Home » MFC490CW » 103 Reviews

Brother International Mfc490cw Mfc Color Inkjet (brother International Q79339) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 103 reviews)

78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Disapointed in Miami

By Miami from Miami, FL on 02/28/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this machine over two years ago under the assumption that it would perform well as the Brother Brand has been around for a long time and is well respected. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The machine was easy to configure for my home office use for wireless printing, this was a plus at the beginning. Sadly it has been the only positive thing. The print quality is poor for images, no matter the resolution. I have run web based 72dpi files as well as 300dpi print ready documents with similar results in regards to color all poor. The results did not change by much even when print settings were adjusted and different paper was utilized. The machine has never jammed on me... but it decides when it wants to print and when it doesn't. This of course causes serious delays when your in a crunch situation. The WiFi disengages intermittently and the machine hangs/freezes when a land line is connected to it and is in use for a regular call. After the call none of the functions or buttons are operative, I have to unplug the machines power to do a hard boot. I can go on and on. Needless to say I am an experienced user with plenty of print hardware and software knowledge and this machine has left me perplexed at times. I am disappointed and in the market for a replacement now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

brother 490cw fix/solution to black not printing

By Jaxsin from Cali on 10/20/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For some reason when the paper is set to plain (as in the default manufactures setting) the black will not print, even during the "test pages". The printer head is not clogged nor is the tubing leading to the head fill. Select glossy paper in the print settings and presto the black works. I figured the problem out while using the brother print/scan app for iphone, since the default settings within the app is set to 4x6 glossy photo paper. So I toggled the setting to plain letter and it printed a faded blue. Then I immediately went to my printer setting and changed it and now it works just as good as the day I bought it. It took 2 hours and I hope I save others from tons of wasted hours and hard earned money. late 2008 macbook


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After 2 years - black print head bad! Horrible!

By Mark4Fitness from Raleigh, NC on 08/18/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Talked to a fellow who repairs and sells ink cartridges and we came to the conclusion that the internal, non-accessible print head is clogged. I tried doing the self cleaning option off the menu (6 times) and have tried two other cartridges and still does not work! As mentioned by others, the Brother brain trust decided that it was a good idea to have ALL color ink cartridges loaded with ink before you can print black and white! Uh, why? Really? OH BROTHER...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The worst ever

By bmoc from Undisclosed on 08/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Paper gets stuck once out of every 8 times attempting to print. Ink doesn't last too long but is cheap. Avoid this, by far again the worst ever, im constantly fixing this due to paper issues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around machine

By gh91344 from Los Angeles, CA on 07/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the MFC-495CW as a replacement for my MFC-490CW. I purchased this printer versus others in its class because of its size, versatility, design, and print quality. I have printed full page 8.5 x 11 photographs on it and the quality of the ink and prints is outstanding. The prints I have made were for school and were printed out as part of my portfolio. The detail in the prints is amazing, and as test I printed out a full sized photograph of a pink flamingo with a multil-textured and hued background of green. The contrast was amazingly realistic and the texture and colors of the background was very rich. I have printed CD jewel case labels, business cards, greeting cards, and brochures with great detail and color accuracy. My only dislike is the lack of automatic duplexing. One major negative is the ink cartridges are small and run out quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Interesting issues

By Anonymous from Okinawa, Japan on 06/08/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is not bad as a general printer. Also, don't worry about ink costs unless you know how cheap you can actually find ink. I bought a 12 pack online that (averaging the black and colors) was literally about 30 times cheaper (I did the math, but am not allowed to post the prices) than buying them individually from the store. Cons on the printer: 1. It will not print in black and white unless you have ink in all colors. 2. If you try to print from a USB storage device, it allows you only to print image files. 3. It has a lot of interesting connections options and abilities, but they seem to be sloppily managed. Troubleshooting this printer is hopefully still easier than trying to fix a bug in the source code of the operating system on your personal computer. I want to see a printer that makes it as clear as day to anyone who can speak English what it is connected to, what it is printing, where to save it to, what file to what device to print from etc. and to make them all work fully interchangeably. Limiting the storage devices to picture files only is not fully interchangeable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Fredd from NC on 02/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this about 4 years ago to replace my old Brother MFC that served me well for about 5 years. Set up was easy including networking on wireless network. Scanning, Faxing printing is easily done with any of my computers. I love the smart FAX feature that listens for incoming calls and detects if it should handle it as a fax or if it should let the answering machine pick up. I will replace this one in a few more years with another Brother MFC!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Support Team Comes Thru

By Anonymous from New Jersey on 02/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My printer was no longer seen by my wifi network. I did all as the website suggested, and made no progress. After being frustrated, I called customer service and the representative walked me thru the steps to get it back on line. I am no longer flustered and my printer is working!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome product

By spiked2u from Anderson,ca. on 01/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought many other printers and spent alot of money on so called top brand names in the past and this one tops them all. very easy to setup.I love the wifi.If you have a wireless router, any computer can use this with no extra cables but to the router... there is no wrong when you buy this printer.difficulty level for setup i feel is 3 out of 5... Im a freelance photographer and this is a great machine for me....Someone finally knows how to make a printer user friendly and affordable..5 stars "Brother"..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Printer Ever

By john from Undisclosed on 01/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer is not bad but the problem is that you need to have all the colors cartridge with acceptable levels for the printer to work. You can not print in black & white only.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

driver nightmare

By jca698 from alabama on 11/11/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

very difficult to solve printer problems, poor interface with customer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better

By Mike2 from Undisclosed on 11/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit has a lot of features but using them can be difficult at times. It has been better than the LexMark and HP printer preceding it. I've had this printer now for 20mo. Paper jammed only once. Have had to reset settings a few times and reprogram when when changing PC's, router's etc. As for the ink, don't trust the popup ink level indicator. You can view the ink level in the cartidge manually. Trust that. I use generic ink and only have trouble with the yellow. I think it's the print head, not the ink though. I like being able to only change the color that needs it. Cleaning the print head regulary is frustrating but corrects the problem. Now, the plastic lever to press down and eject the yellow ink cartridge has broken. "OUT OF mfr WARRANTY" My AE card extended warranty but have to apply for that coverage now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-495CW

By DeyGotMe from New Orleans, La. on 10/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

JUNK, Pure Trash. Got No Help. Buy at your own risk. BUYER BEWARE, You have been warned. People need to speak up, when products are not good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3 Years and going strong.

By candreae from Cincinnati, OH on 10/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a happy customer, and have suggested this product to numerous customers, co-workers, family members and friends. I agree that the wireless networking feature can be picky at times, and usually has to be setup again after a long period of inactivity, but I see no validity to the claims that "it is junk" or "it's an ink hog." Never base your printer's cartridge use based off of the toner/ink that comes with the unit. These are basically ink "samples" in my experience. I went through my starter cartridges quickly...but I have been using the same high yield replacements for 6 months plus now. Honestly, try owning the product for more than a few weeks before driving off other potential customers from what is, in reality, a wonderful product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Complaints

By mvrazi from Slovenia, EU on 10/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product! Great print quality for this price! Johnny sad: "you need to start the scanning from your pc" WRONG sbyrd sasd: "paper keeps jamming" WRONG Just sometimes.. only when you print photos on non original brother photo paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

forget it.

By jimb from Undisclosed on 09/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this printer although it connects pretty good on the network it really lacks it in print quality. i wish i had never purchased it. we rarely use it but when we need it it needs something done to it to make it work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIS UNIT IS JUNK

By TLB1221 from Clinton Twp, MI on 08/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

USES A LOT OF INK, IF LET TO SIT AND NOT USED FOR SEVERAL DAYS OR A WEEK IT DON'T PRINT WITHOUT HAVING TO WASTE INK AND CLEAN.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Disappointed

By LadyPj from Union City, CA on 08/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer and have only used it once and the black ink will not work. I am having to send it back and they will send me a refurbished machine. I will not purchase another Brother product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tech support helped identified the router problem.

By bchi from Charlotte, NC on 08/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good tech support. She identified that my home WIFI Router was the problem, not the printer. So I factory reset of router and reconfigured. I can connect to printer via WIFI again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WIFI Network quit working-connects to router fine

By bchi from Charlotte, NC on 08/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

after couple months of use the WIFI network quit working.... it connects to WIFI router fine, but cannot my two laptops cannot connect to it... Using USB works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Nita from VA on 08/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for over a year and have not had any complaints. I use the scanner and copier as much as I use the printer. The ink cartridges last a reasonable time and the print quality is excellent. I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone needing a multi-function printer at a reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

mfc496cw

By sammy from new york,n.y. on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the machine work's perfect. It is say to use,and it prints everything perfect. the fax work's good,and all the functions are easy to apply. best quility investment ever. should buy".!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer

By Bret from Undisclosed on 07/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the MFC-490CW for almost a year now and it is great. We can use it to print from anywhere in the house and quality is great. This is well worth the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By jeanne from Los Angeles, CA on 07/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Makes great photos and copies. Easy to operate. Inks last longer than the other brand I replaced with this model. Much more, great customer service reps and excellent technical support that can not be beat. I also have a Brother laser printer and I am very happy with it. I would not hesitate to recommend this to my friends and family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

is not dual voltage

By lugo79 from dc on 07/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product thus far, although I have not used it for anything but scanning and printing 8.5x11. Only bad thing is that it does not accept dual voltage. I may be wrong, but have seen other printers that are dual voltage sold in america, similare to laptops. Hope this helps anybody planning to take a printer abroad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Great Product From Brother - MFC-495cw

By Marion from Los Angeles, CA on 07/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am extremely happy with this multi-function unit. It is easy to work with. This is my 2nd Brother printer bought within 4 weeks replacing the other brand I had where I had to change ink cartridges in a matter of days like there is no tomorrow. Product met my expectations and the best thing I like with Brother products is their excellent customer service. It can't be beat. Going forward, I will be buying Brother printers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By tweety from Pa. on 07/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to replace another brother printer. I liked the feaures of wireless, the double paper tray and the ink cartridges. I really liked the way everything worked and no problem in setting up the computer. The only problem I have is, I recently tried the photo tray only to find it would not work as the tray will not click in place which is one of the reasons I purchased this new printer as my other printer still works great. I have contacted Brother and am hoping they will replace the tray. I have had other printers but find the Brother is the best I have had for price and most of all reliability. Really disappointed with the paper tray not working in a brand new printer. I used the other tray and the pictures print great, but that cedrtainly defeats the purpose of having a two tray system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad printer always in ...

By aura from nyc on 07/08/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bad printer always in warranty repair has problem always missing black color and using a lot of ink to cleaning pictures always printing weary bad


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Improved except for envelope feed.

By Austin28 from Succasunna, NJ on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Moving up from a Brother MFC-465CN (Which I killed by using aftermarket ink), the 495CW is slightly better, but still can not print business envelopes. (The feed does not grab them). Photo's are very nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent value

By DesignDiva from Alabama on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Brother printer, have tried others but keep coming back. I love the wireless feature, the ability to change ink based on the colors I use, and the ability to also scan fax and copy. I wish it was a little faster in the "recovery" mode, but that's what you get for the money! In other words, I make a copy and have to wait until it recovers to copy page two. I get a little impatient with that and will definately upgrade when this one wears out. If your copying 5 or 6 page document, it's annoying! Other than that, I give it 5 stars. I have a special cabinet that limits the size of all in one I can have so this is perfect for that spot. It is rather small and compact.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good SOLID printer

By Homeofficepro from Texas on 06/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I personally have had NO issues with this printer after owning it for about a year. I have it connected via Wifi to 4 different computers and it works like a champ. Ink is cheap, so it's hard to go wrong. Print quality is good. I've printed on clear labels, photo paper, ink jet paper, and standard laser stock paper...all without any issues. Only Con- I'm not horribly thrilled with the interface software. While manageable it's not immediately user friendly, but does allow for quite a bit of customization of the hardware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-495CW

By BettyF from Undisclosed on 05/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have installed this printer 3 times. Still can not get the Control Center to find the printer. I tried twice to get tech support but was unable to get a person that spoke English well enough that I could understand them. The printer is much slower than my previous Brother MFC-420CN. I am very unhappy with this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well Pleased

By Networklady from Philadelphia, PA on 05/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer. The color printing is crisp and clear. Love the wireless feature, especially when I'm sitting up in the bed working via my laptop. I've had other printers before this and I find this printer to be one of the best. The price was not bad either. I'm pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dont purchase this machine

By sbyrd from Detroit, michigan on 05/12/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The paper keeps jamming whenever I try to print something, and the fax machine function only works when it wants to. This machine promises to do a lot. The promises are empty. Save your money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever

By Gidge from Virginia on 05/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product for a small office I set up in my home, and I'm throughly enjoying the ease of faxing,scanning and copying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PERFORMS STATED FEATURES

By VaBchVolunteer from Virginia Beach, Virginia on 05/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had three printers previously - all different brands. This is my first Brother but I am very pleased because it actually accomplishes, with ease, all advertised features. This is the first computer product that I have purchased where I feel like I have gotten the biggest bang for my buck. I would recommend that anyone looking for a new printer to support at home requirements, non-profit or a small business seriously consider purchasing a Brother Printer - they are truly reliable and do what is advertised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MCC-495C

By jajm from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set-up with XP. All functions work as designed. Works well for our home use needs. No photos but print reports, scans, and faxes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great multifunction

By Infoprises from Grand Rapids, MI on 04/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer to replace an older Brother machine I had for several years. It has been a fabulous multifunction machine for our home office. The wireless capability works great and was simple to setup. Having four different ink cartridges is very efficient and they seem to last a long time. I feel like I have received maximum value for my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By galaserve from Norwich, CT on 04/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was always a fan of HP, but was very unhappy with the cost of the ink, especially with the waste of color ink when one color ran out and there was still plenty of other color inks in the cartridge. Was very excited to see that the different colors could be replaced individually. A few years ago I purchased a Brother Laser printer, which also replaced a HP. Had such good luck with that, that I also replaced it with a new Brother with more features. I do a lot of photo printing, and this has allowed me to replace a separate photo printer and prints faster and easier than the old photo printer. I now only have to stock printer cartridges for one printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I purchased this machine ...

By SatisfiedInColorado from Colorado on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this machine about a month ago to use with my home wireless set-up. A self-employed professional installed it for me. Didn't take him too long. I love it - works great, doesn't take up too much room. A recommended buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality product

By Edward from Carbondale, CO on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this printer because I wanted wireless printing capabilities. Initially, I bought another well-known brand but ended up returning it because after 2 1/2 hours on the phone with their tech support, I couldn't get wireless to work--they said it was my computer. Got the Brother and was printing wirelessly in 10 minutes. Seems like a very well-made printer. Menu is easy to navigate and so far I have no complaints. I've also scanned wirelessly and that works great too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than leading competitors all in one

By Kosta from SF CA on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased a Brother MFC 495 CW for my wife's office. It was easy to install and setup the WIFI. Purchased an MFC 495CW for my office and will replace all competitive printers over the next year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Confusing for novice who needs this product

By computer101 from Birmingham, Al on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this fax machine as a neccesity for my business. I was told that brothers was the best. I think the quality of scan and copy are great. I still have to learn how to print photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I have.

By sarducci from New Jersey on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first brother printer and i'm very satisfied. Very sleek looking and user friendly. This printer does what they say. Wireless is great. Love how its all ways ready to print. Great printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fair

By PEH1127 from PA on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good printer but not intuitive with computer. There is alot of manual navigation between computer and Multi Funciton Machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Wireless Printer, but no two-sided copying

By minno from McLean, VA on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like everything about this wireless printer, except I didn't realize when I bought it that it does not have a two-sided copying feature, so I use more paper when printing long documents. All the features (print, scan, fax, copy) work great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By VSIB from Dallas, TX on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Brother Multi-Functioning printer. I am greatly pleased! I totally appreciate the wireless print service --totally cool! Overall the print quality and fax capabilities have been satisfying for use in my home based business. I would definitely recommend this product to friends and professionals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Priner Ever

By tcarter589 from Virginia on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best all in one printer I have ever seen. I love the wireless capabilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase

By Kathy from Undisclosed on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is only the second all in one I have had. The first was second hand from my bother and it didn't last long. This one does everything I need. The only problem I have had is trying to find the instructions for each process in the book with which it came. The book gives information about each process but does not give exact instructions for how to do each process. I have found out how to do most things by trial and error. The Fax part was not difficult but I could not find anywhere in the book how to place the paper on the machine, Up or down. I had to send a fax and then call the people to see if I had done it correctly. You need to fix that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All in one

By Chet from Madison, MS on 04/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently retired and downsized my office but I still wanted the ability to print, fax and copy for personal projects and hobbies...without taking up room with each machine to accomplish this...so this all-in-one model fit the bill perfectly and it has great color printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

mfc 495 cw

By mwood from memphis on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is my first time of using this type of printe and it i am glade i purchase this prouduct


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase for the Money

By Harry from Palm Harbor, FL on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good printer, copies are easy and clear. It was able to use the wireless function with my 1 laptop which has Window 7. My other laptop which runs Microsoft XP, I was unable to get the wireless function to work, why, I have no idea even after reinstalling several times, it will not work. And 'wireless' was the primary reason why I purchased it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good unit

By Mrsvj from Gaithersburg,Maryland on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The machine is compact, makes less noise while printing compared to similar products from other brands. Love the wireless feature. Print, scan, fax from any where in the house.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inexpensive but...

By Bean from Undisclosed on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer on a recommendation from a friend. It was inexpensive but I was disappointed in the print quality and speed. The only positive I would give is that it is fairly simple to scan documents into PDF files.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding All-in-One Printer!

By MitchB from Washington on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is truly top-notch. For build quality, features, and performance you really cannot do better in this price range. There are only two minor things that could be improved on it: the paper tray could be made of a little sturdier plastic, and there could be a removable power cord. In all, I am very impressed, and I would definitely buy one again if the need would arise. This is without-a-doubt a best buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good solid wireless works well

By ekarstedt from titusville fl on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the only problem I have encountered is it will not feed an envelope for printing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not print on both sides

By Marine from Cabot, Arkansas on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You need to fix the problem of this unit so you can pick it to print on both sides. Otherwuse it is a very good printer but finding ink is a problem, my local stores does not carry the LC61 ink.. I have to drive 25 miles to get ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So glad I made the exchange

By WirelessQueen from Chicago, IL on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Initially I purchased the printer, scanner, copier...wired....from Epson (listenting to a friend who thinks she knows it all) but quickly realized that was not I wanted. I had always had my eye on this particular printer and I'm so glad I made the exchange. It does everything that I want it to do and more.....I can even print picutres (something I couldn't do on my old all-in-one). No, I can take everything out of my digital camera and make prints to remember. Installing ink and papertray is a snap. Very easy to use. Its so easy to use, my 50 year old Aunt purchased the same printer and has no issues with using hers either(she's not very tech savy). Good job Brother!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best ever

By Ricky from Springfield GA. on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very very good all around printer fax and scaner! Prints very clear and real like photos, the color is sharp. it dose not use ink like my last printer its a conservitive printer if you have the phone over the internet no problem to fax set up is a littel tricky but a simple call to Brother, and they pationatly gide you through it all (good custemer service) the scaner is good but if you scan a photo it might come out just a littel bright. also the wireless feature works perfect. I print stuff from 150 feet away and have no truble! its the perfect all a round printer for home or office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By VABusiness from Undisclosed on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a small business owner and use this printer for that purpose. It is very easy to set up. I have had this printer for a month now. I find that the print quality is pretty decent as well. My only issue is with the ink cartridges. As with most printers, the black ink tends to go rather fast and it's expensive to replace. Overall, highly satisfied. Great purchase for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

frustrated by fax

By goldie from Philadelphia, PA on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am unable to receive faxes on this complicated system. The instruction booklet is confusing. My daughter who is much more IT sophisticated cant figure it out either. I use the fax and that was the whole purpose of buying the machine.Outgoing fax is not a problem however.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY NICE PRINTER COMBO

By snyders281 from Manahawkin,NJ on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this brother a couple of months ago. It took longer to get it out of the packaging then it did to get my network all connected to it. Great product for a cheap price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wish I hadn't purchased this machine

By robinrn from West Palm Beach, FL on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have only had this machine for a couple of months and for some reason it continuously stops working. One day it works the next day it does not. I have been very disappointed. I shouldn't have to install the wireless software all of the time. Even then, it doesn't always work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does it all:

By boben from Bel Air, Maryland on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This by far is the best machine I have owned. It has a small footprint, was a breeze to set up using a USB cable and is pretty intuitive to operate (I will probably attempt to go wireless in the near future). I have it hooked up to an answering system and it works perfectly. The incoming and outgoing faxes are clean and clear. The scanning and copying features work great and this machine is pretty quick at everything it does. The only thing I have not tried yet is to print on photo paper. I would highly recommend the MFC-495CW.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big improvement over last printer

By happyus from Cental Oregon on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Enjoying our new Brothers printer very much. Though we did have to take the first one back to store as it malfunctioned!! It was invaluable in printing our all IRS forms. So far have only printed and copied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the printer. just ...

By ginn from Undisclosed on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the printer. just wish it had a bigger black ink cartridge and that I could copy both sides without having to take the paper flip it around, put it back in the paper tray and then print


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By maurice from new york on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love it. especially the ease of setting up the fax machine to work with my answering machine. make very good print and copy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very satisfied!

By ksandoz from Texas on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the all in one feature. And I am in the process of printing photos from past vacations for scrapbooking and they are coming out with professional-looking quality! Very satisfied with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like my Brothers Machine

By mamaduke55 from Roanoke, Va on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Brother Machine and I love it. But this one is prints a little fast then my first. I would not give anything for it. Thank you for it.The price was reasonable for it to be a wireless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work

By Hollywood from Hollywood, FL on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My printer (MFC-495CW) was working great for a while but now it won't print anymore. I could send and receive fax but it's not communicating with the computer. Don't know what to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brothers MFC 495CW A Very Good Printer

By Don45 from Ballston Spa, NY on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Brother's printer. My previous printer was the MFC 420 it work very good for about 5 years. I need a new printer and wanted the wireless feature too. The MFC 495CW is one of the bust printers that I have purchase yet. I like the wireless freature and it scran very fast and the fax works very fast as well. I am very satisified with this printer and when I need another one I will keep buying Brother's printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of my best purchase ever

By Jay2042 from Kissimmee FLORIDA on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Brother printer and I`m overly happy with the way this printer perfoms. I would recommend this printer to anyone who needs a good printer that`s not too expensive and performs just as good as any printer in the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Photo printing

By Frannie from Georgia on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only issue that I have is with printing photos. First you have to figure out what the Brother sizes are in their list because they are not listed as 4x6, 5x7, etc. They are listed as photo, L1, L2; then you have to move the photo paper trey to use the photo paper. I had an all in one from HP that all you had to do was slide the size paper you wanted to use into the main paper tray, select size; listed as the size you wanted (4x6, etc.) and away it would go. I also think the ink takes longer to dry on pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Greatest 4 n 1

By cupcake from Beaufort, SC on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always been loyal to other products. No more, the Brother MFC-495CW, is easier to use, and works like a charm. Never had any problems..several friends have bought one and love it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best printer i have ever owned

By dave77 from Undisclosed on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer is a best-kept secret. while HP may be the best known, this printer beats them, hands down. i have not regretted buying this printer one moment. i recommend them to everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Love it

By Becca from California on 04/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the printer. The only problems I have ever had with is the paper getting jammed but that can be easily fixed through the back of the printer. I like the wireless feature. This is the best printer I have ever had


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Purchase

By Gary from Nashville, Tn on 04/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have purchased several Brother fax/printers or printers over a number of years and have been very pleased with the quality and the durability of these machines. I highly recommend any Brother products on market. Thank you Gary


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Somewhat satified

By Mellow from Undisclosed on 04/21/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I previously had a Brother MFC-420CN all-in-one printer which lasted for five years. Since I was very happy with it, when I needed a new printer, I decided to purchase the MFC-495CW. Although I am generally happy with this newer version, I am disappointed with the ink cartridges. My previous printer had a double-size black cartridge, which was great since I only do a limited amount of color printing. However, the newer MFC-495CW has the same small size cartridges for ALL printing heads, which means that I go through black ink very quickly and it could become very costly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Pictures

By kwsales from Sumner Washington on 04/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We sell used trucks and equipment, I print and scan a lot of pictures, does a great job! Easy to use and works well with my thumb drive. I also have a Brother laser HL-4070CDW. Both machines do a great job! Had HP before and like the Brothers equipment better!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wireless printer

By annC from Tennessee on 04/18/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

must sit VERY close to router or won't work wireless. Very inconvenient


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent printer

By Joseph from Tunkhannock,Pa on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent printer. It was easy to set up and worked the first time. The wireless feature works great and set up easily. The fax and copy features work excellent. The ink is fairly cheap to buy. An overall excellent printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

satisfied

By hughboy from Texas on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since I have been using a competitor's product,s it took a little while to get acquainted with operation (not hard). The product works very well and produces a quality printout.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really good all around machine for the money

By MoVal from Undisclosed on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My new Brother MFC-495CW is a terrific buy. Not only was it inexpensive to purchase, it has better ink management than my old HP did. It scans in a fraction of the time as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a wonderful, low cost, full featured all-in-one!

By debbitech from Western North Carolina on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my first Brother product, this MFC-495CW, a couple of months ago, and have used it wirelessly from two rooms (and a long hallway) away, and it works flawlessly! I wish I could fax from my home, but I don't have a home phone (still looking into VoIP); but every other feature that I have used on this little machine has not let me down! It's a great full-featured machine and I am certainly happy and feel (so far) that my money has been well spent! Thanks, Brother!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Cisco from Colorado on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would recommened this product to anyone searching for a Multi-Function Printer. The wireless helps out so much!!!! The only concern I have is the consumption of ink. I printed out a few pictures (5x7) and it drained down the ink. Now that the yellow is out I can not even use the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally I found it

By myprinter from Saccramento, CA on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this printer. It does an excellent job!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By RTAT from New York on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaced a printer that we only owned a year. We were attracted to our last printer due to the low cost of the ink, but in all honesty, it was loud and not well built. We purchased our Brother and it was easy to set up, easy to use. The ink life is better than some other national brands. The printer is quiet and perfect for any household or small business use. The scan function is also easy, and making a copy is a 1 button task. I have not used the fax, so I cannot comment on that function. Excellent printer, great value!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good value, decent prints

By dsigner from SF Bay Area on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a really good value for what it offers. Draft print quality could be a bit better, and faster, but the fine quality is very good. Scans and copies well, set up is mostly straightforward. It is quiet, sleeps when not in use, and activates when you send it a print job via wi-fi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By Dana from Denver, Colorado on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this machine. It was relatively easy to set up although I needed a little assistance over the phone. The customer support was professional and accurate and the representative stayed on the line until we got it to recognize the network. Turns out it was the security settings on my own pc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Good

By BGittech from Upstate NY on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the printer because I wanted to attach it to my home network (multiple PC's and Mac's) using it's wireless capabilities. The printer has been working very well since I purchased it about 5 - 6 months ago. I chose Brother because of positive past experiences with Brother and because it uses individual color cartridges and they're not expensive. I don't like tossing a multicolor cartridge with just one color empty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome All A Round Printer, Fax and Copier

By Magnme from Oxnard, CA on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had home combo printers before, but I had to hook up my laptop to print out. Now I have the ease any place in my home or backyard to send a fax or get something copy from a web site with the wireless hook up. The printer is fast and clear. It has made or home office into a "Dream come ture"! I give our new combo printer "thumbs up". Thank you Brother!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Yet

By Jhazy46 from Peru, NY on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this for about three months now, and have run it through the paces! And I'm really rough on printers. I can honestly say this is the best I've owned to date (about number 35). It has all the features I was looking for in a printer and more, like the wireless option, direct mem card reader, print and copy without the computer. I would definately recommend to anyone who is rough on printers, that is to say does 500 plus pages a month on average!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good buy

By winkco from Glen Burnie,Md on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it. It was easy to setup and connect to my wireless internet and the ink last you


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By rfruth from Harrisburg, PA on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for an inexpensive wireless color multifunction machine and this fit the bill. Good color output, quick printing on normal mode, good scanning capabilities, nice software included with unit, pretty easy to setup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!!

By Smangie from Bakersfield, ca on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer/fax/copier/scanner!! I am not very good at figuring out how to work things like this, but this was really easy! I have never had an issue with this product. The price is really reasonable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy, fast and works as stated

By HappyPrinter from San Jose, CA on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with the MFC-495CW. The small size with all the features is what attracted me to the machine, as well, I had purchased other Brothers products that work perfect. This machine was easy to set up per instructions and it was working in a flash, wirelessly and prints good quality. Appreciate the printer a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW What A Great All-in-one...

By VinceEFX from Santa Barnara, CA on 04/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a small home business, I wanted an all-in-one system and the Brothers MFC-495CW fits my needs 100%.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy!!

By Nutzy from Undisclosed on 03/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with this printer. We got a great deal on it. It was extremely easy to set up and get going. Love the wireless feature. The pages print pretty quick. Would definitely recommend this to others!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fair

By Johnny from New York, NY on 03/22/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you can get it to print, it prints great. Fax and scan work ok, but you need to start the scanning from your pc, you can't start it from the machine. Paper size is a total wack job. Other than letter and legal, you cannot tell what size to set the paper unless you have their nomenclature in your head, because it can't be found on line and if you don't have your instruction book you won't be able to figure it out. I can't find mine, so I don't even know if it is covered in there. Paper sizes are: A4, Index Card, Photo, and other nondescript sizes which, if you don't have it set exactly to the correct one, the machine just spits out your paper and says "Incorrect paper size". No help online either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very happy

By till from pasadena, California on 03/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the MFC-495CW for my home office. It is connected wireless to two PC's, both running Windows 7. It took a little time to setup the wireless; I had help from Brother tech support and it works great. I feel that I made the perfect choice. Before installing the software, I checked the Brother website to see if there was a more recent software and ended up downloading my software instead of using the disk that came with my machine. The finish is nice and I have no complaints, so far. I have owned it several weeks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!

By michchick98 from Michigan on 02/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer was very easy to set up. The wireless capability saved money from having to buy two printers. I did have some initial difficulties setting up the fax machine, but I learned later, that was my blunder. I do wish it had the capability to print a double sided document, but that's a minor issue. For personal use for myself and my father, it more than serves its purpose and is well worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Looking

By scapersprinter from Lakewood, Ohio on 02/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The machine is stylish and lightweight and appears to be able to do all I will need for my small business. Once it is up and running, no telling what all can be accomplished with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By Lawrence from Aurora, Co. on 02/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very please with this printer. I have one problem and that is the installation should be updated to Linux distributions I have had trouble getting the scanner to work. After much searching, I was able to get to working and it is fine. If you want beauty and duty, you've picked the right one. Not only is it beautiful, it is dependable. The price is right. I believe it is priced perfectly for the product. I strongly recommend this printer to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved