Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » DCP8085DN » 17 Reviews

Brother International Corporat Dcp-8085dn The Dcp-8085dn Is A High-performance Digital Copier And Laser Printer That Is Id (dcp8085dn) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 17 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great copier

By ZeeMan from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I make a lot of use out of the copier function with very good results. Worth the money; economical to use; quality copies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent machine

By phdarlinglaw from Tehachapi, California on 12/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used in law office for general printing, in addition to extensive scanning of 1- and 2-sided documents. Scanning in color and black-white. Scanning, copying and printing quality is excellent. Fast and efficient. Wired network connection works flawlessly. Only negative is that I don't like how long the scan lamp stays on until it shuts down. This should be much shorter than 18 hours, or at least user definable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complex Interface

By KenK from Montana on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer setup was difficult and time consuming. It required telephone contact with technical staff but eventually was completed. Similarly, use of its many features is not simple. Switching between single sided and double sided printing can be done in the software or on printer keyboard but this can lead to unexpected behavior when one setting overrides another. The printer is fast and produces sharp documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By mxfan from El cajon, CA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer has worked flawlessly. Haven't even had a paper jam. Was easy to set up. Support is perfect, needed some help connecting to my server Installed extra memory. The access for the extra memory easy and it took under a minute to install.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

having a problem

By Engineering from Pembroke, MA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

was happy with machine until black line starting appearing on copies and cannot get rid of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No complaints!

By CFMA from Iowa on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A good product. Very nice printing and scanning. The photo copies don't get as dark as I'd like when I set it to darken, but otherwise I really like the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost a perfect machine

By JohninBoca from Boca Raton, FL on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 2nd one I have purchased (albeit newer model) and I would buy another based upon my experience. The speed and quality for copying and scanning funcitons are excellent overall as well as overall cost of maintenance and supply replacement. There is but one thng that has been a probelm on both machines - the roller on top feeder pulls the papers in unevenly and therefore theyscanned pages (or copied pages) are somwhat askew to a degree....not much but an annoyance to a pefectionist who cares about such things.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good product

By stephend from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had it for several months now. Performs well, very satisfied. duplex scanning, copying, and printing also seems very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By EBEPurchaser from Central Pennsylvania on 11/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really enjoy this machine. Originally purchased to use as copier. Eventually networked it to our computers. Great for Duplex printing. Duplex copying failed within warranty and need to be without machine for 2-5 days to get it fixed which is a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Duplex scanning works ...

By ericjjupiter from Jupiter, FL on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Duplex scanning works very well. If the originals are in good condition or small documents are well taped down onto 81/2" x 11" sheets of paper, then duplex scanning can be performed unattended using the document feeder. NOT happy that the Windows 8 compatible Brother original driver for this model printer and scanning software package (Brother Control Center or PaperPort) will not be available until early February per the Brother website. Scanning using the Windows 8 fax and scan settings is cumbersome and very limited.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good choice!!!!

By Rohit from Virginia Beach, Virginia on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with the performance of this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has been perfect

By Priestley from Asheville, NC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had terrible luck with printers and other office equipment, despite careful research before my purchases, but this copier/printer/scanner has been wonderful -- not one problem since the beginning. It is super fast, the quality is great, and the feeder works very well. I recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What an amazing machine for the money!!

By DanH from Littleton, MA on 09/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got to be the best printer I've ever bought. Works like a charm - not a single issue with it. Use it in my classroom to get the students to upload their worked answers to physics problems to a PDF to then submit to WebAssign.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer - beware of 2 issues

By TxPastor from Texas on 08/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the DCP-8085DN and the 2nd paper tray LT5300. Great printer, but two issues. 1) The printer did not have the necessary connector for the 2nd tray, just an empty socket. It was obvious what the problem was. After an hour and explaining problem to two people, looking up the serial # confirmed that this printer did not have the connector and I would have to take the printer 30 miles to a repair center. I asked who was going to pay for my hour on the phone and travel and day spent while printer is repaired. The tech said, "We don't do that." It was Brother's oversight that required me to do this in order to get the printer working as advertised. Once I got it fixed, it prints and copies great. 2) I got this printer mainly for the Direct Print feature and duplex. I primarily Direct Print 60 copies of a double sided document. Surprise, it takes almost 30 minutes to print these 60 copies! Direct Print reloads and processes the document for every copy. I even added 256MB of memory, no help. Very poor programming. Other than these two issues it works great. If it were not for these two issues I would give it 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised - Best B&W MF

By 3DMD from D.C. on 07/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a solo medical practitioner and over the past 20 years have gone through quite a few copiers, scanners and printers. Have to maintain records for at least seven years, so laser is a must (over inkjet). With this, I can stand at the printer, insert 2-sided documents, scan them to any of the several computers on my network, and walk away. You can customize the way the scans are received by each computer individually. Haven't tried to OCR as I use Adobe Acrobat. I love the full duplex, and haven't had any jams or mis-feeds. As a copier it has all the functions you'd expect and it's pretty quick. Easy to set up and customize. The scan and email function actually works with Outlook. Only thing it's not color, but it scans in color and I have another printer for that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK for the $

By Anonymous from Winter Springs, FL on 03/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fairly Efficient. Fast scan and easy setup and menu options. The biggest problem is that the scanner doesn't scan in quality images unless set to a very high resolution. In which case, it does take a long time to scan in several pages. Otherwise, it's everything we wanted!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased!

By RLTCO from Monroe Township, New Jersey on 03/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this machine for a small office environment. I had never purchased a multi-purpose piece of equipment before and was apprehensive about the probability that I would be satisfied. Much to my surprised I love it! It is very convenient, while extremely efficient to have a multi-functioning unit at my workstation which avoids having to leave my desk and computer to seek out other units in the office to accomplish a single task. Brothers customer service and tech support has been excellent and have solved any issues real or imagined that we have had. They have also assisted in the use of their product. I highly recommend the Brother DCP-8085DN unit and the Brother brand. Robert L. Tammaro A satisfied user


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved