Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL5470DW » 152 Reviews

Brother HL-5470DW Laser Printer - Monochrome - 1200 x 1200 dpi Print - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - 38 ppm Mono Print - 300 sheets Input - Automatic Duplex Print - LCD - Ethernet - Wi-Fi - USB Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 152 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

One of the Best

By gus1 from Undisclosed on 10/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Considering the down scaling to compensate for the cheaper product (price wise), I 'm surprised you came up with a product which excels most others in their respective class. Well done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By StevenA from Undisclosed on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very satisfied with this printer. It is fast and the duplex feature is excellent. A plus is the lifetime support from Brother. This replaced my current printer and is a definite upgrade. Excellent for small business use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't get it to work wirelessly

By MargoT from Undisclosed on 09/30/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I followed all of the directions, but I still have to plug it in to work ;-(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid working machine

By printinggods from Undisclosed on 09/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother HL-5470DW is an amazing little machine. Prints incredibly fast. Only problem is printing cartridges are expensive but hey that's true for all printing machines.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By GaryG from Mesa, Arizona on 09/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoy the speed and print quality this printer provides. The mid range print setting gives a great print quality while printing fast. I also use the duplex setting 80% of the time. I roughly timed the print speed at that setting and saw great quality at approximately the 40 page per minute range printing on one side. The duplex printing only takes a little longer because it has to pull the paper back into the printer to print on the back side. Maybe 30 pages per minute. I also noticed when duplex printing the dense black, which shows off the great quality, will show thru on cheaper paper. I have been using Xerox paper from Sam's Club with good success. Hope this helps, Gary


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Dginn from Jackson, MS on 09/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY similar to the HP I had, so no learning curve.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer

By bbps from Pasadena, MD on 09/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laser printer was easy to setup right out of the box. Added to my wireless network with ease. Accessible for all network users to print. The duplex printing feature is great. Thought I would have to turn the pages over and reload to print on the back side. This printer does it for me. Select print, then check the duplex box and it ready to print on both sides. Great print quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good monochrome

By DinosaurTechman from Raleigh, NC on 09/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy install, networking, and use make this HL5470DW one I bought again when a surge took out my old one. Great for printing shipping labels and making my own letterhead instead of sending off to the print shop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My first laser printer experience HL-5470

By LordDad from Aliso Viejo, Ca on 09/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After many years dealing with printers ranging from thermal..to dot matrix..to ink jet..I have decided enough was enough. I was tired of constantly running out of ink (which always seems to happen in the middle of a report) or having paper run out (or worse paper jam when duplexing). I decided to take a chance and enter the world of laser printers. I wanted to have the convenience of wireless, duplex. This printer gives me all of that and more. I have yet to have a paper jam and yet to replace the toner cart. I have had this printer for a few months and (so far) I am very happy with the dependability and overall increase in my productivity. I give it ***** 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Home Office Printer

By Michael20 from Los Angeles, CA on 09/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For my needs, about 500 sheets per month, this printer is just great! It's wicked fast in the way that matters most -- only about three seconds until first page. I rarely need to print documents, so a ppm spec doesn't mean much to me. I've had it about two months, and it hasn't jammed yet -- not even once. Very reliable so far. Manual feeding is easy -- from the front. Print quality is excellent, and there is almost no banding when printing an image. This is the third Brother printer I've owned, and by far the best. So far, I am just delighted with this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not impressed

By ITNick from Daytona Beach, FL on 08/31/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It took a bit of configuration to get this printer to print with the quality expected. We experienced ghosted print and blurry letters. After we got everything to work the same issues began reappearing within a few months. I purchased a new drum unit and changed the toner often, which neither made the issue any better. eventually I just gave up and trashed the printer. We have many different models of Brother laser printers that all work fantastic but I would never purchase this model again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy with my HL-5470DW

By Reno64 from Nevada on 08/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up. very user friendly. I think this prints faster than my Ricoh. I've Had it about 4 months now trouble free.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By deglof1 from New Smyrna Beach, FL on 08/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once the initial setup was done and the print driver loaded on the computer; all went well. Prints very fast! The only feature not used was the duplex since it was never needed. The setup is a little dicey and I am a former systems guy (now retired). The wireless works well and never a misprint or jam. The small size is nice too since my wife and I live in a small condo.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

grate printer

By owel from Henrico county, va. on 07/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer, fast, ,easy to setup, does double sided Printing. I have it setup as a network printer. Its also wireless which is a added plus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Prints, But Not a Wonderful Printer

By WhartonW from SE US on 07/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The output pages look good, crisp and clear. However, there's a design flaw that causes the printer to frequently trip the house circuit breaker. Highly inconvenient. Also, printer is extremely noisy. The Brother replaced an aging HP LaserJet 5p, and the Brother suffers greatly in the comparison.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good except for paper dispensing

By Laterlaw from Staten Island, NY on 07/17/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Printer works fine for what I use it for, which is printing out legal documents on 8.5 x 11 on 20 lb paper. I print out hundreds of pages at a time. However, I have to watch the pages as they come out because they start curling up on the sides after awhile and end up climbing over each other and flying off machine. Maybe the heat of the printer is curling the pages so they don't sit straight? Guess I'll live with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent workhorse of a printer

By Andy2 from Central Savannah River Area, GA on 07/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ratings only ... Ratings only ... Ratings only ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470 DW

By concernedconsumer from Undisclosed on 06/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine is a piece of garbage.It trips the breaker and Brother is NO help at all


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By sarturo2002 from Calexico, California on 06/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simple to use, and forward instructions, these it's my second Brother Printer and so far I take care of multiple ways to print, and to me that's one of the main reasons to buy from brother, the quality it's a must for my type of job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470DW Hign Speed Laser Printer

By AKSARBENARC from Omaha, Nebraska on 06/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellant Printer. Have been using it for publication of a Radio Club News letter that is 12 pages printed using Microsoft Publisher. Printing about 115 copies per month. No problems so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PERFORMER

By kratzel from Westlake Village, CA on 06/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use and good directions. Perfroms well and completes all my printing needs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meets or exceeds all expectations

By Harv from Avon, CT on 06/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply put, the HL5470DW which replaced an older but still serviceable Brother laser is great in all respects. The duplex feature is fast and the copy is great. I would recommend this printer to anyone who uses it in a small office as I do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By jellis1947 from San Diego, CA on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased for our bookkeeper and she LOVES it. We're looking at purchasing a few more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst purchast ever

By awbg from Undisclosed on 06/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

am sitting with my second printer of this same make and model with it having the same problem - jamming constantly - no help whatsoever from the people at Brother - won't stand behind their product - will not purchase any Brother products again - STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRINTER - works in the beginning and then all of a sudden it is a nightmare - read the other reviews on this item - all the same


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DISAPPOINTED

By AGMRIO from Undisclosed on 06/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

WE HAVE HAD PRINTER LESS THAN A YEAR AND PAPER KEEPS JAMMING. SENT PRINTER TO BROTHER SO THEY COULD SEND US A REFURBISHED PRINTER. WAS TOLD THE 1 YEAR WARRANTY WOULD NOT EXTEND TO THE NEW MACHINE. WAS TOLD BROTHER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND REFURBISHED MACHINE ISSUES WERE FIXED. HAD SAME PROBLEM WITH 2ND PRINTER. SENT 2ND PRINTER BACK AND RECEIVED A 3RD PRINTER. STILL HAS SAME ISSUE. WE ARE CURRENTLY USING IT AS A VERY LARGE PAPER WEIGHT. WILL NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER BROTHER PRINTER.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By Brooklynreviewer from Brooklyn, NY on 06/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an experienced computer user who had owned a variety of printers over the years, I would have to say that this is probably the best. In terms of convenience and ease of use with wireless networking, combined with excellent print quality, I have no complaint with the operation. One small thing is that the setup instructions could be better, but this is minor and was easily overcome with a call to customer service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second One

By ddotexas from Texas on 05/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I now have two of these, one in my classroom and the other in my office. They print good and are fairly fast. Two problems - first page will have toner on it and there is a thin line of toner on the edges of many of the pages. Oh I guess there are three problems - it is loud! When I replaced my other printer in my office I thought something was wrong. No it is just loud. After that I noticed that the one in my classroom was loud too. It just gets lost in the classroom. Good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is the worst...

By Comet from Scranton pa on 05/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Spent half an hour waiting for overseas support that was snotty and not helpful in getting it to print from my I pad. She never did get it to print and at the end suggested I return it. I spent four hours trying to get this set up. We have 2 HP wireless set up and they took just a few muinetes to set up. I did take her advice on one thing I am returning it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By v1pcpg from Pittsburgh, PA on 05/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What's not to like. Well made, easy setup (wireless connectivity was simple) and price was right. I have an older model (non wireless model) that worked for 3 years without a problem so I've been a satisfied customer of this company for a number of years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Printer is perfect for my needs

By MrsRose from Undisclosed on 05/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother support team was very helpful in installing my printer with my wireless wi-fi. This printer is perfect for my needs because it is fast and dependable. Also, I can easily print from my I pad and I phone. This printer is much faster and easier to use that my previous printer. We use it at home and print about 30 sheets a day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer HL-5470DW

By Tarun60 from Moreno Valley, CA on 05/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy connect with wireless, and airprint. Work flawless for black, and white printing. Cheap,and economical for automatic double sides printing. Overall. I really love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Results!

By Anonymous from Long Island, New York on 04/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely the best printer I have ever owned. Fast, clear, easy to operate and well built. I highly recommend this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Ever

By Imageryman from Tulsa, OK on 04/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had many laser printers - mostly from HP. And I have paid big bucks for these. This Brother printer exceeds my expectations. A lot of models do duplex printing, but not as compact as this one. Plus, I needed one which I could duplex 81/2x 14 (legal size) and this one does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very, very fast !

By Taxingman from Indiana on 04/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's been a long while since I have upgraded my office printer, so I amazed at how fast my new Brother print could do it's job. I do go through a lot of paper during the first four months of the year since I own a tax prep business and I really wish that the machine had a larger paper capacity. I knew that there was a draw back there when I bought it, so I can live with that. The only issue that I do have is when it prints I may have 50 pages laying on the top of the printer or just a few, but it is always a pain to pick up the stack without bending the corner. They are laying on a flat surface.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best personal printer so far

By Kickboxer from upper cumberland plateau in Tennessee on 04/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it in conjunction a neat document scanner to digitise my personal files and records and to print copies as needed. The automatic duplex capability is what sold me on the product. But on use, it is more than adequate for printing meeting agenda and reports for distribution to church and political organization to which I belong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Bang for the Buck

By OklahomaNonProfit from Oklahoma on 04/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Impressed by the quality of the print, the speed, and the number of copies per toner cartridge. Meets or exceeds all our needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer! Love the ...

By jhenseler from Wisconsin on 04/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer! Love the automatic duplex printing. Saves lots of paper. Printing quality is outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A keeper

By budgall from East Bay, CA on 04/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with this printer, it replaced another Brother which died after 10 years of use. I only use and recommend Brother Printers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

REFURBISHED HL 5470DW

By TAXPREPARER from BAY CITY MI on 03/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

FIRST ONE LASTED ABOUT A MONTH BUT STAPLES OVERNIGHTED THE REPLACEMENT, WHICH WORKS JUST FINE. BROTHER SUPPORT OUTSTANDING HELPING SET UP WIRELESS CONNECTION...HINT..USE AN ETHERNET CONNECTION TO SET PRINTER UP, MUCH SIMPLER THAN ENTERING ROUTER PASSWORD MANULY ON THE PRINTER LCD DISPLAY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasantly surprised

By Bryce from California on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very satisfied with the HL-5470 duplex laser printer. It was easy to install and start. It's fast and the duplex feature is a true paper saver. The envelope printing ability is first rate. Print quality is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By mcabinets from Scheduling dept. on 03/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Heavy work load, does all that we purchased it for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wow

By deepwoods from Bountiful, Utah on 01/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This baby prints clear and FAST!!! Buy the big cartridge and you will be set for MANY months of carefree printing!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It keeps getting better

By Safetyman from Erie, PA on 12/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a small home office tax business. I've been in business for over 30 years. My first laser printer was a Brother laser printer back around 1990 since then I've purchased at least 8 laser printers, all brother printers because of their speed, quality, and reliability and the price is better than most other companies. I recently purchased the HL-5470DW because of it's speed and features, I just love how fast it is and how quickly it starts up from sleep mode, within 5 sec. it's printing. I've even purchased another HL-5470DW for the other work station.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By rickco from Loveland, CO on 12/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using my Brother HL-5470DW printer for several months now with no issues whatsoever. I love the features and excellent print quality. Good investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Improved Productivity

By Prolific from Harrisburg, PA on 11/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

5470DW, my fourth Brother machine; my prior 5370DW was doing just fine until I learned in order to produce envelopes one needed to open the back tray and engage 2 levers. Reverse the procedure to return to letter-printing. This was cumbersome and time consuming. I chalked it up to a learning experience (anyone need a used 5370DW?). I prefer to pay more for a slightly faster machine relative to labor & productivity time. The value in the purchase price (obtained from a box store) was obviously acceptable, as this machine replaced the 5370DW years ahead of its time. It's audibly louder than preferred, although the quick printing nullifies this concern. The machine has a nice footprint as it sets comfortably next to a color printer and tower within a home-office setting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer, Starter cartridge is a joke

By Anonymous from Wheaton, IL on 08/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I now own two of these printers in my home. They work well, print on both sides (duplexing), wirelessly, and the print quality is good. The downside is that the cartridge that comes with the machine is way too small--must less printing than advertised. Also, the duplex printing is slow. However, the cost of a new cartridge is much less than my former HP laser.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great small printer

By DBAtech from OH on 07/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace an older Brother laser printer, and it has been better than I expected over the six months I've used it. It is easy to set up on the wireless network, prints fast, has duplex capability, and has many configuration options to customize it for your home or office. If it turns out to be as reliable in the long run as my previous Brother laser printer, it will be a great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Google Cloud Print not working

By kcummings from Atlanta, GA on 07/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer as a second printer to print to from our Dell Chromebook 11 and Android devices. Sadly, the printer cannot be set up on Google Cloud Print. When attempting to connect the printer to my Google Apps account I receive an "Internal Error" with no further explanation. Searching shows that there are numerous users having this problem, and though there seem to be a few solutions, nothing works for me (and seemingly thousands of other users). I tried an alternate approach registering the printers to Google Cloud Print via my Windows machine, and while his appeared to work, it also does not. The print job comes through to the Windows machine but gets stuck in the print queue in "Spooling" status. I am a technology professional, and can confidently say this is not a simple case of user error. Needless to say, this is very disappointing. This technology is not ready for prime time. Beware!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was OK Until CloudPrint Stopped Working

By jcw308 from PA on 07/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased two HL-5740DW printers and had them up and running on Google CloudPrint in minutes. They worked very well for three months. Then one day BOTH stopped working with CloudPrint. Now I get an "Internal error" on BOTH printers when trying to attach them to CloudPrint. Other CloudPrint printers work fine. Now I am stuck with two paperweights. NOT GOOD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slow networking

By jwmin from Minnesota on 07/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Reliable, Fast for multiple prints, prints from iPhone well. Note that the "click to clunk" time to print the first copy over the network is unseemly long. (5 +seconds..) Seems like I'm always waiting for my print. Less than 1 sec is expectation!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer

By BigGuy from PA on 06/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We tried several Oki Data printers. I got tired of trying to keep the streaks off the paper. It also took them a long time from start up to print. But this printer is INCREDIBLE! Not only is it twice as fast, It is clean and clear. We love it! And, it does not seem to use the toner of the HP laserjets. We use it for printing customer invoices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL5470DW

By Jimbo38 from Home use on 06/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laser printer has more than met my expectations. It was easy to set up the WIFI interface and prints faster than you can pick up the pages. I do need to take advantage of all its cost saving features such as reducing the toner strength and duplexing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Printer

By expertshot from Undisclosed on 06/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Printer is the Best. Very Fast! Wireless. I have owned my brother printers and this monochrome laser is the best. I had difficulty getting it wireless. Once I got the right support staff at Brother the printer never worked so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast, dependable, & economical

By Bebe from Knox, IN on 06/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother HL-5470DW is fast, dependable, and economical. I wish it also had a port to print from a jump drive. The quality is excellent. I do a lot of music printing; this printer makes it affordable. The wireless feature is so convenient.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible Product and Terrible Customer Service

By AttorneyEric from Los Angeles, CA on 06/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worst experience I've had with a product in a long, long time. About 50% of the time when I press print, it prints. The other 50% of the time it does absolutely nothing. It doesn't matter if I'm printing wirelessly from my computer or if I'm plugged in. Every time I call customer service, they give me the same instructions, and it works long enough for the customer service representative to get off the phone. Then more of the same. I just called customer service again, but they're "closed." (It is Saturday afternoon.) I should have stuck with HP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By JFR49 from Philadelphia, PA on 06/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Totally pleased with this printer. Using Windows 8.1 and there was no problem installing the drivers. Very easy to set up on my wireless network. Print quality is outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By BruceS from New York on 06/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the printer and recommend it as very reliable printer. The only downside is the management of toner cartridges. Hard to find the number of copies printed. In addition it just stops when it gets low on toner. No warning. I was able to cover the hole on the side with tape to get a few hundred additional copies out to finish a project and order a replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fast printer

By para from Undisclosed on 06/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer is fastest home printer i have seen, simple install and function, high quality laser copies. If it a little quieter it would be 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470DW Printer

By soro1329 from St. Paul. MN on 06/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I highly recommend this printer. Easy setup and works great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent, Reliable Printer

By PeteHDS from North East PA on 06/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is reliable and inexpensive. You must be careful when changing toner or you can create a mess, but it is not hard to do. I do a lot of duplex printing for my classes, and this printer does the job for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Choice for Home/Office Wireless setup

By rjmpski from Undisclosed on 05/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hardwired to the business section , and wirelessly connnected to a home desktop and a home laptop. I spent more time worrying about if I'd be able to set this thing up. I WAS DONE with all 3 in about 15 minutes. Everything works flawlessly, first time & every time. I'm a happy camper, and so is my wife.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Customer Service - Good at the Run Around

By wasserpk from Los Angeles, CA on 05/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We had our HL 5740 DW printer for about 16 months. Just over the past couple of days, the print became fuzzy. After jumping thru multiple hoops to troubleshoot the issue with several phone calls of reps reading scripts, and supervisors assisting, we finally gave up. We will write our experience of the Brother HL 5740 DW as unfortunate. We run a business and used Brother ink drums , quality paper, etc. We do not abuse our printer. We strongly feel that the HL 5740 DW should have lasted more then 16 months. After all was said and done, Brother would not offer any consideration. We had the opposite experience with Epson for a very similar printer situation. Epson easily provided us with a refurbished printer. We will return to Epson or HP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By DougC from Oakland County, MI on 05/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second HL-5470DW. My first one ran perfect, was fast, wireless and printed both sides. One day it just quit. I haven't had the opportunity to find the problem. However, brother is standing behind their printer. The second printer is actually better than the first. Who would think.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good size - works well

By Greatprinter from Erie, PA on 03/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this printer for a few months now and it has worked as expected. I have not experienced the circuit problems that others cited. It connects easily to an iphone and iPad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second Best Printer I Ever Purchase

By LadyDiva from Charlotte, NC on 03/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer it is wonderful. Brother products has outlasted any and all other printers I have ever used. Jam free, crisp, fast and very sharp copies every time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sad Instructions, Bad OSX 10.9 driver, good iPhone

By ElectricalEngineer2 from Undisclosed on 03/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As an Electrical Engineer for 30 years, you would think it would be quick and easy to setup this network ready printer. Not the case. Setup instructions were disjointed, incomplete and difficult to find. I currently have one other Brother printer (hard wired) to my network and one HP color inkjet with scanning features. Once I figured out on my own how to wirelessly connect the printer to my network, our iPads and iPhones made easy connections without adding any drivers or other software apps. AirPrint worked but there were no readily available options to auto-duplex. Although I am currently searching for a users manual on the web (only a product safety guide and ridiculous quick setup guide came with the product). I am currently searching for a way to set up auto duplexing. Since no documentation is readily available, I am shuddering to think about using a ridiculous one-line lcd screen mounted on the computer to try and find the auto-duplex setting, if available. The other major problem is that for my new iMac with OSX 10.9.2, the driver was not on the CD supplied with the product. Instructions were very confusing and vague about where to get the proper driver. Since I already had another Brother printer, I went to the Brother Solutions website and searched for the proper driver for my Computer's Operating System version. At this point I found very limited options for the printer; in fact, there is no auto duplex option available. This would be very handy for software that does not allow selection of 2-sided printing. This is my 3rd Brother printer. The 2nd printer I had has been reliable; but the first one had to be replaced and would not print after one toner cartridge. I wanted to try Brother again based on other reasonable reviews for reliability and MAC compatibility. .... My thoughts on MAC compatibility are incomplete at this point since the iPhones and iPads print to it nicely, with the exception of having readily available options to duplex. The MAC problem may be due to poor wireless driver options from Brother. Maybe Brother will update the driver for 10.9.2 in the future (sooner is better). Overall: The concept is good. Print quality is fine if you are looking for a brute printer with toner at a reasonable price. iPhone and iPad compatibility is acceptable. But if you need a driver for OSX 10.9.2 with good control options, forget it for the present.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good upgrade

By RDS837 from Upstate NY on 02/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Upgrade from 5370DW. Easy to set up and easy to network wirelessly. Only complaint is that the machine is a bit noisy when printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

POOR POOR PERFORMANCE!!

By Anonymous from Minnesota on 01/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I PREVIOUSLY HAD AN HP 1320N PRINTER FOR YEARS FOR MY BLACK/WHITE LASER NEEDS BUT THOUGHT I SHOULD BUY A NEW PRINTER SINCE IT WAS GETTING SO OLD. I JUST REALIZED AFTER DEALING WITH ISSUE AFTER ISSUE WITH THIS BROTHER PRINTER, THAT I AM NOW OFFICIALLY 6 DAYS PAST MY 1 YEAR WARRANTY - NOT ONLY HAVE I PUT IN A NEW DRUM AND TRIED COUNTLESS OTHER ADJUSTMENTS TO MY PRINT MODE, THE PRINTING LOOKS TERRIBLE AND IT ALSO JAMS CONTINUOUSLY. NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS PRINTER!! HEY, ON THE BRIGHT SIDE, I KEPT MY OLD HP AND AM NOW HOOKING IT BACK UP UNTIL I CAN GET ANOTHER WIFI PRINTER. DON'T GET THIS ONE - I AM SORELY DISAPPOINTED - WOW!!! I WON'T EVER BUY ANOTHER BROTHER PRODUCT!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer!

By Vickie from Moultrie, GA on 01/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the speed of this printer and the finished copy once printed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The printer is easy to ...

By rchrd1221 from Bucks County, PA on 11/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is easy to install, easy to use, has good speed and is perfect for my needs. I have absolutely no complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Always the Best

By TrainLady from Richmond, VA on 11/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only used Brother Laser Printers for my small business. Before buying the HL-5470DW I had a regular Brother laser printer that still works just fine. I really wanted to upgrade to a wireless model and this model fits the bill. I love that I don't have to turn over the paper to print on both sides. I never could figure out what side went up or down. You can also use legal size paper in the same tray. No more switching out the tray. And now with my laptop and I Pad I can print from them without any worry. The size is a perfect fit too. I can't say enough about how good this machine is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Anonymous from Deer Park, NY on 08/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is very fast in printing tax returns. With internal memos I can use scrap paper and save on paper costs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Total Junk

By kfortier5 from Annapolis, MD on 07/25/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have spent more money replacing drum units than the original printer cost. Don't be fooled by the purchase price. Maintenance costs make this a very, very expensive printer. Brother support won't do squat because they say replacing the drum unit is a normal wear and tear thing. However, our prior HP was a freaking work horse. Never had to replace a drum unit with 100K+ pages printed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470DW High-Speed Laser Printer Windows 8

By AZsparky from Undisclosed on 07/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer, met all my expectations. However it did not ship with a Windows 8 disk and I had to spend over 30 minutes on the phone with a tech that I not impressed by. Shame on Brother for shipping a product without current software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One for the Money

By DMI1 from Undisclosed on 07/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer because a new drum for my other wasnt that much different in price. I have the HL-5240 also, but the HL-5470DW prints much faster, and quite a bit sharper. Overall, I would say this is a good buy. I got about 25000 sheets out of my 5240, so lets hope this one can do the same!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely Satisfactory

By HectorG from St. George, Utah on 07/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was nice to see the quality of packaging when this printer was delivered, a well designed box for safely transporting the printer. It was quite easy to remove the printer from its package nest. This printer has almost every feature I wanted; I do hope to find a second tray to complete my wish list. I just didn't have the funds to purchase the tray when I acquired the printer. Duplex printing is a requirement and I am pleasantly surprised at this printer's speed when using the duplex function. In fact I'm pleased with the printer's speed in general. The printer has a nice, non-shiny, textured, conservative appearance and looks very comfortable next to my iMac. The physical design is tasteful. The versatile and well-performing fold-out top tray works very well, and feels robust. I use it regularly and it has been absolutely reliable. I am completely satisfied with the control functions. The controls are adequate, convenient, and simple, and the display is quite readable. The cancel button is readily at hand, and responds immediately with no jamming of paper. This is not the case with many printers I've used. The menu structure is fine but extensive, so do print it out from the online user guide before using the menu controls. Yes, it can be done by guess-and-try, but that uses unnecessary time and paper. The user guide, incidentally, has quickly provided any information I've needed or wanted. The index is quite easy to use, and clicking on a page number in the index immediately takes you to that page. Well done, Brother. For me the operating noise is quite acceptable-my wife and I quickly became used to it and really don't hear it anymore. Like dogs--you hear your neighbor's, but not your own when it barks outside. When not printing the machine is silent. It quickly comes out of sleep mode when printing is required. There has been no hint of a paper jam in the several weeks we've had the printer. My printing is mostly on 24 or 20 pound paper, with an occasional, (not frequent), heavier cover stock using the flat output tray at the rear of the printer. A little thing: all of my printers have little felt pads that eliminate rattling noises from the various parts. (I use many of these--all of my cupboard doors, the doors inside the house, and anything I can stop from rattling or closing with a hard sound. The felt adds a sense of quality. I've not yet found a rattle on this Brother. Most unusual in my experience with so many plastics being used. The quality of the print, regardless of font size, is absolutely satisfactory. I find graphics, which I use regularly, are printed well with this printer. Both B&W and colour graphics. (The colour prints in B&W of course.) The Brother was installed easily on our wireless network, working with two iMacs and a Macbook. I did, experimentally, hook it up for a short trial with the ethernet port, and it functioned well. I might explain that I purchased this B&W printer because I refill my inkjet cartridges with a high-quality ink at very low cost, and can thus print in colour inexpensively. But for speed and convenience, the Brother can't be beat, so "I have the best of both worlds". The Brother is our workhorse printer. It was a great choice for my purposes. It is not uncommon for me to be asked what equipment I'm using, and I can both recommend and demonstrate this printer to a friend. Enthusiastically.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother was difficult to work with

By JerryZ from Philadelphia PA on 07/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Drum failed less than a week out of warranty. Had to go through 6 people before one person agreed to be flexible. Entire machine was replaced, but not the drum. Another failure. Drum was then replaced. Machine is fine now. Print is clear and quick. Toner cartridge life is as advertised. This is my second Brother printer. The first (MFC-7340) is still going strong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low Print Quantity

By WiseInvestor from Undisclosed on 06/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great fast high quality printer, BUT very low print capacity. My print output was 1,654 pages versus an advertised 3,000 per toner cartridge. In addition, when printer tells you toner is low, there appears to be ink still left in cartridge, but printer won't let you print. A way overpriced replacement cartridge. If you are a high volume user, buy something else!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good machine for reasonable price

By Happy32 from Undisclosed on 05/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unfortunately as with other manufacturers, the toner is the expensive item in the long run. And I have no clue why I had to replace a cartridge that weighed the same as the new one I put in. But there is no choice because the machine just refuses to work until it determines it has a new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine overall, with problems

By JohnCC from Undisclosed on 02/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've had the printer for about 6 weeks in a home office. It works very well, it's fast, and the price was good. Its on Ethernet, so havent tried the Wi-Fi connection. Some drawbacks: (1) I wish it were a little quieter. (2) Like the Brother MFC 9560 CDW that we also use, it makes the lights flicker when it starts to print something; doesn't seem to be causing any damage but it sure doesnt inspire confidence. (3) The printer started nagging about low toner when almost half the toner was left " an irritating message every time we printed something and every time we rebooted for about 2 weeks! Very annoying. (4) We had to replace the initial toner cartridge after only 2372 pages, 20% less than its supposed to provide; hope the new high-capacity TN-750 I just installed lives up to its advertised 8,000 pages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for a doctors office

By DrPhil from Wilmington, NC on 02/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use Brother printers throughout my office and have done so for years. We recently upgraded our network and EHR system. While doing so, I installed this printer on our network and it is fast, crisp and very reliable. Thanks, Bro!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, Great Price

By bigbobby from Tacoma, WA on 02/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced a 10 yr old HL-1440 that still worked fine with our WinXP computer, but balked at networking with the newer Win7 computers. Also wanted the convenience to h/u wireless with laptops, and figured duplex printing would be nice/cheaper. This HL-5470DW really fills the bill. Installing on wireless/network was a snap. It does seem to be a little noisier than the HL-1440, but it is also quite a bit faster. Hope it will last as long as the HL-1440, and that the toner lasts as long also. Keep up the good work Brother, and thanks for a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By Canesfan from Undisclosed on 02/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is fast and has made me much more productive in my daily work. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke down

By Markr from Long Island, NY on 02/18/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The machine is very fast but it already broke down, within the first two months of purchase. Brother wouldn't replace it with a new machine but rather a refurbished one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Seems like a good purchase so far!

By MikeF from Clarksburg, WV on 02/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this unit rather than purchasing drum units and new toners for my 3040CN (since I do not need color anymore). So far so good - need to see how long the cartridge REALLY lasts though!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer, Bargain Price

By InsuranceAgentTony from Los Angeles, CA on 02/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Extremely fast, with full assortment of features. Much less expensive than competing brands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still works well after about first 4000 pages

By TomReview from Lansing, Michigan on 01/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Still works well after about first 4000 pages of printing. Good printing speed! Light weight! Haven't figured out how to do wireless connection yet! The online services plan registration was a little bit tidious but worked! I recommend this printer based on the printed work as of today, with 4000 pages of printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

5470DW

By Sandman from Tennessee on 01/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set up. Duplex works well. Fast, sharp printing. Short delay to start a print job if printer in sleep mode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Annoying Review Reminder

By Anonymous9 from Undisclosed on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer works great for only using it for 3 days of light use. The real test will be after 10000 - 20000 or so pages in the next few months. The price of a replacement cartridges and the continued quality of printing over time is the real test. Of course new products should work well. The immediate elliciiation of reviews by manufacturers does not provide meaningful information.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid in some areas, but weak in others

By SteveDC from Washington, DC on 01/04/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer prints clearly, but I was disappointed with the printer for several reasons: 1) The printer does not support Google Cloud Print (GCP)'s duplex feature. Google Cloud Print supports duplex printing, but apparently the printer is not registering itself as a duplex printer with Google Cloud Print. 2) The printer sometimes sign out from Google Cloud Print if the printer has been sleeping. I have to power cycle the printer to get it to work again. 3) When the printer warms up, it takes a lot of power and trips my UPSs that are on other outlets. I have another major brand similar laser printer that does not take so much juice to warm up. As Google Cloud Print support was one of the major reasons that I bought this printer, the printer's weak support for Google Cloud Print is why I am so disappointed with this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fast and easy to use

By gapitts from Salem, Oregon on 01/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a fast black printer that I could hook up through the router for Linux and windows7, but I also needed to hook up a PC that was not Internet connected. This worked through a USB cable. So I have 5 Linux OS and windows7 connected through the router and a windows XP system attached through a USB cable. I did find a old Linux OS that would not use the router, but updating to a newer version fixed that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laser, the only way to go, good buy

By Tiny from Brighton, CO on 01/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have only had the printer running for about a week so it is hard to tell how well it will hold up, we heard that it was a work horse. Setting up the wireless network was a pain, the instructions leave a lot to be desired, should not assume everyone is a computer geek and knows it all. We fineally got it up and running on 2 of the computers. I like the speed of printing and how clear it is. The price was very good, so far very happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased

By HomeOfficeLawyer from Jackson, Mississippi on 01/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the printer to replace a previous Brother printer. This one works better, faster and gives as high or better quality as the previous one. I'm pleased and highly recommend. I'm also pleased that it comes equipped wih AirPlay so that I can print from my iPad or iPhone. Brother hit a home run with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470DW

By Eho26 from Sunrise, FL on 12/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the printer, it's fast even on the wireless feature. Not crazy about the price of replacement cartridges, will have to deal with it until the price comes down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laser Printer

By Speedy from Gardner (Kansas City area), KS on 12/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the duplexing, and it is easy to do. Haven't tried the networking. I also have a HL 5240 for years and loved it, but I could never do the duplex feature of copies on both sides of the paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great black and white laser printer

By WindyDaze from Gadsden, AL on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used a HL5250DN for six years and when It needed replacing, I selected this printer. I am pleased with the quality and speed. Because of a need for speed and the closeness to my router, the HL5470 DW is connected with an Ethernet connection. It services two laptops which are wireless and it serves as the printer of choice for an IPad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have had printer for 3 weeks, happy so far.

By buster10 from Camarillo CA on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works very well. Somewhat time consumming to setup after one button setup failed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far so good

By Vansautomotive from El Cajon,Ca. on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Up graded to this unit from HL 5250 I do like the prints on both sides feature,should save paper!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replaced a Brother HL-5250DN with this one.

By Geen from Pasadena, California on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't had the HL-5470DW but a few weeks. A Christmas gift from my wife, and it works great with my Mac, running the Mountain Lion 10-8 system. Printing is clear and sharp, and and the speed is super. The older Brother was twice as slow. I'd tell anybody to get one of these machines. Great quality at a reasonable price. Love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Way Under Priced

By Susie from Central Texas on 12/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best printers that I have ever purchased. After using it, I would pay double the price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470DW What I've been looking for!

By skypilot12 from Pennsylvania on 12/18/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've searched for a printer that was fast, operated wirelessly and had to duplex. I found it all in one affordable unit. Very well satisified with setup and ease of use. Print quality is great. Being able to use other computers with one printer is a big plus, no external wires.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Juannyb from Taylors, SC on 12/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think the HL-5740 is the best printer that I ever bought. I have not been displeased with any Brother product I have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loved the old Brother so ...

By tooshortname from Undisclosed on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Loved the old Brother so much we purchased the new one when Brother stopped making ink cartriges for the old (it still worked,just couldn't get ink)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply the best!

By DWS1187 from Kinston, NC on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer for home office use and so far it has been one of the best laser printers I have ever owned. It's sleek and stylish and has an overall fast performance. What makes it really good is that it also features wireless connection hardwired connection, or AirPlay. Not to mention, the price is not bad for printer of its capabilities. Must-have for a small office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT printer

By TomButler from Portsmouth, VA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Cannot think of a single bad thing to say about this printer. It's fast, REALLY fast, resonably quiet. I'm impressed how quickly this unit prints, once I send a document to it. Print quality is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just as I expected.

By Griefrev from Louisville, KY on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this for my dissertation. I needed a reliable, sturdy printer for articles and projects. I can print from any computer in the house and the duplex function helps to save on paper. It does everything that I expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By bubbrother from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother HL-5470DW is a great printer, is very fast and reliable. I needed a monochrome laser printer to replace a color laser that was too costly to operate. The Brother fit the bill perfectly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Black-and-White I've Used

By ProlificPrinter from Lake Mary, FL on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer worked as advertised right out of the box. A word of advice to those who want to print wirelessly: READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! They may seem a bit confusing, but take your time and you'll have no problem. It's a fine printer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO FAR SO GOOD!

By COLLISIONREPAIR from WI on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I HAVE HAD THIS PRINTER FOR 2 .5 WEEKS SO FAR , ITS BEEN GOOD TO WORK WITH. I NEEDED A LITTLE HELP WITH INSTALLING THE DRIVERS. (JUST ME NEEDING HELP). OTHER THAN THAT NO PROBLEMS TO REPORT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother 5470DW

By DickR from Albany, OR on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a wonderful printer, especially for the price. It is fast and quiet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer, fast ...

By jjpar from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great printer, fast response to printing demand, love the double sided printing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little printer

By SACoxLaw from Santa Ana, CA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little guy is fast! Starts fast, prints fast. Has jammed once, but that was on its second cartridge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!!

By Book from Baton Rouge, LA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have enjoyed the HHS-5470W. I have use it for over a month and half as my work horse with no problems. I do recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By jgs11 from Manchester, MI on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for an eprint laser printer so that I could print directly from my iPad. I chose the Brother HL-5470DW laser print over a comparable printers from other manufacturers because of price and quality issues. The HL-5470DW was easy to setup and has performed flawlessly since I purchased it over 3 months ago. The machine is on 24/7 in sleep mode, which greatly reduces energy consumption. Double-sided printing in either landscape or portrait orientation, and the window into the paper tray are just two of the many features this printer has. I would recommend this printer to anyone who needs a wireless, iprint machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice upgrade

By marilynfo from Tucson, AZ on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer on the hopes that it would work quickly, cheaply and well. So far, I am very pleased. I have only used the printer for a month, so time will tell if it lasts well. It is only twice as expensive as my last printer and about 4 times more productive, worth the extra chips.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was a very good purchase

By BigD from Charlotte North Carolina on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Quality of print is very good. The speed of the machine is excellent. I like the economy of printing on both sides of the page. I really like the WiFi. I like the Toner cartridge. Difficulties- I printed 4000 pages on my initial print. No office supply in my area had this models Toner. I had to purchase it and have it delivered. That took 2 days. That would have been great but the printer never warned me I was about to run out of ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really good buy.

By Happyconsumer from Haiti, West Indies on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been running through ink cartridges with other printer so fast that we couldn't keep up very well. We wanted to get a bigger unit with a toner cartridge that could be used on toner saver and have a higher capacity availability. This printer is just what we need. The speed and useability are great. I also like the sleep feature that helps it recognize when you have job to do - no waiting. I was disappointed that the wireless didn't work without a router but I may yet get one to be able to use that feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Wireless

By Lenergy from Dallas, TX on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer would be awesome if the wireless feature was easier to set-up and use. I contacted customer service and no one could help me either. I wasted about an hour of my time. I use it by manually plugging in via usb port. I would not recommend this printer to others looking for a wireless connection or color printing. I would in any other case because it's fast and never jams.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-5470DW

By BabichInsInc from Ca on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great printer it doest what you ask it to do short of getting a beer from the frig


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By BJ743 from Cupertino, CA on 11/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replacement for 2270DW which has an unreliable envelope or single sheet document feed. This feature works fine on this unit and prints faster. So far so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By hrgcpa from Scarsdale, NY on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the HL5370 which was OK but not great. This machine is superior in that it's faster to make the first copy, faster in printing copies per minute, and the envelopes and paper don't get curled or mangled as they did with the 5370. I would definitely recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely happy

By ccsawman from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great value and prints at great speed. The amount of copies I get with the high capacity toner is better than any other printer ive had.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful and easy to use printer

By Handro from Las Cruces, NM on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We owned a HL-1440 printer for over 7 years before jamming issues began occuring and we began looking around for other printers. I looked at other brands but the Brother HL-5470DW had all the features that we needed (and more) for a great price. We have really loved having it. It is very fast and prints great. We don't do many graphics as we typically just print text documents. It was very easy to set up and get working. No problems yet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By TitleMan from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found I needed the duplex features not included on my 2170 model, which I've had for several years (and found to be very durable and reliable). I decided on the 5470 because of it's ability to handle more work in a month than the lesser models. I also like the workings - it loads paper and toner much like the 2170 (in fact, while it works the same way, the toner in the 5470 is much easier to replace). Two complaints: one, it is difficult to cancel a print job. Finally figured it out, after going through a small forest (you have to hold the "cancel" button down for quite a while). But so far it is very reliable and fast. Two, it is a bit noisy. I still use te 2170 for quick one-sided printing (especially checks), but have the 5470 for bigger jobs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice product but...

By fireantap from Georgetown, TX on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice product that functions as expected but it has one unfortunate characteristic. When starting from sleep mode there is a very high surge current into the power supply. It is enough to cause the lights to noticeably dim and a UPS on the same mains circuit to go into backup mode. I think the designers were a little too aggressive in their desire to make the transition from sleep to printing as short as possible. This is a potential problem for the user that is using a heavily loaded circuit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Wireless Setup

By ulysses from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The HL-5470DW was very easy to set up on my wireless home network and printing from computers in different rooms which are 40-50 feet way is fast and trouble-free. Very nice laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TURN IT ON AND IT WORKS

By RETIREDCPA from GEORGIA MOUNTAINS on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK OF A PRINTER THAT HAS THE SPECS YOU SOUGHT AT PURCHASE. IT IS RELIABLE AND DOES WHAT IT IS SUPPOSE TO DO. WHO WANT'S SURPRISES WHEN YOU HIT THE PRINT BUTTON?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement for 5370DW

By RayMil from California on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very efficient. I am learning more about features every week.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Sheri from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the 2 drawer feeder, which gives me the ability to print documents with mixed sizes,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I have come across yet

By LAtech09 from Benton, LA. on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer was easy to set up to my network. Being able to print on both sides of the paper is great with paper costs going up. Went through a case of paper before having to get a new toner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good printer

By jkor from Canton, Ohio on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is a good printer. The only negative is that the first page seems to take forever to print. The remaining pages come much more quickly. The print from I-Phone feature works exceedingly well and never fails.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would recommend to others

By BacktoSchool from Minneapolis area on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this printer. Once it warms up it's fast, and the two side printing is great. I have also done two types of labels so far with no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Basic

By MacBro from Virginia on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought HL-5470DW for all Mac home office use. More pricey than personal models w/ seemingly no benefits other than more sturdy features. Good print quality, but duplex printing requires continuous re-setting. Automatic "deep sleep" setting is very annoying. Deep sleep = auto shut off, and requires that you manually turn the printer off and then on again, defeating the purpose of an auto-on feature altogether. You can adjust amount of time before printer goes from sleep mode to deep-sleep, but you cannot disable deep sleep function.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable workhorse

By Hikergal from Charlotte, NC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up right out of the box, including getting the Wi-Fi feature up and running. Then it zips out high quality prints and has a flawless duplex function. It has sufficient memory to do complex designs without a pause. Hard to imagine a better printer for day-to-day printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific Printer!

By Westchester from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer does everything I wish from a printer - both hardware and driver software. I use the HL-5470DW on a combination of wired and wireless networks. It supports the combination flawlessly. I needed some assistance from Brother product support on the initial setup and have received excellent help.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Bad

By Aarti from Greeneville, Tn on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I brought this product about 6 months back and ever since then every month I have been purchasing ink. Until now I have purchased 4 toners. This product utilises alot of Toner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!

By Charleycycle from Pendleton, OR on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer delivers everything as advertised. I purchased this for home use, I was tired of shelling out money for ink cartridges on my ink jet printer. My home network is mostly Macintosh (iMac, iPad, iPhone) and one PC. The HL-5470 loaded up and integrated flawlessly with everything on the network, prints fast at just over a penny a copy, beating the pants of my ink jet (brand X) which costs about a dime a copy. I still use the ink jet as a scanner and color printer when need. I highly recommend the HL-5470


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer review

By DavidE88 from Easley, SC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have has this printer about 4 months. Its excellent, works great, very fast. I like being able to purchase a large ink replacement that gives me thousands of papers to print. This is my 3 Brother printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Ever

By clive from Windsor Ct on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

exellent Product great product and also fast on printing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect solution

By Amer1 from Amherst, MA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my outstanding color laser printer broke down, I needed basic no-nonsense printer to tide me over. I was willing to spend an extra $70 to avoid a cheap inkjet. I wanted a reputable maker that was not hostile to Macs, mono color, and above all, small footprint (two printers in a small study). The 5470 met all my criteria with the added bonus of being wireless and reducing my jungle of cables. Performance (speed and text quality) equals other brands in the same or higher price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The reviews do not do it justice. Perfect!

By AlanInHuntersville from Huntersville, NC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I normally do not review anything. When I was looking for a printer I read review after review and most of them were pretty negative. If there are any like that for this printer, they are unfounded. It is sturdy. It is compact. The wireless was easy. The sound level good. The toner use good. The pages per minute astounding. All I hope for is that a product does what the packaging says it will. It does live up to their hype.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Printer

By Dougv from Thousand Oaks, CA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer replaced a previous older unit that had an ethernet interface failure. The repair cost for that was more than the price of a new unit. I have used this one for about 6 months and it just does what it is supposed to do. The only functional issue I have ever had with a Brother printer is that the paper tray is down at the bottom of the unit so clutter in front hinders paper replacement. I built a small platform for the printer using 2x4s on their sides and a 1 in plywood top. It raises the printer up just enough that the clutter no longer interferes with replacing paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased with Printer

By fairycrystal from Fremont, CA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good printer. It is fast, copies are clear and precise. My only negative is that it is a little to noisey.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great B&W Laser Printer

By Retcolonel from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer connected to my home wireless network using the ethernet port and was easy to install. Has capability to print from a mobile device. This feature was easy to use, but sometimes have to power cycle the printer to reconnect the printer to mobile device which is an iPad. Like the low power savings feature and printer wakes up and prints first copy very quickly. Print quality is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer silliness

By Bampa from Florida on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It is absolutely silly to have to have a password (for BRadmin) to update the firmware for the printer! It should be a very simple download.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Accountant from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased to use in a small accounting practice and other business use. For the price and size has great value; fast printing; duplex feature that is very useful at times. I have had good experience with Brother laser printers -- I use them until they are worn out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By Siriuset from Studio City, CA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very fast startup and print speed. Duplex feature works well. I needed to contact tech support to set up air print feature but they were very knowledgeable and talked me through it. A very solid workhorse printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By STomH from Phoenix, AZ on 11/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first review. I must say that the product exceeded my expectations. The setup was extremely easy and the performance is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The only issues are: ...

By BrotherDC from NYC on 10/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only issues are: 1.google cloud print would not be able to let me print duplex 2.The printer consumes energy power like an AC, you would need a power conditioner to protect you equipment from power surge. Great size, and work wells with windows computer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast and Economical

By musicalist from Frederick, MD on 10/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer at this price point. I read reviews that claim that the HL-5470DW is economical, and the price checks I did for toner cartridges showed that to be the case. I got what I wanted: Fast, Economical, Monochrome printing. As a bonus it was easy to set up for wireless operation and the two-sided printing appears to be speedy compared to other printers I have used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional Products from Brother

By Philt from Glendora, CA on 08/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After more than a month of using this new printer, I really like this improvement from the HL-5370DW. Printing envelope or straight through is much easier than before, just open the back door, and print. No more adjustment or set for envelope. The Wi-Fi setup is quick, but prepare for the USB cable. I rather use Port Name than IP Address because I don't remember IP which this product allows me to set. The output is quick, clear and sharp. Gray scale is fine, but not smooth out. Small fonts is readable. Printer driver provides many tweaks, and flexible output option. For instance, Adobe reader output auto setup 2-up in landscape only, but with Brother printer driver, I could set in portrait as well. My only little disappoint is this printer always go twice even I ask to print one side of paper. However, the printing speed is fast enough. Paper is no longer curve as previous model. The plus about this printer configuration is lock the setting profile. A good idea for anyone has no access to change profile. The configuration profile is little confuse and easy get lost. However, I think Brother intend for this product in large users group.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First 5470DW Review

By TimMe from Undisclosed on 06/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my new HL 5479DW printer. It prints as advertised and I like its features, like duplexing. The WiFi set up is too complex. I'm not a super user, and technology intimidates me, but come on Brother International! Who edited the instruction manual for common sense and understanding? Jeesh!!! Brother technicians came to my rescue. It still took about 45 minutes to do it, but the tech knew what she was doing and she walked me through the process without any hitches. I could not have done it without her. But that's over and done with. I love my new printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved