Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Facsimiles » FAX2820 » 45 Reviews

Brother International Fax2820 Plain Paper Laser Fax Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 45 reviews)

84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Choice

By JAC1 from Shreveport, La.; Hyattsville, Md. on 04/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very reliable, clean and sharp prints. Very cost effective.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little machine

By RickT from Greenwich, CT on 02/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 4th fax machine I have owned. Wish it had been the first. It's quiet, efficient, quick and has great print quality. Setup was very simple and programming was a breeze. It worked the first time flawlessly and has continued to do so without a glitch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fax machine

By sunshine1 from FL on 01/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The machine is dependable, but is not good for medium to high volume.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good workhorse

By MajB from Undisclosed on 01/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had one for years, a real work horse-with things constantly going in & out on it. You do hear it make a little whir when it starts, but not annoying in my opinion & I sit near it. There has been a problem now & the sending to a particular office but they have problems with other offices sending to them whether on Sure West lines, Comcast phone lines, or others, all with other faxes, so I do not think it is a problem with our Brother 2820. The only 2 things I feel it misses is being able to set the re-dial function for more than one re-try in 5 minutes, which is often inadequate, or for a longer duration between tries, and it is cumbersome to change the setting from whether you want a receipt printed for your transmission or not- a one-button change would be nice, to save paper. I haven't seen any other machine that sounds any better or has better reviews- particularly for $ so I will be buying another. I can not rate service- any problems I had were solved in forums- like the machine sometimes saying it needed new drum when it did not- simple re-set to do, but this should be in the manual as it happens every so often.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Fax machine

By kweb from Arnold, MO on 01/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The fax we purchased has been such an improvement from our former fax. It is very user friendly. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

By LindaTax from Pittsburgh PA on 12/28/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hands down - the best stand-alone fax machine I've ever used. Steady companion in my small tax/law office for over 10 years. Easy to use - good reports - inexpensive to operate - value and quality are all imporant features of this machine. Don't hesitate to buy one for your office or home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2820

By beacon from South Carolina on 12/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WAs very pleasd with product and as a fax it is still a good machine but with in a few weeks of using it the port where u input your computer cable to use as a printer went out which is a bit upsetting


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So dependable

By Marys from Tulsa, OK on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 4 of these for our medical practice. They are great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just the FAX

By ITinYpsi from Ypsilanti, Michigan on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Been running about 6 months since purchase. No problems with paper feed and printing. FAX works on our PBX system. Had to change setting to 9600 baud.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nothing special

By officefaxmachine from louisville, ky on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The main issues with this fax are the feeder and the part that catches the papers when they are faxed. For some reason when I fax papers, the machine constantly pushes the previously scanned pages into the floor. Its a little frustrating. It also double feeds papers through the scanner quite often. Operation is easy though


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Intellifax 2820

By BrotherfaxCaliWoman24 from Chatsworth, CA on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

In general, the fax and copying work okay. The main problem is that the papers fly out of the machine like a cartoon! If I am not in my office, I have to waste time coordinating all my papers. Precious time that I need for my work. I have never had this problem with a Brother fax before. I also have to "hand feed" papers one by one or they stick together. (It reminds me of the old days, 20 years ago).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Working Fine

By 98Maine from Brunswick , ME on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had it for a year, under light use it works exactly as it should. Easy to set up, allows pass through for phone/answering machine, with line splitter sends/receives on a single line. The copier function is faster than I expected. I like this machine because I don't have to worry about or mess with it. It just works w/o drama.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great machine

By aviator from Undisclosed on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two of these machines that I use in business. They function just great. The only negative comment would be the small display window. It could be a bit larger and brighter. Difficult to read in low light.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very happy with product

By mindfull from New York, NY on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

durable, easy to use, reliable and excellent performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional Value

By RXA777 from Houston, Tx. area on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'd say this model separates the little deskphone models from the "bigger boys". Set-up instructions are easy to follow. This unit is very easy to use and produces excellent work, both fax or copy. I've used the smaller (what I call desk phone models) units and can definately see a more "professional" feeling about using this model at home. I highly recommend this model for it's obvious quality and dependability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IntelliFax does exactly what it was designed to do

By TheBirdPaparazzo from Albuquerque, NM on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Intellifax 2820 does a great job of faxing, one of the tasks it was designed to do. It quiet, fast and does a nice print out. The machine does equally a good job when copying. It's a little tricky to get it to print on both sides but after a few trials, it produces a great print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Intellifax-2820

By 43mailmanm from Sewell, New Jersey on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is our 3rd Brother Intelifax. It is used in a commercial setting since we have a fax service for our customers. They are easy to use & require very little care other than paper & toner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By lafa from merrimack nh on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

can always count on it to work correct very sharp printing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performance

By Susan from MI on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A lot of features for the price. Set up was a little more complicated then expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs a few more options

By GLICPA from Liberty on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Add a speaker phone. Add 3-Way calling option; so we can fax while we are talking on the phone. Otherwise, I like the paper tray hidden on bottom that holds more paper than standard fax machines.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Fax.......I Have No ...

By willijon from New Castle, De on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice Fax.......I Have No Complaints. It Was A Little Confusing At First.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional Machine

By Roadrunner from Las Vegas, Nevada on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The IntelliFax 2820 has performed admirably since we received it last year. We have had no problems with it at all. It is used daily as a copier and a fax and it receives faxes without any problems. The features are great. If a copy is being made, it automatically reverts back to the fax mode. Recommend it highly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice

By Timothy from Irvine, ca on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very reliable use for small office Better then any other brands


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good purchase, with one exception

By la062540 from Tennessee on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The tray or paper extension is flimsy. Any pressure will cause the tray to break easily. Except for that part the fax has performed very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only one thing needed

By reddog1 from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A small document carrier should be provided to prevent jamming and to ensure an even feed when inserting the original. I made my own carrier by using 9-point light weight cardstock (cut down from a file folder). You then take Scotch Post-It Removeable transparent tape and the small document (check, cash register receipt, or any small or delicate paper) and attach it to the carrier with the removeable tape. This works very well, but a small document carrier is an item which should already be included in the box since the machine does not have a lift up top for books, magazines, etc. and this type of machine is for feeding the originals in and not placing them on a glass top. Other than that, if you only need black print this machine beats inkjet any day of the week. It also makes a good printer when you go to the site and download the drivers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First fax machine purchased!

By Packersfan from West Coast on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this one on the advice of my local Office Depot. It is the same one they use on a daily basis so it should work for me! So far it has performed flawlessly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value and Function

By ANROC1945 from Ocala, Florida - Home Office on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent value for the money. Very reliable. Low cost of operation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By PJH1 from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had no problems with faxing or making copies. I share the line with a phone and an answering machine. I manually switch the fax mode to answer and turn off the answering machine to receive faxes. I send more than I receive. Sending Faxes is easy just dial, insert fax to send, and start.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great buy

By jackjc from miami, fla on 09/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

for the price this laser home fax, copier and printer is better than I expected


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine

By Raob from North Carolina on 09/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this Intellifax 2820 for over 6 years, without any problems or issues. It just keeps going and going. One of the best investments I ever made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Ok

By Superduper from Bdale NJ on 08/29/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This fax prints very quickly, the only problem I have with mine is you have to keep opening the paper tray and pushing the paper down after each print as it will tell you there is no paper in the tray. It is completely annoying!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIRD BEST PURCHASE EVER

By Anonymous from LAS VEGAS, NV on 07/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS INTELLIFAX-2820 IS ABSOLUTELY A "WORK HORSE" PRINTER. WE HAVE THREE OF THEM GOING DAY AND NITE. WE COULD NOT ASK FOR A BETTER MORE RELIABLE FAX HOME OFFICE PRINTER THAN THE 2820. IT'S FAST AND TOTALLY TROUBLE FREE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRINTER TO THE WORLD. RL UNDERWOOD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Fax machine

By jerryspharmacy from Beverly Hills.CA on 06/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great fax machine. I like the way it scans copy to be faxed, so you don't have to stand over machine, it does it quickly. And you don't have to wait until is done to scan another copy to be faxed. Printing quality is great. But there is one thing lacking......It only redials once when the line is busy, not two-three-four times like other fax machines, then after one re-try, it prints a copy report and that wastes paper if you have to keep trying to fax to same number. I wish it would redial more times. That is the only draw-back on the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Pleased

By svcor from Palm Desert CA on 04/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

also use as printer - clear printed docs, makes business life a dream.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great fax machine

By drbaq from Washington State on 04/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The IntelliFax-2820 is a solid machine, that is easy to use, and is very dependable. No problems ever. It is so dependable and it works every time without a fuss, we forget the machine is even there. I have had 3 other fax machines, and they were not even close to being as good a fax machine as this one is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Fax

By AuntC from Washington State on 08/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best fax machine I have ever had, and my first laser fax. I would never go back to the cartridge type again. I use it for personal and small business. Copies and faxes print clearly. Have had no problems with paper jams. It comes with two paper trays (a lot of the new fax machines don't supply paper trays). I replaced another brand I had only had for three months with this machine. In the past I have always purchased the other brand but was disgusted with my last purchase and tried Brother. It was one of the best decisions I have made. It's a little loud but I actually like the sound. It is a solid and sturdy machine. I'm very pleased with my purchase and would tell anybody to buy one. Thank you Brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Machine, Bad Fax Redial

By FAXMASTER from Cincinnati, Ohio on 08/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine is a very nice multi purpose machine, it makes good black and white photo copies, good quality prints, and is fairly fast. Faxed copies are clear, speed dial options are good. My machine is used mostly as a stand alone fax, the one complaint I have about it is that when the fax line that you are faxing to is busy the machine will only redial once after 5 minutes. This is a very frustrating feature. In my mind and on my previous HP fax machine the machine would redial multiple times or indefinitely until the fax went through. Instead after 1 redial it prints a report that the line was busy with the time and number you were trying to fax. However if several different faxes were sent to that same number in a short amount of time (which is frequently the case with this machine) you have no way of determining which faxes went through and which were terminated after the second attempt. This is very frustrating as I am frequently faxing several different documents to the same corporate location in a short amount of time and have multiple people using the machine, since the corporate office receives and sends hundreds of faxes each day their line is frequently busy. The machine should have been set up so it would dial repeatedly until the fax went through or you should be able to set the number of times this machine redials. It is especially frustrating if you are trying to fax something and leave the office. You have to stand there and wait to verify the fax went through, and if it is busy you have to wait 5 minutes or manually push the redial button. If the document is important and you are in a hurry you can not trust the fax will go through because if you leave and the fax on the other end is busy on the second attempt the machine simply quits trying to send the fax. This is a major design flaw and prevents me from rating this machine any better than average. This might be an ok machine for home use but I would never purchase this machine if I was sending faxes to a machine that is frequently busy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST PURCHASE PRICE EVER

By COOLBREEZE from TINLEY PARK, ILLINOS on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WE LOOKED AT EVERY FAX ON THE MARKET AND THIS INTELLIFAX-2820 WAS THE BEST ONE ON PRICE AND EASY TO USE AND SET UP. MAKES GREAT COPY'S VERY FAST. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS MACHINE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother Intelli Fax 2820

By Savage from Warwick, RI on 12/22/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worked well since I bought it several years ago then without warning papers constantly jam. No longer usable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Fax Machine

By plumbloco from Kennett Square, PA on 10/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

FINALLY!!!! A fax machine that really works. I have had several fax machines over the years and this is by far the best one I have ever owned. I just needed a plain fax machine, no other gadgets attached for a dedicated fax line. This one works great. It's easy to use and makes great copies. It holds a large quantity of paper in the drawer. I especially like that it scans and memorizes documents to be faxed. I have had no problems with the paper feed (as I have had with others). I have absolutely no compaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Reliable

By TexasSecretary from Lubbock, Texas on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very fast and very reliable. Office users have been complimentary of flawless performance and speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Fax Machine

By texgal from Texas on 05/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We own a small constuction company and do all of our invoicing and bids using the Brothers Fax. It is great for a small company. We have owned a Brothers before and they are an asset to our company. We probably use it every day!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best quality for the money.

By 3snakes from Rockville, MD on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an "office quality" machine at a "home user" price. It's "heavier-duty" than anything else at this price point, as it's virtually identical mechanically to much more expensive models. As a bonus it's a fast laser printer with excellent print quality, and with a low cost per page! The slower 14.4 modem makes no difference unless you often send faxes "long-distance", or more than 5 or 10 pages per transmission. It's also easy and intuitive to use, and I've had no problems whatsoever. After using this, I purchased a Brother fax machine for my office. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother Has the Ease of Use

By Lynn from Wisconsin on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I always use the Brother brand then I know the ease for set up and use is made for easy direction in the information booklet The high quality and ease of the use especially of a new product is why I ONLY look for the Brother brand when I need a item for replacement The cost is always in my budget also. A purchase of a Brother product is the only way to buy at my office..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's a great machine and ...

By veteran from new york city on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a great machine and I would tell others about it. The only draw backs I have with it was setting up the broadcasting and no cd to setup other options. But everything else is super.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved