Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC7340 » 31 Reviews

Brother International Mfc-7340 Mfc Laser (mfc7340) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

MFC-7340

By NEKSANI from BRONX NY on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I HAVE TWO OTHEM BUT BOTH DRUM IS DEFEECTED WHAT WILL DO FOR THAT


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Serious Bang for the Buck!

By Techo from Undisclosed on 03/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Scanning is awesome! Color scanning looks sharp and text clear. I archive documents and the 35 page document feeder performs like the commercial machines I use at work. I can now print envelopes and not have to cover the address with tape to avoid moisture from smudging the address as with ink jet. I don't like once unit is turned off, it loses its time and date. You get what you pay for and I feel this machine exceeds what I paid for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

alright but limited

By Anonymous from Chicago, IL on 01/18/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printing is very good on my MFC7340. However, there are some strict limits on this machine: 1. It will print only so light. Even the lightest setting is still fairly dark, which means it uses more toner. 2. Every time I fax, there's a auto-printout that I can not shut off -- even though I don't want these reports (again, more toner). 3. Once it deems the toner level to be low, it will not print anything more. Again, I'm alright with lighter pages sometimes. And more toner is wasted, as I'm sure the cartridge still has some left. 4. When I fax the same page to more than one recipient, there's no way to know which recipient it's on or how far into the job it is. All fax #'s are the same for the whole job, instead of each recip. having its own number (i.e.Fax #1, fax #2..). 5. the "Status Monitor" doesn't show any status. Instead, it takes me to the supplies-ordering website. To me, these are important limitations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Machine fine--cartridges substandard

By BillC from Undisclosed on 12/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've not had any difficulty with operation of the copier itself. The Brother branded toner cartridges are another story, however. Of the two cartridges we ordered with our purchase, one lasted a total of 849 combined pages and the other was DOA. Thanks, but we'll buy less expensive third-party refills from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By RJSeattle from Seattle, WA on 09/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I went to Staples to replace my old HP which I had for several years, dead set on getting another one. The technology person showed me this Brother and I reluctantly bought it because I was savinig over $200.00 for a comparable machine. I brought it home and plugged it in and it has worked perfectly ever since. This thing is a work horse. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good copier/bad scanner

By doctor from Dickinson,TX on 06/10/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have several Brother products in the office, so I have experience with the MFC line. While it is a fine printer and copier, the scanner software has not been compatible with my EMR. I contacted the tech support, however, they could not help. All they did was tell me to remove and start over. I contacted my other EMR software tech support, and was told to contact Brother. The manuals have not been helpful. My previous MFC which works well with the software, uses Control Center2, this one has Control Center3, however, the downloads section of the website does not have this available. Overall, I am disappointed because I have more than enough Brother printers, what I wanted was the versatility of a automatic feed scanner for my EMR


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for the money!

By Danny from Buffalo,New York on 05/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When searching for a replacement for an ink jet printer, I realized I didn't want another inexpensive printer and pay often and alot for ink. I went with the MFC-7340 Laser Printer, for my home-office, which produces tremendous clarify as a true laser printer should. I paid only a little more than a decent ink jet (which I was going to buy as a replacement anyway). It's been a couple months and so far, so good! The only thing I don't like about it is when you turn it off, the date and time you program into it is lost, as I only turn my printer on when I need it, not leaving it on 24-hours-a-day. This programming is especially useful for fax reports, if you do that sort of thing. Otherwise, great buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine

By Gene from Layton, Utah on 05/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like Brother products! I had a Xerox copier, it would have cost me as much to buy the Drum and the ink for the xerox copier that I paid for the Brother MCF-7340. I also got rid of my old printer and scanner. I have a lot more room on my desk. Everything functions and works wonderful. Very easy to install. Very Happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best ever

By RAM86 from Undisclosed on 05/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the most hassel free printer we have ever had. Recomend this highly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Overall Value

By SCValentines from Greenville, SC on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great!! Best value out there. I bought a Brother after years of having HP. I like the HP...but I don't think I'll ever go back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best economical value

By workingathome from Undisclosed on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been using ink jet printers in the past and spent a lot of money buying ink cartridges. When I retired I knew I would be making a lot more copies on the home computer. This printer has worked very well and saved us a lot of money on copies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

mfc 7340

By joecar from daytona beach fl on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is my first laser printer,i can't believe the speed and how easy it is to use,i would recommend this printer to everyone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Practical Purchase

By SCOOP from Little River, S.C. on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a home office purchase. As I reside elsewhere a good percentage of the time, and this printer is used only when I'm home is the reason I purchased a laser printer compared to an ink jet printer. The real plus for me is that it scans in color. I have a lot to learn yet regarding its use, but for right now the best feature is its speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Durable Printer

By David from Oregon on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer 4 months ago and have already made printed about 10,000 pages on it so far. I like the larger 3600 page cartridge. What I like best about it is that it if fast for a relatively inexpensive copier. I just had to replace the roller because it started leaving annoying black spots on my copies. I like this copier because it is rugged and dependable. I move it from place to place often and I like the hand holds on the sides. I have only had paper jam in the machine once and only once had the document feeder jam. So I am pretty happy overall. There are some things that could be better. I mostly use this machine to copy and there is not a way to switch the machine so the copy function stays on for more than 10 minutes at a time before switching back to Fax mode. Also, the copy function defaults to sort and your need to manually select "options" and reset it to "stack" and if you forget and want to make multiple copies of a long document you have to sort them out yourself into stacks. There are a few other oddities in the operating system but for the cost it is a good deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!

By Crestview from Crestview, FL on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The power button is on the far back side and that is the only shortcoming! I would recommend you consider your space before you purchase this product. A power button on front would make more sense, but we worked it out and it has been our best purchase this year!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great

By etech from Colorado, USA on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this all-in-one laser machine for about two months. It is used for light home office tasks. The printer works great and the copier and scanner are easy to use. I have not used the fax much. Set up is simple and the controls are easy to understand. It's a quiet machine and has been very dependable so far. The only improvement I would like to see at this point is a backlight on the LED status screen but this is really no big deal. Overall I am very satisfied with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Workhorse

By boone319 from Atlanta, GA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This the third MFC machine I have had the pleasure to work with and they keep getting better. No jams, bad feeds or problems of any kind. Brother - keep up the good work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a real buy!

By playwright from Florida on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you don't need a color printer and still want laser this is the best of the bunch, in my opinion. Fast, efficient, multi-functional (with excellent performance). For the money nothing else beat it for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Work Horse PrinterScanner

By facilet from Maplewood, MN on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer for the price. If all you need to have is a B & W or grey scale, this is a FAST, reliable, and simple printer. I got tired of paying for ink cartridges, and putting up with slow printing. This printer has been a breath of fresh air. It is quiet, and cheap per copy. The only problem I have is that the scanner sometimes scews the image at an angle when I scan things into Adobe. This happens whether I am using the document feeder or just laying the page on the glass manually. Other than that, I love the multipage document feeder and the reliability of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should be better

By Karscats from Kansas City on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was disappointed in the overall quality. Print is lighter than any other laser I've had or used. Print is not as sharp either. Paper jams quite often (using 20#). Maybe 24# would work better, but it shouldn't be required. When copying, need to insure you place the paper to be copied just right, and not all the way to the edge. Otherwise it will cut off the image on that edge. My answering machine and separate phone seem to work with the printer, but twice got a busy signal when trying to make a call from my phone, and had to hang up my phone and try a second time, when it was clear for a call. As title says, it works, but not real well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect except DIM display window

By digdog from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have set the contrast to the maximum level and the display window is still so dim I need to use a flashlight to read it. Shame on your engineering department. Otherwise. I really enjoy my MFC-7340 machine. Oh, one more thing. You probably can't help me, but it would be nice to have my answering machine and my MFC-7340 plugged in at the same time and on the same telephone line


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Saves you money!!

By HomeOfficeGal from Yonkers, NY on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love this multi purpose printer/fax/scanner & copier. I used to spend too much money replacing ink cartridges on smaller multi purpose printers. This one prints forever, I have not had to change the toner yet. :) It is fast & I love the feed capability. I caught it on sale which was an excellent deal. Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good bang for the buck

By Greg from Lee's Summit, MO on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Dependable, inexpensive to operate, flexable. Printer, FAX, and Copier all work well. Only negative was that the original toner cartridge was very low capacity. replacements last much longer. Just buy a new toner cartridge when you buy the printer. You'll be glad you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Brother success!

By Craig from Brooksville, FL on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second Brother Multi-function that I've owned. The first was the MFC-4800. A brilliant machine that was a workhorse. We wanted flatbed capability so when the old 4800 needed a new drum after several years we took the opportunity to upgrade to the 7340. Its every bit as good as the 4800. Brother has mastered the multi-function laser. Its fast, rarely ever jams paper, produces great documents and scanning functions are numerous and robust. While in the store I checked out the Brother competition and the comparable HP was so mechanical and clunky I could not believe they market that thing. Brother is the best on the market bar-none!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Entry level for MFC Laser Unit.

By Chefnee from Smyrna, TN on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first laser multi-function printer unit. I am glad to say I made the right choice when it came to the Brother brand. This unit printed documents and labels to my basic needs. I use it for school for the majority of its use, and their more to this unit than printing. Sometimes I use the fax capability. It is very convenient because I used to have to drive over 15 miles to the nearest shop to do my faxing. It saves me lots of time due to it's fax functionality. Then there's the copy and scan feature, again saves time because I don't have to run to the printing shop for copies. Oh by the way, the Automatic Document Feeder attachment was a great time saver. I like to backup hard copies of old bills, and financial records. In the past it would take hours, now it took seconds. SECONDS!!! Overall the pro's outweigh the cons, yet their are still a couple. First I wish it would do some automatic duplexing. It gets very tiresome when you have to print 100+ page manuals (I still like physical hard copies). Second, I wish Brother would label the unit as a monochrome mfc-printer. With this omission, I bought the unit thinking it was color. Highly disappointed when setting it up, but I had to settle for it, because it wasn't important. Other than those 2 inconveniences, the MFC-7340 is a fantastic choice from an entry-level Multi-function laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Carmen from Atlanta on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a good machine! I have used it for two months and I am happy I bought it. Its printing quality is great and it has good speed on scanning and coping once you set it to Black and White. To scan on color it taken longer than I can stand but I use to scan and email text documents so I am happy with it. Btother's customer support if also available if you need them to give you advice on some features of any problems. So far it has been cost effective because you can print a lot out of the ink catriage. I will still buy it again if I was looking for one MFC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Geee from Connecticut on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the unit for several months and it still works as good as when I first bought it. Also: 1. It doesn't eat up a lot of system resources 2. It doesn't cause any system errors 3. It has many good sensible features 4. Print quality is very good 5. It's pretty quiet 6. It doesn't take up much desk space I call it my little Handyman!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice All-In-One Laser

By HannibalToo from Greater New Orleans, LA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally bought this to replace an ancient desktop copy machine, and used it that way for about 5 months, then my desktop laser printer went south. By then, I could not find the install CD's. Went to Brother.com, and downloaded the Win7 software suite (turns out the CDs did not have that software on them) and FINALLY, got ALL the drivers to install. It printed right away, no problem, BUT SCANNER stuff would not install. Turns out there was/is a conflict between the MFC7340 package and my Brother 5100c package (my usual scanner). Turned OFF the 5100 (no disconnect, not uninstall), and Scanner software installed and mostly worked. Win7 + PaperPort12 will NOT use AutoDocFeed unless in TWAIN mode; AND Win7 + PaperPort12 will NOT use flatbed unless in WIA mode. Go Figure. The problem is solvable because my Brother 5100c works just fine both ways in PaperPort12. Got a fix yet Bro? 01MAY2010.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all-in-one

By Deets from Carlsbad, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second Brother MFC laser printer that I have owned. The first one lasted 8 years, so I thought I would try another one. I got a good deal on sale and it meets all of my home office needs. I can't comment how it would stand up to rigorous daliy use, but for light copying, printing, scanning, and faxing, it does the trick!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for the Price

By TedPrinter from Thousand Oaks, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I previously owned a larger Brother MFC but the scanner laser light "died" after five years. The MFC 7340 which does everything my old one did, cost the same as if I repaired the old one. And yet it is just as fast and takes up less room. The only major difference is it does not hold as much paper. But the speed and print quality is the same.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't even think about buying this.

By Captaink from Charlottesville, va on 03/25/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The scanning, fax, etc. software that comes with it is the worst I have ever used in some 25+ years of working with computers. It is confusing, and impossible to figure out. The simple act of scanning a document to a pdf file is impossible to find.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved