Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFCL8850CDW » 70 Reviews

Brother Mfc-l8850cdw Laser Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 32 Ppm Mono/32 Ppm Color Print - 2400 X 600 Dpi Print - 32 Cpm (mfc-l8850cdw) Reviews
Brother Mfc-l8850cdw Laser Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 32 Ppm Mono/32 Ppm Color Print - 2400 X 600 Dpi Print - 32 Cpm (mfc-l8850cdw)

Brother Mfc-l8850cdw Laser Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 32 Ppm Mono/32 Ppm Color Print - 2400 X 600 Dpi Print - 32 Cpm (mfc-l8850cdw)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

High-Speed Color Laser All-in-One for Small and Medium-Sized BusinessesThe Brother™ MFC-L8850CDW is a dependable color laser all-in-one designed for small workgroups in small to medium-sized businesses. It quickly prints at up to 32ppm in color and black and helps reduce costs with paper-savin... <more> 

Brother International Model: MFCL8850CDW

$767.22

22 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 70 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great small office printer

By Terry77 from Sacramento, CA on 10/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this as a replacement to an older brother, similar lazer printer but without the multi function. This works well, easy to set up with network and prints fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy this printer

By SLG1972 from Virginia on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer has been a disappointment from the start. It is a small step up from an inkjet printer. The inner parts (drum etc.) feel cheap and like toy parts. The printer breaks easily and jams frequently when using the recommended paper. Will not buy another Brother product and am going back to HP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Decision

By LCadmin from Philadelphia,PA on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought two L8850CDW printers for our small non-profit organization: one for a community computer lab and the other for our main office. The one for our main office of 8 staff is holding up pretty well seeing that my staff frequently prints flyers, forms, and schedules in mass; we do a combination of copying and printing close to 2,000 pages The printer comes with great features like double sided printing, direct printing from a USB, and email to server where you can receive your scanned documents straight to your email. The touch screen LCD console is also helpful for navigating the printer menu. It can be a bit loud when it's printing, but it's not unbearable. My only pet peeves with the machine are when I have to replace toner and paper jams. The toner cartridges are arranged in such a way that I have to remove all toner cartridges even if I only need to replace one due to the wire that must be cleaned with each new toner installation. If you simply switch out the empty toner cartridge without cleaning the wire your prints will come out with a horizontal line on the ends of your paper. My other headache as I mentioned before is when paper is jammed. It's like looking for a needle in a haystack locating which opening of the printer will allow me to remove the jam. I actually had to replace our office L8850cdw last month because a fuser roller that was damage, which I feel could be linked to a paper jam we had. Thankfully, our printer was still under warranty and we were able to exchange our damaged printer with a newly refurbished one in a matter of a week. So far the printer is holding up and we're glad to have copies without the "tire tread" look the fuser roller was imprinting. All in all, this was a good buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review of MFC-L8850CDW

By SiberSciLLC from Owensboro, KY on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-L8850CDW has proven to be a quality product built with a ruggedized design that did not suffer any harm from the damage sustained to the shipping box in transit to my location. I was afraid that the printer had been damaged, but it has worked reliably from the first day for printing, scanning, and FAXing operations. I have not used a product with this level of reliability for over 15-years, so I am happy to see that Brother is investing in building reliable All-in-One Color Laser equipment for small business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't ask for more

By vermsky from Undisclosed on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has everything I could ask for in a laser printer. Haven't tested color output when printing pictures yet but I am sure ink jets do a much better job on those.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Recent purchase

By meba from Undisclosed on 09/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this machine which I bought for use in my home office. The print is clear and, once I learned to make "print double-sided" the default option, I was getting exactly what I was looking for - and it is compatible with Windows 10. I do turn the power off when I am through with a work session to keep my electricity bill down. It is not that it is a heavy consumer - just that I do not need to pay for electricity that I am not using.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This puts our old MFC-9840CDW to shame!

By Alohi90755 from Signal Hill, CA on 09/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast! Quiet! A Real Performer! Easy to setup and even easier to use! The 300 entry internal dialing directory was a pleasant surprise, but the ease of use and quiet operation were what really gave us the impression that this purchase was worth the expense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By bearclawbob from cooke city Mt. on 09/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product has been one of the best I've had. Its fast on everything, except printing from the computer. It goes off line and its hard to wake it up to print. Some times I have to shut it down and turn it back on. or go into the trouble shooting in the computer and have the computer check out the problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great

By Randall2 from Charlotte, NC on 09/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like the ease of set up and how well it works with our internet and multiple laptops - very pleased. It is exactly what we needed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By hhwesq from New York NY on 09/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything I expected from a Brother machine. This is my 2nd Brother Color Laser and my 7th Brother printer over 13 years for office and home office. Brother support is super and extends for the life of the machine. Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok until Windows 10

By M3Enterprises from Undisclosed on 09/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had several other Brother MFC All-In-Ones. Each of those worked beautifully with Adobe for scanning documents. The L8850CDW does not. I can scan, but only one page at a time. I received a note indicating that there would be an update in mid-September; hopefully that will fix the problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ebst printer/scanner/fax/copier I've owned

By DCBBrotherRating from San Antonio, Texas on 09/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a very nice machine. I have had no problems so far. Easy installation and programming is very user friendly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Continued network problems

By ssnider from Dallas, TX on 08/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a cheaper Brother printer that has not had the wireless network issues. Since purchasing the newer, more expensive printer, it has continuously been offline. Each time I call in Support does the same steps to get the machine back online, which lasts about a day or so. Yesterday, I told the support person how tired I am of this and he finally offered to move it to the next level if it does it again. Why didn't they offer this before and why does the cheaper machine stay online. This is so frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK unit, but not worth the money

By LawOfficeJB from New Hampshire on 08/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Functionality is good. There are a few more steps than necessary for any job, but that's not unlike competitors. The shortcut function is nice, and the Wi-Fi seems to connect well. So for everyday scanning to Google Drive or to a USB stick, it works fine. However, many functions (like direct scan-to-PC), require you to use extremely outdated software that is prone to crashing and will clutter up your file system with an outmoded installation design. I get away with using the on-board features because I couldn't stand dealing with the software. Print quality is just ok for black and white text and color pictures. (For black and white text, it's not even as good as some of their cheaper models, which aren't particularly great themselves.) The big problem is that once you start printing text and colors on the same page, print quality goes way down. I tried calling customer service to see if there's a setting that I can change to fix the color print quality, but customer service is terrible. I'm currently on hold to speak with an agent, but the call has hit the 50 minute mark and all I've done is give the serial number of my machine. I should have done more research, as I'm not the only one disappointed in Brother. http://www.customerservicescoreboard.com/versus/Brother+International~Canon I'm not usually concerned about customer service, but I've realized that this is crucial to a business owner. Anyone purchasing this device will rely on the machine for printing, scanning, copying, and possibly fax. If the printer starts malfunctioning, or losing quality, all of these functions are lost, which puts a small office like mine out of commission. Definitely a better use of money and desk space to purchase separate devices: a scansnap for scanning, and a Canon laserjet for printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC L8850cdw

By Ritter from Tennessee on 08/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer works fine, however, the scanner has been a problem, the drivers for the scanner are not staying active on any of the office computers or laptops.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great color

By DaveMinTX from Texas on 08/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The color on this machine is great. The overall opinion of this machine very good. My biggest gripe is that the I have not been able to get the software to operate correctly. I can not scan using the touchscreen, though I can use the command's from the computer to the machine to scan - frustrating but not a game stopper. The only other negative is the size - make sure you have adequate space. Bottom line - I would buy this one again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Printer

By PolarBear from Las Vegas, NV on 08/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-L8850CDW is the third multi-function printer in a row that I've purchased from Brother ... and the BEST! All have been stellar, but this printer does it all! Easy to install drivers, connects easily to WIFI. The print quality is exceptional. Scanner works flawlessly. Buy this printer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy with purchase

By PatC from Tucumcari, NM on 07/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Brother Printer and I am very pleased with it. Extremely easy to use and dependable. Would definitely buy again and would high recommend them to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed

By TeresaD from Jackson, NJ on 07/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Always having problems with this printer, had to replace it just after the first month. Will most likely send it back and get a different printer. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Yay for this printer, shame on the toner mafia!!

By Mikester from Phoenix, AZ on 07/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was looking for something to use in my home office that wouldn't end up being more of a hindrance than a help. It's really tempting to treat the space as "not a real workplace" or some such justification for not equipping it properly, but while I had a budget to improve things I looked at quite a few reviews online before settling on this model, and I'm glad I did. The one thing I do think is totally sleazy about all printer manufacturers - and unfortunately this includes Brother - is the way they have apparently conspired to form a toner cartel "ink fixing" arrangement where every single one of them microchips their products so we are entrapped in this long expensive transaction that never ends. I'm not stupid enough to believe that the market is spontaneously producing that result since there's such a high demand for refills ........... Obviously a bunch of golfing buddies in a smoke filled room came up with that nonsense and it's really a shame that the productivity of millions of people is being hindered by a few cronies' fear of losing toner sales. For that very good reason I am giving you one lonely star. But hey, other than the whole getting price gouged for the entire life of the product thing, it's great!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-L8850CDW

By FirstTimeOwner from Lakewood, WA. on 07/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Disappointed that the initial product I bought was broken. It could not scan and print properly. Then, when I called customer service at that time, he was rude and not comforting. More like he was anxious to get rid of me because I think I was bothering him. Lastly, when I got the replacement, it still had a fault but it was only the front door that could not close properly. I feel like I lost trust in this brand name and most likely will not buy anymore products from brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By Clintamb from Clintonville, Wisconsin on 07/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Switched over from an older HP Color LaserJet. This unit is lightening fast, sharp print quality in B/W or Color and cartridge cost is pretty reasonable. If all goes well we will continue using Brother laser printers from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine

By MMikey from Chicago,IL on 07/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always wanted a color laser but couldn't pass this up. I love the fact that it never dries out and it patiently waits for me to use it, and then it is flawless.Love your product. This is my second laser.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as good as the 9840 I used to have

By Elem from PA on 07/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

You cannot fax more than one item at a time. You have to wait until that fax is through with confirmation before you can fax another. Also, slow to start and you have to push too many buttons before you can do shortcut, copy or fax.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer

By EdieB from Bushkill, PA on 07/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast, reliable, good quality printing and scanning


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother never lets you down!

By Tricia from Florida/Georgia on 06/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As I expected, this is a great piece of equipment for any office. The quality, features, speed and reliability of Brother MFCs are all incorporated. Make sure you have enough room, as this is of substantial size. My only comment that is a bit less than stellar, is that it is a tad noisier than my prior Brother, but that is so outweighed in the big picture. No need for any reservations - this MFC is excellent!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can it get better?

By Dragsterboy from Pasadena,Texas on 06/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Leave it to Brother to present power users the ability to perform tasks that were literally impossible in a all-in one device until the the introduction of the MFC-L8850CDW. I enjoy the convenience of the advanced scanning and document handling that this printer makes available to me. We are all busy doing our "thing" to produce professional documents / products in a short amount of time. This all-in one will get you there with no regrets. Oh!, by the way did I mention that the color output is fantastic? It is, along with the wireless networking which lets me scan documents to the PC, network or directly to the e-mail client. Setup was quick and easy and I was up and producing in just a few minutes. I highly recommend this printer to all that need the features that are standard on this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Straight forward setup and operation

By Anonymous from Vermont on 06/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was surprise at how straight forward the setup and operation of this multi-function printer is given all that it will do. I have had single function HP printers previously that were a nightmare to set up and operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

purchase for biz

By Bigfoot676767 from Undisclosed on 06/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with this. Pros-- fast quiet great scanner (I use a lot) fairly easy to use no jams---so far Have not tried the wireless feature, so can't comment Cons-- does not do envelopes--disappointing. After all that, it even admits such in manual. You can maybe do 1 at a time, but quality is bad. Needs serious improvement as this now makes have to buy dedicated envelope printer. A bit of a pain to get the papers out! Yes, sounds silly, but true. Once printed, hard to retrieve from the recessed area where they lie.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Fabulous Choice

By Monet from Alta Loma, California on 06/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this item for about a month now, and it surpasses all expectations. It is fast, quiet, produces stunning output, and has a touch control panel of outstanding design. Highly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As Promised

By jmack from TX on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once again Brother delivered a superb, feature rich and reliable MFD, of special note is the single pass 2 sided scanning/faxing feature and the reasonable toner costs. Only issue encountered was network connecting and that was resolved in 15 minutes. Good stuff, John


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another excellent value

By Noblehops from Tucson, Arizona on 05/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 4th Brother printer that I've purchased for work or home. All of the old ones are still working perfectly, this spans 10 years. Price, performance, value, reliability, cost of consumables, energy efficiency, all nothing short of excellent. Stretching to think of something they could improve, all I can think of is the scanner software. Sometimes it's a little bit opaque, but nowhere near enough to ding them a star in this review. An excellent printer, and an excellent value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By tofficeman from California on 05/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned Borther printers in the past. I did quite a bit of research before I purchased this model (8850CDW). I was considering buying another brand, but I am very pleased that I stayed with Brother. I am using it as a network printer. It was easy to setup, including scan to email. I have printed from my mobile device too. Brilliant!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine!

By JerryD from Monroe, CT on 05/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched a new color laser copier for months and decided on this machine. What a fantastic copier! Money well spent!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Printer

By Kowman from Minnesota on 05/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I also owned a MFC-9560CDW before I purchased this machine. Both excellent machines and this new printer does everything I need it to do, including duplexing. Excellent color. The ONLY downfall I see with this printer is that it is fairly loud. For sure, not a deal breaker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic

By AustinBookkeeper from Austin, TX on 05/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set up and added the additional drawer - no need to change paper frequently, it's already there!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Multi-Function Printer

By TexasCowMan from Ben Wheeler, Texas on 04/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After using smaller ink-jet printers for many years, the time came to buy a heavy-duty laser printer that could handle both the work load and not have to buy ink-jet cartridges on a bi-weekly basis. The printer is more expensive to start with but the long-term savings are immense and it will pay for itself within a year in my case. The printing is so much better also and I can't believe how alive and excellent photographs appear on just plain white paper. A better grade of paper is even better but the results are amazing on any paper. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone and the only thing I am sorry about is that I didn't buy it a lot sooner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By kidsco from Laurel, MS on 04/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the third Brother laser printer I have ever owned or had the pleasure of ordering and working with. It is a good printer and handles the workload. Wish the toner cartridges were carried at our local office supply and were not so expensive as we go through the heavy usage toners every month and a half and at the cost of the toner, we could have already purchased this last printer 5 times. Other than that, I highly recommend Brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid multi-function printer

By NMSwede from Albuquerque, NM on 04/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Haven't had a chance to use it a lot yet. Infancy problems might still arise. Initially I noticed the duplexing unit would jam paper, until I noticed a lever in the back that moved with resistance. The one on the other side didn't. I exercised it, and after that the duplexer seems good. Print quality is great, scanning functions are excellent. Scan-to options are plentiful. Tested scp and to mail server without hiccups. Unit makes a little more sound while printing than some other units, but it's quieter than other printers. I switched from an HP to this one, and I am not dissapointed. I will order more RAM for the printer though, spooling large jobs takes quite some time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

will let you know in a couple of years

By cjwhitt from California on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only had this printer for less that a week so far I am pleased with the features and function. the price for the ink cart. are good and easily purchased. the real proof of this machine will be in the duration. I look forward to a long and useful life for this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother Printers

By DebP from Richmond KS on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the third Brother printer I have owned and they seem to get better and better each time I get one. It works great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The product works well on ...

By relobo from Westminster, Co. on 03/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product works well on USB but leaves a lot to be desired on a Wireless connection. It is not reliable when scanning and sometimes it even has problems when printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT FOR A SMALL OFFICE

By hilda from Alhambra, CA on 03/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased another Brother MFCt a few years back and because it worked so well in my office, I decided to update to this new one. It works great so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Perfect Machine

By jakmaw from Undisclosed on 03/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this machine! Fast, clear copies, easy access for envelope and legal size printing. The one complaint is the scanning function. Very tempermental. I am unable to scan from the machine to two of my three computers - never had this with other multifunction machines. Also often have to turn the machine on and off to scan from the computers. Brother could do a better job of integrating their scanning feature and working out the bugs that make it so difficult. (i even had to download separate scanning drivers - why are they not in the set-up software?) Otherwise, i would give this machine a 5.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My multifunction machine ...

By SHALL from Watertown, SD on 03/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My multifunction machine is really nice and fast. The only problem with it is when it is duplexing. After the sheet of paper goes through the first time, there is a gear grinding sound when it is printing the back side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC 8950 DW Better

By RLJR from Pasadena, CA on 03/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The only advantage of the MFC-8850 over my old MFC-8950 is color which is adequate. The paper handling - especially envelopes - is clunky and the control panel screen almost unreadably primitive in comparison to the 8950. The new machine does work well with Adobe Acrobat in scanning documents. Again the main advantage in the new machine is color copying and printing eliminating the need for two printers. Wireless setup was quite quick and easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer is good, software not so much

By pitman44 from Upstate NY on 03/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer does a decent job of printing. It can't print envelopes without creasing on the normal paper path. Brother does provide an optional straight through path, but it requires access to the back of the printer to drop a panel and flip 2 levers. In my case the back isn't very accessible so I couldn't test it that way. Some have complained about the noise of the printer. I found it perhaps lightly noisier than the HP color laser printers I've had in the past, but not a huge difference. The deal killer for me was the inablility to scan multiple sheets using the automatic document feeder and save each scan as an individual pdf. The only way you can save multiple sheets in individual files was to use jpg format. The only way to save multiple sheets in individual files is to use the flat bed scanner one by one. Something I was unwilling to go back to. I returned the printer and got an HP M476dw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent network All in One.

By Bunkerhillbill from Tampa Fl. on 03/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had numerous office grade network printers but this is my first all in one. It's not as fast as my Kyocera FS-4000DN but it's a lot more versatile. The quality of print is very good both in B&W and color. The only negative thing I can say is when you have the telephone cord plugged in for fax and you use the same line for a phone call, the screen lights up. Therefore I just unplugged it as I don't fax that much anymore. I would highly recommend to anyone that needs a laser all in one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product and a good price point

By HectorSF from San Francisco on 03/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product was easy to set up out of the box - the quick instructions were a handy guide. Once unpacked it was easy to use. The print quality was excellent and has been a reliable addition to our network from the start. A word of caution: we connected it to our network which combines wired and wireless units. We first connected it to our wired units; no problem. We used the software provided. We then connected it to our wireless unit. Be careful. The software provided turned off the wired network. We had to reset the network via the menu screen and then go into the wireless unit and manually address the port to make sure everything worked on our network. Since then all has been smooth. Good thing I could figure out the problem. Support tried to help but couldn't resolve my problem; they thought it was a firewall issue. It was not. I had to figure it out. Still, am happy with the machine itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rough Start But Good Now That It Is Going

By JHH3 from New Jersey on 03/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once operating, our new MFC-L8850CDW seems to be functioning well. However, we en-counted two major problems getting started. First the CD that came with our new unit didn't work and Bother Support said that it didn't contain the most recent drivers. After 2 calls for help, each where we had to wait over 30 minutes to talk to someone, we were advised to download the drivers from the internet. We did that and were up and running very quickly. Too bad the CD we were sold was out of date and that the wait time for help was so long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Just Fine

By Dave46 from Undisclosed on 02/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer works as described. Some people have described this as a monster product but once out of the box I found it not much different than other similar products to move and place on the counter. The installation software was easy to run and seemed to work ok. There is a trouble shooting and network setup repair tool that works well but the manual provided was a little difficult to navigate. I found myself looking at the online documentation to resolve a couple of issues. The first copy out is a little slower than I am use to with other printers. I have only had it installed for a couple of weeks but at this point I am generally happy with the result and unless something goes terrible wrong I would buy it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One Improvement Needed

By KenR from Austin, TX on 02/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Print quality and speed are great. One improvement would make it near perfect. When pages have been printed, they kind of curl up at the top and bottom. My previous printer (not a Brother) fed the pages out of the other end of the paper tray and there was no curling. Thanks for asking; let me know. I would recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding

By KFTDC from Kentucky on 02/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a great printer. I love brother printers. The toner cartridges are way less expensive than their competitors. You definitely get more bang for you buck. Printing is fast and quiet. I am not using it to it's fullest capacity yet due to crunch time I am under. The only thing I would wish ...and this isn't just Brother ...but all manufacturers do that ...in order to get the optional 2nd tray they want your first born...it is almost as much as the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Performer

By ndhEngineer from Long Island, New York on 02/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the printer in a home office. The print quality and speed, both for black only, and for color are outstanding. I've used 3 different paper weights so far, without any jams or other difficulty. For this product to earn that fifth star, it would have to make a lot less noise. The duplex paper handler is way too loud. Access to the rear of the machine for the alternate paper path is inconvenient, but not a show-stopper for me. This is my second Brother printer, and, if this printer does as well as the last one (still working fine after 5+ years), I'll keep coming back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I made the pruchase

By rdmWIS from Wisconsin on 02/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All went well. Setup was easy. I read post that had trouble with setup. They must not follow instructions. The longest part was setting up my computer because it is old and slow. yeh, the photos are not what you would call excellent but I gave that up for a lot of other things I was looking for like speed in print and scanning. And the photos I do for business are just fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Phenomenal Printer - Unbeatable Value

By RSTinAZ from Phoenix, AZ on 02/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am so glad that I purchased this printer. I replaced a non-duplexing, color laser printer from another (probably most popular) printer manufacturer. There is absolutely NO comparison in print quality, print speed, toner efficiency (versus waste), and convenience. My "short answer": I LOVE THIS PRINTER!!!! In our home we have both Windows and Mac computers... both of which work flawlessly with the printer and were very easy to setup over the wireless network. I have not tried any of the mobile printing applications, so I can't comment. Being able to scan documents to AND print from the major cloud-storage services is very cool... although I don't make use of those features often. Perhaps over time I will determine how to integrate those capabilities to improve my workflow. There are 2 things that I will recommend... [1] if you submit a print job that will produce a large number of printed pages - which is easy to do because of the high capacity paper tray - be aware that the output tray is limited and may start pushing papers out of the tray when full. [2] If you are wanting to update the firmware of the printer, don't use the software utility provided the Brother website but rather connect to the printer via your internet browser and the printer's IP address (192.168.1.xxx) and update the firmware using the web-based interface to the printer. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is a big & heavy printer... so just prepare accordingly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer!

By Trey from Undisclosed on 02/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been one of the best printers Ive ever owned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So disappointed

By CLH3 from Birmingham, AL on 02/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I so hoped this Brother printer would do what I needed it to do. In short, to print envelopes, you must open the back up (which is against the wall), and pull two levers down and then pull them back up for normal printing. That is absolutely the worse possible feature ever! But even when I did that, the envelopes creased badly. Also, it curled cardstock paper very badly. I was hoping that I'd have better luck with a Brother laser than I was having with an HP laser.... Not the case...For the price I paid, I just had to return it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice

By FirstCov from Ashland Wisconsin on 02/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good value for the price. Setup was easy. Unit supports WIFI and Ethernet but not both at the same time. The output is a little fuzzy when printing graphics or Pictures. This a little disappointing but not a deal breaker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Performance

By MGregL from Palo Alto, CA on 02/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although machine has an above average footprint, seems solidly constructed and makes less noise than my previous Lexmark x544 which had a miserable UX. Setup is easy but if you are on a network, setup drivers using the IP address to get them to work right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased

By DBKRAM from Michigan, USA on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had minor issues setting this up on my laptop (had to use usb). Not any problem on wireless router or Android devices. Probably a clerical error on my part. Wish the Paperport 12 SE was not included in the "complete install. I already use a paid version of paperport 12 and it got pre-empted. Took a minute to get a reinstall authorization from Nuance..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-L8850cdw LOVE IT

By Anonymous from Barnegat NJ on 01/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Greatest printer ever! Fast, clear print, great photos. SMART PRINTER!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meets expectations

By Genesis from Marion, Oh on 01/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wanting this printer to produce several colored documents weekly at first we had a problem, contacted customer service, was helped very professionally and in turned solved our problem immediately! Is working well and meeting our expectations at this time! Thanks, Brother!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all in one

By brims from Undisclosed on 01/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've printed off a couple of color brochures that looked great, the 2 sided ADF is a great feature, I can scan documents directly to my SFTP server which is great for the Linux/Unix users. The Brother driver for Linux works great and was simple to install, thank you Brother for working with the Open Source community. Printing when the machine is in deep sleep is really quick; I had to wait a while for my brochures to print because it was a lot of information to send via WiFi. I use this for home which is a little overkill, but it's already surpassing my expectations. I've had to run a few test prints for getting my envelope configuration sorted out, it was mostly a configuration mismatch in LibreOffice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Prints well but cheap made

By Dlpahas from Tomball, TX on 01/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am an accountant and have been buying Brother printers for over twenty years. I have had small ones and large MFC's. I don't buy anything except Brother to use in my offices. But I have to say this printer is the cheapest made that I have purchased. The print quality is good, color is good. The print speed could be improved as far as response time from the computer to the actual start of printing time. Too tall to use sitting at your desk, without getting out of your seat to make copies, scans, etc. That's kind of a nuisance. My biggest complaint is the quality of the printer itself. It is the cheapest, flimsiest made printer that I have ever purchased from Brother. I noticed the MFC-8910DW was a little flimsier than most I had purchased. But this one is even worse. The doors are all very thin and flimsy. They seem like they would break on opening if you aren't very careful. The first time I opened the main door to put in a new cartridge, the handle that releases the door came apart. It is held on by the flimsiest plastic part and is spring loaded with a very small wire. Took me a few minutes to put back together but the spring load still isn't perfect. The parts on the Brother printers keep getting cheaper made but the price still goes up. After what I paid for this one, it better last longer than I expect it to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good purchase

By mikeh from Houston on 01/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought it primarily to use for high volume scanning and copying and I want a laser color printer. It funtions as expected but I am finfing it is "blurry" when printing color pdf files. I am hoping it needs to be broken in. Otherwise it will be a problem when printing color brocures and marketing pieces


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easiest Wireless Setup Ever - Great Printer, too.

By JohnGuru from Texas - of course on 12/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As expected, the Brother MFC-L8850CDW is a great overall printer. For the price, it's even better. Fast startup, fast printing, super-fast single-pass, dual-sided scanning, and a legal sized scanning bed for scanning larger bound documents. But the thing that impressed me most was the super easy wireless install. OK. I must admit that I'm using entirely Macs and iPhones, so all installs tend to be easy. But this wireless install was beyond easy. I plugged in the USB cable, ran the installer, put in my network password and system administrator password and a few moments later, I disconnected the USB cable and that was it. The second Mac and the iPhones and iPads were even simpler, since they didn't require the USB cable. FYI, according to the instructions, you can do the install without a USB cable. Since I had the USB cable handy, I didn't try it the other way. After the wireless install, printing, scanning, and faxing worked as expected. AirPrint works like a charm, too. I've used it on iOS 7 and 8. Another neat feature is that you can use the printer to fax wirelessly from your computer. On a Mac, there are two ways to fax. Both involve starting as though you were going to print. 1) You can select "Brother MFC-L8850CDW Fax" as your printer. 2) You can Select "PDF" and then "Fax PDF" from the drop-down menu. Both will bring up your cover-page and dial screen. I'm also pleased that it has a straight paper path, for printing on card stock or envelopes. As a former print shop owner, I can assure you that regardless of brand or quality of printer, card stock and envelopes are guaranteed to give you problems on any printer, sooner or later, if that printer doesn't have a straight paper path option. The only problem with this is that the straight paper path is rather limited in how many pages or envelopes you can put in the feeder at a time. All in all, I'm very impressed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By ChinaRider from Michigan on 11/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far, so good (only had for couple of weeks). Fast printer. Like the Wi Fi easy setup, printing from mobile good too. As reviews have said, color not the greatest (I've only printed color on regular paper--might look better on special paper), but sufficient for my needs. If you need high quality color, you might want to look elsewhere. But if you want a fast, easy to use MFC networkable device for a small office, this fits the bill.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice, but....

By Anonymous from Boston, MA on 10/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My only real complaint is I can't scan different paper sizes through the feeder. If I want a batch file of receipts, I have to continuously replace them on the glass.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-L8850CDW does the job

By jdrewf from Bayville, New Jersey on 10/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-L8850CDW is a fast and loaded with impressive features and networking and it is built in. The MFC-L8850CDW is a large heavy printer. It also has a serious footprint: 19.3in Wide x 20.7in deep x 20.9 in High. The packaging is quite good as is typical for Brother and while the box had some dings the printer was in perfect condition. The setup was very simple and easy. The printer comes with TN331 standard yield cartridges that drop right in. They are good for 2500 pages B&W or 1500 pages Color. It can take the TN336 high yield cartridges that mean less frequent changes and printing that is more economical. I always get genuine Brother Cartridges. I connected the printer using the Ethernet cable to my Netgear router, install the software on my pcs download the app for my iPad and Samsung Galaxy 4 and had everything configured and up and running in minutes. Driver installation was simple and consistent with other Brother Printer installations. When installed the driver finds the printer on the network and registers the PC with the MFC-L8850CDW so you can scan-to-PC from the device. This is a very nice touch! The installation installs PaperPort scanned document management from Scansoft. I found the large LCD touch screen both intuitive and attractive. It was easily use it for setup and to manage functions/settings of the printer/scanner/copier and fax at the printer. Printing is very quick. I believe the specifications are close to real world at 32ppm for both color and B&W. The MFC-L8850CDW has a quick first page print time. To get that the printer has a large surge current needed to warm the print drum/fuser. I used ordinary laser printer paper. I also used business card stock all with no issues. Bottom-line it does want I want it to do effortlessly and at a very good price point, Brother builds very good products that deliver every time. I have had many Brother Products and have never been disappointed. What I would like to see: An additional paper tray at a reasonable price, not one that cost almost as much as the printer did. An envelope cartridge/tray for high run mailing jobs Near Field connectivity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved