Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL2240D » 81 Reviews

Brother Hl-2240d Laser Printer - Monochrome - Plain Paper Print - Desktop 24ppm Mono Print - 2400 X 600dpi Print - 250 Sheets Input - Usb (hl2240d) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 81 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Super Customer Relations

By RusSam from Fort Wayne, IN on 04/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my printer on line from Amazon as "Used-Very Good Condition." The printer arrived and I was reluctant to try to set it up knowing something would go wrong. When I finally needed to print something I did the setup and sure enough it wouldn't print for me. So I contacted Brother and they stepped me through the whole routine of trying to troubleshoot it so it would work. It still would not print, so they sent me a new replacement at no charge, I only had to box the other one and return it, following their directions. I did it and the new one works fine and I was not charged - truly amazing! For a company to do what they did for me is unprecedented, virtually unthinkable, no company would do that - but Brother did! The superlative comments that I would like to use to describe Brother have yet to be invented.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Printer, but . . .

By Denverdick from Southern California on 07/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is nothing fancy about this printer, it simply gets the job done. The only complaint I have is the feeding of the envelopes. If one is not very, very careful when starting the envelope, it will shift just slightly so that the address will be slightly off and not parallel to with bottom edge of the envelope. I have an old Brother MFC-7340 that feeds envelopes the same way, but does not exhibit this issue. As I said this is the ONLY issue I have with this printer. I would still recommend it because of the value for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the duplex feature

By BarJo from Tonawanda, NY on 05/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this product to replace an aging laser printer. After a quick download of a driver update, the install was flawless. Especially loved the duplex feature and the speed of printing. This is my second purchase of a Brother product. I am very pleased with both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good system - works as expected

By Mrwr3 from Locust Grove, VA on 05/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer works well and as advertised. No complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

reoccuring problems

By tryingtodobusiness from Ft. Lauderdale on 04/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased three of these for my business a few months ago. In the space of six weeks I had issues with two of them. The paper would not feed when asked to print. After lengthy troubleshooting on the phone with the Brother people I was told to return them on both occasions. Brother were helpful enough and sent new ones which work OK EXCEPT I am told this morning that one of the replaced ones is not working again! It's a real pain to have to go through all this again. I had an older model which worked fine for ten years but these new ones are just cheap plastic and probably made in China. I think Brother got a bad batch of this particular model. It's too bad as Brother generally make a good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy With Printer

By Smokey from Portland. OR on 03/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This HL-2240D is a GREAT Printer. My use is limited to small jobs as I am retired. It's quick and very easy to change back and forth from Duplex option! I did question buying another Brother Printer as I had trouble with my HL-2040. Ever time I had to replace toner it would not run. After several contacts with technicians I give up. Hoping I have better luck changing toner on my HL-2240D when iI need too. This print would be recommended, at this time by me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By packstore from Troy, Michigan on 02/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Easy to use and set up and work. great. unit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Selection

By Roadrunner from Las Vegas, Nevada on 02/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The HL 2240D is a great printer, reliable and functional. This is the second one we have purchased in the past year. The cost and size was key to that decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Second Printer

By Jerome from Bergen County, New Jersey on 01/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An excellent laser with black ink and fast speed . Use it with your laptop to print spread sheets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By musicwriter from California on 01/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only criticism so far is how small the first toner supply seems to be. Nice and fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value; just one deficiency

By outputhawk from Central Connecticut on 01/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked this up on sale to replace an older model Brother laser. Very pleased with its speed, the duplex feature, and of course the print quality. The only disappointment is the front small-sheet/envelope feed. I find it's virtually impossible to feed anything straight"the printing always has an unwanted "tilt." It seems there should be some sort of extended guide"internal or external"to direct the paper or envelope accurately and reliably. The previous model I had required some care in positioning, but I managed to get good, well-aligned results with it almost every time when hand-feeding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Quality Printer

By slydoll from Pasadena, CA on 10/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer and reasonably priced. I have had no problems with this printer. I enjoy the duplex feature of the printer since it saves paper. The cost of cartridges is also a money saver.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Southbound from Florida on 09/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer works just like it said it would. Had question and Customer Service was excellent. This printer and Customer Service encouraged me to buy another Brother Ink Jet Printer the MFC-J870DW, which has work great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent home laser ...

By wwpjdp from Charlotte, NC on 09/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent home laser printer. Fast and quality print


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought one, then another

By DLM1 from San Diego, CA on 09/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent quality laser printer that - unlike HP and others - works each and every time. As I'd never buy another competitive brand, I bought one Brother 2240, needed a printer in a vacation spot - and bought a second one. There's something comforting knowing that the printer will work each and every time - without fail.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inexpensive workhorse

By Busy1 from Undisclosed on 07/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have several--all working well and easy to use. Highly recommend the model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Value

By Pepper from Albuquerque, NM on 07/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my fourth Brother printer in 18 years. All have worked flawlessly right out of the box. This one is the fastest, and the two-sided printing feature saves much time and paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer for money

By HenryBlueRicge from blue ridge moutains of VA on 04/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been very pleased with its speed and reliability. It is my first duplex printer and I am very happy with that. If you do not need color or if you want a second printer, I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product......but

By JohnnyB from Saint Charles, Mo on 02/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Too bad that companies find it too costly or shall I say, not profitable enough to include a simple USB cable. Only had this printer for a few weeks and find it to be very good quality and the double sided feature to be the selling point for me. Hopefully it will last for years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this printer!

By annie13 from Taunton, MA on 02/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The original printer I had was also a Brother. It was used for years by many in my office-then I inherited it. Definitely time for a new one. The HL-2240D is perfect for my needs. It is much lighter than my other one. (I need to set it up each morning and disconnect at the printer at the end of the day for storage.) It prints very clear copies with just enough speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Working well now

By whitiger from Atlanta, GA on 02/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Read good reviews, bought one and it was DOA, rtned it at retail 2nd unit also DOA. Retailer had no more stock and could only offer refund. Because of good reviews and exceptional price i called Brother cust serv who troubleshooted over the phone and agreed second unit was DOA. They shipped replacement under warranty. Third unit set-up and has been working perfectly. Other reason for choosing this unit is review of toner cost. Many comparable have shy high toner. brother toner was an order of magnitude cheaper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FIRST TIME PICKED BROTHER OVER HP

By JMark from EAST BRUNSWICK NJ on 02/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been an exclusive HP shop since I came on board in 1996. Our department handles all accounting and payroll functions and we really like the fact that the printer automatically prints in duplex/2 sided. Saves a lot on paper. The printer is extremely fast and since we print a lot of financial reports, the toner save mode extends the life of the cartridge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST AND LOWEST OPERATING COST EVER

By MARR from SAINT PAUL MN on 01/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i DON'T USE MY CANNON MX310 ANYMORE EXCEPT FOR SCANNING. PRINTING IN COLOR TOO EXPENSIVE WITH CANON. THE HL2240D IS BEST PRINTING INVESTMENT I HAVE MADE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great B&W Printer

By VAJeff from Northern Virginia on 12/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had a Brother HL2140 for several years and really liked it. it was a dependable b&w printer for all the little print jobs that don't rate color. i found i wanted a duplex printer more and more so i went back to Brother. I just got the HL2240D. This printer was easy to set up and has been great so far. the 2-sided printing is easy and intuitive. Getting the drivers installed was straightforward and didn't take much time. I'd recommend this printer for anyone who needs a reliable 2-sided b&w laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer. glad i ...

By mudd from albany, ny on 12/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great printer. glad i purchased this item. was a great value for this great machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent decision

By Picky from Rockport, Texas on 12/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is such a good printer - great speed, quiet, and the print quality is very good. This is the polar opposite from our previous printer experience and we couldn't be happier with the Brother. It was also quick and easy to set up and get running. Thank you, Brother:)))


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst purchase of a printer ever

By mrauction1 from upstate new york on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I paid the most for a printer ever, was extremely pleased with the product, until i had to change the cartraige. I purchased an extra cartrage along with the printer to avoid any problems. i now have a printer sitting idle, and two new cartraiges unused and cant get the printer to work I also dont like the way the this survey screens the complaint. The printer was good before it needed toner, now i have no priter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm glad I received this printer.

By 1952skebee from Orrville, Ohio on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has been very reliable for our personal use and our business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Purchase

By JimBNW from Pacific Nothwewst on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The HL-2240 is a basic two side laser printer at a very reasonable price that does it job reliably exactly as promised. I completely pleased with the device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problems

By MetNet from Birmingham AL on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My printer is NOT recognized when I install it. I have to manually force it to print. Also, it will NOT print PDF files.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

annoying toner message

By Pete12345 from Dallas on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When there is about 20% of toner remaining the low toner warning begins. The implication is that you need to replace cartridge really soon. A helpful company would include in the warning the actions required to not be continuously annoyed. Otherwise, so far, a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD PURCHASE

By ASKMC from Chula Vista, California on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

GOOD PRINTING, FAST , CLEAR, THE TONER IT IS NOT TO EXPENSIVE. I RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT FOR SMALL BUSINESS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great so far!

By Sandew from Austin, Texas on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

think I found my printer! tired of replacing cartridges I don't even use for color! This laser should work for my few coupons or boarding passes I need during the year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No letdown

By JayJayGee from California on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Brother monochrome printer and, like the other two, it worked right out of the box. Yes, all three are working with no problems and, by the way, number 1 is now about seven years old. If you want a good printer that won't break the bank, this is the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good

By gdstew from Dallas, TX on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Print quality is very good. Lots of paper storage. Printing speed is very good for the price. Double sided printing is saving me a lot of paper. "Demo" toner cartridge that ships with it doesn't last long and is really being cheap guys. Buy a replacement when you buy the printer, you will need it. The only real negative is the amount of power it pulls when printing starts up. This cost it one star. I use an Uninterruptable Power Supply (UPS) with Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR) on the computer it is connected to and it always has to adjust the incoming line voltage (you can hear the relay click) when the printer starts. A less expensive AC line regulator would work as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Workhorse

By Hetsey from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am the secretary for many groups, so my laser printer is always busy printing minutes. I also print online newsletters for older people who do not have a computer, so the duplex feature is very helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By BernieH from Estes Park, CO on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set up right away. Love the duplexing on big jobs. Very happy so far


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad printer

By ricki from florida on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

printer did not work when arrived, got offshore product support which had me do same procedure 10 times which did not work. Definition of insanity is doing same thing over and over and expect different result. Rturned printer to office depot and bought an okidata.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Workhorse!

By EDMer from Buffalo,NY on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great price and graphics for my light CAD needs with a with a small footprint


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Choice

By TwiceRetired from Atlanta, GA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace a laser printer from another mft that was failing. The price and performance could not be better. Easy setup. I have other products from Brother and have always found them to be top performers. This printer makes a fine addition to a personal or home-office setup. The duplex feature is a very nice addition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-2240D

By TejasTerry from Arlington, TX on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have found this to be a really good printer for my purposes. It prints fast! The printout quality is great. The speed is also very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By trucktrainerjohn from Portland,OR on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to replace an inkjet and am thoroughly satisfied with its performance. It was a lower end price unit, but it has been very faithful in its duties. The initial toner cartridge ran out quicker than anticipated, but the extended cartridge is performing better than expected. A great bargain - if I needed another printer, I would buy this again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer!

By TVguy2 from South Carolina on 11/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this printer. Installation was very easy and I'm pleased with the print quality and features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased!

By Fillmore from Homewood, IL on 11/28/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My printer requirements were simple: b&w, 2-sided printing, a USB connection and compatibility with Mac's Mountain Lion. No sense in paying for features I didn't want or need. This model fit the bill exactly. Set up went smoothly, Mountain Lion loaded the necessary printer software, and, so far, the printer is working perfectly. I especially like the Toner Save Mode option for printing less important items.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer

By Button from Florence, OR on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We already own an HL2240dw (the wireless version) and I purchased this for my daughter's college use. It holds a lot of paper, prints on both sides without jamming and has a pass thru slot for odd sheets. It runs a long time on 1 cartridge. It was a snap to set up with our Macs. I have found with the older printer that the default Adobe print program for Macs that shows up when you want to print an online statement does not offer '2-sided' choice so I use Google Chrome instead of Safari in order to get that option. I have been unable to figure out how to make 2-sided printing the default.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Surprise!!

By RiversideMike from Riverside, IL on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was in the market for a laser printer because I got tired of replacing inkjet cartridges For $5 more than two inkjet cartridges, I was able to pick up the Brother 2240D. At checkout, I asked what the "D" stood for and was told "duplex". Had to ask what that meant and left the store with my best office purchase ever! Have already replaced toner cartridge...this thing is a tank. Great product, great price...could not be more pleased!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

hoo rah!

By treehugger from Oceanside, Ca on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a very environmentally friendly person, so I like using both sides of the paper with multiple pages on each side. This printer is great for doing so because it's automatic duplex and the ink detail is great. Toner lasts for a long time too, which is great for all the school papers I need to print out. bang for your buck!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A nice printer

By JBColfax from Colfax, WA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a real nice and inexpensive printer. Good quality printing. I purchased it mostly for the duplex capability which is is good and fast. Another plus is the fairly inexpensive cost of printer toner cartridges. You won't be disappointed purchasing this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By GeorgeS from Port Orange, Fl on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second Brothetr,s Printer I've owned, the 1st was a 2240. These are great printers for every day use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer for the money

By CharlieM from Houston, TX on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer provides excellent quality black and white prints with a duplex function that's hard to beat for the price. This is the third Brother printer of this family I've purchased and I've yet to experience my first problem with any of them. Much more cost effective than an ink jet printer for black and white printing which is the majority of what I do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect inkjet replacement

By stanjan from Orlando, FL on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a greater need for normal B&W document printing than for color prints. Because inkjet ink is so expensive, thought I'd try laser to reduce my printing costs. The 2240D was reasonably priced and reviews were very favorable, so I gave it a shot; I'm glad I did. The quality and speed are excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

okay

By freddy123 from midwest on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Works great, Fast. Does a good job. HOWEVER, Does not last long, 9 months then the drum goes out. NOT under warranty. Too expensive to replace.If you are looking for a temp printer- this works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer

By yankeeboy from St. James NC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has been so far the best printer I have ever purchased. Will it be expensive for printing material ? That's will be the real test.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother HL-2240D

By BlurayMan from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Prints well but seems flimsy. Plastic case too light weight. Would not work with a 6' cord connected to computer. Had to use a 3' cord which limited placement of unit in such a way that tripping over the cord is now a possibility.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother HL-2240D

By 7952 from sacramento, ca on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good print quality, paper feed etc. wish it had a "Cancel" button


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

basic good value

By esoldfuzz from Sioux Falls on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

works great not as quite as the HL2240 it replaced


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer purchase ever

By Momof7 from Kansas on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am so happy with this laser printer. It was inexpensive and did not have a lot of ink to begin with but I bought a new toner cartridge and I cant believe how much printing I have done and still havent had to replace it. The printing is good, I usually use the toner saver setting and it prints very clearly on this setting. I am considering getting a Brother color laser printer when I can afford it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer

By sailorman from Dallas,TX on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

good mid grade printer that has quick setup and works perfectly, produces quality prints


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid

By SabaBob from Trumbull, CT on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the duplex, two sided, printing feature. Took a little getting used to as to which way what I want to print goes in but after a few mistakes it is easy and the printer is fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice bang for the buck

By JDBX from DC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All of my printers are 'Brother' printers. This one is reliable like all of the others but with the added feature of printing both sides of the paper. This slows down the process somewhat, but reduces my paper costs and the volume of paper that I have o carry.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIS NEW HL-2240D LASER ...

By CARL from BELVIDERE, ILLINOIS on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS NEW HL-2240D LASER WORKS ALMOST AS GOOD AS THE OLD HL-1440 THAT IT REPLACED. BECAUSE THE NEW PRINTER DOES NOT HAVE A LPT-1 OUTPUT, IT WILL NOT PRINT ANY RECORDS FROM MY OLD, OBSOLETE DOS FILE PROGRAM (PFS FILE) . OTHERWISE THIS NEW PRINTER IS GREAT WITH THE ADDITIONAL FEATURE OF DUPLEX PRINTING


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice copier

By BlessedMan from southeast MI on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this copier for a few months. It has been very reliable. It prints very clear copies at a good speed. My only complaint is that it is a hassle printing addresses on envelopes. It is cumbersome and usually the envelopes get wrinkled somewhat. However, it is a good laser printer for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excelent Printer

By efc103 from West Milford,Nj on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent printer,love duplex printing. Clear printing at normalsetting.Easy install(XP Pro)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-2240 D Best Ever

By SuzT from Texas on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love my Brother Printers. Won't buy another brand as these printers are economical to operate and are dependable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By EAntone from Idaho on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer specifically for its duplex capability, also because of the reputation that Brother printers have in general and to replace an older laser printer from a competitor. I have used this printer for a couple of months and it surpasses all my expectations. I look forward to many years of service from my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Workhorse

By Elliebelle from Lincoln, VT on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a writer, I need a printer I can depend on. The Brother 2240D has never let me down. I can load it with paper and be confident that it will perform the task, even printing a 200-page manuscript without heaving a sigh. This is my third Brother printer, and I'm a believer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard working printer

By BillingFSH from San Diego, CA on 11/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After working with multiple printers I have found a work horse in the HL-2440D. Sharp clear prints time after time. I love this printer, it is as hard working as my fax. Brother will be my first choice always. Have used Brother products since 2004, as a billing company our print load is quite heavy Thanks for such dependable products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Budget Laser

By croc from California on 11/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like duplex feature, lacking Ethernet connection Cheaper to replace whole unit then replace drum, drum price twice printer price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As Always, a Great Printer!

By Bandito from Chicago, IL on 11/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just added an HL-2240D to our fleet of printers and, as always with Brother, it's a great little printer. Of all of the various brands of printers that I've worked with over the years, I can honestly say that the Brother printers are the best. They perform well, are reliable, and have the best driver support for a wide array of OSes. I highly recommend them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

satisfied

By mamaswoap from Undisclosed on 10/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Now that the printer is up and printing, I can honestly say that I, picky as I am, am satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT!!!!

By kbm87 from Stuttgart, AR on 10/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 1st laser printer and I'm very impressed. Great value and a great printer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great basic printer

By Andy from Midland, TX on 08/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one great printer! No problems at all with the installation, and the printer works very well. It replaced an old HP Laserjet 6. The increased speed, duplex printing, and large paper capacity make it ideal for a home printer. And at the current price, it's a steal!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well!

By Macmadam from Undisclosed on 08/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband and I both use this printer with both of our computers and we love it. The duplex printing was the draw for me. I am writing and the two sided printing works well and it is NOT that loud. I have the printer right next to my computer and the noise is not outlandish. I would recommend this printer to anyone who is looking for an economical way to print black and white pages only at a reasonable cost. Toner cartridge last a reasonable amount of time for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Buy

By tuboplus from Bronx, New York on 04/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer because I got tired of spending my money on inks. Ever time I needed to use my old printer, it needed ink. The ink was way too expensive for the amount of uses I did. The only thing I regret is that sometimes I need a scanner, but I solved that problem already. I will not spend any more money on useless inkjets. The printer is very good. It works great. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother is trying too hard to sell cartridges

By Lila from Deerfield, IL on 04/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The original cartridge went dry after about 200 pages. Brother should provide a longer-lasting OEM cartridge with the printer. I bought two long-life replacement cartridges and installed one. Almost immediately it gave me error messages saying the cartridge is nearly empty -- even though I have shaken it many times -- and it continues to work well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Choice

By Arky from Northeast PA on 03/31/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is not to be recommended. Design elements are poor. Envelope printing is awkward. Requires reorientation when mounted in a tight work space. Toner does not adhere well to some paper surfaces and gradually flakes off of Hammermill copy paper


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By VBKen from Gladewater, TX on 03/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this specifically to take with me when traveling. I coordinate a sports tournament on the road and love the compact size, quality print, speed and the fact that it duplexes as well. I have a larger model (HL-5370DW) in my office that is a workhorse for me. Love it also!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the BEST printer I have ever Bought!

By BigFriendlyDog from Texas on 03/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer does everything they claim and I cannot believe how many pages I have printed on my first cartridge. And the cartridge is still going strong! It feeds perfectly and gives great results. I have also used it for PCB hot iron transfers with excellent results. (It can be set to print high-density!) I would highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Printer

By gp5548 from Central Ohio on 09/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 2240 is the perfect size for a small desktop, its quiet, prints fast and the quality is superior. I suggest that when you buy one get a extra extended use cartridge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laser Printer for Your Home Office

By ExperiencedHomeOfficeUser from Los Altos Hills, CA on 08/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This latest Brother B/W laser printer exceeded my expectations. It is a major improvement (Full Duplex, check writing, print options, e.g., booklet printing) over prior generations. Very affordable pricing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wlorks for me

By JustJim from Santa Clara, CA on 03/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Produces a crisp clean print. A little noisy when it first starts up. This may sound more like a review of my older HL2040, but if this HL2240D stays the course as my old printer did it will be a real champ. I am one of those knowitalls that hook up a piece of equipment land attempt to operate it, then read the instructions when I get into trouble. I am pleased to say ....I am still waiting to get into trouble. It is simple to install and operate. So far it is working great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved