Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MFCL2740DW » 156 Reviews

Brother Mfc-l2740dw Laser Multifunction Printer - Monochrome - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 32 Ppm Mono Print - 2400 X 600 Dpi Print - 32 Cpm Mono Copy - (mfcl2740dw) Reviews
Brother Mfc-l2740dw Laser Multifunction Printer - Monochrome - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 32 Ppm Mono Print - 2400 X 600 Dpi Print - 32 Cpm Mono Copy - (mfcl2740dw)

Brother Mfc-l2740dw Laser Multifunction Printer - Monochrome - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Copier/fax/printer/scanner - 32 Ppm Mono Print - 2400 X 600 Dpi Print - 32 Cpm Mono Copy - (mfcl2740dw)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

The Brother™ MFC-L2740DW is a reliable, affordable monochrome laser all-in-one with an up to 35-page automatic document feeder for home or small office use. This desk-friendly, compact all-in-one has an up to 250-sheet capacity tray, connects with ease via wireless networking or Ethernet, and ... <more> 

Brother International Model: MFCL2740DW

$338.22

8 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 156 reviews)

83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good product

By Sarge2 from Undisclosed on 10/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pro Machine is fast and prints very clean product. Con Printing envelopes is sort of a hassle. Overall Love this thing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Somewhat Satisfied

By Anonymous from manchester New Jersey on 10/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I feel it goes through too much toner too fast for the work that we do here. I feel I am changing the toner too often. My other brother machine would be almost a case of paper before I had to change the toner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Thutson464 from Lakewood, WA on 10/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After having a brother machine for several years I decided to upgrade to two new expensive HP printers. I donated my old Brother printer. What a mistake. After using the new HP Printers for four months I put them both in storage and went out and purchased the Brother product again. It is faster, easier, more reliable, and lets me use ink besides the Brother brand. No way can you do that with HP


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine!

By Myrta from Baltimore, MD on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer connected quickly to my Mac and to my Wireless router. Easy to navigate display. I needed an economical alternative to replacing costly cartridges in my ink jet printer and this is just what the Dr. ordered. Could not be happier. No color, but that's not the purpose of this printer in my studio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good reliable printer

By Sull from Undisclosed on 10/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent printer, the only criticism I would have is the changes you have to make to print an evelope.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart Purchase Ever

By Aneeeda from Uvalde, Tx on 10/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just started a new business. Office is small. Needed a fast, compact laser printer that had fax, copy, print, and scan options. Did ALOT of research and found one that fit MY business needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By LyleP from Pekin, IL on 10/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had a couple of Brother printers and they both have performed well. This is the first printer I've had that scans, copy's & prints in a single unit and it works great and is simple to use. I've had no problems with this unit using both the Wi-Fi and hardwired features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By Subvet from Los Angeles, CA on 10/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this printer to replace a outdated one that I have used for several years. Came back to Brother products as I have had good experiences with them before. This printer is More than adequate for my needs. I will recommend it to anyone with a small business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless MFC

By RMac from Colorado on 09/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up, easy to use, quick, good display that is easy to read and use. Works well with both my Mac and notebook PC and Ipad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine- very quick

By JimBl from Marlborough, Ma on 09/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have found that this machine is very quick and is well setup for use by others without lots of instruction. It was not the easiest to setup originally, but everything worked great once completed. I use it wireless and it appears to be quite low on consuming toner. Quality is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor interfacing with cpus, ineffective support

By HateMyPrinter from San Francisco on 09/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this machine because of its ratings. I am a fairly sophisticated user but had a terrible time trying to set up the printer for use with the Apple Yosemite operating system. Finally figured it out after several calls to support where the guy read me from a support document that was not helpful. Using my intuition, I got it working with the Imac. Also set up with ipad and iphone but neither of these can wake up the printer so that I have to go to another floor to print. Not useful at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer Works Flawlessly with My Mac

By SoCal from Los Angeles on 09/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love everything about this printer. It is working flawlessly. I purchased it with a bit of trepidation due to some reviews here that highlighted a wireless connectivity issue occurring with Apple computers. After the initial setup using Brother Customer Service I did experience the exact problem mentioned in the reviews. Fortunately this was fully resolved in a second call with Customer Support. The fix for this problem is to use the printer's IP address rather than it's model number when naming it on the Mac. 1) To obtain the printer's IP Address start on the printer's home screen and click as follows: Settings/All Settings/Print Reports/Network Configuration. A report will print showing the IP Address in the middle of the page. 2) To use the printer's IP address on the Mac go to System Preferences/Printers & Scanners. In the window that appears highlight the name of the printer and hit the "-" symbol at the bottom of the box to delete the name. Then click the "+" button and an Add window will appear. Click the "IP" icon at the top of the window. In the new window that appears type the IP Address in the box labeled "Address" and then click the word "Add"in the bottom right of that window. Close that window. The IP Address will appear in the Printers & Scanners window in the section labeled "Printers". This solved the wireless connectivity problem on my MacBook Air with OS 10.10.5.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By stevenb from Undisclosed on 09/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use and to setup printer. like the automatic bios update features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small loaded with big machine features

By stearon from Aptos, CA on 09/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was using a full sized machine and I had tried a small machine but it would get noised and stay noised for too long when doing copying or printing. This machine makes noise but only when it is working and it is a good tradeoff with the sized. You will need to read the manual to fully understand and use the special features. You won't be disappointed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

None better!

By QBpro from Ludington, Mi on 09/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it. It is simple to set up and is fast, economical and has met all expectations. Because I work in client offices, I have occasion to use a variety of printers and my Brother out performs them all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, reliable and inexpensive

By NCDave from Eastern North Carolina on 09/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit to replace a previous model that was destroyed by a lightning strike. High quality black and white printing, easy to use as light duty fax machine and copier. Wireless connectivity works well with PCs and tablets. Relatively inexpensive high capacity cartridges help provide low cost per page. I have set the default print mode to draft which stretches the cartridges even further with fully acceptable print quality. I have two minor complaints: 1. The automatic document feeder is not as reliable as the older unit and jams frequently. 2. I would prefer a straight paper path so the printer could accommodate thicker paper like card stock. I do recognize that a straight path would create a much larger printer so that improvement would be a detriment for others. This all-in-one is similar to a quality Japanese sedan like a Toyota Corolla or Honda Civic. It does its job efficiently and without fuss. It's reliable and easy to use as well. However, it's a middle of the road device that lacks any kind of "coolness", so it won't impress your hipster or tech savvy friends If you are looking for a simple, reliable B&W laser all in one with low purchase price and low cost per page, this unit is about ideal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Love It

By Office2 from Cleveland, OH on 09/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer works great and is very user friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer out there.

By Barent from Undisclosed on 09/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this printer/scanner/fax. Easy to use and the replacement cartridges are WAY cheaper than Epson, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome multi-function copier/printer/scanner

By Panda99 from Undisclosed on 09/20/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Powers quickly; quiet; scans well; large auto-paper tray; good manual tray; output tray neatly recessed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Choice

By Ducky1 from Southern California on 09/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the Multifunction ability of the machine. It's reasonable in cost, easy to set up and use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best All-In-One Laser in this Price Range

By ToeKneeSee from Palm Springs, CA on 09/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a multi-function laser printer that was wi-fi ready, had a single-sheet slot, did duplexing, was inexpensive to operate and maintain, and this is the one! It has it all and at a very affordable price. I'm very impressed with Brother products. I have a Brother all-in-one ink jet printer that I'm also very pleased with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By Skycop from Lehi, UT on 09/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The wireless networking and multiple use capability make the MFC-L2740DW a valuable tool. I use the printer for 95% and copy about 4%. I rarely fax so cannot speak to that feature. I have one issue with the printing function in printing an envelope. The MFC-L2740DW sits on my desk with the access to the envelope feed near the wall. I would like to see the envelope feed accessible from the front.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Make the switch to laser...

By napochan from Rochester, NY on 09/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

... you'll be glad you did. Was tired with carriage lock-ups and low page counts per cartridge from my old inkjet printer. True, I gave up color prints, but for the number of times I really needed color, it was worth it. This printer is reasonably fast and has a rich feature set that should meet most SOHO needs. The only criticism so far is with the top cover mechanism. Opening the cover to copy/scan a page from a book is difficult and feels like something will break if you're not real careful. The printer's been in use for less than two months but so far, I'm glad I went with Brother and this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By APMO from Houston, TX on 09/16/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The installation was pretty straightforward. It set up on network easily. Installed software and drivers on my MacBook Pro and HP laptop. Updated the latest printer software on the printer. The copy and scan functions are great for home use. Have not had any printing jams. However, I keep having problems with the printer going offline. Every time I want to print something, I have to turn the printer off then back on so it can be found by the computer. The problem seems to be more pronounced on the MacBook than the HP. Don't seem to find any solutions on Brother's support site. If it were not for the print and scan quality, would not give this product even one star.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gets the job done

By booboo from Tuscaloosa Alabama on 09/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

works very well scanning, copying, faxing and printing. the only thing I dislike about the printer when you start to print, receive a fax the machine sound like a airplane on takeoff. I previously had a brother machine that was older that did not make this sound if the machine was available I would have replaced it with the same machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the printer combo ...

By yaxis from Undisclosed on 09/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the printer combo functions as good or even better than expected. My favorite feature is the wireless networking and web access which allows me to scan directly to my One Drive cloud storage...A lot of functionality for the price. Great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice change from our HP printer

By tajmahal from Western MA on 09/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Here is a compact machine that produces consistent, great copies quickly. Effective two-sided printing and easy to use copy and fax capability. Bright intuitive display makes all functions easily accessible. Quiet and smooth, non-jamming mechanism. Holding back on five stars until we have some experience with toner use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so reliable

By OfficeGuru from Suburbs of Chicago on 09/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have several of these machines and the one consistent is that they are always breaking down. We have had several instances where lasers have become out of whack, diffuser problems which lead to overheating, and paper jams. Brother support has been ok. They send someone out to fix it a few days later if the machine is still in warranty. If not you have to take it to their service tech which also takes days to get back. Brother doesn't seem to understand that businesses rely on their equipment to do business. Also - one of the first "fixes" brother support will try is to reset the machine. Be careful because they do not warn you that any stored faxes that have not yet printed will be lost. Again they do not seem to understand that business doc's are important to the ongoing operations of your business. This would probably be a great little machine for your home office or personal use but the machine and the support aren't very impressive for a business relying on equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product..can be quicker printing envelopes

By Spud from Boise, Id. on 09/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit replaced my brother mfc7860 and is an equivalent, but with a better user interface. Overall, I am please with this but would like to see better performance when it comes to printing envelopes...am getting 7 nbr 10 envelopes per 2 minutes (mailing address and return address with a graphic); issue appears to be just waiting for the buffer to reload after the last 2 envelopes have printed. Ho hum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

printer purchase

By kmmutza from paradise,pa on 09/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

so far so good no problems easy set up and works great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very fast, good quality printing

By Anna12345 from North Carolina on 09/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have no complaints about this printer. Very pleased with my purchase. Had an inkjet printer before this one that drank ink and was so slow. And for a laser printer, the price is outstanding. The only drawback is that it's black ink only, and I couldn't afford to invest in one that prints in color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review, average product

By MFCL2740DW from Jacksonville, FL on 09/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer performs fine but the quality of print is inferior to other older products. Furthermore, the characters are not as clear. It is as if there is not enough ink compared to my previous Samsung printer. It is the normal performance of the printer and not a defect or a depleted tonner. This even though the print quality is maxed out. The printer software Brother utilities is really slow and of inferior quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value

By Roselady from New Jersey on 09/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had some difficulty setting up this printer, but Brother's support staff was superb. Now that it is fully functioning, I am very happy with it. It is much smaller than my previous Brother Multifunction printer, which is still working well after many years but has been moved to my other home. The MFC-L2740DW does a nice job printing, is fast, and will do back-to-back printing very easily. My only disappointment is that I can put only one envelope at a time in the envelope slot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does a good job, but do ...

By bedgingt from Utah on 09/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does a good job, but do wish I could get toner cartridges with greater capacity. the TN660 seems to be the only one available ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By Anonymous from Manchester, NJ on 08/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm still getting use to the motel and the overall rating is very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still does not work with my Apple computer

By Isaac from Newport Beach, CA on 08/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Everything is all right other than I can not use my printer without constant hassle, it does not work with Apple computer, called so many times, I was told a patch would be available soon. Still nothing. I am still waiting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer, value for money

By NoNickname1000 from Northern West Coast on 08/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent printer which handles scanning and faxing well. Only issue is when direct feed through is used the parameters in Microsoft Word / Excel are reset and you have to go in and reset them to print nomally again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great Wirelessly except...

By DavidV from Mobile, Alabama on 08/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very pleased with performance - printing wirelessly from MacIntosh desktop, but no app available for Surface II, haven't tried iPad Air yet. Making copies fine. Pleased that not being nickel-and-dimed for inkjet cartridges anymore. Much larger profile on desk but worth it. Only repeated frustration is having the printer automatically cut itself offline after a few minutes of not being used; will not wake up wirelessly, have to manually turn it off then on almost every time need to print something. Other than that annoyance, very pleased with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

print quality good-set up and toner change awful

By printlessbride from US on 08/22/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

purchased this printer after using an Epson. gave Epson to daughter who needed small printer. Epson was great, easy set up, great print quality, no brainer changing cartridge. onto the brother printer. set up was cumbersome. sometime the WIFI worked often times not. uninstalled reinstalled. decided that hardwiring not kill me, it was infinitely less frustrating than unsuccesfully attempting to use it wirelessly. called customer service on hold for 45 minutes. no answer. after one month of light use, needed to change toner. i actually thought that that was a little early as it was a laser printer, but it was the starter toner so I thought ok the real one will last longer. that was when the real headache began. bought official brother replacement and replaced toner cartridge. machine did not recognize toner cartridge. thought for sure it was toner cartridge. brought toner back to staples where purchased and savvy tech said not cartridge- machine. used my toner on one of the floor models and she was right, toner fine, my machine a bust. brought machine back to BB where purchased and given new machine. had to change toner at some later point, same thing. called customer service and got a human. went through this elaborate multi step process of holding down various buttons and voila toner worked. I asked CS person if I am going to have to do this every time I change my toner cartridge. she was not sure. I am dreading the time that I need to print something and it is a sat or sun and there is no customer service. When the machine prints it does a good job but the set up is not easy and this problem with changing the toner cartridge in unacceptable. I would never buy this machine again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer with some network issues

By Tempore from Undisclosed on 08/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wireless network has some issues coming out of the sleep mode. It took about a month to fine tune the system to work correctly with a brand new comcast modem. Not as easy to set up as my previous Brother wireless printer. Beside these issues it a great printer which offers great features for a small office. The duplex feature is amazing and saves tons of time when printing and scanning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lifesaver

By ncagent from North Carolina on 08/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine has been a lifesaver because I can do more from my home office thatt I used to have to drive 40 miles to my office to do. I still haven't gotten the wireless/bluetooth set up to be able to print from my laptop and phone yet but sitting in my home office is much more enjoyable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Works

By jwilsonind from Indianapolis Indiana on 08/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The first one we bought lasted about 6 months then some little plastic pcs broke. So we bought another one. Trying again Also Ink Shuts off when it says it is empty Why cant it run till is just wont print anymore like other printers. We bought 3 of these


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

connectivity problem

By speeg from California on 08/17/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product in February, 2015 and configured it to work with my iMac (OS10.10) through my Airport Extreme wireless network. I was able to connect to the MFC, but the MFC was unable to hold the connection. When I tried to print, I would get the message "printer is not connected." After calling Brother and working through efforts to fix the problem, I finally got the printer working with my wife's laptop, but not with my iMac. I was told that the problem had been identified as a firmware problem, and that a firmware update would be available in late July or early August. It's August 17 and I have received no firmware update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy

By RogerC from Groton Connecticut on 08/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been very happy with this new printer. I own two other Brother printers. It works like is is supposed to and provides good results. It does not support -5 wireless speeds and that has been my only complaint. I hope it can be added with a future firmware update. It is one of the best printers I have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has its challanges for sure

By TimP from Grand Rapids, MI on 08/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Prints good, copies good, but if you really need a scanner than look for something else. Jams a lot, pulls multiple sheets, and will not auto feed smaller sheets without jamming up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner & printer; ...

By Jmarch313 from Sugar Land, Texas on 08/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great scanner & printer; however: Instructions for wifi connections with Apple Laptops were not clear. We had to call the Brother customer service line to resolve issues. The agent was very good and was able to resolve the issues. However, it is suggested that your packaged instructions be updated and revised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-L2740DW Compact Laser All-in-One with Wireless

By Jukeboxron from Cupertino California on 08/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking to replace my Canon Copier and was disappointed it is very difficult to find just a copier. So I purchased this network printer/copier/scanner. I have grown to love this machine


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy

By Readmore from Odessa, TX on 08/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this product for over 4 weeks now. Have not been able to send and receive Faxes. Called Brother Service on Two occasions to try and figure out what was wrong was able to get it to work once (1 time) then it would lock up. and not send or receive again. The help line persons were very helpful but in the end they told me to contact the phone company that it was the phone line. I find that hard to believe since this was a replacement for a fax that was used for 7 years. So I just bought another FAX machine and it work fine. Also was unable to get this unit to network with any of the other computers. This is a real lemon. DO NOT BUY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By RossRVE664 from Charlotte North Carolina on 08/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the way you can use, share and print all kinds of documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer

By Sigpa from Asheville,NC on 08/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer seems to be quite good . I have not used the Fax or Scan functions so I can not really speak to them. The wireless is easy to set up and works well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but Missing Key Features

By Bombay from Ontario, CA on 08/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I guess my admin should have looked at the features more closely. You cannot load multiple sheets of paper or envelopes in the bypass tray. It will only take one at a time (at least that is what I have found to be the case). You can go through the exercise of opening the paper tray and loading different media in there for multiple feeding, but too time consuming. In addition there is no tray to pull out if you are putting legal sized paper in the bypass tray and it doesn't load it straight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Specmandave from Defuniak Springs, FL on 08/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer. I buy only brother printers for my business. They last forever and require very little maintenance. The quality of the printing is excellent. My only negative issue is that they seem to use up toner fairly quickly. Other than that, I am very pleased


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Print Quality

By Ricolife from Modesto, CA on 08/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am not happy with the print quality. It's difficult to read. A crisper image would be a great improvement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent reliable multi function device

By Golvon from El Pas,Texas on 08/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used other Brother printers in the past and they had an excellent reliability. Previous printer lasted me seven years, and it still works, but lacked some new features like Airport compatibility. The MFC-L2740DW has wireless connectivity, supports all my devices, desktops, laptops, tablets and phones. Also I love it has full duplex printing and scanning. Another big improvement is that is quieter than its predecessors and barely makes noise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent machine

By MikeVietVet from Greensboro,NC on 07/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use. Works well with my Mac. Quality of print is excellent. Scans in color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORKS GREAT

By RONNER from EVANSVILLE IN on 07/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WORKS GREAT IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A PRINTER FOR HOME OR OFFICE THIS IS A GREAT PRINTER.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet

By TomG from Orlando, Florida USA on 07/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had many expensive Ink Jets, and they all drink ink too fast. And way too expensive to constantly replace them. I got the Brother Laser, per it was very conservative with ink. It was also the only one I could find that can do multiple copies from top loader. And, it can "scan" anything to my computer. The scanning feature is not in many other lasers . Most printers can copy photo and documents. But, not scan photos and document. That really limits me, per I do not ever use the old fashion faxing documents, which are blurry and limited anyway. Also, customer Service with this company is EXCELLENT. They will help you set it up, and be very patient with you on the phone. Best customer service representatives that I have ever talked to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worth every penny

By ezpickn from Louisiana on 07/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is really a nice all in one. the only thing i don't like is the scanner cover. It shuts really hard if you don't hold it as you close the lid. Everything else is super nice for me. I have an HP Laserjet printer only but i wanted an all in one. I know brother has been around a long time so I thought i'd give them a try and i am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poorest Wireless Connectivity

By degasgirl from Norco, CA on 07/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I donated my MFC-7860DW, reluctantly and decided to purchase what I thought was an upgrade. I have only had this printer for a month and it will NOT stay connected to the wireless network for both of my computers. It constantly goes offline. I have had 2 tech support sessions and it STILL goes offline if the machine goes to sleep. I have to shut it off every time I need to use it! I can scan from the control center but cannot scan to a computer, which I question why have the option available on the touch screen. Other things like the quick scan of multiple documents is still fine. But I WOULD NOT recommend this product to anyone. Again, the MFC-7860DW I would; I bought 3! Buyer beware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Printer!

By blueskies114 from East Coast on 07/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this all-in-one printer. It was a step up for me, always having had an inkjet printer. But I got tired of waiting and waiting and waiting for pages to be printed. So I took the plunge into laser land and have not looked back. This printer was out of the box easy to set up, and very easy to use. You don't need a degree to figure this one out. I mostly use it for printing, which is very fast, but have also used it for copying, and I love that I can send the paper through the top feeder. Makes things a lot easier. Plus the double sided copying is terrific. Oh and let's not forget that I can print from my iphone and ipad now too! You will love this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent choice

By General1 from Undisclosed on 06/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

printer works very quickly and does a great job .when i make a copy i can not tell the difference from the original .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent choice

By wallyup from philadelphia pa on 06/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great printer fast product no wires great reliability glad I brought this printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever , Exelent Printer

By ANGELS from Roseville CA on 06/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

EXCELLENT Printer-copy-fax-scan Best Price. I compare to other BRANDS $$$$$ up to 300% are higher. THE SREN in color LCD ,wow best feature for navigation .( settings ) the sleep mode is great,uses less than 0.001 % of 15 watt light bulb


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great

By patricks from Austin on 06/20/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This so far has been the best printer I have ever had. In the past I used XeroX and HP, which were not as good as this Brother printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer I ever purchased.

By oaklogman from Mountain View, Arkansas on 06/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a little problem connecting the Brothers for a wireless set. I emailed the Brothers support number explaining my problem and they scheduled for a support person to call me the next day. This was a pleasant experience. Had me up and running in about 10 minutes. I give Brothers a 10 for support. I love this printer It is fast and it does duplex printing copying and scanning. Very fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Consistent quality with functions others lack.

By Davidrq from Geynn Oak, MD on 06/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Brother laser printer that I've had, and was elated to find a function that others probably don't have, and I didn't know until I started using the printer. I do a lot of scanning of documents, but this machine has a duplex-scan function that fits nicely with my work as a writer. The first Brother laser printer I had was an HL5250DN I bought in 2002 and found it perfect for my application. I retired it in February 2014, but gave it to a friend - it didn't wear out, but my new brother was an HL5450DN and found it to be a nice improvement, but still reliable and easy to use. Now, I'm rounding up projects for my new MFC-L2740DW, and am anxious to use the auto-duplex scan function - have been paperless for a long time, but this will extend it by a mile. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a high quality, functional laser printer - I expect to have the same useful life that I found with my first one - 12 years without a problem!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work reliably

By hwheels from Undisclosed on 06/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Decent printing and scanning when it works. Keeps losing connection with my iMac via wireless and USB port


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

likeable

By Kampmans from Indiana on 06/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like the printer. Easy to set up and easy to use. Bought this for a small business. Had trouble with the pre-printed checks we use. Because your heat sitting are slightly different than other printers. The checks were ghosting. check company is reprinting the checks. But this is only common with the brother printers. Learned something new.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic

By Queeny from Rome New York on 06/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the way it copies 2 -sided pages! So fast and quick!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Little Disappointed

By JayWPB from Florida on 06/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer, fax, scan works great connected by wire to a computer. Only disappointment is it will not connect to a wireless network at 5.4g. Only connects to 2.4g network which takes away the proposed portability. Brother tech support could not make it work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase ever

By brightstar from Concord. NC on 06/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a very reliable machine, easy to operate. It seems to know how to do without my help.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Apple could learn from This

By edinvestor1 from Knoxville, TN on 06/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Apple could learn from this machine! Everything about this copier works to perfection. Ever new Brother has worked as well as the one I had before but has done so much more and so flawlessly. My one complaint is that it won't print 11x17 paper. When are you guys going to make a laser that does?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Multifunction Machine

By TopCat from South Texas on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 4th personal Brother Printer. It is the most versatile of them all. It is especially nice to have duplex scanning with a single pass. The ability to work with a wired or a wireless network is great; however, I would be even better if it would handle both network styles without having to reconfigure the printer for the desired network protocol. I have mostly wired, but I need a wireless connection at the same time...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

low print volume

By barbie10 from lake city, sc on 05/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

cartridges don't last long. Perhaps the new one will do better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great until now

By petie1993 from Augusta, GA on 05/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer worked great until I had to change the wireless router. Now I can't get the machine to print. I plan on using the DVD to reload the printer. Hopefully that will fix the problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid and bug free

By Megan from Undisclosed on 05/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced another well-known brand printer that I should have thrown off the roof the first week I owned it but suffered with it for several years. This is the second Brother printer I have purchased and now have two. One is the basic model that is a printer only which has been great also. I have never used the fax function, so I cannot comment on that. Both of the Brothers have been bug free. This one is easy to use, and interfaces with my computer's scanning and picture editing functions with no issues. So far, I am really pleased with this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased

By Business from Undisclosed on 05/22/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really like this machine except one thing. When I put my invoices in, with our company name printed on them, the ink from the preprinted invoice transfers on the invoice half way down so I have to use my other printer for invoices. If I didn't have 2 printers I would have needed to send it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A little disappointed

By DoctorJC from Fredericksburg, VA on 05/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After 13 years my old MFC-9700 finally gave up the ghost. It was like a member of the family. Totally reliable to the end. Of course, I was going to replace it with another Brother mfc. I finally chose a MFC-L2740DW. I am a proud Apple user and while Brother's Apple support was always a little sparse (next to the voluminous Windows support) it was always enough to get the job done. When I set up my new MFC-L2740DW, I wanted to go wireless. The old printer's ethernet cable I previously used was easily accessible but I wanted to try wireless. BIG MISTAKE. My home network has an Apple time machine for the router/wifi/backup. That device has always functioned well with my HP photo color printer - which has worked flawlessly IN WIRELESS MODE for 2 years. Despite multiple attempts, following every scrap of on-line help from Brother, as well as an exhaustive internet search of other Apple usere, I HAVE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT THE MFC-L2740DW SIMPLY WILL NOT FUNCTION WIRELESSLY WITH MY APPLE TIME MACHINE. It seems that the Brother device "falls asleep" when its not printing and will not "Wake up" to print without a device power toggle. (There is no way to prevent it from "sleeping" for more than 50 minutes.) Frustrated, with nearly a week of failures, I reconfigured my new Brother printer to use an ethernet connection. As soon as I connected with my ethernet cable, my new MFC printer began to work flawlessly and after a month in WIRED ETHERNET MODE appears to be as reliable as my old one had been. FINAL ANALYSIS, BROTHER MFC-L2740DW works great as a wired printer but if you use an Apple Time machine for your router/Wifi, approach wireless connection with caution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatly Surprised

By CraigRetired from Grand Rapids, Michigan on 05/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-L2740DW replaced an older Brother laser printer. Set it up wireless for 3 networked computers. Nice not having to keep the desktop computer on in order to print from the laptops. Printing is a snap. Have used it to copy, scan and fax documents. Still need to learn more about faxing. Copying and scanning before the MFC were done using a color flat-bed scanner. The wife really likes the simplicity of copying documents. This MFC does everything well!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Design

By jrumbold from Tustin, CA on 05/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It does not have a setting for pages size 8.5x5.5 and it does not have any way to set custom page size for scanning like every other scanner I have ever had. More importantly, it cuts off the edge of scanned images and copies by about 1.4 inch all around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Labels

By Mel114 from Petaluma, CA on 05/20/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am happy with my new Brother printer with one exception. When printing file folder labels that are 4" wide the printer pulls the label crooked and the printing is not straight on the label. I called Brother, we tried several things, and I was not given a solution. I was able to print these labels perfectly with my 17 year old HP LaserJet 5.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Machine

By DonWC from Washington, DC on 05/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this all in one to replace a Dell laser printer. So far, it is a great machine, easy to operate, and has great print quality. My only complaint is that it is noisier than the Dell.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Installs Quickly, works Reliably, operates cheaply

By cjrunner from Paoli, PA on 05/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this monochrome Brother MFC-2740DW laser jet printer to replace two color ink jet printers: Both color inkjet printers, although inexpensive to purchase, were expensive to operate. The Brother printer works well and interfaces easily with my OS X iMac, Windows XP, and Windows 7 laptops, using both Ethernet and WiFi communication media. Besides, I'm still on my "starter" toner cartridge. I've reviewed my printing needs and most of my printing is text so monochrome is good enough for me. If I need color hard copy, say of photos or presentation slides, I'll place my files on a thumb drive and use the services of a professional print shop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect printer for most of our applications

By TMike from Minneapolis, MN on 05/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We are using this printer as the primary printer on home wireless network. My wife and I are each using a Mac Book on the network. We also have a color ink jet printer on the network. The printer is fast and economical to run. The double sided feature is great for printing downloaded manuals. Replacement toner cartridges are reasonably priced. The scanning function works well and is easy to use with the software interface provided. The copy function also works well and I like the fact that you can load multiple originals for copy or scan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother All in One Printers Keep Getting Better

By Mike2014 from Los Angeles, CA on 05/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love our Brother MFC-L2740DW All in One Printer with its easy setup and software updates. We upgraded from the MFC-7840W which we gave to our son for college and its still a total Work Horse with years still left in it. Brother All In One Printers are total quality with flawless printing each and every time. Love the fact that we can copy & fax and the toner/drum replacements are simple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Gift that Keeps on Giving!

By MobileNotaryofSoCal from Sherman Oaks, CA on 05/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have to admit I was skeptical about purchasing a Brother All-in-One to replace my old office equipment that had been faithful to me for many years. Once I installed it, however, I was very impressed on the printing speed and ease of use for scanning and faxing documents. All-in-all it has not only saved me a lot of time, but also money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Then Advertised

By Retiredf5 from Undisclosed on 05/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked right out of the box. WiFi hookup was easy and quicker than previous model. Menu easy to navigate . . . With backup info on how to easy to access.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother review 2740

By SkipC from Boise, ID on 05/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having owned other Brother printers, we chose this one. It is a good size for space. It prints fairly fast & the scan of both sides is a nice feature. Clean printing. The toner needs replaced soon on the "demo" one that comes with it. I had to call tech support for issues with the fax; almost 2 hours and no results. Figured it out on my own. Techs were reading from a book or script & didn't respond to my direct questions. The manual leaves a lot to be desired. I suggest Brother call their own tech line & see what happens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gordy

By Gordy from Grand Forks N.D. on 05/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like it the only thing I wish that I had a color Machine but it was to big for the space that I have


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful

By jahmsu from Charleston, SC on 05/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having been an Elementary educator before retirement, I used to do a lot of color printing. However the cost of ink has turned me off to the small 3 in 1 printers. My son recommended I get a Brother monochrome laser. I love it! It prints clear crisp pages. I love the two-sided feature. My only problem is that it's a little loud. Not a big deal, but noticable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-L2740DW

By LeftyMiami from Miami FL on 05/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer This replaced an earlier laser printer and I must say that Brother Printers have much improved the design of how we handle toner replacement, etc. Two sided printing a real plus. Very pleased with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my Brother!

By Quietgreen from Undisclosed on 05/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Brother hasn't stood the test of time. I've had it only a month or so, but I just love it. Scanning is so uncomplicated, printing reliable. The ink will last for such a long time. It really is what I should have bought in the first place all those years ago. I have a business now, and I went to Best Buy, and I said give me something heavy duty that will do heavy duty jobs. Now I do my own printing instead of paying 14 cents a page to run off documents for my clients. Now I have confidence in my printer - it's helping me build a business with confidence.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wifi sleep issue

By MacUser88 from Undisclosed on 05/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm running a iMac with OS10.10.3. Printer works nice. It's quieter than my old HP LaserJet 1300. Scanner works well. I am currently connected via wifi via a wifi router that is on the same network my Mac is on. When I turn the printer on it connects and prints as expected. But after a while the printer sleeps and can't be found by my Mac. The manual says it should wake up but it doesn't. When I press the printer home button or LCD to wake the printer up, it still can't be found. I tried customer support and made sure that all the software is current. Yesterday I went for several hours leaving the Brother "Status Monitor" screen open on my desktop and the printer stayed connected. But the previous day it lost connection. This must be a Brother firmware issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost perfect

By tom4416 from Tucson, AZ on 05/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Truly a printer that does it all and does it well. Setup was easy, even the wireless function - no cables required. It's even easier when you figure out the software that comes with it will do almost everything remotely instead of trying to type on the tiny keyboard on the touchscreen. Simply get the wireless connected, download the latest version of the software (it's a HUGE file at 168MB), install the software and then access the printer for all the various functions. I am replacing a Brother HL-2270DW with this and the 2270 is lot to live up to. This machine does everything its little brother did and lots more. The scan function is very high quality and super fast if you're just doing PDF documents as you can load them in the feeder and let it rip. The fax was equally easy to set up but we don't do a lot of faxing so it's set to manual answer mode but has many other choice. One thing I really liked about the fax options is one for VOIP phone. Our previous fax was not adjustable and would sometimes have trouble with our nettalk duo phone system but having the VOIP option lowers the transmit/receive speeds but appears to make faxing error free. The unit seems very well built - it's not extremely heavy but feels very solid, as have all the Brother machines I've owned or used - they seem to have the low cost laser market wrapped up IMHO. So, why four stars instead of five? Envelope feed. It wants you to open up the back of the machine (which for most of us, is not easily accessible), throw some levers, open the feed door, set the guides and then print your envelope. Every other Brother just feeds it through the feed door and out the normal paper route. So, I tried feeding it as my old machines and the first three jammed on the way out - they printed fine but continuously got caught up in the back of the machines. So I played around with really flattening the envelope as much as possible by running a ruler across it to flatten the seams and the flap as much as possible. Doing that, it would feed them properly but my old Brother would just take the envelope as it came out of the box and never jammed once. While I don't print a lot of envelopes, I'm not going through the suggested routine each time. If they don't feed consistently over the next thirty days, could be a deal killer. One final thing - it will print on legal size paper but it has to be fed a single sheet at a time - the paper tray is strictly letter or smaller. I do almost nothing with legal size so it's not a big deal to me but if you use it frequently, perhaps shop for a two tray system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-2740DW-REVIEW

By AHS0315Review from Bellingham, WA on 05/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the MFC-2740DW for our medical billing business on 3/31/2015. It has performed as advertised and still no paper jams. What we do not know is how many copies do you get from the OEM drum (DR-630) and toner (TN-660) - same as advertised? So far, we are pleased with the copy, print and scan functions. The fax function is not needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reasonable

By PastorAgnostic from Chi-town, IL on 05/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once I realized that I mainly used black and white, and that my old brother color MFC was wearing out (after many years) I decided to try this one out. The price was right, the print quality is great, and the few quirks that irritated me about ye olde MFC had been fixed and radically improved. So far, I am pleased. It is fast, it is trouble free, and the scanner was surprisingly fast. My dedicated scanner cannot deal with textbooks, which I often need to scan. This does. I haven't sent a paper fax in 5 yrs, so I cannot rate that, but the rest of the functions are great. One minor quibble, the initial toner went fairly fast, but the 660 high capacity cartridge exceeds expectations. I am very pleased and would recommend this to any small company, small law firm, or individual who has to print a lot. I especially like the two-sided scanning and printing functions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful cloud-ready printer,copier,scanner,fax

By fastestbobby from Arizona on 05/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am so pleased with this machine. It does everything advertised. and does it well. A little tricky for a non-techie like me to set up, but with a little help from customer service its up and running beautifully. I've had no reasonn to call customer service after initial setup, even though I've added new machines to the system, the mfc-L2740dw connects automatically.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love to!

By Anonymous from Melbourne Florida on 04/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Of all the printers (HP,Canon and Brother) this printer is the best laser multifunction printer I have ever owned. The installation was clear and simple. It was so easy to set up on my IPhone and IPad than any other printer I have owned. I really like the menu display and how easy all the functions are to navigate. I would highly recommend this model to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good

By MikeG241 from NH on 04/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great easy to use. Only negative thing is very loud.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best choosing for yours

By kevin86 from Pennsylvania on 03/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought some printer from another maker, but I feel that's enough when see and buy mfc-l2740dw for my home. Best choosing for your family or small business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Far So Good

By daveSM from New Haven, Ct. on 03/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Just purchased the wireless all-in-one brother copier. I am not the most computer literate but was able to install this with ease by following the step by step CD Rom instructions. I looked at other manufacturers and felt the Brother looked and felt more durable and stronger.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

laser printer

By Nobuddy from Chicago il on 03/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printEr for the money. Easy to use and install


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional unit and support

By Davie from Oak Park, CA on 03/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unit arrived on time and in excellent condition. Was reasonably easy to set up. All functions work as expected. Was impressed with the response of the Brother staff in several inquires, one answered within 30 minutes. The associated software and information provided by the support group provided unexpected opportunities to utilize all the functions to there maximum. Very happy camper!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE BROTHER!!!

By Cherilyn from Florida on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I already own the HL-4570CDW, replacing a previous version for upgrading, which I love. I have an MFC-5860CN which was amazing during it's day, but I needed to upgrade to an all-in-one for scanning purposes. At first, I went the cheap route with an Epson workforce. It was easy to set up but very slow! The quality didn't seem to be there either. I researched Brother products and, even though it was a about $150 more, being laser, the quality, and excellent customer service make it more than worth it! I absolutely love this machine! I will never go with any other manufacturer again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy. Wished I had gone with another brand

By waste from Warren, MI on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

All I wanted was a new drum and toner for my DCP1000, but the 2 items together cost as much as a new printer; so, I bought a new laser printer similar to the old DCP 1000. When I received it and set it up, I found that the document feeder was not copying the whole page. After 4 hours on the phone, customer service decided I had a defected printer; so, they sent me another. But that document feeder behaved the same way; Customer service then decided that the document feeder was working fine and that the issue was with the copy I was trying to make, which BTW worked perfectly find in a Xerox and HP printer document feeder. So I spent the last 2 hours trying to package the old printer to send back, but it will not fit in the replacement box. I need to take make trip to the UPS office to have them try to box it and return it. I should have gone with another brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good News/Bad News

By RWS06 from Clifton Springs, NY on 03/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had a MFC-7860DW, but had to dump it because there was so much odor from the printing process. I then bought a MFC-L2740DW thinking my problem would be solved. It wasn't. There is still a pungent odor (although less) during printing. I changed from Georgia Pacific paper to Dollar General (DG) paper. It still smelled, but not as much. If I print 30-50 pages to print a manual, etc. the odor lingers in the house for several days. I am using the original DR-630 drum and TN-630 toner that came with the machine. Has Brother reformulated the toner? It smells as bad as the old HP II printers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-L2740DW Very Disappointed

By Anonymous from Schenectady, NY area on 03/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Recently purchased a MFC-L2740DW to replace broken MFC-7840W. We use it for a small business where it is shared over 5-6 computers. It has been a NIGHTMARE!!! because Brothers changed the software and eliminated functions the previous machine had. A major problem includes they downgraded the faxing software and eliminated basic functions for handling faxes we previously were able to send to the computer. Another huge problem includes the suite of software that must reside on each computer interfacing with the machine for basic printing functions. We have spent hours on the phone with Brother and our IT guy trying to set this up even in a very limited functioning capabilities. The Brother Tech Service is mostly useless because they basic do not know the machine and just read along in the manual. If you have a small business or are looking to purchase a machine for personal use, I would highly recommend researching an alternate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great price

By bella123 from Los Angeles, Calif on 03/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love how quiet and fast it prints, my other printer was slow and loud


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Product

By pdrace4 from Conn. on 03/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Real easy set, works great. I like the fact of having only one cartridge to replace.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I had someone set it up ...

By cookie29 from florida on 03/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had someone set it up for me. I don't know much about how to do the setup. It is easy for someone that knows these kind of thing. But, so far it is working well. I'm wanting to see how long the cartridge will last. I bought this because I was tired of the cost of ink. I don't need colored ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, great!

By Anonymous from Las Vegas, Nevada on 03/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had possibly over 15 different printers in my life and this is the easiest one to setup. I set up wirelessly and only had to enter the address once and it took (I attached the USB cable that I had, then unattached it). I had to then unload it because of computer issues and did not have to enter again the address when I reloaded the program. It is easy to hook up and prints great.. It will take awhile to get use to all the options, but I will. Love the look of it. I saw on other sites comments about this printer being noisy, NO, it is not noisy. The printing on save toner, prints great. Faxing was an easy thing to setup and send. I am hoping that the expense of toner will be cheaper than in the past. I hated getting screwed by Dell for black and color ink. From what I have seen on reviews, it will be greatly cheaper! I cannot believe I am saying this about a company because you basically get screwed by most companies one way or another, but this Brothers Printer is looking so far, GREAT! I have heard a lot of good things about Brother printers and so far, TRUE! I would RECOMMEND TO A FRIEND! I normally do not recommend items to friends, but this I will.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother product always satisfy

By brotherlylove from Palm Bay, FL. on 03/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 5th brother product 3 MFC ink jets 2 laser. This is my 2nd laser, the first was MFC-8640N which served me well since 2006. I look forward to the same performance with this MFC all-in-one. The wireless, duplex printing, print speed ease of setup and use are among the benefits with this and all other Brother products I have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent features and price for a laser printer

By Edsen from Alabama on 03/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a very old laser printer that had been a castoff from a business and enjoyed the quality and long life of the cartridge. It began to have lots of paper feed issues and I looked for a new laser printer. I have not owned a Brother printer before but after examining the features, price and reviews I decided on the MFC-L2740DW. Features that I particularly liked were the duplexing that allows printing on both side of the paper and WiFi capability. Installation was easy and it has worked well. I am still learning how to print from my tablet. First time using Google Cloud Print resulted in printing the same document numerous times until I cancelled the prints jobs as they came up. Still do not know how that happened:-) Duplex printing has worked seamlessly! Saves a lot of paper and file space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very solid machine

By Bathom from Undisclosed on 03/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only had the MFC2740 for a week but so far so good. Print quality is excellent. Scans well. Faxes seamlessly. My one issue was with my iOS devices. It seems that when the printer is asleep, it requires my selecting this printer twice before I can print from it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Name of the Game

By RonV from Undisclosed on 03/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The name of the game is Reliability. We have three Brothers products on our network- 2 printers and now the 2740DW. I have had the printers for several years and I have been impressed with the problem free service and the online help I have got from Brothers. Both printers get heavy church and personal use. It is too early to objectively comment on 2740DW reliability. But my experience with other Brothers printers makes this probable. Setup was a breeze. Everything is working. No problems to date. It seem to be a great product. One suggestion. Make all or most printers have interchangeable toner and drums.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad LCD

By JRJo from Johnson City, TN on 03/03/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After setting up the printer, the LCD stopped working within the first 10 min of operation. In fact the only control that worked after that was the on/off switch. Everything about the printer felt cheap. I returned the machine and bought a Canon Imageclass printer. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE IT!

By fisher313 from Undisclosed on 03/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

if you don't need color, this is the Best printer out there, it is super quite and prints fast. Thanks............ BROTHER


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new prtr trips circuit breaker

By BBFAS from Undisclosed on 03/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

replaced our 12 yr old dcp8025d with a new MFC-L2740DW and now the circuit breaker for the wall outlet is tripping intermittently. Is the amperage rate for the 2740DW that much higher than the 8025D, that it could trip the breaker for wall receptacle. Please let me know what wattage the 2740 is in relation to the 8025d. please email me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer

By TimC from Warrington PA on 03/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A good multifunction printer. Scanner quality not as good as my flatbed scanner but adequate for most purposes. Users manual is a little skimpy on details, i.e., two sided faxing. Needs more explanation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am a Brother Keeper

By PCR1 from New York on 02/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This MFC-L2740DW is printing everything I send it - & getting the finest print so well on those fillable PDF tax forms that I am glad I chose against e-file. It also made stellar copies of the pages I needed to sign, in duplex, just as they were printed. So, my taxes are done! In addition, it printed a 97 page Owner's Manual in duplex - 49 pages output! All the diagrams & the tiniest screws are very clear. That saves me memorizing the thing anticipating the dread day my Inspiron 15 3000 series should break down! I've also made a test copy-to-file in color that looked fine. It seems odd that a black & white printer could do that. I installed it from a download of the full package, instead of using the DVD. I chose to do it with a temporary USB connection. A 16' USB cable worked despite I read it should be max 6'. Afterwards, poking around, I think I've determined the versions were probably the same. But no matter, using the Status Monitor in the Taskbar, I've updated both the Brother firmware & software. The install put a shortcut to Brother Utilities on my desktop, & the Status Monitor & CC4 (Control Center) on the Taskbar. All have plenty of options & are working well. Well - actually - I have neither been able to use OCR in the scan tab of CC4 (it says I have no OCR software installed) or to scan to e-mail (it says I have no default e-mail application registered on my computer). I'm sure those things are fixable, & scan to file worked beautifully & in color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good so far

By koenick from Undisclosed on 02/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since I have had it for a week it has done an excellent job printing and faxing. I have not used the other features yet. it makes nice dark, sharp copies. 2 things to be aware of. it pulls the paper from the back so you have to be aware that you need to put items like checks or letterhead paper into the printer face down. secondly it does make a little more noise then I am used to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Replacement For My HP Laserjet

By dferrosr from Bucks County, PA on 02/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like its' features and the output is excellent! Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother 2740DW

By Stuckwthis from Apex, NC on 02/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy setup and good instructions. print outs are quick and look good. using this machine for home office and am very happy with the 2740 mono crome printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy

By Anonymous from southern pines, N.C. on 02/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Instructions are difficult I don't like the way it operates Can't print in color Still not totally operational A fax came in with only 1/10th of the top portion Ridiculous top flip to fax Touch screen sucks (It's better with buttons) Too heavy to move/slide when wiring/testing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Easy Set

By TedZ from Kansas City, MO on 02/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am impressed with the ease of use on my brother products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC L2740 DW

By Trix from Undisclosed on 02/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Lexmark all-in-one served me well in almost all applications except wireless printing from my tablet and the need to replace ink or clean cartridges all too often. My new Brother Laser all-in-one has alleviated those problems. Installation was fast and wireless set-up went smoothly. I gave up the ability to print in color, but that was something I rarely used. Plus the fact that was just more ink to buy.The print and scan speeds are faster now and my cost per print will now be much lower and more reliable. I love this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good unit

By Pearl from St. Petersburg, FL on 02/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the small overall size. The ability to duplex print and scan are very important to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good All-In-One

By Phillepe from West Virginia on 02/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very nice all-in-one printer for small office use. It does it all, and the software that comes with it is very usable. The only suggestion I would have for improvement is that it makes the paper curl more than my old ink jet did. But I guess that is probably normal for laser printers of this kind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Product

By NevadaBob from NV on 02/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent scanner, printer and copier. I bought two of them for different locations. One is on a Lan and the other uses a direct USB interface so I have two driver setups on my PC -- works fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall Happy

By 5MRanch from Tyler, Texas on 02/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

"So far.. So good" Printer seems to be working exactly as presented. We reviewed several printers and decided to purchase this small laser printer in comparison with ink jets. We will gladly give up color for the quality with this compact laser. Best!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The MFC-L2740DW

By IndianaMark from Indiana on 02/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set this all-in-one up to work wirelessly with multiple computes with WIN 8.1, iOS and Chromebook. Set-up was pretty easy...just take the time to read the very good documentation. Everything works great! Love the 2-sided fax functionality and two-sided printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Easy to Set Up

By Katrina from San Antonio, Texas on 02/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was forced to find a new printer/scanner when my home office laptop upgraded itself from Windows 8.0 to 8.1 I could no longer scan from my faithful machine (not a Brother) even after multiple helpers spent hours trying uninstall-reinstall the drivers. I chose this Brother because among the features it showed it was 8.1 compatible. So far I love it. The set up was the easiest installation of any device I have ever purchased. It prints and scans really well. I think there is a much longer lag time to start a print/scan request, but that could be an 8.1 issue as everything seems to have slowed down. I haven't used the wireless features, but for the basic operations it is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine!

By CDL52 from Albuquerque, NM on 02/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm amazed at the speed and quality of copies! I chose this laser by previous reviews and am so glad I did. I would definitely recommend this case printer to everyone else!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent printer

By dogh from Atlanta , GA on 02/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

works as it should be, fast response. and prints wireless .very convenient . my kids can print homework assignments over my home network from any room in the house. I'm happy with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Purchase was a mistake

By MostVeryUnhappy from Washington, DC on 02/15/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this machine when I decided to update my 10-year-old printer for one that was wireless. It has been a terrible mistake. Worst of all is that since I installed the software, I've had all kinds of problems with my computer and gotten messages that I have malware. The machine is terribly noisy. It prints documents from some programs but not from others. There is supposed to be 24x7 phone support, but I can't find the number. Big mistake!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

all i need

By charles3 from panama c, fla.ity on 02/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

pro 2 sies printing fax and ink will not dry up, econ non only would like to see 11 x 19 printing & copping in a laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By Cgoods from Central IL on 02/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quick, quiet and reasonable price. So far it has been just what I need for my small in-home business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By JoeZ987 from Miami, FL on 02/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Did a lot of research into Laser all in one's and decided on the Brother MFC L2740DW after comparing various Brands and models. I've only had it for a week, but so far it is fantastic. Value and features made it a great choice. Set up was a breeze for all my devices, pc, MAC, phone, etc. . Thus far, the performance is outstanding, in all phases, i.e. faxing, copying, printing and scanning. I am very pleased at this point and would highly recommend this All-in-one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new printer

By mistercurt from mid michigan on 02/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

machine is great . makes great copies fast . my only complaint is that it is a little noisy .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Brother L2740DW

By ViperK from California on 02/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this unit after having an HP printer for many years, wish I had switched many years ago. This machine is not only easy to set up but extremely simple to use. I love its multi function capabilities, its quiet and so far has not complained one bit...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

B&W Allstar

By Butterball57 from Phoenix AZ on 02/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast, high volume printer at a great price, with extra features I need.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all in one

By dossent from San Antonio,TX on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Went from HP 8600 Pro to this printer. Great move for me. Its faster, but the best feature is it does not drink ink like the HP Inkjets. Smaller footprint on the desk also. Highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Far So Good

By MyPrinterATL from Undisclosed on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Brother MFC-L2740DW about a week ago. I had zero issues getting the computer set up; the instructions were clear and everything is working, although I will say that I am not using the fax function. Print quality is good. This is an upgrade for us from a five or six year old Brother. The scanning function is very good and really like the ability to feed pages and create PDFs which our old printer could not do. Wireless is working fine and I have been able to send to the printer from my Ipad. All in all a great purchase and working very well so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer at affordable price

By Zapoyotl from Winston Salem, NC on 02/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since several years ago I am a Brother's fan. Maybe I may look like a nerd, but this printer in particular is a cutie: compact size, touch-screen and an on/off right in the front panel. In the printing side, very nice features like double side copying, printing and scanning, not to mention the fax function. The setting was easy and I have no problem with the wireless setting. One special feature for my work is its ability to scan to any computer in my home network. In other words, you scan a multi-page document and the printer will send it to any computer in the network. Since I prepare taxes, all the documentation brought by the client is scanned and kept in electronic form. The printer produces *.pdf file which you can store for the mandatory 5 years, instead of having boxes of paper. Many other brands do that, but this one does it effortless and convenient. My only complaint is in that it does not handle envelopes very well. They almost always come out somewhat corrugated and usually the lines of the printed material, slanted. All combined, though, a great printer at a very reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works

By MikeBoss from Ocala, FL on 02/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After set up, which was easy, all in one does what its supposed to do. I made a good choice to replace my 10 year old HP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Brother to Brother upgrade

By dsmithlib from Undisclosed on 02/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a Brother 5280 laser with duplex that worked for years without fail. When I recently purchased an Apple Mac I decided to try this multi function to replace ol' faithful. It installed without a problem and has worked well. Best of all, my wife walked up to it and was able to navigate the screens, etc..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful MFC-L2740DW

By shaftsburyuser from Undisclosed on 01/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great machine. I love it. Great features and so far very easy to use. Have not used fax or scan capabilities yet, but I am sure they will be easy to use. One negative. This is my second MFC-L2740DW. I never got past the setup on my first one because the touch pad substrate cracked and ceased to respond to any inputs. I could not find anything in the instructions about the fragile nature of the substrate that is under the soft touchpad cover. The dealer replaced that unit allowing me to discover what a good decision I made choosing another Brother machine. (My first Brother printer was a HL-2270DW that have just given to my oldest daughter so that she and my two youngest grandsons can experience what a good laser printer it is)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Home Office All in One

By msstax from San Diego on 01/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast scan and print.. nice touch screen panel... easy to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all around printer

By ODIN5460 from Waukegan Il on 01/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fantastic, set up because of your great instructions was simple and straight forword! I was able to use it almost immediately!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Black & White Printer Ever

By EPFS from CA on 01/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought many printers over the years, and this printer was the easiest to install and printed right away with no problems. I have been using it for six days, and I could not be more pleased. I use it for my home-based business, my kids' homework and my internet usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Mistake

By Rustyw from Undisclosed on 01/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Entire unit had to be replaced due to single sheet feed option not functioning properly.Single sheet option is cumbersome to operate; there is no support for holding envelopes or labels when printing multiple copies; must open rear of machine to obtain printed envelopes. Very awkward setup. Plus, singe sheet issue not totally resolved with new unit. Also, printing issues re smudges; resolution involves customer to return drum and toner separately, this after sending a complete new unit minus drum and toner for inspection, thus leaving customer without printing capabilities. Great way to enhance customer satisfaction and loyalty..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Believe in Brother

By MIPBLue from Nashville, TN on 12/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace an Epson ink jet printer which broke and I was told not to repair it. It was a piece of junk anyway. I'm hopeful that this being a laser printer and also a Brother that it will perform better and longer. I have a HP laser printer which has served me well for several years now with no problems. Also these use less toner and the cartridges have to be replaced much less often that the laser cartridge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Capable Printer

By JohnCy from California on 12/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using brother's printers for a long time. This MFC-L2740DW met my expectations particularly the advanced duplex printing. It connected to our network with ease, and all five laptops print and scan as needed. I will recommend it to anyone who needs a printer without headache.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

tOO EARLY FOR rEVIEW/ vg

By SPIKE from Undisclosed on 12/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Too early to Review this product. I cannot Scan as I need to upgrade Version of Mac. Appears to be working EXCEPT FOR CONNECTION TO ANSWER MACHINE. Have issue with fone answering machine. I connected WALL fone LINE directly to Brother and answerer does not work. DO I HAVE TO CONNECT FONE LINE TO ANSWERER FIRST AND THEN CONNECT ANSWERER TO BROTHER? PLS GIVE RESPONSE - THX


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Effortless Installation and Great Product

By citizenlouie from San Jose, CA on 12/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my Brother MFC-L2740DW All-in-One printer on sale. I've never had experience with Brother printer before and I am quite satisfied with the quality at the price point. Best of all, it also does auto duplex printing! After registered my Brother printer, I received a lot of email news letters. Maybe it is a little too many, but at the same time I feel the company truly cares about the post-sales support and provides usability tips for their users. I am very happy with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handy Personal Printer, Not good for Business

By Anonymous from Sandy, UT on 12/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: unit has network scan capability, identifies networks easily, User interface of software easy to figure out (post install), small physical footprint for MFP, high resolution capability for scans, and fast scan and print for size & function. Great as personal MFP. Scan To function from scanner works smoothly and easily for multiple systems on network. Supports enabling/disabling of wireless or wired functions independently or together. Cons: Wireless connectivity does not work in WPA/WPA2 Enterprise networks that require user authentication. Software installation is complex and network scanning function can only be configured through the software installation. Does not support Scan To Email on MFP, itself. Address book for MFP is only for Fax. Scan To Email function only available through Software Utility after installation. Overall: Personal use is great, and when using with 1-3 PCs in a home environment. If using with a small business, it starts to get too complex in functionality that hinders productivity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved