Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFCJ5910DW » 148 Reviews

Brother Mfc-j5910dw Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 35 Ppm Mono/27 Ppm Color Print - 12 Ppm Mono/10 Ppm Color Print [iso] (MFCJ5910DW) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 148 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I'm So Disappointed...

By frontporchphilosopher from Undisclosed on 08/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

with this machine. Have owned it a little over 2 years and while it worked wonderfully at first, "things" began to happen. We had the infamous paper jam issue. We were told it was out of warranty, over 1 year at that time, and recommended to take it to an authorized service center. Did so and spent almost as much fixing it as it cost. Felt like an idiot but at least it worked. Now it won't accept cartridges. Called for the umpteenth time after buying one set of Brother inks and when they didn't work, bought a second set. Now service says maybe the sensor is bad and only suggestion is to take it again to be serviced. I don't think so. Maybe we had a fluke, BUT WE WILL NOT BUY another Brother product. Others seemed to have had paper jam issue as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed!

By DebAZ from Undisclosed on 08/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The color on this printer is very disappointing. It's rather drab and lack luster. I'm returning it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By Home1492 from Georgia on 07/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent printer with easy to understand instructions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Early impressions

By bogenschutz from Orange County, California on 07/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the printer for a short period of time. Thus far, the machine has been working almost flawlessly. I don't often use it, but I do appreciate having the 11 x 17 printing capability available. The duplex printing I have used and find to be very desirable to cut my paper usage in half on longer documents. This printer is a great improvement over the previous Brother printer that I had owned for some six years before the printhead finally gave out. Overall, I've been very happy with Brother products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Eats ink

By opacliff from Mesa, Arizona on 07/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Called your staff for advise, ref printer requiring so many in cartridges, when I print few photos and only plain text messages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good printer, easy to use.

By maryelaine from New Mexico on 06/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this printer for the crisp pages it turns out even though it is a little noisy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible

By matisman from rockville centre, new york on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the machine is horrible. I got about six replacemnts over the year. If this wa an example of what brothers products are we would never buy another product. HOWEVER since i have MFC7860 machine and I love it. You also have the BEST customer service. I will therefore assumme that MFC 5910 is just a bad model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer after Software update make it BETTER

By WHCIII from Plano, TX on 03/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for over 2 years now, and it has been a great printer thus far. The software was querky at first to maintain wireless connectivity. Since a recent update, I have had no problems maintaining connectivity. The print quality is excellent and the Duplex is a great addition. I highly recommend the high capacity cartridges if you do a lot of printing. This is my fifth Brother printer and all have performed flawlessly. My first MFC model just died after 5 years of regular use. it died after a long distance move so I think the move was the culprit here. It only died after another year and a half of more usage. Brother makes a really good printer and the ink price is what makes them a great deal. They just keep on working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most frustrating printer I have ever owned!

By Flozers from Littleton, CO on 03/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The roller went bad so we called Brother. They had us take it to a repair place. After they had our machine for 10 days, we got it back. Within two weeks, it stopped working again. We got a replacement machine and 6 weeks later the roller went bad. Go figure! Had to bring it in for repair just like the first one. They had our printer for TWO whole WEEKS. We now have it back and it is working fine. You may say, GREAT, BUT I am the one that had to do without my All in One Printer for 3 1/2 weeks and still try to run a successful business. Try running your business without your all in one printer. I will never buy a Brother Printer again!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not sure about the Ink Jet

By BusyOffice74 from Arizona on 02/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For a busy office, the printer goes through too much ink. Given the nature of ink jets the ink can dry on the heads and then print poorly. We have found that we need to do a cleaning almost daily which really goes through the ink. I would love to see how a Laser printer would compare.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value printer

By esvbiz from San Diego, CA on 02/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this for home based business. Excellent value for all it does. Much quieter than our previous printer, holds good amount of paper as well. Only downside was we weren't able to find all ink cartridges in stock in a retail store, so we had to purchase on line. Just means we need to plan ahead due to shipping time since we can't simply run into a store to purchase. Good quality photo prints, although not the reason we purchase. We'd recommend it to small business owners.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Constant Jamming

By Yellowpillow from Columbus Ohio on 02/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I can get it to work its fine. It'll print fine until it needs new paper and then it's a gamble if it will feed it or not. I've spent two days working on it and an hour with Brother customer service. It's still not working and I have reports due - I should send Brother the printing bill from OfficeMax. Do not buy, rent or go into the same room with one of these printers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my Brother ...

By suz1117 from Hillsboro, MO on 01/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my Brother MFC-J8910DW Printer/Copier/Scanner.....I am a Realtor and it is very important to me to be able to scan a complete contract package, which can be up to 30 pages. This machine can do it and without any issues. I have owned Brother printers in the past and loved them too. It is a Great machine to have. The ink is not real expensive and it lasts along time, prints out really nice color, and is easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy

By Agilb from Undisclosed on 10/21/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Don't buy this printer if you plan on printing anything on med or higher card stock. It doesn't except it. Wish I knew before purchasing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed with printer

By Bigell from Pembroke Pines, Florida on 09/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Frequent paper jams. No instructions on how to increase speed of printing in black mode. Not happy with purchase. Great on ink use compared to HP


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this printer!

By KenW from Indianapolis on 09/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install and set up. I love being able to print both sides of the page to save paper. So glad I got this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever

By laguera7 from Normandy Park, WA on 09/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it! Best Printer I have ever bought! It does everything I need it to and more!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

printer

By 1955 from south branch on 09/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the printer very much havn't used it much but the times I did it printed great and fast. I only thing I had a problem with was setting up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-J5910DW

By maggie from Florida on 09/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned other Brother's copiers in the past and have been pleased with the results, and the performance of each one of them. This is my 4th Brother's and I am learning what functions best serve my needs. I am a very pleased with the product and also the customer service they offer to the product owners. I would highly recommend if considering a purchase, that Brothers' would be the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good decision I made!!

By Penn from Jacksonville, FL on 08/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I received my printer I immediately hooked it up (very simple) and started working all the features. Very easy to get to each one and easy directions to use. I really love my printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Hardware Poor Software

By J5910 from New Jersey on 08/04/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the printer because of its unbelievable price and impressive list of features. It was easy to install, and produces good print quality. However, ever since I installed this printer, I have started getting a message "Server Busy" when I start my Windows 7 PC. Initially I got scared thinking that my PC has been attacked by some virus. However, after reading various comments on web-sites found using Google search, it became clear that this problem is caused by Brother software. I installed this software upgrade hoping that this issue will go away, but it did not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use

By tjay from Palm Coast, Florida on 07/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Efficient printer that is easy to use. Does a really good job


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

was an exchange

By Preacher from Valdosta GA on 07/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love this printer and the one we had previously just broke and even though the warranty was expired Brother was kind enough and replaced it at no cost! Wonderful customer service!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

when it worked I was impressed

By brian77 from lubbock, Tx. on 07/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our electric suffered a lighting strike causing the gizzard of the printer to stop working. It was under warrantee, only 100 miles to the north or 100 miles to the west to a service center. Sent it north, took more 10 days for inspection and than 30 days to get the part. Had to purchase another printer. Happy with everything about the printer, its service that I question. I live in Lubbock, Tx. home of Texas Tech, 30,000 students. Brother should have a local warrantee center.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful...

By VistaShipper from Vista, CA on 05/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fabulous printer...Have absolutely no problems with it. Well maybe one... At one time I was printing my cell phone user manual which was about 50 pages at once and it did jam and the whole process stopped. I did unjam the papers and everything went ok. That was the only problem I ever had, but I do not print that many pages at a time everyday...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Printer

By Doc0 from Florida on 03/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this printer and would recommend this to anyone. When I was looking for an all in one printer I also looked at cost of replacement ink cartridge's. These cartridge's are inexpensive. My last printer cartridge's where expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The machine was easy to ...

By Redhead from Salt Lake City, Ut on 03/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The machine was easy to set up, initially on one computer, then on a home network. Have had no problems and am quite happy with the print quality. I am concerned about the sturdiness- it seems prone to breakage. It hasn't broken yet, but the output support looks like any rough treatment would break it. Over all I'm satisfied with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't buy

By hanh from pa on 02/24/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the printing quality is very bad. some it print ok some time no color print very slow. i just have it for couple month.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Two steps away from excellence

By Anonymous from SoCal on 01/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When this printer works properly, it is outstanding but the 2 problems I have very often are extremely annoying. 1. If you don't have the exact amount of paper, there are paper jams that require many steps but are actually just failure to feed. Often happens 2 or 3 times in a row before a proper feed. 2. Since it is a wireless printer one should be able to print at will. The printer will sometimes start on its own when there is a print command but quite often must be powered on manually before remote printing. It would be better if manual power on was never required for remote printing If these 2 problems didn't exist this would be a great product as it is now they are obstacles to overcome and try ones nerves.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good machine

By rudy11325 from Arlington, TX on 01/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is really large it works great with all PC's in the household but is not very good with Apple products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool w/ an "oops"

By LECAP from Colorado on 01/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall quite pleased w/ the printer and ease of set up and use, so far. One down side...the unit did not ship w/ the support/set-up materials, i.e. quick set up guide, user manual and software CD-ROM as listed on the box. Be sure to check box contents as soon as you purchase or be prepared to download everything yourself!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

does what I need

By wind from Undisclosed on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a little problem installing it at first, but it ended up being my usb cable was bad. Tech Support is fast at solving the problems, but it would help if they where open later in the day. the printer works great and is nice quailty and quite.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works for everything. Can't get scanning down

By LAnn from Sant Teresa, NM on 01/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have tried all functions and all work. I just am not sure how to scan to file and can't seem to fine where my scan went?!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine Except for Duplex Printing

By Bobb from Los Angeles, CA on 12/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this machine a lot better than the one that it replaced. The images on paper are flawless reproductions of the images on the computer monitor. The finished color copies that this machine produces are very realistic with regard to color intensity, whereas the replaced machine made the colors too intensely vivid. I like that the color ink cartridges are all separate from each other so that there is no wasted ink when replacing cartridges as often is the case with combined color cartridges. I like that the ink cartridges last longer than those of my previous machine and are less expensive to purchase. Also, I like that the blank paper supply drawer has a huge capacity (five times my previous machine). I don't like that, from my first attempt, I have been unable to use the Duplex Printing feature without having a paper jam; I gave up attempting to use it. This might be due to my inability to learn to use this feature properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO SO

By InkBall from Pensacola on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the limited time that I have owned my machine is seems very acceptable. except.......The construction is too bulky. It takes up most of the limited space we have in our computer rooms or corners of our extra room. If it was half the size it to be a greate buy. Without the FAX.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Issues with paper jamming

By dfrye from Atlanta, Ga on 12/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like the printer but do have several issues: 1: Biggest complaint is it easily jams. This is especially true with heavier paper like photo paper. Fanning the paper helps but can still jam. 2: After a paper jam you lose the page. It does not reprint it and it may start printing several pages later. This makes printing multipage documents harder since you have to figure out what pages are missing and have to deal with trying to print just the missing ones out. 2: The Google print support breaks easily. I'm constantly having to reconnect manually the Google print. It won't stay connected. It acts like it's connected but I can't print to it. I have to disable it and then enable it again to reconnect. (FYI, I had to upgrade the firmware with a download to get this feature.) I wish it had a manual page feed. Big pain to load a sheet of photo paper to get a quick photo. This is compounded by the issues with the paper jamming so much. I also don't like that it forces you to wait about 15 seconds after every copy. Makes copying multiple pages (that can't be fed via the document feeder) take a very long time. My old HP didn't do this. I talking about after the scanner has already homed the light bar. Defaults to FAX so that you have to press the copy mode button before you can press the copy start button. Drives my wife crazy. My old HP defaulted to COPY. We copy all the time. Hardly ever send a fax. Why is it defaulted to FAX? This has nothing to do with receiving a fax. I wished it would empty the ink cartridges before complaining about out of ink. Ink is expensive! Don't nag me (or my wife who nags me until the messages go away) until the cartridge is empty. I expect the printer to have enough ink to print for awhile after the cartridge is empty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase

By Orionssong from Undisclosed on 12/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer was easy to set up. I like the sizes of the paper it accepts. It is not as crisp as I expected, even on the BEST setting. But I have recommended it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Versatile All-In-One

By BigBobbyT from Maryland on 12/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got a really good buy on this printer about a year ago and it has performed extremely well. I have done everything except duplex printing, and I have no complaints about any of the features. I especially was impressed in being able to send print jobs from my IPad. Due to a router problem, I recently disabled the wireless and switched it to direct print from my desktop, and all the features (fax, copy, scan, and print) continued flawlessly. It's a great machine! The instruction book can be a little daunting for a casual user, which is why I only gave it four stars and not five!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all around

By helzol from Lake Elsinore, CA on 12/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had a Brother printer for over 6 years, but this new one has great features. The FAX works great, copies perfectly, but I have a problem with the scanner not communicating with my computer occasionally so I have to restart my computer. That can be inconvenient, but it works perfectly on restart. I haven't used any of the photo capabilities yet so I can't give an opinion. Set up was very easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best

By gemd from Norwalk, CT on 12/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best printers I had cant get use to any other brand


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Choice

By Internet from Wichita, KS on 12/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother Printer has helped in our company. Being able to print blue prints in 11 x 17 has really helped. Being able to scan straight to the computer was a real step up. Still learning how to use it but it has been a real step up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-J5910DW Printer

By 11x17PRINT from Florida on 12/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would have liked that the printer could scan 11x17 sheets. it only prints 11x17. The resolution settings need to be at the highest level to get a good quality print. It is a good printer for home use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my favorite

By pipernoter from Undisclosed on 12/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

had a lot of different printers, this ones the best, easy cartridge replacement, no problems


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By nate1023 from Undisclosed on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

print quality is good but tends to jam for no reason. inconvenient to load photo paper in the tray and tends to pick up more than one sheet when printing pictures. tray must contain only photo paper when printing pics. Same thing when printing on envelopes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth It's Price

By MrsBackInBusiness from Riverside, CA on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When the print head died on my previous printer, I searched for some time before buying this one. It seemed to have all the capabilities that I needed, and a few with which I was pleasantly surprised, such as two-sided printing. Although it is large, it performs very well and there was no difficulty in setting it up. Haven't had it for very long, but usually you can tell right away if you like a product or not. I like this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent purchase

By star from Florida on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The best all in one I've ever had. Hubby calls it our chipmunk lol. Moves soooooooooooo fast!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By lois4Him from Southeastern Kentucky on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this item for several months now. It has been used mainly for printing handouts for my weekly Bible studies, and the automatic duplex feature and collation are excellent helps. With my old printer I had to sit and wait for each side of each page to print and then manually turn the stack. Now I can get ready for work while it is printing and the studies are ready to just staple together and go. The only thing I don't like is that it is not as quiet as I would like. But the time and effort savings are more than worth the noise it does create.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't get any better!

By RRRon from Crystal Lake, IL on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Brother keeps on kicking and knocking others to the dirt. Totally ecstatic! I can network print from ipad & iPhone (notes, email, etc and 2 sided color no less) Greatest bargain for the money. My third Brother and I'll never stray. "I love my Brother"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By FCPrinter from Atlanta, GA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has performed well despite some initial hitches. This machine replaced a previous MFC-649CW that I loved because it was easy to print letter and ledger pages without changing the paper tray. However, the printing quality is good and it is a little faster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with purchase

By IanF from New Jersey on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got on sale at a great price. Wireless capability is excellent and works well with Windows 7. Have printed and scanned wirelessly with no problems. Print output is great - auto duplex printing on up to 11x17. Scanned images can be sent directly to PC of your choice from printer and show up immediately on that PC (Platen glass limits original size to 8.5 x 11). Copying is great. Auto Document Feeder works fine. Have not used FAX capability. Ink is very easy to load, lasts well and refills are available either from Brother or 3rd parties. Negatives: Paper tray is very flimsy - needs to be treated carefully or I can foresee it breaking in the future. Cannot load thick paper stock or envelopes from back of printer for straight line printing but can use from paper tray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer

By prairiedog from BOONVILLE , MO. on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did a lot of looking & have had 2 other printers, this does everything i need it to do & more. Set up was a snap, ink price is nice. I think brother puts the customer first. I have not set up wireless as I don't need it, but it is there if I need it. I like the fact that everything is in one machine, cleaned up my work space. Photo print is good, document printing is excellent. Glad I bought this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth every penny..

By JoeSki from Holiday. Florida on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Printer is worth every penny for it's quality and functionality. I saved TONS of paper with the "Duplex" feature. There are so many times where printing on both sides of the paper is not only saving paper, but is more functional when you are printing a book or brochure. Ink seems to go a long way too. The auto feeder is great for multi page faxes or scanning. All of this and a great price too... Highly recommend..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have one problem with ...

By reviewer1 from San Deigo, CA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have one problem with my unit. When I print addresses on envelopes, lines and streaks appear on the envelope. Otherwise, it has performed great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer, but a couple of negatives

By HarryC from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the J5910DW because I wanted duplex (two-sided) capability. It is quite large for a home printer, but does fit on my rollaround printer cabinet so that's not really a problem. Prints on both sides for regular paper, but won't do two-sided 4x6 cards. That's a negative for me, since my wife likes to have a printed copy of her recipes and some of them are more than one 4x6 page. I also miss the feature of my previous Brother printer that let me print 4x6 without totally changing the paper in the cassette (cards and photo paper were in the top of the cassette and could be printed simply by sliding the top of the cassette forward. Overall, I'm satisfied, though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all-in-one

By KPinNC from Norrth Carolina on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this MFC. I have retired my older photo printer and laser in favor of this machine. Print quality is great, as well as the scanner and fax. I love the multiple ways to feed the scanner, and the wireless works flawlessly, with my notebook as well as my phone and tablet. ONE complaint: I upgraded to Windows 8 on my notebook and the Brother drivers for the scanner function are not finished, therefor that function is kind of hit and miss. The drivers are due out in January, however.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's an Ok product

By Lava from So. Orange county on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this product for about 6 months. The overall performance of the product it's Ok. I specially like the ability to print wirelessly. The cost of iink good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK

By BROTHEROBROTHER from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

DO NOT LIKE THAT IT USES THE COLOR INK EVEN ON BLACK AND WHITE ONLY COPYING. WILL NOT SCAN OR COPY IF LOW ON COLOR INK. SEEMS TO WASTE ALMOST ALL OF THE COLOR INK. COLOR COPIES ARE NOT THE BEST. MAKES GOOD B/W COPIES OF HALF-SIZE PLANS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Christmas letters

By Cassandra from Blacksburg, VA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been having the most miserable time ever trying to print Christmas letters. First from the computer file--Christmas letter paper required a slip sheet in order to print. Many times paper jammed (rear). I have become an expert at unjamming the printer. Then tried to use the copy function and regular paper. Not much better. Happy New Year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-j5910dw

By User209 from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the way this machine works. Very easy to use. The only downfall is that I can not get it to print from my Iphone 4s. My Andriod phone works fine, but my Iphone won't work. And I'm using the same app "Iprint&Scan".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great copier!

By RossintheMoors from SoCal on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this little multi-function copier. It does all I ask. The only possible negatives are cumbersome paper tray and not aux. tray for envelopes. But for the money? Can't beat it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent printer

By Rusty from Minneapolis, MN on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Decent printer for the money. It is nice to print without having to plug in, I use several laptops in the house and print from where ever I am. Good quality of print as well. Controls are easy to understand and the initial setup was simple. My biggest complaints would be the flimsy feel of the paper tray (It works fine and has not broken.), and I wish I didn't have to plug in a phone cord for fax use as my wall jack is 50 feet away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impressive large prints

By twobusymom from Lake Hopatcong, NJ on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a pretty good office machine. Because it can do so much it is sometimes a pain to get to the correct function. The touch screen is a little small sometimes to get an accurate selection the first time. The switch to large format paper is labor intense but worth it since it saves me a trip to the print shop. I wish it would default to copy instead of fax but that is just a small annoyance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for Windows 8

By Thommy from Connecticut on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After loading Windows 8 I have not been able to use the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid small business printer

By stumpjumper from Mancos, Colorado on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer for the large format capability and the duplexing. Both features work well and I like the larger paper tray capacity. Color saturation is not a vivid as I would like for the graphics I print. Copying, scanning and fax features work well. The XXL ink cartridges last fine, but the standard XL cartridges really only work for occasional printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i love my printer

By bobert4252 from Milford, Ohio on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my printer for about 6 months and have not had any problems. It is a great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer

By Rits from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have three Brother printers and all are working good. This is my everyday printer - and i love it. The print quality is not awesome but more than good for daily jobs. I am awaiting drivers for windows 8 as I cannot use scan to feature right now. Other than that, it is one of the best printer I have had.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good All Around MFC

By MPDBRD from Prescott, Arizona on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good proiduct overall. Instruction manual very difficult to understand. Only criticism about the MFC-J5910DW is that settings on paper tray are marked black on black making it difficult to see. Also, display indicator shows "low ink" before ink is really low and does not tell when catridge is empty and needs replacement. Otherwise I am generally pleased with this MFC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer MFC-J590DW All-in-One Inkjet

By skersch from Los Angeles, CA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It does everything as advertised. Easy to use and the print quality is okay. The software upgrade improved the print quality somewhat. I really like the top loading paper feeder for scanning and duplicating more than one sheet. I can even print from my iPad anywhere in the house! The duplex feature saves paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mostly good

By Bob200 from Livermore, CA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very nice features and functionality except for wireless performance. The printer would often stop printing part way through a page and then eject the sheet. The same thing would happen sometimes during wireless scanning. I liked the duplex printing and the large format but I needed the wireless. I have another wireless printer which does not have this problem when operated at the same location so I don't think that the problem is the WAP. I have returned the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product jams frequently. ...

By quest from Chicago on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Product jams frequently. Thick ,colored paper is strictly out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By rscopes from Mobile, AL on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a Brother Laser MFC 8680DN at the office and needed another printer at home. I wanted the wireless feature so we all could easily connect. I had no trouble with the set up and the printer was instantly recognized by my wireless router. I am very pleased with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By photobus from Burbank, Calif. on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product for my business. I saw it said professional and that t printed 13x19. I mistakenly thought that it would be a good fit for my business. We do need to make labels of a variety of sizes. This printer DOES NOT DO LABELS, and it is not marked ANYWHERE! Not even on the box. Leaves too much ink in the cartridge when it tells you that you MUST change cartridge. Otherwise produces great prints quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excelent quality ...

By Peluka from Laredo on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excelent quality construction, save time & money regarding ink, I just got rid of fax, copier and scan machines.... it is great...I was afraid but now I'm realy happy...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Brother

By SpareMeaDime from Washington, DC on 12/01/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The wireless setup with a Mac worked fairly easily. However, what happened to the software other than drivers as there is no selection in the print pop-up for 17x11 paper, and there are only 2 selections for print quality neither of which produce the quality found in other brands. Fax, copying, and sheet feeder work just fine. If the software and print quality problems could be fixed it would be of more use to us.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed

By atCPR from Undisclosed on 11/30/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have 2 Brother printers for our offices. The MFC-6490CW is a great printer. That is why we purchased a 2nd Brother printer (the MFC-J5910DW). We are very disappointed in the MFC-J5910DW..... it is very slow and the colored prints are terrible even in enhanced (Tru-to-Life) mode. I'm sure we will replace this new Brother printer just as soon as possible. I wish we would have purchased a used MFC-6490CW instead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

too complicated for me

By Barbie from Undisclosed on 11/29/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm sorry but this model is much too complicated for me. Every once in awhile it will feed two sheets. I used to print name tags on regular card stock and this printer jams every time. I printed birthday cards, name tags on card stock with my old printer and it worked fine. I did not need the fax but it was such a buy at the time I couldn't resist. I wish I could get my old printer back but gave it to a friend. I do like the individual ink cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best ever

By oldman49 from Undisclosed on 11/28/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love my printer even though i don't use it for business i do use it for personal use: pictures come out great, printing letters and other docs, nice, copying docs, clean, and scaning very nice and easy. Also enjoy the experience with the wireless makes things every easy for me. Thank you soo much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does everything

By Molly2195 from Minneapolis, MN on 11/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have not used all the features yet, but I love this printer. It's fast and easy and dependable. Designed to be easy to use. I love the fact that I can be downstairs with my laptop and send info to the printer with one click. When I go upstairs later, there are all my copies. This is my first new printer in 8 or 9 years, and the functionality for the price is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value for the price

By bobbalou from Branford, CT on 11/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer (MFC-J5910DW) has many all in one features. Being able to print on ledger size paper and two sided printing are a plus. However, having to completely remove the paper tray and making the size adustments every time you need to print on different size paper is a nuisance. The printer was relatively easy to set up and did so with no problems. Have not had the printer long enough to determine any future problems, but for now I am very happy with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Review

By VergelC from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good printer; descent price; prompt delivery; and easy setup (wired and wireless).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ok

By rbigelow from Undisclosed on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the print qu-ha-ty could be better outher then that ok. i owned better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best ink jet printer I have used; this is my 4th.

By JWSON from Olympia, WA on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Brother J5910DW is an excellent printer for both text & photo printing. I use it wireless for both our desktop & laptop computers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer for the price

By gpmody from Lehigh Acres, FL on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this printer because it is easy to set up and it worked perfectly well with my iMac and laptops. My only complain is that although it is wired to my desktop, sometimes i had to unplug and plug to print a document. Don't know why but it still works so i can live with that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My dream machine...

By Carla from North Carolina on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was starting a new job where I work from home, but I have to scan multi-page documents and do moderate printing. A multi-page feeder for scanning was essential. We also needed a printer that would work from our old Windows Vista desktop with a wired connection, and wireless with my new Windows 7 laptop. And on top of that, we wanted to have a machine that was economical to buy and use. Thr Brother MFC-J5910DW was simple to install with both the wired and wireless connections, following the well-written installation instructions. Adding my wireless laptop was simple, and when our daughter came home from from college we were able to add her laptop (Windows Vista) to the wireless printer as well. The scanning and copying works flawlessly, I have scanned 32 pages with no problems. Printing is fast with good quality. Although I expected the initial start-up ink cartridges to run out after a half dozen pages, we are still printing with them after 2 months of moderate use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a really good one.

By jim77 from California on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is excellent! However, the paper feed tray is somewhat flimsy. Otherwise I really like its operation and features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Oh - Brother MFC - J5910DW

By Kizz from Porterville, CA on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced an older Brother MFC printer with this one. This is the third one I've owned over the past 10 years. I like the product and am very comfortable with it. The first two printers were the same model but this last one is a different model. I changed models, after the last one stopped working, so I would have 'airprint' capabilities. The only real comments to make, other than I am very pleased with this printer, is that I wasn't expecting it to be much larger than the last two and the paper tray is significantly different. You can't see how much paper is in the tray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J5910DW review

By cmiller3021 from Phoenix, AZ on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In the short time I've had the printer, it seems to work as it should, prints quickly, and interacts with the network fine. Haven't had long enough to evaluate any cost savings on ink vs toner. Appears to be a good printer for the cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good

By Slowdanny from NYC, NY on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit works well, with pretty good color output. Haven't tried using photo paper yet. Like the ledger capability - one of the reasons why I bought this particular machine. No idea how it works for incoming faxes as I use MYFax and get incoming faxes in my email. Outgoing works fine. We'll see how it stands up under relatively light usage - hoping for the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the best inkjet printer I have ever had.

By MarkB from Owosso, MI on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very nice printer and the ink cartridges seem to last a long time. I really like the duplex printing capability so that I can automatically print on both sides of the paper without playing around. The definition of the print quality is very good also and I like the individual color printer cartridges too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent workhorse

By NOVAArch from New Orleans on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We are using the printer at a job site and it has been wonderful -- provides great quality and has been problem free


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase

By Centur from Los Anegeles,CA on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very user friendly printer I have come across that justifys the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT ALL IN ONE

By AZDAVE from SCOTTSDALE on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS MACHINE IS AWESOME!!!!!!! VERY EASY TO USE!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would not recommend

By Tampabuyer from Tampa, FL on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Constantly experience paper jam with less expensive copy paper. Very frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works exactly as ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works exactly as advertised! We run a small business with this printer and it meets all of our needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy with Black Ink

By InkProblem from NY on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not Happy with Black Ink smuges on Gloss Paper & Gloss Business Card Stock. Other colors are fast and are good. Printer is Great Only Black Ink problem


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Paper Feeding Needs Improvement

By Anonymous from New England, USofA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Paper jams, paper jams, paper jams ... did I mention paper jams? No matter what paper I use. Otherwise a nice machine. VERY easy to setup. Good color, fast printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Print Quality Excellent

By stridewrite from St. Paul, MN on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Print quality is excellent, but still cannot enable fax function to work appropriately. Frustrating, but printing capability and quality help to ease the pain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This MFC-J5910W printer works very will.

By VERNoo7 from MIChigan on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The brother printer is doing very well for double sided printing and much more. Vern: From MI


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for the price

By Romer57 from Grants Pass, OR on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit functionally works pretty good- fast and fairly quiet. However, it did take some time in getting it set up wireless. It won't connect if on a VPN and sometimes won't scan from the machine to the PC... weird stuff, but livable for the price. I like the individual toners and large capacity options as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile and Economical MFC-J5910DW

By GrandpaShrek from Kansas City Area on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very versatile and economical printer. We have a number of Brother MFC models and use the J5910 for our 11 x 17 work as well as for a 8.5 x 11 utility color printer. The large capacity paper bin is very handy (we wish the others would have same!) and XXL Series high capacity cartridges keep it busy all the time. The wireless is absolutely perfect - and we won't get another printer that does not have wireless capability. The J5910 is easy to use and very fast - and can be changed quickly to accommodate various paper sizes and adjustments. The Touch Screen feature is handy, as is the self-cleaning feature when the printer has been idle for a few weeks. We wait for Brother e-mails to announce their ink sales and are happy with the cost / expense ratio of using it to print photographs large and small. We also like the Brother 'sleep' feature that shuts the printer off until it is called upon either remotely or with the front panel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

mixed bag

By user from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First the good stuff- good print quality, works easily once you get it set up. Great price Not so hot- Set up was confusing- drivers not easy to locate. Paper tray seems flimsy. Not sure how well it will hold up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unexpected quality

By Jodyooh from Florida on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

More than expected. Very happy. Wireless access from all my devices is an added bonus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review of MFC-J5910DW Plusus and minuses

By Bocaire from Boca Raton, FL on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is an unbelievable value, considering all its features. And the quality and speed of the printing is excellent. I have a very large number of printers in my home, so I really did not need another. But the 11x17 capability is what caught my eye, as well as the low price. If I had realized 2 thigs before I bought this printer, I would have bought its "sister" for about $30 more. 1. I miss the additional tray for single/custom size sheets. the main paper tray in this unit is a real PITA to work with. Its sister unit has this added feed tray. 2. While it can print to 11x17, the scan and copy capability are still only letter size. It's sister unit is 11x17 all around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All-in-one user

By Traveler from Houston,TX on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought mine in late October 2012. Set up was easy, and so far no problems except for not being able to start the WIA (Windows Acquisition Service) which appears to be a software problem with the OS, not the printer. This means I can't scan directly from the machine to a folder, but have to perform this function through the keyboard. Until I resolve this, it's really not a problem therefore, I have to say the All-In-One is a good system and I have no problems recommending this unit. I have used a similar older Brother unit at work and had no problems with that one either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

unit working despite instructions

By garryonex from Ohio on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

somewhat disappointed with the size of this unit ,but the performance has been above par ,if you scan an item and want too attach to an e-mail take the east route save to thumb drive and pull the file on your computer and attach to e-mail,never did find how to attach files to e-mail through your instructions. Kindly consider step by step instructions as whoever wrote yours was somewhat vague at times and left user confused.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good printer

By Koreavet from Mead, WA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Color not as sharp and true as it could be, but overall it's a very good printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed reviews

By JKZJKZ from Michigan on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very noisy. Takes too long to process info and then print. Quality of photos not as good as my cheap printer. Once it starts printing text, the quality is excellent but who wants to wait for it to rev up? Paper tray not sturdy so sometimes the printed papers fall all over the floor. Good feature is back to back and a large amount of paper may be loaded.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By RobTX from Dallas, TX on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced wired printer. WIFI was very easy to set up and was recognized immediately. Can now print from anywhere and any computer. Print is very good along with colors. Has double-sided print to save paper. Nice feature that you do not have to turn printer on or off. Print speed very good. Copying works well along with color copies. With scanning, have no need to fax but has the capability. Retired but this printer would satisfy small business and departmental needs easily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really liked but then....

By AMPED from Sacramento, CA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I liked the product but had problems and returned it! The duplex copying was great and the ability to use the XXL black ink. However I had issues a few months in with the wireless getting disconnected all the time. And at the six month point the AF function would not work. I believe the that mechanism that goes across the glass underneath broke because I would not do that function. I returned it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By JetJock591 from Tucson, AZ on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is by far the best ink Jet printer that I have owned. It has good features and individually replaceable color cart. If used infrequently the nozzles tend to dry out but running it thru the cleaning cycle solves that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

inexpensive and easy to set up

By pee4 from Virginia on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to set up. Quality is fine for home use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless with 64-bit Processor

By ArthurSmallBusiness from Chicago on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Until it was hooked-up, we didn't know it would not work with a computer with a 64-bit processor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only device needed

By BillyBob from Beaufort, SC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit performs exactly as advertised. It seems to get pretty good mileage out of its cartridges. The unit is made from some pretty fragile plastic parts so keep kids far away from it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

user friendly

By Connie from Franklinville, NJ on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this machine worked out just fine for home and work. We are a house hold with five teenagers and every one uses it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent home-office tool

By Hermann from Central Texas on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It fulfills all my expectations. Multi-function, easy to operate, and versitile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but

By Erin from AZ on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer for the most part is very good, but I do find that a lot of times it jams the paper when picking it up. I use a good quality paper so it should not be a problem but it is. Other than that I find it does exactly what I need in my small business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still Hopeful It Will Be Great

By abs58 from Washington, DC on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great features and easy to set up. Haven't really put it to the test yet, but working to overcome two issues (which I expect to overcome). First, some color printing has low color saturation and appears to be light rather than rich in color. Second, for some reason when everything is set for two-sided printing, it still prints only on one side (printing booklet style from a multipage pdf file). When I solve these two issues, that will move me to a 5-star rating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By SohoSalesperson from San Jose CA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent printer 11x17 is great paper option, ink saver great feature. Printing is clear and colorful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrating

By ConiferKid from Colorado on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer has been very frustrating. It prints great when it prints. It fails to pick up sheets of paper at an alarming rate. Often it's the second page trying to print when it reports a paper jam. I've cleaned the transport wheels but that only helped for a little while. When it prints it's great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By MacFromWakefield from Mass on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best printers I have ever owned. Works excellent. I have a wireless connection and have had no issues. Setup was easy. Print quality is very good. The all in one is a very nice feature with print, scan, copy & fax. The 11" x 14" scan and print has already proved useful


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-J5910DW

By Alluddy from Incline Village ,NV on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was my 3rd Brother printer & we bought it because we liked the first 2


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Capable and cost-effective

By Dave48 from Boston, Massachusetts on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought three of these printers for widely-dispersed not-very-tech savvy staff to quickly and reliably send hand-filled-in forms to us in the home office. After very minimal setup, they can easily scan documents directly to an FTP server without intervening fumbling with email attachments etc. Works like a complete charm! Very flexible scanning options. The print / copy functions work very well also, and it is nice that the ink is packaged separately by individual color. My only complaint is that I had to tweak the color settings quite a bit to get vibrant logo colors on printed documents, but I was able to figure that out. I wish there were an easy way to feed single sheets, but I bought a cheaper model in order to minimize acquisition cost and am willing to live without. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Brother all in One

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This all in one is the best I've purchased from Brother thus far. I've utilized all functions including duplex printing and have found this product is very easy to use. Although it is larger than expected, it performs very well, and as such, I would recommend it to anyone interested in purchasing a reliable reasonably priced all in 1 inkjet printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all in one

By Billsprinter from Hutto, Tx. on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer works great, like that it does 11x17 prints and can print from my phone. Will be upgrading to higher Brother model because I need to copy and scan 11x17 prints as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable!

By 1bluechip from Hampton, VA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has worked well. I have it in a dusty enviornment where the temperature swings +/- 20 degrees around room temperature. Occasional paper jams I credit more to humidity and the paper. It has performed so well, I may just buy another for the home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sorry about this

By kwdraft from Key West Fl on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Although reviewed fairly well on line, my printer has been a disappointment. The paper pickup is a total failure. No matter how much I fan, separate or reload, multiple sheets of are always picked up. Usually the print is across several sheets. The print quality is good, but the ink doesn't last any where near as long as advertised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features and price

By Charlie31 from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great features, price and warranty, plus the best quality and reliability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best that money can buy!

By Gilbert from Indianapolis, IN on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought a Brother Professional Series multi-function center -- incredible choice!! Will never buy another brand -- even from the leading competitor. Quality of prints is superb -- ease of use is five star -- and best part -- the ink cartridges actually last for the time specified!!!! Thank you, Brother, for this incredible printer!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pleased

By taeb from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am totally satisfied. A bit confused concerning future ink purchases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT!!!

By Wonderland4 from California on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I couldn't be happier. Easy to use, easy to set up, every thing is simple and straight forward. As usual, a great Brother Int product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I only write one product review a year...

By Random from New York, NY on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

...and this year the winner is this printer/scanner. Last week my wife said to me, "I wish everything we owned worked at well as this thing does". We thought we were just buying a cheap replacement ink jet printer, but this model does so many things we didn't expect - printing on 11 x 17 paper, printing on both sides of a sheet of paper, scanning a sheaf of papers into a single .pdf file - plus what we did expect, printing high-quality documents and photos (it also faxes, but we don't use that feature). Oh, and did I mention it connects to our computers by Wi-Fi? We are really just blown away by what you get for the price of this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i would rate this printer a 10

By WDux from Chugiak Alaska on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Started out having problems with it in the wireless mode. The service was not that good, but since the last tech said to go to the non wireless mode and see what happens. If you continue with the same problem He would replace it. Since then I love the Printer and I would recommend this printer to Everyone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for the price

By Hawksmom from Western New York on 11/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excelent multi function for it's price. Annoying noise while printing. Paper jams are constant (needed to be repaired & then replaced).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRINTR

By NYCDON from Hollywood, Florida on 11/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer works great. Prints fast and hold a large amount of paper. The printer also prints on both sides of the paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far so good

By babyruth from Mississippi on 11/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far the printer is great. The photos print really fast but the colors smears.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By Luvhaye2012 from Tucson, AZ on 11/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I am very happy with this model. It does everything I wanted in an all-in-one printer. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a wireless machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not good at all!!

By nhk4516 from Vancouver, wa on 11/05/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

All I've had is trouble with this All in one printer. Then when I call to see if they can help fix it, brother wants to charge me more money to send me a "Refurbished" one. I think its unfair since we purchased about 30 machines about 5 months ago and they all have some kind of problem. Yes, I said 5 months ago with a lot of issues. I'm taking it back to Costco where they have a great return policy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer for Money

By rowen0409 from Pittsburgh, PA on 10/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced Brother MFC-490CW which still works fine but I wanted two-side printing. This does it plus more. Quality of print is excellent & touch screen is nice. Easy to set up & fairly fast print speeds. Only reason I don't give five stars is size of machine. It has to be somewhat larger to print 11x17 which it does but it's larger than some other brands that do large paper & I'm not sure why. It does fit on my desk so not a show stopper. Overall, I like it & low price made it a great value!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

outstanding

By JohnNK from Georgia on 10/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quickest install ever no problems everything went very smooth and quick. The printer doees everything it is advertised to do. I can't say anything about the Fax part of it. I don't use it for faxing. I recomend it to anyone who asks about wanting a good printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Creative from Santa Monica, CA on 10/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer was easy to set up and I got the printer, scanner, fax and copy settings set up in less that 2 hours (over two days). Love the wireless capability, it is so convenient. It prints fast (unlike my old Epson printer) and the print quality is excellent. The scanner makes beautiful, clear scans. And, it prints double-sided too! How awesome is that. I was pleasantly surprised. It's a lot larger than I expected, but still fits in my office quite nicely. Great buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent value in the price-versus-features

By cartervillen from topeka Ks on 10/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ink is pricey, but what printer ink isn't? All in all it is an excellent value. with strong product support. that comes in handy when setting up your network, or it did for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer ever

By DW928 from Undisclosed on 10/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had a great experience with the Brother MFC-J5910DW printer. It is simply the best and easiest to use of any of the all in one printers I have had in the past. Support from Brother has been over the top.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dud Product Dud Product Support

By Irate from Dallas TX on 10/03/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product just a month and a half ago. The first time I had to change the ink, the sensor never sensed that I had a fresh cartridge so the printer would not function. I used the printer in my small business and this was a mission critical failure. The best Brother could do was exchange a refurbished product-- why not a new product as I never got off square one. I will never purchase a Brother product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Brother Printers

By RodJ from Denver, CO on 09/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

AirPrint is what drove this purchase. I thought i would have to set something up to get AirPrint to work on my iPad. I was surprised that it just worked off of the info used to set up the traditional wireless for my mac pro. I'm an IT pro and for basic users i tell users to use brother they don't need to fiddle with their printer drivers like they do with Canon or HP. Install once and it keeps working , update software and you dont have to get your printer to work again it works!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good product and ...

By Southeastpa from Southeast Pennsylvania on 09/18/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good product and Brother stands behind its products - Have not tried the extra large paper feature yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with our printer

By MS0805 from Cleveland, OH on 08/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought one of these last year (different model, basically same printer) when our oldest started college and we were so happy with the ease of setup, the functionality and the quality that when the next child started college this year we bought two more, one for her and one for home, for a total of 3 of these. Very easy to set up, very easy to establish wireless network connection and we are happy with the print speed and quality. Only minus is the printer is a bit noisy. I still would purchase it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrating

By dmacz from Baltimore, MD on 05/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer mainly for two reasons. First, I need to be able to scan legal size documents. The unit handles that just fine. Second, I was looking for the wireless networking, as it would be difficult to run network cable to connect using wired networking. On this point, the printer and Customer Service have not met my expectations. The printer connects to my wireless N/WPA2 network just fine. However, almost every time I go to print (not every day), it has switched to the wired network connection, which doesn't exist. If you go into the FAQ, it says the problem is your router. If you call Customer Service, they tell you that also. Well, I'm a Systems Engineer, so I know networking and how to troubleshoot problems. My router is fine. No other device drops WiFi connection. Quite frustrating to have to reinstall the WiFi setup almost every time I want to print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better

By Dynamite45 from Washington on 02/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finally a reasonable cost printer for 11 x 17 paper. Pros: Easy setup, prints nice 11 x 17 pages. 4 color ink cartridges so you change just the one that goes out not all the colors in one cartridge. Cons: Only uses one size paper at a time. Would have been nice to have a manual feed tray. Does not copy 11 x 17 or scan 11 x 17 - implied in the ad but a disappointment when printer was setup and installed. Paper tray cumbersome to change sizes and does not feel like it will hold up to much usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved