light control.

By Robert from Ohio on 03/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We are very happy with the unit. It does everything perfectly. It is quite to operate, looks good, and it does a great job exhausting the air.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks great in my kitchen

By fritzie from Sebastopol, CA on 03/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with the looks of this hood. The only problem I have had is with the automatic night light feature. It is not easy to "turn it off". But after many tries I can usually get it to work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Halogen lights were a surprise.

By Carlos from Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA on 03/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The dealer where w purchased the range hood did not have a working model for us to examine so we ordered from their catalog after reviewing the Broan website. The four 50 watt halogen lights get hot enough to cook raw meat if you place it on top of your stove. Our previous range hood used incandescent bulbs which got hot but not as hot as the halogens. The Broan hood has settings which will lower the lights (and thus heat). The lights in our old hood were sufficient to fully light the stove area and the "spill" over into the kitchen area. This gave us enough light to do many kitchen chores without turning on additional lighting. The Broan lights are highly directional and don't spill over into the kitchen - unless they are turned up high - then here comes the heat. I tried using lower wattage halogen bulbs but did not resolve my issues. The control panel for the various range hood settings is a little tricky to master at first but if you carefully follow the directions and practice it a couple of times it becomes easy. For the younger generation who have mastered their dvd and blu ray players the range settings will be a snap. My wife likes that the removable grease filters are dishwasher safe and easily removed. She also likes that the fan speed is automatically variable depending upon cooking conditions. The unit looks great and seems well made. You might have to temporarily take a part time job to pay for it but like everything else you get what you pay for and we are pleased that we got this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lighting!

By Diane56 from Northport, ny, USA on 03/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just love this range hood. I've had it for over a year and have not had any problems. I bought it on a recommendation and glad I did. It has a nice sleek design that goes great with my beachy/contemporary kitchen, but I could see it in many other style designs as well. It does a great job of venting odors and smoke, but what I love most is the lighting. It has 4 lights with two settings. I like to use the ambient light sensor that will activate the lights when it detects a low level of lighting in the kitchen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A jet engine would be quieter

By gerty1230 from Cape Cod on 02/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I swear every time this comes on, usually when we have company for dinner, It's louder than a jet engine, we end up having to shout over it try to turn it off but runs for what seems like eternity. Is there a way to turn the automatic off? I am considering ripping it out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better

By Pragmaticron from Clarksville, AR 72830, USA on 10/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finished edges have cheap appearance. Display & controls should be larger. Does not come with line cord and wire clamp. As received, blower wheel (soft plastic) was badly warped and out of balance. Hood viberated like a car tire badly out of balance. However, tech support was very responsive and placed an order for a replacement wheel with no hassle. Quad lighting and low noise level were primary reasons for selecting this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Range Hood Ever

By BigBearMom from Big Bear Lake, CA, USA on 08/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I told my husband I wanted a new range hood for my birthday. He thought I was kidding. I hated my noisy old hood. So he didn't just go out and get a replacement. He got the BEST! This is a smart hood that turns itself to a higher speed if it senses the need. Three light levels and three fan levels meet whatever need you may have. Tons of other features too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great addition to my new kitchen

By TerriB from Long Beach, CA, USA on 02/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this range hood. From the lights to the exhaust fans. And if you are cooking lots of high volume dishes the fan come on automatically, a feature that I truly love. I highly recommend the range hood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well planned design-great looking !

By ChickenFeet from Olympia, WA, USA on 02/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've owned this unit since October 2011. It was part of a kitchen "refresh", new appliances, counter tops etc. We cook a lot and this unit has been used almost daily since installation. The primary function of a range hood is to move air (vapors and odor) up and out of the kitchen. I couldn't be more satisfied with the performance of this unit. Let me add that it's quiet considering the job it's performing and it never sounds like it's struggling to do it's work. The filters are of good quality, they fit snugly and evenly, they are easily removed and re-seated and simple to clean; pop 'em in the dishwasher. I like it a lot. There are several other features that put this unit "over-the-top". Sorry, couldn't resist but a least in the previous paragraph I didn't say "it really sucks"...heh, heh...ok, moving on... I won't list all the features but I'll list the ones I use most often and find to be really useful. The lighting built into this unit is excellent, especially for my aging eyes. It's halogen, clean, white and it makes a big difference in the cooking environment. The lighting has selectable multi-levels of intensity and can be dialed from "a little light" up to a serious task light level. It's difficult to get ceiling mounted lights to throw illumination under a cook top and the lighting in this unit solves a problem I didn't realize I had. There's also a setting (user selectable) that turns the lighting on automatically at night for an ambient light. Very nice. I like the built-in timer. In our busy kitchen it's nice to have a timer dedicated to the cook top. We use it for almost everything else too. because it's located in the range hood, it's at eye level making it really handy. The timer has a 10 minute delay off function. Push the delay button and the fan turns itself off ten minutes later. Perfect for those times when you want to continue to remove steam from the pasta pot or odor from the crab pot but you want to sit down and not be bothered walking back to the galley. I opted for the remote control for this unit just in case I forget to push the delay button. I'm pretty "hands-on" in the kitchen with lots of start-up prep and standard shut down activities but every once in a while I sit down and go; "Oh no! I forgot to turn off the fan!" Problem solved with a back up solution to boot. I'd give this unit five stars for it's air handling performance alone but it's sleek good looks and smart, usable functions really seal the deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lighting.

By Cindy65 from Deer Park, TX, USA on 02/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lighting is great, and the fan is very quiet. It does a great job of venting the kitchen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does what I want it to.

By Haley from Ithaca, NY on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fans are great. Light levels are great. I keep messing up the clock...but that could be me as I use the timer. Very happy with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is excellent. quiet and better than I would expect.

By mauka from torrance, CA, on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this product because it is quiet and easy to install.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This under cabinet range hood is first class in all respects

By Craig71 from Klamath Falls, OR, USA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed this as a do it yourself project replacing an older range hood of similar dimensions. The installation was straight forward and was facilitated by the accompanying manual which I found to be well written and easily understood. The lights provide the best viability we've ever enjoyed over our cook top, usually at their lowest setting. The exhaust fan set on low is most often all that we need to capture any cooking smoke or steam at which setting it's nearly silent. I use the higher fan speeds when I create lots of smoke and it's evacuated completely. The screens are easy to remove for cleaning. My wife and I are extremely pleased with this appliance and we would recommend it to anyone needing a new range hood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By tombed from edmonds, wa on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed easily in an hour, lots of features, looks great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved