Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » DCP7040 » 42 Reviews

Brother International Dcp-7040 Mfp 3 In 1 Print Copy Scan (dcp7040) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 42 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

LOVE this printer!

By Sophie46 from Minnesota on 08/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I need a laser printer and have had several others. This time, I looked into a scanner/copier too and was impressed at the fair price. I ordered it and love it. Functions are very good and it has some I am still learning to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High Value Laser Multi-Function

By isoenzyme from North Logan, UT on 04/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great value for a laser multi-function! Printing is great, copying is clear! The only downside is the multi-button routine for scanning; it gets really old when doing a lot of scanning in a row.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Multifuction Printer

By Jeff7 from Maumee, OH on 04/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this printer for several months and am very happy with it. It is easy to setup and use and so far has been very reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Copier Scanner Printer I have ever owned

By Jenni from Jackson, TN on 04/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer after having owned several HP printers that did not last very long. It has excellent quality and I love the fact that it does not have all the different color cartridges that were always going out on my HP printers. It does a great job at scanning and copying also. Thumbs up Brother. I will definitely not ever buy another kind of printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By cdavis from Undisclosed on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We currently have 3 of these copiers and are quite satisfied with their capabilities. Good product for a great price. We would buy another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer!

By bpowell317 from Texas on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a teacher who frequently needs multiple copies and scans. This printer is perfect for my needs. It is easy to operate and maintain and always delivers. Add the lower than average cost of toner and it is ideal!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice item

By greatness from chicago on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this item thinking it would give me a few more printouts than what my old system gave me, but to my surprise, I was able to get many more prints at a great cartridge price point. This is a really great product, and I would recommend it to anyone who needs lots of copies done all the time. It also has a durable time life cartridge. You will not be dissapointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DCP-7040 "Little Work Horse"

By MTucker from Boston, MA on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is a bang for the buck. The scanning option and software is great. The copy quality and speed meets my needs. I am very happy the auto feed feature as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeds Expectations

By Seawolf1993 from Napoleon, Ohio on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Primary purpose of purchase is to scan documents in PDF format. The document feeder exceeds my expectations. My wife and I are very pleased with our purchase


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome desktop MFC

By Anonymous from Central NY on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had a similar model for years, and bought this one to use at a second office. It scans very well, using Paperport software; OCR makes few recognition errors. Copying/printing is crisp & legible. The only drawback is that it will not handle 14" (legal size) paper easily. Otherwise it's the best of the bunch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Machine

By twyatt from Wichita Falls, TX on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced an Injet all in one and I love this machine. I only use the printing and scanning and both work really well. This is a machine I use at work everyday and I have no problems with it. Also love the software that came with the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By rpetry from Kansas City, KS on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to be able to scan and print sensitive documents in my office. The printing is good quality and the scanning is great. The only complaint I have is the USB connection on the back. It is a cheap receptacle and if the cord gets moved at all, it loses connection. This is something I am trying to get repaired through warranty. Overall, it is a good buy for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Talented Package

By JoshinTtown from Texarkana, TX on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm enjoying this device. Printing is quick and effortless. Automatic sheet feeder is a great feature. Ability to print envelopes is nice, though I'm still working on finding the right time to put the envelope into the manual feed slot. Flexible (included) Control Center software to set personal preferences on what type of file the scanner produces based on which type of scan you pick from the control panel. Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer

By gradstudent from Undisclosed on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am happy with this printer. My only complaint is that the machine indicates that the toner is low, even though the cartiridge lasts much longer. Otherwise, it accomplishes its given tasks well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lousy mechanics

By nicholas11 from DETROIT, MI on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

both the DCP-7040 and the HL-5040 have serious document feed issues when copying or printing, may work ok for a few pages then jam - BOTH MACHINES DO THIS - READY TO TRASH BOTH OF THEM


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy Downsizing

By GoPack from Eau Claire, WI on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After years of leasing or owning large multi-feature copiers, I was hesitant about venturing into a small desk-top model, but I have been pleasantly surprised and very satisfied with the 7040. When the home construction market revives and I'm working with plans on 11 x 14 paper, I'll have to adjust to that, but for now, all I've missed is occasionally being able to reduce an 8.5 x 14 document to 8.5 x 11.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome multi-function printer

By footballhead from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife and I have been very happy with it. Scans perfectly and prints cleanly. Best printer we've ever purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Achilles heel = manual feed

By lawyerscientist from Raleigh, NC on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer presents excellent value, overall. However the manual feed device is very poorly engineered. There is no support for the paper. Basically you stick it in the slot and hold it until the rollers grab it. This has caused several "retry" attempts when feeding in manual feed items like checks. If I had known of this, I probably would have opted for a different machine. If this is not an issue for you, then it is an excellent value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Complaints Here

By Tambi from Wintersville, OH on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had purchased the DCP-7020 about 5 years ago and loved it. We had no problems whatsoever with it, however, due to someone cutting down a tree, we had a power surge and it killed both my computer and printer (even with having surge protector). I needed to replace it quickly and looked around, but this model seemed most appropriate. We've had it about 6 months now and once again, it works wonderfully and meets our needs for homeschooling well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Cathy20 from Portage, IN on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great machine for my needs. It is fast and efficient. Very easy to use and compact. This was the best machine I have ever purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best

By Zengineer from Northwest on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Of all the copiers I have used this is the very best. It is so easy to use that it almost does the job without input. It is quick, versatile, looks good, and is well thought out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow what a difference!

By Anonymous from Colorado on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am extremely please with my purchase of my Brother DCP-7040. I am in the tax/business services industry and this printer has been a lifesaver for me! I was buying 2-4 ink cartridges per week before I finally said "enough!" I have to get a laser printer! Glad I found the one I did! Can't wait until I have time to play with it and figure out all the bells & whistles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product if you don't print envelopes

By lizards718 from Maryland on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All other aspects are great and I am truly happy with the product, but this, like most of the Brother devices I have used in the past leaves something to be desired when it comes to printing envelopes. Feeding only one at a time and jamming slows down all the other great progress these machines have. Come up with a multi-feed for envelopes and you will have the best line out there, period. Not printing envelopes, these are the best scanners and printers you can get per cost to acquire.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive to operate

By ACADIAN from Baton Rouge, LA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like this printer/scanner, but I don't get good value from the toner. Quite expensive per page when compared to my other Brother machines. I like the size of this machine, the quality of the output, and the ease of use. But the high price per page is a real drawback.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By bekka from Phoenix AZ on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use, convenient size, have had no trouble with it. I bought and returned 2 scanners before I found this model. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a great package at a reasonable price. This is not the first Brothrs product I've owned -- I found consistent quality and simplicity each time. Thumbs up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

solid value

By randem from Indiana on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: Copy and print clarity is excellent. Much faster than my previous Brother Much quieter than previous Brother Low cost Cons: Manual paper feed to print back of page is tedious Opening paper tray takes both hands to hold printer in one while tugging on tray. Build quality is not as good, plastic is thin and cheap feel to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good

By TracyA from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this about two weeks. The printing is good but when I try and feed a single sheet or envelope through the alternate feeder, it always seems to jam; however, I open up the entire unit and there's nothing jammed or even fed. Otherwise, seems to be working good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am so happy!

By Sunshine from Bronx, NY on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm old school so I researched for the qualities I wanted. I recently retired and as we all now we tend to do our faxing,copying,printing and scanning at work. Now I'm home so I needed the same however I opted out of the fax I figured I can use a good walk:) This copy,printer,scanner is incredibly easy to use. Wow and the quality is excellent! Easy instructions not many. My research entailed inkjet versus laser. I already experienced inkjet but the laser is phenomenal in quality. Ultimately everyone's fear of higher cost maintenance i.e. cartridges are worth it. They last longer and do pay off. I am very happy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a really nice printer

By stearman26m from Bucks County, PA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer/copier worked fine right out of the box but there was a software glitch with my new mac (version 10.6.6). It would copy perfectly but wouldn't print off the computer. Some searching on the Brother website revealed a patch that did eventually work. I hope they have updated their disc that comes with the printer by now...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it

By GuyB from Upstate New York on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice piece, easy to use, quiet, prints well, scan is great, and you can't beat the price with a hammer. If I would want for anything, color printing would be nice. However it is meant to be a document printer, and forget this price, if it were. Scan to your computer is of course, in color. The usual low print cartrige, (runs out quick,) comes with the machine, but the replacements are easy to find, and priced to be competetive. No brainer installation. Doesn't come with the cable to the computer, as it turned out I had one from other retired equipment, laying around. No doubt, you can get one, at the place you buy the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother DCP-7040

By Wireaddict from Clio, MI on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this multi-function laser printer about a month ago because it had just the features I needed & no unnecessary ones to cost more money. I've scanned several drawings & documents & printed several pages so far with no problems. I like this machine & am glad I bought it but one thing I would definitely add if I were a designer is a status LED on the control panel so I could tell at a glance if it's ready to use or if it needs maintenance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer for the Price

By BusyAttorney from Austin, Texas on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the printer in an emergency. I have been largely satisfied. The print quality is good! Output is fast. I have not experienced any paper jams in the over a year of service. The only area I'm not thrilled is lightenning or darkening of copies. I realize I don't have a high end printer; therefore I can live with it! Overall-Good!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good product

By Tommy from Olathe, KS on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit to replace an old machine that I had for many years. This Brother copier/printer was easy to set up and easy to install the software. It has many more features than my old machine and is very quiet. The print quality is good and it has many options in the copying mode. I like the small size of the unit too. I would highly recommend this multi-function copier as I have had no problems with this unit. A very good product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great PDF document scanner

By denver49 from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My primary goal in buying this machine was to scan a lot of paper documents into PDF files. Batches of 10 to 20 pages were scanned quickly and easily. Scanning in this manner is a bit noisy but this is to be expected since any automatic document feeder has a lot of moving parts. Print quality is very good. The included software is good, and is not loaded with bloatware applications. Works with 64-bit Windows 7. Cost per printed page will be much less than that of an ink jet machine, even if eventual drum replacement is somewhat costly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fills the bill

By Griffin from Pensacola, FL on 02/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not a big fan of all-in-one products. But copying is a process that naturally combines scanning and printing and the DCP-7040 does both admirably. The installation was hassle-free. The software controls are clear and straightforward. The results are excellent. I've had it for 9 months...no jams, no stalls, no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer for my Windows 7 PC

By KenN from Rochester, NY on 07/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first experience with a document feeder and it's a good one. Using this for home use to replace my XXX brand multifunction which did not upgrade drivers for Windows 7. I'm exceptionally pleased with how quiet this unit is. It goes to sleep when not in use and awakens quickly when I start to print a document from the PC. I have purchased other Brother printers for my family members and this buy reinforces my confidence in the brand. Great little machine!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent investment.

By Seabreezecin from Kennewick, WA on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an accountant and during tax time went through at lease one ink cartridge per week with the inkjet I had. So far the cartridges in this printer have lasted nearly 3 months each and the print quality is still excellent even after nearly 15 reams of paper and 3 cartridges. I love this printer and will look at Brother when I am in the market for a color laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was looking for a small ...

By DonThePrinter from Illinois on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was looking for a small volume copy machine. This fits the need in every way and at less cost than a used machine from a dealer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine

By AKLady from Alaska on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only one shortcoming of note -- no fax. Operates with major software such as Adobe without a hitch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, as expected

By hobie from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set- up was easy. Does not come with interface cable but I had one. Prints fast! Prints and copies clear. I have only run a few copies and had no jams and I hope that continues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent Machine

By Rich from Dallas, TX on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The DCP-7040 fit my needs for a home printer/copier. The toner cartridges are affordable and tend to last quite a while. Set up was straight forward, just follow the directions. The scanner function is pretty slow. Scans are of good quality, but is does take a while. Overall this is a good home type printer copier. If the auto document feeder and scanner were faster, I would have given 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

iffy

By attyTX from Texas on 04/13/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The price was right, and it is lazer, so I bought it. It puts a verticle line down the pages of copies when the originals are fed through the top, for copy mode. It sometimes goes on printing rampages, and other times will "print" unlimited blank pages until you pull the tray out. Then you have to uninstall, and reinstall, which takes an hour and is difficult to do correctly. I came online today again, hoping for a software patch or something to fix this...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved