Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » HL5470DWT » 21 Reviews

Brother HL-5470DWT Laser Printer - Monochrome - 1200 x 1200 dpi Print - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - 40 ppm Mono Print - 800 sheets Input - Automatic Duplex Print - LCD - Ethernet - Wi-Fi - USB Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Aewsome

By ilvgolf2004 from The Villages, FL on 09/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is absolutely the BEST I have ever had - and I have had a lot of them. It is fast and the dual trays is exactly what I needed and it works perfectly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By KLAsPrinter from California on 06/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer was purchased to replace an HP Printer. I bought it due to the price. Well worth it. My ONLY issue with it is the communication between it and my MS Word Program when trying to print envelopes and individual 3"x5" labels. I got around it by adjusting the margins on 11"x8-1/2" paper. I would absolutely suggest this printer to my associates.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By BELL from Undisclosed on 06/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Product. I fully recommend it for work or personal use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another workhorse printer

By Notaries2U from Red Bluff, CA on 06/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently I had to replace my existing Brother printer and, after researching what's currently on the market, I selected the Brother HL-5470DWT. This model comes with the second paper tray, which in my business as a professional notary public, is invaluable. I expect this Brother printer to run as well and last as long as the one I just replaced, which lasted for 10 years and only needed to be serviced three times. It's my experience that Brother produces a great - and reliable - product. Brother is always my first choice!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pretty good printer

By OfficeManager32141 from Edgewater, FL on 05/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a pretty good copier. I've had Brother laser scanners before and this one has them beat. The only problem I had when I took it out of the box was a wide black stripe on the left side of the paper. I had to download the manual and read it to find out how to get rid of it. Troubleshooting online didn't find an answer for me and that was frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT compatible -Adobe mixed-page printing with Mac

By mobilenotaryOR from Portland, OR on 05/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you need to print mixed page PDFs and have a MAC, Brother CUPS driver is NOT compatible. The software forces you to choose letter or legal but does not have an option for auto. I have a 2011 MacBook Air and updated both my operating system to Yosemite and have the latest version of Adobe Reader. The "Mac" technical assistance team at Brother are trained for basic level assistance but kept pawning off the problem on Apple and Adobe. My friend has a 2013 MacAir and has a Samsung printer that prints PDF mixed pages documents. My big problem with Brother is that they did not want to admit it's not compatible and/or she made a wrong assumption and didn't admit it was an assumption. It's a good printer and works great with Windows software but Mac users beware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loving my new printer!

By Squiddle from Undisclosed on 04/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased my new printer about 2 weeks ago. I print a large volume of mixed legal and letter size documents for my job and this printer performs beautifully! I needed help getting it set up and called the support line and they walked me through what I needed to do step by step. I would highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too complicated

By DualPrinter from CA on 04/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Could not get tray 2 to work. Spent many hours trying to make it work


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast!!!

By cjpanda from Huntington Beach, CA on 06/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We replaced another Brother machine, the HL 5240. We use it as a shipping label/manifest production machine ... so we have frequent use. We're already noticing quite a difference in speed as well as the quality of print. The only issue we had was it took a bit longer than I hoped to get it setup. We bought the double tray version and the 2nd tray wasn't being recognized immediately and all the literature told us to look up the special manual for tray 2? But there wasn't one that came with it and we couldn't find anything online either. So, after much diggin' through the properties, we figured out where to change the settings and voila! Tray 2 is being used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!

By Rose from san antonio, texas on 06/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set up was easy, second tray instructions needed to be included, had to dig thru website to find them. But once I got going, it printed Legal and Letter right off the Pdf. It worked perfectly! Excellent for mobile notary business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Suprised

By HealthTech from Kentucky on 06/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used brother for many years, suprised they let this model through with a fuser manufactoring defect, Failed on some of my models just out of warrenty, Brother is fixing them for free but still have a out of service machine while its being fixed. Fuser fails about 1/2 life, sometimes sooner. Other that this issue, they are great machines, easy to set up and consumbles are priced fair. BUT, Probably wait until the initial supply of this model and others using the affected Fuser have be depleted, there is still many out there. Model is made in Vietnam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HL5470 High Hopes - Duplex worthless

By ExperiencedPro from USA on 07/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Upgraded from a HL5370DW to get faster speed and bigger paper trays AND SPECIFIC to do duplex. The H:5470DWT developed paper streaks on the left after around 2000 pages. At that point it also started randomly creasing pages on duplex which made the output useless. Put the paper on "thin" but this didn't help. Ran ok on "one sided" only but the duplex unit is a reall bummer. Seems to be ok for 10 pages or less. It looks like the duplex rollers don't uniformly grip when they gget warm from the hot components and slip. The toner cartridge signalled "empty" while there was still good print quality which means that I am not getting full value from the cartridge. The 5370 allowed you to keep going until the ink started getting thin.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fantastic decission to purchase this HL-5470DWT

By opaul from Florida on 05/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Five minutes out of the box and the HL-5470DWT was up and running. This is the fastest laser printer we have ever used. It is quiet when running and takes up hardly any space. We like this machine!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Once I got It Set Up

By Blusiamese from Greensboro, NC on 05/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is super but it was a pain in the butt getting it to connect wirelessly. I could never get my laptop to recognize that the USB cable was connected (recommended that you connect it this way until it's all configured). After working with it and completely deleting and re-installing the printer driver several times, I finally got it up and running. However, I don't really know what I did differently that fixed the issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer ever

By peacockallee from Ryderwood Washington on 05/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is everything that Brother said it was including being everything that I need for my business. It does the job and everything I ask it to do. I recommend this for people requiring a fast and accurate print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast setup and great print speeds

By ABurch from Missouri on 05/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine really looks great: it's very sleek and has a small footprint (critical in this instance). Installing the 5470 as a network printer was quick and fairly simple (the interface is slow to work, but that's a given when there's limited space for the display and keys). The print speed is also excellent, and though I haven't timed to verify 40ppm, the users in that office are impressed with the 5470's performance so far. The only real fault I noted (-1 star) was the flimsy plastic used for both paper trays - I will not be surprised if one or both break in the future, as the materials used seemed light and very brittle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sweet printer

By LittleDNeb from Aneta, ND on 04/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my new printer. I just ordered the same thing but color, so I will have both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By luis1802 from Laredo, Texas on 04/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In my line of business, I use the dual tray printers. The best and most dependable printers have been Brother printers. This is my fourth dual tray printer and I am extremely satisfied with the performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer!

By lizards718 from Maryland on 01/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer is everything that Brother says it is! Even works great for envelope printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I replaced a HP printer

By CharlieB from Guthrie, OK on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a dual tray printer. With the Brother I got so much more with the wireless capabilities including the ability to print from my Apple devices like IPhone IPad and my Mac. It was real easy to set up on my Mac and PC. I like the speed and the expected economy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Goldmine375 from Boulder Creek, CA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wow! This printer really delivers! I will be buying from Brother again because they make great products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved