Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Label Makers » PT1090 » 31 Reviews

Brother International PT-1090 Electronic Labeling System Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Quality for a Great Price

By VietnamVet6869 from Chatsworth,IL on 04/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After having used the PT-1700 for many years, it was nice to see Brother have a smaller unit that did the same quality work . I look forward to using the PT-1090BK for many years to come. What I did do as a minor modification was to put a rough-sided velcro strip on either side of the casing so when I hold the labeler I will have a better grip when using it so it won't slip out of my hand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for its purpose, but...

By megmtiger from Gainesville, FL on 03/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This remains a dependable item in my home office. It does its job with good durable labels that last. My one major issue with this is the amount of tape it consumes between uses. Cumulative leads over time reveal a considerable fraction of tape wasted in each cartridge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for all around the house

By Anonymous from Louisiana on 03/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love my label maker. Portable and sooo useful. I use it mostly in the kitchen for labeling food for the freezer. But, it great all over!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Gift

By President819 from Brentwood, CA on 02/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the labeler in my greenhouse where I can type in the name of the plant and have a laminated label to put right onto the plastic stake. Looks great, works great. Labels hold up the water and sun. Made life a whole lot easier than trying to read handwritten labels with 'chicken scratch'.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By Agejo from Hartsdale, NY on 01/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love my new labeler. Pretty easy to use. Cartridges are very easy to change. My only issue is I am having a hard time figuring out how to enter dates and adjusting the extra tape that prints. Otherwise very happy. Great purchase for home and every day use without spending a bunch of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice Product

By JayDub77 from Sonora, CA on 12/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife bought the PT-1090 for me. I like it very much. The compact size is nice and the print very good. We use it to make our name tags for each of our suitcases. I use it on the small plastic drawers for my hobby items.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Portable Label Printer

By ArtistMark29 from Tenants Harbor, Maine on 12/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A Great Toll for Creating Usable Labels. Very Helpful on Photos, DVD and CD Holders, VHS Tapes and Holders, Binders and Folders. Very Easy to Create and Read.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Machine

By LTL6 from Manhattan, IL on 12/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works as hoped for. Many functions available. Still using provided sample tape strip. Just ordered a replacement cartridge which has a greater length and should take care of my labeling needs for the near future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice labeler

By captgtc from delaware on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the labeler 3works fine but I wish it would not waste so much tape at the beginning and end of each label.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

like it alot

By tandy from Pennsylvania on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

does well with what it offers wish I would of gotten the next one up from thus one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great!

By WOWWY from Grand Forks, ND on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unbelieveable lable printer for the price..worked great for labling switches in my hot rods.. easy to use and easy to peel stickers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handy labeller

By BroTrail from West Bend, WI on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product performs better than expected for use around our home. The labels are clear, durable, and the printing features far exceed my ability to use them all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Handy

By Lady from Lakewood, WA on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like the color its easy to use. No conplaints here


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lovely Labeler

By Paula from Independence, MO on 12/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Instructions exceedingly tiny and replacement tape quite expensive, but glad to have it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!

By Collies from Hampstead, NH on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love to be organized, and when I re-did my office I decided to splurge and buy myself this labeler for my files. This is great! Last weekend I organized all my baking supplies and labeled each canister with my labeler. Worth every dime!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use!

By heman89 from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The product is easy to use and convenient to carry along with due to it's portability. However, the battery easily drains out after just a few prints. I wished they made the item rechargeable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT-1090BK is great!

By mchiasson13 from Northampton, MA on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This label maker exceded my expectations. I bought it to label my electronics cables. I have found many more uses for it. I wish that I had purchased one sooner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use

By amtrakfan54 from Portland, OR on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up, and easy to produce labels. I especially like the AC adapter plugin feature for those "marathon sessions". I do model railroading in N scale, and there is always something to label:town names, switches, wiring, etc, to lend clarity to what we're looking at. Sure beats guessing, especially when it comes to electrical wiring. I like that it has a "Cable" format setting for marking wires. Anything to lend clarity to a spaghetti of wires is a good thing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT1090

By Cherylynn from Ohio on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I puchaed two PT1090, one for personal use and one for work. I am having difficulty with both of them. One has some kind of insect inside on the screen and doesn't advance the tape. The other doesn't advance the tape and the cutter no longer works. I have not had them very long and am disappointed in the quality. I cannot get to the "local" service center and will probaly purchase a labeler from another company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Like It!

By passat385 from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the labeler in my garage for tool storage and it work good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great labeler!

By Emjaz from Cedar City, UT on 10/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this labeler! got it for a great price and I am very pleased with it. It does all sorts of cool things!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great but not really user friendly

By Sabugs from San Antonio TX on 10/08/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this because it looked simple to use and had just enough features to suit my needs. It worked great but I had some problems figuring out spacing and how to get the best use of the amount of label tape. It seemed like there is a lot of waste and I was never able to figure out how to make it better. The directions are not very clear in general. I'm not unhappy with it, just a bit disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Teachers

By Teacher215 from New Jersey on 10/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Handy, can carry from desk to classroom in a flash. Prints great, quick, and clear. Goes through batteries a bit more quickly than I anticipated, but overall the best investment I've had this year in my classroom!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

luv it! too much tape; uses batteries too fast

By irishsoul from Central NY on 10/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

just got it and luv it! but just as another review stated, it does use too much tape in front and end of label...also, used up 6 batteries in just a few hours. would be nice if this was a rechargeable product like a screwdriver, etc. rather than batteries or an ac adapter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One Missing Feature

By U35828 from Evanston, IL on 07/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Removable rubberized armor would be nice. Otherwise, good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Helping Me Organize

By Tikiinindy from Plymouth, IN on 02/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased for home use. Fun to use, enjoying product but the direction sheet could have been written in an easier to follow/lookup manner. Find that choosing the size/length is often a challenge. Find that i must review "how to" section often. It does have lots of features and labels print out clearly. Tape for this and all models is rather pricey. Note that this model has the letters in A-Z order instead of in typewriter form.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 3rd BROTHER Labeler

By LOVEDOWN90 from Northeastern New Jersey on 02/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's pretty good, I mean, if I purchased a third Brother labeler it should mean that the product is VERY good. I had just moved into another apartment and couldn't find the old labelers, so I had to buy another. I just wish Brother carried magnetic tapes, like Dymo (Letra Tag) does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great, uses too much tape

By Ozarks from SW. Missouri on 02/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The PT-1090 does a great job with labels. The only complaint I have with it is all the extra blank tape it uses with each label. Being able to print two line labels helps to reduce the tape usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By HRocker from Dallas on 02/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having used many labelers over the years, this is the easiest to use and offers the best output. A++


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT 1090 labeler

By Angie from Greeley, CO on 02/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like my labeler. It is easy to use, adheres well both indoors & out and lasts through all kinds of weather even over the winter. I went crazy when I got it for I am an artist and use it to label my supply drawers and containers and I am also a gardener and use it for plant identification in my garden to help me and to help admirers. I plan to use it to date purchases of food in my freezer and cupboards. As you can tell by my rating and my multiple uses, I am totally pleased with this product. I just wish I could purchase refills locally.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very useful

By Stan from Olympia, WA on 02/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the PT1090 to print labels (3/8") on DVD cases and 9/64" on the narrow CD cases. They adhere very well. The 9/64" I use lengthwise and they work very well for my uses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved