Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC6490CW » 60 Reviews

Brother International Mfc-6490cw Color Inkjet All-in-one (mfc6490cw) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 60 reviews)

83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Terrible

By puppy from Maine on 06/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased for a 2 person office. Would not recommend it. Jams all the time, goes to sleep all the time, loses wireless connection (when other printers do not), does not do envelopes without jamming, leaves lines on copies, takes forever to cancel a print job, VERY TEMPERMENTAL!! I am very frustrated with it and often resort to using my old printer. Definately the worst printer we've owned!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor print and scan quality.

By Pdmiller from Denver, CO on 05/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The 11" x 17" format is convenient, but the quality of prints and scans is poor. Print colors are dull and lines are not sharp. Scans are streaked like a circus tent. Doesn't come close to the quality of my other printers. Everything else seems fine. For me, it was a total waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Quite Good Enough

By Ghostman from Englewood, CO on 04/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We struggle with the machine picking up more than one piece of paper at a time. In making two sided copies, this creates a HUGE problem. Not only does it not perform correctly, it destroys all of the preceeding work because of messing up the order. It may be easy to use, but it doesn't make up for having to reuse it time after time, hoping it will get it right. In my opintion, this machine is just not quite good enough to recommend to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Constant hassle

By Nickname from Undisclosed on 03/16/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is very fussy. It's very slow, takes forever to cancel a document, and there's always something to fiddle with when I need to print. It tells you it's low on ink when it's really not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Excellent Machine!

By LinuxMan from New York, NY on 10/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was so satisfied with the results I got with an MFC6890CDW I purchased that I went and got this one for Home use to set it up on a mixed interface network with different Operating Systems and network protocols (I have linux on my machine, my wife uses Windows and my teenage kids use Mac). Once again the Brother machine proved to be extremely easy to set up even for my wife who is not an advanced user and the wireless connectivity works flawlessly, my children are able to print and scan wireless and even use it with the Iphone through the App Brother has developed for them. ONCE AGAIN, GREAT PRODUCT FOR A GREAT PRICE!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great print quality with large scale scanning

By SkipStone from Phoenix on 10/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finally a reasonably priced printer with great photo printing quality. Throw in an 11 x 17 scanner and you have the best all-in-one for the money. Thanks Brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Promblems & Quality

By vms52 from Baltimore, Md. on 09/29/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have many printers in my home & business and access to many others in my family. I use Cannon, HP and Brother Printers constantly. I need reliable, great quality and productive printing options for my personal and business needs so... I bought the Brother Printer to get the extra large copy and scanning capabilities. Well that's the only thing it's worth doing on the printer. When I print my photos and flyer items I use my Canon or HP. The Brother is constantly jamming, cleaning or otherwise taking forever to print something. It drives me nuts and I try not to use it much. The photo color and quality sucks and when I print the same photo on my other printers you really can see the difference in quality (Cannon & HP have much better photo quality). Thank God I have my other printers for the important stuff!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I have purchased

By options from Omaha, NE on 08/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely the best printer I have ever had. I've used HP's for years and last 3 were junk and supplies are expensive. We use this printer hard and have yet to have a problem. The 11x17 capabilities make printing our show posters cheaper and easier than taking to a print shop. We brought our design and printing in house, now we change our fliers on a per show basis. Networkable so all the computers in your office have the same great capabilities, fax, scan, print etc... We like this printer so well a couple us us have purchased for home use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent purchase

By KyleJ from Port Orchard, WA on 07/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The purchase of this printer has served me very well. The print quality is very good and the wireless application went smoothly. Scanning has not been a problem either. I would recommend this for the person who doesn't do heavy printing volumes as the speed is a little slower but overall it is an excellent machine for the small office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

quite adequate, but not perfect

By businessowner from rural New England on 06/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My business has purchased two Brother MFC-6490CW Color Inkjet All-in One printers. They have been perfect for printing large format client newsletters. They also work well for everyday use, but as with inkjets, consume large amounts of expensive ink. There are several issues that have been encountered. Connecting to multiple PCs, and reconnecting to other PCs seems to be a problem for recognizing drivers. Large envelopes easily jam. Even though the specs indicate use for large envelopes, I have been unable to get them to feed without jamming. The final issue is the large footprint, although perhaps for all the features it is necessary. All in all, I am satisfied with Brother vs. the problamatic HP printers that I had been using.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unhappy consumer

By PurpleLady from Oviedo, FL on 05/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer because I needed to be able to print 11x17 documents. It uses a lot of ink because the printer must continually clean the heads. It is a year later and now the printer goes into the offline mode and is not easily brought back online. The print heads must be cleaned six times after changing the cartridges before it will print (it will pull the paper through like it is printing, producing a blank paper and it takes trial and error to determine the multiple cleanings necessary to print).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Experience and Terrific Value

By Barry from Southern California on 05/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Brother has his a home run with this product. I've had it for over three years and it has never disappointed me as I continue to explore and use its many features. I'm still amazed at its price point considering it is one of the few machines that can handle 11x17 documents - what a value! I was also concerned that I would have trouble once I installed Windows 7. Those concerns evaporated as the machine worked flawlessly from the get go. This is by far the most versatile, reliable, and economical multi-function I have ever had. I expect to get many more years of service out of it. After that, I look forward to replacing it with whatever successor model Brother has at that time. As far as I'm concerned, Brother has earned my loyalty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to set up and use ...

By 32sc16 from WA on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up and use including networking! Scan & Print quality is fast for this price point & good quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine so far!!!!

By Fabe from Hazleton, PA on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally purchased your competitors all in one. In my opinion it was very difficult and a nightmere to set up with Windows 7. I tried several times/ then had a friend of mine who is a computer tech try and he couldn't get it either- It also used alot of ink. The second day I had it I was back at the store for ink . I was very disgusted and annoyed. I returned it and bought this machine which was a bit more expensive but well worth the extra money-it set up right away and works great-no problems so far-not hard on ink-highly recommend this machine-I also have a word processor that still works great - I used in college- about 13 years old and it's still running- I also bought for my parents a brother fax machine that's over ten years old and it just keeps running. Great products -thanks BROTHER!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By PropheticVoice from Stafford, VA on 04/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has to be one of the best values for the money I have come across as far as multi-function printers are concerned. Being able to print 11 X 17 paper is unheard of at this price. Very frugal on the injet cartridges also. Software that came with it (Paper Port 11 SE and others) is great. I am pleased as punch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor quality

By Rayprinter from aurora , co on 04/10/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

we have spent a small fortune in transparent paper and ink for our silk screening business and this printer does not print quality and crisp pictures. 11x17 tray jams when trying to print on transparency paper. Would like a refund on this printer but customer service is not cooperating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meets expectations

By NightOwl54 from Augusta ME on 04/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Relatively easy to set up, considering all it does. Wireless is terrific; print quality very fine. Purchased particularly for 11X17 paper handling capability-it works great! Only concern is that materials (plastic) seem pretty flimsy and may not hold up (glad I got extended warranty).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent All-in-One Machine!

By RimCountrySunrise from Arizona Mountains on 04/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for over a year and am are very pleased with the performance. The computer and the printer are in separate rooms and the wireless feature works great! I prints lots of letter and legal documents every day and it is so easy to switch between paper trays on the computer screen. The scanner feature works very well for documents and pictures. The fast/normal print feature is great for printing emails...get a quality print and saves on ink. It would be nice to have a less cumbersome way to print envelopes. Overall, this is a great machine - black/white and color prints are sharp/clear. A great all-in-one machine and excellent value!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Choice

By Penguin1 from Santa Ana, Californis on 04/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a 11X17 All In One, and this unit fits the bill perfectly. The price is good, and it fits well in my home office. It replaced a letter format All In One, and now allows me to print large format which is standard for my industry. The only thing missing is a single sheet feeder. The unit installed and started up without any problems whatsoever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Satisfied

By SheilaInCalif from Undisclosed on 04/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine was easy to set up, is sturdy, has easy controls, and a tilt control screen which makes it VERY easy to read what's going on. It can be wirelessly connected to your computer (a big plus) and it's an Energy Star machine (also a big plus). I've been pretty pleased with it with one exception - the quality of color printing is not quite as good as I had expected. I have a small HP color ink jet that produces better quality color prints - clearer, more brilliant color. Also the copier has less distinct copying than I expected. But overall it is a fine machine, and even though I'm a bit disappointed in the color print and copier quality, I'm still very satisfied with the machine. I'm glad I bought it and would recommend it (with a comment about print quality and the fact that it takes up sort of a big foot print on your desk) to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good machine

By FTDesign from Reno , NV on 04/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer allows us to make good quality 17x11,ledger, sized plan sets & submittals for 25% or less than of the cost of our 24x36. It's used every day and has been without error since we obtained it 4 months ago. So far it has good reliability and very good quality at a fair price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, Versatile AIO

By breakfastchef from NC on 04/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is for home office use and will receive light to moderate use. My favorite features are the wireless connectivity, and the flip open top that makes it easy to scan/copy large and/or clumsy documents. Fax and print functions work fine. Nothing stellar; just very good. I was suprised how well the scan function worked on a few test documents I sent through the device. Document feeder is a great feature. The card readers are super convenient if you have a few photos you want to print directly from camera media.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy it for the excellent ...

By BLPCORP from Cortex Florida on 04/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Buy it for the excellent format and the black printing. If you want brilliant color, look for another model or brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does it all

By Michael from Raleigh, NC on 04/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a printer that could print 11x17 and in the past had to settle with one printer just for 11x17 at a ridiculous price and another for smaller formats. This printer does it all and at a great price. Works flawlessly with windows. Is slow to print with Ubuntu Linux. Only complaint is I wish it had a aux slot in the back to run thick paper or envelopes through instead of removing the paper tray and reloading.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Last Printer You Will Buy

By ArizonaCowboy from Arizona on 04/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After spending countless dollars on ink I had my reservations about buying this printer. My concerns were unfounded as I have gone through two reams of paper and I still have ink in the cartridges. I thought that I would have problems setting up this printer but found out quickly that it practically set itself up. With the two paper storage compartments I find that I never run out of paper during that large printing project. This is amazing as all the computers in my wireless network print to this one printer so I don't have to buy a printer for each computer. I am shocked with the speed of printing and the clarity of each copy. For a photographer and flyer producer I have to say this is the best printer that has come to market in a very long time. The price is right and the cost of ink is good but the end printed product is FANTASTIC. I am very supprised with this product as it out performs printers I have purchased for twice the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Solution

By lowend15 from jacksonville, FL on 04/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wireless, mulit-document scanning (single side only), prints and scans 11x17. This printer is awesome. Worth much more than it sells for. Don't waste your money on a photo printer you'll never use, like I used to. I use my Brother more because I can do so much more with it, Scan to PDF, copy, etc. And the ink is very reasonable priced, and from what I understand, the customer support is great too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent, many choices ...

By Leoj44 from michigan on 04/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent, many choices of paper. Large 11 by 17 scaner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If you don't get one, you're makin' a big mistake

By Jim1 from Towson, MD on 04/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quick setup out of the box. Big foot print, but it does big things. A tall man need big feet! Switched from an HP, and couldn't be happier. Does everything, so will take some time in tweaking all the possibiities. But, that's ok. It's why I bought the printer in the first place. You won't be sorry with this biggie.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Ever

By SpacyBickerson from Cincinnati, Ohio on 04/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I occasionally print big graphic images and had always wanted something beter than an old tractor feed wide format Panasonic dot matrix printer. This Brother was a godsend - not only does it print tabloid size images but it does them in color as well. The price was affordable and it has so many features that I still havn't used them all. I have it set up as a network printer and use it to print from several computers. I recommend this printer or any Brother multifunction printer to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Recommend

By pajr from San Diego, CA on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great value for the price. I purchased this mainly for the 11 x 17 size. Everything was simple to set up and I am highly pleased with this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not too happy with photo quality.

By JohnS from Western PA on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the printer because I think it is a great price for an 11" x 17" 4 in 1 machine. I love having 2 paper trays, but I think the photo printing is way too dark. I wanted a good photo printer and am very disapointed. Now I have to go back to my old HP 1100 to get good photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All-in-One Printer

By OldScout from Undisclosed on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was using an HP all-in-one printer, but it started causing errors when I installed Windows Vista. I could not get a solution from HP so I purchased the Brother 6490 at a great price. It was easy to install and has also funtioned properly after updating my PC to Windows 7. Some people have cautioned about the quality of the paper trays, but you will have no problems if you properly position the paper and slowly re-insert the tray in the printer. My only suggestion to Brother is to increase the speed when printing in draft mode. I liked this printer so much that I later purchased a Brother 585 just for printing photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Forget about wireless unless you speak Geek Ultra

By Bear from Honolulu on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The machine works fine, but we haven't gone wireless with it due to the gibberish in the manual. Hard to tell what these people are talking about and frankly we don't have the time to fool with their attempts at obfuscation. We have a long usb connector instead. Disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-6490CW

By Scott from PA Dutch Country on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this all in one machine. I bought it for its capability to print 11x17 ledger size. It is not very fast - I think Brother's speed estimates are wildly optimistic, but I expected that, as all manufacuteres are optimistic on their printing speeds. Any, I wasn't interested in a speedy printer. I did want one that printed large format, and had a scanner and copier with a document feeder. The scanner/copier works very well, and I am very impressed with the ability of the scanner to convert documents to editable text. I couldn't care less about the fax capability. Fax is very old school, and hardly anyone uses fax anymore. Certainly, not when you can scan and email documents. I do recommend this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's great and Easy to use

By Lucky from Illinois on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The print quality is exceptional - very crisp. Responds quickly to wireless promts to print from our computer. The copy and scanning ability is the best I have ever used - particularly the large document glass - works great for some of our projects. This is the ONLY printer we have seen in stores with this feature. One improvement on future models of this printer design I would like to have the ability to print on larger paper for photo album projects: 12"x 12" or 13"x 20"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good for most needs

By Realty from Austin, TX on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall this was a great purchase. I researched like crazy to decide between a laser printer and ultimately decided on this one because the print costs were cheaper than laser and our use wasn't high enough to warrant the laser. So far the offices number 1 complaint is the time it takes to make a copy using the flatbed scanner. When you are scanning multiple pages in the auto document feeder it works quickly after it gets past the first sheet but for some reason it goes through a long cycle of cleaning the heads or something before it gets started. I read this in other reviews but didn't believe it could be as slow as it is. My only other complaint is that it is a process to change the paper type out and when you do it often like we do to print checks, it would be nice if this model had an external feed tray for paper like checks that aren't used often and are inserted one sheet at a time. Love the 4 separate ink cartridges and hope that will make us more efficient. We are coming from an hp multifunction that did similar tasks but the print costs were ridiculously high so we hope the advertised print costs are as low as they state. Scanning to networked computers is a nice feature but customizing the scan settings takes time to learn. I like the scan function to show up on screen so you can set the settings and choose what area to scan automatically and you have to drill through a few menus to find this function. It is nice however that you can preset settings for similar things you scan often and it doesn't ask you any questions just scans straight to the folder you tell it to in the file type you choose. So far we haven't gotten the fax machine to function properly, partly on att for not transferring our special ring to our new office, but when we set it up with the answering machine in our office on the TAD setting, if you answer a call and it is a fax there seems to be no way to then let the fax machine pick up the call. 11x17 paper size is great and the large flat bed scanner is helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well Worth Considering

By Tierney from Gresham, OR on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had one of these machines at work and liked it so well I bought one for home. I need to be able to scan and print tabloid size plans and images. This Printer/Scanner is the most reliable I've ever had and does not clutter my computer with artsy craftsy software or software demos. The wireless feature is a plus as well as the dependability. I took a few tries to get the wireless hooked up right, but I'm sold on the Brothers All-in-one!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best printer I have ever used!

By themonkeyfist from Jefferson City, TN on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this printer for home office and personal printing. The wireless feature works great allowing me to print from my laptop or the desktop without the hassle of cables. The dual trays are a fantastic time saver by eliminating the need to switch out types of paper. The wide format screen for scanning and printing is one of the reasons I selected this particular model. The print quality is so much better than previous printers I have owned. Overall this printer has every feature I need for my home based business and personal printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best for the buck

By Rajan from Plainfield, IL on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Out of all printers of all makes I had used so far nothing else comes as good as 6490 CW for the features, versatility and affordability and running cost. Good enough for a small business this can handle, all needs including 11 x 17 paper size. I brought when it was first launched, never had an issue, I brought one more recently, as a back up fearing , they may discontinue one day...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best all-in-one printers ever

By sharby56 from Traverse City, MI on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only thing that keeps this printer from being the best purchase ever is the inability to scan a document directly into PDF format like I could on a "competitor's" model. I definitely would recommend this model to others as the quality and speed is right up there with commercial models.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good MFP

By jiminfargo from Fargo on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice 11x17 multifunction printer for the reasonable price. Works well as a small office printer. Ink is a bit spendy if you don't shop around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good, but not quite great

By Leafartist from Pasadena, CA on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this machine for a few weeks and so I have not yet used all of its features. The black and white copies are crisp, but color is not as top notch as I was hoping. The fax works nicely as does the scanner. However, it will not scan 3-D items, so steer clear if this is your goal for the scanner part of the unit. I've not yet attempted the photo capture feature, so cannot comment on it. Overall, for the price, it seems to be a very solid unit with a nice capability to work with ledger sized papers. I'm thus far pleased with the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer ,few minor flaws

By MikeA from Garrison NY on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is quite and so far very reliable. It feeds well and accepts many types of media. The wireless ability so far works very well all 4 laptops share the printer and none had any problems. I would recommend it to anyone. Only a few minor flaws. NO Duplexer this is the one reason I only have one of these printers. the paper savings alone is huge. If you have a paper jam it is not the friendliest to get gong again, You have to open everything (like a copier) to get started again. Its ink usage is good and the cartridges are not too bad for the price. The fax and scanner both work great and I found them to be a big plus. The drivers work well with Micrsoft publisher and Photoshop in Win 7 environment,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why did I wait so long

By Anonymous from Philadelphia, PA on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best printer I have ever owned. Large format, the money I will save on ink alone all pay for the printer, quiet - no clacking, large paper trays, excellent print quality, scans are a snap. Mine is connected via USB - setup was simple. I now have my own print center because the print speeds are great. Notice the footprint of the printer is large but you are truly buying a professional quality printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for Price, and Ledger Capability

By Rustle from Mid West on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We are a small professional firm that produces 11x17 color plans for our clients. For the money the MFC 6490 does an excellent job! We use every function, Print, Fax, scan, email, copy for all sizes. The Ledger Paper size capabilty makes this machine a real winner!! We bought two. I would pay an additional premium if an upgrade version was available that was a higher quality color printing (super sharp lines) for 11x17 plans as well as higher quality scan. Also big bonus would be three paper trays each would hold three sizes, Ledger, Letter, and Legal, each tray holding a full reem. There is a big market for this that Brother could dominat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile. Convenient!

By asiancharm from Frisco on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a versatile machine. The big plus is the fact that it can scan and print anything as large as 11"x17". Another plus is the ease in setting up the wi-fi connection, now every computer in my house can access that printer. However, I do wish this printer prints better on color-photos, and less cumbersome in printing envelopes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scanning Not Good

By Poolplayer from West PAlm Beach, FL on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just do not like the scanning, I need to get 300 dpi and this machine only goes 72 dpi. Otherwise, this is a great machine for the Price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Jaime from California on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I selected the MFC-6490CW for our new home work center. The AIO device came out of the box in perfect shape and was working soon after. I set it up for wireless operation and that was much more simple than I visualized. The documentation included and online was easy to understand. So far, in three days, I have used the scanner and printer. I couldn't be happier with this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Prints

By danet from Coral Springs, FL on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer because it prints photos, scans, & copies beautifully & also saves money on ink; I've had my printer since December and I still have the same ink cartridges. I would definately recommend to others. Thanks!! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my opinion

By homephone from virginia on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Biggest issue is the ink! To expensive and doesn't last long. Still having problems with printing a RANGE of pages in Word. But being able to scan 11 x 17 is a big plus. 3.5 stars out of 5 for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasant surprise

By Eldako from Roseburg, OR on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the MFC-6490CW for its wireless ability plus having all-in-one features. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use with my home wifi. I also have since changed my internet access to a wireless MIFI2200 and was able to connect it with very little effort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best all-in-one for me

By Anonymous from Toms River , NJ on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After having used my MFC5840cn for about 8 years i switched to this one and i just wanted to emphasize here how much easier Brother had made it for everyone . From opening of box to installation, wireless network setup, and software installation , everything was just real easy, im sure it will be even for noobies . Bigger scan area and also bigger ink capacity with the 65 series cartridges while still being compatible with the lesser 61 series .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice unit

By CraftyLady from Shoshone, ID on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product was easy to install and use. I love all the different uses all in one unit (there is more space on my desk now). As a crafter I love the 11x17 size printing capability to enlarge patterns. That is the reason I decided to go with this unit, along with the Brother name for reliability. I have not used it yet to its full potential but I am greatly pleased with everything I have tried so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC-6490CW

By bigE from Spring Hill, KS on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall this is a good value for me because I do a lot of music printing which is printed on 9 1/2 x 12 paper. Plus is has the added avantage of a document fed scanner in the same size. The B&W is fine but color photos are not a sharp as my HP Photo printer. Regular color printing is fine. Where else are you going to find a printer/scanner in this size class for this price? I am pleased with my purchase and reccommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer but some connect problems

By JohnP from Ocala, FL on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is an excellent printer, but I seem to constantly be reconfiguring the Port. Not sure why, but that is the only headache


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product at a great price!

By Missy from Wisconsin on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine functions well and is easy to use. Set up took about 20 minutes and I was able to hook it up completely wireless. I had never done that before and it was easy to do. I love the print quality, and the versatility of going between an envelope all the way up to an 11 x 17 piece of paper. I have recommended this to friends and have already had a friend replace his printer with this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT FOR A BUSINESS ENVIROMENT; more for home!!

By Superior from Trainer,PA on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the most part this is a great printer, (FOR HOME USE) but as for a business enviroment it is a little bit of a pain when it comes to installing the paper and getting everything lined up all correctly, I am always having a problem and then it will say incorrect paper size, etc. Also with trying to fax from the computer it is a little werid too its hard to attach what it is you want sent which is weird cause why even have the feature if you cant attach what you want faxed?? but thats beyond me otherr then that its a good printer just not for the office, but this is only my opinion. Oh and I totally forgot it doesnt work with ALOT of Windows programs and the IP address and WAP address can never be setup through the setup wizard for some reason.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HP replacement

By circa450 from Antelope, CA on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a printer/scanner that could use 11X17 paper, for the past twenty some years I have been using HP, (not 11X17). Not only is the Brother faster but the ink is cheaper. The software is a little less straight forward but the drivers that come with W7 work way better than any of HP's stuff. I connected it to my network thru the router so all of my computers can use it without any thought at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of my Best Decisions!

By jenneylou from Brownwood, TX on 04/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In my work I scan photos and images for clients. The average scanning bed was too small for the larger photos and images. The MFC-6490CW provides a larger than average scanning bed - very easy to use! Additionally, the other features offer quick, quality documents to give my homebased business a more professional appearance. I like the individual ink cartridges for more efficiently using ink without waste, thereby saving money! From sending/receiving faxes to copying, this product makes that end of my business smooth and easy! I will trust and purchase more Brother products as the need arises!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best printer ever

By sfarchitect from san francisco on 02/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

architects often use half size prints of projects and this often means reduction from 24 x 36" size orginals to the convenience of ledger size and brother has come through in great style with their inkject all-in-one printers with 8.5 x 11 and ledger size printing ability. No more wasted trips to the local copy shoppe just to get ledger size printing done. Bravo brother!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved