Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC6890CDW » 22 Reviews

Brother International Mfc6890cdw All-in-one Color Inkjet Printer (mfc-6890cdw) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

72% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Don't Bother

By origRLsec from Port Huron MI on 11/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Copies with ease, but the networking just doesn't cut it. Every time I make the slightest change to my network (i.e. adding/deleteing a computer, changing the router password or more recently I dropped a landline) the machine refuses to come online. Often one computer will be able to print but not another. I've updated/re-installed the software, firmware, reset it, everthing I can think of. The only thing Customer support tells me is I need to talk to my router people. Well it's NOT the router since that is 2 years old and no one on the network has problems connecting to it or to each other.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fits a need but could be much better

By wpc3 from Tampa Bay, FL on 06/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this to replace an HP multi-function cause I need 11x17 printing. I also access it from multiple PCs, so the LAN connectivity was a must. The print quality is OK, but not as good as the HP. I can live with it. It's the flakey LAN connectivity I cannot live with. One day it works, one day it doesn't. The printer usually works. But sometimes it's the printing that doesn't work, while the scanning does. Support doesn't really read your emailed questions. I tell them it's printing, but won't scan. Or I tell them it's working on one or two computers, but not on another that it worked fine with yesterday. They always write back telling me to check the connections! I'd hoped this would be a single printer solution. It looks like I'll just have to go back to the old HP plus a larger format printer. I need reliable equipment to get my work done when its due.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not quite what tech specs say.

By GeorgeK from New Jersy on 04/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Printer is overall OK as far as printers go. Does no to do automatic duplex copy, even though the hype on it makes it sound like it does. My old printer did and this is a bad point with me.You have to turn pages manually. Pringting duplex works but very slow compared to previous printers. Speaking of printing the 28 ppm for b&w is light years from fact. I printed 15 pages with less than regular amount of text on the pages and it took almost 3 minutes to print 15 pages. In general it takes extreemly long for a print job to start, sometimes 12-15 secs. Then each page can take 10 seconds from the time the previous page is finshed till the next one is done. NOT VERY GOOD FOR SMALL OFFICE BUSINESS USE!!! very slow. I tried this from 3 different computers in our office and the same result. My other network printers work fine so its not a network issue. Also colors that print are not that vibrant. I have other printers both Inkjet and LaserJet that are quite close on colors. This one is very matted and faded looking colors. The other multi functions like scanning and copying are fine. I will use this machine but doubt if I would buy it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine!!

By LinuxMan from New York, NY on 10/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an HP machine prior to purchasing this Brother all in one and I must say I am very pleased with the results so far. This machine performs as advertised and although no support for Linux is offered, I was able to install it and use all it's features on a Linux machine, the printing quality is far superior than any other printer I have owned to date, speed and connectivity are not an issue in the wireless part of it, this machine was very easy to set up and when I had to call for support the agent was very helpful and was able to answer all my questions. GREAT JOB BROTHER!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I'd hoped

By RobertH from Washington state on 10/21/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this model 4 months ago and it's not what I'd hoped. My biggest complaint is the paper is constantly jamming! There are two paper trays, both are awkward to load and the top tray holds too little so I have to refill it often. Making double sided copies took some creative paper loading on my part. It is also slower than my machine that was 10 years older.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's alright

By BTire from Wisconsin on 09/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a decent printer when it works. fax and scanner are great but after a good year it was skipping pages during the printing or grabbing an extra sheet so it would print on two pages. We do work it hard though so we have recently switched to laser (much nicer).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed

By Reading2kids from Kennewick, WA on 07/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We replaced a color copier with this model. The quality of printing is exceptional. I don't use much technology but have been able to make copies easily. My children have used it to scan photographs for presentations and they are of very good quality. I have not tried to use the FAX feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All in One

By msgrnbay from Clearwater, FL on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer! First time user of a Brother, and I'm really impressed with it and the print quality. I was so happy to find an inkjet that prints 11 x 17 size paper too. The ease of use is really good, and the very clear, easy to read window is a plus. My only word of caution is the paper tray itself, as it appears flimsy and if not careful, I'm afraid the plastic parts may break easily. I hope this printer lasts longer the my two previous HP's because something always seems to break with them. So far so good and I would recommend this product to everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent results

By lcrouse from Bradenton, FL on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have owned many printers over a 20 year time frame. Epson, Brother, Canon, Lexmark, HP, Sharp etc. Bought this because of the paper size and wireless. Quiet, fast and the best color. Incredibly simple and easy wireless setup and networking. A must have for a small or home based business. Extremely efficient ink usage. Still using OEM cart's. Have only used about 15% after 4 months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Instruction Manual Not Written for The Novice.

By farmerroy from Spokane, WA on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the faint of heart, trying to set up all the capabilities of this machine can prove to be daunting. Once set up, it works great, good print quality, but it took me several phone calls over several days to tech support to work thru the setup issues. Main issue is sensitivity of the fax receive system to telephone line noise. Before hooking up to your phone system, have the local phone company run line noise level tests. Also, check on the Brother support site for the latest Firmware Revision Number, and update your firmware. The PPM Print Rate is slower than advertised, but both color and BW Print quality is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all in one ever

By happyscanner from New England on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had a number of printers and scanners and all in ones, but this one is tops. Never has the software really worked as well as this one does, even with a Mac computer. It was easy to set up and easy to figure out. It works on our network flawlessly. Scanning has never been so easy, whether it is a photo or a document.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC-5890CN Printer

By Skip from Citrus Springs, Florida on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used many brands of printers over the years and Brother continues to be my favorite! Their quality, warranty, ease of use and overall cost is hard to beat. My company currently has 2 of the 5890CN's and we make full use of its wide-range of capabilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I have it

By Consultant from Northern Kentucky on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this machine to replace an older unit. I was able to set it up quickly and it went to work almost immediately. I am still learning the features but it has performed nicely and does what I need it to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRINTER

By chilwill from pittsburgh pa on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I watched the demo and I was very impressed of what this printer did I watched the demo about 3 times The next thing I knew my wife had ordered it for me when it arrived the box was so big i thought it was just the packing let me tell the printer is HUGE I have never saw a printer this big for home use and with 2 paper trays I was also impressed that you can use large sheets of paper which is something you don't find in most printers I cant say how much i paid for the printer but I will say it was worth the money and the printer just sips ink thank you brother for making such a great printer with such great features you have out done your selfs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Investment

By JudyK from Indianapolis IN on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As I move toward retirement, I wanted to be self-reliant in printing 11x17 size newsletters for a couple small organizations I volunteer for without having to cut and paste paper together then go to a copy center and pay to print the newsletters. This model is the only affordable printer I've found that meets my needs with the flexibility of scanning and regular copy options. My only disappointment is that the fax only works over actual phone lines (I have only cell phone service) although I can fax online with a webservice so it is not critical.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Copier That could !

By BigAl from Salisbury, NC on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This copier is great for moderate - heavy use which produces surperb quality copys. This copier has features that are convenient and very easy to use. Also, the cost per copy is much less that other higher priced All-in-Ones because of the competitive price of the replacement cartridges available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By Intuitive from Undisclosed on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-5890CN has all the features I need and everything works perfectly. Superior print quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best

By MGTD from Office use on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up. Works great and perfect print quality! This printer helps ypu when pushing the wrong buttons, Quick printing and quiet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

QUALITY

By jimw from South Florida on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 2 of these machines and use them bioth regularly. I find them to be of good quality, economical to run and very reliable. There are 2 things I might change to improve them 1) make it capable of scanning a full 11x17 and 2) to add a 2nd paper tray that tabloid can fit and be stored in. This is a very good machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad purchase if your looking for hassel free print

By Jlaru from Ohio on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The main reason I bought this unit was for the 11 x 17 page it could print. The color is great, however it is a extreme hassel in changing paper. the tray holds approx 300 sheets without jambing (8 1/2 x 11); when changing the paper to use a 8 1/2 x 14 the tray can be extended however it does not stay in place when inserting it back in the machine. Also the last 10 sheets in the tray the printer feeder will not pick it up and feed the paper. I am very disappointed due to theses machanical problems


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent all-in-one printer

By Westy from Cortez, Fl on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I sold my big bulky HP 7410 which worked OK after getting the run around on a printhead that was in warranty. I bought the 5890 from an E store for the same price I sold my HP printer. I am real happy with the compact size of this printer. It does all my old printer did plus the print quality seems much better. The 5890 was very easy to install. I have it running in a combined wired/wireless network (2 laptops, 1 desktop) at home. I was very happy not to need the 500+ MB of software you have to install on each computer with the HP product. All in all a nice printer for home or a small office. The only thing I would like is more fax number storage memory.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All-in One MFC-5890CN

By Bill from Kreamer, PA on 03/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After many years of using HP printers, this is my first Brother printer. Right out of the box this was the easiest printer to set up that I have ever owned. I especially like the ease of replacing the ink cartridges. The fax function works flawlessly. Thanks Brother, for making a great machine. PS> No more HP printers for me!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved