Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Facsimiles » FAX4100E » 51 Reviews

Brother International Fax4100e Business Class Laser Fax (brother International K31315) Reviews
Brother International Fax4100e Business Class Laser Fax (brother International K31315)

Brother International Fax4100e Business Class Laser Fax (brother International K31315)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Meet your business needs with this full-featured affordable fax machine. Produce crisp professional output every time thanks to the laser technology. Use the auto document feeder to efficiently copy and send multiple pages. Store faxes for later transmission in the built-in memory. Reduce the time y... <more> 

Brother International Model: FAX4100E

$352.29

36 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 51 reviews)

78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Bad scanning

By bafire from Broken Arrow, Ok on 08/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Scans fairly quick but once transmitted the papers are very hard to read and are very dark. Also the papers jams when multiple pages are being faxed. We now use a scanner and email all documents. If you have to fax items i would opt for some type of online fax service or get a decent scanner to use. There does not seem to be away to clean the scanning device or control the feed of paper. I think if you could clean the actual "lens" I think it would be a great product. I would have initially given it a 4.5 but as older it gets the worse it gets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Fax Machine

By JxnPnCtr from Jackson, MS on 07/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best fax machine I've ever used! Has the capability to load many separate jobs, one right after the other, without having to wait for the full transmission cycle. Great asset for a busy clinic/office!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Business fax

By MartinS from Denver, CO on 07/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This model is a good little work horse for our business. I wish Brother had a model that was a grade or two higher, as we do a lot of government work and they fax a tremendous amount of documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New Purchase

By Dove66 from HI on 07/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned three other brands of fax machines. This is the first time I purchased a Brother. So far, I am more than pleased in the quiet operation and jam-less situation. Initially, it took me more time to set up but definitely was worth the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good and solid Fax

By trtmll from New York on 03/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This fax was an easy install. I use it for business and have not had any problems. I would recommend this Intelli Fax 4100 e


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second Machine

By CopyPerson from Michigan on 11/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second machine we have owned. The first one lasted about 4 years. My husband uses it mainly for the laser printer. He goes through a lot of paper in one year. It copies fast and does a great job. Faxing has not been in issue. We mainly fax about twice a year. The only drawback is that amount of power it uses. The lights on the same circuit dim until the machine is turned off. Also, I would have liked an on/off button.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By DMinn from Sioux Falls, SD on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a purchase to replace a Brother Fax machine that was 20+ years old, which proves that the Brother Product Line is high quality and will be used long term. This was an upgrade which provided quicker submissions and printing of the incoming faxes. I have been very pleased with the purchase including the quick set-up of the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Purchase

By Odaque from Westchester, NY on 05/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I hope this lasts longer than my old mfc 8220. Good machine. Copies well - (although I had to call back to speak to another Rep & how it didn't copy - she told me that if there isn't a check on control panel w/ Copier & there wasn't - she walked me through the steps to take). Faxes well (spoke to another Rep and he said just plug the phone into the phone symbol on back of machine - wrong. I read the book and realized that I had to plug into Jack & Line on back of machine) All in all I think this is a good machine. Copies well, faxes well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best

By Martin from La Quinta, CA on 10/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ALWAYS works perfectly, I love it...................


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An unworthy Sucksessor to the mfc 8220

By JamesH from Las Vegas, NV on 10/25/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the biggest disappointment of 25 years of buying Brother products. It is slow to start, slow to print, hard to feed faxes, and double feeds paper. The user interface is confusing and cryptic, the operators manual poorly organized, and its behavior unpredictable. Sometimes it prints a confirmation page, but other times it may not, even though no error messages were forthcoming. Worst of all, the display is mounted flat, so you have to look down on it just to see it, and there is no backlight, especially no colored backlight, to give you a clue whether it is printing or waiting, or not. It is cheaply made, noisy, and pathetic. Strangely, it is just as heavy (one of the criteria I used to estimate its ruggedness) as the one it replaced, so it must have sand ballast in it somewhere, because that weight is not justified by quality and durability of its components.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy at all !!!!!!

By LFCPA from Salt Lake City, Utah on 10/13/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought the 4100E to replace the 4100 that we have had for a while. We installed the 4100E and kept getting an error message saying OFFLINE. We hired a technician to install it and he got the same message. We took the drum out of the new machine and put it in the old machine. The old machine works fine. We then took the 4100E to the authorized service center here in Salt Lake City, Utah. He said without the new drum he cannot test our machine. So we have our old machine with a new drum. I should have just bought a new drum. Terrible service for a new machine !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Fax Ever

By VistaShipper from Vista, CA on 04/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned many faxes during my business years until I settled on one about 2 1/2 years ago... And that was the 4100E. I own a shipping/business services store and offering a fax service to my customers is vital. The 4100E has been working heavily for about 2 1/2 years now without servicing. The only cost has been toner and drum during all this time. Incredible but true. My 3 printers are also Brother. It is an addiction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worse fax machine ever you can buy...

By Jatinder from Dallas tx on 12/21/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the worse machine that i ever bought..brother send me 4 replacement with the same problem ..keep saying check orignal ..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just the fax, Mam, Just the fax

By Crusader from Westland, MI on 12/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We now have 2 Brother IntelliFax-4100e in the office. When the first one got old and worn out, after thousands of in-coming and out-going faxes, we went to buy another one. We were happy with the first 4100e....and so we purchased the same unit again. The new unit sits up front to send and receive faxes that come to the office, the old one (which eventually had trouble receiving faxes) is used as an out-going fax machine only. Great machine.....a Workhorse in our office


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer Great Drivers Bad

By TaxGuyGeorge from Belleville, IL on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer until it is required to print something over 5 pages in length and then it prints Cyrillic gibberish.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VALUE PURCHASE

By BBGOHR from WASHINGTON, D.C. on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

IT IS MORE COMPACT THAN THE DINOSAUR WE USED IN THE PAST. WE HAVE HAD IT SINCE SEPTEMBER. SO FAR, SO GOOD. EASY TO FOLLOW SET-UP INSTRUCTIONS AND CUSTOMER SERVICE HAS BEEN GOOD. BEFORE I RATE 5 STARS I WANT TO SEE INK USAGE AND/OR COST.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase

By Pest from Woodstock, georgia on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I called shortly after getting the fax machine to explain that we kept getting an error message "Poor Line Condition". I was told to check with our phone line provider which I did but explained at the time that I had already done this and that our old machine did not give us this message. I was given the # of a repair shop and called and took the machine in. They returned it after replacing a part but the machine again gave this error. The repair place gave us a loaner which worked fine (the same model machine) and again took our machine. They again did something and returned it and again the same error message was given. They again took the machine and the loaner (another one) works fine and does not give us this error. We have used the original machine maybe 3 weeks and have had a loaner ever since.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good purchase

By formaline from CA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

good product, would purchase another one if I had too


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good product

By pedsdr from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just purchased this product for our office. So far no complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good puchase

By CANDYMEN from Phia, PA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have no complaints with the machine. The actual owners manual was confusing and we had to call in a couple of times


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Every year we have one ...

By OfficeFax from Columbus, OH on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every year we have one week of black copies and faxes from static. The machine is only 2 years old and needs to be replaced already. I know others who have the machine have not had the same problems, so I think ours is a lemon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good purchase

By Rysolutions from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother Fax has proven to be a very good purchase. It serves our small business office very sufficiently. I would definitely recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works well. high quality build.

By chuckh from home office texas on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice black and white printer, fax, and copier. Sharp, clear graphics. I suffered through a cheap all in one lexmart for years. This is a real nice unit that I am expecting at least ten years trouble free use out of.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

better than OK

By butch123 from Louisville, KY on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

no longer than we have had this fax it seams to be just fine. your support people was very helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great FAX *****

By Coco12 from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since we have purchased the Intellifax-4100e we have been very satisfied with the fax.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use, Trouble Free, Good Customer Support

By CarolM from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this machine about six months ago to replace a cranky old fax. I had some difficulty setting it up properly, but the customer service person talked me through it on the phone, and then emailed me the directions. Since then it has been easy for the office members to use, and trouble free.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

billing manager

By patsy from Western Springs, il on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does not tell you what phone number when its being sent. But over all it works great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sorry company

By Butchcoff from Baton Rouge, La. on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Can't because i did.t use it for a long time and you no longer support your own product! I need printer driver for mac and can only download for pc, no good for me, i need a disk for mac driver. Useless piece of brand new equipment. Alot of money to throw down the drain!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Works

By Owlyn from Okemos, MI on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've had the unit for about a year now, and aside from a little glitch phone support was able to fully resolve for us, the unit works as advertised - which is unfortunately rare with multifunction devices these days. If you don't want to have to buy a new printer/fax etc. every 3 to 6 months, get a Brother!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Chick from Rochester, New York on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 3rd Brothers Fax I have purchased for different locations. Easy to use, very few problems. Brothers is the name to buy. Just purchased this one to replace a 10-11 year old Brothers fax that finally bit the dust. Cheaper to replace. Being used in sub-residency of State.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent fax machine i ...

By monti from Calif on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent fax machine i ever had after long time and after many disappointments. Very well built, elegant, simple to operate, friendly, and pleasure to work with. I recommend it strongly for office and smallbusiness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good, but missing some little things

By force23 from Winston-Salem, NC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this FAX at work and it's a workhorse. We send and receive literally thousands of FAXes per month and they come through without a hitch. However one feature this machine apparently doesn't have is an audible alarm when the paper has run out. We have gone hours and hours not receiving anything only to find out it's been without paper for who knows how long. Other than that it's a solid buy with a good price point. Another benefit is that Brother has an excellent recycling program for you to cost free send back your spent toner cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is good when working well, but......

By WMando from New Orleans, LA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In the pat three years, I bought three of these faxes. Initially each one worked well, but then something goes wrong like making noise or giving error message. Tried to fix it, I found out that it will cost less buying new one. It is good fax for home use, but for heavy business office, plan to buy one every year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good reliable product

By ZHURA from brooklyn, NY on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good reliable product, had been used for the past two years with no issues


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice fax machine

By cosmicvoid from near Seattle, WA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Reasonably priced, and has a lot of features. After using it for 11 months, there have been no problems. Especially, no paper feed problems, which is a troublesome area in fax machines. I am impressed with the 4100e, and would recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good fax machine with one drawback

By ScottFromDallas from Dallas, TX on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This fax machine was bought to replace a four year old entry-level Brother fax machine that had finally died. (It died from overuse: There were only 10 people using it when we bought it, but 30 people when it died.) So we upgraded to a more sturdy machine this time, and the 4100e is definitely doing a great job for us so far. The drawback? Well, Brother considers it a feature. If it runs out of paper, it will continue to receive faxes until it fills-up its internal memory, and then print them as soon as you add paper. The memory is quite large, and it is able to hold somewhere around 500 typical pages. If that memory fills up, then it will simply stop answering the phone to prevent any further faxes from arriving. This is all good! BUT...if you don't want to print those faxes that have piled-up in memory, there's no way to get rid of them! You MUST put in paper and let them print. Sure, you can flip the paper over and only waste half of your paper, but you're still wasting all the toner and all the wear-and-tear on the machine. Unplug it? Nope! Brother thought of that too. To guard against losing faxes in memory due to power failure, it will keep everything intact for up to 4 days without power. So if you REALLY want to scrap the faxes in memory, you can unplug it for four days, and HOPE that's long enough! Why they didn't design a way to clear the memory is beyond me. If they were paranoid that someone would accidentally flush the memory, then put a couple of "ARE YOU SURE?" hoops that you have to jump through on it too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good

By reviewerG from New York, NY on 09/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have purchased similar models in the past and have all worked well. Good for mid size office that has a lot of incoming faxes. The high yield toner cartridge is a plus!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By egonzalez945 from Miami, FL on 09/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After dealing with an HP fax for multiple years, I am thrilled to have moved to a Brother Fax. After my HP's transmission errors became to great to handle and their customer service refused to give me telephone support because the manufacturer's 1 year warranty had expired, I felt it necessary to buy a new fax machine. This unit has a superior stored memory capacity and a faster transmission speed than the HP M1319F.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Intellifax 4100e

By Bulk from Foster, KY on 07/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The fax machine is quiet and quick. The setup is a little confusing, could be easier (especially for a busy office). Maybe a quick setup feature without having to go from 1 to 2 to 3 to 4.....etc. just to get something programmed. But, all in all, it gets the job done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

inbound issues from some numbers

By KevinY from Los Angeles, CA on 07/26/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Our office has used this product for a few months but we've encountered a problem with it and receiving faxes from some certain numbers. It is consistent regarding which numbers it has issues with. We can receive faxes from most people but a select few cannot fax us no matter how many times they try. We had an AT&T dude come out to check the lines and he described some sort of half ring or slight power jolt between the two lines which isn't present with other lines. This jolt was enough to cause the 4100e to have issues receiving faxes from these numbers. However we can still send to them just they can't send to us. Thus we ended up hooking up our old MFC-8500 again and it is able to handle the faxes from the numbers the 4100e had issues with. The IntelliFax-4100e appears to be too picky or strict regarding line conditions. You may be losing out on potential customers. This product will come back to haunt you. I would NOT recommend it to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just right for my business

By consultantPro from Spokane, WA on 07/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine was purchased to upgrade an old thermal unit. It has not disappointed us. It has a very clear copy as well as the scanned document. Has been very dependable and works just great for us... A low cost network option would be a plus as well as a better readable LCD viewing angle. The high page count toner and drum are also a plus. A great solution for small offices. Would recommend it to others needing this functionality and price point...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a "workhorse"!

By drjdp from Oklahoma on 03/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 2nd 4100 fax and the first one was "broken" by someone, it didn't quit. I would recommend this fax to anyone for medium to medium-heavy workouts. We are a doctor's office that has not gone electronic so it is well used. I have "sold" two machines for the company with my recommendation!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Intellifax-4100e

By Mseinber from Albany, NY on 03/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Seems like a solid machine for our small office. Setup as simple and it replaced a similar model which lasted 3+ years without a major problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard Working Machine

By Sandie from Tucson, AZ on 03/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is hard working, very low maintenance and fast! It has a nice clear picture sending and receiving. The menu has easy to follow instructions that anyone could understand. It is also quite. I would HIGHLY recommend it to a busy office for its reliability and low cost use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Fax all in one

By DougO from Portland, OR. on 03/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 2 or the 4100e AIO's From previous experience they perform well and are durable. Only thing I would change is deleting the "Replace Drum" when it's printed x# of pages have been printed. I usually find that the print quality is still good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Network for printing

By TotalSoundPro from Arizona on 03/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

They say it will network but in reality it will not work. Unless you spend big money with these guys you will get no support. The good thing is this fax machine is a workhores. Samsung sent a tech to our shop. Now that is support!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ok machine, poor support

By palmbeachsteve from Undisclosed on 03/12/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

machine works ok. but product support not adequate


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent product

By mambro2 from michigan on 03/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

has performed without a flaw. excellent product. one of three brother printers i own or have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great fax

By william from Kotzebue Alaska on 03/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

only thing that bothered me was that it had no usb cord for my computer, I had to buy one after I received the machine, I wish I had been told so I could have purchased it at the same time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Machine

By LynnP from Rochester, NY on 07/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Generally a very nice fax machinne. It does everything as advertised. The only negative thing I can say about the machine is that the LCD display is not visible if the machine is sitting on or next to your desk. I would like to have had an adjustable display that tiped forward. It would be nice if all manufactures of fax machines would warn you that they do not work reliably on VoIP lines. VoIP causes enough bad RX & TX that I will probably have to change my fax line back to standard hard wire.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nothing but headaches

By luna0755 from Texas on 05/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased this fax in June 2009. It worked fine for about months and since that time we have had nothing but headaches. Our IT department cannot keep this fax from having a problem on a weekly basis. It is a lot of money to invest and have a product that doesn't own up to its claims. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved