Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL6180DW » 50 Reviews

Brother HL-6180DW Laser Printer - Monochrome - 1200 x 1200 dpi Print - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - 42 ppm Mono Print - 550 sheets Input - Automatic Duplex Print - LCD - Gigabit Ethernet - Wi-Fi - Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 50 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good printer

By Clarence from Mt. Vernon, NY on 10/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer works as advertised. The only problem I have with this printer is when you are entering the router password of the router for wireless printing, the printer does not give you enough time to go to the next step before defaulting back to zero. I have to try at least ten times before I was quick enough the same the password.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best product ever.

By officemate from Panama City, Florida on 10/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just hope the HL-6180DW last longer than the HL-5470DW did. Had to replace the drum and the fusion bar within 2 1/5 years of having the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By JohnQ from Burbank IL on 09/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer. It runs Quietly, Flawlessly and at a low cost per page. It prints on both sides with no jam up as I had on my previous printers. I really enjoy the quick and quit pages it prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother needs to step up and make changes

By DoctorWho from Dinwiddie, VA on 08/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Our company purchased 2 HL-6180DW printers. Features were exactly what we needed. Worked wonderful for a couple of months then the quality of printing went down and then broke. Not one of the printers but both. Yes, we use only brother drums and toner. It didn't make a difference. Customer service took care of replacing the printer after a very long and drawn out phone call to someone who spoke poor english. It was so bad when the second printer started having the same problem, we didn't even bother calling them. We are down to the refurbished replacement and when it goes we will not purchase brother products again. Our company owns other models and they have been a heartbreak pain in the rear as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT LITTLE WORK HORSE

By namm from Undisclosed on 08/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has been excellent for our small business. The print is consistently sharp and the delivery is very fast. The larger paper capacity means less time spent having to refill. We have three Brother printers in our office. While we have had to replace two of them recently, we have owned them over ten years. we have been very happy with their longevity. They are real work horses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so far it works great

By officeguychicago from Chicago, IL on 08/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far it works great. No problems. Good value. Cheaper than HP printers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Jdgmnt1 from Los Angeles, CA on 07/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works efficiently, has good value for its price....it actually has a large bin for paper and feeds envelopes...I would make the envelope feeder holder more envelopes...otherwise it is perfect for our law office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What A Mess!

By ZLDA from Midwest on 07/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this printer 16 months ago and for the first eight months it worked well, nice clean fast prints. The last six months have been a mess, ink powder coming out everywhere, I've replaced both the Drum Unit and the toner cartridge, it works for a week or two and then ink everywhere again, this has been going and on. Brother is just not the brand it used to be. I've never had a printer this short lived and horrible as this one (I'm a small tax accountant and have been in business for seventeen years).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent quality

By SatisfiedBrotherOwner from Morgan City, louisiana on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

extremely satisfied with this unit. we are having a bit of an issue with paper jams on the first print job each morning with the first page jamming. once cleared we go all day with no errors. We have two additional HL-6180s put in service same date over a year ago an no problems. Brother is working with us to identify the problem. we will be buying 2 more to finish our system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

printer

By office from Shreveport, LA on 05/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the printer. The speed of pribting is excellent for my tax business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Small Office

By Tracy from Laguna Niguel, California on 05/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced an HP laser printer with this machine. This machine is really good for printing envelopes with a straight through path. The back opens up and the envelopes go straight through without wrinkling.. Its also prints duplex really well which saves money on paper. I really love this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can they lower the quality any more?

By BigB from Southeastern, USA on 05/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The good: Good print quality and print speed The bad: When I first picked up the box I expected it to be much heavier. Once unpacked, the printer feels cheap. The plastic is much thinner than the HL-6050 that it replaces and the paper feed rollers are smaller. Brother was my go-to manufacturer for office equipment but the printer and the previous purchase of an Intellifax machine demonstrate that Brother is going the route of so many other manufacturers which is to produce the cheapest product possible. I can't speak to longevity of this machine but I certainly do not expect it to last anywhere near as long as its more solidly built predecessor. Also worthy of note is that fact that the first one I received was broken. The paper lift gear mechanism for the paper tray was in pieces. This speaks to the low quality of plastic being used. Warranty replacement should have been easier but I was forced to load paper in the tray then report every error message to the tech before he would acknowledge that it was defective. This machine was purchased by business that only uses a debit card for emergency credit card purchases and Brother would not accept it for a $50 hold they need to place on a credit card to insure return of the defective unit. I had to use a personal credit card. Finally, the printer is being used on a network and I wanted to install only the driver (no driver install app, no utilities). I could not identify the appropriate .inf file on the provided disc so had to download the driver file.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer Review

By archiedl from Hawaii on 04/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I am very happy with this printer. It was very easy to install on a wireless mode basis. No power surp problems that other reviewer had. Also, the speed of the printer is very fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Rock Star Printer!

By Raven from Undisclosed on 04/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It prints fast, holds plenty of paper for high-volume print jobs, broad range of adjustable settings, cost-efficient price for the unit and the ink. Excellent brand reputation. No wires and easy to install. It rocks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Owned short time

By Gecko from Undisclosed on 04/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't run a full ream through the machine yet but so far it has performed flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New HL-6180

By Gertrude from Columbus, OH on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent machine with great paper storage and printing ability. Also purchased extra paper tray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

At 30,000 Pages, Jambs and Wrinkles Pages

By HighVolumeUser from San Francisco on 02/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have four (4) HL-6180DW printers. After each one of them printed about 30,000 pages on the Brother specified Xerox 4200 20lb paper, ALL FOUR of them started jambing and/or wrinkling pages in the fuser section and wrinkled really badly during duplexing. The printers were assembled in different countries and purchased a year apart, but had the exact same problem. Cleaning rubber rollers did nothing. My engineering opinion is that this machine has a defect in design that causes unrepairable mechanical changes with use and should stopped being sold by Brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL 6180dw

By jimpo from Banning CA on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good printer for the price. Faster than most. Only problem is that the paper drawer drags on the desk top and is hard to open because the clearance between the drawer and desk is a little toooo restrictive. Suggest you make the printer pads a bit higher or the draw a little higher from the bottom of the printer. My Brother 5370DW does not have this problem. This DOES NOT affect the printer or its abilities but it is a bothersome thing only. Still like the speed of this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Performer

By robbi from Undisclosed on 11/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has performed very well over the month that I have had it! The fast print capability is an asset when we print large documents, and has saved hours from waiting for the print to finish. The duplexing option saves us money since we are only using half of the paper quantity. Definately a Solid Performer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By VickiS from CT on 11/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this machine for a few months and it's great. It's fast and can keep up with my needs. I would purchase another if needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding printer

By Sold123 from Gaffney, SC on 11/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Brother HL-6180 Printers are replacing all of our Hewlett Packard laser printers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful upgrade

By Sheri8343 from Ramona, SD on 07/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For 10 years now, I have purchased Brother duplexing laser printers for my home based business doing books for local small businesses. While being always satisfied with all my brother printers (I totally use them up until nothing left), this one was quite a delight to open and set up. The paper tray holds a full ream of paper, and the toner is available is 3 sizes of use. Its quick response from "send to printer" to print is respectable and networking set up or wireless set up a breeze.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst experience ever with HL-6180DW

By Harb from Tracy, CA on 07/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I Purchased this printer about a year ago, contacted brother support about printing problem, the lines were fuzzy and bleeding over, there was shadows with the letters, the UPC code couldn't be read by the UPS, Brother support were no help, they asked me to take printer to a brother repair center and repair at my own expense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

terrible machine - great service reps.

By sadbuyer from PA on 06/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought from Amazon and discovered a faulty left arm that prevented re-insertion of the toner cartridge. Customer rep very helpful and get me to fix it once; but it kept falling off. So I returned it to Amazon for a replacement; but the replacement just gave a loud clunk when turned on and could not load paper from tray. Again a good customer rep listed to clunking over phone and declared a serious fault. He said they could sent a placement - but it would take longer to arrive than a replacement from Amazon. So, i cancelled and returned the 6180 to Amazon and got a Canon printer very quickly which did work. Bottom Line Great Customer Reps at Brother; but really not very good 6180 product based on my experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good work printer

By KP317 from East Windsor, NJ on 05/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast printer, very crisp print outs. Easy to use and setup with Windows XP, although haven't upgraded to Windows 7 yet. Good printer for the $$, if you can buy it on sale at an office supply store it's worth it. Only rating four stars because of issue with fuser on original printer purchased, was under warranty so Brother shipped refurb printer which is working like a charm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Front Desk Printer

By mkelly from Fort Wayne, IN on 04/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has been in use just over a week now and the front desk is quite happy with the performance, specifically the speed in which the first page prints. The print quality is very nice. The unit was easy to set up and put on the network.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By Josh41014 from Berkeley, CA on 04/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I an not in the habit of rating things in superlatives; however, that being said, I believe this is a good, solid and I hope for the next couple years a reliable printer. I have only been running this printer for a week, so far I have not been disappointed. The point of sale for me was a duplex printer and with a 500 sheet paper feeder which I could build on if it became necessary; the print quality is very good. Another point is that it is somewhat user serviceable, that is I can replace the drum as needed for nominal cost. that main consumable, that is, toner is also very economical, less than half the cost of the toner of its predecessor and I have a lot of choices vis-a-vis toner capacity which is very important to me. If this holds up and remains unproblematic, I will likely purchase another in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Alger from Colorado on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 6180DW was easy to install once I ignored the quick startup instructions. The wireless setup is easier to configure using the CD. I set the DHCP range between 100 to 150 and set the printer IP to within that range. Now the 6180 never fails to initialize. The straight through printing using the MP Tray works well except the rear output area needs support for paper as it exits the printer. Straight through does accept 43 lb paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Angeldakota from Houston Tx on 02/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Brother printer. I bought this model a year ago and love it. Unfortunately it broke a week after the year warranty was up. I print a high volume at my job. I do love it though and so bought another. It is very fast and holds a ream of paper. I am happy with my purchase and would recommend it highly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Start up printing draws huge power

By Melmoses from Montgomery, AL on 01/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had to send this printer back. Printer prints super but pops the office circuit breaker at the start of every print job. Watching the APC uninterrupted power supply which reads voltage, even without the printer plugged into it, the voltage drops from 122-123 down in the 40's when the Brother starts up. It causes the APC to protect the computer and disconnect power. I can't use a printer that draws that much power at startup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Small Business Printer

By mjdCPA from Bakersfield, CA on 11/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Needed to replace six mono laser printers that were 8 to 10 years old which had given us excellent service and all used the same toner, and were from another manufacturer. We researched that manufacturer's current product line, but also others. After reading over 100 reviews on Amazon, we decided to buy one Brother HL 6180DW, which was priced at about one-third what we had paid for each of the printers we needed to replace. After using it for two months we bought five more. That was six months ago and, without exception, our staff is completely satisfied with every aspect of this printer, especially the fact that its paper capacity is a full ream. Toner change out is extremely simple and our cost per page is approximately the same very reasonable amount that was the deciding factor on the printers we bought 8 to 10 years ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First model had to be replaced

By ABurch from Missouri on 10/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine was purchased to replace an HL-5470 that was setup in an office that, unfortunately, printed a far larger volume than I'd anticipated. In order to head off issues down the road, we decided to upgrade to the 6180 model. The initial machine purchased threw up an error code after two weeks, and after working with Brother technical support, I received a brand new replacement days later. This was the first issue I've had with a Brother printer, it being the fourth I've purchased this year. This was also the first call I've made to their technical support line, and I was impressed by the friendly, (stateside) professional service. Due to the quality of support, the issue I experienced won't steer me from purchasing another Brother. As always, though, I'm a bit disappointed by the brittle plastic used for the trays. I've never had one break on me or my users; I just don't like the quality. Hardly a deal breaker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fastest block printer I've had

By dsuzuki from Honolulu, Hawaii on 09/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had a little difficulty setting up the printer for Airprint but I finally got it to work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We had a lot of trouble ...

By cohort from Undisclosed on 09/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We had a lot of trouble after just using it a few times. Brought it to a local service center who could not fix it. After one month we finally got a new printer. Compliments to Ed who finally took care of it. Hopefully we will have better luck with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer!

By Pisces1954 from Colorado Springs on 07/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer was easy to set up wirelessly and over the first week of operation has met my expectations. Print quality is good, speed is as rated. Operates fairly quietly. I am happy with this printer so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad purchase

By Julio from Virginia on 05/27/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It requires technical support to install. Tech manual is hard to follow and it is incomplete


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Markman from Hespeia, CA on 03/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works very well and is very fast. Can set it up on the network manually without having to use the printer software. Air print works great as this was the reason it was purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer yet

By CBurch from Southern Oregon on 03/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use exclusively Brother Printer's and fax machines in my business. I love that you have finally introduced a paper tray that holds an entire ream of paper. Awesome! No more second paper tray and hoping the program I am using will trigger the second tray automatically. The speed is incredible and using it wireless makes it so efficient. When I log in remotely from home, I can send my work to the printer and the next morning, it's there waiting for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I returned it

By Stitcher from denver, CO on 02/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Nice Printer but it does not print transparencies. There was something else that I did not like but I can't remember what it was. I returned it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Predictable Quality

By Lake from Covina California on 01/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using Brother Printers for a number of years so my expectations were already high. Particularly with the Black and White Printers I have never been disappointed, and our new HL-6180DW certainly lives up to those expectations. It runs flawlessly and produces high quality printing in both standard and duplex mode. Much of our output goes directly to press (we have a print shop) and we have never had complaints regarding quality. Thanks for an excellent product at a reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Yet

By MF83 from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super simple set up and work like a gem. No problems to date. Very satisfied with this product and would buy another if needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By aleksandrB from San Mateo, CA on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm glad to have one more printer of Brother. My previous HL-52xx and 53xx work very well. This one powerful, short time of the 1st page, good duplex mode. The only thing is short capacity of the initial cartridge - 1000 pages, I expected 2500 as regular one. But it's OK. And Wi-Fi installation is still not so simple as it should be :-(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By Techie from Undisclosed on 12/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wired network was easy to setup. Good speed and print quality. Wireless setup seems old fashioned with the need to connect the printer to a router via cable (not included) for setup. Otherwise does what it is advertised to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than ever

By billofla from Los Angeles on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous Brother laser printer had a fried fuser after 20,00 pages. Rather than repair it, I choose this new model instead. It has double the paper capacity at 500 sheets, and handles envelopes much better. I was the Technology Teacher and Network Manager for my school, and have installed hundreds of printers across our school system. None, have been as fast, as productive, or as dependable as these two were. And at an amazing price no less!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Value.

By DonH from Southlake, TX on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We were replacing 8 HP printers, some over 15 years old. We were looking for 30+ppm and wireless connectivity. The Brother seem to provide the biggest bang for the buck. Reliability seems good based on the one 4-year old Brother we have. The 500+ single paper tray is great, but the single sheet tray seems to hold fewer sheets and not as solidly constructed as our older Brother. A bit noisy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Customer Service

By tryabike from Atlanta, Ga on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Brother went out of their way to help to me get this printer connected wirelessly. It took multiple calls and several hours of tinkering but with Brothers consistent support we got it connected and wroking. Even to the point of sending me a second printer at no charge before we jointly realized the issue was with my older router. Just a word or caution if you have a older router do yourself a favor and update it when you update your printer, it will be worth it! Once connected the printer has been working flawlessly and fast!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice printer

By OldGuy from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice printer. The page per minute speed is great and the print quality is good. The only problem I've had with the printer is the wireless feature. It is not user friendly to set up. After I had my new desktop and my wireless laptop set up and working with the printer, for some reason the printer kept going off-line on both computers. I had to re-install the drivers about four times before it finally communicated with my computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

6180 Print

By Tango from Pensacola, FL on 11/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works as advertised. Great printer. 500 page input is nice. Would buy again and recommend to a small business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing fast printer

By George09 from Los Angeles, California on 10/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

@ 42 PPM this printer is amazingly fast. also it prints duplex with litle speed degration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!

By Tamara1028 from Tallahassee, Florida on 10/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is very easy to setup, is fast and efficient and definitely the best printer I have ever owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved