Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL3040CN » 37 Reviews

Hl-3040cn Led Printer - Color Led - 17 Ppm Mono - 17 Ppm Color - 600 X 2400 Dpi - Usb, Network - Fast Ethernet - Mac, Pc - Brother International (hl3040cn) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 37 reviews)

78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good, Solid Printer

By Gizmo39 from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a good solid printer. If I could improve 3 things, it would be the overall size, the warm-up/print speed, and the cost of the toners. Very expensive to keep it going, but once you print something on it, way to hard to not want to keep it going. Overall, I highly recommend the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much better than HP

By jl75 from Hoisington, KS on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good purchase. I replaced an HP Color Laser that died before it was 2 years old. The quality is very good, print is fast and very reliable. I definitely won't ever buy another HP printer. Replacing cartridges is easy. Larger paper tray is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL3040CN

By BruceC from Nashville TN on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Print Quality - very satisfied Software Driver Win7 Home - Had some minor difficulty in setup, but acceptable Toner Cartridges-One low cart makes the whole printer unavailable to print even draft quality. Nothing like finding out someone else swapped a cart and you come along and you have to wait a week for a new cart to ship in. I sure would like to see a fallback draft mode work. It would also be good if Brother has a toner cartridge recycle program. It is not 'green' to just throw perfectly good toners in the trash. There has to be an economic recycle price where the contribution margin is equal to a new cartridge. Bruce


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent Printer

By Chief1 from Wisconsin on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only two frustrations with this printer: 1) Envelope feeding is very touchy; it will tell you there is a jam when there isn't if you don't push the envelope in JUST at the right moment, and 2) Ink is pricey. Otherwise, it's a work horse!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer

By dman44 from camden, n.c. on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

works good it is fast but the starter toner went fast. i suggest you go ahead and buy new toner the same time u get the printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer

By ICUAutomotive from jackson, TN on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer works well with no jams to this date.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-3040cn review

By JohnL from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works well. Cartridges are easy to replace. Two sided copy procedure recommended is awkward. I just turn the pages over in the paper tray instead. I use the unit a lot with no problems. It would be nice to have toner cartridges that last longer. I would buy this unit again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buyer's Remorse

By chabaka0 from Undisclosed on 05/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Love the speed of printer and bought refurbished at a fabulous price! BUT, it will only print properly with genuine Brother cartridges which are WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. Using compatible cartridges creates double ghost printing. Totally sucks! Thought I had a deal but with the toner expense, I'm looking for a new printer with cheaper cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer

By Walid from Brea, CA on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this printer for one year now, and this is the best printer that I ever owned. In the past I always bought inkjet printers, but by far this one is the best. My whole family are using it and everyone loves it. I really recommend this printer for every house it's great printer buy it buy it buy it, don't think twice just buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased With Purchase

By Vern1947 from Greenwood, SC on 07/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the Brother HL-3040CN color laser printer because it was at a great price, and because I already had a monochrome Brother laser printer, the HL-2040. I like the ease of changing the toner cartridges, and the relative low-cost of the cartridges. The print quality is superb! I will never go back to inkjet printers! I am very pleased with the Brother brand!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Uses too much Toner

By campcreek from Wyoming on 07/22/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had mine for about a year. I learned early on I goes thru toner cartidges at a high rate. So now I don't use it. It was a waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

won't buy another

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am really disapointed - gone through 4 sets of cartridges (color and black including the 'starter cartridges)) in less than 2 months and we haven't printed anywhere close to the approximated 6000 sheets that we should have been able to print. We don't use much color and they all go out at the same time?? not sure why and not much help from 'support' on why either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer for the price

By Bobmo from Frisco, TX on 05/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought a refurb for half the list price. I have used this printer for over six months. I added extra memory to 544Mbyte. The memory was a very cheap upgrade. While I didn't expect inkjet photo quality I have found my photo prints acceptable. I don't understand the complaints about starter cartridges. Even HP starts you out with a partial cartridge. You should know that this is an industry practice. Brother did not start this practice. Having owned multiple inkjects for over 20 years I find the plusses of laserjet printing refreshing. I got over 1.000 prints from my starter cartridge not the very low amounts that others complained about. My printing was mostly text with colored photos. When people complain about the cost of cartridges they should compare the cost of owning a HP color printer with this HL-3040CN unit. It is not even close. Setup was very simple and was done for my desktop and laptop without issues. The sleep mode is noiseless. While I don't doubt some people have had bad luck with their printers, that has not been the case with my refurb. If my wife wasn't satisfied with her Okidata C5500 I would get her a HL-3040CN. In the past I have owned HP, Canon, and Epson inkjets that all had nozzle issues due to irregular usage. This is why the wife now has a color laser printer. A color laser is a better fit for my situation and usage. My workhorse printer is a HP Laserjet M2727nf. Between the two printer I print about 1,200 pages a month with out issues. I throughly research products before making a purchase. Perhaps some of the disappointed user comments relate to unrealistic expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Low Cost Printer

By ClassicDave from RI on 01/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this printer in a small home office for 3 months and have no complants. It is a very low cost color laser printer an works fine in home or small office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-3040CN

By Phototom from Smyrna TN on 11/20/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is great, with beautiful color. The only thing that I do not like about it, is the starter cartridges that is comes with. Very little toner in them, and for the money I paid for the printer, I should get more toner than this. I was only able to print 125 color pages from them before the printer said I need to replace the color cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother HL-3040N

By Tcamperman from Western North Carolina on 11/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've just gotten this printer, so it may be a bit premature to fully assess its capabilities. However, a couple of points: As the machine comes out of the box, it's heavy and rather robust compared to some of the printers we've had. Assembly is minimal...mainly just drop in the 4 cartridges and plug it in and it's ready to go. Set up went very smoothly...drivers loaded quickly and we had both my wife's and my laptops sending wireless commands in just a few minutes. I'm no expert, but print quality looks to be very good. There are some bells and whistles we havn't tried yet...envelope printing, draft quality printing, etc....but so far....we're very pleased with our choice. The scary prospect...as in all printers...is how many grandchildren sold into slavery will it take to replace the toner cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jammed and failed in 5 minutes

By rcimi from westcheter ny on 11/16/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had high hopes. machine jammed and failed within 5 minutes of use. could not be corrected. tech support excellent, but could not fix issue. had to drive 40 miles to exchange it for a new one. hope that works or it's back to HP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-3040CN Printer

By LinuxGuy from New England on 10/30/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just received the printer less than 24 hours ago. I found setup to be normal. In other words, not cumbersome but, not easy either. This is in part due to the LCD Display not having a back-light. I should not have to set the language to "English". It should be set at the factory during initial setup to default to the country it is sold in. This can be accomplished when the control module is first programed and then they are stocked in the parts house by country. With today's technology, this can be accomplished easily. The straight through paper path is still a mystery to me and I have yet to get the printer to print a single page using this method. Front door down, backdoor down, tell the driver to print with the straight through path and NOTHING! 12 attempts have resulted in no printing. The printer driver settings are not easy to understand. A lesson should be learned from Canon here. Brother should also learn that for Linux support the only thing needed is a PPD file. Forget DEB and RPM files. The PPD file on the CD installed the 3070CW just fine and the same features I see in Vista 64-Bit for the 3040CN are there in the Linux properties. However, with the 3070CW PPD file the 3040CN printer refuses to print at all! (No big surprise there.) It would be nice to have a 3040CN PPD file and call it a day. This would give Brother access to a lager range of Linux Users without having to have separate installs for every Distro of Linux out there. I suspect the reason I had no printing from the 3070CW PPD Metrics is because I am using USB and not the network setup. Including USB in the PPD would be helpful. - And yes!, my Linux Distro properly identified the printer even though no native driver exists. When not in use, the printer is completely quiet. I don't understand User Reviews I read before my purchase about the printer being noisy in "Sleep Mode". The only noise is during printing as one would expect. I find the noise level when printing to be no louder than most Laser Printers in its class. Printing photos on plain paper with the paper tray paper path produces the same results as I read in pre-purchase reviews. However, by choosing to reduce page curl, print quality improves. If I could get photo paper to print on the straight path with "Fine Printing", I suspect the photos would print just fine and the 3040CN would serve as a backup to my main photo printer. A BIG! plus for this printer are the separate Toner/Drum Assemblies. I like the fact all I have to purchase is toner when I run out. The upper lid could raise higher though for Toner/Drum replacement. I have big hands and they were cramped by not enough lid clearance. -- Especially when placing the Cyan Toner/Drum in for the first time. While not impossible, this means that Toner/Drum replacement will be difficult, always. I find the 250 page paper tray to be generous for a compact design. For Home use, this will serve for several months of printing. That said, I seriously doubt I would use this printer in anything but a S.O.H.O. setup. Anything larger for a business setting and I would most likely consider a different printer. It would be Digital as the 3040CN is but, I would prefer better capacity and quality for real business printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Very Good Product

By stan3398 from Pittsburgh on 10/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like everything about this printer except the fact I have to download the manual every time I want to use it. Why not make make the manual so I can place an icon on my desktop to get to it? I would also have liked the on/off switch on the front panel but that is a small quibble.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible Choice

By rbm5 from Ft Edward New York on 10/15/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is worst printer I have ever used. Slow to wake up and print. Will not do labels unless using manual feed and jams constantly in manual feed. Sorry we purchased it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By Richks from Wichita, Kansas on 10/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good quality print, very fast. Toner is a little expensive and didn't last long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-3040cn

By Candlestick from Frankfort, Illinois on 10/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great quality, nice speed, and really quiet. Nice crisp printing with very accurate output. Best general purpose printer I've found.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By schworak from Salem, Oregon on 08/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I already owned the Brother MFC-7820N but I wanted color and inkjets just weren't working out for me. I plugged the printer in, connected the network cable and within 20 minutes had it running on my two Ubuntu Linux laptops and two Windows 7 boxes as well. I am running the HL-3040CN over the network just like the 7820N and they both work perfectly. I am so very happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Winner!

By turkeyneck from So. Cal. on 08/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I first purchased this model's "bigger" brother, the 4040CN but found it was a bit too big for my small office and donated that to a local school. The 3040CN is just what I needed. An excellent laser-quality image--either color or B&W--and utterly dependable, network available, easy to maintain, everything I've NEVER gotten from dozens of bogus ink-jet printers going back into the 1980's. Add to this fact that Brother updates the firmware regularly and fully supports MacOS X right up to the latest versions and you have an outstanding value for your printer dollars, giving up nothing but hassles & incompatibility.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not to bad

By Gruff from South Bend, IN on 05/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine works pretty good. One problem I have is feeding a single sheet or envelope. It jams and has to be reset. Other then that is works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not worth it

By secretary from saginaw michigan on 05/08/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the printer is quiet, fast and does a beautiful job printing. I purchased the printer based on the amount of pages that the toner said it uses. This is not true, I have spent so much money on toner it is ridiculous. I am very angry about that. I also have the laser 5140 and the toner lasts forever. But the 3040 is so expensive it is not worth buying


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great. But uses too much ink.

By Nick from Undisclosed on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great but uses lot of ink. Have to get a new toner every few weeks with minimal use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer, Terrible Marketing Decision

By North32Rowan from Chattanooga, TN on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had very good luck with Brother products and the HL-3040CN continues that streak. Easy to set up, easy to operate and it makes great copies. A great value. One BIG disappointment, however: someone decided to use "starter" toner cartridges in the product, which last roughly half as long as the standard replacement cartridges. So I got a nasty (completely unnecessary) surprise when I had to buy replacement cartridges twice as soon as expected since I took the trouble to read about expected cartridge life before buying the printer. Come on, BROTHER!!! This is penny-wise and pound-foolish! You want to surprise your customers pleasantly . . . not the other way!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has to better printers on the market.

By chickandjack from Indiana on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First is the difficulty in printing envelopes. Next is the tiny, tiny LCD display. No one in this home can read the thing without a magnifying glass. That might be why it's so difficult to print envelopes. One cannot see when to feed or wait.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Digital Color Printer For The Money!

By rickyz from Spokane, WA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The HL-3040CN is a great digital color printer. It's like a laser printer, only better. This printer features LED's vs a laser to "write" to the printer drum so with less moving parts there is less to fail. It prints up to 17 pages per minute, but being the cheap guy I am, I would never try to clock it unless absolutely necessary. Its 600x2400 dpi are more than adequate for the average user. Installation was super simple and it is MAC compatible, which is one of the main reasons I purchased it. The colors and the quality of the print are excellent. Of course the big concern with any printer is how much the inks or toners will cost. Surely, inks cost less than a toner cartridge, even if you don't buy the off-brand ones, but you get less printed pages with ink over toner, so I would say if you figured it out, the toner would end up slightly more. The problem with ink cartridges are that if you don't use the printer regularly, the ink can dry out on the nozzles, causing streaks which you will have to run a "clean-up" thus using more ink. Also, even if you are printing black copies with an inkjet, it sprays a little color to keep the nozzles clear, thus wasting even more ink. I don't believe this is the case with toner carts, however there is a "waste" tank on toner models, so I'm sure they're not 100% efficient. I have had only one issue so far with this printer and that was printing on hard stock. It has a door to open to feed hard stock in, but apparently you have to do it just right as it took me about 2 out of 3 tries to get the card stock in without jamming it. It was simple to clear however, so that was no big deal. Anyway, bang for the buck, this is a great color printer and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best valued color laser printer on the market

By BrotherColorLaser3040CN from Fountain Valley, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first color laser printer after using several InkJet printers over the years. I am so glad to buy this printer, the quality and consistency of this printer is superior to all the Inkjet printers I had at the same price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good with glitches

By DocBright from Pittsburgh PA on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother has been a great idea. Glad we upgraded to Laser printer from inkjet. The printouts have been consistently of high quality. Our problem is recurrent and annoying low toner warnings that occur even after I downloaded and installed the firmware update. We can't be a quarter of the way into the first thousand pages and we get toner messages. I've taken the cartridges out and shaken them; there's nothing wrong with the prints; no bare spots, but it insists on needing toner. The product does what we want it to do, but you need to fix this. It's built-in buyer's remorse when it tells you something's wrong that doesn't need attention.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Quality -Great Price

By bluemaxLXV from Morristown, TN on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this printer about a year now ... it's replacing a 10-12 year old HPIIP+ ... which was also a great printer ... yet was going to take more than just replacing the toner cartridge to make it print right. If you're looking for a photo printer, this is not the printer you want to buy ... however, for color printing in documents you'll get real good results. I'd owned inkjets in the past but got tired of the mess ... smeared ink and expensive refills .. even when I tried refilling the cartridges myself. I haven't had to replace a toner cartridge yet, so I can't say anything about cartridge life ... I am taking advantage of the "economy mode" for most of my documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost 5 stars

By DJOasis from Orlando Florida on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this printer about 4 months and it works great. It networked without any issues and works fine on my windows 7 PC. Not photo quality prints but then this is not a top of the line printer. It prints good for everyday use in an office or at home and is pretty good. Actually I haven't been able to print full size prints at the highest print quality only because the 32 megs of on board memory is not enough for full size high quality prints. You will want to add some memory if you plan to print large pictures.Another thing that bugged me was that it doesn't always catch the label paper or envelopes that you feed through the front paper feed.You want to make sure that the printer grabs the sheet and pulls it in.Other than that it is a decent printer for the price and would recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase

By huskeyman from Jackson, Mi. on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer is a part of our home network. It operates very well on our Imac, however, I get nothing but blank pages while using my MacBook Pro. It receives the signal to print and begins printing, but only blank pages come from the printer. I have not yet contacted Brother to have them help determine the problem. I'm sure it can probably be resolved. I did print well on the Mac Book Pro the first time I tried printing from it; it is just recently that I started getting the blank pages. Other than that, it prints beautifully vivid colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good for production

By Alan from Rhode Island on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is a workhorse. It's great for volume color imaging. It's NOT good for photos, though. Even with the max memory available, it just cannot compete with ink jet photo imaging. If photo quality is not a major concern, it is definitely a jewel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A GREAT BUY

By TROLLEYNUT from OCONOMOWOC, WI on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THE PRINT QUALITY, SPEED OF PRINTING AND COLOR RENDITION QUALIFIES THIS PRINTER AS AN EXCELLENT BUY FOR YOUR MONEY. ITS PRICE COMPARES WITH INKJET PRINTERS THAT OPERATE AT A FRACTION OF THE SPEED AND BLEED ONTO THE PAPER SURFACE IF A DROP OF WATER TOUCHES THE INK. IT FAR SURPASSES MY FORMER INKJET PRINTER IN EVERY WAY. THANKS BROTHER FOR A VERY GOOD PRODUCT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved