Home » HL2040 » 41 Reviews

Brother International Hl2040 15ppm Mono Laser Printer 1200x600 Dpi 2m Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 41 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

One of the greatest Nikkor portrait lenses ever

By JohnDoe from Romania on 12/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best portrait lenses out there. I fell in love with the 85mm f1.4D since the first shot I've taken with it. I started using it on a D300 and I currently use it on my D3. This lens is a gem: superb build quality (too bad lenses aren't build this way anymore), tack sharp wide open, amazing colors (although on the neutral side, not the warm side), exquisite defocus all this at a very good price. Mine focuses fast and precise, especially on my D3. I love the metal sun shade (which is terrific when you use CPL filters because you can rotate them smoother and have better control), the aperture ring is very useful if you can't control the diaphragm when in video mode (on D7x00, D6x0 bodies). I love using the aperture ring on my F100. Because it does rely on the AF motor inside your Nikon body, to achieve fast and precise focus you need a serious body. I recommend D3/D4 for perfect tack sharp photos @ f1.4. I noticed that on D810 it's tack sharp in the center @ f1.4 only if you shoot in live view mode. This is because any other AF system beside the ones in the D3/D4 aren't so micro-precise. Also the shutter-lag in the D3/D4 bodies is almost 0 and this aids a lot when shooting wide open. When shot on D8x0 and D6x0 the image is definitely sharp in the center @ f1.4 but you can't imagine how sharp it can be unless you start using a proper focusing and shooting technique - I guess this is why some folks don't get sharp images no matter what they do. I only shoot at f1.4 - it's that good! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Bokeh Queen...

By NashvilleNikonD3 from Nashville, TN, USA on 04/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens on my wish list for a while, and finally went for it. So glad I did. I have always been a 70-200 2.8 guy, and still am for certain things, but I have found this 85mm 1.4d gives you the best bokeh effects specifically for portrait applications. And is much easier to carry around as well...I think a new love affair has begun for me....very solid construction...feels balanced with my D3. I've shot the 85mm 1.4G as well. It may have a slight edge in some areas, but I find those differences to be minor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Phenomenal lens, tack sharp, creamy, melted butter of a bokeh

By vancouverweddingstudio from Vancouver, BC on 06/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought this lens originally for my Nikon D700, and it performed flawlessly. Tack sharp at 1.4, and the falloff into dream-like bokeh is quite beautiful. I also love the all metal screw in lens hood, very high quality and THAT's protection for the lens (I don't use UV filters, I think the hood is protection enough - especially this one). Construction-wise it's well built, the AF motor is a tad bid louder than the newer G lenses, but I don't mind that at all. For me it's the image quality at the end of the day. Though I was worried that when I upgraded to D800E and the D600 this lens would not be able to keep up, I was pleasantly surprised. I love everything about this lens, it's great for portraits. I only shoot it at 1.4. That what this lens was meant for. Get it, if you can find a used one, it's built like a tank, so it lasts forever, and I have a feeling it holds its used value, so even if you give it up, you are not likely going to lose much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens has no Nikon equal perhaps the canon 1.2l and I think this lens is sharper at the centre.

By Photo Equipment designer from Undisclosed on 04/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Flowers, portraits and depth of field are what I love most, so this lens is a dream, love it to bits, I started with the 50 1.4D which was a learning curve, and then the 80-200 2.8 ED which is also good but this lens is just so easy in comparison. Like the 50mm, the 85 is a gem when closed down for landscapes. Comparing the 85 1.4D to the other versions, this one has the narrowest depth of field and looking at the photo-zone playing card tests, it is closer to the Canon 1.2L in the blur characteristics than the other Nikons, which is quite a surprise! though the Canon will let in more light obviously, but it does highlight that the design of being very sharp in the centre with large fall off either side was very much intended and a very clever design for its purpose, by landscape settings there is not much difference between all the 85's including Sigma. The other interesting fact is the new 85 has the same T stop of 1.7, despite the Nano coating. This f1.2 like characteristic is what some pro's are missing in the new lens, which will show itself in the blurred region between the eyes and hair in portrait photography, so now they still need both lenses! John


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible Bokeh

By Spyglass Hill from San Francisco, CA on 09/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the Nikkor 85mm f/1.4D pretty much lives on my D300s ..The incredible depth of adjustments of this lense offer the shooter so many different artisitc options .. Its ability to shoot in very low light (handheld) is a joy .. I shoot a lot in museum environments where the light is low and the tripod is not allowed .. f/1.4 with an ISO of 1600 is awesome .. It's a great street photography lense as well allowing you to interact with your subjects but still provide a little distance .. It's fast focusing and is the perfect size to compliment my D300s with the battery pack .. I have not tested the G version of this lense and probably won't now .. Although closer to a 130mm lens on my DX format camera, I still use it as my go to everyday lens and really dig the compression of this focal length .. Definitely a must have lense if you like the leg work a prime lense forces you to do !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding low light lens for Concerts

By Doc from NJ on 08/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my favorite Nikkor lens, by far!!!!!! It's smokin fast when used in low light situations such as concert photography. Paired with my D-80 I'm able to acquire great no-flash shots of the artist from f/2.8 all the way to f/1.4. I can only imagine it coupled to a high end camera body with much greater ISO noise reducing capabilities. I bet the VR model is a sweeter lens for my shaking hands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best portrait lens

By talented_amateur from New York, USA on 06/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is very hard to argue that this isn't the best portrait lens on the market. Originally I was using it on a DX format camera, and you can struggle with having to stand a long way from the subject for portraits, but once I mated it with an FX format camera, it has shone. The soft focus outside the depth of field is magnificent, and it is a wonderful lens to work with. It has got far more use on my cameras than I would have expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clarity, focus and bokeh are outstanding

By Rickster from Pennsylvania on 06/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Previously I had the Nikon 85mm f/1.8, but exchanged it for the 85mm f/1.4D. Wow! What a difference! Yes, it cost much more than the 1.8, but the 1.4 is worth it if you can afford it. It is more than the difference in aperture from 1.8 to 1.4 - the clarity, the faster focus, and the bokeh are improved by a factor of 5x. My main walk around lens on my D700.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible Lens

By JimMakesBeer from Satellite Beach, FL on 06/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a must have for the camera bag. Super bright edge to edge - corner to corner sharpness is perfect. Well balanced. Nice comfortable size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid.

By Terrell from Atlanta|USA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If I had to choose one lens to work with exclusively it would be this one without a second thought. Wonderful lens!!! One of Nikon's best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible lens

By Saenalice from Zaandam, Netherlands on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was able to make wonderful shots of family & friends, with sweet bokeh and great shapness. Recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great lens.

By Mike from Waxahachie, Tx on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens primarily for photographing my grandson and newborns of friends. It is one of my favorites. It does have a very shallow depth of field with f1.4. With a very slight turn of the subject's head may have portions of the face out of focus enough to not be desirable. Using f5.6, or so, will have more of the face in focus if that is desired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW...I love this lens!

By BKPhoto from Santa Rosa, CA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What an amazing lens! This is THE must-have lens for any serious portrait photographer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must own lens!

By LA Wedding Photographer from Undisclosed on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sharp, Sharp, Sharp! This lens is just a gem. The bokeh is beautiful and the lens is very sharp. Even when it is wide open, it is very sharp. The distance is great for 3/4 portarts, headshots and tight shots. This is one of those lens that I will never sell! Auto-focus could be a little slow in low-light, but it still performs magically!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The standard in portraits

By prmass1 from winter haven, fl on 12/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I couldn't afford the new G lens the result is the D one generation older. Not new for me, I also have the 28-70mm 2.8 lens and what all these have in common: They compete with even the newest of lenses in just about every aspect. The 85mm1.4D is just sweet for portraits. The bokeh and the razor sharpness of the portraits are just amazing. Sure there is software that mimics the bokeh but don't be fooled. They try but I wouldn't want to spend hours retouching my pictures with software. I rather be out having fun and thats what this lens is. Its timeless! The colors are rich and has great contrast too. I will keep it for some time along with my other nikon lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fee error on my D700

By Bbaze from Charlotte, NC on 11/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens works fine on my D90, And every other lens I have works on my D700 but this one. The D700 will auto-focus with this lens fine but will not let me click an exposure. All I get is a Fee error. I've tried opening the aperture all the way and all that. Any suggestions?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Opinion

By a8j2 from Undisclosed on 08/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent results you'll get out of this masterpiece . . the only drawback, for me, is the build quality . . but i guess this was solved in the next version f1.4G. if you shoot portraits, this is a must. Bokeh machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A lens for the people and about the people

By photostuff from Green Bay,WI on 08/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really now, and you say you created that bokeh without some special software? Actually that software does exist and funny thing is it will allow you to choose this particular lens in case you left it at home.However, this is not about the software but about the people who take pictures of people and use this remarkable lens. Try it with a christmas tree in the background and you will see for yourself the shear beauty it delivers. Set your subject in front of this lens and let the camera do the talking or taking if you perfer. If portraits are your thing and you don't own this lens yet, you are missing the action or should I say the people. Tell Santa to put this under the tree and you'll never look back. That is unless you are intentionally looking back to photograph the tree where you just unwrapped your new lens. You'll Love It !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

favourite lens by far

By mw from amherst nova scotia on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

bought this lens to compliment my d700 for portrait work results have been magazine like for family and friends beautiful creamy bokeh with sharp subjects


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens needs updating

By stuuke from Kansas City on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Shooting wide open at 1.4 does give you images that you won't get with most lenses but this lens does it have its limitations. First the good. The 85 1.4 does offer you the ability to shoot in very low light. The color is good and the lens when stopped down is very sharp. The lens is also compact when compared to the Canon equivalent. On the negative side the lens although the lens offers low light capability the focusing does not work very well in low light. The worst part is that the lens can actually register that it is in focus when it is not. Focusing speed is also slow. The other issue is CA. The CA is very heavy on this lens and although most can be fixed in processing it is an annoyance. If you have only shot Nikon then this lens may be on your short list. I would say that it doesn't have quite the magic that the Canon has but it also doesn't have the price tag. I would recommend the Nikon 105mm F2 DFC over the 85 and I hope that Nikon updates this lens soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I could not be happier with this lens.

By Jerry from Frederick, MD on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I pirmarily shoot in studio portrait work with this lens and it is a pure joy. The resulting images are crisp and sharp with wonderful clarity. It has quickly become my "go-to" lens of choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A must have lens for portrait photographer.

By fotobynicholas from Manhattan, NY on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's worth every penny spent. Razor-sharp details and silky sweet bokeh.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens has great Bokeh

By Suri Photography from Los Altos CA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens with a very solid Build. The Bokeh is great. The biggest challenge I have with this lens is the focus on DSLr's. I have a D300 and D300S and I do not have Consistant sharp focus while I shoot low light photos during live performances. Also found that this lens needs Focus adjustment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The King of Perfect Bokeh

By Anvar RussianTexan from Houston, TX USA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No other lens can bit creamy bokeh generated by this lens. Extremely sharp and contrast up to 1.4 apperture. Build like a rock. This is one of my favorite lens for D700. Great job Nikon! I'm lucky user of this lens since Nov 2008.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent portrait lens

By ProPhoto from Halifax, NS Canada on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

best lens for portraits. has no distortion and the Bokeh is fantastic a must have lens...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Portrait Lens

By CarlC from Minnesota on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for portrait work with my family. It is without a doubt the best Nikon lens for portrait work. The number of blades for the diaphram makes for pleasing buttery bokeh in the out of focus areas. The focal length is very pleasing for portraits. Low light performance is great at 1.4 Very high quality lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb

By ShelleyF from Alberta, Canada on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my go to lens for portraits. It's just a gorgeous lens that produces gorgeous images every single time. It's tack sharp and the bokeh is the best around! I can't recommend this lens enough!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome portrait lens

By Cindy from Boston, MA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the most awesome lens for portraits. Beautiful bokeh around the face and sharp as can be. Worth the high price if you love to take portraits.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent sharp lens

By JDS from Undisclosed on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this for theater photography where the normal exposure for ISO 1000 is 1/25 and f/1.4. This lens is superb under these conditions- the images are sharp and excellent contrast. It's great for portraiture if you need to have complete control of depth of field.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

85mm f1.4D

By Hot Nikon from Undisclosed on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super lens, my close portrait lens, will do great 1/2 length, or couples very well. Robust build, very fast, perfectly proportioned for the D3 series bodies. Crisp, good color. You get what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

incredibly fast, sharp lens

By Binarysmart from Orwigsburg, PA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens to go with my new D300s and I couldn't be happier. Low light is never a problem. It's an extremely sharp lens that's perfect for portraits.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best portrait lens!

By slapshot from Pennsylvania on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Dont let the price keep you from buying this fantastic lens.The portrait shots are incredible.My wife loves the photos I take of our children with it, but I will never let her know how much it cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfection for Portraits

By bburzycki from Danville, California on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hands down my favorite lens for portrait work. Razor Sharp with incredible defocus... It will be said again and again but save your money for this lens, I did not buy two others to get this one and it was worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get it for Portraits, It is magical.

By Elie from Chicago, IL on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have thought long and hard about getting this, and I finally did. It is expensive (the 1.8 is 1/3 or the price). I am not a sharpness guy, and though the lens is very sharp, its portraits shots wide open are truly amazing. I am always shooting at 1.4-1.6 and I very pleased with the results. This is a classic pro lens. Negatives: I wish we could focus at closer distances. That would be a big plus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is very good for sports photos

By SIR JAY from Blackwood, NJ on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a product I would recomend for action shots and close ups of concert and sports events. Light weight and very versitile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cream of the Crop

By OldUncleMe from Atlanta on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wanted this lens for a long time to do portraits and other short tele- tasks on full frame. It is one of my favorite lenses now -- very sharp, outstanding color rendition and contrast, and the way it handles out of focus areas is very smooth and nice. I do recommend this lens, it's at the top of the chain for mid-tele super-fast primes, and with the autofocus feature, it wins over that other one that is not! I wish that Nikon would come out with a new version with VR-II, N coating, and update the Manual/Auto mechanism and focusing to AF-s! AFS lenses rule for convenience and interface in use, but optically you can hardly beat the current version and that is why this is such a venerable lens...meanwhile, I'm volunteering my services as a tester for the next version!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for indoor sports photography

By Texas Susan from Houston, TX on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is my mainstay for indoor sports photography, particularly volleyball and basketball. It gives you good reach and great shallow depth of field (bokeh) The f/1.4 comes in very handy when the gym lights are dim (the usual conditions), so that your shutter speed is fast enough to stop the action. Parents are surprised that I can capture action photos that they can't with their slow kit lenses. Just be aware that the more wide open (f/1.4-f/2.0) the lens, the smaller the focal plane, so you need to be right on with your focus. Your keeper rate might be low, but you will be able to get photos that others can't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens has great bokeh!!

By NikonShooter from Atlanta, GA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great for portraits. However, I find when shooting sports in low lighting situations, it doesn't focus very fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for Portraits

By Kip from Muncie, IN on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent for portrait photography. Great detail under many different lighting situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's all about the Bokeh

By NikonShooter from Ranshaw, PA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you want the most amazingly sharp lens with the best bokeh - look no further! I am hoping that Nikon comes out with a new G version of this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

creamy bokeh

By puakkui from indonesia on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this this lens because it's sharp with creamy bokeh..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved