Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » DCP8110DN » 11 Reviews

Brother DCP-8110DN Laser Multifunction Printer - Monochrome - Plain Paper Print - Printer, Copier, Scanner - 38 ppm Mono Print - 38 cpm Mono Copy - Automatic Duplex Print - 300 sheets Input - Ethernet Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Brother Machines are the worst ever!

By Madcustomer from Oregon on 09/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Do not buy any Brother products ever if you want reliability. I work in a small office but use my printer daily. It was purchased a year ago today and it seems that I'm constantly on the phone with tech support due to issues with their cheap products. I've finally convinced my company to use another office equipment manufacturer after showing them how much time was spent on the phone with tech support, so frustrating! I average two hours every month in down time, trying to service my new printer. Today is Monday, came in early to get a jump start to a very busy week ahead and have been on the phone on hold with Brother technicians for an hour and 45 minutes!!!! I'm sitting here still listening to elevator music as their highly incompetent technicians transfer me to over from one agent to another. Who knows how long this is going to take but every minute I spend on hold, my company pays for and that means I'm here longer tonight trying to play catch-up. This might be a good product for children printing homework assignments once a week but Brother products are not meant for business use and should not be anywhere near any office where printing is an important part of the day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beware! Cannot duplex scan or copy from ADF

By McWilliams from Erie, PA on 05/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Buyer beware. Brother fails to tell you that you cannot use the auto document feeder (ADF) to scan or copy in duplex. Although it comes with Control Center 4, which shows how you can scan in duplex, you actually cannot do it with this device. So, if you have a 20 page, 2 sided document, and you want to scan it, you cannot do it with the ADF. When I asked Brother how I can do it, its response was "You would have to manually flip the page to scan the other side of documents." It appears to have the same limitation on copying from the ADF. If you insert paper and select Duplex Copy from the machine itself, the only options are 1 Sided -> 2 Sided; there is no option to copy 2 Sided to 1 or 2 sided. In other words, if you have a 20 page, two sided document, you cannot copy it by putting it into the ADF, unless you copy one side, take it out, flip all 20 pages over, copy them, then stick all the pages back together. Brother never actually says this in its promotional material for this device. What they say it can "duplex print" (which it can) and it has an ADF, and it can scan, they just don't tell you that you cannot automatically copy or scan to duplex.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A little slow to start up

By Purplehaz from Farmington, NM on 03/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good printer, does everything I need it to do in my office. I have 3 (three) of them.. My only complaint is it is a little slow in the start up and when you send a document to print. I would recommend this printer, just maybe not for a fast pased office..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast Economical Printer

By Nemi65 from Iowa on 08/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just purchased a new iMac & our old Epson Stylus 1270 wasn't cutting it anymore. So we went on the hunt for a nice Laser Black & White printer. In order to be able to print from my wife's iPad we ended up with the Brother DCP-8110DN. Most of the setup was easy enough, but we thought the Air print setup could have been more straight forward for the Mac users. We eventually got it setup, but had to call Customer Service for assistance. They were great & easy to understand. So all was well. The Air print works Great & I was amazed how quickly the printer prints large numbers go pages. Also the fact that we don't have to waste ink to get clear print, in fact the only we did in this regard was to shake the cartridge assembly. No having to worry when we don't use it for awhile that the ink will dry up or when we replace the cartridge the hassle & waste of ink by aligning lines & picking which liked best. Just change the cartridge & go. Very clear precise print & since we don't need color printing that much, this printer is right for us. When & if we do need a color printer we will look at Brother first.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Customer Service keeps dropping the ball!

By PoorCustomerService from Texas on 11/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I assume that Brother makes a good all in one copier, printer, scanner. However, with any product, there are always going to be some defective units. That is apparently what I got. From the start, the printer would leave toner spots on my print jobs, and the starter toner cartridge quickly ran out of toner. Customer service eventually agreed to send a new toner and drum, but only sent a new toner. Ball dropped. That did not fix the problem. Repeated cleaning of the drum did not help. After several more calls, they finally agreed to send me a new copier/printer, new toner and new drum. The printer alone, without toner and drum was shipped. Ball dropped again. Finally got someone to send what they promised and it is on its way, but I had to return the defective unit within 3 days of receipt of the replacement unit. So, basically stuck with a copier/printer with NO TONER and NO DRUM until they can send me what they promised overnight. Let's see if we get that today. All I want is a product that will work well, and this machine does have a good reputation for being a good multipurpose machine. I know that mine was just defective, but it took from May until end of November to finally get the replacement machine, and still haven't gotten the toner and drum. They say the folks that I was dealing with were all pretty new and that is why they probably dropped the ball. So, if that is the case, customer service has some training issues that they need to work on. I am sure that I will ultimately be satisfied.... hopefully later on today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

trouble free high-quality printer

By jfpjet from Raleigh-Durham, NC on 01/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installation was trouble-free and the print quality is excellent. Duplex printing works very well without any creasing of the paper. The printer is used from several macs and pcs. Overall I'm very pleased. A few points about my experience: (1) A full software install on a pc takes a loooong time but the reward is high print quality and access to all printer and scanner options. A windows 7 printer install (instead of using the supplied software) can not find a driver for the printer. (2) On macs the printer is installed by macos but options are limited and the print quality is not as good in some applications. (3) More consumable parts in this printer than in my previous unit and the cost is higher. Also the 2000 page toner that came with the unit warned of low toner after printing 950 pages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is great

By SantaGary from Duluth GA on 01/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is lighting fast, saves paper by printing on both sides and is user friendly. I still have a lot to learn about it but I will keep working on it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good purchase

By wyliej from Winnsboro, TX on 01/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer worked well and the software was easy to install. I will need more time to determine its network stability. Other printers have not been stable and has caused untold hours of reinstallation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Centerpiece of my home office

By EveningSky from Syracuse, NY on 12/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As with another previous Brother multifunction purchase, a wonderful product. Printing is excellent. I have a Mac and PC interfaced over an ethernet network, and both work with this device, without problem. SW is a bit clunkly, would appreciate an upgrade of the SW, would appreciate more control over the units function by computer, but together with the internal unit software/unit info screen, the total SW is understandable and allows me to do what I need to do with this machine. This machine truly makes my home office. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Time Saver

By Teacher105 from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a teacher and wanted a dependable copier/printer in my classroom. I have only had the 8110 for three months, but it has fit the bill very well. It copies relatively quickly and works well with my computer. It is tall, but doesn't take up a large amount of desk or table space. There are two things I would change. The first is that when I run multiple papers to copy through the automatic feed, they sometimes fly out of the printer and on to the floor. The other is that duplex copying is not a simple push of a button. It is a minor issue, but annoying when I am trying to make a quick copy for a student or teacher.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By Tortoise from Tucson, AZ on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've been using a Brother MFP machine for several years and are even more pleased with our DCP. Crisp, clean printing; sensible controls; logical door arrangement; and printing envelopes is MUCH easier and faster than on the older machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved