Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL2140 » 41 Reviews

Brother International Hl2140 23ppm Laser Printer 1200x600 Dpi 2m Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 41 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By wojo1233 from Chicag0 on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer is several years old and still working well---Good Product!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase Ever

By Michelle from Undisclosed on 12/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this printer for less than a year, and it's already broken. Very poor design on the back door. It can't help but break over time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By cessnutts from Raymore, MO on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer for all use. My husband first bought one for his small business and never had any problems. Since my children are in high school and middle school now, I decided to get one for them and one for me. It's a great model for any use. Easy to use and easy to clear paper jams (they don't happen very often). The only thing bad that I have to say is that the toner is expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does nothing but jams

By Ethel from Undisclosed on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer jams for every third page, if not every page, no matter what quality paper you use. Unless you love paper jams, buy something else. I've never had such a frustrating printer. I won't be purchasing a Brother printer again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small Business Office Use

By YourBrother from Danville, Indiana on 07/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall - good value. The TN-330 standard toner does not last very long. Get some toner bleed - especially if you print double-sided.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By dpump from Greensboro, NC on 07/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only printed 40-50 pages so far, but I am very pleased with the quality. Installation and setup was very simple and everything has worked perfectly. I bought this unit to print financial statements to save using my inkjet printer and it has met my expectations. I would gladly purchase this product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A mixed bag

By OBrotherWhereArtThou from Pittsburgh, PA on 07/12/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the printer for use with my daughter's new laptop PC for college. I have a Brother HL-1440 that is at least 5 years old and is trouble free. All I have ever had to do is buy a couple new toner cartridges. The HL-2140 was inexpensive, but seems to be made that way, too. It jams frequently with good quality copy paper. Brother sent me a new toner cartridge, I guess because of some problem. I have not seen any other reviews mention the paper jam problem, so maybe I just have a lemon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By jfwino from Berwyn, PA on 07/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it all the time and it performs flawlessly. I print labels and the back side of pages through the direct feed slot. I've had my HL-2140 for 7 months and I'm very glad I switched from ink jet to laser. If you only need B&W this is an excellent machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great bang for the buck!

By STStudios from San Diego, CA on 07/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer for high speed printing purposes. It has not disappointed me in any way. The printer prints five pages for each one my old ink jet did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother HL-2140

By YellowJacket from Undisclosed on 07/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Compact size disguises a high quality and fast printer for a reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone for home or small office use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Value

By Kenneth from Winchester, Va on 07/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer is compact and performs well. It has some difficulty with the final page or so in the tray. When it runs out of paer, it tends to jam the final sheet. It printed on both sides with no problems. Well pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very well

By jackinthebox from honolulu on 07/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well worth the money. No problems. I would buy this printer again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Dot1 from Missouri on 07/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Brother laser printer has far exceeded my expectations. I have NO complaints!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little printer

By lauren from Undisclosed on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we were purchasing new printers for the office and this printer was a great price and we had never had problems with our other brother products. We ended up buying four and have never been happier. Rated this product a 4 because there is always room for improvement!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like it

By BrotherLove from Los Angeles on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was really happy with the following: FAST, great price for printer and per page, DUPLEXING is easy, even made a booklet which the printer handles proper page layout for. Took a while to figure out how, but happy with the results. I even used some strange, handmade paper with rough edges. Got jammed but quite simple to unjam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro: The printing and ...

By mountainlady from Colorado Springs, CO on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pro: The printing and price are great. Compact size works well for me. Con: The error light comes on frequently and it takes forever to figure out what is wrong. Sometimes nothing is wrong, the light just comes on. Putting in new paper is cumbersome, but that is offset by not having a paper tray sticking out to be bumped into, knocked off, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Dean from Colorado on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great little laser printer. It warms up quickly, is quiet while printing and the print quality is very good. It did use up the included toner quickly, so it will be interesting to see how long the new cartridge lasts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer for the money

By Eric from Undisclosed on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well worth the money. No problems. I would buy this printer again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very very pleased

By macdude from Quincy, Illinois on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this printer and first off the price was great, it is the quietest and quickest printer I have ever owned. I found a web site that has the toner for a great price as well, as far as I 'm concerned I will stick with the Brother name brand. Thank you for making a quality product in a time where the customer seems to be less important than company profits. It is obvious to this customer your company is not that way.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer for the money

By ganderson from Oregon on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer for the money, I really like it. It is fast and easy to use. The ink cartridges are reasonably priced and easy to get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely Satisfied

By LALADY from LA on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a small business owner, and I purchased the Brother HL-2140 a couple months ago. I have been completely satisfied. It was a great buy. It's fast and efficient, and I'm not constantly running out of ink!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Little Unit

By HalG from Washington, IA on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used a whole variety of Laser and inkjet printers in my day. This is a great little unit. Quick, with good quality at a very reasonable price on sale. My only frustration is the single sheet bypass. It is hard to get sheets in straight and the printing is often crooked on the page.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Far So Good

By jct9841 from Tennessee on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We were looking for an economical b&w printer to print labels with correct alignment. This replaces an HP Office ink jet that could not line up correctly. Strictly hit or miss. This printer lines up precisely when printing UPC labels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great

By KABQ from Albuquerque, NM on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased because my old 1440 was still going strong, but I suspected it might be a good idea to get a newer printer just due to the age. The 2140 works well and is quick and is more compact than the 1440. Great value for the price paid. Con: A bit noisy, but not much more than my other priters


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy with this machine

By SteveS from Walnut Creek, Calif. on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted to avoid buying all those color cartridges that dry up. The salesman said I should buy an extra laser cartridge as the one that comes with the machine wouldn't last long but he was wrong and I'm still using it months later. It is very fast and clean and I have had no trouble whatsoever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice!

By triplereed from Milwaukee, WI on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first laser printer. After getting sick and tired of buying expensive ink cartridges for my slow, poor quality, ink thirsty printer, I decided to buy this printer. It prints very nice quality and very fast. Ive had it over 6 months and no problems. I bought a toner refill kit for it but still haven't had to use it. Very Nice! Mike


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad choice

By scotch from Roseville, CA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoyed my HP 1012 laser for years, but when I purchased a new laptop at 64 bit, I could not use the HP. So, I bought my Brother HL 2140 and am one unhappy camper. It is a noisy machine when printing, the paper tray awkward to open and noisy AND one has to open it to introduce "scrap" paper (i.e. one side used) when just printing stuff for in house use. It is dirty - i.e. leave blotchs of "ink" at random spots in a document. Thus one has to "clean it" with that slider thing - that requires opening the printer to get at the wire cleaner - too often to not be a nuisance. The toner/drum combination turns out to be quite expensive compared to my HP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Ever

By Bosh from Niagara Falls on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my HL-2140 over a year ago. I love it. I get almost 3000 pages every time I add toner. Since I have bought it - I have probably printed over 6000 copies. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

true to form

By EncompassIFS from Orlando, FL on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had several Brother products over the years, and the Brother 2140 didn't dissappoint me. We moved our office to an outside office, and I needed an extra printer for home. You just can't beat this printer for cost, performance, and crisp, clean copies. Laser is the way to go, and this printer's a great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

useless warranty

By justplainbill from Houston, TX on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have 2 HL=2140 printers. Bought one Sept.'09 and liked it and bought one more Jan.'10. The Sept.'09 machine started putting vertical black streaks on the printed page in April '10. I called Brother Customer Service on May,1'10 and was stepped through troubleshooting and we diagnosed a bad drum causing the streaks. I was told that the DRUM is an accessory and the warranty is 90 days. NO warranty on the most expensive part in the printer. Everything in the printer other than the drum only exists to serve the DRUM which does the printing and Brother calls the DRUM the accessory. I think it is a corrupt way for Brother to abdicate their warranty obligation on this printer. Warrantys usually predict the quality of a product. Long strong warranty means a good product, short restricted warranty usually means a troublesome product. The warranty on the HL-2140 is useless. I have my fingers crossed every time I use my remaining HL-2140


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Laser Printer

By Gber from Strongsville, OH on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this printer to replace an old laser printer. The size of the printer fit well on our desk and quality of print is excellent. The price was very competitive, but overall, this was the best value. Very fast and excellent print copies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer but could use some improvement

By PackJac from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the price and quality of this printer, and I would certainly buy it again. However, the toner cartridge that comes with it signals an "out of ink" signal long before it is actually out of ink. And...the thing that really bugs me, is this printer seems to do duplex printing only from my MS Word program. I can't get it to print duplex the Acrobat Reader or Paperport. That's really inconvenient. It would be great if the directions told you how to set up the pages to be printed in those cases where the printer won't print duplex. It ain't simple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Yea Bro.

By Dadd from Visalia ca. on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fine working printer never missed a hitch since I have owned it. The print is clear and it last quite a while thanx. Dad


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Price-Toner hungry

By GoDolphins from Selah, WA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had it about a month, great price, easy set up, easy to use, simple operation, We use for swim team to print reports, labels for ribbons, meet results. I got a toner low warning today, suggesting I keep a replacement on hand. I don't think we have printed over 250 pages and already toner is getting low. I hope this bargain doesn't eat us out of house and pool with toner cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great speed and economic copies

By RickG from Pittsburgh, PA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a great printer combining speed and quality at a great price. I still have an ink jet printer from a rival company but only use it for color applications.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Money's worth and more

By Apostle55 from Alpharetta, GA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you want your Money's worth and more, buy this printer. I use one at work every day and when I needed a new printer for home, this was my first choice. Never had a paper jam after thousands of printed pages and prints faster than needed. Quality of print is very good. Holds several hundred sheets at once, so your down time is minimal. Toner cartridge lasts a long time too. Works right out of the box, uncomplicated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO GLAD I MADE THIS PURCHASE

By ROSIEGIRL from CANTON, OH on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

IF YOU WANT TO PRINT IN BLACK AND PRINT ALOT OF FORMS LIKE I DO THIS IS THE PRINTER.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best printer

By dolly from long island ny on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i love this printer we have it at my job and i saw first hand that it works well. i owned several printers before and this one works the best. the only thing i would change is that i should have gotten wireless. the cord is a pain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nnot a techno geek

By theoldguy from austin, tx. on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

was easy to set up and get goin'. was hard to find how to shut off printer when i accidentallly punched 10 copies of a 4 page document.... oh, well!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Dish from Undisclosed on 03/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for years along with 2 other brands that both stopped working a while ago while the 2140 keeps pushing. This printer is as reliable as it gets. I'll probably only buy brother from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer if you print just a single side

By jobal from Undisclosed on 02/18/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

its a great value no doubt and printer quality is exceptional.. but dont try to duplex manually it is going to jam i tried ma first time.. i got jammed and wasted a lot of time


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved