Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL4070CDW » 21 Reviews

Brother International Hl4070cdw Color Laser Printer W/duplexer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

76% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very Disappointing

By HSComputerMan from Hot Springs, AR on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this for doing church bulletins along with an iMac 21.7"...thought it would be great with postscript or what Brother calls its BR_SCRIPT. I have sold computers at my computer store for years and have NEVER had as much of a problem setting up either the wireless or wired (tried it both ways) printer in my entire career which spans 20 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stick with black only unless you really need color

By gene522 from Chester, New Jersey on 09/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer works well and prints color nicely (though a tad slowly), but unless you really need laser color, stick with black only printers. The cost of replacing color cartridges (which do not last all that long) is more than half the cost of the printer, making this a very uneconomical printer for those who do primarily black only printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second Brother laser printer for me

By MrScott from Undisclosed on 09/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 2nd Brother laser printer for me. The first was just a b&w laser printer. After owning that till it died from use, I had to invest in the color version. One of the selling points for me was the automatic duplex printing. I can see having a printer without it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Setup

By sally from Florida on 07/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first laser and first Brothers printer I've owned. Why did I wait so long! It was easy to set up, prints sharp clear fonts and hasn't let me down yet. My previous printer, the HP 8600 Officejet Pro is full of software glitches and their online support does not support Mac users. I would definitely recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Color Laser Printer for the Price

By warobert from Queens, NY on 05/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice color laser printer that will not break the bank. The colors are nice when you tweak the settings a little. The wireless was a added plus since I put the printer in my basement while my B&W laser printer was upstairs. The replacement cartridge was a definite buy or not decision for me. The only CON, this printer is faily long. You will need some space for it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy discount cartridges

By Dave from Dallas, TX on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I regret buying discount cartridges in order to avoid the high price of the cartridges ordered directly from Brother. Now my color printing has blotches on the left side of the paper. The cartridge store vacuumed excess toner which had accumulated in the printer, and then made a comment which made me realize they were ignorant of the way the laser printers work. They wanted to know what happened to the 'extra' toner on the belt, because of course it could not be used for every image. Do not let this happen to you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MACHINE PERFORMED GREAT - TECH SUPPORT IS TERRIBLE

By MurphDaSurf from Summerville, SC on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought the price was fantastic. I thought the images and performance was fantastic. The support is terrible. But there is more to a product than price and performance. What backs up price and performance? This unit was recently purchased and is still under full factory warranty. I had a power outage and even though the machine was connected to a surge protector (surge wasn't the problem, someone hit a power pole and knocked to power clean out for just under two hours), something is wrong with the machine and tech support calls when I'm not home, despite telling them no to call until after 6:00 p.m. EST. This is out church's only printer and we're down down. Now the weekend has come and gone and we're still down. Tech support needs to take the needs of their customers a bit more seriously!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By dano1377 from Fort Collins, CO on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this machine for a couple of years now and it has been very reliable for me. The cost of toner is much less than the ink jet printer I had before. I also use the duplex feature often to save on paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific Printer

By BubbleJoe from Carlsbad, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife sends out Christmas calendars with her watercolors featured to our friends every year. I had used a good Epson ink-jet for years, but I always wanted to try a laser, primarily for avoiding constant buying of ink cartridges. I bought the 4070 CDW and could not be happier. The colors are vibrant and the machine prints faster than I expected. I've yet to have any clogs. I had a little trouble setting the wireless feature for my wife's laptop but I called the tech people. I didn't wait more than a minute on hold and they walked me through the setup in about five minutes. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic wireless color printer

By Anonymous from Fairfield, CT on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer about 6 months ago and it has not dissapointed me. The wireless printer allows me to print even from the most remote areas of my house. When printing the two sided (dulpex) printing saves me paper and makes my presentations professional. The printer is fast and has outstanding color. I would recommend this to everyone and intend on purchasing one for my at work office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my printer

By auntdoe from Shepherdsville, KY on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this printer, the wireless feature very easy to set up and the directions were easy to follow. Color quality is good, printer meets all of my needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By jcor from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a pretty good and reliable printer. What I don't like is that once a cartridge is low on ink it stops working completely until you replace that cartridge. Other printers you can continue to use even if one cartridge is low.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wasted money!

By salvus from Sunnyvale, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Because it worked just fine for the first 7 months and then I could never get it to work again. The problem is that it would not connect wireless no matter what I do. When it was working it was the best printer I ever had, but when it can't be connected wirelessly it is completely worthless to me. Even when I called Brother for help I could not get it to work. I feel I have wasted my money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Brother

By ChildofYah from NC USA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have purchased two of this model. I find it very easy to use and the quality of output is excellent. I print large quantities of tracts and studies supplying requests from around the world and find the print stands up the rigors of the handling. Images are sharp and crisp and color is good. I have tried several compatible toner cartridges and have not found one that is acceptable. My recommendation is only use OEM cartridges. I would like to see improvement in the life of various internal components, including toner cartridges. It is tedious to open the end of the cartridges and reset the springed cog to extend the print life of the cartridge. I have found that I get sometimes hundreds more copies from a cartridge by resetting this cog. I would like to see a more efficient delivery of the toner in the process. As with all printers, it seems that the machine is low cost and the expendables are high cost. When printing quanities near the usage guidelines, most of the components inside the machine will be replaced frequently.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Color Printer

By Oldman from Atlanta, GA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a fantastic color printer. Pictures come out great. Very easy to change the toner cartages. The cost of the color cartages is a little costly, might be better to just buy a new printer. I recommed this printer and would buy it again. The duplex printing is easy and saves paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my new Brother HL 4070CDW

By Trekerbob from Philadelphia,PA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my Brother HL 4070CDW printer in March. it had problem with its motherboard on arrival. Brother immediately addressed the problem and sent a repairman to my home. the printer works wonderfully on my wireless home network and has great print quality. I am very happy with the purchase. This printer replaced my Brother 4000CN that has given us six years of great service and is now our backup printer. I would recommend Brother products to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By CarolCCC from Central New Jersey on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to replace another color laser printer and there is NO comparison. This printer was a breeze to set up wirelessly, and it works like a charm on my network, printing all my documents (with and without graphics) perfectly. I would recommend it to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my printer!

By marcy from Normal, IL on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is exactly what I wanted! I can print 2-sided in color (& B&W, of course). I can reprint documents right from the printer (the quantity I select). I can print on cardstock without the toner smudging (my last more expensive and less-featured HP laser was horrible for printing on cardstock, + it aso didn't have the 2 features mentioned above). Color printing is not photo quality but it is just fine for my needs (flyers, newsletters, etc.) The start up time for the first document while it is in sleep mode is a bit slow but I'm already used to that. There are many more features that I haven't even used (like the USB port).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By howie66not from Seattle,WA on 04/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my printer for about a year. I print thousands of pages a year for my business. THis printer has been flawless for me. Sometimes slow to wake up but otherwise an excellent printer. Not good for photos, but great for clip art and low resolution docs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer hard to get use to

By witnesssecurity from tulsa ok on 03/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

when i first bought this printer i it was going to print flyers so i tryed to print a regular flyer and i could on regular paper when i tried to print on thicker paper or on envlopes it took me a while to figure it out but once i had it ti has been the best printer ever


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By TDHALL from Dallas TexaS on 02/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read all of the reviews and looked at all of the competition, and decided on the HL-4070CDW. The deciding factor was the cost of the supplies. Look at the price of toner before deciding which printer to buy, otherwise you may get a unpleasant surprise. You can set the printer to conserve toner and the output doesn't seem to suffer for doing so. The output is excellent and the printer is quick except when duplexing. I am happy with my selection Many of the reviews complained about the paper not being flat after printing-not a problem for me, the output of my printer is almost perfectly flat after the paper cools from printing. Some complained about noise-it isn't silent, but it isn't objectionable. I upgraded the memory, but I can't tell a difference with the type of printing I am doing. I wouldn't do it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved