Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFCJ4610DW » 21 Reviews

Brother Mfc-j4610dw Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 35 Ppm Mono/27 Ppm Color Print - 20 Ppm Mono/18 Ppm Color Print [iso] (MFCJ4610DW) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By RichardR from Ontario, Canada on 11/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 4th Brother printer and replaces one I gave to my daughter. The others are a laser black ink only and an MFC at another location. One other was bought as a gift. I buy them because they work well and the price/value relationship is good. I needed to be able to print 11 x 17 posters and also found that the pass through feeder works much better for thicker paper than the trays. A 10.4 mil photo card stock feeds nicely in the pass through tray but causes problems in the regular trays. Like the other Brother machines, set up for wifi is fast and easy and the machine functions as I expected it to. I am not a high volume user but do use a lot of ink for the posters which come out great. I find that the FAST print mode works well for the posters although the colours are not as vibrant as the photo or normal print modes but much faster to print and seems to conserves ink. My only complaint about this printer (and all others) is that the cost of ink is unreasonable. I suppose that is where the printer companies make their profit and it enables them to keep the printer prices down. I have used inexpensive ink from Amazon as well and have not noticed any appreciable difference in quality or operation. All in all - this printer was a good choice for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By oldtelguy from Shorewood, IL on 08/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Based on good experience with an old Brother MFC8220 I bought two of these to replace two older HP L7590 printers that were just big headaches. I found the Brother set up to be easy, especially compared to all I had to do when I set up those HP printers. I've found print quality on plain paper to be quite satisfactory in both BW and color. I'll be looking forward to a good future with these new printers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORST PURCHASE EVER

By ADSnowden from North Las Vegas, NV on 07/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own three (3) other "Brother Printers which ALL were easy to set up and ALL the software utilities are FULLY OPERATIONAL. However, the MCF-J4610DW has been the WORST printer I have ever tried to set-up and use. The software is outdated and the utilities are NOT compatible with the WINDOWS 8 operating system which is a complete nightmare. Sometime the printer works but, most of the time it doesn't. Save yourself headaches and frustrations by purchasing a newer model printer because this model is awful...Probably it was on sale...You get what you pay for and this Printer id garbage. BUY at your own risk..You've been warned!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Look

By Lefty80 from Augusta, GA on 07/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy so far, smaller footprint than my MFC-665CW, very fast printing. Like it a lot so far - just installed it yesterday.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By Chris1946 from Snohomish, Wa. on 06/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Setup was easy, directions are a little vague, but once I figured it out everything went smooth. Good printer, better than most.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice features but has technical limitations

By iSnohomish from Snohomish, WA on 06/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The good: -- Scanner is aweseome and exactly what I needed. -- scan to FTP is nice -- I typically scan in documents and receipts from time to time and this is handy and can send straight to my home NAS. The unexpected: -- This thing chews through ink whether you are using it or not. I previously had a laser black and white printer. I replaced the toner 3 times through its useful life (quite a few years and moves). I was hoping that I would get decent ink-life from this printer and I'm sorely disappointed in that department. It's not particularly a problem with this model but rather a limitation with having a liquid ink. Overall: -- Happy with the scanning capabilities. -- Happy with the print quality. -- disappointed in how much I need to spend in ink whether I print 1,000 pages or 10 pages in a 3 month window.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New User

By RCTRMC from Southern California on 06/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was easy to setup and install. Print quality is good and the menu was easy to navigate. Color quality is good. Our normal use is a few a day up to 250 copies and we haven't used it for the bigger job yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK

By GinsHouse13 from MS on 05/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm not as happy with the brother as I was with my HP 7700. It didn't print from my iPad using print ' n share app. Had to go to web page and download a weprint server,now I have to make sure my computer is on and the weprint server is up and running, its just a hassle. I can print, supposedly as I haven't tried it yet, on the big ledger paper (11 x 17). But no, I don't care for it. Will probably get used to it as I gave away my HP, or if not I'll go get my HP back from my son and let him have the Brother. I can always go to his house to print big stuff if need be. It makes noise when getting paper for printing, and I don't care for the landscape paper trays.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Garbage

By DirectSalesMom from Round Lake, IL on 04/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you are looking to do something other than print on 8x11 paper and scan, look elsewhere. I have had this machine (by the way my second one) for only 4 months. On both machines it tells me that I have paper jams all the time and I have to constantly manipulate it and try again. I cannot print on 4x6 or 5x7 paper it thinks those sizes are undetectable. The first machine I called about the representatives only told me to unplug it like that was going to be a solution. I have 2 in home businesses and I am a mom with projects. This machine is ridiculous. I need to print stickers and photos, and other advertising I cannot waste my time with constantly cutting paper and throwing most of it away because it cannot detect the paper size. It also has problems with 8x11 label sheets. SAVE your time and get something else


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outsatnding wireless all-in-one printer

By rickyd56 from Detroit, MI on 03/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother MFC-J4610DW printer is an excellent wireless all-in-one printer that provides ease of installation and wireless connectivity. The ability to store 250 pages of paper is another nice feature. It comes with software tools that make the printer that much more functional (e.g. PaperPort). The only CONS: 1) I was not able to load the PaperPort tool on Windows 8 with the CD or online download from Brothers. I had to perform a download from Microsoft to get it to install. I have IT background and this was not a big issue, but for others it might be. 2) The case being plastic is a bit cheesy. I would have preferred a stronger plastic for the trays. Overall, I would recommend this printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tough on #10 Envelopes

By JPinLJ from Undisclosed on 03/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is "business smart(?)" but clumsily prints #10 envelopes.... Wish i had known this ahead of time....... I have to leave off the return address part...and use a sticker..... Not an efficient way to do things........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value

By WaltB from NW Indiana on 02/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am quite satisfied with this printer for home use. I had a 7860dw that was a workhorse. Unfortunately , it developed a dark line down the middle when copying or scanning. Bought the 4610dw as a replacement. I like the way it set up (except for the software which took forever, but did work,) Have a fully functioning machine, color, cloud printing at a very reasonable price. Don't know how long print supplies will last, but if that is ok, I made a good decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Multi-Function Printer is useless

By KevinJ from AL on 02/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been dealing with this garbage printer for two months and have yet to print one page without a paper jam. Even if there is no paper jam, the printer thinks there is and give the error. I fail to see the point of a WAN-compatible printer if one must cross the room for every page printed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Info

By plugger from Undisclosed on 02/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer works great in all phases. Easy install and usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New Printer

By Zizzer59 from Undisclosed on 01/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set up was easy by following the step by step instructions. I have sent faxes, copied articles from emal, but have not scanned. I am very low tech and this printer has not been a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Feature rich printer

By Ernieb1940 from Bolingbrook,IL on 11/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I decided to replace my old Brother MFC-5860CN with a newer MFC-J46010DW model because in allowed me to use my iPhone to print using Wi-Fi. The smaller footprint allowed me to relocate the printer from under my desk to sit side by side with my desktop computer. One drawback was the initial startup printer noise which was louder being closer on top of the desktop. Printer speed was quite a bit faster, and the other features make this a great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jury is still out

By GDaddy from Central Texas on 10/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Haven't printed any booklets yet, but not impressed with the speed. Hoping I will like it at least as much as my laser.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer (former Epson lover)

By bgfaulkner from Dallas TX on 05/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really an excellent printer and scanner. Auto Document Feeder is fast and quiet. Only jam I have had is with paper with holes punched across the short side. Printer is very fast and quiet. Have not had any color projects, yet, so I cannot speak to color quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Difficult to use

By Galan from Marietta, GA on 04/23/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have use several Brother printers currently, and in the past. Have always felt they were excellent, and easy to use. However, this printer is not easy to use, and their owners manual leaves much to be desired!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this machine!

By Monimay from Lynnwood , WA on 04/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own my own business and needed to replace my HP all-in-one. It had been so hard to set up I had never used all the functions. Still, I was disappointed that it was dying after only 3 years, so was seriously looking at other brands. Tech is not my thing so I figured on 1/2 a day for me get this running and figure out all it's functions. It took MUCH LESS than that! I did read the instructions, which were easy to understand. I didn't even have to call tech support, and had everything working all by myself. My only regret is that I did not replace that clunky HP much earlier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By wyosue from Wyoming on 04/14/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had to return this printer because it would not accept half sheets in the manual feed tray in the back. Also, the print was not quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved