Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFC9120CN » 33 Reviews

Brother Mfc-9120cn Multifunction Printer - Color Led - 17 Ppm Mono - 17 Ppm Color - 600 X 2400 Dpi - Copier, Printer, Scanner, Fax - Usb - Ethernet - Pc, Mac (mfc9120cn) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 33 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great move on my part

By Loooney from NY, NY on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are tired of being ripped off paying for inkjet ink this is your solution. Great quality print. A lower cost per page. What else is there?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

photos

By robin from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

needs to allow other size paper with less work to feed for printing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After 12 Months

By HudsonsBoss from Los Angeles, CA & Park City, UT on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this unit, copies wells and easy to use but I do not use too many advance features and scanning. The one issue I have but is with most color copiers, is the expense of the ink-toner supplies. Also, this unit is relatively new and haven't run into any problems or warranty issues. This is the primary area where I feel problems or dissatisfaction occurs. Time will tell but I still like this unit and would rate this at 4-1/2 Stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely worst product ever created

By Mike2000000000000 from Undisclosed on 02/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I cannot say enough bad things about this printer. It's expensive, uses ink faster than an airplane uses fuel, takes an eternity to begin printing, smudges ink on the corners of most documents and jams literally 99% of the time. If you plan on using any paper besides the lightest smallest weight paper, this thing will print one page and jam. You will fix the jam in the paper tray, you will then have a 5% chance of it printing followed by a guaranteed jam. If you want to print, say restaurant menus, it will take about 30 minutes of babysitting. I would not recommend this printer to my worst enemy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORST PRODUCT ON THE MARKET

By SeriousUser from Undisclosed on 02/02/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had nothing but problems with this MFC. If you are unlucky enough to buy one, don't expect help from the manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied so far

By juler15 from Central Pennsylvania on 08/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've had our printer for approx. 4 months. Overall I have been satisfied with the product. We did have to replace the ink already which surprised me because I thought it would last longer than it did. (although, it lasted longe than my old printer would have) and we did have a piece of paper get stuck in the printer which created about 1/2 hour of wasted time but, that we little bit of paper was in the printer, and the machine kept telling us that it was. I would by this product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Exceptional Small Business All-in-One

By chambraigne from Grand Junction, CO on 07/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-9120CN is a breeze to configure. Network scanning is completely straightforward and it took a total of about 2 minutes to figure out how to set up the machine to receive faxes through my company's VOIP phone system. After about 4 months of steady use I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for a trusty multi-function laser printer. You won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slow to Print

By MsDre from Undisclosed on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

extremely slow; takes a long time to print 1-5 color pages w/minimal colors. would recommend only if docs are not needed right away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Home busines printer

By SamR from Undisclosed on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has turned out to be a very reliable and hard working printer for my home office and business. It pretty much handles any thing we throw at it from faxes to high end graphics. For a ink-jet it is very economical to operate. My only con to the printer is the LCD screen could be larger to make it easier to read. Other then that I give this unit 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By ParishAdministrator from Louisiana on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the MFC-9120CN two mons ago and am very well pleased. The color printing is just fabulous! Our bulletins and newsletters are much more pleaseing to peruse with color. We are still haveing trouble with the FAX, but I thnk it's on our end having trouble setting up. Would highly recommend this printer to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By newbie from Mt. Pleasant, SC on 07/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the printer. It is rather slow on the warm up but that doesn't particularly bother me. My main complaint is that when printing envelopes, they come out slightly wrinkled and sloppy looking (the printing is fine, I just don't like that they are wrinkled and curved). Additionally, there are several different options for scanning which can be confusing until you decide exactly what you want to use. I don't use the fax machine so I can't speak to that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good MFC and the worst overpriced cartradges

By mryfs from Fair Lawn, NJ on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the MFC-9120CN Digital Color All-in-One With Fax and Networking on 12/2009. In four months I brought this machine to warranty repair shop two times: 1. printing board was changed because printout gave blurring column in the middle of the page. After replacement printout was excellent. 2. New cartridge was not recognized by machine. After some board was replaced it works normally. This machine is a very easy to manage, networking, use, it would be very good if those problem would be solved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

terrible

By champion from Undisclosed on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this has got to be the worst machine I've ever had. If I get 800 copies per black toner I would be surprised. I've had the machine 2 months and used 3 black toners. I've had no luck with the supplier as now I hear comments like what is your coverage per sheet. If it was 30% it would be about a paragraph. I'm not happy at all and the supplier just keeps bringing me more toner which I'm concerned will end when the warranty does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it!

By linda from St. Louis, MO on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've never bought Brother products before, but bought this all-in-one on the referral of the IT company I use. They said it is sturdy and economical. I really like it -- it offers all the features I wanted for my business, and I enjoy using it. At first I was a little intimidated with the huge cartridges and figuring out how to use it; but the features and cartridge installation turned out to be very simple. I haven't yet used the fax; but the printing, copying, and scanning are so easy! The only drawbacks would be that it prints very slowly and the colors are a little off. But for my needs, it is awesome!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All-In-One; Adequate software

By ThorAtHome from Rhode Island on 07/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the Brother products and have a bunch of them in my home and office. The MFC-9120CN is excellent, fast and accurate. a good sturdy printer/scanner. It's my mainstay office printer, I use every day. I'll buy a second one in a heartbeat when I need one. I have used both the USB and the network connections. All good. For my business, I use the printer and scanner, not the fax. I give it 4 stars because the control software for the scanner is clunky, my only complaint. But I scan in b/w & color, single- and multi-page to PDF routinely and with no problems. Can scan to TIFF, JPEG, etc, too. Would be nice if the software were as elegant as the printer itself. ANother excellent Brother product. I'm happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't print envelopes

By Charlie from Undisclosed on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Used this machine about 3 months now. Works well at document handling in my home network environment. BUT.. I cannot print envelopes despite calls to and help from tech support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All-in-one Brother

By BagramJohn from Bagram Afghanistan on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought to replace DoD printer which had a bad scanner. Very pleased with the Brother as it is quiet, fairly fast and the cartridges are reasonably priced compared to other mfgs. Will definitely consider Brother for future IT needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Shockwav24 from Ohio on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To date, this is by far one of the best printers I have ever owned. Getting hooked up to my network has been a little tricky, but it has been just as easy for me to just bring my laptop to the printer location and plug it in with the supplied cable. I had gotten so tired of my inkjet printers having problems with the cartridges going dry before I ever got full use out of them. This laser printer has been top-notch. It is easy to set up and easy to use. And all the functions make my life so much easier. I would definitely recommend this printer to any one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost perfect for home office

By BrandynSim from San Francisco, CA on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this printer for printing color and black and white forms, letters, etc. HOWEVER, printing an envelope is another matter. I can't tell you how many times it "jams" and there isn't a jam. The automatic document feeder has been great, I have problems with this feature on other laser printers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great machine

By bdilks from Alexasndria, Virginia on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we have owned this machine for a few months now and are really enjoying using it. set up was easy enough. instructions were ver good. The large paper capacity is nice to have. color is veery good. pictures loook great even on plain paper. document feeder is very fast. slow warm up time but that is because it has to heat up to print. print speed is very good. some minor problems using the manual feed slot. suspect that is because I don't quite understand the why's and hows of using it enough. this should get better with longer use of the mafchine. i kept trying to feed the paper and pressing the print button too quickly causing a backlog of print jobs. this caused my timing to be off when inserting the envelope into the slot. Can't print more than one envelope at a time. the scan function works very good as well. I do not know if the auto fax/tel setting works to recognise the difference between a fax and voice to send the call to either the fax or the answering machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Nani from Colorado on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love the basic machine. However, the scan feature does not work and I cannot get help with setting it up or getting it to work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It might have been . . .

By katydid from Tucson, AZ on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the best printer in the world, but it has a huge flaw. It is not completely compatible with Mac Snow Leopard 06X. With Mac's browser, Safari, the Brother printer cannot SELECT part of an article and print it. It prints the whole thing, even, it seems, if that means 20 pages of unwanted material. I asked customer service to please not tell me that this expensive printer could not SELECT on Mac. They wrote back that this was true. The printer could not select with Safari. I found this so awful, that I considered demanding my money back. Then I told myself that Brother would fix this flaw soon. The printer is dazzling otherwise, but when Brother advertises the printer as Mac compatible, they are not telling the whole truth. This seems unethical. A potential buyer should be given the chance to decide whether or not she wants a printer that is otherwise great, but when printing online, cannot print only part of a long article.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great improvement

By mudman612 from Hill AFB, UT on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We got this one to replace an older version after it stopped working. This one is more user friendly, set up was easy, it always works over our home network and the LCD display make it easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine - but with reservations.

By Noisefree from Naples (Southwest), Florida on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my refurbed 9120 two years ago, and it has performed admirably. Although a bit noisy, with chirps and squeeks, the finished product is good, if not outstanding. Color intensity is lacking, but that probably is because I'm trying to conserve toner - which is hidiously expensive. Replacing all of the four toner cartridges with new (at list) comes to double the cost of the printer. The answer is probably to get generic "refills" at half the cost. I don't use the color aspects of the printer that much, but it's great to have the capability. The printer is reliable and easy to maintain, and I would definitely recommend it - as I would other Brother products. (We have other printers, fax machines and labelers in our office that all work fine!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By booknut from Madison, WI on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got tired of my color inkjet printers drying up so I was looking for a color laser. I really liked my b/w Brother laser and this color one is awesome. The other requirements were wireless, and a scanner. I probably won't use the built-in FAX. Setting up the wireless is tough and getting color photos (make sure to use laser photo paper) takes some adjusting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality but...

By ChuckC from Raleigh, NC on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been a fan of Brother printers for a long time. This machine performs very well - quiet, almost no jams, intuitive controls and easy to set up. But... be sure to price the toner cartridges and calculate the total cost of ownership so you won't be unpleasantly surprised as was I. The printer is worthy of 5 stars, but the costly cartridges pull the overall rating down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By MountainGirl from High in the mountains of Colorado on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine ROCKS!! I'd finally had it with ink printers. I live in a low humidity area and my ink cartridge heads were always drying out and clogging up since I didn't print documents very often. Now that problem is nonexistent with this laser printer. I can go for months without printing anything then, when I finally do print something out, it works like a champ. I had to tweak the color adjustments some, but now they're set to my liking. I'm using regular paper and the printer heat seems to make it curl a bit, but maybe there's some laser specialty paper I should be using. Word of warning....this beast is HEAVY!! All in all, this is a terrific product and I highly recommend it!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

high ink user

By realtor from PA on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The copier prints beautifully, but I have printed a few thousand color brochures. I fiqured out my cost based on the 1500 copies they said it would do per expensive cartridge and I only got 500 to 600 per cartridge. It uses a lot of toner. 3 times the cost advertised


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By FREDCO from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good quality printer. Good value for the money. Can't seem to get the printer to colate output. Maybe software issue?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine

By NMAntiquer from Carlsbad, NM on 07/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this machine for a month now, and it copies well, prints well and faxes fine. My only complaint is the paper tray is small. I previously owned a different laser all in one and it was noisy and kept cycling itself. This machine is pretty quiet and prints much faster than my old machine. I am very pleased with the machine especially for the money. You can find it cheaper on other websites.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is so so

By Dakota from Aberdeen, South Dakota on 04/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I got this printer I thought wow this should do everything that I need. Well, when you want to print on both sides of the page you have to do it manualy and that doesn't work very well. I called Brother on 4/12/10 and they said that this "model" has problems with that. I told the lady again that I have to load the 5 times before it will take it and print. After a number of minutes I was given ANOTHER NUMBER to call for a repair center. I havn't called yet it's not a local # so I'm sure that I'll have to drive or pay to have it shipped to be repaired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall, a Great All-In-One

By DBKounter from Ladera Ranch, CA on 04/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Despite my fears (I'm not that tech-savvy), I was able to get the machine up and running very quickly; the directions were very simple (hooray!). I am impressed with the print quality and the fact that I can scan legal-sized documents and both sides at that (even though scanning both sides entails manually turning the documents over). The only criticism that I have is that the machine seems to draw a lot of power (so that my home office lights dim) when it exits SLEEP mode and is ready to print. Not sure if this is something that I can fix on my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast...Quick...Easy

By Bogs from Casper, WY on 03/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This line of laser printer dubbed the Brother MFC-9120CN is absolutely stunning. I do not have to wait for my pile of papers to finish printing. It prints as if you are ready to go with your documents before most printers prints line per line. This one is insanely terrific. I must say even if it's bulky as a big machinery. It serves its purpose. Printing quality inked documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved