Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC7840W » 24 Reviews

Brother International Mfc7840cw Multifunction Laser Printer (mfc7840w) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 24 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

DISAPPOINTED

By TLLMSOD from Tulsa OK on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not convenient for printing business checks. Must open cover to remove checks. Our checks have a security label on them that is metallic in nature, causes the print on the checks to get too hot and copy over to other checks making the check very messy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had this printer ...

By ParamedicStewie from Undisclosed on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for over a year now and I have had no issues with it. I print a lot and this printer has never failed me. I have used many Brother products and currently have 3 Brother printers in use, 2 of which are label machines.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good

By Anonymous from Philadelphia, pa on 03/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i own 4 brother printers - they are the best! some are over 10 years old and still going. my only problem with this printer is the wireless software is def flaky on win 7. some machines it works great - some not at all. if they can lock down the software portion it will be a 5 out of 5 star printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product for the money

By Dado from New Orleans, LA on 12/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All printing functions were good out of the box until I tried printing envelopes through the manual paper feed. Almost every time I tried I got a message saying 'Paper Jam, Remove and reinstall the Toner Cartridge. I finally returned it for another and it has been working fine. Good product for the money. Simple to install.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very good buy

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this machine for over a year now and it has worked quite well. I have no regrets at all; I would buy it again. I have found it cheap to operate and quite serviceable. The installation was a little problematic but once it was resolved all was well. I highly recommend this machine . Remember it is not color but black and white so if that is what you want then this machine is for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Solid Product

By westcoasthawk from Seattle, WA on 10/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Amazing product for such a reasonable price. Top quality print. Great fax capabilities. Scans effortlessly. Copies like a champ. I won't be going back to over-priced, merely adequate HPs again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a thing wrong with this printer.

By clicker01 from Silicon Valley, Ca. on 10/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is awesome. Hard to believe some of these reviews. In fact, I'm writing this review simply because I'm amazed that people are complaining about this and that. This is an awesome multi-function printer. Super easy wireless networking setup across every platform out there; Windows version "everything", Linux, Novell, MAC, Unix, BSD. You name it, I have it piped in to this all in one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Windows 7 wireless lan installation finally worked

By semitechie from Honolulu on 09/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I returned an HP M1522nf that would not do what I needed, and exchanged it for this one despite earlier complaints about it not working with Windows 7. It came with a Windows 7 disk. After several unsuccessful wireless attempts, I used a wired connection to the router for the setup on the desktop computer (which turned out to have a wired connection to the router!). Once the printer showed up in the network map and I had added it to the homegroup, I did a wireless lan installation for the laptop (calling it a Brother peer to peer network). It easily found the printer and the installation works for both computers: wired for one, and wireless for the other. Anyone visiting the household can access the wireless lan if they have the WEP key, and just would need to install the software suite or the driver.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Give Me Back My HP!

By Gmar from Waco, TX on 08/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Really the best that I can say for this machine is that the setup was easy and the printing is acceptable. Machine indicates a jam when there isn't one. If the envelope is not fed into the feeder just perfectly, it will indicate a jam. It would be nice to have markings to indicate how far the sliders need to be moved in for envelopes. Indicates Toner needs changing when in fact, the cartridge is half full. Constantly having to remove the cartridge, shake it and reinstall. The document feeder seems to catch the paper at a slight angle causing the print to be at an angle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must buy (almost perfect)

By Jeff from Los Angeles on 08/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a laser multifunction device with network capability that I could use to print from my laptop anywhere in the house. A lot of reviews seemed to point to the Brother MFCs as the best overall brand for laser monochrome devices. The only problem was that there were a LOT of different models to choose from - just going to the Brother website to do some comparison shopping made my head spin. The MFC-7840W is a recently introduced model which has seemed to get good reviews across the board. A major plus is that it has both wireless and wired network capabilities. I took the plunge and purchased this model. Since I already had a wireless router to plug it into, I didn't need to use the wireless capabilities, but it seemed to be a nice option for future flexibility. The Ethernet connection was easy to set up and worked the first time I tried printing from my laptop. I like that they had 2 option wired and wireless. this is Great. Now I am using the wireless. I've been very pleased with the quality and feature set of the MFC-7840W. Not only does it print high quality output, but it has clearly-labeled buttons for scan, fax, and copy, which makes it a breeze to use any of these functions. Plus, the device is relatively light and doesn't have a very large footprint, so it fits easily on top of a small file cabinet. High marks overall. The only thing missing was duplex(double side page) printing option and USB direct print. (it will be perfect) Please Brother the next update add duplex double side printing and usb direct.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No-Go with Windows 7

By cfirtion from Union, NJ on 08/07/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer because of it's networking capability and it's price. I run 3 computers; 1-WinXP, 1-WinVista & 1-Win7. I had no problems with the XP or Vista machines. The Win7 unit is a TOTAL NO-GO! No matter what I do, I cannot get the printer/scanner/FAX to work on the Win7 machine. Worse; I cannot load any other printer. Brother says it's not their problem. Dell says it's not theirs. Both Brotehr & Dell want me to pay for the privilege of getting it to work. I have found all online "solutions" unhelpful at best. The only way I can currently print is to send all docs to one of my other machines. Not pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By dollspot from San Francisco. CA on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second Brother printer I have owned. The first one lasted 5 years and I got this one so I could go wireless. I have no doubt it will last me as long or longer then the first. It was not complicated to set up and all functions were working within a short time. Thanks Brother -keep the reliable units coming!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great little workhorse

By Peachie from Georgia on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Brother MFC printer that I use in my office tax business. Scans, fax, copies, and just about everything else you'd expect a MFC printer to do. One thing I miss--The ability to duplex. Wireless is phenomenol. It's nice to be able to put the printer anywhere and print out documents in an area away from the printer. Would recommend to anyone needing a small footprint, business, school, or office printer. Ideal. Will continue to buy Brother products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By Edlewusa from Long Island on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set-up, does everything well. Having a network printer is the best; printing from the backyard, the basement, etc. Don't know yet about the toner life. This replace a Brother multifunction that replaced a Brother laser that replaced a Brother laser.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good choice

By Artsy from surprise, Arizona on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a multi-function, laser quality, black printer. I had other printer experiences and knew the Brother was reliable and could take a lot of use. So far, it has met all my needs; I defintely like the larger paper tray and feeder. I'm not one for reading directions, but I have been able to use several functions such as the enlarging option which I also like w/o any frustration. Now, if I use the provided disc, that would be a good thing! My previous all in one, color printer which is smaller will be going to my son, is also a Brother and is continuing to perform admirably.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By snowbird from Minneapolis, MN on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Most functions work well except the fax. I have VOIP and can't send a fax - I keep getting "poor line condition" error message. It was also very difficult to set up with Win7. It couldn't find the printer until I downloaded the latest driver deployment wizard from the software support page.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good machine

By jirihipo from Brownsville,TX on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All in one, save space and excellent quality and printers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer horrible documentation

By Aydan from Billerica, MA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this printer because of the wireless capabilities and features and it works as stated and more. However, setting up the wireless isn't for the faint of heart. It wasn't until the second day and many Google searches later that I found a remote forum post of some admin web interface vs using the keypad. Great! Except the passwords and users names took yet another hour scouring the web to find the defaults. None of these facts are in the documentation, i nearly had to call tech support. However, having said all of this, once you get past the utterly horrible docs, the printer, scanner and other features work flawlessly and I have no issues with it. You just have to be a genius with Google to get it configured.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer is Great

By brockmc from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been so excited with our new MFC Printer.....We have it on a different level of the house and the wireless function works perfectly. My husband was afraid he'd waste time printing when the machine might be out of paper and we'd have to go downstairs just to be disappointed.....Not to worry, yesterday I had a window appear on my computer that said the printer was "Out of Paper"....No worries now..It's great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product, Great value

By eliz from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed to replace a b/w printer. After doing research about performance and price, I choose the MFC-7840W. Hasn't let me down yet! I definitely recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great machine

By jjr730 from austin texas on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Machine does everything promised one of the better purchases I made


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By cynthie from Los Angeles on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this mfc 6 months and I have not had problems. Brother is a good product. You need to keep it covered so dust will not accumulate. Dust mess up the fax feeder.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Multi-Function Printer

By Patrick from California on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I checked the reviews online before deciding and all the positive comments about this printer were true. It installed easily on the network via the wired Ethernet connector. After downloading the Mac drivers from Brother, my sweetheart's MacBook Pro connected easily and works better wirelessly with this printer than the one she uses at school! The print quality is excellent, including graphics. I've used the copy, fax and image scan functions and they all work without any problems. Since I use fax and scan infrequently, it's a testament to the intuitive nature of the device that I could do so without having to reread the manual. Also, the print cartridges are a much better value that HP's. Bottom line: I'm very happy with this excellent device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for a family Network Printer

By DMay from Space Coast, Florida on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We started out with a printer connected to our Desktop PC, and a standalone fax. Now we have more space with this printer being an all-in-one. Print quality is great and fast, plus the family loves the ability to print from their laptops wirelessly. I've used the fax, copy, and scan features also. All work well for the home user in my opinion. Brother has designed a nice one here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved