Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » DS920DW » 31 Reviews

Brother Dsmobile Ds-920dw Sheetfed Scanner - 24-bit Color - 8-bit Grayscale - Usb (ds-920dw) Reviews
Brother Dsmobile Ds-920dw Sheetfed Scanner - 24-bit Color - 8-bit Grayscale - Usb (ds-920dw)

Brother Dsmobile Ds-920dw Sheetfed Scanner - 24-bit Color - 8-bit Grayscale - Usb (ds-920dw)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

The Brother™ DS-920DW mobile scanner is perfect for the mobile professional who needs a powerful scanner that will slide right into a briefcase or business bag. It's ideal for capturing two-sided business documents, as well as receipts, business cards, embossed plastic cards, invoices, photogr... <more> 

Brother International Model: DS920DW

$205.28

22 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I have yet to use it, too hard to set up.

By armpit44 from San Francisco on 08/31/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I hired an Apple expert but he gave up after 25 minutes of trying to make sense of the software. I was waiting for a day I had half an afternoon to call Brother support, so you could walk me through it but then I moved into a new house and now have to assemble everything again and have 4 hours to set aside to try to finally make sense of it all. Wished it were more plug and play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner

By matt1361 from Salt Lake City, UT on 08/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a systems administrator for a trucking company. We have about 25 of these scanners that run over the road with our drivers. We have had them for about a year and a half. Documents scanned come in crystal clear. They are simple to use on a mobile device with the free app. We have had only one issue that was resolved immediately with a phone call. A new scanner was shipped overnight at no cost to us.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By ch999 from NH on 07/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had so much fun getting rid of the paper photos and getting them scanned. This item is so easy to use and scanned each photo quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By LRJolley from Undisclosed on 07/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works great, and does just what I wanted it to do. Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome buy

By Familyhistorysleuth from Indianapolis, Indiana on 07/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this scanner to help me with mygenealogy work. I scan so many documents and photo's most of which is at my various family's homes. This is perfect because of it's portability I can take it where ever I go. The quality of everything I've scanned is prefect, very crisp. I love that I can scan either a single side or double side document or photo! It's small so it doesn't take up a lot of room, great price and superior quality!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Customer Service

By BrotherDisappoints from New Mexico on 07/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Although the portable scanner itself is a good piece of equipment, the service and support from Brother is the worst I've ever experienced. The USB mini-port on the device broke off the first time I used it. Cold solder joints. It took me two days to get someone on the phone to help. The automated customer service voicemail system took me round and round without results. The only line that answered was software support. The two times when I got a tech on the line, they both told me they couldn't help with a hardware problem and didn't know who I could call. After working my way through the complany, I finally got a hardware guy on the phone. He told me it wasnt worth fixing and said to throw it out and buy another one. I asked him to provide me with the warranty service address anyway. I took my chances and sent the device and all accessories back in the original carton. I was surprised in a couple of weeks to get a new device. It was new in the box and had the software, the documentation, the memory card and the cable. No battery. I called support again and asked about the battery. I was told that I shouldnt have sent the battery back with the device. I was told that this was my problem. I was told that I should have known better. She also couldnt tell me where I could obtain a battery. I sent an email to Brother asking where I could get a battery, since the device is useless without one. So, I sent Brother another $50 to get a battery to replace the one they took from me. Never again, Brother. Never again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Service

By Dave531 from Undisclosed on 06/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

From the beginning I thought the power cable was loose and now it is inside the scanner, unable to charge or use the scanner. The scanning capabilities were good. I had no problem using the cable, but Wi-Fi never worked. The warranty, naturally, has run out. I have since purchased a printer with scanning capabilities and will be using it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most Practical Purchase

By Cndn from New York NY on 05/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very practical. Does all the work as Receipt management, Document Management and is compact and portable. I don't use my larger scanner anymore. This does all the work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok Only

By Rube from SF on 05/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not the best but good enough. Not much to say. jus OK


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent Scanner

By Anonymous from Central Florida on 04/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the most part, it's an ok scanner. Portability is great, but there are a few things that I'm not all that happy with. 1. Any deformed edge on the paper you feed into it causes the paper to be drawn in sideways and then jams the scanner. No a biggie, just a pain at times. 2. Color seems off a little bit. Considering the price I would have hoped the color rendering would have been better. 3. The transport mechanism looks a little "frail" and I hope it holds up over time. Speed is decent,and the feature set is good. All in all not a bad little scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor user support

By hgr1 from SC on 03/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Does not support export to Quicken Essentials for the Mac therefore for my purposes it's useless!!! I submitted a question to Brother customer service and was never answered???


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice compact unit

By roadrunner59 from Vacaville, Ca on 03/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have purchased this Brother scanner because it was capable of scanning both sides of a document and can scan up to 32 inches in length. My other portable scanner can only scan one side and up to 14 inches in length. I am a consultant and I take this portable unit with me now in place of the my previous scanner. Faster, and more importantly can scan both sides and longer contract length type documents are scannable too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Device!

By FYJIMO from Kansas on 03/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this scanner for about four months, and it works GREAT! (I run this with a Mac) I also have a Brother MFC8910DW BW Laser all-in-one, @ home (which I also am very satisfied with!), my mobile scanner is much handier to use. I had no problems installing the software, and using the software is very simple, once you learn... KUDOS!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

920DW scanner

By thyde from asheville, nc on 03/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was easy to set up and use and it seems to do a great job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed

By Grandmabee from Florida on 02/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wish I'd have gotten this sooner. It took a while to figure how to work it but, I'm not very good at computer stuff. Once I did, I breezed right through my work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unnecessairly complicated and lacking

By BillB from Oakland, CA on 01/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First product in years that required reading the owner's manual to install and setup. Instructions and procedures are unnecessarily complicated. Installation of WiFi was problematic. Images were not clear and crisp, they had gray backgrounds instead of white and maximum dpi is only 600, not adequate for printing enlarged presentations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The 920DW is OK Support is bad.

By CDBrown from Hartfrod CT on 08/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the product to be used with my traveling consulting business. The hardware work ok. I down loaded the BR-Receipt software and purchased the cloud service. However, I was never able to link to the Cloud Service. It kept telling to reset my password. Which I did over 15 times. I also wrote the support desk. I kept getting canned responses to reset my password, I could long onto my account online but when it would never let me access my Cloud site. I did call the support desk. I hung up after 10 to 15 minutes waiting for someone pick up. I did finally get a young lady. However, I received the canned response with a n email link to reset my password again and the standard instructions. I did follow the instructions and reset my password. The connectivity still was not fixed. I canceled my cloud service and am considering returning the DS Mobile 920dw to the Store and getting an other brand. 5 hours of trying to get this product up and running as advertised is not acceptable for a business professional that has accounting can computer training.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DSMobile is OK

By Mito from Orlandio, FL on 06/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not a fan of small format scanners in general, but the larger ones just are an incredible pain in terms of how much space they take up and how long they take to scan. At first, when I used it on my Mac Book, teh DSmobile 920DW seemed like a piece of junk. I just hated the way it behaved, the software tools, the lack of setup utilities, etc. I was even thinking of returning it. When I hooked it up to my PC, however, it behaved, EXACTLY as I expected it to. No fuss, no muss. It quickly and painlessly scanned all my loose pages and I am in the process of going about getting rid of years of paper clutter and getting them organized, which to my sad admission, I find fun.... It appears very no frills in general, but I am happy with how it performs when attached to a PC. Do not have much need for it outside the office. It takes up little room and sits on my desk just fine. The feeding mechanism can be described as a little finicky, but you quickly get used to it and it is no big deal unless you have some really ratty pages to scan. For a PC, for someone that has bare bones scanning requirements, I would recommend this. On the Mac, I wouldn't have my expectations set to high. It may work better on the Mac with different software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner:

By EasyLiving from Undisclosed on 06/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great portable scanner. Easy to setup and use. Documents, business cards, etc. come out as clear as original.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DS920DW Great Scanner

By jfepac from Chesapeake, VA on 06/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

PROS: Scanner works as described by Brother. Scanner is fast and does a good job with even small receipts. The WIFI works very good. Duplex also is very handy when scanning documents. CONS: I would have given it 5 stars if you could control the scanning by the wifi wireless interface.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Features

By Reviewer17 from Sacramento, CA on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great scanner, portable and no wires with the wifi and the rechargeable batteries. Scanning is easy once you learn the associated programs. It can be a bit cumbersome to set up the organizing program to receive the scanned files. Scanning to the inserted SD card is really easy and quick.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little device

By SFCACC from Vancouver, BC on 04/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this device couple of weeks ago. It works great. There is just one problem with this type, and it is its feeder. There is no paper holder and you have to feed documents one by one, and sometimes it causes jam. Overall great product, good speed, and quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent gift

By bumper from Long Beach, California on 02/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product was a gift for my birthday. Althoough not being computer literate, I finally was able to figure this out and got it working properly. Now I am finding several uses for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

well done bro

By scottso from indianapolis, indiana on 02/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a portable scanner for my job related expenses and documents. Found this unit to work perfectly via Wi-Fi with my android powered phone and tablet. it interfaced well with Polaris office. great quality scans and all around performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Neat Desk it's not.

By DA1359 from Undisclosed on 02/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Compact, yes. Mobile, yes. Wireless, yes. Easy of use, No. I am still figuring this thing out. So now I can't give a high standing review. As far as the wireless goes it is as long as I turn off my internet connection then connect with the DSmobile 920DW. I find this a bit Inconvenient. As I said I am still learning the product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great

By zmatt from Pensacola fl on 02/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After three days of not being able to set the system up, we used the tech support people and they we great, in an hour we were up and running. the tech support was invaluable. the written set up guide was not very good. But once running the scanner worked great. I takes up little room and uses no cords. It can be easily put away and taken out when needed. It has two side scanning and that saves time for some documents. I would recommend this scanner to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointment

By CAGirl from Huntington Beach,CA on 02/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a Mac and was never able to set it up so that the scanned receipt went into BRreceipts. This is a very simple scanner and not suitable for an advanced business situation. Although it says it is WiFi, tech support explained that a scanned receipt cannot be transferred directly to my computer in that mode. You must use the memory card for WiFi. Even calling tech support was useless. Some very incompetent and actually hostile tech support reps. Will return for a higher end scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By thunt from San Diego, CA on 02/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works as designed. Everything I have tried to scan has worked great. Some of the extra software could be better but it does work. I would buy again. In fact I will be looking for a printer and will definitely look at Brothers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it's ok...

By fitness from longisland NY on 02/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

it's hard to sent up the Bluetooth/wireless screen display is small and confusing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

never got it to work.

By Tony99 from NY, NY on 01/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a mac, was having a problem to getting it to work called several times to customer service, finally was transferred to their mac specialists. After being on fold for an hour, I decided it was not worth it and returned the whole unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poorest manual ever

By lessthanhappy from Southeast on 01/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have not been able to use the scanner because the drivers won't download. Oh fun oh joy. So I have to spend hours with trouble shooting instead of doing the work that earns my income. I am very lucky.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved