Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL2170W » 64 Reviews

Brother International Hl2170w Laser Printer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 64 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Wireless

By Motaspider from Palmdale on 11/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Horrible printEr I wish I never bought it. Doesn't do great wireless iTs he'll to set up. You will have to hire a thirds party tech and even them they had trouble with this printer,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By ALYSON from Undisclosed on 11/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this for a few years now. It is wonderful. I do agree with the "wireless network" complaints because it does fall off the network frequently. So if you really need wireless, find a newer model - they say the ones with internal wireless cards are better. HOWEVER, that said - this actually prints FAST and wonderfully. I have NEVER had a better black and white printer. It doesn't jam and is easy to refill the paper and toner. It also prints special items like envelopes and labels with ease. So just buy a cable and plug it directly into your pc, and forget that it has a wireless capability. You'll be glad you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst piece of machinery I have ever seen

By derek from Undisclosed on 08/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this is a piece of junk. First of all it only has one button, how could that ever be good? next, the network connecting is horrible. people will say it's easy if you just follow the setup. well i've followed the setup perfectly 435 times. it doesn't work. especially with new software. it's old and useless. brother did not think ahead when making this. nothing on it is up to date and has no way of getting that way. don't buy this, don't even buy another model. buy a different BRAND!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would love it if it didn't drop offline all the ti

By Skitt from Los Angeles, CA on 05/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If I didn't have a new toner cartridge waiting in the wings, I would be out shopping for a new wireless printer. This is a nice little workhorse laser printer, but it has dropped off my network several times for no good reason. Initial set up was okay, but resetting it involves changing IP addresses, etc. I've gone through this several times and it's such a monumental waste of an hour. When I need to print, I don't want to spend time resetting the network connection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You need to learn to read!!!

By Sandito from New Port Richey on 11/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If all you cry babies having a hard time setting up wireless would read and follow directions, the setup is simple as pie. I boughr a refurb and the toner ran out quickly. The new toner has lasted a long time and I am more than satisfied. Buy this product. It is inexpensive to run compared to the ink jets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORST printer EVER

By DissatisfiedCustomer from Undisclosed on 10/09/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been an IT manager for 25 years and used probably over 100 different printers. This is by far the worst printer ever. Not only is it pretty difficult to configure for anyone but once it is configured it drops off your network all the time and it has the worst settings possible. Trust me, DO NOT BUY IT, and spend your money somewhere else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great in Linux!

By Larry from Oklahoma City, OK on 09/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to use with Linux and I was not disappointed. Brother has awesome Linux support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer for the price

By Anonymous from middletown, ct on 09/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

print fast, reliable so far, great price for a wireless printer, good customer service


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy So Far!

By printingfool from Suburbs of Illinois on 09/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After I figured out my handwriting and typed the correct network password (63 Char), I was able to easily install the wireless function. Follow the instructions to the letter and you won't go wrong. Prints nice and so far, so good!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best little Laser printer I have ever owned

By Joel from Utah on 08/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned or used many printers for my business and personal use over the years. This little printer is a trouble-free workhorse. To find such a reliable network printer for such a modest price was quite a pleasant surprise. The operating cost is very low also. The wireless networking feature works flawlessly. Those who have reported problems with it must not be following the instructions carefully. I rarely take the time to write product reviews, but in this case I wanted to make an exception. This is one great little economical laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Network, No!

By gerdjo from Undisclosed on 07/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Prints great by usb. Worked one day as a network printer. Have reset to factory, uninstalled software and followed online troubleshoot at least ten times, printer won't show on network!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-2170W is a great value

By Kale from Fremotn, CA on 07/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned HP IIp, Lexmark, Brother HL-1240, Samsung, and now this Brother HL-2170w. I've been wanting network printing for some time now. When my Samsung needed a new toner cartridge and I saw this printer on special, I bought it. It is smaller, faster, quieter, and less expensive than the Samsung it replaced. I did not have to connect via USB, instead I went directly to a wired network connection to my home network. Driver install was smooth however printing did not work. A troubleshooting utility downloaded from the Brother website solved the problem. I had to load the drivers and run the troubleshooting utility on all my computers but now I can print from any of them including my wife's laptop when she is wirelessly connected to my home network. Brother should include the utility as part of the drivers or at least on the CD. Overall a very good product. I'm satisfied with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

hl-2170w

By chrchi from San Bernardino, CA on 07/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think that it's one of the best little printers there is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Set Up, A Little Plastic-y

By mikewb75 from Michigan on 07/07/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While the ease of set up was great, there are features on this printer that are not so much. Overall, the product feels cheaply made. I work in an office, and when I took it out of the box, my initial reaction was that it was only going to last a week. The evelope/manual feeder leaves a lot to be desired. If you print alot of envelopes or manually feed a lot, DO NOT BUY this printer. For the two major faults, this printer does print quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Speedy Printer

By talex5 from Fort Walton Beach, FL on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very fast printer which I'm very happy with. I went through the toner cartridge which came with the prnter very quickly. I'm hoping the replacement cartridge will last much longer. I'm using the "save toner" mode now and can certainly tell the difference in print quality. I switch back for important documents. Overall, I'm very satisfied; just wish it didn't use toner so quickly. The instructions for setting up wireless with my laptop were a bit unclear, but the customer sevice help number walked me through it very easily. I like the wireless printing from my other computers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By Mark75 from Minneapolis, MN on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I agree with all the positive reviews on here. However, after many months I still am unable to get the wireless function to work. Downloaded the online instructions and nothing happens, so it's still hardwired to my laptop. Have two other computers on my net that are unable to use the printer directly. The instructions are hard for me to follow, but I see they aren't difficult for many. Still it's an outstanding printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Marion from Los Angeles, CA on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product, great price with great performance. It comes handy when printing from our lap tops around the house. Prints good copies. I just bought another Brother printer (MFC9120CN) because I am very happy with this product and customer service. Easy to set-up too. Got it running in minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible bargain

By dabongady from Iowa on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the easiest wireless setup ever! After 11 months, it has never had even one error. We use it with a desktop and a laptop. The starter toner didn't last long, but the TN-360 cartridge (rated at 2,600 pages) just seems to last forever even though we do not use the toner saver setting. I'd guess this machine has easily paid for itself compared to what we pay for ink cartridges on our inkjet printer. And if the paper gets spilled on you won't get smeared ink. Much faster and quieter than our old Hewlett-Packard 4L.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works OK

By dhunter from Waco, TX on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like the size and speed of the printer, but it has problems anytime I print on 2 sides. Toner always messes up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good choice

By JayneinJax from Jackonville, FL on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for a few months and it is serving me well. It is economical and easy to set up and use. It is not as versatile as some other printers and all-in-one's but all in all a good solid machine. If I had to do over, I would step up to the one with automatic two-sided printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wireless doesn't work

By harryh from Carmel, CA on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After spending two one hour sessions with tech support, my printer will not operate wirelessly on my network. My Canon works perfectly. The second tier tech told me the firmware in my router needed upgrading. I upgraded, still no wireless. The printer operates satisfactorily on USB connection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good product from an exceptional company

By Albert from Appleton, WI on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The original ink cartridge was short on ink and was replaced by Brother automatically as they shipped another cartridge direct to my address after simply leaving a phone message, on my phone of their intent. I use this printer in wireless mode for 1 desktop and 2 laptops. One laptop with XP, the desktop has Win-7 pro, and the other laptop has Win -7 Premium. Brother helped me with the first wireless set-up to the desktop but I had a wireless communication drop out after rebooting the computers. After downloading the procedure documentation from Brother I was able to make a proper settings to prevent that from happening again. All printer functionality has been rock solid since. It works great with other printers too. I had a Konica/Minolta that seemed to corrupt other printer drivers installed on the same drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this printer again

By Marty from St. Louis, MO on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a person of very few words. 2170W was a great value for a wireless printer. Easy to set up and works flawlessly. Accepts legal, letter and envelopes quite handily. I would highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-2170W

By KENNETHfortmyersfl from Undisclosed on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I tried following the instructions to set the printer up on my home wirless network, but couldn't get it to work. I called customer service and they were very friendly and helpful. It's been running fine now since January 25, 10 and I'm still using the original cartridge. Printing has been flawless and my new apple connected to it with no problem. So far I love it and more importantly my WIFE loves it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL-2170W

By mkebikecop from Southeast Wisconsin on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good printer, this was a replacement for my HL-2140 that fell off the shelf. Prints very good for a low cost printer. The only problem I find with it is the wireless setup. After two hours of trying I had to call in an expert to set it up for me. It took him almost three hours to set it up and get it working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Home Office Use

By Notechie from Portland, OR on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quick responsive machine that makes excellent copies. I had to get help from Brother Technical Support, which was excellent, to get the wireless working. Since then it hums!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy. . . mostly

By alt5 from South Florida on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love how compact and light this printer is, it's not bulky or cumbersome at all! But, it is the second brother I've had, the first was the MFC7420 all in one, and I am NOT happy with how many of the parts are cheaply and thinly made. Within a month of buying my MFC a small part on the front door of the printer had broken. It wasn't a major part and didn't affect the function of the printer but it was a small piece that held the door in it's track so if I didn't align the door just right, I couldn't get it closed again and get the printer going again. Within 6 months another part had broken off of the MFC where the release is to take out the printer cartridge. Luckily i was able to rig it so I was still able to get out the cartridge but another piece breaking - ridiculous. Within the next year another piece had broken on the top of the printer where you feed in sheets to be copied. Again I was able to rig it so I could still use the machine. I am not rough on my equipment and I thought maybe I had just gotten a lemon of a printer in the way the hardware was made, but it was such a good darn printer otherwise that I didn't want to give it up. When I realized I had to give it up to get a wireless, I looked at the brother again because the price was unbelievable for what it was offering. And since I thought I had just gotten a lemon, I bought this one. The first thing I noticed was how flimsy the hardware of this one is made as well! So immediately I began opening and closing everything even more delicately than I did my first. I then set it up and printed and man, it is an excellent printer! The only thing I didn't realize at first was that my router and wireless connection has to be on to print. Since I don't keep my router on all the time, this was a minor hassle. But most people probably keep their router on 24/7, so it's not a big deal to you. So mostly I am extremely happy with this printer, I would buy another one but I treat it now as if it's made out of eggshells because it feels that way and if you don't, parts will start breaking off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Stella from Undisclosed on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm very happy with my HL-2170 and unlike one of the reviewers mine has only jammed once and given that I re-use paper a lot this is amazing. My old, very reliable HP laser jammed all the time. This one is very fast, takes little space, was easy to set up (I haven't tried wireless) and I'm no techy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice little laser for home use.

By GaryUnitarian from Bradenton Florida on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a minor issue hooking up the HL 2170 W. ( I had pluged the USB cable into the ethernet jack), but 10 minutes with Brother tech support fixed that. After using an ink jet, it's great to be able to print things so FAST. Most of my print jobs are text so there is no need to waste ink on them. Toner is much cheaper. Loading paper and toner could not be easier. I have not replaced the drum yet, so I can't comment on that. I realy like this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Islander from New York on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy setup, works great, once it goes into sleep move..after a few minutes pf printing its absolutely quiet. A must if you have a laptop!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Printer

By roughneck from Jonesboro, AR on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is fast and very easy to use. Hook it up to a router or just go wireless. It works great on Windows 7 and will save you a lot of money in the long run compared to using inkjet. I highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice Printer...

By Spanky from Westminster, Ca. on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best printer I have ever owned hands down! It fast and prints awesome... Very nice best money I've ever spent and my daughter can print from her laptop from anyplace in the house... Awesome Product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best live customer service,would buy more brother

By jason from Tucson, AZ on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

customer phone support better than excellent. The live customer service makes this product shine as well as a great product. Use to buy HP, sorry I am a brother customer now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By General from Tucson AZ on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After years of purchasing ** printers and paying exhorbitant prices for toner, I took what I thought at the time was a gamble and bought this printer. WOW! I could set this printer in the garage and it would print flawlessly. And the toner is half the price of the other brand. I would unequivically buy another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer - w/one drawback

By weinold from Los Angeles on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

and the drawback is that once you've installed the wireless printer driver, I would have to re-install it with frequent intervals as it "loses" its connection to my computers. (Mac)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer

By unicron from Cincinnati on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my girlfriend use to own a lazer before.. they're faster then ink jet, got ours at best buy i do recommend a brother


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By bconnorc from Michigan on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Last laser finally left after many hours of work (5 years). I use it all the time and is very good for a black and white. This was cost effective and not bad on the cartridges. I am working away on it and so far so good. Had it a little over a month.... Good purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK

By iggal from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Noisy. Jams easily. Flimsy. Relatively inexpensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard to set up for wireless

By Knotageek from Massachusetts on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Prints well if you can get it hooked up. Bought the HL-2170 to replace reliable HL-2040 that died of age or got worn out from heavy use. The "wireless" feature attracted me to this machine. But, not being a geek, have been totaly unable to hook it up wired to server or as wireless. It's working very well on a hard wire connection to one computer, but without better instruction than is available from Brother, I may have wasted money for the wireless feautre, unless a geek friend can wade through and get it working. But it shouldn't be made that hard to set up!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fast, inexpensive, excellent printer

By BowelBoy from Northeastern Iowa on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been looking for an inexpensive printer to use with my wireless network for years, and the 2170W is it. Even when it's in sleep mode, it takes only a few seconds to wake up, and printing even a complex page takes only a few more seconds. My only minor quibble is that it doesn't have Postscript, but the quality is still excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By jclark from Brawley, Ca. on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent printer...the toner is reasonable and it is very quiet while printing. I have not used the wireless feature yet but will.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First wireless printer purchase

By Redsox04 from Boston on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my first wireless printer purchase. With three people using different laptops it became important for everyone to have access to a printer. This printer set up easily and has worked without a hitch. Be sure to use a cable during setup. It makes set up a breeze.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not that great

By Anonymous from San Luis Rey, CA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spent three hours with the manual and software but was unable to connect this wireless printer to my network (a simple home 802.11g). Finally gave up and use the USB connection; not what I wanted since it now sits on my desk instead of in the other room. This unit replaced a Brother non-network printer which would cause my computer to crash if my wife's computer and mine were both on when the printer started up. This one is slightly better, only causing the UPS to kick in. Why Brother printers have such high surge start up electrical usage I haven't figured out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine Wireless B&W Laser Printer

By Walter from Wisconsin on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this as my main printer at home. The wireless connection works flawlessly. Speed and print quality are fine. Cost of toner replacement cartridges is reasonable. I also use the 2140 (similar, but not wireless) at a store I help at. It has also performed well. I recommend the 2170W, if you want the wireless feature, or the 2140 if you don't. Wireless gives you more placement options.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works good

By donald from iowa on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like it and have had minimal problems. I had planned to use the Ethernet and wireless access simultaneously but found that cannot be done. NO problem. I love it anyway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

On the go!

By LouisvilleMLSPro from Louisville, KY on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am in real estate and travel between my home and my office. I have printers at both locations. My office is hardwired and is a HL-2170 and the one at home is a HL-2170W. The ease of reconnect through the wireless at home is fantastic. Just choose the printer and print. Cartridges last a long time and when I am printing out lots of home comps it works great. I would rank it higher than my other printers due to it staying up to date with technology rather than other brands that make ones with planned obsolescence.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quite, fast, inexpensive

By Rick from St Paul, MN on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought the 2170W to replace an HP 6180 Photosmart printer. The 2170 was inexpensive to buy and has proven inexpensive to operate. We don't avoid printing when we need to now. We still use the 6180 for color and scanning, but the 2170 is our printing workhorse. In one year the savings in ink will pay for the 2170. If black and white printing is much of your printing workload, consider this printer as a way to save money and increase the overall printing experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good - but no cigars

By MedMan from MO on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer works good as promised - quality of the documents is adequate - and speed is good. But, it is a noisy unit - much more so than my old Hewlett-Packard 4L. It certainly did not come with much toner in the "Starter" cartridge however. Also the wireless function is flawed. Never did get it to function with my home network. Only works when directly wired. I even had a computer "Whiz" try without success. This is certainly disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Very Useful Printer

By Samuel from Salt Lake City Freakin' Utah on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this printer because we were looking for a printer that would connect to a home wireless network and would let us print from any computer we own. The other two printers on our network are connected to our desktop PCs, which have to be on to print. The printer has worked great for us. It was easy to install and easy to connect with our wireless network - even though we are running an older Linksys wireless router. The router is in an upstairs bedroom and the printer is in the downstairs family room, and we are always able to get good reception. I especially like that the printer is black and white, since most of what we print is black and white from our laptops, and we don't have to deal with the expense and hassle of multiple toner cartridges. Also, since it is a laser printer, we don't deal with expensive inkjet cartridges. All in all, we are very happy with our purchase


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad, but...

By WHwriter from Los Angeles on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer under protest, as my HP 1012 (bought six years ago and still on its original cartridge) was perfectly good, but because HP wouldn't provide a driver to Windows 7 (when I bought a new computer) I was forced to get another laser printer. This Brother is fine, and, since I had to buy it, at least it is 50% faster than the other at 23 ppm, instead of 15, but 15 would have been fast enough. Anyway, my main beef is when you have to print envelopes. It was difficult to figure out how to do so, as my HP had a readily available slot quite apparent and would take the envelope and print it based upon the commands I gave from my MS Word Tool/Envelopes option. In other words, after I printed my document, I merely had to choose Tools and Envelope Options, which already had the size of my envelope, choose print and it would work. With the Brother, first there were no instructions in the quick install guide that came with the printer. I had to download a huge PDF manual, but even that's okay. And I learned about opening the back end of the printer, which is where the envelope would come out. Even that's okay. However, the bad news is that you have to go into your driver each time and change the kind of thing you want to print. In other words, it's normally set on normal paper, and if you want to do an envelope you have to tell the driver each time that you want to change it to legal envelope or whatever it is you're printing. Then, you have to remember to go back and change it to normal paper size, etc. etc. This is a pain and adds extra steps, when, had the machine been better designed, the envelope size would have taken its cue from the information in the MS Word program, as was the case with the HP printer. I still hate the fact that I had to buy a new printer when my first was still on its original toner cartridge and was working fine. For that I blame manufacturers and Microsoft, who are working hand in hand to ensure built-in obsolescence (imagine having to buy a new DVD or VCR every time you bought a new TV, because the TV couldn't recognize the DVD/VCR input information). But the fact that I have to go through these extra steps just to print an envelope or anything other than the default paper size is a major inconvenience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very capable printer

By stlpicman from St. Louis, MO on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having owned the printer for a month, I am very satisfied with the purchase. I replaced an HP ink jet unit which was costing me significant dollars in ink costs when only using it for printouts that could be black on white only. The printer was easy to install as a wired unit on my LAN. Did not attempt to connect wireless as was unnecessary. I was a little perturbed with the retail sales person telling me that I had to buy the USB cable to install, which is NOT true if connecting via hardwired to the LAN. The print quality is superb in both text and graphics mode, very clean, clear, and sharp. Great printer for the price. I'm hoping that the toner does not dry out like ink on ink jets when not used for long periods of non-use. Installation on my laptops was a breeze. I have used other models of Brother printers in business environments and have always been very satisfied with the results, thus the reason for this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laser printer

By Photo1 from Florida on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A small, lightweight laser printer that is a real workhorse. Fast, easy to use and very reliable on the network. Very cost effective.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Piece of Junk!

By notforme from KY on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought it cheap and used it for a few months. Then I tried to print an envelope - Can't be done!!!! Now the thing won't work saying the corona wire need cleaning - Cleaned it a least 25 times according to the instructions, but it still won't work. Bought another inkjet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW! Best deal EVER!

By LIttleFultie from San Antonio, TX on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found this printer at Office Max and had to have it. I am 100% satisfied. This printer is energy star and heats up to print within a couple of seconds. And the price per page cost is better than any other comparable laser printer. I researched and shopped for weeks, and this is well worth the effort. I love this machine. I set this printer up and was connected wirelessly within a few minutes. Everything that I expected and more and so easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sister-in-law loves it

By KRS03 from Van, B.C. on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this for apt. dweller who needs the office space and puts the printer in the spare room close by. Set up was a bit time consuming because I had tried to do it at another location first. Best to use the cable to set it up, then move the unit for wireless operation when it's up and running. Works flawlessly (must remember to turn it on!) and quality of prints is perfect. Remember it isn't really for printing your photo collection - it's a workhorse for B&W text-based printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By TROYDC from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer primarily for my real estate business. I use it in my home office and it has worked great. The best feature is the wireless capability. I can be on the other side of the house researching, editing, writing contracts and then print them. It's a great printer and would recommend it for any small business or home use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Compt from MI on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am more than impressed with the Brother 2170W. It is small, very efficient, and excellent print quality. When needing to print Laser, a black and white printer the size and quality of this printer is a great find. Very happy with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dependable and economical

By mrsC from Atlanta GA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer will not fail you. The cartridge seems to last forever. I use it cabled to my desk top PC and also wirelessly with my lap top. Crisp and clear; I only use my ink jet for photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible drivers and firmware

By qasdzxc from Undisclosed on 05/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Horrible, horrible programming and setup. I am very experienced with computers and even after reading reviews complaining about the difficulty of the setup and the problems that occur down the road, I still thought I could put my computer skills to good use and fix any problems that may occur. I was completely wrong. One would think the mere act of pulling out the drum unit, replacing the toner or even cleaning the corona wire after a notification that it is dirty would be a simple process, but many times it would take HOURS to get the computer or the printer to realize that the drum unit was clean or that the toner was full. Hours of troubleshooting later I would figure out a way to force the printer through some sort of bypass that I would have to create to make the printer ignore the notifications it was giving itself. It got to the point where I would get extremely angered over a paper jam, because sometimes it would take hours after I had fixed the paper jam for the printer to realize the jam was fixed. This is not a problem with my printer, this is a fundamental and foundational problem with their drivers and firmware installed on the printer and I know that a new printer won't fix any of this, so thank you Brother for taking the 300$ spent on this printer and the toner and drums with it, and days of frustrated attempts to fix this plastic piece of junk!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Daniel from Utah on 04/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer ! It has save me so much money on cartridges, it has paid for itself many times over. Great network Printer runs over router or wireless


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By barbara from houston on 04/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast, simply and so reliable. I love it. i would recommend this printer to anyone who does not need color. It is very effiient and prints for a very long time on one cartridge of ink. Very economical


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By GiveM from West Tennessee on 03/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my 15 year-old LaserJet finally gave it up, I debated whether to buy another laser printer. But this printer cost barely more than a cartridge for the old LJ or a set of cartridges for my inkjet (granted it comes with only a starter toner cartridge). So you don't have to do much B&W printing to justify it, even if you have an inkjet for color printing. I've only printed about 50 pages, but it prints clearly, prints the first page quickly, and has fed reliably. It was easy to set up with Windows XP on my wired network (have to use the CD). Haven't tried the wireless, but works with my laptop through the wireless router. 90# card stock feeds through the manual feed slot, but since this printer does not have a rear exit like my old LJ, the printed output was a little curved. This appears to be an excellent B&W printer for home/small office use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Wireless B&W Laser Printer, I love it

By asaone from Port Richey, FL on 03/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I looked at other printers in this class, but no one and I mean no one came close to the specs and price. I use it everyday. The clarity on the Black and White output is stunning. I have 4 ink jet printers and I use the Brother HL-2170W now and save a lot of money on ink. The toner last and last I don't have to worry about running out of ink in the middle of something like on my ink jet printers. The quality and price of the HL-2170W is worth twice t the price I paid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Print from Anywhere

By CDog from Austin, TX on 02/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the perfect printer - great quality output, easy to use and VERY easy to install. Within minutes of taking it out of the box I was printing from the Windows desktop in the study, the Macbook in the kitchen and my Windows notebook from work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved