Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC8950DWT » 43 Reviews

Brother Mfc-8950dwt Laser Multifunction Printer - Monochrome - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 42 Ppm Mono Print - 42 Cpm Mono Copy - Touchscreen - Automatic (MFC8950DWT) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 43 reviews)

67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase and Service

By NicI from Ontario, Canada on 09/30/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had the MFC-8510DN for only a couple months when we needed to change the toner. After doing so the printer would only print blank pages. Went through the "LiveChat" option to find a resolution and it was finally concluded that it was a machine malfunction. Was told that I would receive a call in two hours to find out how a replacement machine would be sent.....4 hours later received a call from a rep, went through the steps necessary to find out the machine could not be sent our by the US location. Had to contact Brother Canada "LiveChat" and go through the process again. Anyways finally after new machine was sent to incorrect address finally received a replacement. Hopefully this machine lasts longer than two months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not BUY! Fuser issue on this generation

By JIM79 from Washington DC on 09/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have installed over 50 of these in the field since they came out (had been installing previous generation 8480/8860), more than half have been replaced due to a fuser related issue, some happening within months of purchase with very low volume printing. Text start coming out fuzzy and blurry on ALL prints. All printers have been MFC-8510DN, I'm sure other models in this product line will also have the issue. Brother does everything in their power to refuse warranty repair, buyer beware!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Workhorse

By JustaBuyer from Toronto, ON on 09/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we have several of these in a warehouse environment, and they take the abuse day in and day out. I initially installed it as a printer, but the *USERS* figured out scanning on their own - the user interace is just that easy. We used to have IT change toners and drums, but the users have figured out how to do that, and just let us know when its time to order more. great printer, great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Think 2wice

By Paulram from Toronto, Ontario on 09/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good speed of scanning Good Speed of printing including double sided Poor of copying original document, either flat bed or Auto Document Feeder. Cannot control of the toner used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

stinks

By rlt666 from Undisclosed on 08/17/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Cannot scan from other computers . Tech service cannut help


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By NJnick from NJ on 07/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an old printer I inherited from a business and put on my home PC. There were some issues installing it ( due to corruption in windows 8) but tech support was able to get it printing but not scanning. After reloading Windows, scanning came back fully functional. Now works great for home use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable Machine

By BigAl86 from Pittsburgh PA on 06/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good reliable MFC for small office printing/faxing/scanning. I have about 5 of these in smaller offices and they have proven to be a very good purchase. I have had very few issues in the past and will continue to purchase this unit while it is available. Compatible with my ERP system as an additional backup printer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good machine!

By DocPrepper from Undisclosed on 06/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall great printer and scanner. A bit slow on the scanner side but does the job we need it too. We print/scan roughly 3500 pages of material per week and we are happy with our Brother MFC-8950DW. In addition, we use the super high yield toner cartridges and they are absolutely worth the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for a small business

By AnytimeRealty from North Port FL on 06/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You need a professional to set up scan to email feature. The printer status shows offline sometimes and my other printers never did that so I changed the sleep setting to 90 min which is the max and that problem may of gone away. Besides that this printer is great for a 15-20 person office. I cna print from my cell phone which is cool


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-8950DWT

By aloanofficer from Bakersfield, CA on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely worth the money. Only 1 thing I would change is when letter paper runs out there is no notice, automatically switches to legal sized printing. Other than that a great machine. I will never go back to HP printers again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer!

By DrJim from La Palma, California on 04/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used Brother products for over 10 years now and am blown away at their reliability, and they just do what you want them to do! I love the ability to scan to a file for many reasons - storing vital records in a PDF format, taking such large documents as taxes and scanning them right to a PDF file is a breeze. Printing is exceptional and dependable as well. No printing from my iPhone is just icing on the cake!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By JoePa from Washington on 03/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer new, thinking I would get a full toner cartridge included. Unfortunately Brother sent it wih a cartridge with barely enough to print just under 800 copies. When I let Brother know they wanted me to call then have someone call back to "troubleshoot" the problem. The problem is simple the cartridge was short and do something about it. I don't have time to talk to someone who may or may not believe what I am saying. they lost me for the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer but stops working often

By ChurchOffice from Canton, IL on 02/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well made printer 2 years old - stops working often and we have to open and close front/rear doors to get the operator panel to turn on. Problem occurs about once a week????


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works awesome and prints ...

By Anonymous from Miami,FL on 01/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works awesome and prints fast !! would recommended to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another terrific Brother MFC.

By KLDriver from San Francisco, CA on 01/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This top-tier Brother mono MFC-9850DWT replaced a worn-out MFC 8640DN: this one's a step up with its improved duplex copier and improved print quality. I have three current Brother printers at home to compare against our office that has Canon and HP printers and copiers. I chose Brother for my personal home usage because of its optimum quality and value - that says it all...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well... while it lasts

By JRson from Texas on 11/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have two of these and they do work well (nice features and speed) for about a year and a half, but then they start printing very poor quality and then eventually start locking up at the fuser. We've already decommissioned one for a different MFC and recently we had the other start going out and locking at the fuser. We decided to look online and replaced just the fuser and it started working like it was brand new and for fraction of the cost for a replacement MFC. The Fuser seems to be the problem so we might buy another replacement fuser and get the other one working for at least a year until that fuser starts going. Hopefully Brother will find a fix for the fuser or improve the quality so it doesn't fail so soon. There was still half of the life remaining on the locked up fusers when they died.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Honeymoon is over

By DonnaM from Pennsylvania on 10/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine worked great for awhile but the honeymoon is definitely over. Increasingly I get a message that it is "unable to print". I was connecting wirelessly so I thought perhaps that is the issue (interference??). I just connected with USB cable and nothing has improved. Paper jams quite often; constantly have to shut-off and turn-on. Scanning is slow, especially duplex. Just bought a stand-alone scanner to speed up my workflow and that works great. Duplex printing is also quite slow. Sorry I bought this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Starts Great but goes downhill

By DMBrother from Wichita, KS on 10/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been using brothers for sometime now for the company. The products have been good until this model. This model has gone anywhere from a week to a year and a half before it goes down the drain. The papers start to wrinkle and jam. The most pages printed on all of them have only been right at 20,000 so there is no reason for failure at that point. Very disappointed. Switching back to Dell AIO with 5 year Pro Support Next Day Service for less than I have been buying these.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works fine--for a short amount of time

By anony from Undisclosed on 06/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When new, the printer and copier worked fine--speed was good, quality was fine. The process of making menu selections was a little excessive. Then after about 15 months, printing quality deteriorated, lines showed up in scans, and paper output started wrinkling regularly. We could not rely on the copier after that, and there was no replacement part that could take care of the problem in an affordable way. It was very reasonably priced for all of its functions, so it may make sense to purchase with an extended warranty. But it seems wasteful if if the printers aren't made to last.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Medical Office

By MindFulB from Columbia, SC on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is the protection of patient's records with the use of this all in one device. Our office staff is truly amazed at the user friendly ability to do everything needed with this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer with some flaws

By LawOffice from Beverly Hills, CA on 12/31/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer started out to be a fine printer; no issues printing, printing is clear and pretty fast, fax worked great, and it seemed to be an amazing printer. Now that I have had this printer for several months, I have had the fuse replaced once by Brother (it started off with prints not being as clear, then to jamming every once in a while to jamming at least once a day, to jamming every single piece of paper, at which point I contacted Brother and they replaced the fuse). The other issue I have with this printer is the copying aspect: when copying/scanning double sided pages, it is extremely slow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By DSPesq from Undisclosed on 11/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it and my staff loves it. Setup is difficult and PaperPort ripped out all Nuance products already installed on my machine. That I did not love. Now I have to pay to replace working Nuance programs. Think carefully before you install the suite if you have other Nuance products already installed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By ChiroCare from Undisclosed on 11/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is great, the office upgraded to this model for the 2nd paper tray capabilities. We use medical bill forms and it is nice to not have to keep switching paper. Its is much quieter, the machine shuts down quickly and it is fast. Just a note, the machine itself is the MFC-8950DW, which is the 1 drawer machine, the only thing that makes it a MFC-8950DWT is the 2nd tray that is just added on to the machine. I thought we got the wrong machine when it arrived because it was in a huge outter box with MFC-8950DWT, then it was in an inner box that was marked MFC-8950DW. There was a seperate box that had the additional paper tray, but it really wasnt clearly marked when ordering or opening, we thought the other box with the tray was the toner. So just be aware of that the machine itself is marked MFC-8950DW. Havent used the scanner yet, but since its wireless, seems easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellencies

By RAPIDMEX from Philadelphia ,Pa on 10/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

5 Stars the best very nice and easy Top quality excellent


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC8950-DWT

By Remmy from Fort Worth, TX on 10/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far the equipment meets my expectations and I am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC 8950DWT

By Omega5 from Texas on 09/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed this for the mult tray for the ability to print legal doc's and so far it has been doing great. It has been only a few weeks but so far I had no issues and love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a Wonderful Machine!!

By HLeRoux from Los Alamitos, California on 09/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fabulous piece of equipment. Fast, excellent print quality. Fantastic paper capacity. Recommend it highly. Best machine I have ever purchased. Well worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Adequate

By dmbrfld from Tucson, AZ on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

MFC 8510 DN is adequate for a small office, would not serve as the only printer. Monthly reports need to be printed from one of my programs, this printer does not recognize all of the reports and shows an error of "out of paper" when there is plenty of paper in the machine. Tech support stated that my program needed an adjustment not the printer, but that was not true. I had to switch to another printer in order to print the reports which this Brother could not recognize. Also the output tray in front of the printer needs a design modification, prints need to be brought further out of the printer for easy removal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A work horse

By Nurse from Redding, CA on 09/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer works all day long at a busy medical clinic with 6 different computers in the network- printing and FAXing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Chefdoc from North Carolina on 09/10/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Brother products have always been of high quality and I have never had any problems until this model. The printer is excellent, but the copy quality is dark and blurred, especially when fine print is involved. The contrast, brightness, and quality settings seem to have little affect on the copy outcome. My new Model 8510 had this problem, and the replacement factory refurbished model was no better. I would definitely NOT buy this product again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what it used to be

By Carminjt from Southfield, MI on 08/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We had stuck to brother as a company for quite some time. The Brother MFCs we bought had always packed a lot of value - this one though, if I could return them, I would. We purchased two of them, within three months, we were already performing warrantied maintenance (that leaves us without a printer for a week) on one and the other looks like it will need it too. The software is clumsy and almost useless, the web interface is slow, and cumbersome. Lastly, you can NOT expand the printer to use a second tray. It comes with one tray and that is it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my work is easier

By sacsue from Undisclosed on 07/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This equipment is efficient and takes less space. Will suite my office needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless

By Bigfoot3 from Hewlett, ny on 07/23/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wasted a lot of time trying to print on envelopes. The salesman told me I could print envelopes from 1 tray and stationary from the other.. I tried everything and it just wouldn't work. I called tech support for help and they told me that this monster of a printer can only handle 3 envelopes at a time.. Can't use them in a paper tray. I sent it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased

By Bridget from Brea CA on 05/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had Brother printers for many years. This is the first time I had one with the dual paper trays and I LOVE IT. I also love the fact that it prints both sides at one time. I am very pleased. I print flyers for work and even in the toner save mode, my prints come out beautiful, crisp, and clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice

By Mookie from Chic on 05/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only given this printer 4 stars instead of 5 because I've only printed to test it out, I haven't actually used it at this point. However, when programming it I think the instructions/manufacturer could have been clearer on the "air printing" and the type of internet would be necessary to use this feature. I found the description of this product to be misleading.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT BUY

By FUNNYBONZ from TX on 05/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS PRINTER IS GREAT. I HAVE BEEN USING BROTHER PRINTERS FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS. THIS IS THE FIRST ONE TO COME THE SECOND PAPER TRAY IN THE BOX. THE TRAYS ARE VERY LARGE, SO LESS LOADING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Features but Unreliable

By BUSYEA from RAMONA, CA on 04/07/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PRINTER HAS WONDERFUL FEATURES BUT THE GEARS FOR THE PAPER FEEDING MESSED UP AFTER ONLY 9 MONTHS. BROTHER CUSTOMER SERVICE SENT A REFURBISHED ONE BY UPS ONE-DAY DELIVERY BUT NOW I AM NERVOUS IF THIS ONE WILL HOLD-UP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By linperk from Hamden, CT on 04/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have only used for 3 days, but am very satisfied with machine. It prints very quicklyand the scanning feature is a plus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Customer Care

By JD710 from Undisclosed on 03/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We ordered the original printer from Costco online. Right out of the box there was a software problem that could not be fixed over the phone. Without hesitation, I was offered another new printer which was overnighted to my location. The replacement has worked flawlessly and the wireless feature adds benifits that makes the purchase even better. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE after the sale. Brother is a top notch company and has earned my respect and consideration for future purchases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRODUCT!

By defender777 from Chicago on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i am a solo practitioner lawyer in Chicago and I have to say that I just love this machine. It prints like a dream and the text output quality is very professional. It's exactly what i was looking for. I highly recommend this printer for those that require professional high quality output.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We love it!

By garth from Knoxville, Tn on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Now this is no commercial Laser printer...But we just bought our 2nd one because we like it so well! It has above avg speed in printing/scanning. I dont think you will be upset. Shop around the price on this has a big range! ;)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent - Should Have Bought It Years Ago

By Larryst from Northern Virginia on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Starts printing just seconds after turning on. Been working fine since first day. Lot less expensive in ink costs vs an inkjet per page and also because ink does not dry out which further adds to inexpensive per page costs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent "All in One"

By Selectronics from Waterford, Michigan on 11/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine does it all! It was simple to set up and network within our office. It's easy to use. You don't need the Manual to figure out how to use all the functions! It prints and copies faster than any machine we have ever used in our office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved