Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC8480DN » 67 Reviews

Brother International Mfc-8480dn Laser 4-in-1 W/network/duplex (mfc8480dn) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 67 reviews)

82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

MFC-8480DN

By foxfirerodandgun from Virginia on 01/25/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

With the exception of one glaring and very annoying glitch, (it wrinkles envelopes horribly when address are printed on them), this product seems to perform as describe.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great AIO Printer

By LASER01 from East Lansing, MI on 01/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-8480DN performs very well. It was easy to set up and use for the first time. Moreover, the replacement toner cartridge is reasonably priced regardless to the on-line purchase vendor. The printer can handle a heavy work load in that I use it primarily for printing articles from professional journals for use in my work. I haven't quite figured out yet how to prevent envelopes from wrinkling when fed through the printer to print address labels on them nor why the printer loses the time and date when the power is shut off. However, I'm sure I will. Nevertheless, I would recommend this printer to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broken down

By MarkS from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After only two years, this printer makes a grinding noise when it prints and leaves lines on the page that obscure the text. I am very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

COMPLETELY SATISFIED

By JONA from CUMMING, GA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY VERSATILE, YOU CAN PRINT RECIEVE AND SCAN ALL AT THE SAME TIME SO THERE IS NOT "LOST TIME" WAITING FOR EACH FUNCTION TO FINISH. ALSO, THE PRINT QUALITY IS EXCEPTIONAL. THE ONLY OCCASIONS THAT I EXPERIENCE PAPER JAMS IS WHEN I HAVE PERSONALLY FAILED TO LOAD THE PAPER CORRECTLY. I DON'T KNOW HOW MANY COPIES I'VE MADE BUT IT'S A LOT. BY THE WAY, I HAVE TWO OF THEM.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Out Performs the Expensive Machines

By Truckfacility from Jersey City NJ on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you have a Medium-Small office and require a Fax/Copier/Scanner this is the machine for you. We run these machines at our locations and they outperform those expensive machines. We just replaced one that was 4 years old. We use nothing but Brother products as they are the most reliable and long lasting MFC on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent value

By Zinkler from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer does exactly what it promises. Operating costs are low. Good at everything, excellent at some.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By DeeKay2 from Palmyra, PA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is very fast and works well. It was a very good value. My only complaint is that my letterhead envelopes jam in the printer. I have to resort to my old inkjet printer for envelopes. Since I use this printer for my in-home business, the inability to print envelopes is a definite negative. Otherwise, the printer is great and meets all my other needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy with Performance

By Resource1 from Los Angeles, CA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well its been about a year with this printer/scanner/copier/fax. I have not used the fax yet, as I have a dedicated fax. The copies are crisp, clear and fast. The scanning has been a dream, especially with the autofeed. It's a little cumbersome to do two side scanning but with some updated software it's been great. I now have two of these machines, and, for the price, I wouldn't be without them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Kingfish from Collierville, TN on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this Brother All - in One daily and it has performed very well, it is fast, and reliable. I fax and print multiple copies each day and no problems or issues. I would pruchase another when I wear this one out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8480DN

By jackknife from Chicago Area on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall I have had good service from my Brother printers and whenever I've had to contact tech support my questions and problems where solved right away. It would be nice to have a better trouble shooting section in the owners manual IE: If you start getting lines on your printed pages,( Drum wearing out), what causes the printer to squeak or squeal sometimes at the start or finish of a print job ??? etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good and reliable, I ...

By mfc8480 from west covina, ca on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good and reliable, I bought 3 of these best' best


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Machine

By Bimpy from Blackwell, MO on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This MFC-8480DN is hooked to a network and function beautifully. I have had little hangup that is associated with most printers. It conserves on ink too. Color would be nice, but I use mostly for printing documents, letters, etc., and the color ink would probably be a waste for thew little that I need. Thanks for this printer - Bimpy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Unit

By Dano7331 from Sparta, TN on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer does a fine job and is pretty fast for an all in one. The Fax handles a ton of paper at one time. I think it's rated for 50 sheets, but I've faxed over 75 pages without a hitch. My only complaint is that it prints a lot lighter than I like to see. It's not my primary laser printer, but as a back up it's great. However, it is used as my primary copier, fax, and scanner and does an awesome job at all three.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Prints well and is fairly ...

By AttorneyL from Middletown NJ on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Prints well and is fairly quiet. Often displays "no paper" when there is paper; no help available from customer support. Very poor job on printing envelopes (mangled). Copies and scans nicely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Copier, Printer and Scanner

By HaroldCPA1 from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother MFC-8480DN has been an outstanding copier, printer and scanner for us. We bought it 1-14-12 and used it heavily during the 2012 income tax season. We printed all of our income tax returns on it and it did a beautiful job for us. We do not use the fax portion. We already had a stand alone fax machine. I highly recommend this piece of equipment to anyone, business or personal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent machine

By mdusa from upstate new york on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

its come with copy, fax, printer, relay enjoyed, nice machine, fast printing, double sided, very useful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding machine

By Buildingboys from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a small business and this machine ideal for us. Printing is much less expensive compared to ink jets, and duplex printing saves paper. Fax and scan capacity included in one machine makes this unit a real powerhouse!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works for me

By demeter from Sedona,AZ on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I need a black only machine since I do mainly invoices but it also has a scanning color feature in case I need it. Has trouble with the thicker paper stock unless you choose menu 1,2,1,2. Pleased!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for small business

By ruffian from Seattle on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the perfect all-in-one for a small business (legal). Installed in less than 5 minutes, fully compatible with the network, and when i purchased a new, Windows 7 64 bit computer, the transition was just as simple. Scan to pdf is now an indispensable aspect of litigation, as almost all Courts are electronic filing, and this machine makes scanning an almost pleasant task.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We have 2 of them they do ...

By Anonymous from Cape May Court House, NJ on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have 2 of them they do everything we ask them to do. We are scaning 30,000 files and the machines are great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Couldn't be happier...

By Unabeaver from Fort Wayne, Indiana on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great machine for the money. Not using separate printers and scanners after buying our first 8480. We are now replacing printers and scanners in all nine of our offices with Brother all in one units.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Copier

By Kay10 from Utah on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have enjoyed this Brother printer and especially the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Working like a Champ

By PHauze from St CHarles, MO on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nothing is perfect, but less jams, less hassle than any previous machine that I've owned. The cost per print has helped the budget too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase

By Reggie from Nee Hyde Park on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So many good options. Double side printing and booklet type prining are very useful, save lot of papers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

like it but has problems

By RTWINCH from Albuquerque, NM on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1. Legal paper falls from printer when printng multi pages. 2. Feeding paper on top scanner does not always grab paper and actvates scanner on bottom. 3. I like the speed and clarity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase Ever

By PJMD from Hackensack NJ on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not pleased at all..too expensive to replace drum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase ever

By Anonymous from Valencia, CA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This device is excellent, overall. Very complete in its features, and extremely durable. The only fault I have found is that it wrinkles #10 envelopes, and I have not found any setting that eliminates the wrinkles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent All-in-One

By JJKEsq from Bridgeport, CT on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This All-in-One is extremely dependable and easy to use. It is essentially maintenance-free. Misfeeds are virtually non-existent. A great workhorse of a machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not too bad

By jango from Hawaii on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

first of all its a good product, but what I don't like is when faxing it takes a long time, it dials then takes one page at at time, unable to make copies while in the fax mode, our other brother, we could make copies while in the fax mode, also when faxing, it takes "all " pages then dials then fax


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best All-In-One

By FredTheComputerGuy from San Diego California on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This purchase was a replacement for a Brother 8840DN that I had purchased in 2005. That machine was a workhorse. It copied, scanned, faxed and printed. I loved the fact that it used a high-capacity laser toner cartridge which lasted a little over a year based on my output. When it started having ADF problems (paper not feeding properly) I purchased the 8480DN in December 2011 because I could not afford to be without a fax and scanner for more than a day. The ADF was fixed on the 8840 and it worked like a charm so I gave it to my sister to use as their primary printer. I love the 8480 for all the same reasons as the 8840, but it's also faster feeding and printing. It scans beautifully. The software that comes with the printer works great with Windows 7 and XP. Brother was ahead of it's competitors with this design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but noisy

By Gbobbs from Cumming, GA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been happy with the product overall. It does have a squeak in the feed and is noisy. Good buy for the money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-8480

By sandman61 from Le Mars IA. on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm very satisfied with this machine but than I only own Brothers products I've tried others in the past they really don't compare. I only regret is not getting a color but there'..s always next time .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Fax Machine

By SARSD from NC on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good machine - I have had no problems with it. Some problems with communicating with some computers. This could be a phone line problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Duplex copying

By Vern from Lorangere, LA on 10/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

NOT AT ALL satisfied with the duplex copying feature. Purchased, believing that it would copy both sides of a stack of 2-sided documents. WRONG! Brother's 2-sided copying can only be performed on 1 document at a time. Very dissatisfied. Brother, to me, has deceitful marketing tactics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Workhorse

By OCPharmacy from San Juan Capistrano, CA on 06/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We own several Brother printers in our pharmacy. This one is located in the pharmacy area to print reports, handle faxes, send out faxes, and make copies. The staff and I have no complaints. I it's an extremely resilient printer. The one issue I might have is that when two jobs are sent to the printer, the printer gets confused and wants us to use the manual tray rather than queuing the jobs, but I don't want to hold that against the hardware - I think that's probably an issue on the computer side. anyway, great buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer/Fax/Copier

By Powakee from Las Cruces, NM on 03/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my first one of these printers about 18 months ago. I run a small civil law office which requires about 3 times the paperwork of regular law offices. This printer/fax/copier is simply the best workhorse printer I have ever had. The bonus is the fax and scanner and the BONUS BONUS is the auto-doc feeder. There just isn't anything bad about this printer. The toner and laser drum thing are reasonably priced and they last a long, long time. I love it and I think BROTHER has one of THE BEST products on the market with this machine. I love it!!! I love it!!! I LOVE IT!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother should support their support web site

By PrinterGuru from Chattanooga, TN on 02/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It would lose the date and time setting when turned off. This was due to outdated firmware. (To check what version firmware the printer has, push the asterisk * and pound # keys simultaneously.) The original unit came with "R" version firmware. Brother's support representatives in PHILIPPINES wanted me to take it in to have the battery replaced. I said no. Brother's web site doesn't even have the updated firmware listed for download. I took the printer back to where I purchased it and swapped it for another unit. The new printer has "S" firmware. Problem solved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent multi-purpose m/c with a moderate scanne

By ruchika123 from Austin, TX on 01/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this m/c for quite a bit now and the printer, copier and fax work amazing. However, the scanner is not good at all. It does scan but the image/ pdf is v hazy. So buy at your own risk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine up to 100,000 pages

By joyb from Tennessee on 01/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine has been great for 2 1/2 years. Replacing the drums and toners were expected periodically, but now I have reached the 100K mark and the fuser and laser needs to be replaced as well as the paper feeder kit. Brother advised me to consider purchasing a new machine since the replacement parts and labor to fix will most likely be more expensive. What a waste! Brother does not even sell these items to consumers. I was advised to contact the nearest authorized service technician about 40 miles away. I am very disappointed with Brother to have such a great machine for only 100K pages!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Class Printer

By Robo from Jackson Hole, WY on 11/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have a 3 person law firm and these are the computers we have elected to have at home as we lots of work there. I've taken them on the road to trials. They travel well. Maintenance is easy; Its been three years since we bought the first Brother close to the same model number. I can't say enough good things about these printers. A great buy for a small company or family. I use the scanner often as its easier to email than fax these days.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice machine.

By cecp from South Dakota on 10/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this for about 3 months. Works great. Haven't figured out the duplex copying yet but will keep trying. Overall I really like this machine. Fast printing, very good copies, alot of options for paper size and quality. Also use the fax with no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can do PDF's!

By Magnificat from Undisclosed on 10/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I prefer Brother printers over pretty much all other business printers for many reasons -- one of the main ones is that there software and drivers tend to work well WITHOUT interfering with the rest of the system (unlike those from another printer manufacturer whose name begins with H). Also, In response to the other reviewer who said the printer cannot do multiple page scans into a single file, it is just that he doesn't know what he is doing. All you have to do is either create a custom scan type or change the output of the scan to file to either PDF or TIFF and it does multiple page scans from the ADF just fine. And if you check the double sided button it will do double sided scans from the ADF to a multi-page PDF file as well. This is one of the main reasons I buy the entire MFC-8x80 series of printers in the first place.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great choice for an All-in-one

By FDOT6 from Miami, FL on 10/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is fast and the scanning features are very good. The price range is affordable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's great so far!

By Apogee from Conover, NC on 10/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I work for a small business, and this printer has been very easy to set up and use. We have the printer connected to a wireless router, and it's very easy to use all the functions from several different computers. Instillation was a breeze. The scanning software is easy to use as well. We have Microsoft XP home and 7 pro on our computers and everything works great. From reading some reviews I thought the scanner was going to be a bit of a pain, but it's really not. All that is necessary is to put the paper or photo in either the auto feeder or on the glass plate, select the computer, and then press start. Or you can go back to your computer and start the scanning process from there. The software that comes with the printer will also alow you to turn scanned documents into Word or Excel documents. Also, I read a review about someone having problems with large faxes falling off the printer, but there is a flap that you can pull up to keep the paper from doing that. Faxes come in clearly as well, and I like that the printer will ring for incoming faxes. Our old one did not do that. This machine is replacing a Cannon multifunction device for us, and so far I have like all the features of this one better. I also read reviews that said it was very loud, but it just sounds like a normal printer to me. Weve had it up and running for about two weeks, and its been great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Impressed

By cw155 from Brighton, MI on 10/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We had done lenghty product comparisons and read tons of reviews and decided on the Brother MFC-8480DN. We had experienced fax problems with our previous HP mfc and had to change. I continue to be impressed after a month of using this product. Not one missed fax or a problem sending faxes. The software was easy to install and everything worked perfectly in less than 30 minutes. The scanning software is great and very fast. I prefer using it over our adobe acrobat software. The print and copy functions are also very fast and the pages look great. Very happy with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very surprised with quality and performance

By PSSunshine from Palm Springs, CA on 10/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first venture away from an HP printer (in 25 years). We have a busy, 2-person insurance office and I have been very pleasantly surprised at the ease and quality of my Brother printer. I read many, many reviews and looked at the printer next to an HP and decided to give it a try. Have not tried duplex printing yet, and yes, the envelopes do wrinkle (no so much if you let them go straight through to the back of the printer). There were comments that it was noisy, but I haven't noticed it being any louder than my old printer. Set up was a breeze, under 5 minutes - extremely happy with the purchase. Scanning is great and easy to accomplish and quality of scanned item is great. I would definitely recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By MasterKiller32 from Miami, FL on 10/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best printer i've ever owned, is really fast and does with is suppose to do. I love it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really like machine 8480dn

By CCVernetti from AZ on 09/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my Brother MFC8480dn now for over a year and use it for business 5 days a week, I have been very pleased with the scanning and the help you get if you need extra info or downloading problams come up. The machine is speedy and just as efficient as stand alones and seems to keep up with whatever I throw at it. I have never used the fax because I have an online fax system but all other functions are great. Would highly reccommend this machine for anyone looking for handy and reliable. Thanks CC


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice

By CindyG from Fremont OH on 09/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was an economical choice and a great one! We are a small real estate office. I use the copy and scan features of the machine many times each day. We already have a dedicated fax line to another machine, so do not use this feature. The copies are crisp, quick and the machine is quiet. The scan feature works great. Very satisfied with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as expected

By Vanb from Rochester, NY on 09/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found the setup to be easy and this machine works as expected. It's our first Brother machine and we are very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Feelings on my new purchase

By Sabino from Tucson AZ on 08/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Overall I am very happy with my purchase at this point. I am new to the Brother brand and had reservations regarding my purchase so I would like to hold my final review until I have had and used this product for a longer period of time. However, at this time I do have two comments. First, I am disappointed at the lightness of the print. I would expect a laser printer to print more clearly and darker. second, I was not aware at the time of purchase that I would have to be replacing the drum periodicdally as to just replacing the toner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Purchase

By TripleL from Undisclosed on 08/08/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product for a home based business. I have used it for one month. The copies are ok and it will fax. To set up the scanning process is difficult to figure out and I still can not scan. When printing envelopes they come out so wrinkled you can not use them. I may be returning the machine to Brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING!!!

By GU01 from Garden City, GA on 07/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I see that everyone writes a full page to describe their experience with this machine. I can say it in just one word...well, actually two, LOVE IT!!!! I do not suffer any paper jams, delays, technical issues, etc...this Brother is a very dependable and durable machine. Our office "LOVES IT" so much, we now have 3/4 Brother all in one machines...only one more to replace!!! I say it is a definite MUST HAVE!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Typical Brother - Good Mechanics, Poor Software

By Mensanto from Undisclosed on 02/20/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought a Brother MFC 8480DN, because I needed a black-only printer with a large capacity laser toner cartridge, to help keep printing costs down. This is a nice, fast printer. It is moderately useful as a fax machine, and useless as a scanner, which is what should be expected from Brother, since they do all of their development in hardware, and almost none in software. (Hey Brother, can you guys imagine what your machines would sell for if they had decent software?) Anyway, you can scan a single page document, but only in .jpg format. This is the same problem that every other Brother MFC machine that I purchased had, which is why I returned them for refunds. If you try to scan a multiple page document, you will get multiple one-page documents in .jpg format, and nothing can be done about it, given the poor customer support. I use the brother as a network printer, plugged directly into my wireless router, and it prints great with both MAC and PC computers. The scanning is the same with both styles of computer, though, one-page documents only. And by the way, you need to re-load the driver software every time you re-start the computer, for some computers, in order to scan. If the scanner software is installed though, you can scan a single page document directly from the Brother MFC 8480DN, by selecting the computer from the list on the Brother MFC 8480DN. That feature seems to work. Also, other non-Brother software will allow you to change the .jpg scanned documents to .pdf, or whatever you like, but it will still be just a one-page document. Everything mechanically on the Brother MFC 8480DN works fine. I didnt use the envelope printer yet, but according to what I read, you just need to release the two blue switches in the rear of the unit, feed the envelopes from the front bypass tray, and realize that they will print and pop out of the rear of the machine. The best printers I ever owned by far have always been Brothers, and this one is no exception. Scanning multiple page documents however is handled by a different brand. The final issue is with the fax. I like that this Brother MFC 8480DN allows me to listen to the phone line for the first few seconds of the call, to hear what is on the other end, so that I can diagnose a failed fax problem. I don't like that when other faxes on the same line try to send, this Brother MFC 8480DN prints them. I dont like that there is no decent record kept of whether a fax was sent successfully, unless I opt to print a full-page report for every fax. Great printer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed bag

By Satheart from Colorado on 09/07/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The 84801DN is the second Brother MFC I've owned, but has been very disappointing. Every envelope I've printed, and I've tried half a dozen different types, has come out so wrinkled I'm embarrassed to mail it. My flat papers have had no troubles. I e-mailed tech support and had no response. Also, the Low Toner message appeared, and within 15 minutes of additional printing (and during the same appointment) the toner ran completely out. Finally, the cords are located directly above the through printer feed in the back, in the path and in the way of the paper which should feed through the machine. I had none of these problems with my MFC, the predecessor generation to the 8480DN.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A workhorse MFC

By JazzyJeff from North Florida on 09/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a great all-around printer. And the advanced networking and software allow our office to send faxes from our desk and not have to get up and go to the machine. This is our second Brother MFC and will be buying more in the furture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By Rocky from San Saba, TX on 07/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is a work horse! We process more documents faster than before with less errors and at less expense. Scanning has worked well whether in image or OCR form. We appreciate that the fax scans pages before sending to free up wait times we had before. The networking feature allows us to print from several stations. We are very happy with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Well Satisfied With Printer

By gene12 from Huntsville, Alabama on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is our 2nd office network printer, one is Color and one is black-white. The printer performs well on our network, and is economical to operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good purchase, with qualifications

By Curley from Undisclosed on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am upset that I didn't know that for a few more dollars I could have had the double sided model for faxing and scanning. For some reason scanning still eluded me for simplicity. I can not use it well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By pbdos from New Bedford, MA on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been purchasing brother printers/MFC for quite some time. I have had great luck with the Brother machines. I do a lot of printing, so I researched the machines to find the ones that had high capacity yield toners. This machine is great as the high capacity is 8,000 pages, which works for me. I also have the Brother HL-5370 DW and it uses the same toner cartridges. The printer is fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the excellent product

By Nawaab from Northport, AL on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very satisfied with my purchased. Not only cost effective, but excellent performance in every aspect. Toner last very long, infact orignal toner still in place, after ptinting over 2,000 copies. Very fast copier after frist copy. Warrenty for 3 more years extremely reasonable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Oustanding Multifunction Device

By distancehiker from Family use -- 6 family members on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed an excellent scanner to go with ABBYY FineReader10, a high end Optical Character Recognition software. I have a Brother ML-1440 that has given nearly 8 years of productive usage and my wife has a MFC-7420 attached to her workstation. We needed a network device that the four kids could use. The MFC-8480DN really fits the bill. It is regularly used by multiple family members for copying, scanning, and printing. Brother's one year warranty is just as good as their hardware. I have since seen the 8480 models in a lot of offices so this may be a bit of overkill for home usage, but we love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An pretty good purchase

By maralti from Maplewood, NJ on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set-up was not difficult, although I was worried, as my home office is Mac based. The only real problem is the confusing duplex interface - the machine can be programmed through the keys, via the Brother software interface, or via the print window of the current program. It's very difficult to print double sided for just one job - you need to check all the various methods to see what's checked, or not, or what is applied automatically. Very confusing. Next, normal 20 lb copy/print paper simply won't work in this machine - every other page causes a jam. I finally tried 24 lb paper, considerably more expensive - but it seems to have solved the problem. But, the extra expense offsets the savings of printing double sided. I should say that some features I know i will use constantly, such as the booklet printing function, works very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An OK printer

By dallasschatz from Colorado Springs, CO on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Squeaks, squeaks, squeaks when it prints even after I took it in to get fixed. Prints really fast for a minute or two and then it stops to cool down. If it doesn't stop it sloowwwws way downnnnn. The 32 pages per minute is for about a minute or two and then you are toast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Home Office machine

By Rich from Dallas, TX on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-8040DN is a good choice for a home office. It prints well, even signatures show up crisp and clean. It copies well, and scans well, signatures show up crisp and clean on scans too. The fax from computer function is a pretty smart feature, and a great supply saving feature. There is no need to print a cover sheet, print the document, load both into the ADF, enter the phone number, push send, wait. Faxing from the computer saves time and money. The high yield toner cartridges last forever. The box says up to 8000 copies from one cartridge. My first initial thought was that this is a lot of hype. It isn't. My only small issue is with the auto document feeder, from time to time, it wants to grab more than the top sheet to feed, and sometimes it will not feed straight so copies come out at an angle. Over all this is a great home/office machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Satisfied

By zfisher from Nacogdoches, TX on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using this now for six months, and it has performed flawlessly all the way. Very convenient having anyone in the house able to print over the network. Excellent quality and fast printing. Scanning is effective with many options. Fax performs flawlessly. No problems with any functions. Was extremely easy to set up the software on my Windows XP system. Not so easy on my daughter's 64-bit Windows 7 laptop--had to download the driver. With so many people now buying 64-bit, you would think HP would have included that on the CD, but at least it was easy to download and install.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Problems

By DDH1 from Springfield, VA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looks to be a great printer. I've had it now for about a month. Easy setup; everything works fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved